NORFOLK NAVY YARD
The Norfolk Navy Yard into the 20th Century
HISTORY OF NORFOLK CO., VIRGINIA,
and Representative Citizens
Col. William H. Stewart
Biographical Publishing Co., Chicago, IL
Pages 454- 487
 CHAPTER XXVII
THE UNITED STATES NAVY YARD
Improvements—Simpson Dry Dock—Naval Constructor Bowles' Administration—Building the "Raleigh" and "Texas"— International Columbian Naval Rendezvous—Fitting out Ships for War With Spain—Records of Repair and Construction Work—The "Raleigh" and "Texas" in the Spanish-American War—Congressional Medals Awarded—U. S. Naval Hospital—Trophies in Navy Yard Park—Commandants of the Navy Yard.
After the repossession of the yard by the Federals, Capt. John W. Livingston was on the 20th of May, 1862, ordered to its command and he soon commenced repairing damage and putting it in order. There was no shipbuilding in the yard until the rebuilding of the "Galena," which was launched March 8, 1875, and building of the "Alliance," launched March 13, 1879, under the administration of Naval Constructor John W. Easby. The latter ship is still in service; the "Galena" was lost in a gale off the coast of Massachusetts in 1891.
The importance of this Navy Yard has been known for many years and at last it is beginning to be brought up to a standard of efficiency gratifying to the people of Norfolk County and the country at large. Commodore D. B. Harmony, Chief of the Bureau of Yards and Docks, in his report dated October 15, 1887, says: "The importance of the yard, with its fine position, mild climate, and abundant natural resources within control, cannot be overestimated, and it is earnestly recommended that every opportunity should be taken to make its equipment ample in all particulars."
On February 2, 1887, at the Norfolk Branch of the U. S. Naval Institute in a discussion, Capt. George C. Remey, U. S. Navy, said: "Having regard solely to geographical location and site, I regard the Norfolk Navy Yard as the first in importance of all the navy yards belonging to the government. Believing this to be so, I think it is the duty of the Virginia Representatives in Congress to urge and insist that ample appropriations be made to make the present yard a first-class dockyard. To do this will require a comparatively large expenditure of money, but the day may come, and be not far distant, when such expenditure would be regarded as a wise one.
"It seems to me, if the Virginia Representatives in Congress would endeavor to enlist all the Representatives in Congress from the South to advocate a modern dockyard, to be made of the present yard, that appropriations looking to this might be secured if for no other argument than that this yard is practically the only one in the South. Having this in view, it would be the duty of the Navy Department, and I do not doubt a pleasure, to elaborate  plans so that all improvements made would be done systematically, looking to a modern dockyard as the result.
"Regarding the facilities for obtaining iron and steel, it is evident from common report they will be produced and manufactured in large quantities in the States of Alabama, Georgia and Mississippi.
"Statements have been lately made in the public press that iron and steel can be produced in Alabama cheaper than elsewhere in this country. Whether this now be so or not, it is evident to the careful observer that iron and steel are rapidly becoming most important interests in these States."
SIMPSON DRY DOCK.
The formal opening of the Simpson Dry Dock took place on the 19th of September, 1889. Long before the time ordered for the opening the people began to gather and when the hour arrived about 2,000 were assembled around the dock, most of whom were ladies, and the scene presented quite a holiday air. Just 56 years, three months and two days previous, the stone dry dock was opened in the presence of a large crowd. The great ship "Delaware'' was the christening ship for that dock and for this the trim little ship "Yantic."
A view of the opening of The Stone Dry Dock of the U. S. Navy Yard at Gosport June 17, 1833, for the reception of the U. S. ship "Deleware," the first Line-of-battle ship built at Gosport (Norfolk), and the first national ship ever docked in a dry dock belonging to the United States.
The U. S. Ship "Deleware," 74, in the stone dry dock of the U. S. Navy Yard at Gosport. The keel of this line-of-battle ship was laid in the summer of 1817, and she was launched in 1820. Her name was chosen by lottery.
She presented an animated and handsome picture, trimmed from stem to stern with the flags of all nations, and the Naval Post Band, making the occasion harmonious with some of the liveliest airs. The work of flooding the dock commenced at 9:33 o'clock A. M., and a few minutes before 12 M. the "Yantic" of 900 tons, swung around and was moored in the dock under her own steam, after which the work of pumping the dock out was commenced and finished about 2:30 o'clock P. M., some little delay occurring in trimming the vessel. The ship settled nicely down on the blocks and was greatly admired for the beauty of her model. She was docked by Master Shipwright William F. Smith and the Simpson force of workmen.
The construction of this dock was commenced in December, 1887. The time limit expressed in the contract was two years, but the time consumed was only 21 months, and had it not been for a flood in April, the structure would have been ready to receive a vessel in July.
The dock is built upon pile foundations throughout, the floor piling being driven in rows, spaced three feet between centers transversely and four feet longitudinally, upon which heavy fore-and-aft timbers of Georgia pine are fitted longitudinally. Upon these fore-and-aft timbers placed traversely four feet between centers, are firmly secured heavy Georgia-pine floor-timbers. Upon these floor-timbers are laid longitudinally Georgia-pine planking, thus forming the working floor. The keel blocks are additionally supported by four rows of piles and capped with heavy Georgia-pine timber, running fore and aft to the dock. The heads of all foundation piles are also inclosed in a continuous bed of Portland cement concrete, which concrete also fills all spaces between timbers and rises to the planking or working floor. Open concrete drains or sluiceways are provided on each side of the keel-way beneath the floor-timbers, leading to the drainage culvert and well near the entrance of the dock. The sides and head of the dock have an inclination of about 45 degrees; the altars, or steps, are all of Georgia-pine timber, having a rise of eight inches and a 10-inch head, securely bolted to sidebrace timbers, which are supported by piles and abut upon the ends of the floor-timbers. The altars are locked with clay-puddle, as the sides are built up, and the five upper courses of altars and the coping are thoroughly treated with wood-creosote oil. The bilge-blocks slide upon oak bearers placed upon every third floor-timber. The iron caisson for closing the dock bears against rubber packing, attached to sill and abutments the whole length of the keel and stem, no grooves being used. Two gate or caisson sills are provided, the outer one for use in repairing the main or inner sill. Means of egress and in-  gress are provided by the continuous altars, or steps, of the dock, thus materially aiding dispatch and economy in the work of repairs to vessels occupying the dock. The dimensions of this dock are as follows:
Length over all coping - 530 feet.
Length over all inside of caisson - 500 feet.
Width on top amidship - 130 feet.
Width on floor amidship - 50 feet.
Width on floor at entrance - 53 feet.
Width on top at entrance - 85 feet.
Depth of gate-sill below coping - 30-1/2 feet.
Depth of gate-sill below high water - 25-1/2 feet.
The machinery for operating the dock consists of two centrifugal-pumps, each 42 inches in diameter, driven by two vertical engines 28 inches in diameter of cylinder by 24 inches stroke, with adjustable cut-offs, steam power being furnished by three steel Scotch boilers 13 feet in diameter and 11 feet long.
These pumps have a capacity of 80,000 gallons per minute, enabling the dock to be emptied of water (without a vessel) in about 90 minutes and with a vessel of moderate displacement in much less time. The dock is filled by means of culverts running through the caisson; there are eight flood gates 22 inches in diameter, operated by handwheels on the pump-deck of caisson.
The contract price of this dock, complete was $500,000.
BUILDING OF THE "RALEIGH" AND "TEXAS."
The year 1889 saw the beginning of work on the great ships which have since played an important part in American naval war history. Oh June 1st work was begun on the "Texas," and Naval Constructor Francis T. Bowles bent all his energies not only to build three powerful ships,—"Texas," "Amphitrite" and "Raleigh," —but to make the yard reach the high standard of efficiency which it has eventually attained.
The "Raleigh" was launched on the 31st of March, 1892. The history of this vessel and of her sister-ship, the "Cincinnati," which was built at the Brooklyn Navy Yard, is interesting. They were authorized by Congress asvessels of about 3,000 tons displacement, under the Act of September 7, 1888. The limit of price for each, exclusive of armament and of bonus for extra speed, was fixed at $1,000,000.
The plans were duly made, and called for an average speed of 19 knots, maintained for four consecutive hours, with a premium of $50,000 for each quarter-knot additional, and a deduction of the same amount for each quarter-knot of deficiency. When the House Naval Committee reported in favor of building the "Raleigh" and "Cincinnati," it described them as follows: "The 3,000 ton vessel will be large enough to carry an efficient armament, and provide comfortable quarters for officers and men, with fuel to steam ten or twelve thousand knots at 10 knots an hour. We hope to get in these cruisers 20 knots speed, but have fixed the guaranty of the contractors at 19 knots as a margin for safety." But when during the summer of 1889, proposals were opened for these two vessels, it was found that the bidders, so far from expecting to earn a bonus of $200,000 by getting a speed of 20 knots, were unwilling to guarantee even 19 knots, except at a price higher than the one fixed by Congress. Accordingly Secretary Tracy promptly decided to take advantage of the provision in the Act for building these vessels in the Navy Yard should the bidding be unsatisfactory. Number 7, the "Cincinnati," was assigned to the Brooklyn Navy Yard, on the site where the "Tennessee" and "Java" were built, while No. 8, the "Raleigh," was assigned to the Norfolk Navy Yard, on the slip north of the one used for the "Texas." The chief constructor gave orders to begin work on the "Raleigh" under date of September 25, 1889. The first keel-plate was laid the 19th of December, 1889. In pursuance of the plan of naming second-class ships after cities, the President decided that cruiser No. 8 should be called the "Raleigh." She has a length of 300 feet on the load water-line and an extreme breadth of 42 feet. At her mean normal draught of 18 feet of sea-water, her displacement is about 3,180 tons, the maximum  draught then being about 19 feet. She has two sets of engines, working two screws. It was estimated that her engines would develop 10,000 indicated horsepower at full power, with a steam pressure of 160 pounds. This drives the ship at 20 knots. Her coal supply at normal draught is 400 tons, the bunkers hold 675 tons and with this supply she can steam 1,500 miles at full power, or 10,500 at 10 knots, her most economical speed. The engines are of the triple-expansion, vertical, inverted, direct acting type with two low-pressure cylinders. Her cylinders are 36, 53 and 57 inches in diameter, with a common stroke of 33 inches. Steam, is supplied by four double-ended boilers,, and two single-ended ones to be used as auxiliaries. The grate surface is 597 square feet and the heating surface, 19,382 square feet. The closed ash-pit system of forced draught is used. The condensers have each 7,000 square feet of cooling surface. The revolutions at full power are 164 per minute.
The main and auxiliary engines occupy four water-tight compartments, and the boilers, four others. The water-tight subdivisions at the ends of the ship are very complete. The protective-deck is one inch thick on the flat, two inches on the slopes at the ends and 2-1/2 inches on the slopes amidships. A coffer-dam, to be filled with woodite, or cellulose, extends around the ship in the wake of the water-line on the protective deck. The ship has poop and forecastle-decks, with an open gun-deck between the bridges extending along the tops of the hammock berthings, connecting the poop and forecastle. The rig is that a two-masted schooner, spreading 7,210 square feet of sail The boats are stored on skid-beams between the two fore and aft bridges.
The main armament consists of one 6-inch B. L. R., mounted on the forecastle, and having an arc of train of 270 degrees from quarter to quarter; 10 5-inch rapid-firing guns—two mounted on the poop and the after two on the gun-deck train from right astern to 60 degrees forward of the beam, the two forward ones on the gun-deck train from right ahead to 60 degrees abaft the beam. The auxiliary armaments consists of eight 6-inch rapid-firing guns mounted, four over the forward and after sponsons on forecastle and poop, two on gun-deck forward, and two on the gun-deck amidships; four 1-pounders mounted, two on gun-deck aft (in captain's after-cabin), and two on the bridges; two Gatlings mounted on the tops. The forward and the after 5-inch guns on the gun-deck are protected by 4-inch armor. The other sponsons have 1-inch armor plates. The conning tower is two inches thick, as well as the tube leading from it to the protective-deck. There are six above-water torpedo tubes; fixed ones ahead and astern, and the training ones on each bow and quarter.
The tubes are of the Howell pattern, using gunpowder to project the torpedo. The ship is lighted by electricity, the plant consisting of two engines and dynamos, each with an output of 200 amperes at a constant potential of 80 volts. In addition to all necessary lights for illumination and signaling, there are three Mangin searchlight projectors. The lights are arranged in sections on independent conductors, all controlled from a switch-board in the dynamo-room, so arranged that either of the dynamos can be put on any or all of the arc or incandescent circuits.
The engine-power of the Raleigh'' was relatively larger than that of any other vessel of the U. S. Navy except the "Vesuvius" and torpedo boats, occurring as it does in conjunction with a larger battery power, necessitating a larger crew. The complement is about 320,—24 officers, 34 marines, and a crew of 266. The rudder is partially balanced. Its weight, is about seven and a half tons. The ordinary right and left steering gear is used, actuated by a powerful steam steering-engine below the protective deck. She cost $1,641,915.74. The actual weight of the ship when launched was 1,140 tons. The "Raleigh" was the first vessel of the new navy to be built complete by the government.
Naval Constructor Francis T. Bowles was congratulated for the beautiful launch and the  stressful manner in which the ship was built.
The U. S. battle-ship "Texas," now one of the most historic figures in America's new steel navy, was launched from our Navy Yard on the 28th of June, 1892, at 11:17 o'clock A.M., in the presence of a vast concourse of people. The rain was pouring down and the Navy Yard was literally a sea of umbrellas.
Miss Madge Williams of Texas, who had been selected to christen the ship, was dressed in a navy blue yachting suit, trimmed with braid. A large golden star, symbolic of the State she represented, was worked on the collar, and a smaller one on the front of her "chic" yachting cap. On the launching platform were Miss Madge Williams and her mother, Lieut. Hillary P. Jones, Commander W. S. Cowles, U. S. Navy, Commodore A. W. Weaver, commandant of the Navy Yard, Passed Assistant Engineer Kenneth McAlpine, Assistant Surgeon Shirley Hope, R. E. Glassett, Hon. George E. Bowden, S. S. Nottinham, Mayor S. Marx and Mayor-elect A. B. Cooke of Norfolk, W. J. Rodgers, Capt. B. P. Loyall, Capt. W. R. Mayo, W. S. Langhorne, Dr. James Parrish, O. V. Smith, Esq., Col. Harry Hodges, Capt. William H. Murdaugh, Postmaster A. H. Lindsay, John C. Niemeyer, Capt. James W. McCarrick, J. G. Fiveash; the commanding and other officers of the Brazilian man-of-war "Almirante Borroso," and a number of ladies. All the steamers in the harbor were gaily dressed in bunting. Miss Williams with the bottle in her hands stood with Commander Cowles on her right and Lieut. Hillary P. Jones on her left and at a signal from Naval Constructor Francis T. Bowles as the "Texas" started slowly to glide into her native element, Miss Williams broke the bottle and in a clear voice cried: "I christen thee Texas." Then amidst the hurrahs and yells, the tooting and screeching of steam whistles and the playing of the band, the ship shot with great rapidity to the water, snapping immense hawsers as though made of paper twine, until her headway had been checked, the whole time being only 46seconds. The ship was swung around with lines, and tugs fastened on and towed her around to the dock. The launching was a grand success, there not being the slightest hitch in any particular, and was a noted event in the career of Naval Constructor Francis T. Bowles, now the Chief Constructor of the Navy.
The U. S. S. "Texas" is a steel-armored, twin-screw, second class battleship of 6,335 tons normal displacement; length between perpendiculars, 290 feet; extreme breadth, 64 feet one inch; molded depth 39 feet eight inches; designed draft of water forward 22 feet; designed draft of water aft 23 feet; the mean draft will be 22 feet six inches. When carrying about 500 tons of coal, she can steam 1,110 miles at her estimated highest speed 17 knots, or 8,500 miles at 10 knots. There is bunker capacity, however, for 450 additional tons. The main armament consists of two 12-inch breech-loading guns, each weighing 46 1-2 tons, mounted in two turrets en echelon,—one being on the starboard side aft, the other on the port side forward,—having a complete broadside range on their respective sides, the forward or port gun also having a range of 40 degrees on the starboard side, and the after gun 70 degrees on the port side; with six 6-inch breech-loading guns, one mounted forward and one aft on the upper deck, as bow and stern-chasers, each having a range of 120 degrees, the others being mounted in sponsons on the main-deck. The secondary battery consists of four 6-pounder and four 3-pounder rapid-firing guns, with four 47-pounder Hotch-kiss guns, all mounted on the gun-deck behind 1-1/2 inch plating; two Gatling guns and two Hotchkiss guns mounted on the bridge, the same in military tops, and two 3-pounder rapid-firing guns on the flying bridge. There are six torpedo tubes, one in the bow, one in the stern and two on each side; a strong ram bow adds to her effective powers.
The turrets are armored with 12 inches of steel and their bases with 12 inches, of steel, which also protects the hydraulic machinery [459, blank page] [460, pictures]  for working the guns, and the smoke-pipe casings. A belt of steel armor 12 inches thick, extending two feet above the designed water line, 4-1/2 feet below it and 116 feet in length, protects the boilers and engines. A protective-deck of 2-inch steel is laid above the armor-belt; beyond this belt it is inclined downward, toward the extremities and sides and is three inches thick on the slopes. At the ends of the belt are diagonal armored-bulkheads of 6-inch steel pointed toward the bow and stern, whose oblique surface afford additional protection. This protective-deck carries the massive supports for the redoubt on the deck above and have coal bunkers at the side and extending athwartship, which protect this support; all the hatches and openings on this deck have cofferdams. The top of the redoubt is covered with a 2-inch steel deck; the redoubt is, continuous, and is accessible only from the protective-deck and is built on the cellular system. A double bottom extends under the engines, boilers and magazines, and is divided both longitudinally and transversely into numerous water-tight compartments. This double bottom is continued fore and aft by the floors of storerooms, etc., and the extremities are arranged as trimming-tanks. The space between the double bottom and the protective-deck is subdivided into many water-tight compartments whose numerous bulkheads add to the ship's strength; there are 129 of these compartments, all connected to steam and hand-pumps by an extensive drainage system, thus minimizing the disastrous effects of the ram and torpedo; in the wake of the armor-belt, the ship has a triple skin as there is a wing passage outboard the coal bunkers. In the coal bunkers above the protective-deck there is a fore-and-aft water-tight bulkhead girder extending five feet above the water-line, giving the ship a triple skin to this height. The boilers and engines are contained in six water-tight compartments below the protective-deck, three on each side, with a central passage providing protective communication between the extremities of the ship; below this passage and between the boiler rooms are situated the magazines and shell-rooms. Above the turrets is a flying-deck for navigating the ship, on which boats are stowed; two second-class torpedo boats are carried in addition to the usual complement.
The ship is lighted throughout by electricity and carries two powerful electric searchlights and two smaller searchlights for boat use; ample ventilation of magazines, storerooms and quarters is provided, also fresh water distilleries. There is a steam steering-engine below the protective deck and a steam capstan and windlass on the main and upper-decks forward.
The ship is driven by two sets of triple-expansion engines, of the vertical, inverted direct-acting type, capable of developing 5,800 horse-power with natural draft, and 8,600 with an air pressure of two inches of water. The engines occupy two water-tight compartments, each set having three cylinders 36, 57 and 78 inches in diameter, with a common stroke of 39 inches. There are four double-ended steel boilers 14 feet in diameter and 17 feet long, of the horizontal return-fire tubular type, each having six corrugated furnace-flues, total heating surface of about 17,000 square feet, total grate surface about 500 square feet; the working pressure is 150 pounds per square inch. All four boilers are connected to one smoke-pipe; the closed fire-room system of forced draught is used. The condensers are made entirely of composition and nuntz metal, with independent, circulating and air pumps.
Piston-valves are used for the high pressure and intermediate cylinders and a double-parted balance slide-valve on the bow pressure, with double bar-links. The engine-framing and bed-plates are cut of cast steel; the hollow shafting, piston-rods, connecting-rods, and working parts are generally of forged steel. The propellers are four-bladed and 14 feet six inches in diameter. The machinery was built by the Richmond Locomotive & Machine Works, of Richmond, Virginia.
The "Texas" holds a prominent position in the development of the new navy. The major-  ity of the ships laid down prior to the "Texas" were more or less reproductions of the best cruisers built in Europe, but when the first battle-ship and armored cruiser were authorized, the Secretary of the Navy offered a prize of $15,000 for the best design for either vessel, competition being thrown open to the world, as he desired to secure the best talent wherever found, judging that, although American constructors, engineers and ordnance officers had but slight experience at that time in designing such ships, their ingenuity and talent would keep the navy in the front rank for future work. The accuracy of the judgment is shown by the battle-ships and cruisers designed by these same officers not four years afterward, which excel anything designed abroad.
The construction of the "Texas" was authorized by Act of Congress approved August 3rd, 1886, and a circular embodying the conditions of the competition, the principal requirements and data, were issued August 21, 1886. Numerous designs were submitted, and in the spring of 1887 the board of naval experts unanimously decided that the best was that submitted by William John, an English naval architect of the highest reputation, who had recently died. Mr. John described his design in a paper read before the Institute of Naval Architects at its annual meeting in London in 1888, and it was favorably regarded by the eminent naval officers and constructors present. The same Act of Congress authorized the building of this battle-ship at a navy yard, and the Norfolk Navy Yard was selected. At that time it was entirely lacking in the mechanical appliances and other necessary facilities of a modern shipbuilding plant, and the workmen were totally inexperienced in building steel ships. Much time was necessarily occupied in forming the nucleus of a plant, and in organizing and instructing the workmen, and it was not until June 11, 1889, that the first keel-plate was laid. At this period, the manufacture of steel for ship-building purposes was but partially developed and the output of the steel makers could not supply the demand from public and privateshipyards. The material for each portion of a ship's structure is ordered of the dimensions required in the order in which it will be needed, and can only be used in its proper place; but the material was delivered so irregularly that many vexatious delays ensued.
The stern-post was ordered in July, 1889, but it was not completely delivered until August, 1890, more than a year afterward, thus necessitating suspension of the work on the after portion of the ship during this long period; the steel plates for the protective-decks were ordered in November, 1889, the contract requiring them to be delivered in 60 days thereafter, yet they were not half delivered until June, 1890, and the order was not completed until May, 1891; during this long period the greater portion of the work to be done above the protective-deck was necessarily at a stand-still; at the time of the launching, none of the armor had been received.
The contractors for the structural plating of the "Texas" caused excessive delays by their irregular deliveries. Six months after the beginning of the "Texas," the cruiser "Raleigh" was laid down and launched in March and the double turreted monitor "Amphitrite" had been rebuilt and made ready for her armor, though none of it had been received up to this time. That this could be done is an evidence of the rapidity with which the plant and organization had been advanced; and at that time the workmanship at the Navy Yard was unsurpassed and the largest battle-ship could be built with economy and dispatch, The "Texas" was the first battle-ship of the new steel navy; a singly shot can totally disable a cruiser, but the armored battle-ship has much greater endurance and can take the risk of receiving the fire of heavy guns, knowing that the vitals of the ship are protected by armor.
In cruisers armor is sacrificed to speed and coal endurance, and they are expected to use their superior speed to escape from more powerful ships. In battle-ships speed is sacrificed to armor and armament; two or more large guns are carried, and the loading mechanism,  crew and machinery are protected from immediate destruction by armor; they are expected to take part in hotly contested sea-fights, where hard blows and stubborn endurance will win the day. The battle-ship differs from the monitor in carrying the heavy guns high above the water so that they can be used in all ordinary weather at sea and in carrying numerous additional breech-loading and rapid-firing guns. The space not occupied by these guns affords commodious, quarters for the crew; the monitor's heavy guns can not be used in rough water and only a few of the smallest rapid-firing guns can be carried. The structure of a battle-ship is far more complete than that of a cruiser. Not only is there a far more extensive subdivision, but there are the supports and strengthening for armor and armament and the mechanism for loading and manipulating the guns, all of which must be light and yet amply strong.
THE INTERNATIONAL COLUMBIAN NAVAL RENDEZVOUS.
The great International Columbian Naval Rendezvous in Hampton Roads, celebrating the 400th anniversary of the discovery of America by Christopher Columbus, was an event which will long be remembered by the inhabitants of Norfolk County; never before had such a grand naval pageant been beheld on the waters of the "King's Chamber."
On the 25th of April, 1890, Congress authorized the President to extend invitations to foreign nations to send ships or war to join the United States Navy Yard in rendezvous at Hampton Roads and proceed thence to the review. Pursuant to this, the 26th of April, 1893, was announced as the date fixed for the rendezvous. Another Act of Congress provided for the construction in Spain of reproductions of two of the caravels of Columbus in order that they might be a feature of the review and a third caravel, a duplicate of the largest vessel of Columbus, the "Santa Maria," was built by the Spanish government and sent across the Atlantic to participate in the celebration.
Rear-Admiral Bancroft Gerardi was directed by the Secretary of the Navy to assume command on the 1st of March, 1893, of the fleet for the naval review and he directed the organization of the United States fleet. Commander-in-chief, Rear-Admiral Bancroft Gherardi, U. S. Navy; commanding First Squadron, Rear-Admiral A. E. K. Benham, U. S. Navy; Commanding Second Squadron, Rear-Admiral John G. Walker, U S. Navy.
FORMATION NAME OF SHIP. TYPE Flag of Commander-in-chief "Philadelphia,
Protected cruiser Dispatch Boat, Cushing," Torpedo boat x FIRST SQUARDON x Section No. 1. x x 1. Leader, "Newark" (flag), Protected cruiser 2. Mate, "Atlanta," Partially protected cruiser Section No. 2. x x 3. Leader, "San Francisco," Protected cruiser 4. Mate, "Bancroft," Gun vessel Section No. 3. x x 5. Mate, "Bennington," Cruiser 6. Leader, "Baltimore," Protected cruiser x SECOND SQUADRON. x SECTION No. 4. x x 7. Leader, "Chicago" (flag), Partially protected cruiser 8. Mate "Yorktown," Cruiser SECTION No. 5, x x 9. Leader, "Charleston," Protected cruiser 10. Mate, "Vesuvius," Dynamite-gun vessel SECTION No. 6. x x 11. Mate, "Concord," Cruiser 12. Leader, "Miantonomoh," Double-turreted Monitor
By the end of March the "Philadelphia," "Atlanta," "Baltimore," "Chicago," "Yorktown," "Charleston," "Vesuvius," "Concord" and "Cushing" were assembled at Hampton Roads. The rest of the United States vessels arrived early in April except the "Miantonomoh," which did not join the fleet until it arrived in the Hudson River. The two caravels, "Nina" and "Pinta" were towed from Europe to Havana, Cuba, by the "Newark" and "Bennington" and there turned over to the Spanish authorities. The "Santa Maria" was sent to Havana by the Spanish government.
When anchored at Hampton Roads in the rendezvous formation, upon the completion of some preliminary exercises for which they had been sent by squadrons to the mouth of Chesa-  peake Bay, the United States ships lay on the north side of the Roads, the flagship "Philadelphia" being abreast of Old Point Comfort wharf, with the First Squadron to the eastward of her and the Second Squadron to the westward, the ships at single anchor and about two cables apart. The "Vesuvius" was given an inshore berth.
The first foreign ship to arrive was the Russian cruiser "General Admiral" on the 8th of April. The Russian cruiser "Rynda" arrived on the first and the Italian cruiser "Giovanni Bausan" as well as the French cruiser "Jean Bart," on the 16th of April, after which foreign ships came in from day to day until the 23rd of April, when the accession of the Brazilian, squadron made the foreign fleet complete with the exception of the Russian flagship, "Dmitri Donskoi," and the Argentine cruiser "Nueve de Julio," both of which joined the assembled fleet in New York. The visiting ships on their arrival were berthed in two columns abreast of the United States fleet, but a little farther to the southward and arranged so the nationalities should be together. The national salutes were fired by the foreign ships coming into the roads and returned from Fortress Monroe.
On the 17th of April the English squadron, composed of the flag-ship "Blake," "Australia," Magicienne," "Tartar" and "Partridige," under the command of Vice-Admiral Sir John O. Hopkins, K. C. B., came in and was assigned a position at the head of the foreign column, with the "Blake" abreast the "Philadelphia" and the "Partridge" at the seaward end of the squadron—the latter was ordered south two days afterward.
The French flag-ship "Arethuse," Rear-Admiral H. d'Abel de Libran, entered the Roads on the 19th and took her station at the head of the French squadron. The Italian flagship "Etna," Rear-Admiral G. B. Magnaghi, arrived on the 20th. The three vessels of the Spanish squadron, the "Infanta Isabel," "Reina Regente" and "Neuva Espana," each with a caravel in tow, stood in past the ships at anchor and then turning steamed back to their position at the eastern end of the third column, abreast the English squadron, the caravels being berthed near them.
After getting well in past the columns of war-ships, one caravel, the "Santa Maria," had cast off her line. Then making all sail she stood down, before a moderate westerly breeze, between the United States ships and the second column, presenting a most interesting and picturesque sight. She was afterward taken to a berth near the Spanish flag-ship.
The fleet dressed ship on the 22nd in honor of the anniversary of the marriage of the King and Queen of Italy, and a national salute was fired at 8 A. M., at noon and at sunset. The dispatch vessel "Dolphin," designated as the reviewing ship, had joined the fleet on the 14th of April and had left on the 19th for Annapolis, Maryland, where Hon. Hillary A. Herbert, Secretary of the Navy, embarked. They arrived on the 22nd, flying the Secretary's flag. As she approached and stood in between the United States column and the visiting squadrons, salutes of 17 guns each, in honor of the Secretary, were fired by the fort on shore, by the "Philadelphia," and by each foreign flag or senior officer's ship. The salutes, fired in succession, were returned by the "Dolphin," those fired by foreign ships being returned gun for gun, with the flag of the foreign nation at the fore in each case. Immediately upon letting go her anchor the "Dolphin" dressed ship, as the fleet had done at 8 A. M. On the 23rd of April the Spanish squadron departed for New York with the caravels in tow. On the evening of the same day the Brazilian squadron arrived, under command of Rear-Admiral Julio de Noronha, this, squadron comprising the "Aquidaban" (flag-ship), "Tiradentes" and "Republica."
While the ships were at Hampton Roads, entertainments to the foreign officers were given on board of the United States vessels and a grand ball was given at Norfolk.
International boat races took place at Norfolk and at Old Point Comfort, prizes for the winning crews being given by the citizens.
On the 24th of April the combined fleet  left Hampton Roads. For the United States fleet, which weighed anchor first, the preparatory signal to get under way was made at 8:45 A. M. At this time the ships were riding to the ebb, and the "Newark" had shifted from a berth next the "Philadelphia" to one at the eastern end of the column. The signal of execution was made at 9 0'clock A. M.
"The Newark" got under way and steamed at five knots along the northern side of the column, followed in succession by each ship of the United States fleet. This movement formed the fleet in column, natural order, heading to the southward of west, ships 300 yards apart between centers.
The "Philadelphia" got under way in time to take a position ahead of the "Newark." The "Dolphin," flying the Secretary of the Navy's flag, weighed and stood out independently, off the starboard bow of the "Philadelphia."
When the United States fleet was under way, well closed up, full speed—eight knots— was signaled, and before reaching Newport News Middle Ground the column countermarched to port. The "Dolphin" stopped at the turn, while the United States fleet passed in review. Returning, the column passed between the visiting squadrons at anchor and Old Point.
The United States fleet then slowed to half-speed until the visiting squadrons got into their assigned positions when full speed was resumed.
The composition of the fleet as it sailed from Hampton Roads was as follows:
PORT COLUMN NO. OF SHIPS STARBOARD COLUMN NO. OF SHIPS United States 12 England 4 Holland 1 Russia 2 Germany 2 France 3 x x Italy 2 x x Brazil 3 Total 14 Total 14
In this order, with an interval of 600 yards between the two columns, and with the ships in each column separated by distances of 300 yards, the combined fleet of eight nations stood out from the capes of the Chesapeake Bay and shaped an offshore course for New York.
Naval Constructor Bowles, on July 9, 1894, reported the progress of work on the "Texas," "Amphitrite" and "Raleigh," together with a tabular statement as to repair work on the "Atlanta," "Bancroft," "Charleston," "Concord," "Constellation," "Detroit," "Dolphin," "Essex," "Fern," "Miantonomoh," "Monongahela," "Montgomery," "Newark," "Nantucket," "Portsmouth," "Standish," "Vesuvius," "Wyandotte," "Wahneta" and yard launches. He also made suggestions for various improvements in the yard, as follows:
(1) Dry dock No. 1 (stone-dock) is limited in capacity to vessels of the size of the "Atlanta," and if lengthened 100 feet could be used for all the cruiser class of vessels, which would increase its usefulness to a very large extent.
(2) Dry dock No. 2 is so constructed at the gate that it can not be used for docking the battle-ships now building, and it will be exceedingly dangerous to attempt the docking of the "Texas" or armored cruisers in this dock when at the load-draft. An additional dry dock of sufficient size for these vessels is recommended, and the importance and necessity of beginning at the earliest possible moment the construction of such a dock at this navy yard can not be overestimated. An available and desirable site adjoins dry dock No. 2.
(3) The difficulty of berthing ships at this navy yard, owing to insufficient wharfage, has been frequently experienced during the past year, and the necessity for berthing ships at a considerable distance from the shops has delayed and increased the cost of the work of repairs. It has occurred several times during the past year that both dry docks were in use, and every berth at the wharves occupied. On two occasions it was necessary to berth a ship at St. Helena, opposite the navy yard. It is recommended that the timber-basin, no longer required for the original purpose, be cleared out and converted into a fitting basin, by building a wall and gate across the continuation of Rowan avenue, utilizing that portion of the dock to the west for spar timber, the eastern portion to be deepened and provided with retaining walls and a pontoon bridge at the eastern end.
(4) The shipfitters' shop has proved of entirely inadequate capacity for carrying on the work of the department. It is too small for the machines it now contains, and the equipment of tools is not more than half what it should be. My recommendation of last year in regard to this matter is, therefore, renewed and urged, especially in view of the fact that the smithery (building No. 9) has continued to develop serious defects, and, in order to obtain necessary space for the  tinners, the tinshop has been moved to the spar-shed (building No. 28).
It is therefore suggested that a new shipfitters' shop be erected in the vacant lot adjacent to the timber-basin, which shall have wings and galleries, and be fitted with traveling cranes, elevators and all modern appliances, electric plant, new shop engine and boilers, and additional machine tools, and be connected with the railroad system of the yard.
In building No. 42, thus vacated, it is proposed to locate the foundry at the north end, utilizing the present chimney, enlarging the plant with cupolas and cranes, the south end of this building to be rearranged in two stories for plumbers, coppersmiths, tinsmiths, and pipefitters.
Building No. 9, the present smithery, to be torn down and a new one erected having iron framework and corrugated iron sides and roof, and be supplied with a 5,000-pound steam-hammer, a new reverberatory furnace, and the jobbing, angle, beam forges to be rearranged.
Estimated cost of changes, and installation of tools, rearrangement of shop interiors, and new tools and equipments, $150,000.
(5) When ships in dry dock or in the vicinity are undergoing repairs, much time is lost by the workmen in going to and from the shops, which are 2,000 feet distant. It is suggested that a one-story shop with a shed at each end, be built between the two dry docks and supplied with a small outfit of machinery and a motive engine of 40-horsepower, for which steam could be obtained from the pump-house. The sheds would provide convenient stowage for docking gear and cover for stage plank shores, horses, etc., which deteriorate rapidly from exposure. The estimated cost of machinery for this shop and for erecting and installing the plant is $20,000.
(6) A locomotive 10-ton traveling crane and car would greatly reduce the cost of handling the material of this department, $4,300.
(7) A floating, self-propelling derrick with revolving jib, having a capacity of 80 tons, is very necessary and could be built and maintained by this department to advantage. The facilities now available for handling heavy weights are inadequate to the work of the yard, $75,000.
4. Changes and installation of tools, rearrangement of shop interiors, new tools and equipments, $150,000.
5. Machinery for new one-story shop, to be located between the two dry docks, and for erecting and installing plant in same, $20,000.
6. A locomotive 10-ton traveling crane and car, $4,300
7. A floating, self-propelling derrick, 80 tons capacity, $75,000
On July 6, 1895, Naval Constructor Bowles submitted a report giving a detailed description of the work done on the "Texas," "Amphitrite" and "Raleigh," from July 1, 1894, to June 30, 1895, including the condition of the work at the latter date, and the estimated date of readiness for trial, also a statement of the repair work done during the previous year.
On the "Texas," 98 per cent. of the work has been completed, based on the final completion of the vessel and outfit, ready for sea.
The "Amphitrite" was reported ready to go into commission April 16, 1895, and complete in all matters pertaining to the Bureau of Construction and Repair, the equipage having been put on board. She went into commission April 23, 1895, and sailed from the yard May 9, 1895, when the draft of water was 13 feet 9-1/8 inches forward and 14 feet 5-1/2 inches aft.
In a letter dated August 5, 1894, Naval Constructor Bowles reported the "Raleigh" complete, fitted out and ready for sea, as far as the work of the Bureau of Construction was concerned. The "Raleigh" left the Navy Yard September 8, 1894, at 1 P. M., all stores, ammunition, water and coal on board, and boilers at steaming level. With the exception of torpedoes, she was fully equipped. The draft of water forward was 18 feet nine inches, and aft, 20 feet. Her displacement was 3,485 tons. The "Raleigh" returned to the yard a second time on October 23, 1894, to have the ventilation of her fire-room improved, and left January 21, 1895.
When Naval Constructor Bowles was ordered from this yard, many testimonials of sincere regret were tendered him. The mechanics and clerks passed resolutions expressing their high appreciation and the people of Norfolk County generally feel that they owe him a debt of gratitude for his work in upbuilding this great naval station.
On July 14, 1896, Naval Constructor A. W. Stahl reported on the work done on the "Texas," "Amphitrite" and Steam Tug No. 5. and also gave a statement as to the repair work done during the fiscal year 1896, ending June 30th.
The "Texas" went into commission August  15, 1895, and left the Navy Yard September 5, 1895. The draft of water forward was 21 feet 6-1/2 inches, and aft, 23 feet-4-3/4 inches.
On January 4, 1896, the "Texas" returned to the yard. She went out of commission January 27, 1896, in order that certain desirable alterations and improvements in her construction might be carried out. The work was begun January 6, 1896, and was still in progress at the date of the report. It was thought that the ship would be ready for sea in all respects in matters coming under the Bureau of Construction and repair by August 31, 1896.
The "Amphitrite" arrived at the Navy Yard in August, 1895, in order that the board, of which Commodore T. O. Selfridge, U. S. Navy, was president, might inspect her and make recommendations and estimates for the improvement of the ventilation of her boiler and engine-rooms, and the reduction of the excessive temperature in her living spaces. The work recommended by the board was authorized by a letter from the Bureau, dated September 9, 1895. Work was begun at once and completed November 15, 1895, the vessel-leaving the-yard November 20, 1895.
The work on Steam. Tug No. 5 ("Samoset"), of which the keel was laid January 13, 1896, was stopped on February 8, 1896, on account of lack of funds. On June 13, 1896, work was resumed, additional money having become available by the passage of the naval appropriation bill.
The work on the "Texas," as shown in the report of the naval constructor of the Norfolk Navy Yard for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1897, consisted in completing the changes which had been authorized and most of which had been completed prior to July 1, 1896. The principal work completed after that date consisted in shifting hydraulic pumps to redoubt, overhauling hydraulic turning-gear, alterations in engine-room ventilation system, fitting electric fans in redoubt, recalking decks, painting and cementing, inclining experiment and other items of minor importance. The vessel wentinto commission July 20, 1896, and left the yard August 25th following.
The keel of the "Samoset" (Steam Tug No. 5) had been laid and the stem and stern-post erected prior to July 1, 1896. Subsequent to that date all work was completed except davits and stanchions, plumbing, scuppers, steering arrangements, towing bitts, fittings for running lights, painting and other minor items, which were all partially completed. The work was reported as 96 per cent. completed on July 1, 1897, and the estimated date of completion, ready for trial, was given as August 10, 1897.
Among the vessels on which repair work was done during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1897, were the "Fortune," "Raleigh,""Columbia," "Standish," "Montgomery," "Franklin" "Cushing," "Newark," "Wahneta," "Maine," "Fern," "Castine," "Amphitrite," "New York," "Monongahela," "Massachusetts,"
During the Spanish-American War the Navy Yard was the scene of great activity and many ships were fitted out for war service. The sailing of the Spanish fleet from Cadiz, Spain, was a matter of intense interest at this seaport and many torpedoes were planted between Fortress Monroe and the Rip Raps to protect this harbor against Admiral Cervera's fleet. Guard-boats were stationed at Old Point to pilot friendly vessels to and fro through the narrow opening in the line of torpedoes, which was to be closed on the appearance of a hostile fleet off the capes of Virginia.
The following is an outline of the work done at the Norfolk Navy Yard upon vessels under construction or out of commission during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1898:
U. S. S. "Newark."—This vessel was surveyed in April, 1897, and work upon her authorized July 1, 1897. The work consisted mainly of laying new main deck, installing eight improved electric ammunition hoists for 6-inch rapid-firing guns, and a thorough and complete overhauling of the entire vessel, preparatory to recommissioning. The vessel was  commissioned on May 21, 1898, and left the yard on June 15th.
U. S. tug "Fortune."—This tug was surveyed on May 11, 1893, and work begun October 10, 1896, since which time there were frequent delays on account of lack of funds and the necessity of putting the men on more urgent work. The work upon her during the fiscal year consisted of rebuilding the interior and joiner work of the vessel. The work was about 60 per cent. completed.
U. S. torpedo boat "Foote."—This vessel was delivered at the yard by the contractors July 26, 1897. The work upon her consisted chiefly of the completion of items not finished by the contractors at the time of delivery, and the addition of conveniences, etc., as were necessary to fit the vessel for her first cruise. She was commissioned August 7, 1897, and left the yard August 8, 1897.
U. S. torpedo boat "Winslow."— This vessel was delivered at the yard by the contractors December 22, 1897. The work consisted chiefly of the completion of items not finished by the contractors at the time of delivery, and the addition of conveniences, etc. The vessel was commissioned on December 29, 1897, and left the yard January 6, 1898.
U. S. torpedo boat "Rodgers."—This vessel was delivered at the yard by the contractors March 20, 1898. There were many items of work left incomplete by the contractors which had to be done at the yard, and, in addition, the vessel was subjected to an overhauling and some necessary alterations and additions. She was commissioned April 2, 1898, and left the yard April 17, 1898.
U. S. torpedo, boat "McKee."—This vessel was delivered at the yard by the contractors May 22, 1898. The work done upon her consisted of the completion of work left unfinished by the contractors and the fitting of such additional conveniences as were necessary in preparing the vessel for her first cruise. She went into commission May 16, 1898, and left the yard May 27, 1898.
U. S. S. "Nashville."—This vessel arrivedat the yard June 19, 1897. The work of fitting her out proceeded at once, and consisted chiefly of installing the battery, alteration to stem, painting hull above water, and such miscellaneous work in connection with the improvement or addition of conveniences as was necessary in preparing the vessel for her first cruise. She was out into commission August 9, 1897, and left the yard September 4, 1897.
The colliers "Merrimac" and, "Cassius" were fitted out at this yard. The work upon them consisted chiefly of the installation of such small batteries as were assigned to them, preparation for the accommodation of naval crews, and such overhauling and repairs as were necessary in order to prepare them for naval duty. Work upon the "Merrimac'' was begun April 11, 1898, and completed April 23, 1898. Work on the "Cassius" was begun May 23, 1898, and completed June 24, 1898.
U. S. S. "Iris" (distilling ship).—The work on this vessel consisted of that in connection with the installation of the apparatus necessary for the service required of her and such general overhauling and repair, alteration in quarters, etc., as were necessary to enable her to accommodate her naval crew.
The auxiliary gunboats "Apache" and "Yankton" were converted and fitted out at this yard. The work upon them consisted principally of the installation of their batteries, such changes in the interior joiner work, etc., as were necessary in order to accommodate their naval crews, ammunition, etc., and the necessary overhauling and repair. The work upon the "Yankton" was begun April 23, 1898, and completed June 18, 1898. The work upon the "Apache" was begun May 20, 1898, and completed June 23, 1898.
The revenue cutters, "Hamilton," "Morrill," "Windom," "Manning," "Woodbury" and "Hudson," were fitted out for use as auxiliary naval vessels at this yard. The work upon them consisted chiefly of the installation of additional batteries, magazines, such changes in their interiors as were necessary to accommodate the naval crews, and miscel-  laneous items of overhauling and repair incident to their first commissioning. The work on each was completed in April, 1898, except in the case of the "Manning," on which the alterations were concluded on the 3d of the succeeding month.
The light-house tenders "Suwanee," "Maple" and "Armeria," were fitted out at this yard for use as auxiliary naval vessels. The work upon them consisted chiefly of the installation of additional batteries, magazines, such changes in their interior as were necessary to accommodate the naval crews, and miscellaneous items of overhauling and repair incident to their first commissioning. The work on them was completed on the 7th, 10th and 30th of May, 1898.
Repairs were made during the year at the Norfolk Navy Yard on vessels in commission, named herewith: "Alice," "Amphitrite," "Brooklyn," "Cincinnati," "Cushing," "Dolphin," "Dupont," "Ericsson," "Fern," "Foote," "Franklin," "Justin," "Katahdin," "Maine," "Mohawk," "Montgomery," "Nashville," "Niagara," "Osceola," "Porter," "Puritan," "Saturn," "Sioux" "Solace," "Standish," "Sterling," "Terror," "Triton," "Uncas," "Vesuvius," "Vicksburg," "Wahneta," "Wilmington," "Winslow" and "Wompatuck."
For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1899, work was done upon ships under construction or out of commission at the Norfolk Navy Yard, as follows:
U. S. S. "Alexander."—This vessel arrived at the yard September 28, 1898, and was put out of commission November 2, 1898, to be fitted as a collier and manned by a merchant crew. This work, consisting of a general overhauling and refitting, was still in progress June 30, 1899.
U. S. S. "Apache."—This vessel was put out of commission September 24, 1898. In addition to the removal of her battery, the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
U. S. S. "Buffalo."—This vessel was put out of commission September 24, 1898. In addition to the removal of her battery the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance. She left the yard for the New York yard July 21, 1898.
U. S. S. "Cassius."—This vessel was put out of commission December 29, 1898. In addition to the removal of her battery the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
U. S. S. "Dorothea."—This vessel was put out of commission on September 20, 1898. In addition to the removal of her battery the only work done on her was such as was necessary to her care and maintenance.
U. S. tug "Fortune."—Frequent delays— at some times on account of lack of funds, and at others due to the necessity of shifting the men to more urgent work, had retarded progress on this vessel. On June 30, 1899, the work was about 80 per cent. completed.
U. S. S. "Frolic."—This vessel was put out of commission September 27, 1898. The ship was docked, her bottom cleaned and painted, and she was given such overhauling as was necessary to fit her for service with the Illinois Naval Militia. This work was completed but by the Bureau's order of November 1, 1898, she was again put in ordinary, and at the end of the fiscal year was still at the yard.
U. S. S. "Governor Russell."—This vessel was put out of commission September 28, 1898. In addition to repairing injuries to deck house, caused by collision, and the removal of her battery, the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
U. S. S. "Hannibal,"—This vessel was put out of commission October. 18, 1898. In addition to the removal of her battery, the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
U. S. S. "Hawk."—This vessel was put out of commission September 14, 1898. In addition to the removal of her battery, the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
U. S. S. "Hornet."—This vessel was put  out of commission October 14, 1898. The vessel was docked, her bottom cleaned and painted and she was given such overhauling as was necessary to fit her for service with the North Carolina Naval Militia. This work was completed and she left the yard December 19, 1898.
U. S. S. "Marcellus."—This vessel was put out of commission on March 8, 1899. In addition to the removal of her battery the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
U. S. S. "Newport."—This vessel came to the yard on September 25, 1898, being then out of commission. The "Newport," which had been used for general service, was given a complete overhauling to refit her for the use of the cadets at the U. S. Naval Academy. This work was completed May 26, 1899, and on June 30 the following she was still at the Navy Yard.
U. S. S. "Oneida."—This vessel was put out of commission September 19, 1898. In addition to the removal of her battery the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
U. S. S. "Puritan."—This vessel arrived at the Norfolk Navy Yard September 26, 1898, and was put out of commission March 1, 1899. All necessary work was done on her to permit of the installation of new and larger evaporators, but no other work was done on her except that necessary for her care and maintenance. A survey was ordered to ascertain what was necessary to be done to prepare her for her new commission.
U. S. S. "Rainbow."—This vessel arrived at the yard June 25, 1898. A lot of temporary accommodations for cattle were removed from her deck. Beyond this no work was done except such as was necessary for her care and maintenance. She left this yard for the New York yard July 22, 1898.
U. S. S. "Reina Mercedes."—This vessel arrived at the yard May 27, 1899. As she was leaking considerably, she was placed in dock for the purpose of repairing damage to herbottom. This work was still in progress June 30, 1899. No other work was done on her.
U. S. S. "San Francisco."—This vessel arrived at the yard in October, 1898, and was put out of commission October 25, 1898. A complete overhauling of the vessel was begun, which was still in progress June 30, 1899. The work in general consisted of laying new main and berth-decks, of replacing all ordinary wood by fireproof wood or other fireproof material, installing 10 electric ammunition-hoists for the main and secondary batteries, fitting new fire main, changing rig, and in general overhauling throughout and modernizing the entire vessel.
Stern-Plate of U. S. S. "San Francisco," showing the hole caused by a shot fired by Morro Castle,
which was the last shot fired during the war with Spain.
U. S. S. "Saturn."—This vessel arrived at the Navy Yard September 10, 1898, and was put out of commission November 4, 1898. Work was begun toward putting this vessel in thorough order as a collier. This work was not quite completed June 30, 1899, having been suspended on account of more urgent work.
U. S. S. "Siren."—This vessel was put out of commission September 24, 1898. The vessel was docked, her bottom cleaned and painted and she was given such overhauling as was necessary to fit her for service with the Virginia Naval Militia. This work was completed and she left the yard June 22, 1899.
U. S. S. "Stranger."—This vessel was put out of commission September 24, 1898. The "Stranger" was docked, her bottom cleaned and painted and she was given such overhauling as was necessary to fit her for service with the Louisiana Naval Militia. This work was completed and she left the yard December 6, 1898.
U. S. S. "Southery."—This vessel was put out of commission December 18, 1898. In addition to the removal of her battery, the only work done on her was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
On December 24, 1898, the Spanish gunboats "Alvarado'' and "Sandoval," captured at Guantanamo, Cuba, commanded by Lieutenants Victor Blue and Edward A. Anderson, arrived at the Navy Yard.
 U. S. S. "Sylvia,"—This vessel was put out of commission September 16, 1898. She was docked, her bottom cleaned and painted and she was given such overhauling as was necessary to fit her for service with the Maryland Naval Militia. This work was completed and she left the yard December 17, 1898.
U. S. S. "Terror."—This vessel arrived at the yard September 26, 1898, and was put out of commission February 25, 1899. Work was begun toward a thorough overhauling of this vessel preparatory to recommissioning, This work was not completed June 30, 1899.
U. S. S. "Viking."—This vessel arrived at the yard September 17, 1898, and was put out of commission September 21, 1898. Work was begun to fit her out as a gunboat for service in Central America. By the Department's orders this work was suspended from May 24, 1899, to June 25, 1899, when it was begun again. This work consisted of a general overhauling and refitting, and was still in progress June 30, 1899.
U. S. S. "Wasp."—This vessel was put out of commission September 27, 1898. This vessel was docked, her bottom cleaned and painted and she was given such overhauling as was necessary to fit her for service with the Florida Naval Militia. This work was completed and she left the yard December 6, 1898.
The revenue cutters, "Hudson," "Manning," "Morrill," "Windom," "Woodbury" and "Hamilton," and light-house tenders, '"Armeria," "Maple" and "Suwanee," which have been fitted out at this yard for auxiliary naval service, returned here at the end of hostilities with Spain. Their batteries were removed and all other necessary work was done to restore them, so far as practicable, to their original condition before being fitted for naval service.
During the year ending June 30, 1899, the Norfolk Navy Yard made repairs upon the following vessels in commission: "Aberenda," "Alexander," "Alliance," "Alice," "Annapolis," "Amphitrite," "Apache," "Badger," ''Brooklyn," "Calumet," "Caesar," "Cassius,""Cincinnati," "Columbia," "Dolphin," "Eagle," "Essex," "Fern," "Fish Hawk," "Franklin," "Glacier," "Hannibal," "Hornet," "Justin," "Katahdin," "Lebanon," "Leonidas," "McKee," "Massachusetts," "Massasoit," "Minneapolis," "Mohawk," "Monongahela," "Montgomery," "Newark," "Nashville," "New York," "Oregon," "Piscataqua," "Pompey," "Princeton," "Prairie," "Resolute," "Sandoval," "Scindia," "Sioux," "Siren," "Solace," "Southery," "Standish," "Sterling," "Stranger," "Sylph," "Talbot," Texas," "Tecumseh" "Triton," "Vicksburg," "Vesuvius," "Viking," "Vixen," "Vulcan," "Wahneta," "Wasp," "Wilmington," "Yankee," "Yankton" and "Yosemite."
On December 1, 1898, Past Assistant Engineer Kenneth McAlpine was presented with a handsome sword by his friends and admirers in recognition of his services on the "Texas" in the battle of Santiago.
The iron safe of the "Maria Teresa," the captured Spanish ship which was lost off Cat Island, was opened at the Navy Yard on December 1, 1898. The coin found in it was dumped into five canvas bags of the size which hold $500 in silver. It was not counted but estimated to be about $2,000.
For the year ending June 30, 1900, work was done upon ships under construction or out of commission at the Norfolk Navy Yard, as follows:
U. S. S. "Alexander."—This vessel, which had arrived at the yard September 28, 1898, was fitted out as a collier to be manned by a merchant crew. This work consisted of a general overhauling and refitting, and was completed August 4, 1899. In February, 1900, this vessel returned to the yard and was put out of commission. Her condition was extremely filthy; she was fumigated, cleaned throughout, and put in ordinary. In compliance with orders received June 23, 1900, to refit the vessel as a collier, the work of general overhauling and refitting was begun at once.
U. S. S. "Annapolis."—This vessel arrived at the yard in August, 1899, and was put out  of commission in September, 1899. A general survey of the vessel was ordered but was not completed, as the vessel was towed to Annapolis in October, 1899. On the return of the vessel to this yard in May, 1900, the survey was again taken up and completed May 28, 1900, and approved by the Bureau June 7, 1900. In compliance with this survey, a complete overhauling of the vessel was begun, which was still in progress June 30, 1900.
U. S. S. "Dorothea."—A survey was held on this vessel July 25, 1899, and was approved August 8, 1899. The work under this survey consisted of a thorough overhauling and refitting as a gunboat and supplying outfit and supplies for general service. This work was completed December 30, 1899, and the vessel was towed to League Island.
U. S. tug "Fortune."—The work of rebuilding the interior and refitting the vessel in general, which had been held back by frequent delays, was completed December 23, 1899, and the vessel left the yard.
U. S. S. "Frolic.''—A survey was held on this vessel July 26, 1899, and approved August 9, 1899, The work done under this survey consisted of a complete overhauling and refitting as a gunboat for general service. The work on this vessel was practically completed at the end of the fiscal year except final painting.
U. S. S. "Governor Russell."—The only work done on this vessel during the fiscal year was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance. The vessel was removed from the yard, having been sold by the government.
U. S. S. "Hannibal."—A survey was held on this vessel February 28, 1900, and was approved with certain modifications, June 23, 1900. The work under this survey consists of fitting a new steel bulkhead in the coal bunkers, enlarging crew space and thorough general overhauling and refitting for service as a navy collier. On June 30, 1900, this work was still in progress.
U. S. S. "Hawk."—A survey was held July 26, 1899, and approved August 8, 1899. Thework under this survey consisted of a thorough overhauling and refitting as a gunboat for general service. On June 30, 1900, this work was still in progress.
U. S. S. "Hist."—This vessel arrived at the yard in September, 1899. In accordance with an approved survey held at Port Royal, South Carolina, August 22, 1899, a certain amount of miscellaneous minor repairs and overhauling was done on this vessel. An additional survey was held May 18, 1900, and was approved May 24, 1900. The work under this survey was to consist of a thorough overhauling and entire refitting of the vessel as a gunboat. On June 30, 1900, this work was still in progress.
U. S. S. "Illinois,"—The work on this vessel consisted in building boats, furniture, blocks and entire outfit, and was 40 per cent. completed at the end of the fiscal year.
U. S. S. "Kearsarge."—The work on this vessel consisted in building boats, furniture, blocks and entire outfit. This work was completed.
U. S. S. "Kentucky."—The work on this vessel consisted in building furniture, blocks and entire outfit. The work was completed.
U. S. S. "Lebanon."—The only work done on this vessel was such as was necessary for care and maintenance.
U. S. S. "Newport."—The work of this vessel consisted of doing necessary work to enable the Bureau of Equipment to install an electric-light plant, making minor changes in the storerooms of the vessel and building an additional ordnance storeroom. This work was completed April 7, 1900, and the vessel left this yard April 10, 1900.
U. S. S. "Oneida."—The work on her consisted in docking, cleaning and painting, and such additional work as was necessary for care and maintenance. She left the yard March 21, 1900.
U. S. S. "Puritan."—A small amount of work was done preparatory to the vessel leaving this yard for Annapolis. This, work consisted of docking, cleaning and painting  bottom, overhauling steering gear, steam winches, operating rods for drainage system, turret-turning gear, turn-buckles on turret-aprons, water-closets, anchor gear, life-buoys, boat-booms, steam capstan and installing the secondary battery. This vessel left the yard November 18, 1899, for Annapolis. She returned to the yard June 29, 1900, and was docked and her bottom cleaned and painted. This vessel left the yard July 3, 1900.
U. S. S. "San Francisco."—A complete overhauling of the vessel was begun and was still in progress on June 30, 1900.
U. S. S. "Saturn."—Work was begun toward putting this vessel in thorough order as a collier, but was soon suspended on account of more urgent work. On May 1, 1900, work was resumed and, on June 30, 1900, was 95 per cent. completed. The work in general consisted of a thorough scaling, cleaning, painting and overhauling and making and fitting new spars.
Torpedo boat "Stringham."—This vessel was docked at the Navy Yard for the removal of propellers and shafts. The expense of this work to be borne by the Harlan & Hollingsworth Company.
U. S. S. "Southery."—The only work done on this vessel was such as was necessary for her care and maintenance.
U. S. Army "Sumner" (formerly U. S. S. "Cassius") .—This vessel was transferred to the War Department September, 1899, and under orders from the Navy Department was converted into an army transport. The work in general consisted of practically rebuilding the vessel. All of the interior work on the vessel was torn out and she was thoroughly scaled, cleaned and painted, new wooden decks fitted, officers' and soldiers' quarters built complete, additional superstructure deck added, extensive repairs made to framing double-bottom, lavatories and bathrooms for soldiers and officers and crew fitted, cold-storage rooms fitted, etc. She left the yard in March, 1900.
U. S. S. "Viking."—The work of fitting this vessel out as a gunboat for service in Central America, which was suspended from May 24, 1899, to June 25, 1899, was again taken in hand and was completed October 24, 1899. The work consisted of a general overhauling and refitting. In November, 1899, this vessel was transferred to the War Department and, under orders from the Bureau, the battery was removed. This vessel left the yard December 23, 1899.
U. S. S. "Wasp."—This vessel arrived at the yard in September, 1899. In compliance with a survey held at Port Royal, South Carolina, August 22, 1899, a certain amount of miscellaneous minor repairs and overhauling was done on this vessel. An additional survey was held May 18, 1900, and was approved May 25, 1900. The work under this survey was to consist of a thorough overhauling and entire refitting of the vessel as a gunboat. On June 30, 1900, this work was still in progress.
The following named vessels in commission were repaired at the Navy Yard: "Alice," Coal Barge No. I (equipment), "Caesar," "Essex," "Franklin," "Gloucester," "Gwin," "Marcellus," "Mohawk," "Nashville," "Nezinscot," "Prairie," "Potomac," "Porter," "Siren," "Sioux," "Scorpion," 'Talbot," "Texas," "Triton," "Vixen" and "Wahneta."
The cruiser "Reina Mercedes," the only ship of any size which was saved from the wreck of the Spanish fleet at Santiago, was brought to the Navy Yard from lower quarantine May 27, 1899.
Her arrival had been timed for 12 'o'clock, but it was 1:30 P. M. before she ship was made fast along the north dock.
She was given a tumultuous welcome as she came up the harbor. A wealth of flags and banting was flying from the escort of 22 tugs. Every craft tied down the whistle lever and there was a babel of siren notes. Grimes' Battery and the Seaboard Air Line Band met the "Reina Mercedes" below Sewall's Point and joined the procession.
She was saluted by every passing steamer and acknowledged each greeting with a blast from her whistle. The vessel carried on her  deck a small engine used for pumping out her bilges, and to this had been attached a whistle made out of 6-inch shells. She was towed up from Old Point by a tandem of three tugs.
Thousands of people lined the water-front on both sides of the harbor and did their best to make themselves heard above the din of the siren whistles; a waving forest of hats, umbrellas and handkerchiefs told that the crowds were cheering.
The "Reina Mercedes" had a great amount of woodwork on her, but while this exposed her to imminent danger of fire from American shells, it is noteworthy that she was the only one of the Spanish vessels, which was not set on fire. The ship was grievously mangled by the shots which ploughed their way through her.
One of these shots, said to have been a 12-inch from the "Texas" struck the "Mercedes" on the starboard quarter, just behind the forward sponson on the main deck and burst when about three feet inside the ship. The force of the explosion was probably upwards, for the floor of the gun deck was torn entirely away for a considerable distance. The course of the shot was obliquely across the main-deck, the fragments of the shells evidently having scattered. The mainmast was almost cut in two. The dynamo was demolished completely and everything within a wide radius seemed to have been perforated. Another shot carried away the corner of the bridge, killing the executive officer of the ship and 10 seamen. Still another shot crashed through the main-deck, and innumerable punctures of her small pipes, ventilators, etc., showed the work of the small calibre guns.
The "Mercedes" had eight torpedoes aboard of her and two Hontori 5-inch guns, one of which was jammed with a solid shot.
The vessel was used as a transport in the early days of the Spanish-American War and this fact accounts for her slender armament. She was caught in Santiago by the United States blockading fleet. She was fired upon by the "Texas" and "Massachusetts" uponshowing herself at the mouth of the harbor on one occasion and sustained a very severe handling.
The "Mercedes" did not attempt to leave the harbor with Cervera's fleet on July 2nd, and was sunk by the Spanish themselves to prevent the American ships from entering the harbor. She was afterward raised by a wrecking company and brought into Hampton Roads on May 21st, thence to the Navy Yard for the sum of $75,000. She was put in the Simpson dry dock and had her bottom cleaned and after remaining for almost 18 months at this yard she left in tow of two naval tugs for the Portsmouth (New Hampshire) yard on the 24th of August, 1900.
The work at the Norfolk Navy Yard upon ships, for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1901, was as follows:
U. S. S. "Illinois,"—In this year all of the work of building boats, furniture, blocks and entire outfit, was completed and the articles shipped to the works of the contractors.
U. S. S. "Virginia."—The work of building an outfit of boats for this vessel was commenced.
U. S. S. "Ajax."—This vessel arrived at the Navy Yard. March 1, 1901; was put out of commission March 16, 1901, and necessary steps taken for her proper care and preservation. Under date of March 14, 1901, the Bureau directed that necessary repairs be proceeded with to put the vessel in efficient condition for service, and ordered a general survey, which was held and approved April 1, 1901, The work, consists of general overhauling and refitting.
U. S. S. "Alexander."—The work of refitting this vessel as a collier was completed and the vessel left the yard August 10, 1900. She returned to the yard March 7, 1901 and a few repairs were made to enable her to make another trip to Manila and return.
U. S. S. "Annapolis."—The general overhauling of the vessel, undertaken in the previous year, was completed. The vessel went into commission November 14, 1900, and left the yard December 6, 1900.
 U. S. S. "Apache."— On May 31, 1900, a general survey was held on this vessel and necessary repairs to put her in efficient service were recommended. On July 23, 1900, the survey was approved with certain modifications, and the repairs were ordered to be made at the New York Navy Yard. The vessel left the yard August 3, 1900, for New York.
Ferry launch No. 291.—At the beginning of the fiscal year, ending June 30, 1901, this launch was about one-tenth completed. During the year the work was carried on to completion, the launch placed in dry dock and her bottom sheathed with copper. All work was completed February 20, 1901, and the launch was placed in service April 1, 1901.
U. S. S. "Frolic."—On October 23, 1900, the Bureau directed that all repairs under it be made to fit the vessel for foreign service. Certain additions and alterations were recommended by the Board of Inspection and Survey and were approved. This work, and other-minor work incidental to commissioning, was undertaken at once and was completed. The vessel left the yard December 28, 1900.
Steamer "Hamilton."—This is a private vessel, which was damaged in collision with the U. S. tug "Wahneta." This work was completed June 29, 1901.
U. S. S. "Hannibal."—The work under the survey of February 28, 1900, consisted of fitting a new steel bulkhead in the coal bunkers, enlarging crew space and thorough general overhauling and refitting for service as a navy collier. This work was commenced during the latter part of the fiscal year, ending June 30, 1900, and was completed during September, 1900. The vessel left the yard November 6, 1900.
U. S. S. "Hawk."—Under date of June 27, 1900, the Department indicated its intention of loaning this vessel to the Ohio Naval Militia and directed completion of repairs at least possible cost. On July 11, 1900, the Bureau directed the fitting of the after berth-deck space for use of additional officers. This work was completed, the vessel docked, bottom cleanedand painted and left the yard September 6, 1900.
U. S. S, "Hist."—The work under the survey, approved May 24, 1900, was commenced during the fiscal year ending the following June, but very little was done. The work in general consisted of a complete overhauling and refitting the vessel as a gunboat. All of this work was completed May 4, 1901, and the vessel left the yard May 8, 1901.
U. S. S. "Lebanon."—This vessel has been in ordinary since the beginning of the fiscal year. Necessary work has been done for her care and preservation. A survey was held on this vessel November 19, 1900, to determine what was necessary to put the vessel in efficient condition for service as a collier. This survey was approved December 8, 1900; but on account of more urgent work only a few items of repairs were undertaken and none has been completed.
U. S. S. "San Francisco."—A complete overhauling of the vessel was begun, in compliance with the Bureau's order of May 23, 1899, and is now in progress and about six-tenths completed. It is estimated that this vessel will be ready for commission about January 1, 1902.
U. S. S. "Saturn."—The work of putting the vessel in thorough order as a collier was completed and the vessel left the yard August 5, 1900.
U. S. S. "Siren."—This vessel arrived at the yard April 11, 1901, and necessary steps were taken for her proper care and preservation. On May 20, 1901, the Bureau directed that necessary repairs be made to this vessel to fit her for service in training landsmen attached to the receiving-ship"Franklin."
U. S. S. "Southery."—This vessel was in ordinary at the beginning of the fiscal year, and necessary work was done for her proper care and preservation. Under date of August 30,
1900, the Bureau directed that all work on this vessel under its cognizance, which might be necessary to put the vessel in proper condition for service to be done. Under this authority  the vessel was given a thorough overhauling and refitting. This work was completed, the vessel laid up in ordinary, and only such work done as was necessary for care and preservation. On June 14, 1901, the Department assigned this vessel for use in confining prisoners, commanding officer of the "Franklin" in charge, and upon his request and the commandants approval thereof, minor changes, alterations and improvements were made, as follows: Fit iron bars across air ports, cut door-opening in bulkhead in crew spaces forward, fit fresh-water pipe from scuttle-butt to prison space, etc. This vessel is now in the service to which she has been assigned.
U. S. S. "Terror."—This vessel was undergoing extensive repairs and alterations under authority of survey, approved December 9, 1898, and authority of the Bureau of Construction and Repair as to certain items found necessary and desirable subsequent to holding this survey; but the majority of this work was practically suspended during the fiscal year on account of more urgent work. The most important item of work was the overhauling of the air compressors and this is about completed. The work under this survey is about eight-tenths completed. Upon recommendation of the naval constructor, the Bureau, under date of June 14, 1900, ordered a survey to be held on this vessel to ascertain and report what additional work was necessary to put the vessel in condition for service.
U. S. S. "Texas."—Extensive repairs have been ordered on this vessel, under survey held March 21, 1901, and approved by the Bureau of Construction and Repair March 27, 1901; but no work has yet been done, except such as is necessary for her proper care and preservation.
U. S. S. "Wasp."—The work on this vessel, under the survey, approved May 25, 1900, commenced at the end of the last fiscal year, but, owing to more urgent work, little progress was made. The work was taken actively inhand in May and on June 30, 1901, the work was nearly completed.
U. S. tug "Alice."—Necessary work was done on this tug during the year to keep her in proper condition for yard service.
U. S. S. "Alliance."—While at Hampton Roads, May 31, 1901, overhauling and repairs were requested on truss of main-yard. This work was authorized by the commandant June 3, 1901, and was completed June 8, 1901.
U. S. S. "Alvarado."—This vessel arrived at the yard June 25, 1901, for the purpose of docking and cleaning and painting bottom, and this work was completed. By authority of the commandant of June 27, 1901, the work of securing forward whaleboat-davit was begun and under authority of the Bureau of June 27, 1901, the painting of hull and all work exposed to the weather was soon in progress, and about six-tenths completed.
U. S. S. "Amphitrite."—This vessel arrived at the yard May 12, 1901. The work consisted principally of repairs to turret machinery, loading grating, turret clip circles and bulkheads, fitting jackstays for side-curtains, covering flying-deck with canvas, repairs to berth-deck and mounting two Maxim guns. All this work was completed and the vessel left the yard May 31, 1901.
U. S. S. "Caesar."—This vessel arrived at the yard February 21, 1901, to have necessary repairs made, and to be fitted out for service with a merchant crew. As the service of the vessel were urgently needed by the Department only such repairs were authorized as were necessary for the safety and efficiency of the ship and that could be be done in 25 working days, and a survey was ordered covering this work. The survey was duly held and approved March 26, 1901. This vessel left the yard May 22, 1901.
U. S. S. "Chesapeake."—This vessel arrived at the yard February 17, 1901, for repairs, alterations, etc. On February 7, 1901, the Bureau requested a report from the naval constructor as to the estimated time and cost  to do the work required to put the vessel in efficient condition for service. On March 2, 1901, the report was approved, the work ordered and survey ordered to be held to cover the same. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard April 12, 1901.
U. S. torpedo boat "Cushing."—This vessel arrived at the yard February 9, 1901, and was ordered placed in condition for service by June 1, 1901. The vessel was docked and the bottom cleaned and painted. Miscellaneous minor repairs were made from time to time as requested by the commanding officer. All this work was completed. The vessel is still at the yard.
U. S. S. "Dixie."—This vessel arrived at the yard March 14, 1901, for the purpose of docking, cleaning and painting bottom and such repairs to her bottom, plating as necessary all of which was completed. The vessel left the yard April 22, 1901.
U. S. S. torpedo boat "Dupont."—This vessel arrived at the yard March 14, 1901, and was ordered placed in condition for service by June 1, 1901. All work was completed except fitting filling pipe to freshwater tank, and this will be completed July 6, 1901. The vessel is still at the yard.
U. S. S. "Eagle."—This vessel arrived at the yard December 14, 1900, for the purpose of docking, and cleaning and painting bottom. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard January 12, 1901.
U. S. torpedo boat "Ericsson."—This torpedo boat arrived at the yard January 2, 1901; was docked, bottom cleaned and painted, rudder repaired, and water-closets overhauled. The vessel returned to the yard in May, 1901, and was ordered placed in proper condition for service by June 1, 1901. Numerous repairs were made. This vessel will be docked July 1st and the bottom cleaned and painted. It is estimated that this work will be completed by July 6, 1901.
U. S. S. "Essex."—This vessel arrived at the yard December 25, 1900. The Department, under date of December 24, 1900, directed that necessary repairs recommended by the board of inspection and survey be proceeded with, and under this authority the work was done. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard January 12, 1901.
U. S. torpedo boat "Foote."—This torpedo boat arrived at the yard February 11, 1901, and was ordered placed in proper condition for service by June 1, 1901. This work was completed. The vessel is still at the yard.
U. S. receiving-ship "Franklin."—The work done on the "Franklin" during the fiscal year was completed June 1, 1901.
U. S. S. "Hannibal."—This vessel arrived at the yard May 31, 1901, for the purpose of docking and cleaning and painting bottom. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard June 4, 1901.
U. S. tug "Hercules."—Work was done on this tug during the fiscal year.
U. S. S. "Hannibal."—This vessel arrived at the yard January 10, 1901, for the purpose of docking and cleaning and painting bottom. This work was completed January 19, 1901. The vessel left the yard January 22, 1901.
U. S. S. "Leonidas."—This vessel arrived at the yard January, 1901, and repairs were made. This work was completed February 26, 1901. The vessel left the yard February 20, 1901. The vessel again returned to the yard June 14, 1901, for the purpose of docking and cleaning and painting bottom. This work was completed June 29, 1901. This vessel left the yard July 1, 1901.
U. S. torpedo boat "Manley."—This vessel was hauled out on the marine railway July, 14, 1900, her bottom cleaned and painted and proper data taken for the preparation of plans for general information. The vessel left the yard August 6, 1900.
U. S. S. "Marcellus."—On December 22, 1900, the Bureau authorized necessary work on this vessel to put her in serviceable condition to transport coal from Norfolk to Hamp-  ton Roads. This work was commenced, but was suspended to allow more important work to be proceeded with. On April 19, 1901, the bureau ordered a survey held on this vessel. The survey was held May 3, 1901, and cognizance was taken of the work under way, and report was made on all other work necessary to be done to put the vessel in efficient condition for service. This survey was approved May 11, 1901, but none of the work has yet been begun. The vessel went out of commission June 4, 1901, and necessary steps have been taken for her care and preservation.
U. S. S. "Mayflower."—This vessel arrived at the yard April 13, 1901, for docking, cleaning and painting bottom, and necessary repairs. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard May 13, 1901.
U. S. tug "Mohawk."—This tug has been in yard service during the entire fiscal year; repairs in connection with this service have been made. This work was completed April 25, 1901. June 24, 1901, the commandant authorized docking this vessel to clean and paint bottom. It is estimated that this work will be completed July 6, 1901.
U. S. S. "Nero."—This vessel arrived at the yard April 16, 1901. Upon recommendation of Board of Inspection and Survey, the Bureau authorized such work as was absolutely necessary to put this vessel in condition to make another trip to Manila and return. The work was completed June 1, 1901, and the vessel left the yard June 11, 1901.
U. S. tug "Nezinscot."—This tug was docked August 20, 1900, bottom cleaned and painted, and repairs made. This tug left the yard August 24, 1900.
U. S. S. "Piscataqua."—This Vessel arrived at the yard December 12, 1900, and upon recommendation of Board of Inspection and Survey, the work was ordered; it was completed and the vessel left the yard December 27, 1900.
U. S. torpedo boat "Porter."—This vesselarrived at the yard February 26, 1901, and was ordered placed in condition for service June 1, 1901. All of this work was completed June 15, 1901. This vessel is still at the yard.
U. S. tug "Potomac."—This vessel arrived at the yard November 20, 1900, and had temporary repairs made, and the vessel left the yard November 26, 1900. The vessel again returned to the yard April 21, 1901, and, under date of April 24, 1901, the Bureau ordered undertaken without delay certain repairs. The vessel left the yard June 5, 1901.
U. S. torpedo boat "Rodgers."—This vessel arrived at the yard May 9, 1901, with a damaged stem and bow; was docked May 22; the stem and bow repaired; bottom cleaned and painted and minor repairs made and was unlocked June 5, 1901. The vessel is still at the yard.
U. S. torpedo boat "Shubrick."—This vessel arrived at the yard June 8, 1901, in charge of contractors; was turned over to the government. Necessary steps have been taken for her care and preservation, and her boats have been stored and properly numbered. Under date of June 24, 1901, the Bureau ordered the stiffening of the stern of this vessel, but this work has not yet been begun; it will be necessary for the vessel to go into dry dock. The vessel is still at the yard.
U. S. tug "Sioux."—This tug has been alternately in ordinary and in yard service, etc., since the beginning of the fiscal year. On December 28, 1900, the Bureau ordered a survey held on this vessel to determine the exact condition of the vessel and the time and cost required to place her in efficient condition for service. The survey was held January 7, 1901, and approved January 23, 1901, but the work was ordered done at the navy yard at Portsmouth, New Hampshire, and only such work ordered done at this yard as was necessary to place the vessel in condition to be towed to the Portsmouth yard, which consisted of overhauling steering gear, coal scuttles, etc.  This work was completed and the vessel left the yard June 5, 1901, in tow of the "Potomac."
U. S. S. Standish."—This vessel arrived at the yard August 2, 1900, for the purpose of docking and cleaning and painting bottom. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard August 6, 1900. The vessel again returned to the yard February 17, 1901, for repairs, alterations, etc. On February 7, 1901, the Bureau requested a report from the naval constructor as to the estimated time and cost required to do the work necessary to put the vessel in efficient condition for service. On March 20, 1901, the report was approved, the work ordered and survey ordered to be held to cover the same. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard May 21, 1901.
U. S. torpedo boat "Stockton."—This vessel arrived at the yard September 24, 1900, in charge of contractors, for the purpose of docking and cleaning and painting bottom, preparatory to her trial trip, and for repairs to damaged stem and dent in starboard side, at risk and expense of contractors. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard November 1, 1900. The vessel again returned, to the yard February 24, 1901, still in charge of her contractors; was docked March 4, 1901, at expense of contractors, in order to examine condition of under-water hull and fitting's. Defects in painting of bottom were corrected and zincs on bottom scraped, as per recommendation of a naval board. The vessel was turned over to the government March 11, 1901, and proper steps were taken for her care and preservation. Upon recommendation of the naval constructor the Bureau directed that the foundation of the starboard engine air-pump be strengthened and cost thereof charged to contractors and this work was completed. Minor items of repairs have been made from time to time, such as repairs to steering engine, galley pump, etc.All authorized work was completed. The vessel is still at the yard.
U. S. torpedo boat "Stringham."—This vessel arrived at the yard about July 23, 1900, in charge of contractors. By direction of the bureau, of July 26, 1900, the vessel was docked, bottom cleaned and painted, and miscellaneous work done, at the risk and expense of the contractors. This vessel left the yard July 31, 1900.
U. S. S. "Sylph."—This vessel arrived at the yard September 17, 1900. The vessel was docked, bottom cleaned and painted, outside of vessel from water-line to rail cemented and painted. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard September 20, 1900. The vessel returned to the yard June 24, 1901, for docking and other work. This work was completed and the vessel left the yard June 29, 1901.
U. S. S. "Topeka."—This vessel arrived at the yard March 8, 1901, for repairs. The work was completed and the vessel left the yard May 20, 1901.
U. S. S. "Vixen."—This vessel arrived at the yard July 16, 1900, and numerous repairs considered necessary for the efficiency of the ship were requested by the commanding officer. Upon recommendation of the naval constructor, under date of August 1, 1900, certain repairs were authorized by the Bureau and a survey ordered to be held to cover the same. This survey was held August 14, approved August 18, and work under this authority was done.
U. S. tug "Wahneta."—This tug has been in yard service during nearly the entire fiscal year, and repairs in connection with this service have been made. This tug is still in yard service.
U. S. water barge No. 2.—This water barge was docked July 7, 1900, and her bottom cleaned and painted. By direction of the Department, the cost of docking this barge was charged to the Bureau of Equipment.
U. S. torpedo boat "Winslow."—This ves-  sel arrived at the yard March 28, 1991, and was ordered placed in condition for service by June 1, 1901. Necessary repairs were made. The vessel is still at the yard.
U. S. tug "Wompatuck."—This vessel arrived at the yard December 12, 1900, and, upon recommendation of the Board of Inspection and Survey, the following work was done: Awning stanchions fitted on upper deck, black paint removed from outside of hull between water-line and rail, and this portion of vessel painted white, all work exposed to weather painted regulation colors. The vessel left the yard December 27, 1900.
We give herewith a statement relative to the vessels, docked from July 1, 1900, to June 30, 1901, inclusive:
Dock. Vessels. Days in dock. No. 1 34 297 No. 2 13 340
THE "RALEIGH" AND "TEXAS" IN THE SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR.
As before stated the ships built at this yard were important factors in war history; the following reports show the part they acted in the Spanish-American War:
U. S. S. "RALEIGH," off Manila, Luzon, May 4, 1898.
Sir: I have the honor to submit the following report of the operations of this vessel of your squadron during the engagement with the Spanish squadron and shore batteries at Cavite, near Manila, on the morning of May 1, 1898: At about 12:10 A. M., of May 1st, when passing in column, natural order, abreast of El Fraile Island, at the entrance to the bay, I observed a flash, as of a signal thereon, and at about 12:15 A. M. a shot was fired from El Fraile, passing, as I think, diagonally between the "Petrel" and this vessel. A shot was fired in return, but without effect, by the starboard after 5-inch gun of this vessel. At 5 A. M. when the squadron was nearly abreast the city of Manila and the flag-ship was turning to pass down toward Cavite, the Lunetta battery of apparently heavy guns at Manila opened fire and continued so long as the squadron was in action. This vessel shifted position from starboard to port (inside) quarter of the "Baltimore," and held that position until retired at 7 :35 A. M. At a few minutes after 5 A. M. this vessel, so soon as the Spanish vessels at Cavite bore on the port bow, opened fire with the 6-inch gun, and then with the 5-inch guns in succession, as fast as they would bear. The secondary battery guns did not seem toreach the enemy, and their fire was soon stopped and not again used until the distance was considerably lessened. At 11:20 A. M., when signal was made to re-engage, this vessel started ahead full speed (using reserve speed) to keep up with the flag-ship, but it was found to be impossible, and falling behind all the time, I cut across to gain line abreast of Cavite battery just as the flag-ship passed the "Baltimore" at that port, at which time we opened fire with all guns. At 12, in obedience to signal, this vessel attempted to get into the inner harbor to destroy enemy's vessels, but getting in shoal water—20 feet—was obliged to withdraw, and so reported. While attempting to get inside, the battery was used on an enemy vessel at anchor (supposed to be the "Don Antonio de Ulloa") until she sank. Not being able to find a channel farther inside, and everything in sight having been destroyed, at 1:30 P. M. withdrew and later anchored near the flag-ship. I enclose statement of the ammunition expended during the engagement. I am very pleased to report that the officers and crew behaved splendidly. Each and every one seemed anxious to do his whole duty, and, so far as I can learn, did it. Their whole conduct was beyond praise.
This vessel was struck but once, and then by a 6-pounder shell, which passed through both sides of the whaleboat (above her water-line) and then glanced along the chase of the starboard 6-pounder on our poop. The gun was not injured, and the whaleboat but slightly, and she is again ready for service. I am happy to report that there were no casualties of any kind. This vessel at the close of the engagement was in as good condition as when it began, and without any preparation could have fought it over again.
In conclusion, permit me to congratulate you upon the very brilliant victory you achieved over a naval force nearly equal to your own, backed by extensive shore batteries of very heavy guns, and this without the loss of a single life. History points to no greater achievement.
J. B. COGHLAN, Captain U. S. N., Commanding.
(to) Commodore GEORGE DEWEY,
Commander-in-chief, U. S. Naval Force, Asiatic Station.
The destruction of the fort at Guantanamo by the "Texas."
U. S. S. "Texas," off Santiago, June 16, 1898.
Sir: I respectfully submit the following statement: Yesterday at 8:45 A. M. the flag-ship signaled the "Texas:" "Proceed without delay, Guantanamo; destroy fort; resume blockade station this evening." At 8:50 went ahead at full speed, steam, under three boilers only. At 1:07 beat to general quarters for action, and stood up through the narrow channel, followed by the "Marblehead," to the westward of Cayo del Hospital in order to get within effective range of the fort on Cayo del Toro. Went ahead until in 25 feet water, dropped anchor under foot, and at 2:06 P. M. opened fire on the fort at 2,300 yards, the fort having opened fire on us as we passed the Hospital  Cove. About 2:45 the fort ceased firing, and at 3:20 we ceased to fire, having destroyed in obedience to orders, though in all probability the enemy will remount guns, again in three or four days. Being ordered to resume station on blockade the same evening, we got under way about 3:30, stood out the channel and down the harbor and returned to this place, reporting to the commander-in-chief in person about 8:45 P. M. I would state that in going through the narrow channel to the westward of Cayo del Hospital the "Texas" broke adrift a contact submarine mine, and the "Marblehead" picked up one on her starboard propeller, each containing about 106 pounds of gun cotton, but owing to Divine care neither of them exploded.
There was no casualty nor injury of any kind, but I trust the action of the "Texas" will meet with your approbation.
J. W. PHILLIP, Captain U. S. N., Commanding.
(to) The Commander-in-Chief, North Atlantic Squadron.
The part taken by the "Texas" in the battle of July 3, 1898:
U. S. S. ''Texas," off Santiago, July 4, 1898.
Sir: In accordance with the requirements of Article 437, Navy Regulations, I respectfully submit the following statement in regard to the part the "Texas" took in the engagement with the enemy yesterday. At daylight on the morning of the 3rd, the "Texas" stood out from entrance, to harbor, taking day blockading position, about three miles from the Morro (the Morro bearing north-northeast).
At 9:30 the Morro bearing N. by E. 1/2 E., distant 5,100 yards, the enemy's ships were sighted standing out of the harbor. Immediately general signal 250 was made; this signal was followed by the "Iowa's" almost at the same time. The ship as per order was heading in toward the entrance; went ahead full speed, putting helm, hard astarboard, and ordering forced draft on all boilers, the officer of the deck, Lieut. M. L. Bristol, having given the general alarm and beat to quarters for action at the same time. As the leader, bearing the Admiral's flag, appeared in the entrance she opened fire, which was, at 9:40, returned by the "Texas" at range of 4,200 yards while closing in. The ship leading was of the "Vizcaya" class and the flagship.
Four ships came out, evidently the "Vizcaya," the "Oquendo," "Maria Teresa" and "Colon," followed by two torpedo-boat destroyers. Upon seeing these two, we immediately opened fire upon them with our secondary battery, the main battery at the time being engaged with the second and third ships in line. Owing to our secondary battery, together with the "Iowa" and "Gloucester," these two destroyers were forced to beach and sink.
Whilst warmly engaged with the third in line, which was abreast and engaging the "Texas," our fire was blanketed for a short time by the "Oregon" forging ahead and engaging the second ships. This third ship,after a spirited fire, sheered inshore, and at 10:35 ran up a white flag. We then ceased fire on the third and opened fire with our forward guns at long range (6,600 yards) on the second ship (which was then engaged with the "Oregon") until 11:05, when she (enemy's second ship) sheered into the beach, on fire. At 11:10 she struck her colors. We ceased fire and gave chase, with "Brooklyn" and "Oregon," for the leading ship until 1:20, when the "Colon" sheered in to the beach and hauled down her colors, leaving them on deck at foot of her flag-staff. We shut off forced draft and proceeded at moderate speed to close up.
I would state that during this chase the "Texas"' was holding her own with the "Colon," she leading about four miles at the start.
The reports of the executive officer and the surgeon are transmitted. I have the pleasure of stating that the entire battery of the "Texas" is in a most excellent condition and ready for any service required by the commander-in-chief, especially calling attention to the efficiency of the two turret-guns, due to the alterations recently made by Lieut. F. J. Haeseler, of this ship. The bearing and performance of duty of all officers met with my entire approval.
Very respectfully submitted,
J. W. PHILLIP, Captain U. S. N., Commanding.
(to) The Commander-in-Chief, North Atlantic Squadron.
U. S. S. "Texas," 1st Rate, off Santiago de Cuba, July 4, 1898.
Sir: I beg leave to make the following report on the injuries received by this vessel during the engagement with the Spanish fleet near Santiago de Cuba, July 3, 1898. A shell about six inches in diameter entered the starboard side above the main-deck near top of hammock berthing, immediately forward of ash-hoist, angle of entrance being about 20 degrees forward of the beam; shell apparently exploded immediately after passing through the outer plating of hammock berthing, passing into the forward air-shaft to forced-draft blower, destroying doors of both air-shafts and the adjacent bulkheads. Several pieces passed through the doorway of after shaft and penetrated the after bulkhead of the shaft. The mass of shell pieces passed on through bulkhead and casing of starboard smoke-box, producing an aperture therein irregular in form, measuring about three feet vertically, two feet fore and aft. The ash-hoist machinery was badly damaged.
A piece of shell struck forward jamb of starboard door of pilot house, smashing it and carrying away considerable of paneling and framing, and passed out through after bulkhead.
The bulkhead forming the after part of forward gun-house is bulged forward about six inches. This bulge extends over the entire starboard side of bulkhead. A large number of rivets passing through the stiffening bars and frames are shorn off or broken. At the base of the gun-house the margin pieces of main-deck have been lifted up and separated from the steel-deck. A galley ventilator, which passed through berthing abaft the above-mentioned bulkhead, was destroyed.
A number of hammocks and bedding stowed in the  berthing, of which above-mentioned bulkhead formed the forward plating, were badly burned. The deck planking and frames of the after part of the bridge deck over a surface about six by 12 feet have been torn up and destroyed. The starboard forward part of the third cutter was blown away, keel broken, planking and framing of the port side badly damaged, leaving it unfit for repairs. One ladder leading to bridge deck forward was badly damaged. One main-hatch ladder leading to gun-deck was destroyed. The boat covers and awning-curtains used as splinter protection over the forward boats were blown away, burned and destroyed.
The hammocks, cloths, and battens securing same to bulkheads, were carried away from six compartments of hammock berthing.
The electric wire battens and fittings were carried away in a great many places on main and gun-decks forward. The starboard side of the main-deck between frames 53 and 56 shows marked depressions, beams and stanchions being bent and buckled, the crown of some of the beams no longer existing. The steel-deck has in several places become separated from the beam's through the stretching or breaking of rivets, and there are now leaks in several places.
The rivets securing the head of midship stanchions to the web of beams of frames 55 and 56 have been sheared off. The condition of starboard side of the main-deck is attributed partly to the firing of the 12-inch turret-guns over the deck during the engagement, as mentioned in my report of June 6, but mainly by similar causes during the battle of yesterday.
The marked increase in the injuries to the deck may be attributed not only to the repetition of great strains over a surface whose support was already weakened, but to an increase in the charge of powder, i. e., reduced charge previously used to full charge used during this battle. I am of the opinion that the framing of the deck in this ship is top light to permit the further firing of the 12-inch guns over the decks without serious injury.
GILES B. HARBER, Lieut Com. U. S. N., Executive Officer.
(to) The Commanding Officer.
CONGRESSIONAL MEDALS AWARDED.
Congressional medals of silver were awarded to the officers and bronze medals to each member of the crew of the revenue cutter "Hudson" for conspicuous bravery in the Spanish-American War. The medals were awarded for the work done by those on board the "Hudson," in rescuing the torpedo boat "Winslow" at Cardenas, May 11, 1898. First Lieut. Frank H. Newcomb, in command, received a gold medal with a very complimentary letter from Secretary Gage. The four officers receiving the silver medals were T. Hutchinson Scott, of Pennsylvania; Ernest E. Mead, of Massachusetts; N. E. Cutchin; of Portsmouth, Virginia, son of the late Nathaniel Cutchin; and Theodore G. Lawton, of Minnesota. The medals are in neat morocco boxes dark in color, four and a half by six inches long, and are sunk to their thickness in a bed of black velvet, making a pretty and effective contrast. The top of the box is lined with white velvet. The medals are counterparts of each other with the exception that one is gold, four of silver and three of bronze. Accompanying each silver medal is a letter from Secretary Gage. The following is a copy of the one sent to Chief Engineer N. E. Cutchin, of the "Dexter":
Office of Secretary, Washington, D. C, Nov. 19, 1901.
CHIEF ENGINEER N. E. CUTCHIN, R. C. S.
Sir: Under the following, provisions, of a joint resolution of the Congress of the United States, approved May 3, 1900, there was awarded to you a silver medal in recognition of your conduct and services in the battle at Cardenas, Cuba, on the 11th day of May, 1898:
"Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That in recognition of the gallantry of First Lieut. Frank H. Newcomb, of the revenue cutter service, commanding the revenue cutter "Hudson," his officers and the men of his command, for their intrepid and heroic gallantry in the action at Cardenas, Cuba, on the 11th day of May, 1898, when the "Hudson" rescued the United States naval torpedo, boat "Winslow" in the face of galling fire from the enemy's guns, the "Winslow" being disabled, her captain wounded, her only other officer and half her crew killed. The commander of the "Hudson" kept his vessel in the very center of the hottest fire of the action, although in constant danger of getting ashore on account of the shallow water, until finally he got a line made fast to the "Winslow" and towed that vessel out of range of the enemy's guns. In commemoration of his signal act of heroism it is hereby enacted that the Secretary of the Treasury be authorized and directed to cause to be prepared and to present to First Lieut. Frank H. Newcomb, revenue cutter service, a gold medal, and to each of his officers, a silver medal, and to each member of his crew a bronze medal."
The officers of the "Hudson" are the only ones to whom Congress awarded gold and silver medals for heroism in battle during the war with Spain.
I take pleasure in presenting to you the medal awarded and in congratulating you upon the recognition thus bestowed by the National Legislature.
[483 blank] [484 pictures]  You are requested to acknowledge the receipt of the medal.
L. J. GAGE, Secretary.
The medals were made at the Philadelphia Mint and are particularly handsome. On the obverse side is a representation of Bellona, goddess of war, looking upon the scene of the rescue of the "Winslow" at Cardenas. On the reverse side is a figure representing Fame, engaged in engraving upon the medal the inscription: "Joint resolution of Congress, approved May 3, 1900, in recognition of the gallantry of the officers and men of the Hudson, who, in the face of a galling fire, towed the Winslow out of range of the enemy's guns." At the bottom is inscribed the name of the recipient. Accompanying each medallion is a pendant medal, which is a small fac simile of the medallion. The medal is suspended by the Spanish war colors, from the pin bar, on which appears the word "Cardenas."
The U. S. Naval Hospital is a superb edifice—and massive structure built, of granite. The grounds in front are as large as Capital Square, Richmond, and are ornamented with a great variety of trees, and have numerous walks and avenues leading to the water. Behind the hospital is a large and beautiful pine and oak forest. The grounds and grove include about 5 acres. They are much frequented by the people of Norfolk and Portsmouth, to whom they supply the place of a park.
They are laid out in drives and promenades. In the cemetery attached to the hospital are buried the remain of many officers, sailors and marines. Conspicuous, among the graves are those of some 50 or 60 Confederate soldiers and sailors, each with a head-board inscribed with the name of the person buried beneath. Several Russians and quite a numberof the victims of the "Huron" disaster are buried here.
Among the prominent monuments is one to the memory of Lieut. John H. Marshall, U. S.
Navy, born in Caroline County, Virginia, in the year 1800 and died June 1, 1850; and Dr.
Lewis W. Minor, a distinguished naval surgeon.
In front of the Hospital is a monument to the memory of Maj. John Saunders, born in Virginia in 1771 and died in 1810.
The Hospital was built in 1835-36. Four medical officers, including a medical director, are stationed at the Hospital, where everything goes on as regularly, smoothly and systematically as if operated by machinery. The surgeons know their duties and perform them faithfully and ably. The sick of the navy from 1811 were treated in a private house known as the Galt house which stood not very far from the place where the "Galena" was built in the Navy Yard. The present grounds were turned over to the U. S. Navy in 1827 and the sick were brought to the Hospital, only one wing of which was completed July 17, 1830.
On the ground in front of the Naval Hospital was located Fort Nelson, of Revolutionary fame.
There are many interesting war relics in the Navy Yard, as shown by the following:
MEMORANDUM OF TROPHIES IN NAVY YARD PARK.
1 bronze gun and carriage from the Spanish fort on Cayo del Toro, Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, captured July 3, 1898.
2 torpedoes from the Spanish cruiser "Reina Mercedes," captured July 3, 1898.
2 11-inch shell from the Spanish cruiser "Maria Teresa," captured July 3, 1898.
2 14 c. m. rapid fire guns; 2 14 c. m. cartridges, from the Spanish cruiser "Almirante Oquendo." Destroyed in the battle of Santiago, July 3, 1898.
Guns taken from the Spanish cruiser "Almirante Oquendo", in Navy Yard Park..
2 torpedo-tubes,—Santiago, July 3, 1898.
2 range-finders,—Santiago, July 3, 1898.
2 revolving cannons and stands,—1 revolving cannon stand,—Santiago, July 3, 1898.
3 Spanish mines,—picked up by the U. .S. S. "Marblehead," at Guantanamo Bay, July, 1898.
1 57 m. m. Hotchkiss gun and mount,—Santiago, July 3, 1898.
 1 Chinese gun and carriage,—captured by U. S. Marines at Tien Tsin, June, 1900.
1 cannon captured from the British on the Lakes,— War of 1812.
1 cannon, captured in the British frigate "Java," by the U. S. frigate "Constellation," December 29, 1812.
2 cannon,—War of Revolution.
3 carronades, captured during the Mexican War, 1846.
1 Turkish stone-shot from Constantinople.
2 cannon from the U. S. frigate "United States," 1845.
4 pieces of armor from the deck of the "Merrimac." (C. S. S. "Virginia.") .
2 broken cannon from the U. S. line-of-battleship "Pennsylvania," destroyed, 1861.
2 iron stands from the wreck of the U. S. frigate "Cumberland."
Melted bell metal from the wreck of the U. S. frigate "Raritan," destroyed, 1864.
Armor from the wreck of the C. S. ram "Albemarle."
Armor from the C. S. ram "Texas."
6 cannon, smooth bore. War of 1812.
2 20-pounders, smooth bore, 1862.
2 60-pounders, smooth bore, 1865.
2 100-pounders, smooth bore, 1863.
1 8-inch rifle, 1876.
2 9-inch rifles, 1864.
2 12-pounders boat howitzers and mounts (bronze), 1865.
1 12-pounder boat howitzer and carriage (bronze), 1870.
1 12-pounder boat howitzer and carriage, (bronze), 1863.
COMMANDANTS OF THE NAVY YARD.
A list of the officers who have been in command of the Navy Yard, is given herewith:
Capt. Richard Dale, Superintendent, 1794 to 1795.
Capt. Thomas Williams, Superintendent, 1798 to July 16, 1799.
Commodore Samuel Barron, Superintendent, July 16, 1799, to August —, 1799.
On June 15, 1801, the Navy Yard, which up to that time belonged to the State of Virginia, was deeded to the United States.
William Pennock, Navy Agent and Superintendent, June 15, 1801, to April 26, 1802.
Daniel Bedinger, Navy Agent and Superintendent, April 26, 1802, to February 10, 1808.
Theodore Armistead, Navy Agent and Superintendent, February 10, 1808, to February 7, 1810.
Commodore Samuel Barron, Commandant, February 7, 1801, to October 29, 1810.
Lieut. Robert Henley, Commandant, November 10, 1810, to May, 1811.
Capt. Samuel Evans, Commandant, May, 1811, to August 10, 1812.
Capt. John Cassin, Commandant, August 10, 1812, to June __, 1821.
Capt. Lewis Warrington, Commandant, June __, 1821, to December __, 1824.
Master Commandant James Renshaw, Commandant, December __, 1824, to May 25, 1825.
Commodore James Barron, Commandant, May 25, 1825, to May 26, 1831.
Commodore Lewis Warrington, Commandant, May 26, 1831, to October 7, 1840.
Commodore W, B. Shubrick, Commandant, October __,1840, to October __, 1843.
Commodore Jesse, Wilkinson, Commandant, October __, 1843, to June 1, 1847.
Commodore Laurence Kearney, Commandant, June 1, 1847, to January 19, 1848.
Commodore John D. Sloat, Commandant, January 19, 1848, to February 17, 1851.
Capt. Silas H. Stringham, Commandant, February 17, 1851, to April 1, 1852.
Capt. Samuel Breese, Commandant, April 1, 1852, to May 10, 1855.
Commodore Isaac McKeever, Commandant, May 10, 1855, to April 1, 1856.
Capt. Thomas A. Dornin, Commandant, May 6, 1856, to April 30, 1859.
Capt. Charles H. Bell, Commandant, April 30, 1859, to August 1, 1860.
Commodore Charles S. McCauley, Commandant, August 1, 186o, to April 21, 1861.
Capt. Robert, B. Pegram, Commandant, April 21, 1861, to April 22, 1861 (Virginia Navy).
Capt. French Forrest, Commandant, April 22, 1861, to April __, 1862 (Confederate States Navy).
Capt. Sidney Smith Lee, Commandant, April __, 1862, to May 10, 1862 (Confederate States Navy).
Capt. John W. Livingston, Commandant, May 20, 1862, to November 16, 1864.
Capt. John M. Berrien, Commandant, November 1, 1864, to October 7, 1865.
Commodore Robert B. Hitchcock, Commandant, October 31, 1865, to August 7, 1866.
Rear-Admiral S. C. Rowan, Commandant, August 7, 1866, to July 23, 1867.
Commodore A. H. Kilty, Commandant, August 15, 1867, to October 1, 1870.
Rear-Admiral Charles H. Davis, Commandant, October 1, 1870, to July 1, 1873.
Commodore T. H. Stevens, Commandant, July 1, 1873, to July 1, 1876.
Commodore J. B. Creighton, Commandant, July 1, 1876, to July 1, 1879.
Commodore A. K. Hughes, Commandant, July 1, 1879, to July 3, 1882.
Capt. W. K. Mayo, Commandant, July 3, 1882, to April 10, 1885.
Commodore W. T. Truxton, Commandant, April 10, 1885, to March 11, 1886.
Capt. George Brown, Commandant, March 11, 1886, to December 31, 1889.
 Commodore A. W. Weaver, Commandant, January 14, 1890, to January 16, 1893.
Capt. E. E. Potter, Commandant, January 16, 1893, to July 29, 1893.
Commodore George Brown, Commandant, July 29, 1893, to June 1, 1897.
Capt. N. H. Farquhar, Commandant, June 1, 1897, to September 30, 1899.
Capt. A. S. Barker, Commandant, October 5, 1899, to July 16, 1900.
Rear-Admiral C. S. Cotton, Commandant, July 16, 1900.