Ellwood Roberts' Biographical Annals, 1904: Montgomery Co, PA
Vol I - Part 21: pp. - .

Contributed for use in USGenWeb Archives by Joe Patterson and Susan Walters.

USGENWEB ARCHIVES NOTICE: These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by any other organization or persons. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material, must obtain the written consent of the contributor, or the legal representative of the submitter, and contact the listed USGenWeb archivist with proof of this consent. The submitter has given permission to the USGenWeb Archives to store the file permanently for free access.





(Picture of Samuel Dresher)

SAMUEL DRESHER, for many years a director in the Montgomery National Lank, and in other financial institutions of the county, is a native of Upper Dublin township, where he was born in the village of Dreshertown, March 17, 1830. He is the son of Oliver and Annie (Anders) Dresher.

The Dreshers are an old family in Montgomery county, having been the founders of Dreshertown, in the vicinity of which they resided for many years, they being among the best-known residents of that section. Dreshertown derived its name from Christopher Dresher (great-grandfather), who was born in 1771. A postoffice was established there in 1832 and the Upper Dublin elections were held there from 1840 to 1856, when they were removed to Jarrettown.

George Dresher and his wife Maria were among the Schwenkfelder immigrants who came from Germany to Pennsylvania in 1734, landing at Philadelphia. They settled largely within the boundaries of what is now Montgomery county, and their descendants are among its most valuable citizens.

George Dresher had three children- Christopher, Maria and Rosina. His wife Maria died March 18, 1762. George died March 3, 1774.

Christopher, the next in the line of descent, married Anna, daughter of Christopher Kriebel, June 19, 1744. The children of the couple were George, born in 1746; Rosina, in 1748; Abraham, in 1750; Susanna, in 1753; and Maria, in 1757. Christopher died August 2, 1770, aged fifty-two years. Anna, his widow, died July 4, 1786.

George Dresher (great-grandfather), the eldest child of Christopher, married Maria, daughter of Christopher Yeakle, October 23, 1770. Their children were: Christopher (for whom Dreshertown was named), born August 8, 1771; Samuel (grandfather) born November 6, 1773; and Maria, born January 17, 1779. George died October 17, 1822, aged seventy-six years. His widow died September 23, 1823. The Dreshers as a rule had small families of children and few of the name are living at the present time.

Samuel Dresher (grandfather) married Anna, daughter of Jeremiah Kriebel, October 22, 1801. Their children were: Susanna, born January 1, 1803; Oliver, born in January, 1804; Levi, born March 3, 1811; and Daniel, born September to, 1823. Samuel died April 1, 1833. His widow died April 3, 1833, so that the husband and wife died within two days of each other.

Oliver Dresher (father) married Annie, daughter of Abraham Anders, June 5, 1829. Their children are: Samuel and Theresa. The daughter, born January 28, 1832, died March 29, 1853. Oliver Dresher died March 17, 1880, at the age of seventy-six years. He lived at the old mill at Dreshertown, which had been in the possession of the family for more than a century. He combined the occupations of farmer and miller. He was a Whig in politics during the existence of that party and after its day a Republican. He was a prominent man in his community, and served several years is supervisor of roads in Upper Dublin township, and also held the position of school director for a number of years. His wife survived him, dying on July 21, 1894, in the eighty-fifth year of her age.

Samuel Dresher was reared on his father's farm, alternating in youth in attention to agriculture and the milling business and attendance at neighborhood schools. He has all his life been

(Page 461)

interested in farming, although of late years he has retired from active labors, his fine farm of a hundred acres in Norriton township having been rented for more than thirty years. He resides about a mile from Hartranft station on the Stony Creek Railroad. In addition to his ordinary occupations, he has found time to devote to public interests and is one of the most influential citizens of his community.

On November 9, 1854, Mr. Dresher married Susanna Seipt, daughter of George Seipt, of Worcester township. She died September 19, 1901, leaving no children.

In thirty-two years Mr. Dresher has had only two tenants on his farm. He is a member of the Schwenkfelder church, as was his wife, and he has been a deacon therein for more than thirty years.

Mr. Dresher is a member of the board of directors of the Montgomery National Bank, of Norristown, a position which he has filled acceptably for many years. He is also a director of the Montgomery Insurance, Trust and Safe Deposit Company. He was president of the Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Montgomery County for five years and a director for twenty-five years or more. He is a stockholder in the new Haymarket Company of Philadelphia. He is a trustee of Perkiomen Seminary at Pennsburg, an institution which is under Schwenkfelder control.

Mr. Dresher is a Republican in politics. He has filled various positions in his township, including the office of school director. He has never failed to exercise his right of suffrage when he had an opportunity to do so. He cast his fifty-second vote on November 3, 1903.



ERNEST W. STRASSER, the well known blacksmith and wagon maker of Souderton, is the son of Frank and Elizabeth (Lowdenstein) Strasser, both natives of Germany. Ernest W. Strasser was born in Manayunk, in the city of Philadelphia, May 15, 1864. Frank Strasser, father, was born in Saxony, and received a good education in the schools of that country, and on completing his studies learned the shoemaking trade. On reaching manhood he decided that he would be better off in America than in his native land. Having married Miss Elizabeth Lowdenstein, they emigrated together and landed in Philadelphia. He was about to engage in business in that city when the Rebellion began with the firing on Fort Sumter by the troops of the state of South Carolina. He enlisted at once, and served in the Union army from 1861 to 1865, participating in many battles and skirmishes, and winning commendation from his superiors for his gallant conduct. He was a member of the Twenty-ninth Regiment New York Volunteers, and was engaged in the battle of the Wilderness in the celebrated campaign of General Grant against the city of Richmond, the capital of the Southern Confederacy. During the progress of the battle a shell exploded near him, destroying the sight of one of his eves. At the end of the war Mr. Strasser returned to Philadelphia, and later removed with his family to Hatfield township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, where he still resides, Mr. Strasser is a Republican in politics, a good citizen, and is highly respected by all who know him. Mrs. Strasser is also living. Mr. and Mrs. Strasser had two children, Francis and Ernest W., the subject of this sketch.

Ernest W. Strasser removed with his parents from Manayunk to Hatfield township at an early age. He was educated in the public schools of the district, and on leaving school learned the trade of a blacksmith in Franconia. On completing his apprenticeship he labored as a journeyman in different localities, and in 1887 went to Souderton, and located permanently in that borough, at first leasing a stand and ultimately purchasing it, and successfully conducting it ever since. He has also erected a comfortable house in which he resides. He has added to his blacksmith business the manufacture of wagons of all descriptions, in which branch he has also been very successful.

Mr. Strasser married Miss Mary Shellenberger daughter of William Shellenberger, late postmaster at Souderton. By the marriage the following children were born: Elizabeth, Francis, William and Edna. In politics he is a Republican, but not in any sense an office seeker, although he has been elected a school director. He is a member of the Knights of the Golden Eagle, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the Sons of Veterans. In religious faith he and his family are members of the Lutheran church. Mr. Strasser is emphatically a selfmade man, and is an influential member of the community in which he lives.

(Page 462)



ANDREW WALT, a well-known farmer of Lower Pottsgrove township, was born March 8, 1840, in Perkiomen township, Montgomery county. His parents removed to Limerick township when he was two weeks old. He is the son of Henry S. and Elizabeth (Stauffer) Walt.

Henry S. Walt (father) was for many years a resident of Limerick township, Montgomery county, where he was a farmer. He was a Republican, and a member of the Lutheran church. He married Elizabeth Stauffer, who died some years before his death. They are both buried in Limerick township churchyard.

Mr. and Mrs. Henry Walt had ten children, all of whom are living. They are: 1. Henrietta, married Josiah Evans, and. resides in Limerick township; her husband died and left three children, he was a farmer. 2. Elizabeth, married Augustus Kale, of Pottstown, who died two years ago, he was also a farmer, they had three children who are still living. 3. Matthew, married Catharine Stetles, and resides in Limerick township, where he is a farmer, they have one child. 4. Annie J., married Jerie Krause, of Pottstown, where they reside, he is retired, they have three children. 5. Henry, married, and resides in Illinois, where he is retired from business; he went West thirty-five years ago; he was a school teacher and also kept a general store and dealt in coal, they have three children. 6. Sarah, unmarried, and resides with her sister, Mrs. Annie Krause, in Pottstown. 7. Matilda, married Dr. B. F. Desmond, and lives in Limerick township, where he is a practicing physician, they have five children. 8. Warren, married Ella Custard, and has five children, they are farmers in Chester county. 9. Abraham, married Carrie Rambo, and has no children, he was a farmer, and served in the army during the Civil war, he is now retired. 10. Andrew.

Andrew Walt, the youngest son of Henry S. Walt, having gone to school until he was sixteen years of age, and having acquired a common school education, began to learn the trade of harness maker. He followed this occupation for three rears, when he left it and has ever since been engaged in farming.

In 1861 he removed to his present home, which since that time he has almost entirely rebuilt, the house as well as mane other buildings being his work. He also owns some very valuable chestnut land in Chester county, Pennsylvania.

January 25, 1861, Andrew Walt married Harriett Brook, daughter of John and Maria (Christmas) Brook, who resided in Sanatoga, and from whom Mr. Walt purchased his farm. Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Walt had five children, of whom one died very young. The rest are: 1. Harry, married Marietta Shaeffer (deceased) who left one child. He married (second wife) Sarah Hartenstine, of Lower Pottsgrove township. He is a molder and resides at Sanatoga. By his second marriage he has one child. 2. John, unmarried, and resides in Colorado, where he is a farmer. He has lived in Colorado about ten years. 3. Irwin, married Catherine Limerick, of Pottsgrove township, and lives on his father's farm, doing the farming. He has no children. 4. Warren, unmarried, and lives in Pheonixville, where he is superintendent of an iron works.

Mrs. Harriett (Brook) Walt died about ten years ago, and is buried in Limerick township. Andrew Walt married (second wife) Mary, daughter of Enith and Mary (Markley) Schwenk (deceased). Mr. Schwenk was a farmer, but is now living retired in Skippack township. By his second marriage Mr. Walt had one daughter, Sallie, unmarried, who resides with her parents.

Mr. Walt is a Republican and a member of the Lutheran church. He is treasurer of the Sanatoga Creamery Company, and is actively interested in many other business enterprises of his community.

(Page 463)

MISS MARY A. DAVIS was born in Montgomery county, where she has always lived. Her father, Dr. Thomas Davis, was born March 6, 1809, in Chester county, Pennsylvania, and was reared by Jones Davis, an older brother, who was the son of Dr. Roger Davis, a prominent physician of Chester county, of Welsh descent. He owned a farm besides practicing medicine, and was very successful both as a physician and as a farmer. He was a member of the Baptist church.

The children of Dr. Roger Davis: Jones, a physician; Eliza (Mrs. Saylor), who died in Ohio, leaving three children, who returned to Pennsylvania, where they were reared; Morris, occupies the old homestead in Chester county; Roger, died unmarried; Maria (Mrs. Anderson); Thomas (father of Miss Davis).


Morris Davis was the guardian of Thomas Davis. Thomas was reared on a farm, and attended the common schools of the village of Mantua, now West Philadelphia, and also a seminary at that place, where he graduated, and then studied medicine with Professor Horner, of Philadelphia, as preceptor. He attended the university of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, where he graduated in 1834, and commenced practice in Lower Providence township, remaining there until he married, December 5, 1839. He removed to Trappe, and practised his profession there for seven years. On account of failing health he gave up the practice of medicine temporarily and went to Whitemarsh township, where he spent four years and regained his health. He then went to Jeffersonville to practice his profession, and in 1852 located at Evansburg permanently. He practised his profession with success, giving every attention to his patients, and enjoying the confidence of the entire community. About seven years before his death he had a severe attack of stiffness, and retired from active practice. Some of his former patients continued to call at his house and receive treatment until his death. He died January 22, 1891. He was a member of the Presbyterian church at Eagleville, and in politics was a Democrat. Mrs. Davis died November 2, 1869. She was the daughter of Joseph and Ann (Lewis) Reiff. Joseph Reiff was the son of Jacob and Mary (Detwiler) Reiff. The Detwilers are an old family of German descent, and many of them Dunkards. The children of Joseph and Ann Reiff; Enos, a miller by trade; Sarah, mother of Miss Mary A. Davis; Jacob, a farmer; Mary (Mrs. Joseph Wilson); Isaac, a farmer.

Mary A. Davis is the only child of Dr. Thomas and Sarah Davis. She received a liberal education, and is a practical business woman. She inherited the estate of her parents and is perfectly competent to handle it successfully. She has a fine farm in the valley of Skippack Creek, and other valuable property. The homestead at Evansburg contains about ten acres. She has greatly improved it, and erected upon it a commodious three-story stone mansion of modern architecture, and all conveniences to be found in a city home. She has erected at heavy cost a mausoleum in River Side cemetery at Norristown, for the burial of her parents and herself. Miss Davis is an active member of the Lutheran church. In politics Mr. Davis was a Democrat.



BYRON MILLER FLECK, son of Allen and Elizabeth James (Miller) Fleck, is a native of Lower Gwynedd township, having been born on the farm on which he now lives, November 29, 1859, being the second oldest child of his parents. He attended the public school of his district, commonly known as the "Eight Square School", and also Sunnyside Academy, at Ambler, which institution he left when he had entered his nineteenth year. During vacation periods, as well as at intervals at other times, he found abundant employment on the farm. His father was a careful and successful farmer, and he was thoroughly taught the occupation which was to be his future calling in life. The farm, known as Willow Valley, at that time contained 89 acres of land and timber, but has since been reduced to 80 acres by sale of a portion.

When Allen Fleck purchased the farm it contained 124 acres. Since his death the farm has been held jointly by Byron M. Fleck and his sister Laura Dalena. It is operated as a dairy and a general farm by the two.

(Page 464)

Byron M. Fleck married, July 29, 1892, Martha, daughter of Henry and Mary Ann (Fry) Reyner, of Penllyn. They have one child, Warren Stanley, born January 24, 1903.

The family are members of the Baptist church at Ambler. Mr. Fleck has been a trustee of the church since 1902. Mrs. Fleck has been a member of the Aid Society since 1900. In politics Mr. Fleck is a member of the Democratic: party, but has taken little interest in party affairs the past few years, his entire attention being given to the farm.

Allen Fleck (father) was the son of Jacob and Mary (Hallman) Fleck. He was born August 1, 1820, on the old Fleck homestead, more recently the Adam Hoover farm. He attended the schools of the neighborhood, but the opportunities for acquiring an education were much more limited at that day than they are at the present time. It was all that a farmer's son could expect to obtain the mere rudiments of an education, leaving it to those more fortunately situated to attend the higher institutions of learning. The only marvel is that men so intelligent as Allen Fleck and his contemporaries of a past generation were produced amid such surroundings.

Mr. Fleck married Elizabeth James Miller, daughter of Henry L. and Elizabeth (James) Miller, of New Britain township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania. The couple located immediately on the Willow Valley farm, which Mr. Fleck had purchased in 1842. The older child of the couple besides Byron M. Fleck is Laura Dalena, born August 19, 1858. She attended the Eight Square School and Sunnyside Academy at Ambler, until her eighteenth year, after which she remained with her parents, assisting in household duties. She married, September 24, 1895, Finley Hutton, son of Lewis and Anna Mary (Brinton) Kitzelman, of Dilworthtown, in Chester county, Pennsylvania. Their only child is Stanley Brinton, born July 13, 1897. Mr. and Mrs. Kitzelman make their home with their brother.

Jacob Fleck (grandfather) was born February 1, 1784, and died March 25, 1824, at the family homestead, in Lower Gwyncdd. He married, September 8, 1807, Mary Hallman, of the same vicinity.

Their children: 1. Catharine, born May 26, 1808, who married John Kuhler, of Lower Gwynedd, their children being Mary Ann, who married George Wallace, they living in Philadelphia, and Anna, who married Albert Colflesh, the couple living at Ambler; 2. Margaret, born April 16, 1810; 3. Henry, born May 1, 1813, married Mary Detwiler, of Horsham township, and died a few rears ago in Norristown at a very advanced age; 4. Mary Ann, born July 5, 1815, who married Charles Berkhimer, of Whitpain township, 5. Allen, father of Byron M. Fleck. The Flecks have always been a worthy and highly respected family, enjoying the esteem of the whole community. The family are of German origin, their ancestor having come to America with the tide of emigration which came about the middle of the eighteenth century.



(Picture of Mr. & Mrs. Richard F. Wood)

RICHARD F. WOOD was born on a farm near Chester, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, in the William Penn house, July 10, 1840. While Richard F. Wood was still very young, his father removed to the township of Concord and rented a farm of Mr. Perkins, where the family remained for a short time and then removed to Plymouth township, Montgomery county, where they lived two years.

The family next spent five years on the Yerkes farm in Lower Merion township and then went to Swedesburg, near Swedeland, residing on the Abraham Supplee farm for six rears. They afterwards lived on the Rambo farm in the Upper part of Upper Merion township for ten years, and it was here that Richard F. Wood was reared. He received his education in the public schools, acquiring a knowledge of the ordinary branches of learning.

In 1868 his father bought of Mr. Fulride the farm where Richard F. Wood now lives, and his son Richard managed it as a tenant for a year before the elder Mr. Wood removed to it. The father and son then tilled it on shares until the death of the father in 1872.

A year later the farm was sold at executor's sale and Richard F. Wood purchased it, although he did not have even his stock paid for. This was a venture that required

(Page 465)

courage, as the farm was worth a great deal of money.

Mr. Wood has managed his farm with great care and success, hard work never having been distasteful to him. The buildings on the farm have all been built by him except the barn and the sheds adjoining it. The house, one of the farm residences for which Norriton township is noted, was built in 1883. For thirty-one years Mr. Wood attended the market in Norristown, being found every market day at stall No. 82, which was known by all the patrons of the market as the Mr. Wood stall. In 1900 he purchased in Upper Merion township the Mansell farm, including one hundred and ten acres of improved land with good farm buildings. In politics he is a Republican and cast his first presidential vote for Abraham Lincoln in 1860. He has never sought or held office.

Aaron Wood (father) was born in Delaware county December 16, 1801, and, as above stated, was a farmer. For over half a century he attended the Philadelphia market. In politics he was a Whig until 1856, when he became a Republican, remaining so until his death. He was a member of the Society of Friends, and was a regular attendant at the meetings of the Society.

Aaron Wood married Louisa Morton, who was born March 31, 1804, a daughter of Enoch and Catherine Morton. Aaron Wood died in 1872, and his wife died in July 1868. Both are buried at Gulf Mills. They had the following children: (1) Henry Painter, born August 25, 1826, married Margaret Barlow, and is deceased. (2) Mary Ann, born July 14, 1828, married Robert Pedrick, and is deceased.(3) Elizabeth, born March 12, 1830, married Tobias Martin. (4) Amos L., born January 23, 1832, died in childhood. (5) Henrietta F., born January 26, 1834, is unmarried and lives in Germantown. (6) Catherine M., born June 27, 1836, married John Martin, and lives in Conshohocken. (7) Phebe Ann, born September 12, 1838, married William McDermott, and after his death, married George Ramsey. They have lived in Roanoke, Virginia, eighteen years. (8) Richard F. was the next of the family. (9) Jemima F., born October 17, 1842, married George Colehour, and is deceased. (10) Margaret Jane, born April 27, 1845, died in infancy. (11) Martha Cogal, born May 8, 1846, married Joseph Skidmam, and is deceased. (12) Susan Flower, born April 24, 1848, married Ellwood Prizer, and lives in Germantown.

Richard F. Wood married Martha J., daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Terrill) Ramsey. Samuel Ramsey was born in Bridgeport and lived in the vicinity of that place until his marriage, after which he lived on the John Hampton farm for one year. He then purchased a farm which was in two states, Pennsylvania and Maryland. Part of it was in Cecil county, Maryland, and part in Chester county, Pennsylvania, and it was in sight of the state of Delaware. In fact the property was located on the corner formed by the three states. He remained there ten years and then, selling his farm, went to Philadelphia and engaged in butchering for about four years. Samuel Ramsey died while in the prime of life and was buried in Philadelphia.

Isaac Hughes Ramsey, grandfather of Mrs. Richard F. Wood, married Martha Piddle, and his father, Benjamin Ramsey, married Lydia Potts. The Ramsey family are of Scotch origin.

Samuel and Sarah Ramsey had the following children: Martha Jane, born October 12, 1844, is the wife of Richard F. Wood. (2) William W., was born January 29. 1847. (3) Mathew J., born April 1, 1849, married Mary Roberts, and lives in Philadelphia, where he is employed by the Pennsylvania Railroad. He has held a position with that corporation for thirty years. (4) Samuel G., born August 22, 1851, died in Marida, Yucatan, of yellow fever, May 19, 1903. He was general manager of the Peninsula Consolidated Railroad in Mexico. He was in the railroad employ for thirty-five years, beginning as a telegraph operator in Merion, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. (5) George W., born August 13, 1853, married and lives in North Carolina. He is a clerk in the railroad office of the Southern Railroad, between New York and North Carolina.

(Page 466)

Mr. and Mrs. Richard F. Wood were married November 23, 1865, and they have the following children: (1) William R., born August 25, 1866, married Miss Alice G. Hardy, and has one child, Allan, born March 12, 1902. William R. Wood is farming on the place adjoining his father's farm. (2) Sarah L., born November 7, 1868, died December 15, 18go. (3) Horace G., born November 17, 1871, is unmarried, and resides in Portsmouth, Virginia, where he has charge of the stationary department of the Seaboard Air Line Railroad. (4) Anna C., born January 19, 1874, married Irvin C. Hoover, and has one child, H. Conrad, born February 4, 1899. Mr. Hoover is in the railway mail service. (5) Martha R., born April 21, 1876, is a stenographer in the real-estate office of Myers & Barth, in Philadelphia. (6) Helen R., born July 18, 1879, is unmarried and resides with her parents. (7) Gertrude R., born July 29, 1881, also lives with her parents. The family attend the First Baptist church of Bridgeport, the mother and four daughters being members.



FRANK WICKERSHAM, accountant for the Ellis & Lessig Steel and Iron Company of Pottstown, and a director in the company, was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, near Coatesville, on June 18, 1851. He is the son of Benjamin F. and Rebecca F. (Lloyd) Wickersham.

Benjamin F. Wickersham (father) was a miller in Chester county, engaging in business for the greater part of the time near Coatesville. In 1880 he removed to Pottstown and died there. His wife died in 1902. They belonged to families who were members of the Society of Friends. He was a justice of the peace, and held various local offices.

The paternal grandfather of Frank Wickersham was a farmer in Chester county, and a descendant of Thomas Wickersham, who came from Bolney, in Sussex, England, 1700, bringing a certificate from the Monthly Meeting held at Horsham, that county, 7, 11, 1700. This ancient document is now in the possession of Caleb P. Wickersham, of Kennett Square, Pennsylvania.

The grandfather of Frank Wickersham died at an advanced age in Chester county. He had a small family. Charles Lloyd (maternal grandfather) was also a farmer in Chester county and died at an advanced age.

Frank Wickersham grew to manhood in Chester county, living on the farm until he was fifteen years old and attending the district schools and the academy. He then took a position in the iron mills of Huston & Penrose at Coatesville, as bookkeeper and clerk, where he remained until 1875, when he removed to Pottstown. He was employed with the Pottstown Iron Company until 1884, and then assisted in organizing the Ellis & Lessig Steel and Iron Company.

April 17, 1873, Frank Wickersham married Miss Mary J. Jefferis, daughter of Milton and Susan J. (Hamill) Jefferis. They had three children as follows: Edwin, married Miss Florence Nagle, and they have one daughter, Etta. Edwin Wickersham is a florist in Pottstown. H. Rawlins, married Miss Mary M. Neiman. H. Rawlins Wickersham is an electrical engineer in Pittsburg. Donald died in infancy. Mrs. Wickersham is a member of the Presbyterian church. Mr. Wickersham is an independent Republican in politics.

Milton and Susan J. (Hamill) Jefferis were natives of Chester county, where he was a farmer. They had two sons and two daughters, Mary J. (Mrs. Wickersham), being the only one now living. Milton Jefferis died about 1864, aged thirty-one years. His wife survived until 1871, when she died at the age of forty years. He was a Friend, and she a Presbyterian.

Mrs. Wickersham on the paternal side is a lineal descendant of Joel Baily, a prominent Friend and land owner, who came from Wiltshire, England, and in 1687 married Ann Short, who is believed to have accompanied her uncle, Isaac Ingram, a passenger on the "Welcome" with William Penn in 1682. Ingram made his will on board the "Welcome" and left his property to the children of his deceased sister, Miriam Short, of whom Ann was one. Robert Jefferis, another ancestor, came from Wiltshire, England, in 1685, and married Jane Chandler a few years later; he settled on the Brandywine at what has been known as Jefferis's Ford, where the British crossed toward Birmingham. Sir William Howe compelled Emmor Jefferis, a grandson of Robert, to go as guide to Birmingham meeting house. On the maternal side Mrs. Wickersham is a lineal descendant of Israel Hamill, who married Mary Scott, daughter of James and Hannah (Allison) Scott, of Scotch descent.

(Page 467)



HENRY WILSON STAHLNECKER, one of the most active and successful of the younger members of the Norristown bar, is a native of Flourtown, Springfield township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. He was born June 27, 1878. He is the son of Edwin S. and Anna R. (Yeakle) Stahlnecker.

Edwin Schantz Stahlnecker (father) was for many years engaged in the live stock business at Flourtown, from which he retired many years ago and removed to Norristown, where he was engaged as a real estate and general business agent until several years ago, when he retired, owing to ill health. He had a common school education, and early in life joined the Reformed church. He is a veteran of the war for the Union. Since the breaking out of the rebellion he has been a Republican in politics, although prior to that time a Democrat. Mr. Stahlnecker served three terms as county auditor.

In 1883 he was the Republican candidate for sheriff of Montgomery county, and was elected to the office in November of that year. He entered upon the duties of the position on the first Monday of January, 1884, and served the full term of three years.

In 1889 he was again a candidate on the Republican county ticket, having been nominated for county treasurer. He was defeated at the polls in November of that year by Jacob Fegely, Democrat, but on the death of M. Fegely, in February, 1890, Mr. Stahlnecker was appointed by the county commissioners, on whom it devolved to fill the vacancy, to serve the unexpired term, and served to the first Monday in January, 1892.

In the spring of 1890 he was elected to town council in the second ward of the borough of Norristown, but declined the honor. Mr. Stahlnecker married Anna Regina Yeakle, daughter of Jacob Yeakle, who was a brother of the late County Commissioner Daniel Yeakle, being a son of Isaac Yeakle, whose grandfather, Christopher Yeakle, built the old log cabin still standing in Chestnut Hill. Mr. Stahlnecker's brother, Jacob, married Mrs. Stahlnecker's sister, Elainina.

Edwin S. Stahlnecker was born October 1, 1836. He is a son of George Stahlnecker, a farmer and blacksmith, and a member of a well known Lehigh county family of that name. He married Anna R. Yeakle, August 30, 1860. The mother of E. S. Stahlnecker was a member of the Schantz family, also numerous in Lehigh county.

The children of Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Stahlnecker: Lydia, born March 26, 1866, died in infancy; Laura, born March 1, 1868, died in infancy; Alice, born July 29, 1871, married March 21, 1897, to Charles H. Wolford; Yeakle, born October 16, 1872, died in infancy; Henry Wilson, subject of this sketch. Anna R. Stahlnecker, the mother, died August 27, 1896.

H. Wilson Stahlnecker entered the public schools of Norristown on September 1, 1884, went through the various grades, and graduated from the high school, June 28, 1895. He was Class President and Salutatorian. He entered the college department of the University of Pennsylvania in the autumn of 1895, and received the degree of Bachelor of Arts with honors, in June, 1899. He received the first prize for sight reading of Greek in the sophomore fear; second prizes in Greek and Latin in the junior year; and first prize for best Latin essay written by a member of the graduating class in the senior year. He was also appointed to the Harrison scholarship in classics for 1899-1900, and spent one year in the Department of Philosophy, University of Pennsylvania, receiving the degree of Master of Arts in June, 1900. In the fall of 1900 he entered the Law School of the University of Pennsylvania, and received the degree of Bachelor of Laws in June, 1903. While studying law he also acted as special deputy prothonotary during terms of the civil court, and was also a registered law student in Norristown, in the office of J. P. Hale Jenkins. He was admitted to the Philadelphia bar in June, 1903, and to the Montgomery county bar July 7, same year. He was the first law student from Montgomery to take and pass the examination by the state board, and was admitted to practice before the supreme court of Pennsylvania, February 1, 1904. He is associated with John Faber Miller in the practice of law.

(Page 468)

Mr. Stahlnecker is a Republican in politics, and exerts himself to secure the endorsement of the principles and candidates of the party at the polls. He was elected a member of the Norristown school board at the election in February, 1903, taking his seat on June 1, following. He has been for several years one of the reporters of court news for the "Norristown Herald" and the "Norristown Register" performing those duties in the most satisfactory manner. He is a member of the Reformed Church of the Ascension, at Norristown. He is connected with the following college societies: Phi Beta Kappa fraternity, Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity, Hare Law Club (vice-president in 1902), and was a member of the board of editors of "Red and Blue", of the University. of Pennsylvania, in 1896 to 1900; and of the board of editors of the "American Law Register" from 1901 to 1903. He is a member of Charity Lodge, No. 190, Free and Accepted Masons, and of Norris Lodge, No. 430, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, both of Norristown. He served for two years as president of the Norristown High School Alumni Association, and one year of the Montgomery County Alumni Association. At the dedication of the Montgomery county court house, he delivered the address transferring the building from the contractors to the county commissioners.

Mr. Stahlnecker's maternal grandfather, Jacob S. Yeakel, was the son of Isaac and Regina (Schultz) Yeakel. He was born October 16, 1802, and married Lydia, born January 18, 1807, daughter of Philip Brey. Their children: Caroline, born February 28, 1831; Amanda, born, November 17, 1833; Elamina, born November 10, 1835; Anna Regina (mother), born May 27, 1842; Franklin, born July 1, 1849. Lydia (grandmother) died April 28, 1862. Jacob S. Yeakel lived and died on his farm in Springfield township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. He died May 30, 1863.

Isaac Yeakel (great-grandfather) was the son of Abraham and Sarah (Wagner) Yeakel. He married Regina, daughter of Andrew Schultz, November 4, 1800. Jacob S. (grandfather); Sarah, born 1805; Samuel, l807; John 1809; Charlotte, 1811; Emeline, 1814; Daniel, 1816; Mary, 1818; David W., 1821. Isaac Yeakel died October 23, 1847. He lived on the farm afterwards occupied by his son Daniel (recently deceased), in Springfield township. Regina, his widow, died January 16, 1860. The greater part of the farm is now occupied by Chestnut Hill Park, but the old farm house still stands just above it.

Abraham Yeakel (great-great-grandfather), son of Christopher and Maria (Schultz) Yeakel, born March 14, 1752, married October 10, 1776, Sarah Wagner. Their children: Isaac (great-grandfather); Samuel, born 1779; Jacob, 1780; Susanna, 1782; Maria, 1784; Christopher, 1787. Sarah, wife of Abraham Yeakel, died May 28, 1833. Abraham died June 17, 1841. He resided in Springfield township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, on the farm recently occupied by his grandson, Daniel Yeakel, now deceased.

Christopher Yeakel (great-great-great-grandfather), son of Regina and Christopher Yeakel, married, August 9. 1743, Maria, daughter of Susanna and Balthazar Schultz. Their children were: Susanna, born 1744; Maria, 1747; Regina, 1749: Abraham (great-great-grandfather), 1752; Anna 1755; Christopher, 1757. Maria Yeakel died March 4, 1807, aged eighty-nine years. Christopher Yeakel died January 3, 1810, aged ninety-one years and nine months.

Christopher Yeakel was about eighteen years of age when he came to Pennsylvania with the Schwenkfelders, accompanying his mother, then a widow, in 1731. He apprenticed himself to a cooper, and continued through life to follow the trade. He built the log house in 1743, still standing at Cresheim. Germantown, Philadelphia, which was his dwelling nearly to the time of the Revolutionary war, when he purchased the property at Chestnut Hill, and died there at a very advanced age. He owned considerable property

(Page 469)

at his death. His descendants are very numerous in Philadelphia and in Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, and many of them are prominent citizens. His mother, Retina Yeakel, was a Heebner.



(Picture of William Clayton)

WILLIAM CLAYTON, editor of the Times-Chronicle, which is printed at Jenkintown, and ranks among the very best of the country weeklies of Eastern Pennsylvania, and a member of the Pen and Pencil Club, Philadelphia, is one of the best known journalists in Montgomery county. He is a native of lower Gwynedd township, born at Springhouse, April 4, 1866, a son of Levi R. and Cecelia (Scarlett) Clayton, grandson of William and Ann (Roads) Clayton, and great-grandson of Abraham and Margaret (Lukes) Clayton. The latter named couple resided on a farm located on Byberry Road, in Moreland township, and the greater part of the business career of Abraham Clayton was devoted to agricultural pursuits.

William Clayton (grandfather) was born on the homestead farm, in June, 1801. He acquired an education in the ordinary schools of the neighborhood, and on attaining manhood he devoted his attention to teaching in the winter months, that being the only time the schools were kept open in the rural districts, and farming during the summer months. He was a highly educated man, and greatly esteemed in the community in which he resided.

He held the office of justice of the peace for a number of years, discharging the duties with credit to himself and satisfaction to all who were concerned, he succeeded his uncle Ezekial on his father's farm, whereon he resided up to the time of his decease, in 1848. His wife, Ann (Roads) Clayton, daughter of Samuel and Abigail (Jenkins) Roads, and a descendant of an old Moreland family, bore him the following named children: Edwin, a resident of Philadelphia: Samuel R., a hotel keeper at Edgehill; Dr. A. H., a resident of Richboro; Levi R., deceased, mentioned at length hereinafter; Margaret, deceased, who was the wife of Harman Lather.

Levi R Clayton (father) was born in Moreland township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, September 5, 1843. The greater part of his life was spent at Springhouse, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits. In politics Mr. Clayton was an earnest Republican from the time of the organization of the party in the year 1856. He was deeply interested in the success of its principles and candidates, and made it a point never to fail in his attendance at the primaries and at the elections. He held the office of school director in Gwynedd township for a number of years, and also filled other minor positions, but was in no sense an office seeker.

(Picture of Levi J. Clayton)

He married Cecilia Scarlett, daughter of Robert Scarlett, an old resident of Gwynedd township, and a well known contractor and road builder. Their children were: 1. William L., born April 4, 1866, mentioned hereinafter. 2. Clifford J., who married Minnie Wheatland, daughter of William Wheatland, and his death occurred April 28, 1902. 3. Levi J., born February 19, 1870; he obtained his educational training in the schools of Montgomery county, and upon laying aside his text books he served an apprenticeship at the printer's trade with the Hatboro Spirit, a local paper of his native county. Later he entered the employment of the Philadelphia Press, and has continued with that enterprising journal to the present time. He married, August 26, 1896, Della Wilgus, born August 16, 1870, died October 27, 1901, a daughter of Ellwood and Ellen Wilgus. 4. Carrie G., who died at the age of fourteen years. 5. Robert, who died at the age of two years.

Levi R. Clayton, father of these children, who was a most estimable citizen and highly valued in the community, died in 1895. He survived his wife many years, her death having occurred in December, 1876.

William L. Clayton received a public school education which thoroughly qualified him for the activities of life. He began his active career in the office of the Hatboro Spirit, remaining for four years.

In 1886 he went west and was employed in printing offices at Denver, Colorado; Salt Lake City Utah; San Francisco, Los Angeles, and San Diego, California. After a residence of five years on the Pacific coast, Mr. Clayton came east on account of the serious illness of his father, and subsequently became employed on the Philadelphia Inquirer. On April 7, 1894, he entered into copartnership with his brother, Levi J. Clayton, in the publication of the Jenkintown Times.

On January 1, 1895, they purchased the Jenkintown Chronicle, and at once changed the name of their paper to the Jenkintown Times-Chronicle. Mr. Clayton is preeminently a self-made man, and has risen entirely by his own exertions to his present responsible position. He is fearless and independent in his management of the paper, and under his editorship the enterprise has prospered to a wonderful degree, and the circulation has increased year by year. He is thoroughly respected and esteemed by all who have the honor of his acquaintance. Mr. Clayton is a member of Friendship Lodge, No. 400, Free and Accepted Masons; Abington Chapter, No. 410, Royal Arch Masons, of Jenkintown; and Peace and Love Lodge, No. 337, Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

(Page 470)



THEODORE HOLLY, the successful manufacturer of Dutch cheese at Souderton, he being one of three persons in this country who are making it, is of German parentage, his father, Adam Holly, being a native of that country as well as his mother. Theodore Holly was born in Hilltown township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, February 12, 1855.

Adam Holly, father, was born and educated in the Fatherland, attending the best schools, On leaving school he turned his attention to agriculture, of which occupation he had acquired some knowledge. He followed farming very successfully for a number of years. In the meantime he married Miss Anna Nortonheiser. The couple having decided to establish their future home in America, they emigrated to this country, landing in Philadelphia, and proceeding at once to Hilltown, in Bucks county. Mr. Holly immediately engaged in his old occupation, and became one of the progressive farmers of his section. In politics Mr. Holly was a Democrat, and while he never sought or held office, he was always willing to do whatever was possible to promote party success. In connection with his occupation of farming,

Mr. Holly engaged in the manufacture of what is known as Dutch cheese, the secret of which he had learned in Germany. He was very successful in this branch of business and soon commanded a large trade. He died in 1888, and his wife is also deceased. The children of the couple were John, Gustav, Charles and Theodore, the last named of whom was reared to the occupation of farming, obtaining meantime what education was to be had in the country schools of the township.

On completing his school studies, Theodore Holly turned his attention to farming and also assisted his father in making the cheese. Soon after his father's death he conceived the idea of carrying on the business on a larger scale. He accordingly removed to Souderton, where he built a large factory and is extensively engaged in the manufacture of that product, finding a ready market for all that he produces. It is sent to all the prominent cities of the country.

Mr. Holly married, in 1887, Miss Emma Horton, daughter of John Horton, of Doylestown, the countyseat of Bucks county, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Holly died in 1901. The couple had one child, William. Mr. Holly is one of the most enterprising citizens of the borough of Souderton, and is greatly respected by the whole community. He is a Democrat in politics, and is earnest in support of the principles and candidates of that party. He is not an office seeker, but has been elected a member of the town council. He is an attendant at the Catholic church, having been educated in that faith.



TOBIAS EHST MOYER, a prominent farmer of Lower Pottsgrove township, was born May 10, 1863, in Washington township, Berks county. He is the son of Levi B. and Elizabeth (Ehst) Moyer.

Levi B. Moyer (father) was born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and at present resides in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. He is and always has been a carpenter, having been very successful in his business, and having constructed many handsome buildings. He is a Republican, and is a member of the Episcopal church. Levi B. Moyer was twice married.

His first wife, Mrs. Elizabeth (Ehst) Moyer, died when Tobias Ehst Moyer, their only child, was two years and a half old. She is buried in Berks county.

Mr. Levi Moyer married (second wife) Mary Tease, and they have two children, both residing in Bethlehem. They are: Edwin Moyer, married Emma and they have one child. He is engaged in the wholesale tobacco business. Ida, married Edwin Ludwig, who is by trade an iron worker and is employed by the government as inspector.

Peter Moyer (grandfather) lived in Bucks county, where he was engaged as a farmer all his life. He married Elizabeth Behler. The great-grandfather of Tobias E. Moyer emigrated from Germany, and settled in Bucks county. Tobias E. Moyer acquired a good education, having attended school until he was eighteen years of age. He then started to learn the trade of a miller, and worked in a mill for eleven years.

He married Amanda Gabel, daughter of Jacob and Mary (Stauffer) Gabel, who lived with their daughter after her marriage. They owned and lived on the farm which Tobias E. Moyer afterwards bought. Mr. Gabel died July 19, 1891, and his wife died in December, 1895. They were both Mennonites, and are buried in Coventry township, Chester county. Mr. and Mrs. Tobias E. Moyer have three children, all residing with their parents. They are: Edwin Levi, Arthur Tobias and Mary Elizabeth.

After leaving the milling; business in Boyertown and Lehigh county, Mr. Moyer bought the farm where he now lives and has lived for eleven years. He has improved the place, which was already favored by nature with good soil and a beautiful location. Among other buildings he has erected a new barn.

Mr. Moyer in 1904 leased his farm and bought a handsome residence in Pottstown, at No. 523 King street, where he now resides.

Before he left Lehigh county his house was entirely burned, together with all the household goods. Mr. Moyer is a Republican in politics, and has been a school director for many years, taking an active interest, as every progressive man does, in improving the educational facilities of his township. He is interested in the Ringing Rocks dining Company, being a director in the company and, also an extensive stockholder. Mr. Moyer and his family are members of the Mennonite church.

ISABELLA F. AND MARY CORSON are descended from one of the oldest families in Eastern Pennsylvania. They are the daughters of Alan and Elizabeth (Francis) Corson.

Cornelius Corson and wife emigrated from France about 1685, soon after the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, and settled on Staten Island, New York. All the family in America are descended from this couple. Cornelius Corson's will was probated in 1693. His son, Benjamin Corson, born on Staten Island, settled in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, about the year 1726. He is the ancestor of the Corsons of Bucks, Montgomery, and adjacent counties. His son, Benjamin Corson (great-great-grandfather), was seven years old when he came from Staten Island with his father. He married Maria Sedam, or Suydam, and had one son, Henry, who married Margaret Cornell. The other children Benjamin, Cornelius, John, Richard, Mary, Jane, Abraham.

Henry Corson (great-grandfather) had the following children: Benjamin (grandfather), Wilhelmas, Richard, Cornelius, Alice, and Mary. Henry Corson lived in Plymouth township in 1700. According to tradition he was very stout, Weighing four hundred pounds. He was buried at Falls of Schuylkill about the year 1800.

Benjamin Corson (grandfather), eldest son of Henry, was a farmer, in Whitemarsh township, Montgomery county. He married Mary Febridge. They had three children: Margaret Corson, unmarried, now deceased; Susan Corson, married Peter Weaver, and had no children; Alan Corson (father), married Elizabeth Francis, daughter of Thomas and Margaret Francis, of Shannonville, now Audubon.

Benjamin Corson married (second wife) Christiana Febridge, sister of his first wife, by whom he had two children: Amos E. and Mary F. Amos married Mary A., daughter of Abraham Heydrick, of Chestnut Hill. They had one child, Sarah T. Corson, who married James Vancourt, who lived near Fort Washington.

Mary F. Corson married Charles Vancourt, and had five children: Benjamin F. (deceased); James, who married his cousin, Sarah Corson; Emma (deceased); Howard, in the publishing business, married Sarah E. Rickert, and they have five children; Horace, who married Anna E., daughter of the late Jacob Craft, of Norristown.

(Page 472)

Alan Corson (father) was reared and educated in Montgomery, where he was born March 29, 1808. He taught school in the county for many years, but finally settled on a farm near Audubon. He carried on general farming and attended market, being of good business capacity. He was often called upon to prepare legal documents and settle: estates. He served as justice of the peace for many years. He was a Whig in politics, and was one of the progressive men of the community where he lived. he died April 19, 1855. His wife was born October 7, 1813, and died October 1, 7894. She was the daughter of Thomas and Margaret (Umstead) Francis. The children of Alan and Elizabeth (Francis) Corson; Isabella F.; Thomas F.; Margaret, died at the age of three years, and Mary.

Thomas Francis (maternal grandfather of Isabella and Mary Corson) was born in Montgomery county. He was of Welsh descent, and his wife of Holland Dutch. He was not a church member, but was trustee of the building of the Episcopal church, and was an advocate of all that was good. He was one of the early settlers of Lower Providence township, and was widely known and respected. Their children Issabela (Mrs. William McHarg); a son who died unmarried: John U.; Joseph, married Mary Phillips; and Elizabeth (mother).

Thomas F. Corson, brother of Isabella F. and Mary Corson, was a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, and was a prominent physician. He was an assistant surgeon in the Civil war, and afterwards settled in Philadelphia and engaged in the drug business and in the practice of his profession. He later retired from active practice, and was in the real estate business until his death on May 29, 1902. He married (first wife) Margaret Johnson, and had one daughter, Jeanette, who lives with her aunts, Isabella F. and Mary. He married (second wife) Edith McPherson, and they had one son, Alan Corson, a civil engineer, who is married and lives in Philadelphia.

Isabella F. and Mary, the oldest and youngest of their father's children, have never married and for years have lived together at Audubon, in Lower Providence township. Their niece Jeanette also lives with them, and their home is a proof of the fact that three women may live happily together.



(Picture of Alexander Loughin)

ALEXANDER LOUGHIN was born October 23, 1845, in Sewickley township, Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania. He is the son of Daniel and Jane (McKay) Loughin. He came with his father to Montgomery county by stage and boat, that being before they building of the Pennsylvania Railroad. His father settled in Port Kennedy, where Alexander grew to manhood and now resides. He attended the public schools of the township, but left school at au early age. He drove his father's team on the Schuylkill canal, hauling lime and coal from Philadelphia to different points in the state.

In 1862 he started to learn the trade of molder in the foundry of Samuel Cresswell, in Philadelphia, and remained there six months. For the next year he was employed in the blacksmith shops of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad, at Sixteenth street and Penn avenue, Philadelphia. After that, and until 1867, Mr. Loughin worked in the blacksmith shop of Evan Vanderslice, at Fountain Inn.

In the last named year, being desirous of seeing something of the country farther west, he went to Iowa and remained in that state for four months. For a time he was employed by a bridge building company. After returning to his home he worked in his father's store and coal yard until, again excited by the spirit of adventure, he took another trip to Iowa, this time staying

(Page 473)

for six months. After this journey he settled down at Port Kennedy, conducting a general store for many years. This store is now managed by Daniel H. Loughin, a nephew of Alexander Loughin, who is also postmaster of Port Kennedy.

After conducting his store very successfully for about twenty-five years, Mr. Alexander Loughin retired from active life in 1895, and since that time he has been attending to his real-estate interests in Port Kennedy and to his farm in Stafford county, Virginia, which he purchased in 1899. It includes six hundred and twenty-five acres of land, three hundred of which are improved, and is situated four miles from Brooke Station, on the Richmond, Fredericksburg & Potomac Railroad. It is a typical Virginia homestead on the banks of the Potomac river, at Aqua Creek, landing, which was famous daring the Civil war.

Alexander Loughin is an independent Democrat, voting for candidates according to their worth rather than according to their party. He was postmaster of Port Kennedy for ten years, holding the office during Cleveland's first term, Harrison's administration, and part of Cleveland's second term. He is not a member of any church but is a trustee of the Port Kennedy Presbyterian church.

On May 2, 1893, Alexander Loughin married Mary M., daughter of Benjamin and Margaret (Shambough) Jones, who was born in Lower Providence township, February 6, 1837. The Jones family are old residents of Montgomery county and have always lived in Lower Providence, township. Mrs. Margaret (Shambough) Jones was of German extraction and her husband's ancestors were Welsh. Both Mr. and Mrs. Jones were members of the Lower Providence Presbyterian church and are buried in its churchyard. Mr. Jones died in 1885 and his wife in 1869.

They had five children as follows Lydia Ann, married Price Schutt, and lived in Port Kennedy until Mr. Schutt's death. Mary M., is the wife of Mr. Loughin. Elizabeth married Christopher Bridge and they live in Princeton, Minnesota. Mr. Bridge was a member of Company I, Fifty-first Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, under Colonel Hartranft, and served throughout the war. He re-enlisted with his regiment and was wounded in the head in one of the battles in Virginia. John died in childhood. David married and lives in Norristown.

Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Loughin have no children. Daniel Loughin, the father of Alexander Loughin, settled at Port Kennedy in 1847. He was born in County Antrim, Ireland, but his ancestors were of Scotch crescent. He came to America when about eighteen years of age. Two brothers and his mother also came to America. His father died in Ireland.

In 1863 he bought the hotel and removed to it in 186. He married Miss Jane McKay, who was born in Ireland. He died September 15, 1898, while his wife died in Port Kennedy, in August, 1892. Their children are: Isabella, born in Pittsburg, February 10, 1842. She resides with her sister Catharine, and manages the Logan home. John, born in Sewickley township, Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, November 6, 1843, married Annie R. Gitty, and they live in Virginia. He served in the Civil war.

His first enlistment was with the Weathrell Guards, before the war, but from some cause they were disbanded when called into service. On June 16, 1863, he joined the Second Blue Reserves of Philadelphia, known as the "Thirty-third Pennsylvania Volunteers and served until August 3, 1863. This was during the invasion of Pennsylvania by Lee and his army.

In February, 1864, he joined Company C, One Hundred and Eighty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers. The regiment was commanded by Lieutenant-Colonel G. K. Bowin, Third Brigade, First Division, Eighteenth Army Corps. He was slightly wounded at Dorsey's Muffs but did not leave the field. Here he was made corporal.

At Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864, he was wounded in the right leg, was sent to the hospital and on his return was made sergeant. After Lee's surrender he was transferred to the Freedemen's bureau at Campbell Courthouse, where he remained until December 14, 1865, when he was honorably discharged. Mr. Longhin was engaged in ten raids and engagements, including Swift Creek, Fair Oaks, Cold Harbor, Chapins Farm and several others. The company to which he belonged lost in killed and wounded one captain, two lieutenants and forty-two men.

Alexander is the third of the family. Annie J., born December 2, 1847, married William A. Murtha (deceased). She lives at Port Kennedy. Mr. Murtha served in the war of the Rebellion. Daniel, Jr., born February 10, 1850, died May 18, 1877, unmarried. He was a conductor on a Philadelphia & Reading express train. Catharine, born June 21, 1854, is unmarried and lives with her sister Isabella. Harry Loughin, born March 16, 1858, married Clara J. Gibson. He was the conductor on the train which was wrecked at Shoemakersville, September 19, 1900, and was among the killed. He left a widow and one child, Jennie G., seventeen months old.

(Page 474)

Alexander Loughin was made a mason in Phoenix Lodge, No. 75, F. & A. M., Phoenixville, Chester county, Pennsylvania, December 18, 1869. He is a member of Phoenix Chapter and the Jerusalem Commandry, No. 15, of Phoenixville, Chester county, also of Port Kennedy Council, No. 844 Jr. O. U. A. M. and is past officer and treasurer of the council, and the Valley Forge Lodge, No. 459, I. O. O. F. He has filled all the chairs and is now its secretary.



AUGUST STREHLE, son of Matthias and Eleanor (Verger) Strehle, was born May 19, 1835, at New Weir, in the Grand Duchy of Baden, Germany. His father was a cooper by trade, to which August was also apprenticed after attending the state school of his parish until he had reached the age of fourteen years.

In 1855, having finished his apprenticeship, August came to this country and settled in Philadelphia, where he worked for Louis Bergdoll and others at his trade until the year 1864, when he established himself in business as a cooper at No. 1732 Frankford avenue. He also kept a hotel at that location, remaining in business there until 1898 when he retired, having disposed of his business, and decided to remove to the country.

Mr. Strehle married, November 14, 1836, Frederica Pflander, born May 28, 1837, daughter of Jacob and Agrees Barbara (Heckler) Pflander, of Felbach, Whittberg, in Germany, at which place the father had been for some years a bailiff or constable, but he dying his widow removed to Philadelphia.

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Strehle: 1. Mary, born November 29, 1837, married Charles Smith, of Philadelphia, and had two children; Elizabeth, born October 9, 1859, who married Joseph Muller, of Philadelphia, and had two children, Frederica, born July 20, 1888, and Harry, born September 22, 1895; Catharine, born September 6, 1861, died in October, 1866; August, born September 8, 1863, died in infancy; Josephine, born in 1865, deceased; Frederica, born September 6, 1867, married Louis Kiefer, of Philadelphia; August, second, born April 15, 1869, married Gertrude Kramer, of Philadelphia, and had one child, Edna, born in December, 1895; Amelia, born June 3, 1871, married in April, 1895, Louis Doell, of Philadelphia, and had three children, Edna, Walter, and Henrietta ; Henry, born in 1873, died in 1876; Harry, born October 7, 1876, married, July, 1901, Mary Rayner, daughter of Henry Rayner, of Penllyn, farmer, and had two children, Mary, born November 7, 1902, and Henry, born July 19, 1903; Frank, born July 19, 1879, deceased.

Mr. Strehle, having retired from active business, resides upon the farm that his thrift and industry have enabled him to acquire. In his younger and more active years, he took much interest in those organizations that are dear to the German heart, and whose tendency is to keep up the old associations of the sons and daughters of the Fatherland, including the Junger Mannerchor, the Canstatters, Schutzenferein and singing societies. Fraternally Mr. Strehle is a member of Gothic Lodge, No. 519, Free and Accepted Masons, of Philadelphia, and has been since 1870. Now in the autumn of life, Mr. Strehle, having raised his family, is enjoying well-earned repose, and enjoys the respect and confidence of the community in which he lives.

(Page 475)



JOHN R. HERNER was born in Amity township, Berks county, Pennsylvania, November 18, 1834. He is the son of David and Susan (Rhoads) Herner.

David Herner (father) was born in Amity township, Berks county, and spent his life on the farm. He held various township offices, and was a prominent man in his community. He died in Amity township at the age of eighty-nine years. He married Susan Rhoads, who was born at Milton, Pennsylvania, and died at the age of seventy-seven years. David Herner was a member of the German Reformed church, while his wife was a Lutheran. They had eight children, four of whom are now living: John R., Nathaniel, Sarah and Franklin.

Henry Herner (grandfather) was also a native of Berks county, and was a farmer. He served in the war of 1812, and at the time of his death was nearly ninety years of age. He held township offices. His wife lived to an advanced age and they had a large family. John Rhoads (maternal grandfather) was born in Pennsylvania, and spent most of his life at Milton, where he was a farmer. He and his wife both lived to an old age. They had five children.

John R. Herner was reared in Berks county and attended the district schools. Beginning at the age of eighteen he worked at the trade of flour milling for sixteen, years, part of the time operating a mill which he had rented, in Amity township. After leaving the milling business he worked on the farm for three years, during which time his wife died. In 1878 he removed to Pottstown, where he has resided ever since, being employed in the Pottstown Iron Company's mill.

November 3, 1862, John R. Herner married Miss Susan Sassaman, daughter of Daniel and Susan Sassaman. They had four children: 1. Warren, a puddler in the Glasgow Iron Works. He married Clara Schaeffer and they have one child, Maud. 2. Lucy, unmarried and keeps house for her father. 3. David, died at the age of ten years. 4. John Allen, died at the age of eight months. Mrs. Susan (Sassaman) Herner died in 1873, at the age of twenty-eight years. She belonged to the German Reformed church. October 8, 1887, John R. Herner married (second wife) Mrs. Matilda Moyer, widow of William Moyer. Mrs. Matilda Herner died in 1891, at the age of forty-four years. She was a Baptist.

Mr. Herner is a member of the German Reformed church. Politically he is a Democrat, and was a school director for several terms. He was also township auditor and held other township offices. He belongs to the Patriotic Order, Sons of America. He resides at 401 Chestnut street, where he bought a home and remodeled it.



MAHLON HILLEGASS, a retired merchant and highly respected citizen of East Greenville, is a son of Charles and Christiana (Graber) Hillegass. He was born July 19, 1829, in Milford township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania.

Charles Hillegass (father) married Christiana Graber. He was one of the projectors and chief promoters of the Goshenhoppen Turnpike Road Company, organized in 1851, and served for many years as its president. He was a leading member of the new Goshenhoppen church, served as elder, deacon and trustee, and was also one of the building committee of the present church.

Mahlon Hillegass received only a limited education at the district schools of that day. He learned the mercantile business by clerking in his father's store, and after sufficiently mastering its details he engaged in business for himself at East Greenville, where he soon built up a very extensive and profitable trade, one of the largest in that section of the county. He continued in business until his hearing became impaired, when he retired and has since lived at his home in East Greenville. He is a Democrat in politics and a leading member and elder of the New Goshenhoppen Reformed church. He served as treasurer of the Greenlane and Goshenhoppen Turnpike Road Company for thirty-seven years.

On October 1, 1859, he married Sallie W., daughter of Daniel Eberhard, a farmer of Lower Milford township, Lehigh county. They had one child, Cyrus Ellsworth, who died in infancy. Mr. Hillegass is a worthy descendant of worthy ancestors. He is a progressive and public-spirited citizen, taking an intelligent interest in everything that is likely to benefit his community. He is widely known and greatly respected.

(Page 476)



DR. ELMER N. SOUDER, a prominent physician of Souderton, is the son of Jonas and Amanda (Nicholas) Souder, of a family long resident in Franconia township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. He is the only child of the couple.

Dr. Souder was born February 24, 1871. He was educated in the public schools of Richland township, and after completing the course very satisfactorily entered as a student at the State Normal School at West Chester. After completing the course there, he entered the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, where he graduated in 1895, and then located at his present hone in Souderton. He has succeeded in establishing an extensive and profitable practice not only in Souderton, but in the surrounding country.

He married, in 1897, Miss Bertha Hartzell, of Hilltown, Bucks county, belonging to an old and highly respected family of German descent. She is a daughter of Andrew Hartzell. The couple have one child, Gladys.

Mr. Souder is a Republican in politics, although he is too busy with his professional duties to become a candidate for public office. He is, however, a member of the board of health of Souderton. He is a member of the Patriotic Order, Sons of America. He and his family attend the Methodist church.

The Souder family is one of the oldest in Montgomery county, being of German origin. The founder of the family in America was Christian Souder, who came to Pennsylvania in colonial times and settled in Franconia township, Montgomery (then Philadelphia) county, near the Indian Creek Reformed church. He was there in 1755 if not earlier. He married and reared a family, among his children being Jacob Souder, who was reared on the farm and attended neighborhood schools. He became a farmer, which occupation he followed through life on the old Franconia homestead.

Among the children of Jacob Souder was Christian, the grandfather of Dr. Souder, the subject of this sketch. He was born on the homestead in the year 1791. Christian Souder was a man considerably above the average in ability and good judgment. He acquired an ordinary education in the schools of the vicinity, and then devoted himself to the occupation of farming, dying at a very advanced age. He retained his faculties until his death in a very remarkable manner. Christian Souder married Miss Catherine Nyce, of the same township, and reared a large family of children. Among then was Jonas, the father of Mr. Elmer N. Souder. He was born at the homestead in 1836, and died in 1873. After completing his studies at the schools of the vicinity he learned the shoemaking trade, and followed it successfully for a number of years. He removed from the old neighborhood to the vicinity of Telford, in Franconia township. He married Miss Amanda Nicholas, who is still living. Mr. Souder was a Mennonite in religious faith, and in politics a Republican.

The Souders are numerous in that section of Montgomery county, and are among the most respected and useful members, of the community.



(Picture of Charles Mann)

DR. CHARLES MANN, a leading physician of Bridgeport, is a member of an old Bucks county family. He was born in Doylestown, August 3, 1852, on the homestead farm which came into the possession of his grandfather in 1700, he buying it of Benjamin Snodgrass. It is now owned by Dr. Charles H. Mann. On this farm Dr. Mann was reared, attending the public schools of the vicinity and graduating at the Doylestown Seminary. From that institution he entered LaFayette College, at Easton, taking a two years' course. He then became a student in the Bellevue Medical College in New York city, from which he was graduated in April, 1871. He also graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, receiving from the last-named institution his degree of M. D.

(Page 477)

Dr. Mann was resident physician at the Children's Hospital, at Twenty-second and Walnut streets, from his graduation until February 1875. He then went to Bridgeport, Montgomery County, April 1, 1875, and there he has continued until the present time, having an extensive practice and enjoying a high reputation for medical knowledge and skill. A considerable part of his practice consists of accident cases due to the railroad lines which are operated in that borough. He is always ready in any emergency to give prompt attention and to relieve the sufferings of any who have been injured in any, way. He was a prominent witness in the Kaiser murder case which occurred a few years ago, he having been called upon to render aid to the murdered woman, but finding that life had been extinct for some time when the party reached his office.

Dr. Mann is a Democrat in politics but not an office seeker in any sense of the word. He has been very closely identified with the public school interests of the borough oŁ Bridgeport, having been a member of the school board for thirteen consecutive years. He has also been a member of the Bridgeport town council two terms. He was on the United States pension board for six years, having been appointed during the administration of President Cleveland. He has been a member of Montgomery Lodge of Odd Fellows, No. 57, for more than a quarter of a century. He is also a charter member of the Bridgeport Camp of Patriotic Order Sons of America, and belongs to the Foresters of America, Court Pride of Norristown, of which order he has been surgeon for a dozen years.

Dr. Mann has belonged to the Bridgeport Presbyterian church for more than a quarter of a century, and is a member of its board of trustees and an elder. He is a member of the County and State Medical Societies and was for some time president of the Montgomery County Medical Society. He has been a member of the surgical staff of Charity Hospital, Norristown, since the organization of that institution. He has been coroner's physician for Montgomery county since January, 1902.

James S. Mann (father) was born on the homestead farm in Bucks county and on reaching manhood became a farmer and ultimately the owner of the tract. In 1875 he engaged in mercantile pursuits in Doylestown.

On January 9, 1879, Dr. Mann married Frances Kimbel, daughter of John and Charlotte (Miller) Bickings. She was born in Norriton township, being a descendant of an old Montgomery county family. Her grandfather on the mother's side was. Samuel Miller, of another old family long resident in the vicinity of Norristown. They were all farmers. Mrs. Mann's father, John Bickings, was born in Norriton and always lived there. The Bickings and Millers were Democrats. Charles Miller, an attorney in Norristown, was a member of the Miller family.

Charles H. and Frances Kimbel Mann have three children: Charles Warren, born January 25, 1880, graduated from the Norristown high school and then entered Lafayette College, where be remained two years. He next entered the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania but was obliged to abandon his studies there owing to the condition of his health, and is now secretary and treasurer of the Eureka Paper Mill, in Bridgeport; Charlotte Bickings, born June 5, 1882, was graduated from the Bridgeport high school and Wilson College, Chambersburg, and now, resides with her parents; Martha Weir, born July 17, 1884, was graduated from the Norristown high school, in the class of 1903, and then entered Wilson College, at Chambersburg.

The Manns of Doylestown and adjoining townships and counties are descended from Scotch-Irish ancestry. John Mann, son of James and Mary, emigrated from County Donegal, Ireland, to America, at the age of twenty years, landing at Bristol in 1732 or 3. He came with the McNairs and other Scotch-Irish families since prominent. He settled in Warminster or Warwick township, not far from Hartsville, owning land in both at his death.

In 1736 he married Margaret Mitchel, of Warwick, born in 1707. Their children are: William, born in 1738; Mary, 1740; John, 1742; Ann, 1745; James (first) 1747; James (second) 1749; and Samuel Mitchel, 1755. In 1748 he purchased one hundred and sixty-two acres of land in Horsham township, which became the family homestead. In 1754 he erected a dwelling which is still standing. His wife died in 1769 and he in 1779, at the age of sixty-seven years. His sons and daughters married into the families of McLaughlin, McNair, Keith and others, and were all Presbyterians in religious faith. Joel K. Mann, of Montgomery county, was a congressman. He died in 1857, at the age of seventy-six years. James S. Mann, of Doylestown, (father) is a grandson of the immigrant.

(Page 478)



JESSE S. LAROS, formerly LaRose, a descendant of an early settled family of Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, was born at the old homestead in Upper Macungie township, August 21, 1844. He was reared as a farmer, receiving an ordinary common school education. He was the son of Jesse and Lydia (Seigfried) Laros, she of Berks county, and he was born at the Lehigh county homestead. Jesse Laros (father) was the son of Henry and Catharine (Jacoby) Laros, both of Lehigh county.

Henry Laros (grandfather) was the son of Nicholas Laros, who, with two brothers, came from Europe and settled in Pennsylvania. He was of French Huguenot origin, but during the persecutions in France on account of religious opinions, the family drifted away from their native country, settling elsewhere in Europe. The three brothers who emigrated to America settled in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, Lehigh being afterwards formed from it.

The original deed, of parchment, for the land which he bought from William Penn's agent, is now in the possession of his descendant, Jesse S. Laros. The land is still owned by Mr. Laros, and it has never been out of the family. The family have always been more or less prominent in the community, being considerably above the average of their neighbors in intelligence and general ability, as well as in education.

Nicholas Laros (great-grandfather) was a member of the Reformed church. He had three children: Henry (grandfather), Magdalena (Mrs. Hines), and Christina (Mrs. V. Unger). Henry, the son, remained in Lehigh county, the homestead having been left him by his father's will. He was prominently identified with the interests of the county, serving for a long time as justice of the peace, and also as county commissioner, a very responsible office. He was well educated, and wrote the constitution and by-laws of the Reformed church to which he belonged, as well as transacting other public business. He died in 1859. His children: Jesse (father), Thomas, Enos, Catharine (Mrs. Jonathan Smoyer), Dena (Mrs. Amos Smoyer), Lucy (Mrs. S. Dornblaser), Elizabeth, died young. Jesse (father) died on the old farm in 1879, at the age of seventy-one years. He improved the farm which had been the home of his parents. In addition to farming, he engaged in mining, the land being well supplied with iron ore. The family became connected with those of German ancestry through intermarriage with their neighbors, and those of the present generation speak that language, as well as English. The family traditions are all Democratic, and the representatives of the family now living are all of that political faith. Jesse (father) held the position of school director and other minor offices, but never aspired to higher honors. It has often been said of him, as of his father and his son, that "his word was as good as his bond."

The wife of Jesse Laros, Sr., died in 1877. Her father, Solomon Seigfried, was a farmer by occupation. When he settled in that locality (Berks county) there were yet Indians in the neighborhood, who frequently came to his spring in order to obtain a supply of good water. His children: Lydia (mother), Daniel, Henry, David, Elizabeth (Mrs. Dankel), Harriet (Mrs. J. Christman), Polly (Mrs. Ocker), Solomon.

The children of Jesse and Lydia Laros: Mary (Mrs. J. Warm Kessel), Lavina (Mrs. W. Kerchner), Judith (Mrs. E. Griffith), Elimena (Mrs. R. Stetler), who died, and her sister Catharine became his second wife; Jesse S., subject of this sketch; Lydia (Mrs. Benjamin Rupp), Edwin, died at the age of twenty-two years, Sarah (Mrs. George Lichtenwaler). The children were all reared in the Reformed faith.

(Page 479)

Jesse S. Laros inherited the homestead in Lehigh county, but some of the heirs not being satisfied with his taking at the appraisement, as the will stipulated, he bought the farm and paid off the other heirs. He had already farmed the place for eleven years. He had also mined iron ore. He remained at the homestead until 1891, when he removed with his family to Collegeville, on account of the educational advantages of the place. He had himself added much to his education by attending school after he had reached the age of twenty-one years, thus qualifying himself for whatever business he might undertake. Resolved to educate his children thoroughly, he selected the vicinity in which Ursinus College is located as a suitable place for his home. All his children are graduates of Ursinus, two of them being ministers in the Reformed church, and one a physician. Mr. Laros, having determined on his future place of residence, purchased a commodious house and fifteen acres of land to which he removed, still living thereon. He is a Democrat in politics, although not an office-seeker in any sense of the term. He has frequently been importuned to become a candidate for public position, but has steadily refused, partly on the ground that if he were a candidate he would be obliged to furnish liquor to voters, against which he is principled, being a strong temperance advocate. He is a man of good business ability, who would dignify any position to which he might be chosen. On coming to Collegeville, he rented his farm in Lehigh county on a ten-year lease, and still owns it, receiving also a royalty on each ton of ore that is mined.

Mr. Laros married, in 1868, Miss Maria Moore, who was born in Lehigh county, December 3, 1844. Mrs. Laros is the daughter of Solomon and Elizabeth Moore. Solomon Moore was the son of Herman Moore, and Herman was the son of Herman Moore, Sr., who came from Germany and settled in Lehigh county. Mrs. Laros was born on the farm on which her great-grandfather settled, and on which the different generations of the family have since resided. Her ancestors were farmers and members of the reformed church.

The children of Herman Moore: Solomon (father of Mrs. Laros), Jonas, Herman, Polly (Mrs. Jonathan Moore), Sallie (Mrs. Meigsler), Elizabeth (Mrs. G. Bechtel), Lydia (Mrs. D. Garnet).

Solomon Moore was reared as a farmer, and lived retired for several years prior to his death, which occurred in 1897, at the age of eighty-five years. He was a Whig, and later a Republican in politics, but never sought or held office, preferring private life. His wife died in 1879.

Their children: Tervilia (Mrs. J. Fruse), Solomon, Jr., Jonathan, Tillman, Andrew, Llewellyn, Phaon, Maria (Mrs. Laros), Amanda (Mrs. F. Hanninger), Catharine, died unmarried.

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Jesse S. Laros: Pruella, wife of the Rev. William Yenser, located at Marietta, Pennsylvania; Edwin, Reformed minister at Lansford, Carbon county, Pennsylvania; Frank, pastor of the Reformed church, at Pottstown; Albert, a practicing physician at Northampton; Katie, unmarried; Malcolm, a graduate of Ursinus College, who is preparing for the Reformed ministry; Minnie, died at the age of six years.

Mr. and Mrs. Laros enjoy the respect and esteem of all who know them, having a well-spent life to recall, as well as the fact that they have done their best to educate their children properly.



ANDREW JACKSON MURPHY, son of John and Tacy (Gillin) Murphy, was born August 18, 1859, on the farm his father rented from the Scarlett estate, situated on the Bethlehem turnpike, near Springhouse, in Lower Gwynedd township.

He attended the public school, at Cedar Hill, and for a time the Friends' School, at Gwynedd Meeting, then taught by Ellwood Roberts, in the meantime assisting his father on the farm, and working for neighboring farmers. On leaving school he continued in this way until his marriage, which took place October 14, 1882, to Mary Ellen, daughter of David C. and Elizabeth (Cope) Davis, of Springhouse. She was born June 15, 1863.

(Page 480)

After his marriage Mr. Murphy located on the farm of Andrew J. Hoover, on the turnpike, near Penllyn, in Lower Gwynedd township, from which he removed to the Levi R. Clayton property, at Springhouse, at the same time securing employment from different farmers in the neighborhood. He then purchased the property, containing three acres, of Catharine Beck, at Springhouse, which he soon afterwards sold and purchased the property of Dr. Graham, consisting of 47 acres, on the Gwynedd road, which he operated as a dairy.

In 1897 he sold the Graham farm to B. W. Green, of Germantown, who is one of the colony of new residents in that section of the township. Mr. Murphy then leased the farm of Frederick Phander, on the Bethlehem turnpike, in Horsham township, for a year. In the spring of 1898 he leased the farm on which he now lives, belonging to the John Hoffman estate, located on the Welsh road, in Gwynedd.

It contains 114 acres of improved land and woodland, which he operated for some years as a dairy. Later he purchased the farm. He has eighteen to twenty head of cows, and is in every respect a successful farmer, attending strictly to business, and neglecting nothing that will contribute to prosperity on the farm. In politics he is a Democrat, and is much interested in party success at the polls.

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew J. Murphy are: Benjamin F., Mary Elizabeth, George Deane, Mabel, Elmira, Edward, and Helen. The family are members of the Episcopal Church of the Messiah, at Gwynedd.

John Murphy (father) was a native of Ireland, but came to this country when he was quite young. He lived for a time in Philadelphia, and then located in Montgomery county, where he was employed in farming. He married Mrs. Gillin, widow of Thomas Gillin, whose maiden name was Deane. She was a member of an old and prominent family in Montgomery county. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Murphy were: John Fitzwater, born October 17, 1853, unmarried, and lives at Springhouse with his brother, George D. Murphy; Benjamin Franklin, born September 16, 1854, married Julia Frances Hoffman, daughter of John and Louisa (Holwich) Hoffman, of Lower Gwynedd, they living in Whitpain township; Andrew J., subject of this sketch; George D., born September 28, 1860, married, September 8, 1892, Emma A. Halberstadt. Mr. and Mrs. John Murphy were married February 19, 1852. Both are now deceased.



ANDREW J. BRADLEY, editor of the "Daily News," of Pottstown, was born in Philadelphia, September 9, 1868. He is the son of Andrew and Ellen (Walls) Bradley, both natives of Philadelphia. They had two children Sallie, wife of Frank J. Kerr, of Philadelphia; and Andrew J. Bradley.

Andrew Bradley (father) was a blacksmith by trade, and later raised and trained race horses. He now lives retired at Elkton, Maryland. His wife died in 1895, being sixty-five years old at the time of her death. They were both Catholics. The paternal grandfather of Andrew J. Bradley was born in County Derry, Ireland. The maternal grandfather was also a native of Ireland.

Andrew J. Bradley spent the first part of his life in Philadelphia. At the age of sixteen, after completing his education in the public schools, he applied himself to the trade of a printer, a business in which he has been engaged ever since he worked in the job office of Allen, Lane Scott, where he learned the trade. He also worked on the Philadelphia "Press" and "Inquirer."

He in 1899 entered the office of the "Daily News" as foreman of the composing room, and showed his ability to be of such t high order that in 1901 he became the editor of the paper.

He is a member of the Republican Ward Workers' Association, Missimer Assembly, A. C. U., and the Press League of Bucks and Montgomery counties. He was one of the organizers and the first president of the Pottstown Typographical Union. In religious faith he is a member of the St. Aloysius Roman Catholic church. Politically he is a Republican. He resides at the Commercial Hotel.

(Page 481)



WILLIAM J. HALLOWELL, a prominent farmer and descendant of one of the oldest families in Pennsylvania, was born at the homestead in Horsham township, near Davis Grove, where he yet resides, October 9, 1851. He was reared to farm pursuits, and educated in the Friends' schools of the vicinity and Philadelphia. He is the son of William J. and Tacy A. (Paul) Hallowell, she of Bucks county, and he of Abington township. William J. Hallowell, Sr., was born August 12, 1813. His wife was born March 22. 1817.

William J. Hallowell (father) was the son of John R. and Ann (Jarrett) Hallowell. Ann, his mother, was the daughter of William Jarrett, who owned the homestead which later became the Hallowell homestead. William Jarrett was a prominent farmer. He was a son of John Jarrett, and he a son of John, Sr., who was the third in the order of generations of the Jarrett family who have resided in the township. All were practical and successful farmers, and all were highly respected in the community. All were members of the Friends' Meeting at Horsham, and as a rule attended regularly. William Jarrett was thrown from his horse, which caused his death. By his will John R. Hallowell and his wife became possessed of the homestead, provision also being made for his other children. Ann, wife of John R. Hallowell, died July 26, 1867. At her death William J. Hallowell, Sr. succeeded to the homestead, he paying an equivalent to the other heirs.

William J. Hallowell (father) was a native of Abington township, in the vicinity where his immigrant ancestor, John Hallowell, settled in early colonial times. He died January 24, 1886. His brothers and sisters, children of John R. Hallowell, were: Joseph, died in April, 1904, at the age of eighty-one years; Lydia, married Morris Paul; Martha, married Edwin Satterthwait, both being deceased; Penrose, deceased. William J. Hallowell was the oldest of the family. He married Tacy Ann Paul, of an old Bucks county family, being the daughter of Joseph Paul. The children of Joseph Paul: Susan, married Joseph Lukens; Sidney married John Lloyd, a farmer; Rachel, married Elias Kirk; Hannah, married Edward Mather; Tacy, mother of William J. Hallowell; Lydia, married Lukens Shoemaker, she being the only child by his second wife.

The children of William J. Hallowell, Sr.: Anna J., born August 10, 1846, married Ellwood Lukens, died October 7, 1873; Hannah P., born November 9, 1818, married William Satterthwait; William J., Jr., subject of this sketch; Elizabeth W., born May 10, 1831, married Israel H. Ely; Mary C., born June 17, 1838, graduated as a physician, married Dr. Charles B. Hough, of Ambler, and is herself a successful physician practicing in Ambler and vicinity.

William J. Hallowell is a successful farmer, maintaining a large dairy, and keeping a fine herd of cattle. He has been twice married, first to Anna E. Thomas, of Upper Dublin township, daughter of Abner and Sarah A. (Moore) Thomas, the family being of Welsh descent. The children of Abner and Sarah Thomas: Ellen, married Charles Jarrett; Howard, died at the age of eighteen years; Anna E., wife of William J. Hallowell. The children of William J. and Anna L. Hallowell: Howard C., born June 30, 1877, graduated as a mechanical engineer, and is now president of the Standard Pressed Steel Company, of Philadelphia; Elizabeth, born March 7, 1879, is a student at the Industrial Art School, Philadelphia; Charles J., born February 1, 1881; died May 9, 1888; Eleanor M., born July 11, 1891, and is attending Abington Friends' School. Mrs. Anna E. Hallowell died February 6, 1894.

On March 10, 1900, Mr. Hallowell married Mrs. Anna M. Paxton, born February 23, 1864, daughter of Chalkley and Elizabeth Cutler, and widow of Joshua W. Paxson. Joshua W. Paxson died March 12, 1897. He left one son, Walter R., born January 1, 1891, who resides with his mother and is attending school at Abington. Mrs. Hallowell is the daughter of C. B. and Elizabeth (Wilkinson) Cutler, she a native of Pennsylvania and he of Maryland. He was the son of Benjamin and Miriam Cutler. Chalkley B. Cutler's children: Charles, married Lizzie Smith; Edith, married F. Heller; Anna M., Mrs. Hallowell. By a former marriage Chalkley Cutler had three children, namely: Rebecca A., a physician, who married Dr. Peeples, of Philadelphia; Benjamin, died at the age of nineteen years, and Joseph P., married Mary Regan.

(Page 482)

William J. and Anna M. Hallowell have one son, William J. (3d), born May 26, 1903. For a number of years Mrs. Hallowell taught the Friends' school at Horsham.



J. MILTON LEWIN, one of the most successful business men of Royersford, is a native of Chester county, Pennsylvania, although not far from the place at which he now resides. He was born at Springville, now Spring City, June 21, 1813. He is the eldest son of William and Rebecca (Caster) Lewin.

The Lewin family are of English descent. William Lewin was born in England, May 4, 1823. He came to this country with his parents in 1831, locating at Trappe, in Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. He was educated in the schools of the vicinity, and after leaving school learned the trade of wheelwright. He conducted the wheelwright business at Springville for several years.

In 1861 he purchased a tract of thirty-one acres of land, upon which a part of Royersford now stands. He cleared the timber from his tract, erected farm buildings, and continued to cultivate the tract until his death, which occurred November 4, 1878. The executors of William Lewin's estate, Rebecca Lewin and J. H. Lewin, subject of this sketch, divided the tract into building lots, and it thus became the site of a considerable portion of the flourishing manufacturing and residence town of Royersford. William Lewin married, February 8, 1851, Rebecca, daughter of Samuel Custer.

Their children: Elizabeth, died in infancy: J. Milton, Sarah, Samuel, Willis, George, Mary, Emma, Abraham.

J. Milton Lewin would have preferred a college education but his father objected, and he was obliged to content himself with such advantages as could be obtained at the Hobson school in the neighborhood. The greater part of his boy-hood was spent on his father's farm, attending to such matters as constitute the routine of farm life.

He entered the shoemaker shop of John U. Bean, in Upper Providence township, on April 1, 1873, to learn the trade. He served two years as an apprentice, and then opened a shop of his own in Royersford, April 1, 1875. Having no competitor in the business in Royersford, Mr. Lewin began business as a shoe dealer in a small way, in addition to his regular custom work. The business prospered, and his capital having accumulated, he purchased a half interest in the general store of Rogers & Son. He continued in that business from May 27, 1879, until August 1, 1881.

He then sold his interest in the business to Jones Rogers, and entered the shipping department of the Buckwalter Stove Company, where he continued until September 13, 1883, When he again engaged in the occupation of a shoe dealer. Having built a new store on the principal thoroughfare of the borough of Royersford, Main street, he conducted a large and successful business until September 1, 1892, when he disposed of his entire business to F. S. Brown. He then entered the firm of the Grander Stove Company, purchasing the interest of Benjamin Carver, deceased. Mr. Lewin was elected the treasurer of the company. His enterprise and business ability have been of great value to the company. He is a liberal and public-spirited citizen and has contributed much to the prosperity of Royersford, by the exercise of these qualities. He has been identified with a number of the industries of that busy town, among them the Royersford Iron Foundry, of which he was president at the time of its sale to Floyd Wells & Company. He assisted to organize the Penn Glass Company, and was one of its board of directors.

He was one of the founders of the Keystone Meter Company, and continued as a director until the reorganization some years ago. Mr. Lewin was treasurer of the original Enterprise hosiery Company, of which he was one of the organizers.

He with five other persons organized the Fernwood Cemetery Company, and is still one of its board of managers. He is also a director of the Industrial Savings Bank, chartered March 21, 1802. Not only did he assist in the organization of that institution, but was also very prominent in the organization of the two national banks, the Home and the National hank of Royersford.

(Page 483)

Being one of the organizers of the Home Water Company, he was elected one of its directors, and served in that capacity for a short time. He is an active member of the Humane Fire Company, having been one of its founders, and for some time its financial secretary. He has been the efficient secretary of the Royersford Building and Loan Association from its organization, May 1, 1890. In 1894 he became an organizer of the Linfield Cold Storage Company, of which he was elected treasurer.

In politics Mr. Lewin is an Independent. He was appointed a notary public by the late Governor Robert E. Pattison, April 8, 1880, which position he yet holds by successive reappointments, from time to time.

He was one of those who were instrumental in the incorporation of Royersford as a borough in 1879. He filled the position of school director for nine years, during which time he successfully advocated the system of free school books and a modern plan of heating and ventilating the school building. In 1885 he was elected assistant assessor.

In 1892 he was chosen burgess of Royersford by an overwhelming majority of its voters, serving one year. It was during his administration as burgess that the franchise was granted to the Pennsylvania Railroad Company to lay its tracks on First avenue.

Fraternally Mr. Lewin is prominent and active in Masonic circles. He is a charter member of Royersford Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, No. 585; a member of Pottstown Chapter, No. 271; a charter member of Nativity Commandery, No. 71, K. T., of Pottstown; a member of Bloomsburg Consistory; a member of Palestine Council, No. 8, of Phoenixville and a Noble of Rajah Temple of the Mystic Shrine, Reading. He is also a member of the improved Order of Red Men, Towamencin Tribe, No. 99, of Royersford.

Religiously Mr. Lewin is an active member of the Lutheran church. When he was executor of the estate of William Lewin, his father, he donated the land upon which was erected Grace Evangelical Lutheran church. He is one of the trustees of the Lutheran congregation of Royersford.

Mr. Lewin married, February 18, 1875, Lizzie Bean, daughter of Isaac Bean, of Upper Providence. She died July 1, 1894. The couple had three children: William A., Isaac E., deceased, and Lawrence H. Mr. Lewin's eldest son graduated with honors from Fairfield Military Academy in June, 1895.

June 20, he was married the second time to Mary G. Gibson, of Dover, New Jersey. Mr. Lewin is an influential and highly respected citizen of Royersford. He has done everything possible in the course of an active and useful career to build up the prosperity of the community in which he lives, and his efforts so successfully exerted in this direction are fully appreciated by his fellow townsmen, without reference to their political or denominational affiliations.



DANIEL H. WHITE, one of the best-known bricklayers and contractors of Norristown, was born near Hickorytown, in Plymouth township, September 5, 1862.

When he was quite young the death of his father made a change in the residence of the family necessary, and his mother removed to Norristown, where he attended the Oak street school for a number of years. He was then apprenticed to his uncle, Emanuel Sweed, to learn the trade of bricklaying. After serving at his trade three years, he worked with his uncle as journeyman to the time of Mr. Sweed's death in 1890. He then became a partner of Thomas McGrath, as a contractor and builder.

At the end of a year, the firm of McGrath & White was dissolved, and Mr. White started out on his own account and has so continued to the present time. Mr. White has built many residences and other buildings in Norristown, among them the Gresh cigar manufactory, in 1891.

Later he erected the Scheetz wholesale grocery store, Scheidt's brewery, the Norristown woolen mill, two large yards for the State Hospital for the Insane; the public school building at Penn Square, and others.

(Page 484)

Mr. White has built recently twenty-five houses for Harry A. Keeler, twenty for Ellwood Roberts, and as many more each for John H. Rex and the Hamilton Terrace Company, on West Main street, Norristown.

In politics Mr. White is a Republican and takes an active interest in his party, working for it and giving liberally of his means for its support. He has been nine years in town council, has been two years chairman of the market committee, and also of that on finance, watch, lamp, sewers, railways and accounts. He has been many times a delegate to county conventions, and has long been a member of the borough executive committee.

Mr. White belongs to the Masonic Order, and is a thirty-second degree Mason; to the Odd Fellows, and to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks.

Thomas White (father) was born in Upper Merion township, and was a stone mason by trade. At the time of his death he was living in Plymouth. He was hauling ice for Mr. Stouer, when he was thrown from the cart and killed. His children were: Harry, married Annie Kelly, and has two children; Elizabeth married Irvin Blackburn, and has two children; Daniel H., subject of this sketch; Thomas Horace, married, but has no children; Laura, married Ellis Ramsey, and has one child.

Daniel H. White married Miss Anna F. Wood, daughter of James and Eliza (Livingston) Wood. She was born in Norristown, December 23, 1859. Her father, James Wood, was born in county, Tyrone, Ireland, and with his mother came to Canada, where his mother died, his father having passed away before they left Ireland. He was an only child, and was thus left an orphan of seventeen years of age. He only remained in Canada a short time, and then came to Pennsylvania, where he secured employment. He drifted to Norristown, where he has since resided. His wife, Eliza Livingston, was born in county Derry, Ireland, and came to the United States with her sister Jane, when she was sixteen years of age. They landed in Philadelphia, and soon obtained employment, and came later to Norristown.

Mr. and Mrs. Wood's children: Catharine Jane, born June 16, 1856, died September 28, 1861; Anna Eliza, now Mrs. Daniel White.

Mr. and Mrs. Daniel H. White’s children: James Wood, born March 27, 1881, died August 17, 1881; Flora Elizabeth, born May 23, 1882; Bessie Mabel, born June 13, 1886; Howard Drake, born April 7, 1888; Anna Bella, born October 3, 1889; Charles Simon, born April 15, 1891; Milton Rae, born December 7, 1890. [sic]

Men of Mr. White's stamp have assisted very materially in building up and developing Norristown. He is in active member of the Hancock Fire Company. Genial and affable in his bearing, he has hosts of friends, and is deservedly popular.

** * * * **

Return to Roberts' Biographies: Vol I - Index

Return to Roberts' Biographies: Vol I - Part 20

Go to Roberts' Biographies: Vol I - Part 22