USGenWeb Archives USGenWeb Archives Project
USGenWeb Project

Dane County
(Pleasant Springs Township)
Western Koshkokong Cemetery
Tombstone Photos

These photos were generously taken and contributed to these pages by Larry and Linda Kopet!   Please take a moment to thank them for this terrific resource!  Use your back browser button to return to this page. Please note that these generous contributions do not necessarily depict all tombstone photographs for a given cemetery.

Aarethun, Knud Eriksen
Amunsen, Anun
Anderson, Andrew B.
Auby, Bennie and Ida D.
Bakka, Peter and family
Benden, K. Kittelson
Berge, J. Johnson and Mildred Subey
Bosby, Johanes A.
Busben, Jacob
Cleven, T.E. and A.
Conradson, T.B. and Barbara
Dahl, Oscar and Nina (infants)
Daley, Gunild H.
Daley, Halvor Taborson
Daley, unclear male
Doderlein, Christian
Doderlein, unclear
Drotning, Andre C. and Elizabeth
Dyreson, Brithe B. Hagness
Erikson, Elevine
First White Settler in Pleasant Springs,  
Fladeland, Karen
Flisebam, Broteva
Flom, Johanna
Flom, Martha E.
Flom, Martha
Flom, Ole O.
Floom, Anne
Fraestegaard, John J.
Gerstad, Berge H. and Caroline Rockney
Gilberhus, William and Maria
Gilberhus, William
Gjermo, Lars N. and Tilla E.
Gjottel, Hans K.
Haldorson, John and Martha
Haldorson, Torgor
Halvorson, Torbjor
Hansine, mother
Hanson, Bergit
Hauge, Anna Melina
Hauge, Engebor and Erika
Hauge, Halvor
Hauge, Ingebor
Hauge, Martha
Hauge, Neri Targeson and Anne Halvorsondatter
Hauge, unclear
Havey, Emma Berentine
Havey, Henrik O.
Havey, Ingebor
Havey, Ole H. and Ingborg
Hemre, unclear Johannes
Heve, Torgjor H.
Himle, Claus
Hougan, Ole H.
Hougen, Thone
Hove, Eli D. and Hans A.
Husabo, Ingeleif
Ingehmisen, Jacob
Jacobs, John
Johnson, Caroline K.
Johnson, Ole and Sarah M.
Juve, Knud A.
Kingland, Anna and F. Seward
Kingland, Thor T.
Krostu, Clara A.
Krostu, Gunsten G.
Krostu, Idella Amanda
Krostu, Loy G. and Semanda
Ladd, Erick and Karen Kristine
Larsdatter, Ragnhild
Lee, Egel Aslaksen
Lislia, Turi H.M.
Lunde, Iver G. and Anna
Lundey, Cjetel C. and Aslaug
Mapem, Gro T.
Melaas, Johannes C. and Christi
Melaas, Neils
Meland, Ingeborg O.
Meland, Tollef O.
Morque, Torbjon and Betse Helene
Myklejor, Ole Richardson
Nielson, Nels
Odegaarden, Aadne and Guro
Odegaarden, Birgit B. and Aslaug B.
Oline, Marthea
Olman, S.S. Sr.
Olsen, Frederick Emanuel
Olsen, Hage
Osgaren, Gullick and family
Otteson, Anders and Anderson, Andreas
Poe, Knudt
Quale, Anders Ellingson
Quale, Asloug
Rockne, Erick T. and Tolena
Scolen, Sven
Seamonson, Randy C. and Cornelia Christine
Seamonson, Thomas A.
Sinnes, Dagne T.
Sondrol, Ivert
Subey, J.A.
Sverig, Peder H.
Sverig, Peder
Talakson, Johanas
Talakson, John
Teisberg, Henry H.
Teisberg, Katrina
Tillung, Cleone G.
Torelson, Jorgen and Gunlda
West Koshkonong Lutheran Cemetery sign,  
Wetlesen, Ole and Thorbjorg

Visit the Dane County, WIGenWeb Project Pages!

Visit the

Map Project
Visit the

Tombstone Project
Visit the

Census Project
Back to the WIGenWeb Project Archive Pages

WISCONSIN MUNICIPALITIES: Cities Towns, and Villages, often referred to as 'municipalities' in Wisconsin law, are the governmental units that relate most directly to citizens' everyday lives.

TOWNS, like counties, were created by the state to provide basic municipal services. Rooted in New England and New York tradition, town government came to Wisconsin with the settlers, but Wisconsin towns were not like their Eastern counterparts that reflected the existing patterns of local settlement. In Wisconsin, towns are geographical subdivisions of counties. Towns originally served (and for the most part they continue to serve) rural areas. Towns govern those areas of Wisconsin not included in the corporate boundaries of cities and villages.

The difference between "township" and "town" often confuses the public. In Wisconsin, "township' refers to the surveyor's township which was laid out to identify land parcels within a county. Theoretically. a township is a square tract of land, measuring six miles on a side for a total of 36 square miles in the unit. Each township is divided into 36 sections. "Town", as the word is used in Wisconsin, denotes a specific unit of government. It's boundaries may coincide with the surveyor's township or it may look quite different. A Town may include one, parts of or several townships.

CITIES and VILLAGES, often referred to as "incorportated areas", govern territory where population is more concentrated. In general, minimum population for incorporation as a village is 150 residents for an isolated village and 2,500 for a metropolitan village located in a more densely settled area. For cities, the minimums are 1,000 and 5,000 respectively. As cities and villages are incorporated, they are carved out of the town territory and become independent units no longer subject to the town's control. The remainder of the town may take on a 'Swiss cheese" configuration as its area is reduced.

[Information above taken from "State of Wisconsin Blue Book 1997-1998"]

ProjectCopyright Notice: These generous contributions do not necessarily depict all tombstone photographs for a given cemetery. The source for many of the cemetery names and placenames on these pages come from Cemetery Locations in Wisconsin, 3rd edition, compiled by Linda M. Herrick and Wendy K. Uncapher. The book is published by Origins at 4327 Milton Ave. Janesville, WI 53546. All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator and/or contributor. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced on another site without specific permission from Tina Vickery [] and/or their contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissable to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

This page was last updated 20 November 2012