The Nave Family
From Switzerland to Montana, 1590s to 1990s
By Arian E. Collins
This book chronicles the ancestry and legacy of John Nave Sr., son of Hans Conrad Näf of Switzerland. John Sr. and his siblings were the first generation of the family to be born in the New World. The descendants of Hans Conrad Näf must now number in the tens of thousands, living all over the United States, and surely in other countries as well.
T he story of the Nave family is very much an American story. Immigrants from Europe, Hans Conrad and his wife Anna came to the British American colonies to start a new and better life in an untamed frontier. Lured by stories of fertile land and freedom from persecution, they and relatives embarked on a long voyage by land and sea for their new home. Their descendants continued that tradition, continually moving westward as the frontier became civilized.
They blazed trails, helped build small settlements into towns and cities, and continually tried to make a better life for their children.
My maternal grandmother was Agnes Belle (Nave) Cordy, a great, great, great-granddaughter of Hans Conrad Näf, although she never knew the names of her ancestors past her grandparents.
This book is a companion piece to “Sherlocks of Ireland,” another family history I have written. My great-grandmother was Hester Isabella “Belle” (Sherlock) Nave. This book concentrates on Nave families that came from Tennessee and settled in Missouri and Montana.
This book is by no means complete, and it’s doubtful that all descendants of John Nave Sr. will ever be found at any one time to make the book complete. Others have tried before. Louise Garner Fletcher published a book several years ago called “Conrad Nave Descendants.” But I know for a fact that I and the rest of my immediate family are not included; likewise with a book by Robert T. Nave and Margaret W. Hougland, which concentrates on the descendants of Teter Nave, another son of Hans Conrad Näf.
The surname Näf may have begun in the 13th century as Nevo or Neffe, which could mean nephew and may be related to the French word for nephew, neveau. The name probably began as a nickname and became a family name by the end of the 14th century in the Swiss towns of Rengg and Kappel am Albis. That Näf family line may or may not be related to the Näfs found in Toggenberg and Appenzell. The origin of the Näf families in Switzerland probably began in the hamlet of Rengg in the Albis mountain range in what is now the parish of Langnau. The earliest found written record of a family member is from a parchment folio in the Canton Zurich Archives dated 1340. An Ulrich Neve, on June 20, 1340, was a witness to the sale of a house owned by Jörije von Uerslikon near the Cloister of Kappel am Albis.
A Ruedi Näf of Rengg received his citizenship Jan. 2, 1386, according to the Citizen Record Book of Zurich. Hans Näf of Rengg, with five other men, received his citizenship Jan. 9, 1386. The admissions to citizenship were most likely in gratitude for their entering the military. The battle of Sempach took place on July 9, 1386, and the engagement gave the Swiss their independence from Leopold III, Duke of Austria.
Hans Conrad Näf and his ancestors as far back as his great, great grandfather came from Canton Zurich, first from the town of Buchenegg, in Stallikon Parish, and then relocating to Obermettmenstetten, in Oberemback Parish, and finally to Wallisellen, in the parish of the same name, at the end of the 1600s.
The Swiss Confederation came into being Aug. 1, 1291, when the cantons of Schwyn, Uri and Unterwald drew up a pact of mutual aid. During the next century they were joined in various treaties and pacts by the cantons of Zurich, Glarus, Zug and Berne. Fribourg and Soleure were added in 1481, followed by Basel and Shaffhausen in 1501. Appenzell joined in 1513. The states bound together for self-rule and to protect themselves from the Hapsburg empire.
In the Swabian War in 1499, Holy Roman Emperor Maximilian I attempted to force the confederation to adhere to his rule, but lost battles near Basel to the Swiss. The confederation was eventually granted self-government by Austria in the Peace of Münster-Westphalia in 1648.
The Näf/Nave/Neff family from Switzerland that eventually settled in Pennsylvania and Tennessee belonged to the Swiss Reformed Church, a radical movement of the Reformation of the 16th century. The Anabaptists, as members of Reformation churches are known, insisted that only adult baptism was valid and held true Christians should not bear arms, use force or hold government office.
Not willing to bear arms was a problem for the Swiss government since it provided mercenaries to other countries, especially France, Holland and Spain, in numerous conflicts in Europe.
The Swiss Reformation had its origins in the work of humanists. The writings of Martin Luther (1483-1546) gave impetus to a movement that had already started. The chief Swiss reformers – especially Huldreich (Ulrich) Zwingli (1484-1531), of Zurich, who is the most celebrated – were pupils of the humanists, according to Gilliard. Their work was inspired mainly by reading the scriptures in the original language and by a desire to return to the institutions of the early church. Zwingli and his congregation eventually concluded that the forms of worship, the disciples and even the dogmas of the church were only man’s handiwork and should be renounced by every Christian who wished to be a faithful disciple of Christ as the gospels revealed Him. Mainly because of Zwingli and his disciples, Canton Zurich became the first state to renounce allegiance to Rome, in 1520.
Within only 50 years almost 40 percent of the inhabitants of Europe observed a “Reformed” theology. Although many in the Swiss Confederation embraced the new faith, it did not take over the entire country. The cantons of Zurich, Berne, Basel and Shaffhausen were Protestant; Uri, Schwyz, Unterwald, Lucerne, Zug, Fribourg and Soleure remained Catholic. The two faiths co-existed in Glarus and Appenzell, although Appenzell was eventually divided into two cantons because of religion. More than once the confederation was threatened with civil war because of religious differences. Jacob Kaiser (or Schlosser), a Zurich minister, was seized while on a preaching expedition in Canton Schwyz. He was publicly burned at the stake in the town of Schwyz in May 1529. His martyrdom was a beginning signal of a general persecution, and war between the Catholics and Protestants seemed inevitable.
Zurich sent 4,000 soldiers to Kappel, a village with a Cistercian convent. The town is in Canton Zurich on its border with Canton Zug. Zurich declared war on June 9, 1529. In response, troops were sent from the towns of Zug and Baar to Kappel. Catholic guards advanced June 10, but were taken prisoner by the Zurich soldiers. The troops of Zurich sent the Catholics back to their lines well fed and clothed.
Later, Catholics placed large buckets of milk on the dividing line and asked for loaves of bread from the Protestants in exchange. Both parties enjoyed a common meal of bread and milk soup on the dividing line. Indeed, many of the men from both sides knew one another and had fought side-by-side on foreign battlefields. This First Battle of Kappel became known as the “Milk Soup War.” A peace treaty was arranged June 25, 1529, but the peace was short lived.
The Second Battle of Kappel took place in 1531. On Oct. 11, 1531, Zwingli was mortally wounded in battle at Kappel, and he is said to have uttered a famous declaration: “Was tut’s? Den Leib Konnen sie toten, aber nicht die Seele” (“What does it matter? They can kill the body, but not the soul.”). On the same day that Zwingli was killed, an Adam Näf is said to have heroically saved the banner of Zurich on the battlefield.
Because of the two religious faiths, Switzerland was officially neutral in battles between France and Germany, and Switzerland’s continued neutrality in most European conflicts can be traced from this time.
Zurich in 1642
From various records, the Näf/Neff/Nave family members who immigrated to America and arrived in Philadelphia in the 1700s are traced with some certainty to Hans Näf and his wife Barbara Wismer in the late 16th century.
Hans Näf was baptized June 11, 1598, at Buchenegg, Stallikon Parish, Switzerland. He married Barbel Wismer about 1600. Hans Näf died in Stallikon Parish on Aug. 29, 1667. Their children included:
1. Hans, baptized Sept. 20, 1620, in Buchenegg. He married Anna Vollenweider (baptized. Jan. 12, 1617), daughter of Caspar Vollenweider, about 1643. A descendant of his -- Elisa Bertha Näf, widow of Kaspar Naegeli, born in Buchenegg Feb. 20, 1874 – arrived in America May 13, 1903, aboard the S.S. Southwark, with her son Jakob, and settled in Salt Lake City.
2. Jagli (Jakob), of whom presently.
3. Hans Caspar, born 1624 in Buchenegg.
4. Anna, baptized June 2, 1628, in Buchenegg.
5. Froneg (or Veronica), baptized May 19, 1631, in Buchenegg. She married Rudi Glattli.
6. Hans Jagli, born about 1632 in Buchenegg, and buried Jan. 21, 1700. He may have married Verena Joppin.
7. Hans Caspar, baptized Dec. 7, 1634, in Buchenegg. He married Anna Burin.
8. Verna, born about 1637 in Buchenegg.
9. Maria, baptized Nov. 18, 1638, in Buchenegg. She married Jagli Wyss.
10. Elsbeth, baptized about 1641.
11. Barbeli, baptized about 1644.
12. Anna, baptized Oct. 4, 1646.
13. Heini, baptized about 1648.
Jagli (Jakob) Näf von Buchenegg was born about 1612 in Buchenegg, and before 1637 married Verena Vollenweider (baptized April 16, 1615, in Stallikon Parish), daughter of Caspar and Margaretha (Toggwiler) Vollenweider. Jagli is recorded as living in Untere Au in 1653. Later, he and his wife are recorded as being a “married couple of the farm Obermettmenstetten in the Parish Oberembrach.” Jagli died May 26, 1674, at Obermettmenstetten. Verena died May 4, 1695, at the same location. They had four children:
1. Hans Jagli, baptized Feb. 24, 1639, in Stallikon. He married Barbara Huber April 22, 1662 in Embrach.
2. Heinrich, baptized Dec. 4, 1642, in Stallikon. He married Veronika Stehli April 28, 1667, in Kloten. Heinrich died May 23, 1679, at Obermettmenstetten.
3. Jagli, baptized June 3, 1650, in Stallikon. He married Anna Stehli Feb. 6, 1683, in Kloten. He died Aug. 6, 1714, in Wallisellan. Descendants of Jagli and Anna Näf later immigrated to America, and arrived in Philadelphia on the ship Francis & Elizabeth Aug. 30, 1743.
4. Hans Marti, of whom presently.
Hans Marti Näf was baptized Jan. 9, 1653, in Stallikon Parish, was living in Wallisellen with his brother Hans Jagli Näf in 1670, and in 1671 was at Obermettmenstetten. In 1678 and 1686 he is recorded living in Wallisellen again. He married Anna Haller von Wallisellen April 23, 1678, in Kloten. Hans Marti Näf was buried Feb. 5, 1686, in Kloten. He and his wife had five children:
1. Rudolph, baptized May 25, 1679, in Wallisellen. He married Barbara Kuhn March 8, 1701, in Wallisellen. Barbara died in Wallisellen Jan. 22, 1741. Rudolph died two years later either in Switzerland or at sea on his way to America. Their only son, Hans Näf, baptized Feb. 9, 1710, in Wallisellen, married Susanna Keller (baptized Oct. 29, 1713, in Wallisellen). Hans and Susanna (Keller) Näf arrived in Philadelphia on the ship Francis & Elizabeth in 1743. Hans died about 1767 in Frederick County, Md., and Susanna died at the same place, date unknown.
2. Hans Konrad, baptized July 4, 1680, in Wallisellen. With his third wife, Anna Barbara Deppeler, and four children, he immigrated to America, arriving in Philadelphia in 1735 on the ship Mercury.
3. Hans Martin, baptized July 10, 1681, in Wallisellen. He died March 25, 1687, in Wallisellen.
4. Magdelena, baptized Nov. 11, 1683 in Wallisellen. She died March 20, 1687, in Wallisellen.
5. Ulrich, of whom presently.
Ulrich Näf was baptized Nov. 11, 1683, in Wallisellen. He married first, Anna Mauer of Wallisellen May 7, 1705, in Wallisellen. She died Feb. 3, 1709, with no apparent issue. Ulrich remarried April 9, 1709, to Elisabeth Altorfer, born about 1676 in Kloten. Elisabeth died Jan. 22, 1721, in Wallisellen, and Ulrich died March 20, 1721, also at Wallisellen. They had one child:
1. Hans Conrad, of whom presently.
Hans Conrad Näf was baptized April 30, 1713, in Wallisellen. He was not yet 8 years old when both of his parents died. His uncle, Hans Konrad, may have raised him. It is believed that Hans Conrad married his second cousin, Anna Näf.
Reasons behind members of the Näf family members leaving their longtime Swiss homeland for the New World are unclear. But deductions can be made considering what was happening in Switzerland at the time and the news that was coming to Europe regarding America.
Between 1663 and 1789, Switzerland was not the peaceful country it is now. During that period, the Swiss sent mercenaries to fight in various wars in various countries, sometimes supplying soldiers to both sides of an engagement. It is believed that many, if not most, of the Näf family belonged to the Swiss Reformed Church. Being Anabaptists they would not have believed in taking up arms.
Also, in the early 18th century, Anabaptists began leaving the country to get away from persecution
“Anabaptists...continued to leave the country,” according to Luck. “(Some), usually for political and economic reasons, accompanied by quite a number of who had settled temporarily in the Palatinate, migrated to the English colonies in North America – mostly Pennsylvania and the Carolinas. Bern, Zurich, East Switzerland and Basel contributed to the exodus,” according to Gilliard.
The number of Swiss who immigrated to the United States between 1700 and 1800 has been estimated at 20,000.
In the 1720s and 1730s, advertisements by a Frenchman named Jean Pierre Purry appeared in Switzerland touting the planned formation of a colony in “Carolina.” The colony, called Purysburg, was planned up the Savannah River from the port of Savannah, which was on the border of South Carolina and Georgia. Purry began his plans at the urging of Lord Oglethorpe, governor of Georgia. Oglethorpe feared that the Spanish would invade his colony from Florida and he hoped to enlarge the Protestant population as defense. The news of the plan and description of Carolina as some kind of Eden led many Swiss to think about emigrating. This caused concern among Swiss officials, and in November 1734 the Zurich Counsel forbid people to travel to Carolina and prohibited the sale of property by those wishing to emigrate. Punishment was ordered for agents who enticed people to leave the country. The Näfs managed to avoid persecution by emigrating a month before the Zurich Council made its ruling.
Records in the Zurich Archives list a Swiss group leaving Parish Wallisellen “for Carolina” on Oct. 5, 1734. “Carolina” was a common term used by Swiss emigrants for the American colonies, and there is no record of the family members immigrating directly to North or South Carolina. The British colony of Carolina was not split into north and south divisions until 1713, which may be the reason it was still being considered one colony by foreigners only 20 years later.
The list of the group members included 12 Näfs, given in family order, with the dates that they were baptized. The Näfs who took this trip to America consisted of Hans Konrad Näf, baptized June 11, 1680; his third wife, Ana Barbara Deppeler, baptized May 2, 1686; and four children, two of whom were from Hans Konrad Näf’s second marriage and one of whom was married. Also on the voyage was Hans Conrad Näf, baptized April 30, 1713, who was the son of Ulrich Näf, a deceased brother of Hans Konrad Näf. The group also included Jacob and Elisabeth (Kuhn) Näf with their daughters Anna and Elisabeth. Jacob was a cousin of Hans Konrad Näf, and both Jacob and his wife Elisabeth died at sea during the voyage to America.
The Rev. Maurice Goetschy led the group. The party journeyed from Zurich northward until it reached the Rhine at Laufenburg. On Oct. 5, the party took a boat to Rheinfelden and eventually made it to Basle. After a couple of days, the members of the party continued on ships down the Rhine and onto Rotterdam. The trip was long and arduous, and the party split up a few times along the way. They were delayed at Mayence for four days because of a disagreement over fare costs with the boat captains.
When they reached Neuweid, four couples were married by a Reformed minister. They were listed as:
1. Hans Conrad Wirtz and Anna Goetschy.
2. Conrad Naff, of Walliselen and Anna N.--
3. Jacob Rathgab and Barbara Mailer, both of Walliselen
4. Conrad Geweiller, a gardener.
From Neuwied the members of the party continued down the Rhine until they reached Culenborg in Holland. There they were compelled to stop four days because of a strong contrary wind, but finally took another ship to Rotterdam. However, upon reaching Rotterdam, they discovered that no ship was waiting to take them to America. Broke and with no permanent place to live, many became sick and two people died.
Rev. Goetschy met with a Mr. von Felss in The Hague and through him received an offer to come to Pennsylvania as general superintendent for Reformed churches in the colony. When Goetschy had received from Mr. Felss the assurance of his appointment as minister to Pennsylvania, he returned to Rotterdam and told his party of emigrants about his changed plans. Most of them readily decided to join him and change their destination from Carolina to Pennsylvania. At this point, the party consisted of 143 persons, who signed their names for passage to Philadelphia. They agreed with a Mr. Schiffpatron, owner of a ship, to pay six doubloons for an adult and three for a child. Others joined this company, and the ship Mercury left Rotterdam with all 186 passengers, including 61 men, 51 women, 37 boys and 34 girls. Like most trans-Atlantic voyages in those days, the trip on the Mercury was long, dangerous and unpleasant.
On July 21, 1735, in a letter to a Mr. Werdmüller, deacon at St. Peter's church in Zurich, John Henry Goetschy, then 17, wrote:
“After we had left Holland and surrendered ourselves to the wild and tempestuous ocean, its waves and its changeable winds, we reached through God’s great goodness toward us, England. After a lapse of two days we came to the Island of Wight, and there to a little town named Cowes, where our captain supplied himself with provisions for the great ocean trip. We secured medicines for the trip and then with a good East wind we sailed away from there. After a day and a night with the good wind we were buffeted with a terrible storm and the awful raging waves as we came into the Spanish and Portuguese oceans.
“For 12 weeks we were subjected to these miseries and had to suffer all kinds of bad and dangerous storms and terrors of death. With these we were subjected to all kinds of bad diseases. The food was bad for we had to eat what they called ‘galley bread.’ We had to drink stinking muddy water, full of worms. (The poor diet lead to a multitude of health problems including scurvy, which caused their teeth to loosen and often fall out. All on board were infested with lice and fleas brought along by the rats in the hold. As many as 40 percent of the people died on these three-month long trips, so the immigrant ships were called ‘coffin ships’).
“We had an evil tyrant and rascal for a captain and first mate, who regarded the sick as nothing more than dogs. If one said ‘I have to cook something for a sick man,’ He replied ‘Get away from here or I'll throw you overboard. What do I care about your sick devil?’ In short, misfortune is everywhere upon the sea, we alone fared better. This has been the experience of all who have come to this land and even if a king were to travel the ocean it would behave no better.
“After being in this misery sufficiently long God, The Lord, brought us out and showed us the land, which caused great joy among us. But three days passed, the wind being contrary, before we could enter into the right river. Finally a good south wind came and brought us in one day through the glorious and beautiful Delaware river which is a little larger than the Rhine, but not by far as wild as the Rhine.”
(Original OCR scan and editing by James E. Rothgeb)
“Liste Van de Schwitzers Soo op Schiep genant de Mercuris, Van d’Heer Capitain William Wilson, in Philadelphia arriveert” (List of Swiss who arrived in Philadelphia on the ship Mercury, Captain William Wilson) includes adults Jacob Näf, age 39; Conrad Näf, age 22; Conrad Näf, 52; Jacob Näf, age 24; Anna Näf, age 19; and another Anna Näf, age 19; and children Elizabeth Näf, age 4; Hans Jacob Näf, age 9; and Jacob Näf, age 7.
On the ship’s passenger list their last name is spelled Näf. When they arrived at the Philadelphia courthouse and qualified, the clerks making the name entries used the spellings Naff and Naffe.
PENNSYLVANIA AND VIRGINIA
The Mercury arrived in Philadelphia May 29, 1735, and the Näf/Neff/Nave families took root mainly in Pennsylvania and Virginia, with some in Maryland. The family members who arrived on the Mercury were recorded on passenger lists as well as in the documents of the Philadelphia Courthouse where they were qualified and took the “Oaths of Government.”
Hans Conrad Näf, baptized April 30, 1713, the son of Ulich and Anna (Mauer) Näf. His uncle, Hans Konrad Näf, may have raised him after his parents died. No documents have been found to show what he did in Pennsylvania or how long he stayed there. In 1756, he was in Augusta County, Va., working as a doctor. He later moved to Rowan County, N.C., and settled on Cedar Creek, a branch of the Alamance Creek. Records show that a Jacob Boon received a land warrant from a John Whitman for 700 acres in 1762. The land included improvements Hans Conrad Nave had made at the site. He appears on the 1767-68 tax records for Rowan County with his son Teter. No will or land record has yet been found for Hans. He and Anna Näf are believed to have had five children:
1. John, of whom presently.
2. A daughter, born about 1734 in Pennsylvania or Maryland.
3. Henry, born about 1736 in Pennsylvania, who lived and prospered in what was to become Tennessee. He married Margaret _______ about 1760. Many of his descendants were recorded in Neff News, Vol. X, No. 1, February 2001. Many of these descendants prospered in Rockingham and Shenandoah counties in Virginia. One of Henry’s sons, George, migrated with his family to Blount County, Tenn.
4. Teter “Dietrich,” born about 1745 in Pennsylvania, whose descendants were recorded in Neff News, Vol. III, No. 2, May 1993, and in the book “Teter Nave, East Tennessee Pioneer” by Robert T. Nave and Margaret W. Hougland. Teter Nave’s descendants became a well-established family in Carter County, Tenn.
5. Conrad Jr., who fought in skirmishes with Indians and in the Revolutionary War against the British. He may have moved to Ohio after the war.
Letters from Näf/Neff/Nave immigrants in America to relatives in Switzerland are credited for a second emigration of Näfs in 1743 aboard the ship Francis & Elizabeth.
Of all the family members who immigrated to America from Switzerland, it is believed that only the descendants of those who settled in Tennessee regularly spelled the surname Nave.
It is also interesting to note that although everyone in the group that left Switzerland for America listed “Carolina” as their destination, only Hans Conrad and his family are recorded as having settled there.
John Nave Sr., born about 1734 in Pennsylvania or Maryland, married Eve Lawrence before 1760. She is believed to be the daughter of Peter and Mary Lawrence (also spelled Larrance and Lowrance). John Nave died about 1825 in Jefferson County, Tenn. John and Eve Nave had seven children:
1. Gabriel, born about 1757 and died in Ohio.
2. Henry, born about 1762, he married Mary A. _______. Henry died about 1824 in Perry County, Ala.
3. John Jr., born about 1763 in Mecklenburg County, N.C., married, first, Susan Goode (or Gut) about 1786. He married, second, Mary Catherine Derick about 1799. John Jr. died about 1836 in Cocke County, Tenn.
4. Jacob, born about 1775, married Elizabeth Adams. He died April 23, 1833, in Lexington, Lafayette County, Mo.
6. Mary Ellen, married Thomas Fine Jr. While hunting for wild turkeys in Tennessee, Thomas was killed by an accidental discharge of his gun in 1817. Mary and her children moved to Missouri with her children and siblings. Mary died in Warren County, Mo. Thomas and Mary Ellen (Nave) Fine had five children:
A. Levi Sr., who was born in 1793 in Tennessee, and died July 17, 1855, Hawk Point, Mo. He married Nancy Oden and they had 11 children: Levi Jr., Spicey, Caroline, Thomas, Abraham, William, Jacob, Malchisades, Delilah, Rebecca, and Lemuel.
B. Abraham, born Sept. 9, 1798, in Tennessee.
C. Sarah, born March 16, 1799, in Tennessee, and died Jan. 24, 1885, in Douglas County, Ore.
D. Delilah, born May 6, 1801, in Tennessee.
E. Amy, born 1802, in Tennessee, she married Joseph Schrum.
7. Catherine “Katy,” married William Brown of Tennessee. William had been married previously and had two children, Delila and William. With Catherine he had three more children: Gabriel, Levi and Joseph. William had a land grant of 168½ acres in Cocke County surveyed in 1807. The family settled in Lincoln County, Mo., in 1817. Levi married Polly Oldin and Joseph married Polly Hopkins, and both settled in Warren County, Mo., in 1820 along with their half brother William.
NORTH CAROLINA FRONTIER
What is known about John Nave Sr. and his immediate family is mostly found in various records regarding land, taxes, wills, military service, and court cases. The earliest known record of John Nave as an adult refers to a grant of land in the British colony of North Carolina. The land grant is to a William Wiley in February 1759. Wiley, of Orange County, N.C., was granted land on the north fork of the Great Alamance River (later part of Guilford County), and John Nave signed his mark as a witness. He is listed as John Knave. In December 1761, John Nave is cited as a sworn chain carrier for Peter Beemer in Orange County in the survey of land on the Double Creek of the South Hico River.
In October 1762, in Orange County, Jacob Boon was issued a warrant for land on Cedar Creek, waters of Alamans adjacent to McCulloch’s line and including Conrad Nave’s improvements. On April 25, 1767, John Nave was granted 369 acres in Mecklenburg County, N.C., on both sides of the Crane Branch of Clark’s Creek, a tributary of the Catawba River. The Catawba River was the artery for the whole area. Mecklenburg County had been formed from portions of Anson and Rowan counties on Nov. 3, 1763. Nave’s grant was then near the Rowan County line and in what is now Catawba County.
The will of Peter Lowrance of Jan. 1, 1767, listed his wife Mary, sons Peter and William; daughters Eliboth, Mary, Retite, Eve and Christian; and witnesses Thomas Pack, John Neve (Nave) and John Allen. On July 21, 1768, Peter Larrance’s will was proved by John Knave (Nave) in Rowan County, N.C. Peter Larrance and his wife Mary were from Lyle’s Creek in Rowan County.
John and Eve Neave (Nave) sold their 369 acres in Mecklenburg County on Oct. 1, 1769, for 30 shillings to William Coons (Koontz/Counce) Sr. The property sale was recorded in a January 1770 court session in Tyron County, N.C. It’s also found in a Lincoln County, N.C., deed book.
John Nave and Abraham Collet of Rowan County, N.C., were taxed in 1770 with land in “ye upper parts of ye Catawba River.” The land was north of the Horse Fork near Hickory, N.C., in what would become Burke County.
In 1771, several Carolina families settled on the Nollichucky River in an area of the French Broad river basin, which would become part of Tennessee. A store was opened at the settlement to barter ammunition, whiskey, trinkets and other goods with the local Indians for land.
John Nave moved from Rowan County to the Nollichucky area with his family about this time. John and his brother Henry lived on Stony Creek, which is now about 18 miles northeast of Carter, Tenn., on state Route 81, near Tennessee’s boundaries with Virginia and North Carolina.
Plentiful game and fertile soil attracted the first white settlers to the beautiful valleys and rugged Appalachian Mountains of what is now East Tennessee. As early as 1769, William Bean staked a claim and built a cabin on what is now known as Boone’s Creek in what would become Washington County. Soon friends and relatives joined him, and other settlers followed to form the Watauga Association in 1772. By then there were about 70 plantations in the area.
Hostilities between white settlers and the Shawnee Indians began in the area in October 1773 when the Indians attacked Daniel Boone’s party. The Shawnees, who were in alliance with warriors of other northern and western tribes, continued to attack white settlers along the Virginia frontier.
In 1774, a large number of surveyors and woodsmen were sent under the authorities of Virginia to the wilderness of Kentucky to locate and select lands under royal grants and military warrants, according to Ramsey. The local Indians viewed this as an encroachment upon their rights since they claimed those lands.
Lord Dunmore responded by ordering Gen. Andrew Lewis to raise four regiments of militia and volunteers from the southwestern counties of Virginia, to meet at Camp Union and to march down the Great Kenhawa River (now known as New River) to the Ohio River. Capt. Evan Shelby raised a company of more than 50 men in the section of country now included in the Tennessee counties of Sullivan and Carter. Among the men in the company was Conrad Nave, one of the sons of Hans Conrad Näf. The company marched on Aug. 17 and joined the regiment of Col. Christian on Great Kenhawa River. From there, the men continued to the Great Brier River, where they joined the army of Gen. Lewis.
On Sept. 11, the army set out for the designated point. The route was through trackless wilderness, down rugged banks of the Kenhawa, and through deep defiles and mountain gorges, where a pathway had been opened. The trek took 25 days and the army did not reach the Ohio River until Oct. 6. The men encamped on the present site of the town of Point Pleasant.
Select parties of hunters were kept constantly on duty to supply the army with food. In the early morning hours of Oct. 10, James Robertson and Valentine Sevier of Capt. Shelby’s company were out hunting when they unexpectedly met a large body of Indians advancing toward the camp. The two men fired upon the Indians and then ran back to camp to warn the others. Two detachments under Cols. Charles Lewis and William Fleming were immediately ordered to meet the Indians and stop their advance. A violent and hard fought engagement ensued. Both Lewis and Fleming were wounded in the first assault – Lewis mortally – and the fighting lasted the whole day. Shelby took command of Lewis’ regiment, and his son, Lt. Isaac Shelby, commanded his father’s company.
In the evening, Gen. Andrew Lewis ordered the companies commanded by Capts. Shelby, Matthews and Stewart, to advance up the Kenhawa River, under the shelter of the bank and undergrowth, and circle around to the rear of the Indians. But the men in the companies were exposed to gunfire from some Indians, who had taken a position behind logs and bushes. One of Shelby’s men, John Sawyers, obtained permission to take a few other men and dislodge the Indians from their shelter. A desperate charge was made and the three companies managed to come from behind the Indians and fired upon them. The Indians fled across the Ohio and retreated to the Scioto River.
During the conflict, 12 commissioned officers were killed or wounded, 75 non-commissioned officers and privates were killed, and 141 were wounded. How many Indians were killed or wounded is not recorded. After the battle, the Indians made a treaty with Lord Dunmore, in which they relinquished all claims to the lands south of the Ohio River.
Watauga people had heard that some people of the Nollichucky settlement, made up mostly of Tories, were less than enthusiastic about the Revolutionary cause. In 1775, Watauga people and a band of Virginians from Wolf Hill compelled Nollichucky settlers to take the oath of fidelity to the cause. The petition absorbed the settlement into the Watauga Association.
As more and more people settled in the Watauga area (the Washington District), and with revolution on the minds of many, people in that part of the country sought to have government representation.
A document was sent to the North Carolina Provincial Council in 1776 from the Washington District asking to be annexed into the province of North Carolina. Among the signers were Henry Nave and John Nave, according to Ramsey. On Dec. 18, 1777, the territory lying west of the mountains was formed into Washington County of North Carolina by the state’s general assembly. The county was named in honor of George Washington, one of the first places named for the future father of the country.
“These North Carolina frontiersmen were patriots. The same spirit of independence that moved them to face the dangers of the wilderness turned them also against British taxes. The Indians with whom they were contending for the land whereon they were building their homes were allies of the English,” according to Allen.
The second meeting of the County Court of Washington County was held in May 1778 at the home of Col. Charles Robertson. It was at the meeting that the first Grand Jury was empanelled and sworn. It was comprised of 25 men including John Nave. Both John Nave and Teter Nave are mentioned in later court proceedings. On May 28, 1778, the case of State vs. Jacob Brown involved the Naves over a long period of time. In a deed dated Oct. 21, 1778, from Jacob Brown to a Michael Woods, John Nave is listed as a witness. In a deed dated Oct. 31, 1778, from Jacob Brown to a Cornelius O’Neil, John Knave (Nave) is listed as a witness. When Brown died in 1795, his estate owed John Nave 16 shillings.
Among the men listed in Washington County paying taxes in 1778 are Teter, Henry and John Nave. Teter Nave had 439 acres, 8 perches and 4 roods of land, and was to pay £4, 10 shillings and 14 pence. Henry Nave had 100 acres, and was to pay £1 and 6 pence. John Nave had 549 acres, 8 perches and 4 roods, and was to pay £5 and 14 shillings.
John Nave was listed as a tax assessor on Nov. 28, 1780, and May 27, 1782.
The extension of the western boundary line between North Carolina and Virginia in 1780 added to North Carolina a large territory that hitherto had been considered part of Virginia by the inhabitants of the area. This territory became the county of Sullivan.
A militia was organized in Washington and Sullivan counties to battle Indian attacks, and the companies were formed from “tall gaunt men with sharp eyes and steady fingers – bred to the rifle from childhood,” according to Allen. Fighting was difficult because Indians were to the east and British to the west.
Among the soldiers, who resided in Washington and Sullivan counties, listed in the “North Carolina Revolutionary Army Accounts, 1781-83,” are Gabriel Nave, Henry Nave and John Nave, according to Allen.
The militia of the counties was active up to the close of the Revolutionary War, and for some time afterward in skirmishes with Indians. The British hoped to form a tribal confederacy to create an obstruction to the west of the Colonists that would extend from Canada to Florida. But in April 1779, Col. Evan Shelby and Lt. Col. Charles Robertson led an expedition of 500 men from Washington and Sullivan counties against the Chickamauga Indians and disrupted the British plans.
The militia also took part in battles in South Carolina in the summer of 1780, the Battle of King’s Mountain in October 1780, and fought later that year against Cherokee Indians.
Mary Collitt (Collett) and Isaac Collitt administered the estate of Abraham Collitt, deceased, on Nov. 4, 1782. John Nave was to pay the fees. The Collitts entered themselves, with John Nave and Daniel Kennedy, securities. Abraham Collitt’s estate included two slaves, seven horses, 10 heads of cattle, six calves, three sheep and 11 hogs. Abraham’s descendants received 600 acres on Pigeon River at the Indian Forge.
In the List of North Carolina Land Grants in Tennessee, 1778-1791, Titer Neave is listed as the recipient of Grant No. 206, consisting of about 300 acres on the south side of the Watauga River in Washington County in 1782.
In 1783, an act authorizing the opening of a land office for the redemption of specie and other enabled to redeem them by taking land in exchange, at a rate fixed by the state.
In “South Carolina Deed Abstracts 1776-1783,” it states:
“1 Apr. 1783, Henry Grob of St. Helena Parish, Granville County, S.C., planter, to Melchior Liechlensteiger of St. Peters Parish, county aforesaid, planter, for £200 SC money, six tracts of land: 50 acres granted to Adelheit Grob, 50 acres granted to John Grob, 50 acres granted to John Näf, in Purisburgh Township adj. land of Elizabeth Grob, John Houstoun, on land originally granted to John Mough, William Williamson, also 50 acres granted to John Bear, 50 to John Voldolph Leirs, and 100 acres to Henry Nuf. Henry Grob (LS), Wit: Conrad Hover, Joseph Lee. Proved in Beaufort District by the oath of Conrad Hover before Paul Porcher, J.P., 13 Oct., 1783. Recorded 26 Nov., 1783.”
Granville County may have been one of the many non-functioning counties of the Beaufort District of South Carolina, and they were not enumerated in the 1790 census. St. Peters Parish is now in Beaufort County. This area is in southwest part of the state, and a long way from Rowan County, N.C. It is unclear why John and Henry Nave would have been granted land there. They may in fact be other Naves distantly related to the Tennessee Naves.
Also in 1783, Greene County was established by an act of the North Carolina general assembly on April 18. It was the third county established in the territory that would later become Tennessee. The act provided that Washington County, established six years before, would be divided into two counties. The new county was named in honor of Gen. Nathaniel Greene, a prominent Revolutionary War leader.
John and Landon Carter, prominent Wataugans and major landowners in the area, kept an entry book on land transactions in the late 1700s. Two entries are as follows:
“No. 102, 200 acres for John Nave, lying on the waters of the French Broad River on the south side of the war path on Camp Creek. Office 3rd June 1784. 200 acres surveyed for John Adair by Robert Wood, 13 May, 1794.” This is in what is now Greene County, Tenn.
“No. 138, 200 acres for Henry Nave at the head of little Lick Creek on the south side of Nodechucky beginning at the head of a cane break, running down the creak, including the Indian Camp. Office 25 Oct., 1787. 200 acres surveyed for Henry Nave by Jas. W. Lackey, 9 Aug., 1791.” This also would have been in what is now Greene County, Tenn.
John Nave is listed as one of those voting in Washington County in an election held the third Friday and Saturday of August 1786.
On July 20, 1792, Grant No. 1067 of 600 acres in Greene County was made to William Bell. Some of this land would end up being owned by Nave family members.
Jefferson County was created in 1792 from parts of Greene and Hawkins counties. The new county was named after Thomas Jefferson, then U.S. secretary of state. On Oct. 12, 1792, William Bell conveyed 235 acres of land in Jefferson County to John Nave from Bell’s original grant, according to Whitley. John Nave’s tract of land stretched from Sinking Creek Bridge to the top of English Mountain. He secured the property by entry, assuming ownership of unoccupied land. He lived near what is now Chestnut Hill. Sinking Creek Bridge was in Sevier County, just to the west of what became Cocke County. Chestnut Hill is on the Big Pigeon River (now Pigeon River) on the border of Cocke and Sevier counties. The land sale was signed in the presence of Jacob Nave and Thomas Ruthford.
In the April 10, 1794, issue of the Knoxville Gazette, patents for land in the counties of Jefferson and Knox are listed from a number of men, including Henry Nave.
Tennessee officially became the 16th state on June 1, 1796, and Carter County was created two months earlier on April 9 by the First General Assembly of Tennessee. The territory that made up Carter County was removed from Washington County, and the new county was named after Landon Carter, who was a Revolutionary War soldier and son of John Carter, a prominent Wataugan leader.
On May 14, 1796, John Nave of Jefferson County conveyed to his son Jacob Nave of Jefferson County, a tract of land on Pigeon River in Jefferson County, adjoining Henry Nave’s property line, according to Whitley.
Cocke County, located at the foot of the Great Smokey Mountains, was created by an act of the state’s general assembly on Oct. 9, 1797, from part of Jefferson County. It was named after William Cocke, a prominent military leader, civil officer and landowner in Tennessee. He was also one of the first two U.S. senators from Tennessee. On Feb. 5, 1799, John Nave Sr. of Cocke County conveyed to his son John Nave Jr. of Cocke County, land on Pigeon River, adjoining Henry Nave’s part of the original grant No. 1067, for £100 Virginia money, according to Whitley.
In 1800, John Nave is listed on the Jefferson County tax list as being part of Capt. Turner’s Company, with 200 acres, one white poll and one black poll. John Nave is listed on Aug. 6, 1800, as owning land on Big Pigeon River.
Jefferson County court minutes of 1807-10 show a bill of sale from John Nave Sr. to John Nave Jr.
On April 20, 1808, John Nave Jr. purchased Grant No. 3 of 187 acres in Cocke County on Big Pigeon River near Jacob Nave’s property, crossing Sevierville Road to Newport to Henry Nave’s line to Sinking Creek on Nave’s Road. Another record shows Land Grant No. 25: John Nave -187 acres - Cocke County - Big Pigeon River corner to Jacob Nave, line with land claimed by Emanuel Sandusky crossing Sevierville Road to Newport, Henry Nave’s line, bank of Sinking Creek - CC Jacob Nave and Andrew Donovan - Surveyed January 14, 1807. These two records are probably referring to the same land grant.
Other Nave land grants include:
• #1241 Henry Nave - 226 acres - Cocke County - on Sinking Creek Jacob Davis corner,John Nave’s line, Sevierville Road, crossing road, corner with William Collector, Collector’s line, corner to Collector and Ambrose Cobb, Yates Road-CC Robert Childres and Andrew Donovan Surveyed January 13, 1807
• #1238 John Nave - 130½ acres - Jefferson County-on the head of Muddy Creek -CC Abm. Nave and Danl. Thornton Surveyed February 10, 1807
• #1287 Jacob Nave - 139 acres - Cocke County - on Big Pigeon River beginning at a box elder on Joseph Anderson’s line near the river, end of a cabbin, stake at the mouth of a lane, corner to John Nave, John’s line along the waggon road, Henry Nave’s line, crossing the road and then the Dutch Bottoms Road, corner to Joseph Anderson, corner to Nave’s field-CC Robert Childres and Andrew Donovan Surveyed January 13, 1807.
It’s interesting to note that a land grant for David Fulton in Cocke County mentions the feature “Nave Mountain.”
Several Naves from Tennessee are listed as serving in the War of 1812 including:
• Abraham, private in Col. John Brown’s 2nd Regiment East Tennessee Volunteer Mounted Gunmen (son of Teter Nave)
• Henry, private in Col. John Brown’s 2nd Regiment East Tennessee Volunteer Mounted Gunmen (probably son of Teter Nave)
• Jacob, private in Col. John Brown’s 2nd Regiment East Tennessee Volunteer Mounted Gunmen (probably son of John Nave Sr.)
Col. John Brown’s 2nd Regiment East Tennessee Volunteer Mounted Gunmen (January 1814 - May 1814) comprised mostly of men from Bledsoe, Roane, Anderson, Blount, and Cocke counties. This was the second regiment that Col. Brown commanded during the war. With more than 200 volunteers in the unit, the men was used primarily as guards for the supply wagons traveling through Creek territory. As part of Gen. George Doherty's brigade, the regiment was put under the command of Gen. John Coffee at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend (March 27, 1814) where it participated in the fighting. The unit’s line of march took it from East Tennessee through Lookout Mountain, Fort Strother, Fort Williams, and Fort Jackson. Col. Brown was the sheriff of Roane County at the start of the war.
• Abraham, private in Col. William Lilliard’s 2nd Regiment East Tennessee Volunteer Militia (probably son of John Nave Sr.)
Col. William Lilliard’s 2nd Regiment East Tennessee Volunteer Militia (October 1813 - February 1814) comprised mostly of men from Greene, Jefferson, Sullivan, Cocke, Grainger, Hawkins, and Washington counties. This regiment of about 700 men was assigned to fill the ranks at Fort Strother for Gen. Andrew Jackson after the December 1813 “mutiny” of his army. While at Fort Strother, the unit comprised half of Jackson's forces until mid-January 1814 when its enlistments were up. This regiment was used to keep the lines of communication open and to guard supply lines. Its route was from Kingston, Tenn., to Fort Armstrong (early December 1813) to Fort Strother. Cherokees friendly to the United States fought with various units of the Tennessee militia and Lt. Col. William Snodgrass commanded a detachment of Cherokees at Fort Armstrong from mid-January to early February 1814.
• Cornelius, private in Col. Thomas McCrory’s 2nd Regiment West Tennessee Volunteer Militia (it is unclear how he is related to the rest of the family)
• John, fifer in Col. Thomas McCrory’s 2nd Regiment West Tennessee Volunteer Militia (it is unclear how he is related to the rest of the family)
Col. Thomas McCrory’s 2nd Regiment West Tennessee Volunteer Militia (October 1813 - January 1814) comprised mostly of men from Williamson, Maury, Giles, Overton, Rutherford, and Smith counties. Part of Gen. Isaac Roberts' Second Brigade, these three-month enlistees were mustered in at Franklin, Tenn., and mustered out at Fort Strother. The regiment participated in the Battle of Talladega (Nov. 9, 1813). Gen. Andrew Jackson tried to get them to serve longer than the three-month term, but only Capt. Abel Willis (Overton County) and 19 men stayed. The number of men in each company was relatively small, averaging about 50 (one company, led by Capt. James Shannon of Williamson County had a complement of 29 men). Famed Presbyterian minister Gideon Blackburn served as regimental chaplain.
• Henry, private in Col. Samuel Bunch’s 1st Regiment Volunteer Mounted Infantry (son of John Nave Jr.)
Col. Samuel Bunch’s 1st Regiment Volunteer Mounted Infantry (October 1813 - January 1814) comprised mostly of men from Claiborne, Grainger, Cocke, Greene, Hawkins, Jefferson, and Washington counties. Col. Samuel Bunch commanded two separate regiments at different times during the war. This regiment of three-month enlistees, in the brigade of Gen. James White, participated in the action against the tribe of Creeks known as the Hillabees (Nov. 18, 1813). Although Gen. Andrew Jackson was negotiating a peace proposal with this tribe, the East Tennesseans under Gen. White were not aware of this situation when they attacked the Hillabee village. This attack by Gen. White's brigade, aided by a band of Cherokees, led to a stubborn resistance by the Hillabees until the end of the Creek War. This regiment passed through Fort Armstrong, located on Cherokee land, in late November 1813. There was much protest by the Cherokees concerning property destroyed by the Tennessee troops as they were marching home. The Cherokees claimed that their livestock was “wantonly destroyed for sport” by the Tennessee soldiers.
• Jonathan, private in Col. Samuel Bunch’s 2nd Regiment of East Tennessee Militia (possibly the son of Teter Nave)
• Samuel, private in Col. Samuel Bunch’s 2nd Regiment of East Tennessee Militia (probably son of George Nave of Rockingham, Va. – George Nave is believed to be a nephew of John Nave Sr. and Teter Nave)
Col. Samuel Bunch’s 2nd Regiment of East Tennessee Militia (January 1814 - May 1814) comprised mostly of men from Claiborne, Grainger, Washington, Jefferson, Knox, Blount, Cocke, Greene, Hawkins, Rhea, and Sevier counties. Gen. Andrew Jackson's official report of the Battle of Horseshoe Bend (March 27, 1814) mentions that "a few companies" of Col. Bunch were part of the right line of the American forces at this engagement. More than likely, some of those companies included Capts. Francis Berry, Nicholas Gibbs (who was killed at the battle), Jones Griffin, and John McNair. In addition, muster rolls show some casualties from this battle in the companies led by Capts. Moses Davis, Joseph Duncan, and John Houk. Other men from this regiment remained at Fort Williams prior to Horseshoe Bend to guard the post -- provision returns indicate that there were 283 men from Col. Bunch's regiment at the fort at the time of the battle. This regiment was in Gen. George Doherty's Brigade and many of the men stayed after the enlistment expiration of May 1814 to guard the posts at Fort Strother and Fort Williams until June/July. The line of march went through Camp Ross (near present-day Chattanooga), Fort Armstrong, and Fort Jackson.
• Michael, private in Col. Edwin Booth’s 5th Regiment of East Tennessee Militia (probably son of George Nave of Rockingham, Va.)
Col. Edwin Booth’s 5th Regiment of East Tennessee Militia (November 1814 - May 1815) comprised mostly of men from Knox, Blount, Sevier, Anderson, Bledsoe, Hawkins, Rhea, and Roane counties. Along with the 4th Regiment of Col. Samuel Bayless and the 3rd Regiment of Col. William Johnson, this regiment was part of the division under the command of Maj. Gen. William Carroll. These units were sent to the vicinity of Mobile to protect that region from Indian and/or British offensive activities. The regiment was organized at Knoxville and their line of march took them to Lookout Mountain (present-day Chattanooga), to Fort Strother, and finally to Mobile. Many of the men may have been stationed at Camp Mandeville, a military post located outside of Mobile. Most of the companies were dismissed at Mobile at the end of the war.
In 1818, John Nave of Jefferson County acted as attorney for his son-in-law Daniel Thornton in selling 88½ acres in Jefferson County on Muddy Creek to John Rader of Greene County. Isaac Nave signed as a witness to the deal.
In the June 19, 1821, issue of the Knoxville Register there is a list of land to be sold on Aug. 6, 1821, in pursuance to law passed on Oct. 19, 1819, in the town of Dadridge, per M. Nelson, E.T. In Jefferson County it lists, “A tract of land granted to John Nave containing 130½ acres in Jefferson County and the south of the Holston (now Tennessee River) and French Broad.” John Nave is listed as a taxpayer in Cocke County in 1821.
In 1824, Grant No. 10143 was sold to John Neff (Nave) for 56½ acres on the west side of Pigeon River in Cocke County. It was surveyed April 6, 1824. That same year, Grant No. 10160 was sold to John Neff for 50 acres on waters of Sinking Creek in Cocke County. It was surveyed May 10, 1824. On April 5, 1824, John was one of the surveyors for more than 24 acres in Cocke County belonging to a James Jennings. On Oct. 12, 1824, John and his son Isaac were among the surveyors of 40 acres in Cocke County belonging to a Robin Hood.
John Nave Sr. is believed to have died in Jefferson County about 1825.
John Nave Jr., born about 1763, in Mecklenburg County, N.C., married, first, Susan Good (or Gut) about 1786 in Greene County, N.C. They had six children, all of whom relocated to Missouri with their respective families. After Susan died, John Jr. remarried to Mary Catherine Derick, but they had no children. John Jr. died about 1836 in Cocke County.
John Jr.’s hobby was brick making, and his home was built where the Gorman House now stands. One day he drove his team of horses to Morrell Mill, on Morrell Spring, south of Newport in Cocke County. When the horses became frightened and began running toward a huge tree, one horse went to the left and the other to the right. This stopped them, and John Jr. realized that the tree being there probably saved his life. He was so thankful that his dying request was that he be buried beneath the tree with a brick tomb over him. His family built a temporary wood frame structure over him, but then soon after left for Missouri. Years later, when the dilapidated tomb was brought to the attention of neighbors, they wrote to a son (probably Isaac) in Missouri who had a mason construct a brick vault. It is said to still stand, about 15 feet wide and 7 feet in height, and located about a half-mile west of Newport, near the bridge.
John Jr. and Susan Nave’s children included:
1. Henry B., born Dec. 7, 1787, in Greene County, Tenn. He married, first, Mary Elizabeth Brooks in 1808 in Cocke County, Tenn. Henry acquired land in Tennessee, was a slave owner, and eventually moved to Missouri, according to Canard. Henry married, second, Amanda Church on April 30, 1846, in Cooper County, Mo. For more on this family, see page 30.
2. Abraham B., born about 1790 in Tennessee. He is probably one of the two Abraham Naves listed as serving in the War of 1812 from Tennessee. He traveled to Missouri with his brother Isaac in 1820.
3. Mary Catherine, born March 28, 1791, in Jackson County, Tenn. She married Daniel Thornton April 1, 1809, in Jefferson County, Tenn. Daniel Thornton was born March 26, 1788, in Charleston, S.C. They are buried in Concord Church Cemetery in Arrow Rock, Mo. Their children included:
A. Susan, born Oct. 29, 1809, in Tennessee. She married John Falls on Aug. 23, 1827, in Missouri. They had four children: Daniel, Barney, Sarah and Catherine.
B. Rebecca, born March 12, 1812, in Tennessee. She married Ernest L. Eubank.
C. John, born July 21, 1813, in Jefferson County, Tenn. He married Sarah Oldham in Missouri. John died June 4, 1887, and Sarah died Dec. 14, 1875, and both are buried in Concord Church cemetery in Arrow Rock, Mo. Their children included Daniel, Rasweight, John, Aurelia, Laura, Lucy and Andrew.
D. Isaac, born Jan. 26, 1816, in Jackson County, Tenn. He married Rachel Chappell on Feb. 2, 1837 in Saline County, Mo. John died in 1905 and Rachel died Sept. 12, 1890, and both are buried in Concord Church cemetery in Arrow Rock. Their children included Isaac L., Mary Frances, William H., James H., Daniel B., John C., Andrew J. and Elisha Edwin.
E. Catherine, born Feb. 5, 1818, in Malta Bend, Mo. She married Rev. Barnes Clark on Feb. 25, 1836, in Saline County. They were first cousins. Catherine died April 25, 1869, in DeKalb County, Mo. Their children included Isaac B., Euphemia, Rebecca, Susan F., John Thornton, Thomas F., Barnes H., Daniel Jackson, Mary J., Nancy Elizabeth, Julia Ann and James Marion. For more about Barnes Clark, see page 23.
F. Elizabeth, born April 15, 1820, in Saline County. She married, first, William Jackson Thornton, a first cousin, on May 22, 1838, in Saline County. See page 23 for more details. Their children included Andrew Jackson, Mary Jane, Caroline, Jesse B., Isaac, and Euphemia Alice. William died in February 1851 in Missouri. Elizabeth married, second, Thomas Ament, but they had no children. Elizabeth died May 20, 1904, in Clarksdale, Mo.
G. Mary Polly, born May 25, 1822, in Saline County. She married Isaac Nave, a cousin. See page 37 for more information on this family.
H. Nancy, born March 5, 1824, in Saline County. She married Tilmon A. Howard Cameron on Nov. 7, 1844, in Missouri. Their children included Herome H., John, Daniel L., Newton J., Robert, Mary E. and Leona K.
I. Lydia, born March 12, 1826, in Saline County. She married James L. Dickson about 1845 in Missouri. Lydia died in November 1890 in Missouri and James died Jan. 4, 1859, in Missouri. Their children included Thomas Benton, Mary E. Daniel G., Isaac N., John H. and James D.
J. George Henderson, born April 26, 1828, in Saline County. He married Verlena Nave, a cousin. See page 33 for more information on this family.
K. Mary, born Oct. 28, 1830, in Missouri. She married Jon L. Cowan in 1846. She died Oct. 19, 1900, and he died July 23, 1900. Their children included Daniel, Robert, William, Howard, Nancy E. Mary A. and Alva A.
L. Brulina, born in 1832 in Saline County. She died in 1850.
M. Andrew Jackson, born May 4, 1833, in Arrow Rock, Mo. He married Sarah Jane Wiley on Nov. 6, 1860, in Missouri. Andrew died Feb. 24, 1923, and Sarah died Nov. 23, 1900. Both are buried in the Concord Church cemetery in Arrow Rock. Their children included Mary Betty, Susan Ada, Alice D., Henry N., Rebecca E., Charles A., Susan I. and Willard W.
4. Rebecca, born 1794 in Tennessee. She married Isaac Clark on Nov. 24, 1811, in Sevier County, Tenn. Isaac died June 4, 1830 in Lafayette County, Mo. She died Dec. 17, 1883. Their children included:
A. Rev. Barnes, born Sept. 22, 1812, in Tennessee. He married his first cousin Catherine Thornton, daughter of Daniel and Mary (Nave) Thornton, on Feb. 25, 1836. See page 22 for more information on this family. Barnes married second Sarah Coffey Tiller about 1869. She was born in 1835 and died in 1908. Barnes died March 11, 1892, in Buchanon County, Mo. They had no children.
B. William Jackson, born 1814, in Tennessee. He married Elizabeth Thornton, a first cousin. For more information on this family, see page 22.
C. John R.
D. Jesse Abbi, born June 28, 1823, in Lafayette County, Mo. He married Lucinda Jane Blakely on Sept. 7, 1843. He died March 8, 1887, in Buchanan County, Mo., and she died in 1899. Their children included James, Jackson, Eliza, Barnes, John F., Mary F., Amanda, Isaac, Emma and Laura.
E. Euphemia, born Dec. 17, 1825, in Missouri. She married John F. Atchison on Oct. 1, 1845. She died on Dec. 1, 1899. Their children included John, Ann May, Wallace C., Jesse L., Andrew C., Martha M. and Laura.
F. Mary Daisy, born in February 1831 in Missouri and died in 1884.
5. Isaac, born Sept. 11, 1797, in Jefferson County, Tenn. Isaac first arrived in Saline County, Mo., in September 1820. He later returned to Cocke County and married Lucy Romine in 1831. His first three children were born in Cocke County. Isaac returned to Saline County in the fall of 1836 with his family and a party of about a dozen slaves. He died Dec. 9, 1878, in Missouri and was buried in the family graveyard on his farm. For more on this family, see pages 31-32.
6. Nancy, born about 1799 in Tennessee. She married William T. Clark, brother of her sister Rebecca’s husband, on April 16, 1818, in Grand River, Mo. William died in 1842. Their children included Elizabeth M., Emma C., Joel A., Thaddeus C.J., Vena Cusetty, Susan C. and John S.
Jacob Nave, born about 1775, married Elizabeth Adams in Tennessee, and they had 11 children. She was daughter of George and Winifred (de la Shumate) Adams, both of whom were born in Virginia and died in Missouri. Jacob Nave served in the War of 1812 as a private in Col. John Brown’s 2nd Regiment East Tennessee Volunteer Mounted Gunmen. It is unknown when Jacob came to Missouri, but he probably brought his family to Saline County around 1820 to join relatives already living there. Jacob died April 23, 1833, in Lafayette County, Mo. Elizabeth (Adams) Nave held a land patent, dated Nov. 6, 1835, for 35 acres in Lafayette County.
1. Jesse, born Oct. 19, 1797, in Tennessee, later moved to Livingston County, Mo., where he made a name for himself as a merchant and postmaster. He married Isabella Smith Dickson in 1831. (See chapter “Livingston County, Mo.”)
2. John, born in 1798 in Tennessee. He married Elizabeth Kelly on Dec. 24, 1823, in Saline Co. Elizabeth married second, Matthew Davis on July 2, 1847, and third, Dewitt C. Stone on Aug. 8, 1858. John and Elizabeth had six children:
A. Rebecca, born 1831
B. Jesse R., born in 1834 in Missouri, married Harriet Amanda Missouri Hiser Feb. 1,1855, in Sugar Creek, Cass County, Mo. He had a land patent for 40 acres in Benton County, Mo., which was dated May 1, 1854. He also had two patents for more than 80 acres in Cass County, dated Jan, 15, 1856, and May 1, 1857 respectively. Jesse and Harriet Nave had three daughters:
i. Lucrecia, born in 1856.
ii. Louisa, born in 1858.
iii. Elizabeth J., born March 12, 1860, married James Madison Sligar on July 12, 1876, in Kansas City, Mo., and died on Sept. 14, 1914. They had seven children: Myrtle Emma (born 1879), Jessie Mae (1880), James Henry (1883), Ida Viletta (1885), Fred Clempson (1887), George Benton (1892), and Amanda Elizabeth.
C. Catherine, born in Lincoln County, Mo, about 1835.
D. James, born about 1837.
F. Elizabeth, born 1838.
G. John K., born 1842.
3. George, born in 1800 in Tennessee, married Nancy Jobe on May 31, 1821, in Saline Co. He held two land patents, dated Feb. 10, 1827, and April 2, 1829, respectively, in Saline County for a total of 160 acres.
4. Nancy, born in 1802 in Tennessee. She married James Fletcher on June 12, 1825, in Lafayette County, Mo. They had seven children: Lucinda, Isabella, Catherine, Eliza, James, Emeline and Ellen.
5. William, born about 1805 in Tennessee. He married Mahalia Trapp on Feb. 22, 1827, at Lexington, Lafayette County, Mo. Their children included:
A. Cordelia Jane, born about 1828 at Savannah, Andrew County, Mo. She married, first, Thomas Reno; and secondly, Jefferson Ring, on July 22, 1846.
B. George Washington, born Nov. 19, 1829, in Rushville, Buchanan County, Mo. He married Martha Jane McCafferty on March 7, 1852, in Andrew County, Mo. He died on Aug. 6, 1914, in Rushville. She died Aug. 14, 1901. Their children include:
i. Louann Elizabeth, born March 10, 1853, in Rushville. She married William Francis Murphy on Oct. 14, 1880 in Rushville. She died on Nov. 19, 1934.
ii. William Franklin, born Feb. 21, 1855, in Rushville. On Aug. 12, 1877, he married Sarah L. Armstrong in Buchanan County, Mo. William Franklin died April 26, 1934. They had five children:
a. Theodore Molten, born May 9, 1878, in Agency, Mo. He married Mary Rees Rickers on Nov. 17, 1906, in Provo, Utah. Following his wife’s death in 1930, he married Maggie Bellamy Bunn on Sept 8, 1931 in Fishtail, Montana. She had two sons from a prior marriage. Theodore and Mary had three children:
a1. Lois, born Sept. 12, 1910, in Spanish Fork, Utah. She married Randall Lee Kirby and had two sons: William Randall (born Dec. 1, 1932) and John David (Jan. 23, 1940).
a2. Louise, born April 28, 1912, in Spanish Fork, Utah. She married Harold J. Green and had four children: Joan Lucille (born April 21, 1930), Lois Jean (March 22, 1932), Susan Louise, and Douglas Robert (Jan. 19, 1939). Susan married Richard Hall and they have one daughter, Angela. Douglas married Suzann Sattler and they had a daughter, Donna Louise (Feb. 11, 1966).
a3. Bert, born July 15, 1917 in Twin Falls, Idaho. He married Beulah La Rue Wright and had a son named Kirby. Kirby Nave married Karen Pederson and they had two sons: Aaron Kyle and Samuel. Kirby married secondly, Judith Murrell Delbono.
b. Nolan Edgar, born June 17, 1885, in Agency, Mo.
c.Mary Pearl, born March 4, 1889, in Agency, Mo.
d.Willard Franklin, born Sept. 14, 1897, in Andrew, Mo.
e.Paul Armstrong, born April 4, 1899, in Andrew, Mo.
iii. Florence, born Sept. 27, 1856, in Rushville. She died March 12, 1859.
iv. Laura Frances, born March 15, 1858, in Rushville. She married Silvester Hays on Nov. 5, 1876, and died May 30, 1923.
v. Hugh M., born March 17, 1860, in Savannah, Andrew County, Mo. He married, first, Sarah Pryor and had a daughter, Kate, born Feb. 4, 1893, and married Henry Schweigert. She died May 25, 1979. Hugh married secondly, Emilie Katherine Bauer in 1894 in Provo, Utah. Their children included:
a. William Eberhard, born Nov. 9, 1894, in Hailey, Idaho. He married Leila Marie Houser on Aug. 19, 1922 in Grand Rapids, Mich. He died April 2, 1987, in Grand Rapids.
b. Hugh, born Aug. 5, 1896, in Idaho Falls, Idaho. He married Bertha Fries.
c. George W., born Dec. 19, 1898, in Hailey, Idaho. He married Charlotte Seltz and died in March 1970 in Washington, D.C.
d. Florence D., born June 5, 1901, in Cuprum, Idaho. She married Claude Young and died in February 1985 in Lakeview, Mich.
e. Raymond, born Sept. 14, 1903, in Council, Idaho. He married, first, Zenith Pheifer. He married second, Eva Clark on Sept. 2, 1961.
C. Martin V., born in 1832, in Savannah, Andrew County, Mo.
D. Jemiah, born about 1834, in Savannah. He married Collett Hanes on Nov. 9, 1948, in Andrew County, Mo., and died April 12, 1920.
E. John Wesley, born Jan. 20, 1836, in Savannah. He married, first, Margaret Neaves on Dec. 21, 1854, in Clinton County, Mo., and, second, Louisa Vaughn on Feb. 25, 1875. He died April 12, 1919.
F. Sally Ann, born about 1838 in Savannah. She married James Holman on Dec. 13, 1849, in Andrew County.
G. Lewis Holt, born about 1840 in Savannah.
H. Robert F., born in 1841 in Savannah.
I.Victoria, born March 25, 1843, in Savannah. He married William Jesse Baxter on Oct. 19, 1860, in Buchanan County, Mo. She died on Dec. 12, 1910.
J. Thaddeus Luther, born July 24, 1847, in Savannah. He married, first, Minnie White, and second, Martha Mary Chrysler in February 1876. He died on April 22, 1922, in Sugar City, Idaho.
6. Tabitha, born in 1808 in Tennessee. She married Benjamin Hartgrave of Kentucky and they lived in Livingston County. The spelling of Benjamin’s surname changed a lot. He and his brothers have it spelled Hargrave in the 1830 census, Hartgrove in the 1840 census, and Hargraves in the 1850 census. Tabitha and Benjamin had four children: Elizabeth, born 1832; Isabella, 1834; John, 1838; and Tabitha, 1840. All of them were born in Missouri. After Tabitha died, Benjamin married secondly Elisabeth _______, and they had four children.
7. Elizabeth, born in 1809. She married _______ Punty.
8. James, born Dec. 25, 1811, in Cocke County. He married Lucinda Ann Harvey about 1832. They moved their family to Livingston County. James and Lucy and most of their children and their families eventually moved to Montana. (See chapter “Livingston County, Mo.”)
9. Rebecca, born in 1814 in Tennessee. She married _______ Hartgrave, probably a brother of Benjamin Hartgrave, who was husband of her sister Tabitha Nave.
10. Jackson, born in 1816 in Tennessee. He died about 1833.
11. Mary Polly, born June 22, 1819, in Missouri. She married William O. Jennings on Nov. 12, 1835, in Lafayette County, Mo. She died Oct. 13, 1889, in Livingston County, Mo. William Jennings, born 1815 or 1816 in Tennessee, was sheriff of Livingston County for a while and a close friend of Jesse Nave, his brother-in-law. In the 1850 census of Livingston County, Mo., William is listed as a farmer living with his family on land worth $450. William and Mary had nine children all born in Livingston County: J. Thomas, Elizabeth, William H., Mary, Isabell, Caroline, _______, Kate, and Frankie.
SALINE COUNTY, MISSOURI
In 1807 or 1809, a pioneer named George Sibley built a log house on the site of what would become the town of Arrow Rock, Mo., on the Missouri River. The area was part of Howard County then, although it would later be in Saline County after boundaries were changed. The house was a trading post to sell goods to the Indians. Above the "Arrow Rock," as the outcropping was called, and opposite from Cooper's Fort, in Howard County, on the north side of the river was a considerable expanse of fine bottom land, covered with a heavy growth of timber and abounding in game which was called Cox's Bottom. Cox’s Bottom was named after Jesse Cox, a native of Madison County, Ky., who settled in the area in 1810.
Daniel Thornton, Isaac Clark and William Clark (all three, sons-in-law of John Nave Jr.), all from Tennessee, came to Cox’s Bottom near Sibley’s house to settle in 1816 by keel boat, according to Ellsberry.
“Later, the same year, came the Nave . . . families, who traveled by land. Henry Nave (son of John Nave Jr.) brought with him the first wheeled wagon seen in the county,” Ellsberry wrote.
However, according to the “History of Saline County,” Henry Nave brought the second wagon to the area, having been beaten by a few days by Thomas Keeney on his way up the Missouri River. Henry Nave’s wagon had wooden axeltrees, a stiff tongue and a “very capacious bed, turned up behind and before,” (according to Ellsberry) and it resembled a boat hull. He lived in the wagon until he built his cabin.
Henry came to the area in late 1816 and was accompanied by Abraham Nave, Jacob Nave, John Thornton and William Collector, with their families. Since Henry was a veteran of the War of 1812, he may have received land in Missouri through a War of 1812 bounty land warrant. The group followed the French Broad and Tennessee rivers out of Tennessee to the Ohio River, which led to the Mississippi and the Missouri rivers. They finally ended their journey in Saline County. There was no distinct road between the Missouri towns of Boone’s Lick and St. Charles at that time and the group lost its way at one point. It experienced a lot of difficulty traveling due to high water and the provisions running out. Not long after the settlement was established, many people living there were taken ill with chills and fever from the intermittent to the deadly typhus.
Saline County was created by act of the General Assembly of Missouri on Nov. 25, 1820, and was named for the many salt springs it contained. Prior to 1820, what is now Saline County was part of Cooper County. Located in the northwest part of the state, 70 miles east of Kansas City, Mo., Saline County borders the Missouri River to the north and east, Cooper County in the southeast, Pettis County in the south, and Lafayette County in the west. Saline covers 760 square miles. When first settled, the area was made up of mostly pasture and timberland, the latter including oak, hickory, walnut, elm, ash and buckeye.
“Fred Hartgrove, John Hartgrove and Dr. John Sappington joined the same settlement in 1819,” wrote Ellsberry. “In 1820, Isaac and Abraham Nave ... (Henry’s brothers), with others, came from Tennessee in a keel boat (built by the brothers) laden with small machine castings and liquors. In 1819, Henry Nave and (John) Thornton planted the first wheat, and in 1820 Nave, Hartgrove and Sappington made a rude craft and floated to St. Louis on a trading trip.”
The planting and harvesting of wheat was a major event because up to that time many people believed that the prairie was unsuitable for growing crops. The trading trip to St. Louis was to sell bacon. After raising a large herd of hogs, Henry slaughtered several and went to St. Louis hoping to sell the meat. But there was little demand in the town. He eventually found a market with lead miners a few miles downstream in the town of Herculaneum.
Henry planted the first orchard in the county on section 13, township 50, range 19. He brought some apple and peach seeds with him from Tennessee and ended up with a first-class orchard.
It is interesting to note that apparently most Nave families that remained in Missouri eventually began spelling the surname Neff, just as related families in Pennsylvania had already been doing. Families that remained in Tennessee and those which left Missouri for Montana continued to spell the name Nave.
In 1829, the town of Arrow Rock was founded on the bluff above a ferry crossing. Originally named Philadelphia, the town’s name was changed in 1833 to coincide with the landmark. Its situation on the Missouri River and Santa Fe Trail meant large numbers of travelers heading west passed through the town. In 1834, Joseph Huston, a native of Virginia, began construction of a two-story brick structure known today as the Old Tavern.
* * *
In the 1830 U.S. census, Saline County, Arrow Rock Township, five Nave families are listed.
In the 1840 U.S. census, Henry Nave, George Nave, James Nave, Isaac Nave and John W. Nave are listed as living in Arrow Rock with their respective families. Another James Nave is listed as living in Jefferson, Saline County, with his family.
Jacob Nave, son of John Sr. and Eve Nave, is listed in the 1830 census in Arrow Rock and as being between 50 and 59 years. He is living with one male under 5, one male between 10 and 14 years, two males between 15 and 19 years, one female between 10 and 14 years, and one female between 15 and 19 years. Note that there is no female listed living with Jacob Nave that would be the right age to be his wife. She, therefore, had probably died by then. Jacob had nine slaves, two males under 10 years, two females under 10 years, two females between 10 and 23 years, one female 24 and 35 years, and two females 36 and 54 years.
Children of John Jr. and Susan Nave listed in census records:
Henry Nave, son of John Jr. and Susan Nave, was born Dec. 7, 1787, in Greene County, Tenn. He married, first, Mary Elizabeth Brooks (born about 1791 in South Carolina) in 1808 in Cocke County, Tenn. They had four children. Henry is listed in the 1830 census in Arrow Rock and as being between 40 and 49 years old. Living with him are two males between 15 and 19 years, one female under 5 years, one female between 10 and 14 years, and another female 30 to 39 years. According to the census, Henry Nave also had three slaves, one male between 10 and 23 years, one female under 10 years, and one female between 24 and 35 years.
Henry is listed in the 1840 census in Arrow Rock as being between 40 and 49 years, and living with one male between 20 and 29 years, and one female between 50 and 59 years. He has no slaves. Henry married, second, Amanda Church (born Jan. 21, 1812, in Vermont) on April 30, 1846, in Cooper County, Mo. They had two children. Amanda died Feb. 15, 1884, in Arrow Rock. Henry died seven days later in Arrow Rock. They were buried in the family graveyard on Henry’s brother Isaac Nave’s farm.
Henry fought in the War of 1812 as a private under Capt. William Jobe in Col. Samuel Bunch’s Regiment Mounted East Tennessee Volunteers, also known as the 1st Regiment of Volunteer Mounted Infantry. There is also a Henry Nave who was a private in the Col. John Brown’s 2nd Regiment Mounted Gunmen East Tennessee Volunteers during the War of 1812 and it possible that both Henry Naves are actually the same person and that he fought in both regiments. Between 1825 and 1833, Henry is recorded as having had four land patents in Saline County totaling 320 acres. Amanda died Feb. 18, 1884, in Arrow Rock. Henry died only a few days later on Feb. 22, 1884, at his home near Arrow Rock, and was buried with Masonic Lodge honors by Arrow Rock Lodge No. 55, in a cemetery near the farm of his nephew, Dr. Abraham Neff, son of Isaac.
Henry and Mary (Brooks) Nave’s children included:
1. John, born May 31, 1809, in Tennessee, married Mary Cameron (born Feb. 14, 1817 in Tennessee) about 1836 in Missouri. They had eight children, including Catherine L., Lydia Elizabeth, Joseph Henry, Sarah Jane, John William, Fillmore, Daniel Taylor and Lucy Ann. Mary died Nov. 30, 1896, and John died Nov. 9, 1897. Both are buried in the Slater City Cemetery in Saline County.
2. Henry W., born about 1814 in Tennessee, died Feb. 1, 1874, in Saline County. He married Caroline M. Crane in Saline County on July 4, 1848, and they had eight children, including Harriet E., Isaac H., John T., Levi T., Emer Johnson, James Wesley, Lucy, and Joseph Raymond. Henry served in the 1st Regiment Missouri Mounted Infantry as a private during the Mexican War. It may be this Henry Nave that had a land patent dated Jan. 10, 1840, for 40 acres in Saline County.
3. Abram, born June 15, 1815, in Cocke County, died June 23, 1898, in St. Joseph, Buchanan County, Mo. He married, first, Lucy Jane McCord (born Sept. 30, 1822 in Randolph County, Va.), on May 3, 1842, in Saline County, Mo. They had four children, including William H., James McCord, Emma, and Samuel Miller. Abram married, second, Mary B. _______, about 1878. He married, third, Augusta Bagwell on Feb. 25, 1885.
4. Catherine, born about December 1816, in Saline County. She married Jesse Romine before 1842. In her father’s will, Catherine received $300. She died sometime after 1860. They had at least 10 children, including Elizabeth, Rhoda, Mary Ann, Henry, Mary Catherine, Susan, James, John, Isaac, and Abraham.
Henry and Amanda (Church) Nave’s children were:
1. Isaac Nelson, born in October 1849, in Saline County. On Nov. 14, 1872, he married Betty Jane Smith in Saline County. They had three children, including Annie, Katie, and Henry Abram. Upon the death of his father, both Isaac and his sister Mahala inherited the 600-acre farm. Isaac received the south half, Mahala the north half. Isaac died after 1884.
2. Mahala Ann, born about 1852, in Saline County. She married Daniel M. Embrey Oct. 6, 1870, in Saline County. She died after 1884 in Napton, Mo. They had five children, all born in Missouri, including Luella, Mamie, William Henry, Kineil Bennett, and Turner.
Isaac Nave, son of John Jr. and Susan Nave, was born Sept. 11, 1797, in Jefferson County, Tenn., and first arrived in Missouri in 1820 on a keelboat he built with his brother Abraham, who also made the trip. Isaac settled in what was known as Cox’s Bottom in Saline County and remained there until the following spring when he returned to Tennessee. He is listed in the 1830 U.S. Census of Cocke County, Tenn. Isaac had two children – possibly out of wedlock – but the mother is unknown:
1. Minerva, born 1825 in Tennessee, and died Oct. 28, 1849, in Missouri. She’s buried in the Neff family cemetery on Isaac’s former farm.
2. John M., born June 24, 1827, in Tennessee. He married Mary Neff (his second cousin and daughter of George Nave) on Feb. 14, 1853. Mary was born June 2, 1828, in Saline County. After they were married, they lived on a farm 12 miles east of Marshall. He died in Saline County on Aug. 28, 1877, and was buried in the family cemetery on his father’s farm. Mary died on Dec. 12, 1900, and was buried at Concord Church in Arrow Rock. They had nine children:
A. Nancy Elizabeth, born Nov. 25, 1853, in Saline County. She married Daniel Jackson Dickson. She died May 13, 1925, in Arrow Rock.
C. Lucy Ann, born 1856 and married Tom Stivers.
D. Mary Bell, born Sept. 15, 1859, and married Jess Hensick. Jess married, second, his sister-in-law, Laura.
E. Frances G. (Fanny), born 1862. She married Joseph Frist Neff (son of Henry W. and Caroline Neff).
F. Pinkey, died July 17, 1865, age 1 year, 2 months and 15 days. The child was buried in Concord Church Graveyard in Saline County.
G. Laura Jane, born 1867. She was the second wife of Jess Hensick, Laura’s brother-in-law.
H. Isaac, born 1868, and died in 1927 in Saline County. He was buried at St. Mary’s in Arrow Rock. He married Fannie Hensick (probably a sister of Jess Hensick) on Feb. 4., 1891.
I. Walter Abraham, born 1870. He married Blanche Townsend in 1914 and died in 1927.
In 1831, Isaac married Lucinda “Lucy” Romines, who was born about 1806 in Virginia. Isaac returned to Saline County in 1833 to visit his siblings, and moved his family to the area permanently in the spring of 1836. Isaac and his descendants eventually began spelling their surname Neff rather than Nave. Isaac is listed in the 1840 census in Arrow Rock and as being between 40 and 49 years, and living with two males under 5, two males between 5 and 9, one female between 5 and 9, one female between 30 and 39, and one female between 50 and 59. Isaac died Dec. 9, 1878, at his home in Arrow Rock, and is buried in the family graveyard that was on his farm. The Neff Tavern Smokehouse, built by Isaac, is listed as #78001676 on the National Register of Historical Places. The building is located northeast of Napton off Highway 40 and 6 miles west of Arrow Rock. Isaac and Lucy (Romines) Neff’s descendants include:
1. Susan, born 1832 in Tennessee. She died Jan. 2, 1885 in Arrow Rock.
2. James, born April 27, 1833, in Cocke County, Tenn., and came to Missouri with his family when he was only 3 years old. He married Mary Catherine Hungerford on April 4, 1861, in Missouri. She was born Sept. 13, 1844, in Saline County. Family history has it that James enlisted in the Confederate Army during the Civil War, first in Col. William B. Brown’s company, then in Col. McCullough’s regiment. He was involved in the battles of Booneville, Carthage and Wilson’s Creek. He left the war when he became ill and moved to Logan County, Ill., until the end of the war when he returned home. However, the federal listings of Confederate soldiers shows only one James Nave from Missouri who was a private in Poindexter’s Regiment, Missouri Cavalry. James worked on his father’s farm until 1866, when he moved to a 600-acre farm, 8 miles east of Marshall, Saline County. James died July 2, 1913. They had eight children:
A. Ida M., born April 23, 1863. She died in 1881 and is buried in the Neff family cemetery in Saline County.
B. Isaac Stonewall Jackson, born March 17, 1865, in Saline County. He married Sallie Ann Figgins April 14, 1896. He died Jan. 10, 1953, and she died in 1946 and they’re both buried in the Shiloh Methodist Cemetery in Saline County. They had three children:
i. Mary, born 1898.
ii. Charles, born Dec. 10, 1900. He died in February 1978 in Henrietta, Mo.
iii. Egan H., born 1909. He’s buried in the Shiloh Methodist Cemetery in Saline County.
C. Ella M., born July 4, 1867. She married, first, _______ Brambell, and, second, H. A. Vesser.
D. Robert E., born Oct. 8, 1869. He died in 1933 and is buried in the the Shiloh Methodist Cemetery. He Belle Jones and they had six children:
i. James William, born 1905.
ii. Robert M.
iii. Kitty, born Aug. 1, 1899, died Jan. 1, 1933, and is buried in the Concord Church cemetery in Arrow Rock. She married _______ Thornton.
iv. Frances, married _______ Yates.
v. Mary Lee, married _______ Stedem.
vi. Josephine, married _______ Roberts.
E. James Henry, born Aug. 8, 1872, in Saline County. He married Irene Alice Harvey (born in Saline County on Oct. 12, 1880) in Orearville, Mo. on Aug. 20, 1902. Irene (Harvey) Neff married secondly, Charlie F. Johnson. James is buried in the Ridge Park Cemetery in Marshall, Mo. James and Irene (Harvey) Neff had five children:
i. Margarette Louise, born July 22, 1903, in Kalispell, Mont.
ii. Harvey Whitfield, born Sept. 28, 1904, in Kalispell, Mont.
iii. James Geary, born Feb. 23, 1907, in Kansas City, Mo.
iv. Lena Mae, born May 15, 1913, in West Plains, Mo.
v. Mary Ella, born Nov. 18, 1914, in West Plains, Mo.
F. Lulu A., born Sept. 25, 1874, in Saline County. She married Ed Townsend.
G. Sadie Holland, born Aug. 4, 1878, in Saline County. She married Harry A. Gregory. She died Nov. 20, 1939, and is buried in the Ridge Park Cemetery in Marshall, Mo.
H. William Wood, born in May 1881. He died Jan. 28, 1896, and is buried in the Shiloh Methodist cemetery in Saline County.
I. Stella W., born Oct. 8, 1883. She married ________ Hayes.
3. John, born Sept. 28, 1834, in Cocke County. He married Judith Eversman. They had six children:
A. Ada Florence, born 1860. She married _______ Brown.
B. William M., born 1862.
C. Alonzo A., born 1864.
D. Rebecca W., born 1866. She married ________ Wear.
E. John T., born 1869.
F. Buehla E., born 1873.
4. Isaac Jr., born Jan. 13, 1838, in Missouri. He died Feb. 1, 1863, and is buried in the Neff family cemetery.
5. Abraham, born Dec. 19, 1839, in Arrow Rock. He married Louisa Jane Bingham (born April 11, 1851, in Arrow Rock) on July 10, 1873, in Miami, Saline County. He was a medical doctor. She died June 18, 1923, and he died Feb. 15, 1924. Both are buried in the Ridge Park Cemetery in Marshall, Mo.
A. Infant son, died Aug. 4, 1874.
B. Sara Louise, born Aug. 7, 1876, and died Jan. 8, 1877. She’s buried in the Neff family cemetery
C. Jesse Bingham, born April 11, 1878.
D. Nadine Etelka, born March 28, 1881. She married William C. Roberts. She died July 25, 1965.
E. George Henry, born April 20, 1884, in Arrow Rock. He died Sept. 17, 1892, and is buried in the Neff family cemetery.
Children of Jacob and Elizabeth (Adams) Nave listed in census records:
John Nave is listed in the 1830 census in Arrow Rock and as being between 30 and 39 years, and living with three females under 5 years, one female between 5 and 9 years, and one female between 20 and 29 years (probably his wife). He also had two slaves, one female under 10 years and one female between 24 and 35 years.
George Nave is listed in the 1830 census in Arrow Rock and as being between 20 and 29 years, and living with one male between 5 and 9 years, one female between 30 and 39 years (who would have been his wife, Nancy Jobe, whom he married May 31, 1821). According to Ellsberry, George Nave and Mary Jobe were administers of the will of William Jobe, who died intestate, Nov. 19, 1824. William Jobe, a captain in the War of 1812, was Nancy Jobe’s father.
George is listed in the 1840 census in Arrow Rock and as being between 40 and 49 years, and living with two males under 5, one male between 15 and 19 years, one male between 30 and 39 years, one female between 5 and 9, one female between 10 and 14 years, one female between 30 and 39 years, and one female between 60 and 69 years. He has no slaves.
George Nave was born about 1800 in Tennessee. On May 31, 1821, he married Nancy Jobe in the home of her father in Arrow Rock. George died about 1839 in Arrow Rock. Nancy died Jan. 15, 1863 and is buried in the Concord Church cemetery in Arrow Rock. Their children included:
1. Isaac, born Oct. 16, 1822, in Saline County. On Nov. 5, 1846, he married Polly Thornton, a second cousin and daughter of Daniel and Mary Catherine (Nave) Thornton. Isaac died April 21, 1897, and Polly died in May 1889, and both are buried in the Concord Church cemetery. Their children included: Mary, Nannie Elizabeth, Clayborne Jackson, Jennie I., and Oliver Price.
2. Mary, born June 22, 1828, in Saline County. On Feb. 14, 1853, she married John M. Neff, a second cousin and son of Isaac Nave, who later changed the spelling of his surname to Neff. Mary died Dec. 12, 1900, and is buried in the Concord Church cemetery. John died Aug. 28, 1877, and is buried in the Neff family cemetery in Saline County. Their children included: Dixon, Nancy Elizabeth, Lucy Ann, Isaac, Mary Bell, Pinkey, Laura Jane, and Walter Abraham.
3. Verlena A., born Nov. 5, 1833, in Saline County. She married George Henderson Thornton, a second cousin and son of Daniel and Mary Catherine (Nave) Thornton. Verlena died Jan. 6, 1911, and George died March 30, 1905, and both are buried in the Concord Church cemetery. Their children included Mary, James, George, Arabell, Ella, Jennie, William, and Annie Lee.
4. Thomas Gorum, born Feb. 18, 1839, in Saline County. He died Dec. 11, 1861, and is buried in the Concord Church cemetery.
Other Naves listed in the 1830 or 1840 census records:
Harden Nave is listed in the 1830 census in Arrow Rock and as being between 30 and 39 years, and living with one male between 15 and 19 years, one female under 5 years, and one female between 30 and 39 years (who would have been his wife, Rebeckah Shipton, whom he married May 6, 1827). He did not have any slaves. How he is related is uncertain, but Harden (also spelled Hardin) may be a son of Abraham B. Nave, son of John Nave Jr. The older male living with the family listed in the census is probably Daniel F. Nave, who may have been Harden’s younger brother. Harden died May 1, 1837, in Benton County, Mo. Harden and Rebeckah (Shipton) Nave had three children:
1. Letitia J., born 1828 in Missouri. She married James McFarland on April 13, 1848, in Benton County. She died in 1876 in Cedar County, Mo., and he died in 1878 in Cedar County. They had eight children:
A. Thomas Jefferson, born 1849. He was a sheriff of Cedar County, Mo., 1883-86. He married Mollie Pruet in 1874 in Cedar County. They had five children: Elizabeth Lutisha, John Clemson, James William, Clarence Elmer, and Mabel.
B. S.E.F., born 1850.
C. Virginia I., born 1854. She married Richard H. O’Neal on Sept. 25, 1870.
D. James William, born 1858. He married Lizzie Beck on April 9, 1882. They lived in Clintonville in Cedar County. They had two children: Edyth and Josephine.
E. Jesse B., born 1858. He married Mamie A. Shipley in 1891.
F. John D., born 1862. He married Lillie Fuller on Sept. 25, 1884. They lived in Clintonville.
G. Ludmilla, born 1869.
H. An unknown daughter.
2. John Clemson, born 1831 in Missouri. He was indentured out to John Godwin in 1840 when he was 9 years old. After becoming an adult he went to California.
3. Jesse, born 1833. He was also indentured to John Godwin in 1840 when he was 7 years old. He married Harriet Amanda Missouri Hiser on Feb. 1, 1855, in Cass County, Mo. She was born in 1839. Jesse died Feb. 27, 1866, in Bunceton, Cooper County, Mo., and is buried at Concord Cemetery in Cooper County. Harriet married secondly Joseph C. Childs on July 22, 1868. They had a son named James C. Childs. Jesse and Harriet (Hiser) Nave had had four children:
A. Lutecia E., born 1856.
B. Louisa F., born 1858.
C. Elizabeth, born 1860.
D. Jessie C., born 1866.
James Nave, of Arrow Rock, is listed in the 1840 census as being between 50 and 59 years. How he is related is uncertain.
James Nave is listed in the 1840 census in Jefferson and as being between 30 and 39 years. He is living with three males between 10 and 19 years, one male between 20 and 29 years, one female under 5 years, one female between 5 and 9 years, one female between 10 and 14 years, and one female between 30 and 39 years. How he is related is uncertain.
John William Nave Sr., son of Henry and Mary (Brooks) Nave, is listed in the 1840 census living in Arrow Rock, and being between 30 and 39 years. He is living with one male 20 to 29 years, one female under 5, one female between 20 and 29, and one female 40 to 49.
John William Sr., born May 31, 1809, in Tennessee, married Mary Cameron, born Feb. 4, 1817, in Tennessee. Like other members of his family, he changed the spelling of his last name to Neff. He died Nov. 9, 1897, and both he and his wife are buried in Slater City Cemetery in Saline County. They had eight children:
1. Henry, born Feb. 5, 1837, in Missouri. He died in April 1851 and is buried in the Slater City Cemetery in Saline County.
2. Catherine L., born about 1839 in Missouri.
3. Lydia Elizabeth, born about 1841, who married Thomas W. Guinn on Oct. 24, 1861, in Saline County.
4. Virginia Lula, born April 27, 1843, in Missouri. She died March 30, 1886, and is buried in the Mount Horeb Cemetery in Slater, Saline County.
5. Joseph Henry, born July 16, 1844, in Missouri and died Feb. 8, 1860. He’s buried in Slater City Cemetery in Saline County.
6. Sarah Jane, born May 23, 1845, in Saline County. She married Thomas William McClellan on Aug. 12, 1861, in Saline County. She died June 20, 1901, and is buried in the Odessa Cemetery in Lafayette County, Mo. They had 10 children, including Ruth Jane, Katherine Elizabeth, Lydia Ann, John William, Lucy Frances, Virginia Florence, Daniel Taylor, Mary Belle, Clara Lavinnia, and Minnie Miriam.
7. John William Jr., born April 28, 1849, in Missouri. He married Mary McClellan Sept. 8, 1867, in Saline County. She died Oct. 4, 1920, and he died Oct. 5, 1934, both in Hamilton, Caldwell County, Mo.
8. Filmore, born in 1852 in Missouri.
9. Daniel Taylor, born Aug. 20, 1854, in Missouri. He married Mary G. Cameron (probably a cousin). She died June 2, 1911, and he died Feb. 23, 1928, and both are buried in the Slater City Cemetery in Saline County. They had two children: Mary and Willie.
10.Lucy Ann, born in 1859 in Missouri.
Other Naves of note from the area:
Abram Nave, a son of Henry and Mary (Brooks) Nave, was born June 2, 1815, in Cocke County, Tenn. Abram was a pioneer merchant and founder of important mercantile houses in St. Joseph and St. Louis, Mo., Omaha, Neb., and other cities. He opened one of his stores in the town of Oregon in Holt County, Mo., with his brother-in-law James McCord. The two men also had a Texas cattle company with vast herds and 125,000 acres of land in Garza County, Texas. Abram married, first, Lucy Jane McCord May 31, 1842, in Saline County. She was born in Virginia, as was her father, William McCord, who was born in Albermarle County, Va. Her mother was Sally Moss Field. Abram married, second, Mary B. _______; and, third, Augusta Blackwell. Abram and Lucy (McCord) Nave had six children, but Abram had no more children with his two other wives.
1. William Henry, born Feb. 26, 1843, in Savannah, Mo., married Jessica Campbell June 4, 1890, at Wheeler Station, Ala. William had interest in his father’s firm before retiring about 1900. He made his home both in Brooke County, W. Va., and St. Joseph, Mo. They had two daughters:
A. Lucy McCord, born in 1891.
B. Jessica Campbell, born Dec. 30, 1892.
2. James McCord, born Nov. 22, 1844, in Savannah, married Annie M. English, Nov. 7, 1867, in Alton, Ill. James McCord Nave became involved in his father’s and uncle’s mercantile company. His son also was a businessman. James and Ann had two children:
A. Ada May, born about 1869.
B. James Revel, born Dec. 24, 1873, in Kansas City, Mo.
3. Emma, born 1847, married _______ Ramsey, and lived in Europe as of 1905.
4. Samuel Miller, born Feb. 1, 1849, in Savannah, married Minnie Holiday on March 28, 1877, in St. Louis. She was the daughter of John J. and Lucretia (Foree) Holliday. Samuel Miller Nave was vice president of the Nave-McCord Mercantile Company until he died in St. Joseph, April 10, 1901. They had two children:
A. Lucile, who married Irving Brokaw in 1903. They had a daughter:
i. Lucile Barbara Brokaw.
B. Samuel Fritz.
Daniel F. Nave, born in Cocke County in 1810 or 1811, probably lived in Saline County before moving to Benton County, Mo., in 1832. Daniel married Muhulda S. Harryman in 1835 and lived in Warsaw, Benton County. It is unclear how he is related in the Nave family, but he may have been a son of Abraham B. Nave (a son of John Nave Jr.) and brother of Harden Nave. Daniel’s wife was born in Missouri in 1817. They had eight children, all born in Cole Camp, Benton County. All the children changed the spelling of their last name to Neff, but Thomas Benton later changed his surname back to Nave.
1. Margaret Elizabeth, born Feb. 16, 1837, who married John J. White on March 7, 1858. They had six children: John A., Luvica A., Martha J., Daniel, Margaret, and Henry.
2. Louiza Jane, born Oct. 17, 1838.
3. William Van Buren, born March 15, 1840.
4. Thomas Benton, born Dec. 6, 1841. He married S. Amanda Dillon and they had at least one child, John F.
5. Richard Marion Johnson, born Sept. 13, 1843. He married Nancy Jane Susan Kennedy and they had at least one child, John William.
6. Susan Angeline, born May 10, 1846.
7. John Franklin, born March 15, 1848.
8. Henry J., born in 1850.
Isaac Nave, son of George and Nancy (Jobe) Nave, was born May 25, 1822. He married Mary Polly Thornton – daughter of Daniel and Mary Catherine (Nave) Thornton -- on Nov. 5, 1846, in Saline County. They were second cousins. He died April 21, 1897, in Saline County, Mo., and she died May 1899, also in Saline County. Both are buried in the Concord Church cemetery in Arrow Rock. They had five children:
1. Mary F., born Sept. 25, 1847. She married John F. Whiley on Oct. 1, 1868, in the home of her father.
2. Nannie Elizabeth, born April 8, 1849. She married Andrew J. Thornton, who was son of Isaac and Rachel (or Rebecca) Thornton, and her second cousin. He was born in 1844 in Clay Township, Saline County. She died in 1926.
3. Claybourne Jackson, born April 8, 1856. He married Mary Jane Martin Nov. 25, 1880. She died Feb. 9, 1947, and he died March 9, 1947, and both are buried in the Ridge Park Cemetery in Marshall, Mo.
4. Jennie, born in 1859, married Edward Thomas. She died in 1944.
5. Oliver Price, born Oct. 20, 1864, married Dolly Talbott on Nov. 6, 1890. She died Oct. 19, 1930, and he died June 6, 1948, and both are buried in the Ridge Park Cemetery in Marshall, Mo. They had five children, who spelled their last name Neff:
A. James I., who died in 1937.
B. Julia, who married _______ Jackson.
D. Marjorie, who married William Earl Hoy, and died in 1971.
E. John D., who died in 1967.
A Nave/Neff family cemetery located on the Santa Fe Trail, about 6 miles north of Arrow Rock, on what was once Isaac Nave’s farm, provides clues to family members who continued to live in Saline County through the late 1800s. The following are inscriptions on headstones:
• Ida Neff, b. 25 April, 1862, d. (date chipped off), daughter of James and Mary Neff;
• John Neff, b. 28 Sept., 1834, Cocke County, Tenn., d. 3 Feb., 1885 [son of Isaac and Lucy (Romine) Neff];
• Isaac Neff, b. 14 Sept., 1797, Tenn., d. 9 Dec., 1878 (husband) [son of John Nave Sr.];
• Lucy Romine Neff, b. 1806, Va., d. 22 June, 1885 (wife) [wife of Isaac Nave, above];
• Minerva Neff, b. 1825, d. 28 Oct., 1849 (daughter) [daughter of Isaac and Lucy (Romine) Neff];
• Isaac Neff, b. 31 Jan., 1838, d. 1 Feb., 1863 (son) [son of Isaac and Lucy (Romine) Neff];
• Mary Catherine Neff, b. 11 Nov., 1784, d. 7 Dec., 1842 [wife of John Neff Sr.]
• Neff (infant), b. d. 4 Aug., 1874 (son of Abram & LJB);
• Ara Louise Neff, b. 7 Aug., 1876, d. 8 Jan., 1877 (daughter of Dr. Abram & LJB Neff);
• George Henry Neff, b. 20 April, 1884, d. 17 Sept., 1892 (son of Abram & Louisa J. Neff)
• Neff (infant) (daughter of John & Judith Neff) [no dates].
Other names in the cemetery include Bingham, Ballard, Crockett, Gibson and Mallman.
LIVINGSTON COUNTY, MISSOURI
Livingston County, located in north-central Missouri, is 532 square miles of gently undulating or rolling land. There were 200 families equaling about 1,000 people, living in Livingston County in 1837.
Livingston County was created from Carroll County and was organized by legislative act approved Jan. 6, 1837. It was named in honor of Edward Livingston of Louisiana, who at the time was secretary of state under President Andrew Jackson
About 1832, Jesse Nave and his wife, Isabella, cleared a spot on the east fork of the Grand River to build a log cabin. Three years later, Levi Goben and his wife Catherine were the first settlers to come to the Nave’s settlement. Hunters passing through called it Navetown and soon other settlers came, built one room cabins, and hunted animals for furs. At this time, the surrounding area had both timber and prairie uplands.
One day Jesse and others of a hunting party came across fresh, cool water bubbling out of the ground. They returned to Navetown to tell the settlers about the springs. By 1837, traders and settlers had settled out and around the village, which eventually became known as Springhill.
In August 1837, the Livingston County Court took the first steps in laying out the town of Chillicothe. The name Chillicothe comes from the Shawnee Indians and means "the big town where we live" or "our big home." It was not until July 1839, that Chillicothe was designated as a county seat.
Livingston County’s first courthouse was built in 1838, but because of an oversight in the plans it had no windows. A second courthouse was built in November 1841, on the southwest corner of Webster and Cherry streets. It was a two story brick structure with all rooms warmed by fireplaces. The original courthouse without windows was used as a school.
By this time Livingston County was becoming a much-traveled area as wagon trains and pioneers went west. One route led through the northern half of the county crossing East Fork of Grand River at Cox’s Ferry, then up through Navetown and on to the northwest. Another route came across the southern part of the county and crossed Shoal Creek at Josiah Whitney’s Mill in what is now Dawn. The township of Indian Creek was renamed Jackson in February 1839 in honor of Andrew Jackson. The first settlements in the area were made about 1833. By 1836 there were about 50 families living in the area. There was an abundance of timberland, game and springs in the county. At one time, bears, wild cats and wolves were numerous.
According to the “History or Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri,” “The community was orderly and friendly. Every man regarded his neighbor as his brother, and the feeling his dependence exercised a proper amount of forbearance.... For the most part the settlers were uncultured and unlettered, but there was among them that natural generosity and unsophisticated frankness which after all make up the best refinement. Schools were few in number; churches fewer still. There were many religious men and women, and some educated and acquainted with the world, and the township was not given to general ignorance and barbarism by any means.”
Two Naves are listed in Jackson township prior to 1840: brothers Jesse Nave and James Nave. Both Jesse and James, sons of Jacob and Elizabeth Nave of Saline and Lafayette counties, are also listed living in the Jackson township (township 58, range 24) in the 1840 census with their families.
Springhill, then known as Navetown, was comparatively an important trading point from 1840 to 1850 or later, according to Conrad. During the early part of that period, the Naves and the Tootles, some of whom were later wealthy residents and businessmen of St. Joseph, Mo., were the merchant princes of the day at Springhill, with stocks of goods that would probably invoice at about $1,000. Goods were shipped to markets down river for cash and trade.
Pork, corn, wheat, potatoes and hides were the chief goods produced in the area. The nearest market was Brunswick, a long distance to haul wagonloads of produce over poor roads. Some enterprising men built flat boats and keelboats and loaded them with provisions for St. Louis. The Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad, built in 1859, made the transportation of goods much easier.
Special elections to choose two justices of the peace and one constable in each township of the county were ordered held May 27, 1837. For the Indian Creek Township, the election was held at Jesse Nave’s place. Elected were James Leeper, Andrew Ligett and Benjamin Hartgrave, brother-in-law of Jesse.
The first man declared insane in the county was John D. Martin, son of Judge William Martin, who lived in the forks of Grand River and had a wife and two children. He was about 37 years old and his insanity was reportedly due to epilepsy, which he’d been subject to for 10 years. A jury of 11 men, including James Nave and John Hartgrave, declared him insane in October 1837.
Jesse Nave was one of eight men who borrowed money in 1838 following the hard times caused by the suspension of the United States Bank. More than $600, the county’s share of the “3 percent fund,” was obtained from the state -- a fund distributed among the counties to aid in the construction of roads and bridges. The county court seized upon the money and voted to loan it out. The loans were on 12 months credit and 10 percent interest. Jesse borrowed $100, with William Jennings and Jesse Newlin as his sureties. William Jennings borrowed $100, with C.H. Ashby and Jesse Nave as sureties.
“Although doubtless there was nothing corrupt in the matter, yet it seemed as if a sort of ring was formed to borrow and gobble the money, and in a few years suit had to be instituted against nearly all the parties to recover it,” according to the “History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri.”
The August 1838 election in Indian Creek Township was again held at Jesse Nave’s place.
The total population of the county in 1840 was 4,325, including 2,160 white males, 1,922 white females, 115 male slaves, 126 female slaves and two free black females. In the presidential election of 1840, Jesse Nave was one of three election judges listed in the Jackson Township. Staunchly Democrat, the county overwhelmingly voted for incumbent Martin Van Buren against eventual winner William Henry Harrison.
The first bridge across the East Grand River was completed in the winter of 1843 at Graham’s Mill with Jesse Nave as contractor.
In the spring of 1846 the first move was made to establish the Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad. As A.J. Roof noted in his “History of Livingston County,” “The newspapers of the towns through which it was thought the road would be built favored it; those located off the line were opposed to it, and the people divided with the newspapers.” When it was finished in 1859 passenger trains left Hannibal at 10:30 a.m. and reached St. Joseph, 206 miles away, at 9:30 p.m. Hannibal, Hudson (Macon), Brookfield, Chillicothe, and St. Joseph were the principal stations.
Quite a few men from Jackson took part in the Mexican War in 1846-48, but no Naves are listed in the unit from Livingston County.
James Nave is listed as a participant at a Democratic assembly at the Chillicothe courthouse on the first Monday in February 1856. The purpose of the meeting was to organize the party for the presidential contest that year. It was also in response to the growing popularity in Missouri of the Know-Nothings political movement, which was antagonistic toward immigrants and Roman Catholics.
In 1858, Chillicothe had 1,000 residents. The town was growing and included two dry goods stores, a livery stable, drug store, hotel, eating house, and one newspaper, The Grand River Chronicle. The town boasted of one physician, four lawyers and regular stagecoach service. There were no paved streets or sidewalks and few fences in town, and pigs and chickens ran all over.
In 1860, the population of the county was 7,417, of which 705 were slaves. About 200 families in the county had slaves, but slavery was not considered very profitable in the area. In fact, less than 10 percent of the population was made up of slaves in the northern portion of the state.
“During the Civil War, Jackson Township was the scene of more thrilling adventures and exciting and dangerous episodes than any other township in North Missouri,” according to “The History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri.”
Although Missouri had been a slave state before the Civil War, the state voted to remain in the Union after war broke out. However, the Secessionists in Livingston County were in the majority. Through the beginning of the Civil War, Livingston County was uniformly Democratic in politics. In 1860, different candidates split the Democratic vote, but of the 1,469 votes cast only 20 went to Abraham Lincoln. In the winter of 1860 and 1861 the men began a series of Friday night meetings to discuss such questions: “Resolved: That the inaugural of President Lincoln means war.” The meetings were brought to an abrupt end in April when Fort Sumter was fired upon. Soon afterward, the first federal cannon was moved to the square in Chillicothe.
In the latter part of May 1861, two or three military companies were formed in the county, all mounted. On May 18, 1861, Gov. Claibourne F. Jackson commissioned William Y. Slack of Chillicothe, a brigadier general of the 4th Military District, composed of the counties Livingston, Worth, DeKalb, Clinton, Harrison, Davies, Caldwell, Ray, Carroll, Grundy and Mercer.
In 1862, General Orders No. 24 required all citizens liable for military duty to present themselves before the authorities and enroll as loyal or disloyal. Several hundred in Livingston County registered as disloyal. The only Naves listed as disloyal in Livingston were Jesse Nave and his son George B. Nave.
All Jackson was in a state of war in 1862 and hardly a day passed without a skirmish. Men were shot at in the fields, on highways and even at home. The “History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri” lists several men living in the area who were from both sides of the conflict and were involved in “exploits and hair-breadth escapes...(that) were numerous and highly perilous.” Two of the men listed were Jim Nave, son of James Nave, and Dave Martin, Jim Nave’s brother-in-law. Joe Kirk became a leader of the Confederates. Some of his men were John Blackburn, Jim Ridar, Bill Darr, Jim Nave, David Martin, Tom Crews, and Henderson Wilburn. Lt. Lemeuel Hargrave led the Union men, who included James M. Wilson, Marion Hicks, W. C. Wood, and Newton Hicks. In 1863 Capt. Barnes' Company of Militia was stationed in Springhill. It was called Fort Lumpkin. Lts. Gibbs and Hargrave were in command. Lt. Hargrave was wounded in a skirmish, losing his right arm. John Stewart, the leading merchant and trader of Springhill, was shot and killed by a woman, Mrs. Barlow, who had been paid to kill him.
Around Springhill were people who were in sympathy with the Confederates called bushwhackers. They thought the Union soldiers were quartering in the church house. One night the church house burned. It was thought that the bushwhackers set the blaze.
In the three years from Lincoln’s election in 1860 until 1863, the sentiment in Livingston County had changed. In 1860 only a few had wanted to do away with slavery, but by 1863 only a handful stood against the Union and emancipation.
There are 140 Naves listed as having served in the Civil War, either for the Union or the Confederacy. Twenty-six are listed from Missouri units:
• C.F. Nave, private, 3rd Missouri Infantry, Company F (probably misspelling of “E.F. Nave”)
• E.F. Nave, private, 3rd Missouri Infantry, Company F
• Francis M. Nave, sergeant, 3rd Missouri Cavalry, Company H
• J. Nave, private, 7th Missouri Cavalry, Company C
• J. Nave, 2nd lieutenant, 7th Missouri Infantry, Company F
• J. Nave, private, 16th Missouri Infantry, Company F
• J.R. Nave, private, 15th Missouri Infantry, Company K
• James Nave, private, Poindexter's Regiment, Missouri Cavalry
• Jesse Nave, private, 10th Missouri Cavalry, Company H
• Jesse Nave, private, 3rd Missouri Infantry, Company F
• Jesse Nave, private, Missouri State Guard
• Marion Nave, corporal, 3rd Missouri Cavalry, Company H
• Robert F. Nave, private, 3rd Missouri Cavalry, Company A
• W. Nave, private, Sehnabel's Battalion, Missouri Cavalry, Company G
• W.H. Nave, private, 1st Missouri Infantry, Company A
• Abraham Nave, private, Phelps’ Regiment, Missouri Infantry, Company F
• Asa Nave, private, Phelps’ Regiment, Missouri Infantry, Company H
• Charles Nave, sergeant, 40th Missouri Infantry, Company A
• George W. Nave, private, 51st Missouri Infantry, Company A
• John Nave, private, Phelps’ Regiment, Missouri Infantry, Company H
• Michael Nave, private, Phelps' Regiment, Missouri Infantry, Company E
• Michael Nave, private, 16th Missouri Cavalry, Company B
• Richard M. Nave, private, 8th Missouri S.M. Cavalry, Company K
• Thomas Nave, private, 8th Missouri S.M. Cavalry, Company K
• William Nave, private/sergeant, 16th Missouri Cavalry, Company B
• William B. Nave, private, 8th Missouri S.M. Cavalry, Company K
Jesse Nave, born in Tennessee Oct. 19, 1797, is considered the founder of the area known as Springhill in the Jackson Township, near Chillicothe. But before arriving in Livingston County, records show that he had two land patents dated Dec. 5, 1833, for more than 177 acres in Lafayette County, Mo. He also held a patent, dated Sept. 12, 1835, for 80 acres in Jackson County, Mo. At Springhill, which was then called Navetown, the name Jesse Nave had christened it, he established a store in 1836. Not long afterward, he opened a post office. Sometimes parties addressed their letters to “Knavetown,” and this misspelling angered Jesse, who was postmaster. It is said that the continued misspelling caused him to petition the U.S. Postal Service for a name change to Springhill. The hill on which the town is situated had a number of natural springs at its base, and was called “the spring hill” at a very early date. Springhill was regularly laid out and renamed in April 1848.
Jesse is listed in the 1840 census in the Jackson Township of Livingston County as being between 30 and 40 years old. He is living with one male under 5 years, two females under 5, one female between 5 and 10, and a female between 30 and 40.
Jesse built the first house on Springhill and was the first to bring goods to the area through his store. He held two land patents, dated May 1, 1843, for more than 241 acres in Livingston County.
In 1849, Jesse went to California – probably because of the gold rush – and died there in 1850, according to the “History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri.” However, other records show Jesse still living in the area as late as 1862. Also, a story in the Missouri Historical Review refers to Jesse Nave in 1857: “One of its citizens, Jesse Nave, the founder of the town of Navetown, later changed to Spring Hill, about the year 1857 took a flatboat loaded with bacon down Grand River into the Missouri river and on down the Mississippi to the mouth of Red River, thence up Red River to Paris, Texas. There he traded his cargo of bacon for a large tract of land and dropped out of hearing of his family and friends. But about the year 1892-93 someone in Paris, Texas, located his heirs in and around Spring Hill and they learned of the land and recovered it.” Jesse’s descendants continued to live in the Springhill area for many years.
Jesse married Isabella Smith Dickson (also spelled Dixon), born in Tennessee in 1810, and they had seven children:
1. James F., born Sept. 12, 1832, in Livingston County. He died May 13, 1850, and is buried in the Springhill Cemetery.
2. Nancy Elizabeth, born July 29, 1834, in Lafayette County, Mo. She married to James Salvist Pepper (born Feb. 6, 1824 in Montgomery, Ala.) on Aug. 22, 1850, in Livingston County. He died Sept. 27, 1875, in Springhill. She died Oct. 6, 1907, in Sherman County, Ore. They had 11 children, all born in Livingston County:
A. George Paris, born on Jan. 4, 1852, he married Emma Florence Perry on Jan. 30, 1873, in Chillicothe, and died March 1, 1890, in Lock Springs, Daviess County, Mo. They had seven children.
B. Elizabeth, born in Nov. 15, 1853.
C. Samuel, born June 20, 1855.
D. Frances, born Dec. 30, 1857.
E. Joseph Dickson, born Nov. 5, 1860, he married Annie Immick and died in 1900.
F. Mary, born Feb. 23, 1862.
G. Margaret, born Sept. 10, 1865.
H. Nancy Catherine (Kate), born Sept. 30, 1867, she married William Froebe, and died Dec. 1, 1905.
I. James Henry, born May 2, 1871.
J. Mandi May, born May 8, 1873, she married Bruce Worstell.
K. Jessie, born July 4, 1875.
3. Mary Jane, born June 24, 1836, in Livingston County. She died Oct. 20, 1911, and is buried in the Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Chillicothe.
4. Sarah Ann, born on Aug. 13, 1838, in Chillicothe. She married Henry Hutchison (born Jan. 25, 1832 in Casey County, Ky.) on Nov. 20, 1859, in Chillicothe, and died July 17, 1926, in Chillicothe. She’s buried in the Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Chillicothe. Their children (all born in Chillicothe) included:
A. Mary Susan, born Oct. 16, 1860, married Franklin Pearson Bane on Dec. 27, 1883, in Chillicothe. She died Sept. 13, 1958, in Chillicothe.
B. William Henry, born Dec. 5, 1861, married Tabitha J. Tiberghien, on Sept. 1, 1921, in Chillicothe, and died April 29, 1935, in Chillicothe.
C. George Dixon, born Feb. 23, 1863, he married Mary Frances New on June 25, 1899, in Gallatin, Mo., and died Jan. 9, 1929, in Livingston County.
D. America Belle, born July 29, 1864, married Frank M. Tiberghien, on Jan. 9, 1890, on Chillicothe, and died on Sept. 11, 1891 in Livingston County.
E. Sarah Elizabeth, born Sept. 14, 1866, married Joseph Shelby Black on Dec. 17, 1891, in Pocatello, Idaho, and died Jan. 3, 1941, in Livingston County, Mo.
F. Mina Ellen, born Feb. 28, 1868, married George Hargrave, on Dec. 1, 1892. She died about 1959.
G. James Samuel, born May 15, 1870, he married Anna Lindsy on Nov. 6, 1901, in Missouri, and died Nov. 14, 1941, in Sacramento, Calif. He was buried in Wheatland, Calif.
H. Ollie Bruce, born March 7, 1873, married Andrew Prager Jr. on March 7, 1897, in Springhill, and died May 17, 1972, in Chillicothe.
I. Jessie Caroline, born Dec. 6, 1875, married Gustavus Curtis on Dec. 2, 1896, in Livingston County, and died Jan. 3, 1941, in Livingston County.
J. Charles Beacon, born Sept. 19, 1878, married Amanda Jane New, on March 3, 1905, in Chillicothe, and died Aug. 27, 1953, in Livingston County.
K. Arthur, born Oct. 25, 1880, died at birth.
5. George Bennett, born Sept. 27, 1840, in Springhill and married to Sussanah Hutchison Nov. 14, 1867, in Livingston County, and died Jan. 2, 1923, in Livingston County. Both are buried in the Hutchison family cemetery in Livingston County.
6. Jesse Dickson, born Sept. 1, 1843, in Livingston County. He died March 30, 1924, and is buried in the Hutchison family cemetery in Livingston County. He may be the Jesse Nave listed with his cousin Errendle Franklin Nave in Company F of the 3rd Missouri Infantry during the Civil War (see below).
7. Margaret Isabella, born Oct. 28, 1846, in Livingston County. She married William Clark Sterling on Nov. 16, 1865, in Chillicothe. She died Dec. 4, 1891, in Chillicothe, and he died June 30, 1906, in Kansas City, Mo., and both are buried in the Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Chillicothe. They had 11 children, all born in Springhill:
A. James Benjamin Dickson, born Jan. 2, 1867, married Susan Shumate on Dec. 8, 1895, in Pleasant Hill, Mo., and died Aug. 18, 1952, in Bolivar, Mo. He’s buried in the Greenwood Cemetery in Bolivar.
B. Ida Elizabeth, born Jan. 2, 1868, died Aug. 8, 1883, in Livingston County.
C. Mary Catherine, born April 7, 1870, married Frank Preston Noah on March 10, 1889, in Chillicothe, and died April 10, 1945, in Wayne, Mich. She’s buried in the Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Chillicothe.
D. Anna Belle, born June 19, 1872, married David William Noah on July 31, 1894, in Chillicothe, and died April 10, 1946, in Blue Mound, Mo. She’s buried in the Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Chillicothe.
E. William Henry, born March 2, 1874, married Lizzie Catherine Boon on Oct. 18, 1903, in Chillicothe, and died Sept. 20, 1914, in Chillicothe. He’s buried in the Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Chillicothe.
F. George Francis (“Frank”), born Sept. 24, 1875, married Rosa Minnie Henry on Feb. 28, 1906, in St. Joseph, Mo., and died Nov. 7, 1947, in Springfield, Mo. He’s buried in Greenwood Cemetery in Bolivar, Mo.
G. Chloe Ellen, born Aug. 2, 1877, married Horace Gibbs on Nov. 5, 1896, in Chillicothe, and died Aug. 18, 1960, in Chillicothe. She’s buried in the Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Chillicothe.
H. Carrie Brunett, born Oct. 16, 1879, married Ora Gustus Bainter on May 22, 1905, in Buchanan County, Mo., and died Dec. 15, 1949, in Los Angeles, Calif. She’s buried in Inglewood Park Cemetery in Inglewood, Calif.
I. Asa Bernard, born Oct. 16, 1881, married Manda Alice Schwab on Feb. 27, 1904, in Chillicothe, and died April 14, 1962, in Buchanan County, Mo. He’s buried in Odd Fellow Cemetery in St. Joseph, Mo.
J. Emma Margaret, born Feb. 28, 1884, married Evans Roy Lewis on Dec. 21, 1905, in Livingston County, and died Feb. 27, 1943, in Livingston County. She’s buried in Mount Pleasant Cemetery in Chillicothe.
K. Charles Lewis, born Nov. 19, 1891, married Myrtle Brokaw on Jan. 20, 1921, on Buffalo, Wyo., and died Feb. 12, 1967, in Yuma, Ariz.
James Nave, Jesse’s brother, was born Dec. 25, 1811, in Cocke County, Tenn. He married Lucinda Ann “Lucy” Harvey, (born Oct. 6, 1806, in Orange County, Va.), about 1832 in Missouri. Both her parents were born in Maryland. While living in Saline County, James and Lucy had the first three of their six children. Their other children were born in Livingston County, where James moved his family sometime between 1836 and 1840.
He is listed in the 1840 census as being between 20 and 30 years old. He is living with two males under 5 years, one male between 5 and 9, one female between 5 and 10, and a female between 30 and 40. James had two land patents, both dated May 1, 1843, for more than 200 acres in Livingston County. In the 1850 census, the family property is listed as being worth $1,000.
Lucinda “Lucy” Ann (Harvey) Nave
James operated a rope works during the 1850s making ropes from hemp. For $25, he sold a plot of land for the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in Springhill on Sept. 23, 1851. Along with several family members, James and Lucy moved to Montana in 1863-64. James died May 22, 1882, in Jefferson County, Mont. Lucy died July 11, 1888, also in Jefferson County, Mont. Both are buried at Radersburg Cemetery in Broadwater County, Mont. Their children included:
1. Jacob, born Aug. 28, 1833, in Saline County. He married, first, Sarah P. L. Brown, on June 4, 1855. They had a son named James B. Nave who was born Aug. 9, 1856, in Linn County. However, both Sarah and young James died in 1857. Jacob married, secondly, Mary Frances Mildred Emerson on March 7, 1860, in Linn County, Mo. Jacob held two land patents in Linn County, both dated Sept. 1, 1856, that totaled more than 154 acres. He and Mary Frances moved to Montana with the rest of the Nave family.
Jacob Nave, age 21.
2. Elisabeth (“Lizzie”) born April 22, 1835, in Saline County. She married David R. Martin on Dec. 18, 1850. David Martin was one of the original trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, when it was formed in 1851. He held two land patents in Livingston County from May 1, 1843, and July 1, 1845, with a total of 80 acres. Lizzie and David had a daughter, Lucy Ann, better known as “Lulu.” David Martin died Dec. 22, 1862. Lizzie married, secondly, Enoch Wilson on May 15, 1870, in Mammoth Springs, Mo. They moved to Montana with her daughter and joined the rest of the Nave family. In the 1880 U.S. census, Enoch and Lizzie are living in Crow Creek Valley, Jefferson County, Mont., with an 18-year-old grandson, Charles Harris – presumably the son of a daughter Enoch had from a previous marriage. Lizzie died in 1894 and is bured in Radersburg Cemetery, Broadwater County, Mont.
3. Errendle Franklin (“E.F.”), born July 10, 1836, in Saline County. He married, first, Susan E. Palmer on July 13, 1865, in Colorado. Several years after she died, he married secondly, Hester Isabella Sherlock. He had five children by each wife and raised both families in Montana.
4. James Harvey (“Jim”), born Oct. 15, 1840, in Livingston County. He was killed in a Civil War-related skirmish on June 1, 1864, in Linn County, Mo. According to a family Bible, he “had not a decent burial.”
5. Cynthia Margaret, born May 5, 1842, in Livingston County. She married George Edward Hale on Nov. 1, 1859, and they raised their family in Montana.
6. Lucy Ann, born June 12, 1846, in Livingston County. She joined the family on the trip to Montana and married William Bailey Tinsley in Montana on Jan. 1, 1867.
Errendle Franklin Nave was a private in Company F of the 3rd Missouri Infantry. A Jesse Nave is also listed as being in the company and he is probably Errendle’s cousin. A C.F. Nave is also listed as being in the company, but I have no record of a Nave with those initials and it may be that it’s an error and that the initials were supposed to be E.F. (Errendle Franklin).
The 3rd Missouri Infantry was mustered into Confederate service from units of the Missouri State Guard, near Springfield, Mo., in January 1862. The Missouri State Guard had served at the battles of Boonville, Lexington, Wilson's Creek and others. As the 3rd Missouri Infantry, the unit fought at the battle of Pea Ridge and was instrumental in saving the Confederate Army from total destruction by federal forces. In 1862, the 3rd Missouri Infantry was transferred east of the Mississippi along with other Missouri units for the next three years. While serving east of the Mississippi, the 3rd Missouri and other Missouri units formed the Confederate Missouri Brigade. The Missouri Brigade participated in the battles of Iuka, Corinth, Champion's Hill and the siege of Vicksburg during 1862 and 1863. At Vicksburg, Major J. K. McDowell commanded the 3rd Missouri Infantry as part of Bowen’s Division, which was commanded by Maj.-Gen. John S. Bowen. Lt. Gen. John C. Pemberton oversaw all Confederate divisions at Vicksburg. After the surrender of Vicksburg, the 3rd Missouri Infantry was paroled and exchanged along with the other units of the Missouri Brigade. It was at this time that the survivors of the 3rd Missouri Infantry were combined with the remnants of the 5th Missouri Infantry, forming the 3rd and 5th Combined Infantry. This regiment, along with the rest of the Missouri Brigade, was now part of the Army of Tennessee. The year 1865 proved to be no better for the 3rd Missouri Infantry. Sent to the defense of Mobile, Ala., the Missouri Brigade manned the defense of Fort Blakeley. As they awaited the largest federal assault of the war, the Missouri Brigade mustered only 400 survivors of the 4,000 men who had crossed the Mississippi River three years earlier. Powerless to stop the federal onslaught on April 9, 1865, the Missouri Brigade was overrun. Those who managed to escape soldiered on for another month, finally surrendering in late May 1865. During the war, approximately two out of every three members of the original 3rd Missouri Infantry died in battle, as a result of wounds or from disease. The roster of the 3rd Missouri Infantry, Company F, is as follows (all held the rank of private except where indicated):
Allen J.T. Allen Philip Sgt. Baker Francis 2nd Lt. Bollinger David Bowers Thomas B. Boyd W.W. Brock John L. Brown John H. Burford Edwin F. Sgt. Burton William F. Burton May Burton W.W. Butts William M. Carlsted William Clevenger Gideon Coasen D. Cobb James W. Conkling Thomas 1st Sgt. Cornelius John Coulson William H. Sgt. Cravens John 2nd Lt. Dameron George W. Davidson John W. Davis Ned 2ndLt. Davis Edward 2nd Lt. Dickey William H. Donnell C.W. Duzan William H. Eagan James A. Fitch Thomas L. Foggin John Fuel Thomas B. Gee Thomas M. Glasscock Erven Sr. 2nd Lt. Greenlee David Grubbs John E. Hall Willis B. Haney Jacob J. Hanks Monroe Houston Samuel Hurst Thomas W. Ingram C.T. Ingram Richard H. Jackson Charles M. James Charles B. James David Johnson S.E. Lafon William R. Lenamore H.G. Lile John B. Sgt. Lindsay R.P. Lowry Thomas G. Capt. Mathis Green Mathis William Mathis John H. McKee Samuel M. McMinn Joseph McPertt L.W. Melton Samuel M. Minor John S. Morrow Joseph M. Myers Samuel G. Nave Jesse Nave C.F. Nave E.F. Neilan A.J. Payne Asa M. Phillips Oscar Pointer Joseph Pointer J.B. Pool John Pullins S.E. Pullins Samuel Ravencraft Solomon Renfrew Marcus Richardson Temple Cpl. Richmond James D. Rives Henry J. Rives Robert 1st Lt. Root Daniel E. Root William A. Sears N.A. Sears L.A. Shelton Thomas Shelton James F. Shelton Reuben Smith William H.H. Smith John Smith James A. Sgt. Snedegar Robert Stapleton George C. Stratton William A. Stratton Peter Cpl. Summers W.H. Swetnam George H. Swetnam Joseph S. Thomas James M. Turner John R. Vallandingham George Vallandingham Richard Sgt. Vandingham G.W. Vaughan N.B. Vaughan William M. Cpl. Walker M.S. Walker George Warden Jackson M. Watts James B. Welch James E. West Peter M. Whitenack John S. Wiggins Coleman Williams Roger Williams Samuel H. Williams George Williams Merritt Cpl. Williams Thomas H. Cpl. Williams Charles Sgt. Wilson Charles R. Wilson Robert Withers John A. Woodson Robert H. Young Thomas D.
According to family stories, Errendle also told of fighting in the Battle of Gettysburg, under Gen. Robert E. Lee’s leadership. Errendle said he was shot in the shoulder and laid on the battlefield for four days while Union soldiers kicked him as they walked by. He said he spent some time in a prison camp in Trenton, N.J., where he was condemned to die. But he and some fellow inmates escaped and Errendle made his way back to Missouri. However, these tales are suspect because the Battle of Gettysburg took place in July 1863 and the Nave family, including Errendle, is reported to have left Missouri for Montana two months earlier. None of these stories have been substantiated, and it may be that Errendle was telling some tall tales to family and friends in his later years.
George Bennett Nave, son of Jesse and Elizabeth (Dickson) Nave, was born in Springhill on Sept. 27, 1840. A farmer by trade, he made his home at the old Hutchison homestead – 240 acres near Chillicothe. He married Susannah Hutchison on Nov. 14, 1867. She was born in Kentucky, the daughter of William and Mary (Carpenter) Hutchison. Her parents were also both born in Kentucky. George was highly thought of as a neighbor and citizen, according to the “History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri.”
James Harvey “Jim” Nave, son of James and Lucy Ann (Harvey) Nave, was born Oct. 15, 1840, in Livingston County.
On Dec. 11, 1863, Shelton A. Brock and Jerome Bloom were murdered at Mooresville, Mo., by a band of four rebel “bushwhackers” led by Jim Nave. Brock was a young merchant. Bloom was a bachelor of middle age, a member of the militia, and had resided near Breckinridge. At the time, Bloom was in the employ of Brock, having engaged to do some carpentering. Both Brock and Bloom were Kentuckians and staunch Unionists.
There were no militia near, and at about 3 p.m. the four bushwhackers – Jim Nave, Nicholas Weldon, William Love and William Turner – suddenly made their appearance at Brock’s store. Dismounting, three of them entered, leaving Weldon to hold the horses of the party. In the store at the time besides Brock and Bloom were Ammi Lawson and A.T. Kirtley. The brigands entered carelessly and spent a few seconds in conversation, when Jim drew his revolver and shot down Bloom. Brock was behind the counter and grabbing a gun near him fired at Jim, but missed. Instantly, Turner fired and killed Brock. The two other men in the store were kept under guard while the robbers plundered the store. Brock’s watch was taken from his body and stolen by Turner. The robbers left at their leisure, riding off first to the west, then turning northward.
The alarm was given and some militia and citizens came in and organized a pursuing party, but the weather was very foggy and the night too dark to accomplish anything. Jim and his group passed through the town of Weldon and crossed the fork of the Missouri and Mississippi rivers. They stole some fresh horses and made their escape to Illinois. The next spring they were tracked down and arrested near Mount Sterling, Ill., and brought to Quincy, Ill., where they were placed in jail for safe keeping. Here Turner either hung himself or was hanged by his companions in his cell. He was still wearing Brock’s watch, which was restored to the family. The other three prisoners were brought back to Chillicothe and then taken to St. Joseph and placed in jail. In May 1864, indictments had been found against all of them for murder and robbery, and they were in the hands of the civil authorities, though guarded a part of the time by the militia.
At St. Joseph, all three of robbers, together with a number of other prisoners, succeeded in escaping from the jail – It is said by the connivance of the jailer. Jim joined Clifford Holtzclaw’s rebel band, a group that on June 18 made a raid on Laclede, Mo. The guerrillas dashed into town, robbed it, and held it an hour or two. During the raid, Jim was mortally wounded by a discharged Union soldier named David Crowder, and died the next day at the house of a Mr. Stepp, near Laclede. Crowder was himself killed by a comrade of Jim Nave’s.
Word of Jim’s death eventually reached his family in Montana. An entry in a Nave family Bible states, “James Harvey Nave was brutally murdered by the enemy in Linn Co., Mo., June 18th, 1864, aged 23 years and 8 months. Had not a decent burial.” Perhaps the burial was not “decent” because the rest of the family had already left.
WEST TO MONTANA
Exactly what started the Nave family on its westward journey is unclear. James and Lucy Ann’s eldest sons, Jacob and Errendle, were involved in gold mining in Colorado and Montana. There was a gold rush at Central City, Colo., at this time and that might have attracted the family. Also, in 1863, gold was discovered in Virginia City, Mont., starting a gold rush there. The continuing Civil War might have also given them reason to get away from the ongoing conflict in Missouri. The gold rush in Montana attracted people from all over the country, but was especially enticing to former Confederate soldiers who had lost much of their belongings in the war.
Missouri was the jumping off point for many people who wanted to go west, and both the Santa Fe and Oregon trails began at Independence, Mo. Tales of fortune to be had in a new land from people traveling through Missouri were probably very enticing.
About 150 people made up the wagon train the Naves were part of that took the Oregon Trail west along the Platte River and then probably followed the Platte into Denver, Colo. At one point, a bison stampede barely missed trampling the wagon train, and the people of the wagon train watched the bison jump over a bluff and into a river, where many of the animals were killed or crippled.
Loaded in wagons, the participants in the trip included James and Lucy (Harvey) Nave; Jacob Nave and his second wife, Mary Frances (Emerson) Nave, with their first child Ellah; Enoch and Elisabeth (Nave) Wilson and Elisabeth’s daughter Lucy Ann “Lulu” Martin; Errendle Nave; George E. and Cynthia (Nave) Hale, and their first two children, Laura P. and Lucy Elizabeth; and Lucy Ann Nave.
Matriarch Lucy Ann Nave often walked alongside the wagon train and fashioned quilt blocks with needle and thread. Family members recalled later that she was an expert seamstress and her handiwork was passed on to her descendants. In fact, two of her daughters and a granddaughter opened a dressmaking store in Montana.
The wagon train arrived in Denver in August, and remained there through the winter, before hitting the road again the next spring.
From Denver, the family probably headed north and caught up with the Bozeman Trail, which led north through Wyoming from the southeast part of the state to the Big Horn Mountains in Montana and then west to the towns of Bozeman and Virginia City. The Bozeman Trail (sometimes referred to as the “Bloody Bozeman Trail”) cut north from the Emigrant Trail, which continued west. Those travelling along the Bozeman Trail often found themselves under attack by Crow and Sioux Indians as well as robbers.
About 82 miles north of Denver, the family set up camp near an abandoned cabin in April 1864. Lucy Elizabeth Hale, daughter of George and Cynthia (Nave) Hale, somehow found pieces of broken glass and put them in her mouth. When her activity was discovered, it was too late. She had swallowed some of the glass and died from internal bleeding. She was buried in an unmarked grave along the roadside April 14, 1864.
Along the way, the wagon train met some Indians who made them welcome. The next day the members of the wagon train went on their way, unaware that one of the men of their party had killed a young Indian female. The wagon train had not gotten far before Indians caught up with it and demanded the murderer be turned over to them. The man admitted the crime, but apparently did not believe the members of the wagon train would give him up for killing an Indian. But the murderer, begging and screaming, was turned over to the Indians.
The Nave family traveled across the plains and arrived in Virginia City, Montana Territory, June 17, 1864, according to Sanders. The family settled in Willow Creek, Gallatin County, Mont., and built a small cabin of alder trees. The roof was of alder trees laid across the main logs and covered with dirt. The floor was also dirt packed hard and the door was made of boards from the covered wagon they had traveled in. Their dining table was four posts driven into boards nailed onto pegs, which had been driven into holes bored into the wall. Two chairs had been brought with them from Missouri and were reserved for the older people while the younger folks sat on stools which had been built using spokes from wagon wheels.
Virginia City, Mont., 1869
Elizabeth, Lucy Ann and Lulu went to work in Virginia City in a log house that was used as a dressmaking shop. James and Lucy (Harvey) Nave moved to Spring Creek and built a tavern where travelers could lodge over night. Jefferson County, Mont., was organized in 1865, with the county seat, at the time being Radersburg. However, being located near the very edge of the county, Radersburg was considered inaccessible to those people who had to travel the length of the county to transact their business and a more suitable locality was sought. In the spring of 1883, an election determined that the county seat should be moved to Boulder, a more centrally located town, and that Radersburg be annexed to Broadwater County.
In the 1870 U.S. Census, Errendle, his father James, and his brother Jacob list their occupations as quartz mill owners. This probably means gold miners. According to Bureau of Land Management records, James had a patent for homesteading 160 acres in Jefferson County dated Nov. 15, 1875. Errendle has a patent for 160 acres in Jefferson County dated June 1, 1878. In the 1883-84 list of taxpayers of Jefferson County, Errendle is listed as a farmer and stock raiser, Jacob is a miner, Ben Bembrick is a farmer and stock raiser, and Enoch Wilson is a farmer.
Jacob and Mary Frances (Emerson) Nave had four children, three of them born after arriving in Montana. Jacob bought nearly 160 acres in Gallatin County, Mont., on Feb. 10, 1871. But by the time of the 1880 census, the family was living in Butte, Mont. In the 1880s he was superintendent at the Amazon Mining and Smelting Co. in Boulder, Mont. A land patent dated Sept. 17, 1886, shows Jacob as a co-owner of the Buckey Lode gold mine that included 18.39 acres in Jefferson County, Mont. Other co-owners included Lee W. Foster, Thomas B. Harper, and Robert M. McGaugh. On April 16, 1892, Jacob homesteaded 160 acres in Fergus County, Mont. His wife Mary purchased 280 acres in Fergus County on Sept. 8, 1893. On May 8, 1901, Jacob homesteaded another 120 acres in Fergus County. Late in life, Jacob and Mary moved to San Diego, Calif., possibly to be near one of their children. He died Jan. 30, 1915, in San Diego, Calif. Mary died Oct. 27, 1923, in San Diego and is buried there in Greenwood Memorial Park. Their children included:
1. Ellah May, born June 19, 1861, in Linn County, Mo. She died Nov.10, 1874, and is buried in Radersburg Cemetery.
2. Minnie Elizabeth, born June 11, 1868, in Gallatin County, Mont. She married Emile Parisot and they had two daughters: Louella and Zilda.
3. Edward Mark, born April 16, 1872, in Gallatin County, Mont. On June 30, 1898, he married Laura Ellsworth Downing, who was born April 26, 1872, in Fergus Falls, Minn. He homesteaded 160 acres in Fergus County, Mont., on April 14, 1910. Laura purchased 40 acres in Fergus County on Nov. 18, 1909. Ed was appointed deputy sheriff of Fegus County in the 1920s and remained so until he was killed in an auto accident on April 24, 1941, in Musselshell County, Mont. Laura died May 25, 1958, in Glendora, Calif. They had four children:
A. Lillian Ruth, born June 4, 1899, in Lewiston, Mont. She married Alfred Ray Duff. She died Jan. 5, 1992, in Gresham, Ore.
B. Marjorie Mildred Clare, born Feb. 19, 1901, in Lewiston, Mont. She married John Waite. She died July 27, 1989, in Martinez, Calif.
C. Marion Jacob, born in 1903 in Lewiston. He died before age 1.
D. Constance Ellsworth, born Jan. 31, 1911, in Lewiston. She married Erling Iverson in 1929 and they had two children: Edward Ellsworth and Laura O., who died Oct. 6, 1996, in Yellowstone County, Wy.
4. Charles Emerson, born July 10, 1876, in Highland, Mont. He died Oct. 14, 1913.
Brothers Jacob and Errendle Nave, date unknown.
George and Cynthia (Nave) Hale had five more children after moving to Montana, where they made their home in Willow Creek, Jefferson County. George Hale had a patent for 160 acres in Jefferson County, Mont., dated Aug. 20, 1881, and another patent for 160 acres in Broadwater County, dated Aug. 1, 1883. Cynthia (Nave) Hale had two patents registered for land in Jefferson County; one dated Sept. 26, 1910, and the other dated June 21, 1915, for 160 acres each. Her patents were probably re-registrations of her husband’s earlier land claims. Their children included:
1. Laura Phene, born Sept. 18, 1860, in Livingston County, Mo. She married Charles Sanford in 1876 in Montana.
2. Lucy Elizabeth, born Sept. 23, 1862, in Livingston County, Mo. She died April 17, 1864, in Colorado.
3. James William, born April 13, 1865, in Willow Creek, Mont. He had a land patent, dated Nov. 15, 1904, for 160 acres in Jefferson County, Mont. He married Ada Woodring about 1886.
4. Joseph Wilkes, born April 9, 1867, in Willow Creek. He married Eula Lee Evans.
5. George Clayton, born 1869 in Jefferson County, Mont. He had a land patent, dated Aug. 21, 1916, for 320 acres in Gallatin County, Mont.
6. Nillie Marion, born June 14, 1874, in Jefferson County, Mont. She married Martin Hogan and they had a daughter, Vida.
7. Alonzo G., born Dec. 24, 1879, in Jefferson County, Mont. He had a land patent, dated July 8, 1912, for 160 acres in Sanders County, Mont. He married Kate Wethernsheridan on June 29, 1907, in Montana.
Errendle Franklin Nave married Susan E. Palmer (born in 1840 in Missouri) on July 13, 1865, in Colorado. They later lived in Warm Springs, Mont. Jefferson County, Mont., was created in the winter of 1864-65 when Montana’s first legislature met at Bannack, Mont., and created Jefferson, Beaverhead, Madison, Gallatin, and Choteau counties. Errendle and Susan had five children:
1. James A., born June 11, 1866, in Colorado. He died in 1884 in Broadwater County, Mont., and is buried in Radersburg Cemetery.
2. Ann L., born Oct. 27, 1867, in Jefferson County.
3. Lucy, born July 20,1869, in Jefferson County.
4. Alveretta “Alvie,” born April 4,1871, in Radersburg, which was then in Jefferson County. On April 23, 1890, she married Edward Kaiser, who was born Dec. 21, 1865, in Carson City, Nev. Edward had a land patent issued June 28,1895, for 160 acres in Park County, Mont. A diary Alvie kept of her life during their first year of marriage is in the collection of the Montana State Library. Alvie died Oct. 6, 1903, in Myersburg, Mont. Edward died April 14, 1941, in Wilsall, Mont. They had three children:
A. Vernon Estes, born May 30, 1892, in Myersburg, Mont. He had a land patent issued May 19, 1921, for 120 acres in Gallatin County, Mont. He married Sarah Grace Thompson, who was born Nov. 11, 1886, in Henrieville, Utah.
B. Claude Raymond, born July 9, 1893, in Myersburg. He married Allliena Frances (born Dec. 29, 1901, in Idaho). Claude died in December 1978 in Livingston, Mont., and Alliena died Feb. 1, 1993, in Wilsall, Mont. They had three daughters:
i. Claudena, who married Robert O’Connor. They had a daughter, Roberta Rae.
ii. Helena Frances, who married Dwight Leon Atkinson. They had two children: Deni Dwight and James Clark.
iii. Margaret Catherine, born Oct. 11, 1897, in Myersburg. She married Lincoln Cooper, who was born March 7, 1894, in Elkton, Mo. They had two children: Helen and Ralph.
Margaret Catherine, born Oct. 11, 1897, in Myersburg, Mont. She married Lincoln Cooper on Nov. 14, 1915, in Livingston, Mont. Lincoln was born March 7, 1894, in Elkton, Mo. He died Aug. 7, 1834, in Humansville, Mo. Lincoln and Margaret had two children: Helen and Ralph.
5. Susan E., born Jan. 22, 1873, in Jefferson County.
Errendle had an interest in a gold mine in Colorado, but reportedly was defrauded by a partner. However, his work with the gold mine would explain why he was in Colorado in 1865-66. Errendle was in partnership with his brother-in-law, Enoch Wilson, for awhile raising cattle on 1,200 acres near Willow Creek, Mont. They later sold the ranch to the Mockle family.
Susan (Palmer) Nave, died July 22, 1873. Errendle and his children are listed living with Errendle’s parents in the 1880 census. Lucy (Harvey) Nave probably took care of the kids a lot of the time while Errendle farmed and did other work.
In 1882, a Mr. Nave (probably Jacob) built a mill at Boulder to treat ore from the Amazon mine. The mine is located on the west side of the Boulder Valley, 4 miles north of Boulder. An 1872 report on the mine mentioned a 5-to-10-foot vein of galena and brown carbonate, assaying $150 in silver and 65 percent lead. The red iron oxide ore produced values in gold and silver-lead. On Aug. 5, 1889, Errendle became a co-owner of the Black Friday Lode gold mine that included 19.95 acres in Broadwater County. Other co-owners included his brother-in-law Enoch Wilson and nephew Benjamin F. Bembrick, as well as George T. Cowran and Benjamin Townsley. The Black Friday Mine was located near Radersburg and continued to operate as late as 1910, long after most gold mines in the area had closed. A family story has it that the mine was so named because gold was discovered there on a Friday the 13th. However, “Black Friday” was an event in 1869 when gold speculators attempted to corner the market and this is a more likely source for the name.
Montana became the 41st state on Nov. 8, 1889. Errendle’s four surviving children from his first marriage were grown and had moved away by the time he married Hester Isabella Sherlock on Sept. 18, 1894, in Great Falls, Mont. They were apparently married a second time on Nov. 22, 1894, in Helena, Mont. “Belle,” as she was called, had first married Lewis Smith, but they divorced a year later and had no children. Errendle was 58 and Belle was 30, but the age difference apparently had no ill affect on their marriage, which lasted 20 years until Errendle died.
Soon after Errendle and Belle were married, Errendle bought a 160-acre homestead on Crow Creek near Radersburg in Broadwater County. Radersburg had been a mining camp since gold was discovered there in 1866. The population rose to 600 by 1868, but dwindled to 250 by 1879 as the gold ran out. The next year the population dropped to just 69. Errendle raised hogs and Hereford cattle, and harvested hay, alfalfa and timothy. With his nephew, Ben Bembrick, Errendle helped run a freight and stage line between Helena and Virginia City for awhile.
Errendle and Belle had five children:
1. Elsie Forrest, born Aug. 29, 1895, in Spring Creek, Mont.
2. Alma Bryan, born June 11, 1897, in Spring Creek.
3. Sherlock Errendle, born July 26, 1898, in Spring Creek.
4. Maurice Aubrey, born Feb. 10, 1901, in Spring Creek.
5. Agnes Belle Steele, born Oct. 25, 1903, in Toston, Mont.
Many years after Agnes was born, her sister Elsie recalled that several of her siblings had been visiting a neighbor on that day, but Maurice had stayed with his mother. Maurice was crying because he couldn’t get his shoes on and his mother was in too much discomfort to help him. Errendle helped Maurice with his shoes and they all went to get the neighbor to help with Agnes’ birth. When Elsie and her sister Alma wanted to look in the box where the new baby was lying, Errendle told them, “Now be careful, girls, there is a baby rabbit in there.”
Interestingly, because of the age difference, Errendle and Belle’s children knew the daughters of Errendle’s first marriage, not as half-sisters, but as “aunts.”
In early 1914, Errendle broke his leg in an accident on his ranch. By then he was 77 years old and the wagon he was using got away from him and he was caught between the wagon and a tree. He was never able to walk again and spent about eight months bedridden before he died Sept. 27, 1914. Only two daughters from his first marriage were still living to mourn his death, Susan of Lewistown, Mont., and another who lived in Great Falls (possibly Lucy). Funeral services were held at the family home and were conducted by the Rev. Thomas of Three Forks, Mont. Interment was at Radersburg Cemetery, where several other Nave family members and related families are buried.
Errendle and Belle’s daughter Elsie later recalled her father as being a “fine man, good and kind and religious. He never swore or drank. When he was really angry, his favorite expression was ‘dad burn!’ He held the respect of all that knew him. He was a kindly person, and a very handsome man. He was of medium build, with hazel eyes, and he had long dark curls, as men styled their hair in those days.” His youngest child, Agnes, who was not yet 11 when her father died, would forever remember his “long gray beard.”
At the time of Errendle’s death, only Elsie of Errendle and Belle’s children was an adult. Belle had to raise the other four children by herself, and by all accounts did a great job. She died in March 1960, in Butte, Mont., and is buried in Radersburg Cemetery.
Lucy Ann Nave, daughter of James and Lucy Ann Nave, was born June 12, 1846, in Chillicothe, Mo., and married William Bailey Tinsley on Jan. 1, 1867, in Spring Creek, Mont. William Tinsley had a land patent, dated March 20, 1877, for 159.65 acres in Gallatin County, Mont. The couple settled into a small log cabin in Willow Creek in which eight children were born between 1868 and 1881. In the 1880 U.S. census, the family is living in Willow Creek Valley in Gallatin County. The family prospered on the rich land at the height of the Gallatin Valley homestead boom and built a large two-story log home in 1889. However, the homestead failed in 1923. The original home and many reminders of the family are now part of the Living History Farm, an exhibit of the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, Mont. Lucy died May 3, 1912, and William died March 28, 1917, and both are buried in Willow Creek Cemetery. Their children included:
1. Floyd Harvey, born July 22, 1868, in Willow Creek. He had a land patent, dated Nov. 23, 1891, for 149.45 acres in Gallatin County; and a second patent, dated June 4, 1915, for 80 acres in Jefferson County. He married Theria Howells and died Feb. 17, 1914.
2. Quitera P., born Feb. 9, 1870, in Willow Creek. She married Charles H. Green on Dec. 9, 1893.
3. Lillian Florence, born Sept. 16, 1871, in Willow Creek. She married, first, James Measom. She married, second, Joseph Benjamin Holt on Nov. 6, 1889, in Willow Creek. Lillie died Sept. 27, 1941, in Hamilton, Mont., and is buried in Corvallis Cemetery. Lillie and Joseph had six children:
A. Maggie May, born Oct. 18, 1890, in Jefferson County, Mont., and died Sept. 9, 1894, in Ravalli, Mont.
B. Harry Howard, born Nov. 15, 1891, in Gallatin County, Mont.
C. Clarence O., born Dec. 10, 1892, in Willow Creek. He married Norma Vanduzer and died Sept. 11, 1967, in Billings, Mont.
D. Nellie Neoma, born Feb. 1, 1896, in Ravalli, Mont. She married Ted Pichard and died May 20, 1976, in Cathernet, Wash.
E. Larance Lamar, born March 24, 1899, in Ravalli. He died within a year.
F. George Tinsley Sr., born July 1, 1901, in Hamilton, Mont. He married Mary Beatrice Shanholtzer on June 19, 1941, in Dillon, Mont. George died Feb. 3, 1951, in Stevensville, Mont. George and Mary had four children: Lily Mabel, Joseph Orr, Mary Beatrice and George Tinsley Jr.
4. Ida May, born April 3, 1873, in Willow Creek. She married Jasper Russell Head on Feb. 24, 1901, and had five children: Myrtle, Noel Lester, Raith O’Neal, Clyde Matthews and Oby Cornelius.
5. William E., born Oct. 12, 1874, in Willow Creek. He married Josephine _______. He died Jan. 12, 1961.
6. Enoch Wilson, born March 31, 1877, in Willow Creek. On July 13, 1910, he married Pearl Northington and had two children: Ruby and Maurice. Enoch had a land patent, dated June 29, 1907, for 160 acres in Carbon County, Mont. Enoch died in 1952.
7. Edwin J., born Aug. 23, 1878, in Willow Creek. He died Nov. 6, 1968, in Willow Creek.
8. Lucy Mary, born Aug. 14, 1881, in Willow Creek. She married James Ernest Hale on April 7, 1904, and had five children: Wayne, Elvin Cecil, Ree, Hollis Lee, and Lola. Lucy died June 25, 1956, in Willow Creek.
Lucy Ann Rideria “Lulu” Martin, daughter of David and Elizabeth (Nave) Martin, was born Aug. 4, 1856, in Springhill, Livingston County, Mo. On Nov. 15, 1871, she married Benjamin F. Bembrick, born 1830 in Missouri of German parents. Ben Bembrick had a land patent, dated Nov. 1, 1875, for 160 acres in Broadwater County, Mont. He was also a co-owner – with Errendle Nave, Enoch Wilson, George T. Cowran, and Benjamin Townsley – of the 19.95-acre Black Friday Lode patent in Broadwater County, dated Aug. 5, 1889. Ben and Lulu Bembrick had five children:
1.Addie, born 1869.
2. Elizabeth, born 1876 in Radersburg. She married Chester H. Johnson and had a son, David.
3. Julia A., born 1880 in Radersburg. She married Anson B. Bennett and had a son, Donald, born Sept. 16, 1904.
4. Benjamin, born 1883, in Broadwater County, Mont. He married Sadie B. _______, born in 1887.
5. James J., born 1886 in Broadwater County. He had a land patent in Gallatin County, Mont., for 160 acres dated July 9, 1915. He married Sayde _______, born Jan. 29, 1888. She died in October 1976 in Bozeman, Mont.
DESCENDANTS OF ERRENDLE AND BELLE
The five children of Errendle and Belle Nave grew up on the family farm located near Radersburg. Three of the children -- Elsie, Sherlock and Alma – lived in Montana their entire lives. Maurice settled in the Seattle area for most of his adult life, and Agnes lived in Los Angeles from her early 20s until she died just shy of her 90th birthday.
The children of Errendle Franklin and Belle (Sherlock) Nave pose for a family portrait on the family farm in Radersburg, Mont. This photo was probably taken about 1905. From left, Maurice, Alma, Elsie, Agnes and Sherlock.
Elsie Forrest Nave married Robert Allinson, who was born in 1889. Robert Allinson died Jan. 28, 1963, in Bozeman, Mont. Elsie (Nave) Allinson died March 14, 1987, in Bozeman.
1. Elsie Isabelle, born in 1918 in Bozeman, married Bert Badham in 1940, and lived in the states of Montana, Washington and Hawaii. Bert Badham died Feb. 17, 1992, in Kaneohe, Hawaii. Isabelle died May 14, 2002, in Hawaii. They had three children:
A. Robert, who married Jarleth Hoffman and had three sons:
i. Todd, born 1962, married Julie Guildner and they had two children:
a. Aaron, born 1988.
b. Jaelene Elizabeth, born 1992.
ii. Douglas, born 1964.
iii. Kent, born 1967.
B. Richard, who married Sandy K. Miller and had three children:
i. Britt, born 1968, who married Julie Hazelett. They had a child:
a. Mackenzie Jordan, born 1996.
ii. Allison, born 1970, who married Thomas Mattich. They have two children:
a. Alexandra Kaelin, born 1993.
b. Isaac Thomas, born October 1997.
iii. Doriann, born 1976.
C. Carolyn Ann, who married Robert Thompson.
2. Florence Marjorie, married Lauren Olson in 1946 in Seattle, and they had a son:
A. Douglas, who married Linda Howard. They had twins:
i. Kacey, born 1974, who married Marco Barahona in 1996.
ii. Christopher, born 1974, who married Jeanette Shepherd in 1996.
Alma Bryan Nave, who received her middle name because of her father’s admiration for William Jennings Bryan, married Ernest Rider on Feb. 3, 1922. Alma died Oct. 16, 1963, and Robert died May 31, 1977. They had a daughter:
1. Arla, born in Montana, who married William A. Allen. William and Arla (Rider) Allen had a son:
A. David, born in Montana in 1962. He married Charlene _______ and they had two daughters:
i. Kristyn, born in 1987.
ii. Karla Rider
Sherlock Errendle Nave, who inherited the family ranch and ran it for many years, before it was sold in the 1970s. He died in October 1980 in Townsend, Mont., where he had made his home. He married, first, Melva Wade, and they had a daughter:
1. Maxine, who married George Wilcox. They had two boys.
Sherlock married, second, _______ ________, but they had no children. He married third, Alberta Dance. Alberta had had a daughter, Geraldine Boeh, from a previous marriage. Sherlock and Alberta had a son:
1. James, born 1948, who married Sheila Lynn Fowler, and they had two children:
Maurice Aubrey Nave, whose first name was pronounced Morris, married Elsie Essex and they made their home in the Seattle area. After Elsie died in 1935, Maurice married, second, Fern Alice Kelsey, who had two children from a previous marriage. Maurice died Sept. 8, 1970, in Seattle and Fern died in Seattle in December 1977. Maurice and Elsie (Essex) Nave had two children:
1. Kenneth, who married Wilma Winterton. They had two children:
A. Nancy, born April 16, 1956. She married Kenneth Carrossino.
B. Bowden, born Sept. 11, 1958. He married Julie Haddock and they had two sons:
i. Mitchell, born March 12, 1995.
ii. Emmett, born Aug. 27, 2000.
2. Marion, who married Kenneth Cowgill. They had two sons.
Agnes Belle Nave moved to Salt Lake City and then to Los Angeles in the mid-1920s. On March 27, 1937, she married Napoleon Cordy, who was born July 29, 1902, in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England. Napoleon died Jan. 30, 1977, in Los Angeles, and Agnes died Aug. 18, 1993, in Los Angeles. They had a daughter:
1. Alana Kathleen, who was born June 5, 1944, in Los Angeles. She married Fredrick Martin Collins in August 1963. Martin and Alana (Cordy) Collins had a son:
A. Arian Evan, born Aug. 2, 1964, in Glendale, Calif.
Acklen, Jeannette Tillotson. “Tennessee Bible Records and Marriage Bonds,” Genealogical Publishing Co. Inc., Baltimore, Md., 1980.
Allen, Penelope Johnson. “Tennessee Soldiers in the Revolution,” Genealogical Publishing Co. Inc., Baltimore, Md., 1982. Originally printed by the Tennessee Society, Daughters of the American Revolution, Bristol, Tenn., 1935.
Allinson, Elsie Nave. Recollections of her father and other members of her family, Bozeman, Mont., circa 1975.
Anonymous. “History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri,” National Historical Company, St. Louis, Mo., 1886.
Anonymous. “History of Saline County, Missouri,” Missouri Historical Society, St. Louis, Mo., 1881.
Badham, Isabelle. Personal communication, Kaneohe, Hawaii, 1992-97.
Barraclough, Geoffrey. “The Times Atlas of World History,” Times Books Ltd., London, England, 1978.
Basham, L. Malcolm. Personal communication, Dallas, Texas, 1996.
Berry, Genevieve. Personal communication, Springville, Utah, 1998.
Brooks, Linda Barber. “Missouri Marriages to 1850, Vol. II,” Ingmire Publications, St. Louis, Mo., 1983.
Bryan, William and Robert Rose. “History of Pioneer Families of Missouri,” Bryan Brand & Co., St. Louis, Mo., 1876. Reprinted, Lucas Brothers, Columbia, Mo., 1935.
Conrad, Howard L. “Encyclopedia of the History of Missouri,” Vol. IV, pp. 92-94, 532-536; Vol. V, pp. 475-476, The Southern History Co., New York City, N.Y., 1901.
Cordy, Agnes Nave. Personal communication, Los Angeles, Calif., 1991-92.
Creekmore, Pollyanna. “Early Tennessee Taxpayers,” Southern Historical Press, Easley, S.C., 1980.
Eddleman, Sherida K. “Genealogical Abstracts from Tennessee Newspapers, 1791-1808,” Heritage Books Inc., Bowie, Md., 1988.
Eddleman, Sherida K. “Genealogical Abstracts from Tennessee Newspapers, 1821-1828,” Heritage Books Inc., Bowie, Md., 1991.
Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. “Will Records of Saline County, Missouri, 1821-1863,” Ellsberry, Chillicothe, Mo., 1965.
Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. “Bible Records of Missouri,” Ellsberry, Chillicothe, Mo.
Gilliard, Charles. “A History of Switzerland,” George Allen & Unwin Ltd., London, England, 1955.
Glazner, Capitola Hensley and Bobbie Jones McLane. “An Index to Fifth Census of the United States 1830 Population Schedules, State of Missouri,” published privately, Hot Springs National Park, Ark., 1966.
Gray, Ronald Alan. “Ron Gray Family Tree,” http:// www.familytreemaker.com/users/g/r/a/Ronald-A-Gray/Index.html, Rancho Cordova, Calif.
Hinke, Rev. William John, PhD, DD. “A History of the Goshenhoppen Reformed Charge, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania (1727-1818),” Part XXIX of a Narrative and Critical History Prepared at the Request of the Pennsylvania German Society, Chapter III, Lancaster, Penn., 1920.
Jones, Edward Sprague. “Genealogical Notes of the Nave (Neff) & McCord Family,” published privately, New York City, N.Y., date unknown.
Luck, James Murray. “A History of Switzerland,” The Society for the Promotion of Science and Scholarship Inc., Palo Alto, Calif., 1985.
May, Liz. Personal communication, Mission, Kan., 1997.
Maynard, Louise Sherlock. “The Sherlocks: A Family History,” published privately, New Jersey, 1978.
Miami News, Henry Nave obituary, Feb. 28, 1884, pp. 3., Miami, Mo.
Mireles, Dana Ann. “The Lawrence-Lowrence-Nave Families of Early North Carolina,” Rowan County Register, Vol. 12, No. 2, May 1997, Salisbury, N.C.
Napton, William Barclay. “Past and Present of Saline County, Missouri,” B.F. Bowen & Co., Chicago, Ill.
National Archives. “List of North Carolina Land Grants in Tennessee 1778-1791,” Washington, D.C., 1944.
Nave, Bowden. Personal communication, Seattle, Wash., 2002.
Nave, Robert T. and Mary W. Hougland, “Teter Nave, East Tennessee Pioneer, His Ancestors and Descendants,” published privately, Johnson City, Tenn., 2001
Nave family Bible wedding, birth and death records from mid to late 1800s. Copies of original entries provided by Isabelle Badham.
Neff Genealogy Web Page, The Neff Family Historical Society, Harrisburg, Penn., http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~neff/
Neff, Glatha. Personal communication, Fort Wayne, Ind., 1996-97.
Neff News, A Newsletter for Neff and Related Families. Neff Family Historical Society, Vol. III No. 2 (May 1993), Vol. IV No. 1 (February 1994), Vol. IV No. 2 (May 1994), Vol. IV No. 3 (September 1994); Vol. VII, No. 1 (February 1997); Princeton Junction, N.J.
Ormesher, Susan. “Missouri Marriages Before 1840,” Genealogical Publishing Co. Inc., Baltimore, Md., 1982.
Pearson, David W. “This Was Mining in the West,” Shiffer Publishing Ltd, Atglen, Penn., 1996.
Ramsey, JGM, A.M., M.D. “The Annals of Tennessee to the End of the 18th Century,” East Tennessee Historical Society, Knoxville, Tenn., 1967. Originally printed by Walker and Jones, Charleston, S.C., 1853.
Ray, Worth S. “Tennessee Cousins, A History of Tennessee People,” Genealogical Publishing Co. Inc., Baltimore, Md., 1960.
Saline County Progress, Isaac Neff obituary, Dec. 19, 1878; Henry Nave obituary, Feb. 28, 1884, pp. 3; Henry Nave memoriam, March 20, 1884. Saline County, Mo.
Sanders, James U. “Society of Montana Pioneers, Vol. I,” 1899.
Sistler, Byron and Barbara. “Early Tennessee Marriages, Vol. I, Grooms,” Byron Sistler & Associates Inc., Nashville, Tenn., 1987.
Stewart, Douglas, “Pork Packing Industry in Northwest Missouri,” from the Constitution Tribune, Feb. 20, 1929, Missouri Historical Review Vol. 24,1929-30, St. Louis, Mo.
Strassburger, Ralph Beaver LLD, “Pennsylvania German Pioneers,” Pennsylvania German Society, Vol. XLII of the Proceedings of the Society, Edited by William John Hinke, PhD, DD; Vol. 1 1727-1775, Published by the Society, 1934
Tennessee State Library and Archives, “Regimental Histories of Tennessee Units During the War of 1812,” prepared by Tom Kamen, date unknown.
United States Census – Saline County, Mo., 1820; Saline County, Mo., 1830; Saline County, Mo., 1840; Saline County, Mo., 1850; Livingston County, Mo., 1840; Livingston County, Mo., 1850; Livingston County, Mo., 1860; Jefferson County, Mont., 1870; Jefferson County, Mont., 1880; Broadwater County, Mont., 1900; Broadwater County, Mont., 1910; Broadwater County, Mont., 1920; Gallatin County, Mont., 1920.
Wolle, Muriel Sibell. “Montana Pay Dirt, Guide to the Mining Camps of the Treasure State,” Sage Books, Denver, Colo., 1963.
Ministry of John Henry Goetschy, 1735-40
Hinke, Rev. William John, Ph.D., DD, “A History of the Goshenhoppen Reformed Charge, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania (1727-1818),” Part XXIX of a Narrative and Critical History Prepared at the Request of the Pennsylvania German Society, Chapter III, Lancaster, Penn., 1920.
After the departure of Peter Miller, Goshenhoppen remained without a pastor for nearly a year. In the summer of 1735, however, a new minister appeared in the person of young John Henry Goetschy.
On May 29, 1735, the ship Mercury, William Wilson, master, from Rotterdam, landed in Philadelphia with 186 passengers. Among them were Esther Goetschy, aged 44 years and her eight children: Henry, 17 years; Rudolph, 12 years; Mauritz, 10 years; Anna, 24 years; Barbara, 18 years; Esther, 16 years; Beat, 8 years; Magdalena, 6 years. With them came also Conrad Wuertz, who had married Anna Goetschy, and like John Henry Goetschy, became a minister of the Reformed Church. (Penna. Archives, 2d Series, Vol.. XVII, pp. 113-117.)
These people, who arrived in Philadelphia on May 29, 1735, with the ship Mercury, formed a colony from Switzerland, and, as it is one of the few colonies whose history can be told with some detail, it will be interesting to trace them in their journey from Zurich, Switzerland, until they step upon the shores of the New World.
The leader of this Colony was the Rev. Maurice Goetschy, whose son, John Henry, became pastor at Goshenhoppen in 1735.
The members of the Goetschy family had been for many generations citizens in Zurich, Switzerland. The first person of that name who is mentioned in the genealogical records of the city was Henry Goetschy, who in 1315 A.D., was mayor of the city. Maurice Goetschy was born in 1686.107 On December 4, 1702, he matriculated in the Latin school at Zurich. On February 24, 1710, he married Esther Werndli, and was in the same year admitted to the ministry. In 1712 he became first deacon at Bernegg in the Rhine valley (Canton of St. Gall), and in 1720 pastor at Salez. In 1733 he was deposed from the ministry. On March 8, 1718 his son John Henry was born. The younger Goetschy matriculated in the Latin school at Zurich on March 23, 1734. But before he had spent half a year at school, his father with his whole family left for Pennsylvania.
Swiss Newspaper Account of Emigrants
Strassburger, Ralph Beaver LLD, “Pennsylvania German Pioneers,” Pennsylvania German Society, Vol. XLII of the Proceedings of the Society, Edited by William John Hinke, Ph.D., DD; Vol. 1 1727-1775, Published by the Society, 1934.
On October 7, 1734, the Nachrichten von Zürich, a newspaper of the city, published the following account of the departure of the colony of Maurice Goetschy.
DEPARTURE OF MR. MAURICE GOETSCHY FROM ZURICH, OCTOBER 4, 1734
The past Monday [October 4th], Mr. Maurice Goetschy, together with his wife and children and with a considerable number of country people, old and young, took passage on a boat, and started for the so called Carolina island, in the hope of meeting there with better fortune than he had found in his native land. He was urgently dissuaded by our gracious Lords [of the government] and by the local clergy, but he persisted in his resolution, and took his departure. Shortly afterwards another boat followed him with like, we must say, silly people, making a total of 174 persons for that day. Many thousands saw them depart with great pity for them, especially because they were under-taking so thoughtlessly, with wife and child, and but poorly provided for, the dangerous journey of 300 hours in cold, rain and wind, now, when the days are getting shorter. Nevertheless, kindhearted and distinguished persons supplied them with all kinds of articles, such as bread, shawls, caps etc. The following day the third boat started off. These were liberally provided, from the office of charities, with a large amount of bread, flour, stockings and other supplies. Especially the neighborhood of the exchange showed itself deeply sympathetic; nor will they be likely to forget what was given to them at the Salthouse for bodily refreshment. In like manner many merchants assisted them. Upon the last boat were 82 persons, who would have been worthy of more consideration if they had been compelled to leave for the honor or the truth of God. They must bear the consequences of their act, be they good or ill. At the same time, upwards of 20, induced by the wise representations of worthy gentlemen and citizens, changed their intentions, choosing the better part. They remained here and will be very kindly returned to their homes. Meanwhile we should pray God that the great number who have gone on this journey, may either soon return or reach the destination they so much wish for. May He fill their hearts with patience, and, as many sad hours are likely to embitter their voyage, may He comfort them with the thought that, if they remain faithful, a far better life is reserved for them.
Journey from Switzerland to Rotterdam
Strassburger, Ralph Beaver LLD, “Pennsylvania German Pioneers,” Pennsylvania German Society, Vol. XLII of the Proceedings of the Society, Edited by William John Hinke, Ph.D., DD; Vol. 1 1727-1775, Published by the Society, 1934.
The journey of the colonists from Zurich to Basle down the Rhine is told at length in a pamphlet which Ludwig Weber, one of the emigrants, who returned to Zurich from Holland, wrote and published at Zurich in 1735 as a warning to later venturesome spirits. We shall follow his story in tracing the movements of the party.
The emigrant's turned from Zurich northward until they reached the Rhine at Laufenburg. Then taking a boat on the Rhine they came, on Oct. 5, to Rheinfelden, where they had to show their passports. Toward evening of the same day they reached Basle. There they had to wait until a passport could be secured from Comte du Jour, the commanding general of the French army at Strassburg. It cost 44 guilders, which some gentlemen at Basle paid for them. After securing this passport they waited two days longer for the ships that were to carry them down the Rhine. Meanwhile several became impatient at the delay. A tailor from Lichtensteg advised them to take the road through France, claiming that he knew the way and was able to speak French. Thirty-one persons followed him, but nothing more was heard of them. From forty to 50 others resolved to travel through Lorraine by way of Namur to Rotterdam. They were fortunate enough to secure alms at several places along the route and, although they had many quarrels and difficulties, they finally reached Rotterdam eight days after the main party.
At Basle 80 refugees from Piedmont joined them in a separate ship. The main party, consisting of 194 persons, embarked in two ships. They suffered intensely on the ships through rain and cold, against which they were but poorly protected with scanty clothes and provisions.
After leaving Basle their first encampment was upon an island, covered with trees and shrubs, in the middle of the Rhine. Such continued to be their night quarters, although the nights were wet and cold. Moreover the ships were crowded so badly that there was hardly enough room to sit, much less to lie down. There was no opportunity for cooking on the ships; and as they were sometimes compelled to stay days and nights on the ships, the cries of the children were pitiful and heart-rending. Whenever they could get ashore they cooked, warmed themselves and dried their clothes. Many would have liked to return home, but as the armies of the French and the Austrians lay on both sides of the river, they did not dare to risk it. Quarrels among men and women were frequent. Mrs. Goetschy, the chronicler tells us, often quarreled with her husband, called him all kinds of names and one morning tore a cane from his hand and belabored his back soundly.
At night they saw the camp fires of the imperial troops on one side and of the French on the other, which terrified them by their ghostly appearance. As they were afraid of an attack from one or both armies almost at any time, they refrained carefully from making the least noise, so as to pass by unnoticed. Nevertheless, they were stopped repeatedly. At Old Breysach, in the Breisgau, all their chests were opened and examined. Goetschy, who called on the commandant of the fort, was advised to leave immediately, as the French on the other side of the river were aiming three field pieces at the boats. Of course they made off with all possible speed. At Ketsch, near Schwetzingen, west of Heidelberg, the dragoons of the imperial army stopped the boats and compelled Mr. Wirtz of Zurich, who acted as self-appointed commissary, to go to Heidelberg and secure a passport for 30 guilders, from the Duke of Wurtemberg, the commanding general of the imperial army. They were also forced to make an extra payment of two ducats for each vessel.
Nine miles below Mayence the dragoons again rode after them and would not have allowed them to pass on, if their leader had not been of the Reformed religion. They took the meat away from Goetschy's plate with their sabers, which they swung about his head, so that he quite lost his appetite. Shortly before reaching Mayence from forty to 50 men had exhausted all their money, so that they did not even have enough to pay their boat fare. They were compelled to continue the journey on foot.
At Mayence they were delayed four days because they could not agree with the captain of the boats about the passage money to be paid to Rotterdam. Finally they agreed on three guilders for adults and half fare for children.
After leaving Mayence their journey was a little more comfortable, for they had at least a chance to cook on the ships. Their spiritual needs, however, were sadly neglected, for, if we can believe the chronicler of the journey, the pastor, Mr. Goetschy, always had the pipe or the wineglass near his mouth. Mornings and evenings, one of the men, Heinrich Scheuchzer from Zurich, read a prayer. When Goetschy actually did preach a sermon, in which he compared some of the leaders of the company to the followers of Korah, Dathan and Abiram, he almost caused a riot.
When they reached Neuweid, four couples were married by a Reformed minister:
1. Hans Conrad Wirtz and Anna Goetschy.
2. Conrad Naff, of Walliselen and Anna N.--
3. Jacob Rathgab and Barbara Mailer, both of Walliselen
4. Conrad Geweiller, a gardener.
The Count of Wied desired them to remain in his territory, offering to give them houses and land, but as he did not promise as much as they expected to receive in Carolina, they did not accept his offer, but left.
From Neuwied they continued their journey down the Rhine until they reached Collenburg (now Culenborg) in Holland. There they were compelled to stop four days because of a strong contrary wind. Goetschy was invited to preach in the principal church at Culenborg, which he did with much acceptance. As a result a collection was taken up by the congregation for the party, so that each received one guilder. From Culenborg Goetschy sent, a party of three men to Rotterdam, where he said two English ships were waiting for them. The party consisted of Abraham Bunninger, a carpenter of Bachenbulach, Jacob Issler, a tailor, and Abraham Weidman, a blacksmith of Luffingen. At Culenborg they also sold their ships, which they must have bought at Basle, for 45 Dutch guilders, apparently a very small sum. Then, contrary to their agreement, they were compelled to take another ship to convey them to Rotterdam. In their hurry to get off several children fell overboard into the water, from which they were rescued with difficulty. Early the following morning they reached Rotterdam.
Having reached Rotterdam they heard to their dismay that no ships were waiting for them. Moreover the captain of the ship with which they had come wished to return at once, so they had to unload their goods quickly and, having no other place, they dumped them on the bank of the river on one heap.
Mr. Goetschy received a letter from a certain Mr. Schobinger, a native of St. Gall, who was living at The Hague, asking him to come to The Hague. So he left the emigrants to their own devices and with his son-in-law hurried off to comply with the request.
In a few days Mr. Wirtz returned and comforted them with the news that several oxen would be sent to them from The Hague, that the State’s General would send them to England at their own expense, and that a large sum of money had been collected for them in England. Unfortunately none of these statements proved to be true. A few days later Goetschy also returned and reported that the State’s General had offered him a position as a minister of great importance, that he and his family had thus received unexpected help and he advised them to secure similar help for themselves.
In this extremity some indeed tried to help themselves by begging, but in that they were soon stopped by the magistrate with a threat of a fine of 25 guilders. Meantime some became sick from want and hunger, and two of them died. A tailor from Buchs, Sebastian Neracher by name, who was married in Rotterdam, came to see them. Most of them were in an inn outside of the city. He took care of those from Buchs. He brought with him a Mr. Schapenhaudt, who interceded for them so successfully that many people took pity on them and distributed food and clothes among them. They also paid for their lodgings at the inn.
Mr. Schapenhaudt presented their sad condition to Rev. Wilhelmi of Rotterdam, who advised them to go to The Hague and apply there to Mr. von Felss, at the English embassy, to present their needy condition to him. Three men were sent to The Hague. When they reached The Hague, they first found Mr. Goetschy and told him of their intention. He was greatly displeased with their plan and told them he had already spoken with Mr. Felss, who was sufficiently well informed about their plans and condition. Goetschy entertained the three men at dinner and then offered to send a letter with them to Mr. Wilhelmi at Rotterdam. After waiting an hour for the letter, he sent them word that he had already dispatched it with his boy. Hence they had to return to Rotterdam without having accomplished their purpose.
Meanwhile Goetschy had been very successful in his interview with Mr. Felss, whom he calls an antistes, but who was a prominent statesman, probably the Grand Pensionary himself.
In a letter, dated Nov. 26, 1734, Goetschy gives a glowing account of this interview to Mr. Friess of Zurich, the city treasurer and a near relative of his. After having related their experiences to Mr. Felss, he answered him (according to Goetschy's letter) as follows:
“My dear brother, for six years we have been searching for a man through whom the churches of God in Pennsylvania, which consist of more than 60,000 souls, of whom 20,000 have not yet been baptized, could be organized. Divine Providence has sent you to us. Now I shall promote your call as general superintendent of the whole of Pennsylvania, which has more than eight cities and more than 600 boroughs and villages. You shall receive a yearly salary of more than 2000 thalers, until all has been accomplished. I shall see to it that the people get support from the Dutch government. But first you must write to your government for the requisite testimonials and then you will be examined before the General Synod.”
Consequently Goetschy implored Mr. Friess to help him in securing the necessary testimonials. His son, John Henry, supported his father's request in a separate letter, saying that, if the testimonial from Zurich would be favorable to his father, Mr. Felss had promised him to send him to the University of Leiden to study there for the ministry, so that he might become the successor to his father.
Meanwhile Rev. John Wilhelmi [Wilhelmius] of Rotterdam wrote also to Switzerland, to the Rev. John Baptista Ott of Zurich, to learn more of Goetschy's past. On Feb. 5, 1735, Mr. Ott replied to him. He sketched Goetschy's life as student in the Zurich Gymnasium, as deacon at Bernegg and as pastor at Salez. He praised him for his scholarly attainments as evidence of which he states that it was popularly reported that lie conducted family worship with the Bible in the original language before him. He acknowledged that he had been guilty of immorality, but expressed the hope that as the authorities in Zurich had dealt leniently with Goetschy, simply dismissing him as a minister, so the Dutch people would find him worthy to send him out as their missionary.
Whether this letter reached Holland before the time of the departure of the emigrants is doubtful, as Ludwig Weber states in his report that after his return to Switzerland he heard that the party had left Holland on Feb. 24, 1735.
When Goetschy had received from Mr. Felss the assurance of his appointment as minister to Pennsylvania, he returned to Rotterdam and acquainted his party of emigrants with his changed plans. Most of them readily accepted his proposal to change their destination from Carolina to Pennsylvania. There were, however, some that refused to have anything to do with him. Weber reports 88 as taking ship to England, but what became of them is unknown. The rest, 143 persons, signed their names for passage to Philadelphia. They agreed with the owner of a ship [Schiffpatron] to pay six doubloons for an adult and three for a child. . If any of them should die, the survivors pledged themselves to pay their passage money.
This company with some others who evidently joined them after Ludwig Weber had started on his return journey to Switzerland, and whose names he could not therefore record, reached Philadelphia on May 29, 1735, in the ship Mercury, William Wilson, master. It carried in all 186 passengers, 61 men, 51 women, 37 boys and 34 girls. The above list forms an important supplement to the list in the Pennsylvania Archives, as it gives in each case the place in Switzerland from which the several persons came.
The journey itself and some of the later experiences of the Goetschy family are given in a letter which John Henry Goetschy, then a boy of 17 years, wrote on July 21, 1735, to Mr. Werdmüller, deacon at St. Peter's church in Zurich.
Passenger List of the Mercury
Rodolph Aberly, 22 Barbara Albrecht, 40 Ulric Amman, 24 Felix Aner, 7 Hs. Ulric Aner, 42 Hs. Ulric Aner, 5 Margareth Aner, 5 Verena Aner, 9 Regula Appell, 21 Juliane Catherine Bartin Verena Bentz, 19 Jacob Bertschinger, 19 Susanna Bindschedler, 30 Caspar Bleiler, 47 Hs. Hend. Bleuler, 13 Catherine Bleuler, 9 Hs. Jacob Bleuler, 8 Balthasar Bossart, 30 Jacob Bossart, 40 Anna Brunner, 11 Hendryk Brunner, 17 Hs. Ulric Brunner, 6 Hendryk Bucher, 8 Jacob Bucher, sick, 39 Jacob Bucher, 10 Barbara Dappeller, 52 Abraham Dentzler, 3 Jacob Dentzler, 40 Jacob Dentzler, 9 Margareth Dentzler, 4 Rodolph Dentzler, 5 Abraham Dubendorffer, 9 Anna Dubendorffer, 6 Rudolph Dubendorffer, 8 Barbara Eberhard, 30 Regula Eberhard, 19 Verena Eberhard, 27 Rodolph Egg, 19 Hendryk Forst, 19 Anna Barbara Frey, 10 Elisabeth Frey, 8 Hendryk Frey, 6 Jacob Frey, 50 Barbara Glaur, 31 Anna Götschy, 24 Barbara Götschy, 18 Esther Götschy, 44 Esther Götschy, 16 Hendryk Götschy, absent, 17 Rudolph Götschy, 12 Mauritz Götschy, 10 Beat Götschy, 8 Magdalena Götschy, 6 Ursula Grendelmeyer, 27 Caspar Gut, 19 Barbara Haller, 23 Elisabeth Haller, 20 Johannes Heid, 24 Jacob Homberger, sick, 16 Hendryk Huber, 30 Lisabeth Hueber, 3m. Rodolph Hueber, 6 Anna Isler, 43 Catherine Isler, 34 Conrad Keller, 36 Mathias Keller, 1 Marguerit Kentzing, 29 Verena Kern, 30 Marie Cather Kirberger, 39 Phillipp Willem Kleyn, 23 Verena Krebser, 30 Magdalen Krebser, 49 Elisabeth Kubler, 5 Hans Kubler, 43 Jacob Kubler, 5 Barbara Lips, 30 Magdel. Mantz, 29 Felix Matzinger, 8 Jacob Matzinger, 37 Anna Marg. Mauer, 7 Elisabeth Maurer, 19 Jacob Maurer, 40 Johan Hend. Maurer, 19 Margueret Maurer, 42 Regula Maurer, 23 Hans Merck, 6 Hendryk Merck, 19 Hs. Conrad Merck, 5 Killian Merck, sick, 16 Jacob Metler, 17 Barbara Meyer, 39 Barbara Meyer, 4 Conrad Meyer, 51 Hs. Jacob Meyer, 8 Jacob Meyer, 39 Jacob Meyer, 9 Johannes Meyer, 39 Leonard Meyer, 14 Magdalena Meyer, 6 Melchior Meyer, absent, 15 Catherin Meyly, 29 Andreas Moelig, 4 Ennreich Moelig, 7 Gottfried Moelig, 10 Johannes Moelig, 40 Marie Cath. Moelig, 1 & 1/2 Veronica Gertrut Moelig, 15 Hendryk Muller, sick, 21 Hs. Muller, 23 Marie Muller, 5 Hendryk Muschque, 23 Anna Naf, 19 Anna Naf, 19 Conrad Naf, 52 Conrad Naf, 22 Elisabeth Naf, 4 Hans Jacob Naf, 9 Jacob Naf, 39 Jacob Naf, 24 Jacob Naf, 7 Christian Erhard Neumeister Caspar Notzly, 45 Hendryk Oswald, 20 Johannes Ott, 19 Elisabeth Peter, 21 Magdalena Phister, 37 Anna Possart, 6 Caspar Possart, 10 Elizabeth Possart, 17 Hendryk Possart, 3 Rodolph Possart, 10 Rodolph Possart, 2 Jacob Rathgep, 24 Catherine Ruegg, 20 Conrad Rutschy, 27 Hendryk Rutschy, 7 Hs. Jacob Rutschy, 2w Jacob Rutschy, 10 Jacob Schellenberg, 45 Martin Schellenberg, 20 Ursula Schellenberg, 17 Cleovea Schenckel, 30 Jacob Schenkel, 27 Hendryk Scheuchzer, ab., 43 Barb. Schmid, 5 Barbara Schmid, 15 Felix Schmid, 12 Jacob Schmid, 32 Jacob Schmid, absent, 15 Anna Cleophe Schreik, 2 Hendryk Schreyber, 22 Caspar Schweitzer, 20 Magdalena Steininger, 30 Regula Stolz, 37 Anna Stuz, 30 Hendryk Surber, 50 Hendryk Surber, absent, 15 Verena Surber, 5 Abraham Wackerly, 30 Verena Wackerly, 2 Jacob Walder, 4 Rodolph Walder, 39 Marie Weber, 30 Abraham Weidman, 25 Barbara Weidman, 36 Jacob Weidman, 40 Rodolph Weidman, 26 Barbara Weidmann, 3m. Jacob Weidmann, 5 Judith Weidmann, 2 Magdalene Weidmann, 49 Jacob Weist, 24 Elisabeth Wettstein, 39 Anna Weys, 6 Barbara Weys, 18 Catherine Weys, 9 Elisabeth Weys, 16 Johannes Weys, 43 Susanna Weys, 3 Elizabeth Winckler, 31 Conrad Wuertz, 26 Conrad Zuppinger, sick, 36 Hendryk Zuppinger, 6 Hs. Ulric Zupinger, 12 Marguerit Zupinger, 19
"At the Courthouse of Philadelphia, May 29th, 1735. Fifty four Palatines, and Switzers, who with their Families, making in all one hundred seventy six Persons, were imported here in the Ship Mercury, of London, William Wilson, Master, from Rotterdam, but last from Cowes, as by Clearance from thence, were this day qualified as usual." From the Minutes of the Provincial Council, printed in Colonial Records, Vol. III, pg. 593.
[List 38 B] Palatines and Switzers, Imported in the Ship Mercury, of London, William Wilson, Master, from Rotterdam, but last from Cowes, by clearance thence. Qualified May 29th, 1735.
Conrad Wuertz ** Jacob (X) Tanzler Abraham Weidman Johan Ulrick (X) Ahaner Rutolff Weidman H. Hansen Weyss Hans Jacob Radtgäb Balsahar (X) Bosserd Jacob Boshaar Henry (X) Merck Jacob (JS) Schenker Hans Weimer Heinrich Huber Caspar (X) Netzlji Jacob (X) Naff Caspar (X) Schweitzer Henry (O) Oswald Henry (H) Surber Jacob Frey Hans Ulrich (H) Amon Jacob Meyer Rudolph (H R) Aberly Jacob (O) Perdschenger Jacob (X) Wüst Henry (O) Bruner Rud[ol]ff Eyg Hans Küber Rudolph (X) Walter Jacob Weidman Jacob Conrad (X) Naffe Hans Cunrath Käller Jacob (X) Schmit Conrad (X) Naffe Conrad (X) Meyer Jacob (XX) Madler Jacob Näff Hans Müller Kaspr Gut Hans Odt Caspar (X) Plauler Johanes Heit Jacob Matz[inger] Heinrich Schriber Abraham (X) Weckerly Martin (O) Shelberger Cunrath Rütschi Jacob (O) Muumer Christoph Neumeister Hendri Scheuchzer Johannes Mölich Jacob (O) Scheuchser Philibs Klein Henry (X) Mosock Hennrich Forst
** Regarding the history of this colony see History of the Goshenhoppen Reformed Charge, pp. 96-130. The leader of the colony was the Rev. Maurice Goetschy, who died on his arrival in Philadelphia. His place was taken by his son, John Henry Goetschy. The business manager of the colony was John Conrad Wirtz (Wuertz), the brother-in-law of John Henry Goetschy. Wirtz was at first a schoolteacher, but from 1742-1763, officiated, in numerous German and Dutch Reformed churches, as pastor.
•(List A): The Captain's List •(List B): The signers of the Oath of Allegiance to England •(List C): The signers of the Oath of Abjuration
Letter from John Henry Goetschy to Zurich, July 21, 1735
Strassburger, Ralph Beaver LLD, “Pennsylvania German Pioneers,” Pennsylvania German Society, Vol. XLII of the Proceedings of the Society, Edited by William John Hinke, Ph.D., DD; Vol. 1 1727-1775, Published by the Society, 1934.
Very Reverend, Very Learned Mr. Deacon!
I, the most submissive servant of my very reverend, highly and very learned Mr. Deacon, cannot forbear to report to your Reverence, how we are getting along. After we had left Holland and surrendered ourselves to the wild, tempestuous ocean, its waves and its changeable winds, we reached, through God's great goodness toward us, with good wind, England within 24 hours. After a lapse of two days we came to the island of Wicht [Wight] and there to a little town, called Caus [Cowes], where our captain supplied himself with provisions for the great ocean [trip] and we secured medicines for this wild sea. Then we sailed, under God's goodness, with a good east wind away from there. When we had left the harbor and saw this dreaded ocean, we had a favorable wind only for the following day and the following night. Then we had to hear a terrible storm and the awful roaring and raging of the waves when we came into the Spanish and Portuguese ocean. For twelve weeks we were subjected to this misery and had to suffer all kinds of bad and dangerous storms and terrors of death, which seemed to be even more bitter than death. With these we were subject to all kinds of bad diseases. The food was bad, for we had to eat what they call "galley bread." We had to drink stinking, muddy water, full of worms. We had an evil tyrant and rascal for our captain and first mate, who regarded the sick as nothing else than dogs. If one said: "I have to cook something for a sick man," he replied: "Get away from here or I'll throw you overboard, what do I care for your sick devil." In short, misfortune is everywhere upon the sea. We alone fared better. This has been the experience of all who have come to this land and even if a king traveled across the sea, it would not change. After having been in this misery sufficiently long, God, the Lord, brought us out and showed us the land, which caused great joy among us. But three days passed, the wind being contrary, before we could enter into the right river. Finally a good south wind came and brought us in one day through the glorious and beautiful Telewa [Delaware], which is a little larger than the Rhine, but not by far as wild as the latter, because this country has no mountains, to the long expected and wished for city of Philadelphia.
When we reached here our dear father, because of the great and tedious journey and the hardships so unbearable to old people, was very sick and weak. On the last day, when we were before Philadelphia, the elders of the Reformed congregation came to him and showed their great joy over him. They spoke with him as their pastor, who had been appointed to that position by the ruling persons in Holland, as was shown by his testimonials which be had with him. They discussed one or other church affair with him and showed their great joy. He spoke heartily with them, as if he were well. The following day they came and took him to the land. When he reached the land he was so exhausted by his sickness that he could not walk alone, but was carried in a chair to the house assigned to him. When they were there, they wished to talk with him about one or other subject. Of his own people none were with him but mother, the children were yet on the ship on the water. Then he said: "It is so dark before my eyes, let me lie down and sleep." As they did not want him to sleep in that room, since people were coming in continually and he would have been unable to sleep, they carried him upstairs to the bedroom. In the middle of the stairway he sat down, lifted his hands to his heart and his eyes to heaven, heaved a sigh and died. On the third day a very distinguished funeral took place in the principal English Presbyterian church in Philadelphia, with a large attendance of people. All the members of the consistory of the Reformed church and very many of the congregation were present.
Now we, his wife and eight poor, forsaken orphans, are in a strange land among strange people, who do not know us, poor and without comfort. We, therefore, commend ourselves most submissively to all those in Zurich to whom our misfortune will become known and whose hearts will be touched, in order that they may graciously grant us their assistance. It can easily be sent into this country, if they will only send it through Mr. Wilhelmius at Rotterdam, for which I ask most humbly, for the sake of the merciful Jesus.
Very Reverend Mr. Deacon, when I showed my testimonials, and the people saw that I had been engaged in study, they almost compelled me to preside over the congregations as well as I could.
Hence, through the goodness of God, I preach twice every Sunday and teach two catechetical lessons. For this I make use of the books which I have brought with me and through good diligence I am enabled, thank God, to perform this in such a way, that each and every person is well satisfied with me. Now the first Sunday I preach in Philadelphia both in the forenoon and the afternoon and always give with it catechetical instruction. On the second Sunday in Schippach, which is a very large congregation, a sermon and catechetical instruction in the forenoon. In the afternoon at Old Goshenhoppen, two hours [six miles] from Schippach, a sermon and catechetical instruction. It is also a pretty large congregation, as large as any in the canton of Zurich. On the third Sunday I preach in New Goshenhoppen and have catechetical instruction there in the forenoon. In the afternoon at Great Swamp [Grossen Schwam], which is also one of the large congregations. All this I can do through the strength given me by God's spirit, to the great satisfaction of the people. I expect to be consecrated next Christmas by the English Presbyterians, in order that I may be able to administer the communion, unite people in marriage and baptize children. With the help of God I intend to do this. I would be able to do this all the better and put forth greater efforts for the souls of abandoned and confused sheep, if I had my library, which is in charge of Mr. Gorchen [George] Kromer. I therefore ask your Reverence most humbly, if at all possible, to send it to me very kindly, not only for my sake and the large number of poor orphans left by my sainted father, but also for the sake of the many thousand strayed and shepherdless sheep, who go about in error and in a destitute condition, yea for the sake of the many heathen, who thereby might be led to the Lord Jesus, as has already been done.
Given on the 21st of July 1735.
Philadelphia in Pennsylvania.
The condition of the land, is as follows: There are in it Englishmen, Germans and French from all parts of Europe. Most of them are Reformed. The others are people of all kinds of imaginable sects, Atheists, Anabaptists, Quakers, Arians, Enthusiasts, Nestorians, Pietists, Mennonites, Waldensians etc., etc, many hundred kinds, for in this country there is perfect liberty of conscience. The Reformed are scattered through seven congregations land thus there is among many thousand sheep no shepherd.
This letter bears the following inscription:
Letter of Henrich Goetschi, minister at Philadelphia to Mr. Werdmüller, "Diacon" at St. Peters in Zurich.
Birth, Marriage and Death Entries
in the Family Bible of James and Lucy Nave
Spelling and punctuation have been reproduced here as they were written.
James Nave was born in Cock County Tenessee, Dec. 25th 1811.
Lucy Harvey (Nave) was born in Orrange County Virginia Oct 3rd 1805.
Jacob Nave was born in Saline County Missouri August 28th 1833.
Elizabeth Nave was born in Saline County Missouri April 22nd 1835.
Errendle Franklin Nave was born in Saline County Missouri July 10th 1836.
James Harvey Nave was born in Livingston County Missouri Oct. 15th 1840.
Cynthia Margaret Nave was born in Livingston County Missouri May 5th 1842.
Lucy Ann Nave was born in Livingston County Missouri June 12th 1844.
Son of Jacob & Sarah Nave
James B. Nave was born in Lynn Co. Missouri August 9th 1856.
Daughter of Jacob & M.F. Nave
Ellah May Nave was born in Lynn Co. Missouri June 12th 1861.
Laura Phene Hale Daughter of Geo. E & Cynthia was born in Livingston Co. Missouri September 19th 1860.
Lucy Elizabeth Hale was born in Livingston Co. Missouri September 23rd 1862
James William Hale was born on Willow Creek Ranche Jefferson County Montana Ty. April 13th 1865.
J. Wilkes Hale was born on Willow Creek Montana Apr. 9th 1867
David R. Martin was born in Bedford County Tennessee Jan. 4th 1822.
Elizabeth Martin was born in Saline County Missouri April 22nd 1835.
Lucy Ann Rideria Martin was born in Spring Hill Livingston County Missouri on Monday August 4th 1856 & was baptized March the 22nd 1857.
E.F. Nave and S.E. Palmer were married July 13 AD 1865.
James A. Nave was born June 11 AD 1866 Colorado
Annie L. Nave was born October 27 AD 1867 Montana
Lucy Nave was born July 20 AD 1869 Montana
Alva Nave was born April 4 AD 1871 Montana
Susan Nave was born January 22 AD 1873
By B.F. Ashby
D.R. Martin and Elizabeth Nave were married on Wednesday December 18 AD 1850.
Jacob Nave and Sarah Brown were married on Wednesday June 4th 1855.
By J.D. Rencil
George E. Hale & Cynthia M. Nave were married on Tuesday, Nov. 1st 1859.
Jacob Nave was married the seckond time to ______ Mary F. Hanes, on Wednesday March 7th 1860.
Errendle F. Nave and Susan E. Palmer were married in Colorado Thursday July 13th 1865
By B.F. Barter
W.B. Tinsley and Lucy A. Nave were married in Montana Ty. Tuesday Janary 1st 1867.
Enoch Wilson and Lizzie Martin were married Sunday May 15th 1870 at James Nave’s, Mammoth Springs Mt.
B.F. Bembrick and Lucy D. Martin were married at E. Wilson’s Montana, on Wednesday Nov. 15th 1871
D.R. Martin departed this life on the 22nd day of December at 3 o’clock P.M. 1862 near Chillicothe Mo. Aged 38 years 10 months and 13 days.
Margaret Harvey, our dear grandmother, departed this life a christian. Dec. 23rd 1863 Aged 80 years.
Lucy Elizabeth Hale departed this life April 17th 1864 at the age of one year, 6 months & 25 days. She was buried alone on the road side in Colorado 82 miles No. of Denver.
Jas. Havey Nave was brutally murdered by the enemy in Linn Co. Mo. June 18th 1864 Aged 23 years & 8 months. Had not a decent burial.
James B., son of Jacob Nave, died in Lynn Co. Mo. March 1857
Sue E. wife of E.F. Nave departed this life suddenly on Tuesday July 22nd 1873
Ellah M. daughter of Jacob Nave departed this life at St. Vincents Academy Helena Montana Tuesday morning November 10th 1874.
Please send corrections, comments and questions to:
Arian E. Collins
5085 September St.
San Diego, CA 92110
 The marriage between Hans Conrad and Anna is not proven. A record in Neuweid, Germany, shows that Hans Conrad married Katherine Isler on Oct. 28, 1734. However, several family researchers believe that this is a mistake and that he actually married Anna, his cousin. A Catherine Isler is listed among the passengers of the Mercury, but she is listed as being 34 years old and Hans Conrad would have been in his early to mid 20s. Another record of the marriage shows that he married an Anna N., but whether “N” stood for her maiden name or her new married name is uncertain. Robert T. Nave and Margaret W. Hougland suggest that Hans may have married Anna Ott, a single woman who was also aboard the Mercury.
 There are no documents that have been so far discovered that prove beyond a doubt that these five children are the offspring of Hans Conrad and Anna Näf. These connections are based on only circumstantial evidence. It is known that Hans Conrad lived in Rockingham County in the 1760s and 1770s before moving onto North Carolina.
 Conrad Nave is probably John’s brother, but it also could be John’s father Hans Conrad.
 These would be the three oldest sons of John Nave Sr.
Copyright. All rights reserved.
This file was contributed for use in the USGenWeb
Archives by: Arian E. Collins firstname.lastname@example.org