USGenWeb Archives USGenWeb Archives Project
USGenWeb Project

Taylor County
(Little Black Township)
Zion Lutheran aka Gods Acres Cemetery
Tombstone Photos

These photos were generously taken and contributed to these pages by Larry & Linda Kopet!   Please take a moment to thank them for this terrific resource!  Use your back browser button to return to this page. Please note that these generous contributions do not necessarily depict all tombstone photographs for a given cemetery.

Abegglen, Albert and Lydia
Amacher, Arnold
Amacher, Emma A.
Amacher, Frederick A. and Bette J.
Amacher, Friedrich
Amadher, Marjorie
Bartz, Roland Frederick
Becher, August
Bockin, Donovan N. and Elaine C.
Bockin, Douglas V.
Boxrucker, Raymond and Arlene
Brunner, Franziska
Brunner, Fred
Brunner, Gordon R.
Brunner, John J. and Marie
Brunner, John Sr.
Brunner, Lydia C.
Brunner, Margaret
Brunner, Mathaeus and Anna
Buchholz, Carl
Buchholz, Louis J.
Buchholz, Sophie
Dahlberg, Erick and Hulda
Dake, Scott D.
Damm, Dennis Herbert
Damm, Edwin and Myrtle
Damm, Emil R.
Damm, R. Emil and Mary A.
Dietze, Bernhard E.
Dietze, Emil R.
Dietze, Ewald K.
Dietze, Frank and Susan
Dietze, Hilmer F. and Leona M.
Dietze, Mathilde
Fahrenbach, Johannes
Fahrenbach, Wilhelm and Maria
Grewe, Martha
Handel, Caroline M.
Handel, Gustav A.
Hartwig, Dennis L.
Haufe, Herman
Haufe, Max E.
Huebner, Alice A.
Huebner, Rudolph and Anna
Kahlmann, Wilhelm
Ketelhut, Wilhelm
Klimeck, Jake and family
Klimeck, John and Anna
Klimeck, Rose and Arlo L.
Korito, Michael and Susan
Kraus, Gerald D.
Kurtz, Margaret Lueck
Kuzenski, Bertha
Liehe, Fred and Maria
Lommatzsch, Pauline Emilie
Lueck, Augusta
Lueck, Ella P.
Madison, Gordon J.
Marti, Carmen D.
Marti, Ronald E. and Thomas C.
Meschefske, Eugene W.
Meschefske, John Sr. and Freda M.
Meschefske, Neil Alan
Niemuth, Herman A. and Helen E.
Nuerberger, Louis J. and Alma W.
Osborn, Anna A.L.
Perlick, Leo A.
Perlick, Marie O.
Perlick, unclear
Pfaff, Nikki Rae
Pieger, Jacob and Sophia
Raasch, Albert
Raasch, Henry A.
Raasch, Theresa
Raasch, William J.
Richwalski, Ernest W.
Richwalski, John R.
Richwalski, William J.
Schaefer, Albert
Schaefer, Emil
Schaefer, Heinrich
Schaefer, Karoline
Schupsky, Anna
Schupsky, Anna's full head stone shot
Storch, Raymond and Gladys M.
Tauchen, John and Caroline
Van Epps, Marvin J.
Vircks, Augusta
Vircks, Edward O. and Lena M.
Vircks, Herman
Waldhart, Anna
Waldhart, Christ and Ida
Waldhart, unclear
Windeknecht, Henry and Louisa
Wolff, Jerry M.
Wolff, Melvin W. and Evelyn A.
Zastrow, Johann and Maria
Zastrow, Johann
Zion-Lutheran Cemetery Sign,  
Zschiedrich, Augusta M.
Zschiedrich, Friedrich W.

Visit the Taylor County, WIGenWeb Project Pages!

Visit the

Map Project
Visit the

Tombstone Project
Visit the

Census Project
Back to the WIGenWeb Project Archive Pages

WISCONSIN MUNICIPALITIES: Cities Towns, and Villages, often referred to as 'municipalities' in Wisconsin law, are the governmental units that relate most directly to citizens' everyday lives.

TOWNS, like counties, were created by the state to provide basic municipal services. Rooted in New England and New York tradition, town government came to Wisconsin with the settlers, but Wisconsin towns were not like their Eastern counterparts that reflected the existing patterns of local settlement. In Wisconsin, towns are geographical subdivisions of counties. Towns originally served (and for the most part they continue to serve) rural areas. Towns govern those areas of Wisconsin not included in the corporate boundaries of cities and villages.

The difference between "township" and "town" often confuses the public. In Wisconsin, "township' refers to the surveyor's township which was laid out to identify land parcels within a county. Theoretically. a township is a square tract of land, measuring six miles on a side for a total of 36 square miles in the unit. Each township is divided into 36 sections. "Town", as the word is used in Wisconsin, denotes a specific unit of government. It's boundaries may coincide with the surveyor's township or it may look quite different. A Town may include one, parts of or several townships.

CITIES and VILLAGES, often referred to as "incorportated areas", govern territory where population is more concentrated. In general, minimum population for incorporation as a village is 150 residents for an isolated village and 2,500 for a metropolitan village located in a more densely settled area. For cities, the minimums are 1,000 and 5,000 respectively. As cities and villages are incorporated, they are carved out of the town territory and become independent units no longer subject to the town's control. The remainder of the town may take on a 'Swiss cheese" configuration as its area is reduced.

[Information above taken from "State of Wisconsin Blue Book 1997-1998"]

ProjectCopyright Notice: These generous contributions do not necessarily depict all tombstone photographs for a given cemetery. The source for many of the cemetery names and placenames on these pages come from Cemetery Locations in Wisconsin, 3rd edition, compiled by Linda M. Herrick and Wendy K. Uncapher. The book is published by Origins at 4327 Milton Ave. Janesville, WI 53546. All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator and/or contributor. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from Tina Vickery [] and/or their contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissable to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

This page was last updated 20 November 2012