USGenWeb Archives USGenWeb Archives Project
USGenWeb Project

Douglas County
(Brule Township)
Brule Pine Ridge Cemetery
Tombstone Photos

These photos were generously taken and contributed to these pages by Larry & Linda Kopet!   Please take a moment to thank them for this terrific resource!  Use your back browser button to return to this page. Please note that these generous contributions do not necessarily depict all tombstone photographs for a given cemetery.

Allen, Seth
Anderson, Charles and unclear
Anderson, Donald C.
Anderson, Edna L.
Anderson, Opal B.
Anderson, unclear
Baillie, Alex A.
Baillie, Ida J.
Berner, Dr. Casper L.
Brunner, Roman Lawrence and Dorothy M.
Burns, Anita C.
Burns, David
Crozier, Fern Irle
Drews, Lawrence H. and family
Fasteland, Alfred George
Fasteland, Delores (Dolly)
Fasteland, Olaf
Follis, Della
Follis, William C.
Franklin, Willard
Gruebele, Donald R.
Gruebele, Edward E.
Gruebele, Jack E.
Gruebele, Martha
Guess, Lorraine V. Kyllonen
Hakkinen, Linda
Hakkinen, Toivo A.
Haldon, Walter
Hall, Russell G. and Dorothy L.
Irle, Newell G. and Margaret
Irle, Newell R.
Jewell, Frank W. and Jorid R.
Jorgenson, Albert
Jorgenson, Helen
Jorgenson, Ruby M.
Kemp, Jack and Pearl
Killoren, James M. and Dorothy E.
Koho, Oscar and Hilma
Kyllonen, Elmie Hakkinen
Lambert, Emmett
Larson, Adolph
Leaf Garritt,
Leaf, infant
Leaf, Johanna
Leaf, Leonard
Leffel, Charles A. and Gladyce P.
Lindgren, Bertha
Lindgren, Duane G. and Elizabeth L.
Lindgren, Ernest
Lindgren, Heide L.
Lusus, Charles J.
Magnuson, Herbert J.
Magnuson, Signe P.
Nagey, Frank and Marie
Nordberg, Sam and Maria C.
Pangallo, Ardysse
Pangallo, unclear
Pearson, Carl M. and Eina
Pekkarinen, Onnie
Pogson, John
Rice, Stanley (Mike) and Shirley (Deo)
Ries, William M. Sr. and Helen I.
Runge, Carlisle P.
Ruska, Eino E. and Marie J.
Ruska, Emil
Ruska, Wendla
Ruth, Jenney Kathryn
Salo, Charles and Ilmi
Shumway, Dean Cecil
Shumway, Myrtle
Slaviero, Anthony
Smith, unclear and Cornelia H.
Spees, Benjamin and Anna M.
Spees, Franklin R.
Spees, George A. and Lola G. Crom
Spees, James Harrison
Swanson, Fred E. Sr.
Swanson, Harold O. and S. Esther
Swarinski, Edward and Olga J.
Tucking, Edward G. and Norma W.
Tucking, Edward George
Tucking, Norma M.
Ulven, Alford Theodore
Ulven, Arlene Bouchard
Ulven, James Albert
Wann, Anna B.
Wann, Florence S.
Weber, Ray and Ella
Weyandt, Dorothy E.
Weyandt, Ivar
Weyandt, Lorrain V.
Weyandt, Maxwell H. and Vivian M.
Weyandt, Steve H.
Weyandt, Viola Adelle
Weyant, Alfred
Whitburn, Caroline F. Follis
Whitburn, Joseph J.
Williams, Ernest D.
Woerle, Bartholomaus
Woerle, Christiane

Visit the Douglas County, WIGenWeb Project Pages!

Visit the

Map Project
Visit the

Tombstone Project
Visit the

Census Project
Back to the WIGenWeb Project Archive Pages

WISCONSIN MUNICIPALITIES: Cities Towns, and Villages, often referred to as 'municipalities' in Wisconsin law, are the governmental units that relate most directly to citizens' everyday lives.

TOWNS, like counties, were created by the state to provide basic municipal services. Rooted in New England and New York tradition, town government came to Wisconsin with the settlers, but Wisconsin towns were not like their Eastern counterparts that reflected the existing patterns of local settlement. In Wisconsin, towns are geographical subdivisions of counties. Towns originally served (and for the most part they continue to serve) rural areas. Towns govern those areas of Wisconsin not included in the corporate boundaries of cities and villages.

The difference between "township" and "town" often confuses the public. In Wisconsin, "township' refers to the surveyor's township which was laid out to identify land parcels within a county. Theoretically. a township is a square tract of land, measuring six miles on a side for a total of 36 square miles in the unit. Each township is divided into 36 sections. "Town", as the word is used in Wisconsin, denotes a specific unit of government. It's boundaries may coincide with the surveyor's township or it may look quite different. A Town may include one, parts of or several townships.

CITIES and VILLAGES, often referred to as "incorportated areas", govern territory where population is more concentrated. In general, minimum population for incorporation as a village is 150 residents for an isolated village and 2,500 for a metropolitan village located in a more densely settled area. For cities, the minimums are 1,000 and 5,000 respectively. As cities and villages are incorporated, they are carved out of the town territory and become independent units no longer subject to the town's control. The remainder of the town may take on a 'Swiss cheese" configuration as its area is reduced.

[Information above taken from "State of Wisconsin Blue Book 1997-1998"]

ProjectCopyright Notice: These generous contributions do not necessarily depict all tombstone photographs for a given cemetery. The source for many of the cemetery names and placenames on these pages come from Cemetery Locations in Wisconsin, 3rd edition, compiled by Linda M. Herrick and Wendy K. Uncapher. The book is published by Origins at 4327 Milton Ave. Janesville, WI 53546. All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator and/or contributor. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from Tina Vickery [] and/or their contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissable to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

This page was last updated 20 November 2012