USGenWeb Archives USGenWeb Archives Project
USGenWeb Project

Dodge County
(Town of Emmet)
Moravian - United Brethren Cemetery
Tombstone Photos

These photos were generously taken and contributed to these pages by Larry & Linda Kopet!   Please take a moment to thank them for this terrific resource!  Use your back browser button to return to this page. Please note that these generous contributions do not necessarily depict all tombstone photographs for a given cemetery.

Arndt, Brian Keith
Bandelin, Lidia
Barker, C. Mavis
Bauer, Mark Randall
Becker, Johanne
Becker, Michael
Block, Ruben F.
Block, unclear
Block, Wilhelmenia
Braasch, Joyce
Budde, Sophia
Engelbrecht, Frederick
Felper, Harry L.
Francke, Gerhard
Francke, Mamie Herschleb
Ganz, Louise
Gaul, Caroline
Gaul, Johann Carl
Gehrke, Maria A.
Gille, Adela T.
Haefman, Peter
Halfmann, Margarett
Heide, Gustav
Heim, Ella Meschke
Heise, Auguste Hemling
Hermes, Arthur R.W.
Hermes, Wilhelm and Robert H.
Heur, Mathilda
Hinze, Frederick J.
Hinze, Louisa A.
Hohman, Elisabeth
Hohman, Heinrich
Hohmann, Elizabeth
Kaus, Doris M.
Knick, Donald L. and Cynthia Y. Eisfeldt
Knoll, Edward C.
Koch, Donald G.
Kohls, Louis A.
Kreitzman, Flora Schmidt Luther
Krueger, Wilhelmine Albrecht
Lehman, Christian
Liefeld, Daniel E. and Louise
Marquart, Georg
Marquart, Maria D.
Martin, Henry C.
Meinert, Wilhelmine
Milbrandt, William G. and Blondena E.
Munzel, Eleanor M. Werth
Munzel, Julius A.
Nickel, Engel
Ochs, George and Marjorie
Pape, Margaretha
Parker, Cheryl Talledge
Philippi, Regina
Rahn, Anna Budde
Rau, Maria D.
Reinholdt, Maria Margaratha
Schmidt, August
Schoechert, Ed
Schoechert, Ferdinand J.
Schoechert, Johana Carolina
Schoechert, Julius H.
Schoechert, Maria
Schoechert, Paul A.
Schoechert, Wilhelmine D.
Schoechert, Wilhelmine
Schwarze, Ernst Nathanael
Seifert, Alfred V. and Martha Brosic
Sondermann, Theodor
Steinbrink, Clifford M. and Isabell R.
Strauss, Arthur
Strauss, Johann Georg
Strauss, Katharina Elisabeth Joekel
Strauss, Sophie
Strup, Sven Waldeman A.A.
Talledge, Everett R. and family
Talledge, Everett R.
Tester, Augusta Hahn
Thelcke, Otto
Thies, Patricia E.
Thies, Roy Paul
Thies, Wendy L.
Tiffany, Helen Ruth
Tucker, Beverly Gladys Nelson
Venzke, Henriette
Venzke, Wilhelm
Volkmann, Emilie B.
Volkmann, unclear
Voss, Louisa Maria
Walters, Theodor Paul
Wegner, Gottfried
Wegner, Louisa Holzhueter
Weise, Anna
Welk, Maria E. Franz
Welk, William F. Jr.
Welk, Wm. F.
Westphal, Johanna
Wotler, Jacob
Ziegelman, Wilhelmine
Zillmer, Eugene A.

Visit the Dodge County, WIGenWeb Project Pages!

Visit the

Map Project
Visit the

Tombstone Project
Visit the

Census Project
Back to the WIGenWeb Project Archive Pages

WISCONSIN MUNICIPALITIES: Cities Towns, and Villages, often referred to as 'municipalities' in Wisconsin law, are the governmental units that relate most directly to citizens' everyday lives.

TOWNS, like counties, were created by the state to provide basic municipal services. Rooted in New England and New York tradition, town government came to Wisconsin with the settlers, but Wisconsin towns were not like their Eastern counterparts that reflected the existing patterns of local settlement. In Wisconsin, towns are geographical subdivisions of counties. Towns originally served (and for the most part they continue to serve) rural areas. Towns govern those areas of Wisconsin not included in the corporate boundaries of cities and villages.

The difference between "township" and "town" often confuses the public. In Wisconsin, "township' refers to the surveyor's township which was laid out to identify land parcels within a county. Theoretically. a township is a square tract of land, measuring six miles on a side for a total of 36 square miles in the unit. Each township is divided into 36 sections. "Town", as the word is used in Wisconsin, denotes a specific unit of government. It's boundaries may coincide with the surveyor's township or it may look quite different. A Town may include one, parts of or several townships.

CITIES and VILLAGES, often referred to as "incorportated areas", govern territory where population is more concentrated. In general, minimum population for incorporation as a village is 150 residents for an isolated village and 2,500 for a metropolitan village located in a more densely settled area. For cities, the minimums are 1,000 and 5,000 respectively. As cities and villages are incorporated, they are carved out of the town territory and become independent units no longer subject to the town's control. The remainder of the town may take on a 'Swiss cheese" configuration as its area is reduced.

[Information above taken from "State of Wisconsin Blue Book 1997-1998"]

ProjectCopyright Notice: These generous contributions do not necessarily depict all tombstone photographs for a given cemetery. The source for many of the cemetery names and placenames on these pages come from Cemetery Locations in Wisconsin, 3rd edition, compiled by Linda M. Herrick and Wendy K. Uncapher. The book is published by Origins at 4327 Milton Ave. Janesville, WI 53546. All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator and/or contributor. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from Tina Vickery [] and/or their contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissable to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

This page was last updated 20 November 2012