Ellwood Roberts' Biographical Annals, 1904: Montgomery Co, PA
Vol I - Part 13: pp. 270 - 294.

Contributed for use in USGenWeb Archives by Joe Patterson and Susan Walters.

USGENWEB ARCHIVES NOTICE: These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by any other organization or persons. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material, must obtain the written consent of the contributor, or the legal representative of the submitter, and contact the listed USGenWeb archivist with proof of this consent. The submitter has given permission to the USGenWeb Archives to store the file permanently for free access.



(Page 270 cont.)

MARY M. WELLS, daughter of Herman and Amelia Louisa (Mauger) Wells, carries on the business formerly conducted by her father and brother in Pottstown.

Herman Wells (father), born November 1, 1821, died January 26, 1891. His wife was born December 4, 1828 and died April 14, 1895. Mr. and Mrs. Wells always resided in Pottstown. He was born in Chester county, and she in Pottstown. He was engaged as a merchant, and was also paymaster of the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company for thirty-five years. He was a very popular citizen, having many friends.

In politics he was a Republican. His business, that of a coal commission merchant, was conducted by himself and son. He was for many years president of the Electric Light, Heat & Power Company, of Pottstown. Mr. and Mrs. Wells were members of the Lutheran Church of the Transfiguration of Pottstown.

Mr. and Mrs. Herman Wells were married May 27, 1847. Their children: Martha, born April 11, 1848, married Abner Evans, Jr., and they resided in Pottstown, where he was a furnace expert. Both are now deceased and he was buried in Mexico and she in the Pottstown cemetery. They had five children, of whom two are living: Florence, married Dr. F. B. Swartzlander, of Doylestown, and they have two children Mary and Ellen, the latter born January 24, 1904. The other child of Mr. and Mrs. Evans is Mary Louise, who is studying medicine at the Women's Medical College, entering in September, 1902. John M., the second child of Mr. and Mrs. Herman Wells, born March 24, 1850, married Henrietta Phillippi, and both are now deceased. He assisted his father during his life.

John M. and Henrietta Wells had two children, of whom one is living, Donald, who married Florence Louise Dobbs, and they reside with Miss Mary Wells. The other child of Mr. and Mrs. Herman Wells is Mary M. Wells. Mary M. Wells is carrying on the business established by her father and conducted under the name of H. Wells & Son. She is a member of the board of trustees of the Pottstown Hospital. The house which she occupies was erected by her father in 1888.

Donald Wells, the son of John M. and Henrietta (Phillippi) Wells, married Florence Dobbs, daughter of Henry and Charlotte (Nottingham) Dobbs, who reside in Philadelphia, having come from England when their daughter Florence was four years old. The children of Donald and Florence Wells are Eleanor, born August 14, 1902, and Florence, January 13, 1904. Mr. Wells is a draughtsman with McClintic-Marshall Construction Company, of Pottstown. He is a Republican in politics. Mr. Dobbs (father of Mrs. Donald Wells) is a draughtsman in Philadelphia. He came to this country in 1888.

The grandparents of Miss Wells were James and Margaret (Umstead) Wells. James Wells was born in Bath, Pennsylvania, March 25, 1790, and died in Chester county, June 28, 1853. His wife died March 27, 1847. They had nine children, as follows: Samuel, born March 2, 1812; Umstead, born December 31, 1814; Christiana, December 13, 1817; Herman (father), November

(Page 271)

1, 1821; Hannah, March 29, 1824; Oliver, born September 28, 1827; Elmira, born October 19, 1830; Margaret, born January 17, 1834; and Elizabeth, born September 22, 1839.

Joseph Wells (great-grandfather) married Margaret Welles. She was the daughter of Isaac and Hannah Welles, of New England, that branch of the family which settled in that part of the state spelling their names differently. The family coat of arms dates back to Adam de Welles, Baron, 1299. Joseph and Margaret Wells had twelve children, as follows: Isaac, John, Samuel, Ann, Hannah, James (grandfather), William, Susannah, Edmond, Jesse, Joseph and David.

John Wells (great-great-grandfather) was the progenitor of the Pennsylvania branch of the Wells family. He was a native of Cornwall, England. He, with two brothers; came to America about 1730, landing at Philadelphia. One of the other brothers settled near Bustleton. In 1749 he purchased from Richard and John Penn land on the Schuylkill, where Pottstown now stands. About 1735 John Wells married Susanna Morton, of Chester county. Her parents were natives of Ireland and members of the Society of Friends. The children of John and Susanna Wells were John, Joseph, William, Edmund, Samuel, Elizabeth, Mary and Susanna.



FRANKLIN NEWLIN, of Pottstown, was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania, and died October 12, 1900, at the age of, sixty-six years. He was the son of James and Sarah (Fipps) Newlin. He attended school until he was nineteen years of age, being a student in the Darlington school at Christiana for a time. He was employed as a clerk after leaving school. Mr. Newlin was superintendent of the Plate Mills for many years and afterwards was a coal merchant in Pottstown. During his last years he returned to the Plate Mills in which business he was engaged at the time of his death. During the Rebellion he served as a soldier in emergency call. He was a member of the Society of Friends. He belonged to the Knights Templar of Pottstown. In 1873 he built the present home of the family in Pottstown, which faces the river and is one of the finest in the borough. He married Hannah, daughter of Joseph and Esther (Keim) Wells. The children of Franklin and Hannah Newlin: George, born in 1860, died in 1881. Anna married Thomas W. Entwisle, and they reside in Chester, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, where he is engaged in the newspaper business. They have five children Margaret, deceased, Edith, Frank, Sarah and Esther. Esther Newlin married Jerrald Bockers, who lives in the West, she being deceased and leaving no children. Sarah married Charles H. Ewing, a civil engineer in Pottstown, and they have two children, George and Annie. Edith W. died very young. All the deceased members of this family are buried at Mt. Zion cemetery.

James Newlin (father) married Sarah Fipps and they lived and died in Chester county. He was a miller and farmer, but lived retired for many years before his death. They were buried at Ercildawn, Chester county. They also belonged to the Society of Friends. Their children were: Henry, Abbie, Elizabeth, Ellen, Mary, Sarah, John, James, Franklin and one that died in infancy. Of these John and James are the only ones surviving.

Joseph Wells, father of Mrs. Hannah Newlin, married Esther Keim. He was a farmer and resided in Montgomery county. He died in 1863, his wife surviving until 1893. They are buried in the Stover burying-ground, Chester county. In religious faith they were Dunkards and Baptists. They were very prominent citizens of this county. Their children: Reuben, a resident of Patterson, New Jersey; Keziah, living on the old homestead; Mrs. Mary Wills, a widow; Mrs. Hannah Newlin; George, a resident of Pottstown; Alan, living on the old homestead; Edmond, living in Florida; Joseph, living in Reading; and Annie, who married Lewis Thomas and lives in Pottstown.

Joseph Wells, grandfather of Mrs. Newlin, married Margueritte Wells and they were engaged in farming in Berks county during their lives. He died early in life, his wife surviving him for some years. He was buried at Forest cemetery, Berks county. Their children: Isaac, William, Jesse, Edmond, James, David, Joseph (father), one who died young, Samuel, Anna and Hannah.

(Page 272)

Jacob Keim (maternal grandfather of Mrs. Newlin) married Hannah Switzer and they lived in Chester county, where he was a farmer by occupation. They were buried at Shingles' churchyard, Chester county, Pennsylvania.



(Picture of Thomas Foulds)

THOMAS FOULDS, son of John and Ann (Geldred) Foulds, was born at Colne, Lancashire, England, March 31, 1847. He was the seventh child and oldest son of his parents. John Foulds was born in Halifax, Yorkshire, England, and spent his entire life in his native land. He was connected with his brother James in the manufacture of yarns. He served as inspector of the Constabulary of Rochdale district, in the county of Lancashire. The paternal and maternal ancestors of Thomas Foulds were all natives of Yorkshire, England.

Thomas Foulds attended the private schools of the locality until his sixteenth year, when he became a pupil teacher in the school, which position he held for three years, and at nineteen years of age was apprenticed to the trade of a gardener at Ravenhead Hall, the seat of Sir Billings Blinkhorn, near Liverpool, where he remained until his twenty-first year.

He then became chief gardener to Mr. W. W. Schofield, member of Parliament, a large manufacturer, who had extensive estates in that neighborhood, with whom he remained for nearly two years. He then decided to try his fortune on this side of the Atlantic, and came to the United States in 1869, landing at Castle Garden, New York. Thence he went to Walloomsack, near North Adams, Massachusetts, where he worked for a short time as a gardener, going thence to North Adams, Massachusetts. There he was engaged at the same occupation until the fall of 1869, when he decided to go west. He did not stop until he had reached Council Bluffs, where he found that there was little employment for men of his calling in life, and he at once set about doing whatever he could find at hand.

Soon afterward he went to Omaha, Nebraska, where he found employment in a railroad yard in making up trains of cars to be dispatched to various sections of the country. He also found at that place several of his countrymen who were of great value to him, one being the superintendent and the other a foreman for the company for which he worked. He was given the place of a fireman, and later that of engineer on a switch engine, and eventually was given employment as a driver on a train that ran between Omaha and North Platte, a position which he held for about eighteen months, when, on account of the breaking out of hostilities between the Indians and the settlers of that region, he relinquished the work as too dangerous for one who had a family in England dependent upon him. He decided to remain no longer in that employment, and started in the direction of Kansas, doing odd jobs on his way as he found them. He labored diligently to accumulate a fund which might be used to send for the loved ones he had left behind him in England, who were anxiously awaiting his ability to establish a home for them in this country.

Mr. Foulds was much impressed with the advantages of Humboldt, in Allen county, Kansas, and he purchased a tract of ten acres in the suburbs of that town, on which he established a home for his family, whom he brought from England in 1870. He had married in England, in 1867, Mary Ann, daughter of James and Elizabeth Uttley, of Bamoldwick, Yorkshire, of an old family in that part of England.

Their children were: Clara, deceased; John, who married Mary, daughter of Samuel and Margaret Hoover, of North Wales, Pennsylvania, and they are the parents of one son Howard; Prudence, who married William H. Campbell, and lives at East Hampton, Massachusetts, the couple having two children, namely: William Thomas Foulds, born April 25, 1898, and Prudence Margaret Selina, born December 18, 1900; Thomas, Jr., unmarried, was born March 17, 1876, and resides in Philadelphia; Frederick Mason, born April 28, 1878, who married Hannah Tarbottom. John Foulds resides at Gwynedd, and assists his father at the Gwynedd Rose Nurseries.

(Page 273)

In 1875 Mr. Foulds removed with his family from Humboldt, Kansas, to Paschallville, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, where he established himself as a jobbing gardener, and in 1876 became chief gardener to Charles H. Rogers, at Branchtown, with whom he remained until 1882, managing with great skill the extensive interests involved in the care of that place. In that year he became superintendent of the Mount Airy Nurseries for Messrs. Miller & Yates, with whom he continued for two years, when he became head gardener for the late William M. Singerly, on his extensive farms at Franklinville, in Whitpain township.

Mrs. Foulds having died, Mr. Foulds married a second time, the ceremony being performed July 15, 1884. His second Wife was Sarah H., widow of Mr. Warren, and daughter of Charles Marple, of Philadelphia, and his wife Elizabeth Greer Marple.

Their children were: Margaret Emily S., born March 15, 1885, unmarried, and resides with her parents; Dora Hopkins, born March 27, 1886, died March 13, 1889; Edna Haldeman, born May 4, 1890, died July 6, 1802; Horatio Schofield, born February 6, 1892, deceased; and Selina Horsefield, born May 18, 1898.

Mr. Foulds remained with Mr. Singerly until 1888, when he removed to Nicetown, Philadelphia, to manage the nurseries of Hugh Graham, with whom he remained until March, 1890, when he removed with his family to the location now known as Gwynedd Rose Nurseries, which he established on a tract of land containing eighteen acres which he bought from John Canby in 1888.

Gwynedd Rose Nurseries has grown, as the reputation of its products has become more and more widely extended from year to year, they being sent mostly to the Philadelphia market. The seven large houses embracing 22,000 feet of glass in all attest the success of the business established by Mr. Foulds.

Mr. Foulds and his family are members of the Episcopal Church of the Messiah at Gwynedd, in which he has served for some years as one of the vestrymen. In politics Mr. Foulds is a Republican, taking an active interest in the success of its nominees for public position and the triumph of its principles. In local affairs he is also much interested, and especially as a member of the township school board in educational work. He has served in this capacity or several years, and is now its secretary. Mr. Foulds is another instance of the triumph of native ability and strength of character over the most unfavorable circumstances in the conflict of life. He is emphatically a self-made man, and enjoys the esteem of the community in which he is a useful and valued member.

Thomas Foulds, the great-grandfather of Thomas Foulds, was a native of Halifax, Yorkshire, England, where he was engaged in the manufacture of woolen goods. He married Nancy Higginson, and had three sons: Simon, Esket and John. Simon Foulds, the grandfather of Thomas Foulds, was born in Halifax, Yorkshire, England. He spent the greater portion of his life in his native town, where he was a dealer in cotton waste, and subsequently removed to Bolton, Lancashire, England, where he engaged in the manufacture of yarns. He died in Bolton. His children were: John, James, William, Ann and Bessie.

Esket Foulds was also born in Halifax, Yorkshire, England. He emigrated to America in early manhood, engaged in the wholesale liquor business in the south, but nothing is known oŁ him since 1864. He never married.



FRANKLIN G. FEGLEY, a carpenter of Pottstown, was born July 8, 1829, in Douglass township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. He is the son of John and Anna (Fritz) Fegley.

John Fegley (father) lived in Douglass township for a number of years and later removed to Pottstown, where he died October 1, 1869, at the age of fifty-nine years, and his wife several years later. He was a painter by trade. Both he and his wife were members of the Lutheran church and were buried in Pottstown cemetery. In politics he was a Democrat. They had only two children, one who died in infancy and Franklin G. Fegley.

George Fegley (grandfather) was a farmer in Douglass township. He and his wife were members of the Lutheran church, and are buried at Swamp. Their children were: john; Daniel; Jonas; Mary, who married Henry Buchert; and Sallie, who married Harry Solomon.

(Page 274)

Peter and Susanna (Shaner) Fritz, the maternal grandparents of Franklin G. Fegley, lived in Douglass township, where he was a farmer. They were members of the Lutheran church and are buried at Boyertown. Their children were Peter; Samuel; Catharine, who married Jacob Dannehower; Sallie, who married Mr. Neiman; Mrs. Susanna Boyer; Mrs. Esther Herbst; Mary, wife of A. Gilbert; Rebecca, wife of William Thomas, and living in Tylersport, at the age of ninety-three years; and Elizabeth, wife of Augustus Koons.

Franklin G. Fegley received a fair education, attending school until he reached the age of fourteen years. He learned the trade of carpentering and coopering, and worked at home until he was nineteen years of age. He then went to Pottstown and worked at his trade one year; worked some time in Tamaqua; two years in Gloucester county, New Jersey; several years in Philadelphia; eight years in Pennsburg, Pennsylvania; and finally returned to Pottstown, where he has since resided. He has lived in his present home for thirty-eight years, following his trade.

November 10, 1855, Franklin G. Fegley married Ellen Moser, who was born November 3, 1833, in Berks county, a daughter of George and Hannah (Bush) Moser, residents of Berks county. Mr. Moser was a constable and stonemason. He was a member of the Reform church, the Hill church, Berks county.

The children of George and Hannah (Bush) Moser were: Sadie, Judas, Rebecca, Lettie, Caroline, Elizabeth, Ellen, Daniel and Charles. All of these children are deceased except Ellen, the wife of Franklin G. Fegley.

Mr. and Mrs. Fegley never had any children but adopted William Henry Antrim when he was one year old. They reared him, giving him a good education, and at the age of twenty-two years he married and now lives in West Philadelphia. He is a reporter for the Philadelphia Record and has three children living.

Franklin G. Fegley is a Democrat in politics. He has held the offices of assessor, councilman and tax collector for twenty-four years. The family are members of the Lutheran church, and he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, No. 449, of Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, of which he has been a member for fifty years.

Mrs. Fegley had a paralytic stroke in September, 1900, and another in April, 1903, which has disabled her right side. Otherwise both she and her husband are in good health.



CHARLES HENRY ROBERTS, son of Hugh and Alice A. Roberts, the father being of Welsh-Quaker descent and the mother a combination of Scotch-Irish and Pennsylvania German elements, is emphatically self-taught, owing his position in life very largely to his own exertions and to his indefatigable energy and application.

He was born at Wilmington, Delaware, June 18, 1843. He attended the private school of Miss Mary Mahaffy in that cite, and for a few months in each year the ordinary country schools of that section, the family having meantime made several successive removals to the vicinity of Christiana (locally known as "Christen"), in New Castle county, in that state, and later to Scott's Mills, in Cecil county, Maryland, the last named location being about seventeen miles from Wilmington.

During his boyhood days he engaged in the ordinary duties of farm life, ploughing, harrowing, planting, cultivating, hoeing and harvesting the crops that were produced on the farm on which the family made their home.

Hugh Roberts (father) was a miller by trade, and a Pennsylvanian by birth. About the year 1840, having learned his trade with his brother, Spencer, at the historic Townsend-Roberts mill on the stream crossing Stenton avenue, known as one branch of the Wingohocking creek, named from a famous Indian chief of William Penn's time who lived on its banks, Mr. Roberts had come to Wilmington to obtain employment in the far-famed Brandywine Mills, operated at that time by William Lea and by the Prices and Tatnalls, well-known business men of that day, whose descendants are still numerous in Delaware. There Hugh Roberts became acquainted with Alice Anna, daughter of John and Margaret (Stotsenburg) Gallagher.

(Page 275)

The acquaintance developed into something stronger than were friendship and their marriage followed on August 8, 1842, being performed by Friends' ceremony in the presence of John M. Scott, mayor of Philadelphia. In due time the couple were surrounded by a family, Charles H. being the oldest child and early developing strong traits of individuality, inherited from ancestors on both sides of the family.

Hugh Roberts was a man considerably above the average in culture and intelligence. He was denied to some extent those blessings of education which are so generally diffused in this day, but he overcame these obstacles to the acquisition of knowledge by a course of persistent self-study that gave him mental acquirements which, supplemented by natural good sense and native shrewdness, caused him to be regarded by the community in which he lived as a man of superior attainments. He was strongly attached to the principles of the Society of Friends, of which his ancestors for eight or ten generations had been members. A Friend by principle and conviction, he endeavored to live in accordance with the guidance of the Light Within which is and always has been the distinguishing tenet of Friends.

Removing from the Maryland farm which he had sold, in 1861, at the breaking out of the Rebellion, he returned to Pennsylvania, the state of his birth, locating on the farm of his uncle, Thomas Pim Spencer, in Lower Makefield township, Bucks county, on which he had been brought up as a boy and from which he went to Germantown to learn the trade of a miller. After a sojourn of two years in Bucks county, Hugh Roberts removed to Philadelphia, and thence after one year to Montgomery county in which he remained for the next thirty years or until his death at Norristown on August 23, 1894, at the age of seventy-three years.

His earlier years in Montgomery county were passed in Gwynedd on the old Ellis farm, situated at the junction of the state and township line roads, adjoining the Singerly homestead, and overlooking the beautiful valley of the Wissahickon. In 1882, having sold his property in Gwynedd, Hugh Roberts removed to Norristown and engaged in business as a builder in which he accumulated a competency, spending his later days in comparative retirement, enjoying the fruits of a long and well-spent life.

His widow survived him nearly eight years, dying at the residence of her son, Ellwood Roberts, April 10, 1902, in the eighty-third year of her age. Having survived all the friends of her youth, and retaining all her faculties undimmed to the latest moment of her life, she passed peacefully away honored and respected by all who knew her.

Charles H. Roberts, having qualified himself by laborious study for the position, began teaching 1862 in Bucks county and later continued that occupation in the public schools of Philadelphia for a number of years, closing at the Columbia school, Holmesburg, in 1870. Having made several trips to the west, spending the winters of 1863 and 186 at Mount Carmel, in Wabash county, Illinois, where an aunt of his mother, Elizabeth (Stotsenburg) Hawley, resided, he early became imbued with the idea that he would make his future home in that section of the country.

In the meantime he married, March 25, 1865, Sarah Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel and Louisa (Blakey) Stradling, of Oxford Valley, in Bucks county. In the autumn of 1878 the family removed to Yankton, Dakota, where they resided for several years, his time being spent partly in the occupation of teaching and partly in preparation for the practice of law, to which he was admitted in 1880. About 1871 the couple received appointments at Sac and Fox Indian Agency under the care of Friends, at Great Nemaha in Richardson county, Nebraska, he holding the position of Indian agent on the Indian reservation. His experience in this position was as varied as it was interesting, but did not appear to prevent him from finally deciding upon making his home west of the Mississippi where he resided about twenty-five years, returning to the East in 1903.

Having adopted the legal profession, Charles H. Roberts removed, in 1885, to Sioux City, Iowa, and in 1895 to Kansas City, Missouri. During the residence of the family in the east the following children were born: Alice Anna, born in Byberry, Philadelphia county, Pennsylvania, April 16, 1866; Hugh, born in Byberry, January 8, 1868; and Samuel, born at Lansdale, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, August 1, 1871. Their youngest child, Louisa Elizabeth, was born at Sioux City, Iowa, September 23, 1880.

(Page 276)

During the residence of the family at Green Island, in the Missouri river near Yankton, they had a remarkable experience, the great flood of the spring of 1881 sweeping away their house and its contents, together with those of all of their neighbors, and exposing their for several days and nights to almost unheard-of danger. The flood was due to an ice-jam which formed some distance up the river and suddenly broke upon the doomed town, giving them no time for escape.

The Roberts family, with others of the vicinity, were compelled to take refuge on the roof of one of the houses which was built upon the highest ground, they having no choice but to remain six days and nights until the waters had somewhat subsided, and they were able to snake their way to the river bank opposite Yankton over the cakes of ice which had been partly connected, because freezing weather had in the meantime set in. Contrary to their expectations, all were saved, but, having lost all their household effects, they were, in a measure, compelled to begin life anew, with the aid of relatives and friends in the east as well as in the west. During the exposure on the pinnacle of the roof, the members of the family had their ears, fingers or toes frozen, and suffered unspeakable terror from being in momentary danger of being swept away by the waters of the fierce Missouri, more terrible than ever in the time of the spring ice floods. The night previous to their final escape from their unpleasant predicament, the whole party essayed to reach land by means of boats, but owing to the fact that the water was rapidly freezing, they were obliged toy return to their temporary ark of refuge to wait until the ice was thick enough to bear their weight, so that their deliverance could be accomplished in that way. The boat in which was the oldest son, Hugh, then about thirteen years of age, did not return, and the rest of the party knew not but what tie had perished by the capsizing of the boat or otherwise, for several weeks. 1t developed finally however, that his host was able to reach an island in the river some miles above and later he rejoined the rest of the family and all reached Yankton safely, after two or three weeks' delay on account of the continued high water. The reunion of all nearly a month after the destruction of the town, was a happy conclusion of the terrible experience, which can better he imagined than described.

Of the children, Alice Anna studied in schools taught by her father, including the Friends' school, at Salem, New Jersey, which he taught for several years in the late `60s and the early '70s, and elsewhere, and commenced teaching in Iowa at the age of fifteen years, following that occupation with considerable success, holding the responsible position of principal of public schools in Sioux City, and teaching later in Kansas City.

In June 1899, she located in Norristown, making her home with her uncle, Ellwood Roberts, and teaching the Friends' school at Media one year, and then securing an appointment as clerk of the census bureau at Washington, where she rendered very efficient services in connection with the collection and tabulation of the twelfth enumeration of the inhabitants of the United States, their occupations, etc. She was married December 23, 1903, to Charles H. Brown, of New York, and resides in Chicago.

Hugh Roberts, second child of Charles H. and Sarah E. Robots, studied laws with his father in Sioux City and engaged in active practice in that and neighboring states. His sketch is given elsewhere in this volume.

Samuel Roberts, third child, studied pharmacy in Sioux City, and obtained employment at Lemars, Iowa, where he finally purchased a drug store and carried on the business successfully for a number of years, later engaging in the occupation of traveling salesman for a prominent New York drug firm. He married, March 21, 1902, Edith Lillian Storey, of Fort Dodge, Iowa, the couple taking up their residence in Chicago.

Louisa Elizabeth, youngest child of Charles H. and Sarah Elizabeth Roberts, attended the public schools of Sioux City and Kansas City, Missouri, graduating from the high school in the latter city, in May 1902.

(Page 277)

During his legal practice in Iowa, Missouri and neighboring states, Charles H. Roberts became identified with many cases of importance. The firm consisted of himself and his son Hugh the greater part of the time. Their practice was made up of civil as well as criminal cases, they being fortunate in winning success even where the most apparently insurmountable obstacles were encountered. One notable case was that of Pollard and Harris, two colored men who were charged with murder, convicted and sentenced to be hanged. The firm of Roberts & Roberts, was engaged by the defendants too late to secure their acquittal but their counsel immediately entered upon efforts almost superhuman, devoted to saving their clients from the gallows in the shadow of which they seemingly stood. Every resource known to the legal profession was exhausted in this efforts, reprieve after reprieve being obtained, motions for re-hearings made and argued, adverse decisions serving only to rekindle the zeal of attorneys who were resolved to leave nothing undone that promised to bring safety to the accused men, whose lives were at least temporarily in their keeping.

The Friends' principles of opposition to capital punishment served as an additional stimulus to the zeal naturally characterizing the lawyer who labors in behalf of those unjustly condemned to death, as in this case. Father and son, working together in behalf of humanity, finally had the satisfaction of securing a commutation of the death penalty by William Joel Stone to the punishment of imprisonment for fifty years. This case is only a sample of many others in which the firm labored with the greatest energy to secure relief for unfortunate clients, and nearly always with a surprising measure of success.

The practice of the firm involved frequent and tedious journeys into other states, among entire strangers, notably in the Brandau case, at Rosedale, Bolivar county, Mississippi, where they secured by legal resorts, possession of a large plantation which was unjustly withheld from the rightful heirs, but which, after long and tedious litigation, involving much labor, was restored to the proper persons.

After the death of his mother in 1902, various considerations induced the senior member of the firm to leave Kansas City with the view of returning to the east and spending his remaining days in the vicinity of his boyhood home. He accordingly removed to Norristown and began preparations for admission to the Philadelphia bar, to which he was admitted on the 27th day of June, 1903.



ABNER H. GEHMAN, merchant and clerk of the courts of Montgomery county for several years, is a native of Franconia township, although he has been long resident in Norristown. He is the son of Samuel W. and Elizabeth (Haring) Gehman. He was born July 15, 1854.

Samuel W. Gehman (father) was born in Franconia township, Montgomery County February 6, 1815. He was the son of Jacob and Catherine (Woodward) Gehman. He was a shoemaker by trade and followed it for thirty years, but also gave some attention to farming. Although a man of retiring disposition, he took an active interest in politics, supporting the Republican Party, and filled several township offices, including that of assessor, and was once a candidate for county commissioner on his party ticket at a time when the county was hopelessly Democratic and there was no hope of election. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Conrad and Ida (Clemmer) Haring, who came from the vicinity of Bethlehem to Montgomery county. Samuel W. Gehman died January 24, 1889, and his widow died July 21, 1901. She was born January 12, 1813. Both were buried at Franconia Mennonite meeting-house. Their children were as follows William H., now residing on the Franconia homestead, who married Catharine Swartley, daughter of John G. Swartley, long a resident of Royersford, but died about 1900 at Line Lexington; Catharine, married Enos Kooker, they residing at Sellersville: Abner H. is the subject of this sketch; Daniel H., born August 21; 1846, an active business man, and for many years engaged in the hardware line at Harleysville, the firm being Moyer & Gehman, was an active Republican and was elected to the house of representatives of the state legislature in 1880, serving at the session of 1881. He died January 19, 1901, at the age of fifty-five years, unmarried.

(Page 278)

The children of William H. and Catharine Gehman are: Ida, Ulysses S., Samuel S., Vincent and Nelson. Of these the first three are married. Ida married Andrew Godshall, they residing in Upper Salford, and having four children, Howard, Verda, Hattie and William. Ulysses married Amelia Bergey, they residing at Earlington, in Franconia township, and having five children, Abraham Lincoln, Florence, Ralph, Aida and Grant.

Enos and Catharine (Gehman) Kooker had but one daughter, Lizzie, who married John B. Clemens, of Morwood, and is now deceased, leaving three children, Herbert, Enos and Raymond. Samuel W. Gehman and all his family were Mennonites in religious faith. He was very highly respected in the community in which he lived. Conrad and Ida Haring, his wife's parents, were buried in Lower Salford Mennonite graveyard. He died at ninety-four years of age and she was above eighty years of age at the time of her death.

Jacob Gehman (grandfather) spent most of his life in Franconia township and died there although he was probably born in Bucks county. He was born in 1789 and died in 1826, at the age of thirty-six years and nine months. His remains were interred in the Franconia Mennonite burial-ground, as were those of his widow, who survived him forty-four years.

She was born September 28, 1787, and died March 30, 1870. They had six children: Isaac died in 1861, leaving a large family; William, born May 30, 1819, died March 4, 1852; Mary, died unmarried in 1881, aged sixty-eight years; Magdalene, born March 5, 1817, died May 5, 1888, aged seventy-one years (unmarried); Susanna, born in 1821, died unmarried in 1852, being an invalid for many years; Catharine, married Samuel Favinger, her husband dying in Philadelphia in 1900, she having died several years previously, leaving two children, Henry Harrison and Andrew J. William Gehman had three daughters, Julia and Maria, who died young, and Sarah, wife of Thomas Nicom, they residing near Penn Square. She was married twice previously. Isaac Gehman married Catharine Landes. William's wife was Catharine Richard.

Rev. Samuel Gehman (great-grandfather) was ordained a Mennonite minister in 1798. He was born May 9, 1767, and died September 21, 1845. He was buried at Gellman's or Rockhill Mennonite graveyard, near Telford.

The Gehmans are descended, it is believed, from one of two brothers, Christian and Benedict Gehman, who came, it is supposed, from the Palatinate in 1732, reaching Philadelphia in the ship "Samuel", Hugh Percy commander, August 11, of that year. It is known that the mother of Rev. Samuel Gehman was a Bechtel, the daughter of Rev. Samuel Bechtel, also very prominent in the Mennonite congregation in early times. There is a family tradition that the brothers, Christian and Benedict Gehman, who were twenty-four, and twenty years of age respectively when they came to this country, bought land in Lehigh and Northampton counties and settled there, their descendants coming later to Bucks and Montgomery counties, in which they are now quite numerous. A family association has been formed which may be expected to collect all the details of the earlier generations of Gehmans.

Abner H. Gehman was educated in the public schools of Franconia, working on the farm in the intervals of study. He also learned the shoemaking trade but never followed it because he preferred merchandising, in which he has been engaged nearly all his adult life. He kept a general store at Morwood, in Franconia, for fourteen years.

In 1890 he was elected clerk of the courts on the Republican ticket, he having been a life long member of that party, and laboring earnestly to promote the success of its principles and candidates. He was thus engaged five years, completing in the last two the indexing of the records in the office which had been commenced during his term as clerk. Afterwards he was for a time clerk in Scheidt's brewery. Later he opened a men's furnishing store at No.

(Page 279)

26 West Main street where he has continued ever since, being successful in his business undertakings.

Mr. Gehman married, April 21, 1877, Barbara, daughter of John O. and Catharine (Bergey) Clemens, of Franconia township. Mrs. Gehman was born August 7, 1855. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Gehman are: Minnie C., born September 20, 1879; Mary E., born April 25, 1889; and Harry Merrill, born January 15, 1898.

The Clemens family are old residents in Montgomery county, being Mennonites, and of German descent. John O. Clemens (father of Mrs. Gehman) is one of the best known residents of Franconia township. He is a Republican in politics and has frequently filled township offices. He served as poor director for ten years, being elected to three full terms and serving one year by appointment when another member of the board died. The children of John O. and Catharine Clemens are: Barbara (Mrs. Gehman); Henry B., married Lizzie Scholl, they having several children; John B., married Lizzie Kooker, a niece of Mr. Gehman, his first wife dying, leaving three children, Herbert, Enos and Raymond; Emma, married Henry L. Moyer, their children being Jonas, Martha, Clayton, Calvin, Eva and Mary, and they living in Franconia; Catharine (deceased) married Isaiah K. Moyer, and left four children, Warren, Katie, Lillie and Florence; her husband, who resides at Souderton, -has a second wife; Mary, married William D. Detwiler, they residing at Telford and having six children John, William, Vincent, Emma, Cora and Annie, the last named of whom married Hiram Scholl, they having one child, Lloyd; Annie, married Samuel G. Landes, they living in Philadelphia, and having had but one child who died in infancy. After the death of his wife, Lizzie, John B. Clemens (brother of Mrs. Gehman) married (second wife) Hannah Bean, and has two children, David and Paul. Lizzie, daughter of J. O. Clemens, married Jacob W. Markley, of Zieglersville, and has several children.

Among the brothers and sisters of John O. Clemens (Mrs. Gehman's father) were Henry; Abraham, who was drowned in Canada; Mrs. Jacob Kratz; and the wife of Rev. Jacob Landes, all now deceased.

Among the brothers of Samuel H. Gehman (father) the eldest was Isaac. His children are: Reuben, who married Mary Bergey, their children being Catharine, Morris, Annie, Cornelius, and they reside in Franconia; Jacob L., who married Miss Shaner, and has several children, and they reside in Bucks county; Isaac L., who married Sarah Frederick, and they reside in Franconia and have several children; Gideon, who married Mary Landes, their children being Lizzie, Amada, Maggie and Henry, and they reside in Franconia; Catharine, who died unmarried; Maggie, who married Henry B. Moyer, of Souderton; Lizzie, who married Henry Yoder, of Hilltown, Bucks county.



CATHARINE LINDE. Christian Linde, deceased, husband of Catharine Linde, subject of this sketch, was the son of Philip and Gertrude (Dickel) Linde. He was born July 13, 1834, and died January 27, 1898.

Mr. Linde was a native of Berghausen, in Westphalia, Germany, and he attended in his youth the schools of his district, working in the intervals of school study at domestic and farm duties of various kinds. In 1848, during the troubled times in Germany, Philip Linde decided to emigrate with his family to America, which he did at the first favorable opportunity, landing in Philadelphia with his family of wife and four children. Two older children had been in the United States for four years, performing as violinists at concerts. One of these was Louis Linde, who was a pupil of the Prince Carl-Von-Wittgentein. He also subsequently gave his attention to the manufacturing of shoes.

Christian Linde came to America with his parents when fifteen years old. After reaching Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, he and his brothers Louis and Frederick formed a co-partnership and engaged in the manufacture of boots, shoes, slippers, etc., for twelve years. In 1860 he retired from the shoe manufacturing business and engaged in the retail coal business, at Ninth and Poplar streets, Philadelphia, where he remained until 1877, when he removed to American street and Susquehanna avenue, where he continued in business up to the time of his death. In 1875 he bought the property of Eliza Hall in Lower Gwynedd township, formerly the Ellis estate, containing ten acres, and he found great pleasure in looking after the cultivation of the same.

(Page 280)

Mr. Linde married, in 1867, Catharine, daughter of Gottlieb and Louise (Later) Schmucker, of Philadelphia. Their children are Louisa Catharine, born May 15, 1868, died in 1872. William Bismarck, born December 17, 1870. Frederic Carl, born March 17, 1875, attended the Eight Square school in Lower Gwynedd township until he had reached his fourteenth year, when he entered the J. B. Hertzog German-American School at Marshall and Spring Garden streets, Philadelphia, remaining for two years, and graduating from that institution in June, 1888.

In the meantime he was also attending the Philadelphia Musical Academy at 1617 Spruce street, Philadelphia, continuing there until he graduated in the class of 1899, since which time he has been professor of piano forte at the Leefson-Hille Conservatory of Music in the Weightman Building, Philadelphia, and is also engaged as private instructor of the piano at Ambler, and as organist at St. Paul's Reformed church, Fort Washington, since October, 1897. He resides with his mother, being unmarried. Cornelia Maria Sophia, born November 16, 1875, attended the Eight Square public school and also the German-American Academy, in Philadelphia, until her sixteenth year, resides with her mother, being unmarried. George Whitman born January 25, 1883, attended public school until he was sixteen years of age, when he entered a grocery store at Ambler, where he is still engaged, residing with his mother. Harriet Magdalena, born May 15, 1888, attended the Eight Square school and later the public schools of Ambler, and expects to graduate in the class of 1905 at the Ambler high school; she resides with her mother.

In politics Mr. Linde was a Democrat, and while he always took an active interest in party affairs, never aspired to office. In religion the family have always adhered to the German Reformed faith. Mr. Linde was a prominent member of the Salem Reformed church at Fourth street and Fairmount avenue, Philadelphia, and was also connected in a musical capacity with that place of worship for nearly forty years.



WILLIAM H. SLINGLUFF, cashier of the Montgomery National Bank, and treasurer of the Norristown Insurance & Water Company, is the son of John and Wilhelmina (Gilbert) Slingluff, of Norristown.

John Slingluff (father), born August 3, 1839, in Norristown, was the son of William Hallman and Mary (Knorr) Slingluff. He was educated in the public schools and at Elmwood Institute, Norristown, then under the charge of Rev. George Deering Wolff. At the age of sixteen years he engaged in learning surveying and conveyancing in the office of J. Morgan Albertson. Later, however, in 1856, he entered the Bank of Montgomery County as a clerk, and was, during the remainder of his life, closely identified with the interests of that institution.

On November 7, 1868, he was appointed cashier of the bank, and November 20, 1875, was elected its president, holding the position until his death. He organized the Montgomery Trust Company in 1884, being its president until 1890 and a member of the board of directors until his death. He married, September 3, 1862, Wilhelmina, daughter of Frederick and Mary Gilbert, of Norristown, their children being: Mary, widow of Howard Boyd; William H., and Helen G. John Slingluff was identified with many business enterprises in Norristown, holding many positions of trust and responsibility.

(Page 281)

During the Rebellion he enlisted in Company E, Thirty-fourth Regiment, an emergency organization, serving until August, 1863. He was a member of the Masonic order in its various branches, holding nearly all the offices in these, and took much interest in everything relating to the welfare of the community in which he lived. He was killed in the Exeter wreck, a few miles below Reading, May 12, 1899, with many other citizens of Norristown, when returning from the dedication of the Hartranft statue, on the Capitol grounds, at Harrisburg. He was a man of practical business qualities and one of the foremost public men of eastern Pennsylvania.

In addition to his connection with the Montgomery National Bank, he was president of the Norristown Water Company, treasurer of the Norristown Gas Company and the Montgomery Cemetery Company; president of the junction Railroad Company and of the Citizens Passenger Railway Company, and a director in the Plymouth, Perkiomen, Stony Creek, Philadelphia, Germantown & Norristown, and Philadelphia, Newtown & New York Railroad Companies. He was a trustee of the Norristown Hospital for the Insane, succeeding General Hartranft at his death, in 1889; president of the board of prison inspectors for nearly twenty years. He was a Democrat in politics until 1884, but from that time supported the Republican party and its candidates. He was a Democratic candidate for congress in 1880. He was president of the Montgomery Fire Company and its chief engineer, and took a prominent part in the introduction of the fire alarm system into Norristown, and other improvements in connection with the Norristown fire department, having a large share in bringing it to that condition of efficiency which it has attained. He was treasurer of the State Fireman's Association, and at one time president of the Norristown school board. In every position which Mr. Slingluff held he was courteous, painstaking and efficient, being recognized as one of the most useful and influential members of the community.

William H. Slingluff (grandfather) was born in Whitpain township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, March 19, 1805. He was reared on a farm purchased by his father when he was but two years old, near the village of Broad Axe. He worked on the farm and taught school. He was at one time clerk in his brother Samuel's store, at Rising Sun. He became prominently identified with the banking interests of the county, in 1825 entering the old Montgomery Bank, chartered in 1814, and for more than forty years the only banking institution in the county, as junior clerk and watchman. He became cashier four years later and was elected president in 1868, resigning that office November 20, 1875, when his son succeeded to the position. He was thus actively identified with the bank for a half century, and then accepted the office of vice-president, serving in that capacity until his death, which occurred April 14, 1880.

The bank building, erected in 1854, was largely designed by him. He was one of the originators and first treasurer of the Norristown Water Company, and was actively identified with many other local corporations. He was a Whig until 1860, then joining the Democratic party. He had been the Whig candidate for congress in 1844 but was defeated, the Democrats being largely in the majority in the county at that time. He served for many years in the town council and on the school board.

He was a public-spirited and progressive citizen, being actively interested in every enterprise that promised to promote the public welfare. He was a man of strong individuality, was generous and kind-hearted and always ready to extend a helping hand to the deserving.

On December 15, 1833, he married Mary Knorr, daughter of Matthias Knorr, in Gloria Dei Church (Old Swedes), Philadelphia, the ceremony being performed by Rev. John C. Clay Matthias Knorr was a farmer and lumber dealer, grandson of John and Hannah Knorr, who came from Germany prior to 1698. Matthias Knorr married Mary Keyser, a great-granddaughter of Dirck Keyser, who came from Amsterdam, Holland, in 1688, landing in New York and locating at Germantown, Pennsylvania. The children of William H. and Mary Slingluff were: Sarah S., wife of Jacob L. Rex, of Norristown; Mary M., wife of Hon. A. B. Longaker, who was a judge in Lehigh county but now resides in Norristown; John (father); Clara S., who married Dr. Henry Pawling, of Norristown, and after his death, Hiram H. Fisher, now also deceased; and William F., a well-known business man of Norristown. Mrs. William H. Slingluff died November 17, 1891.

John Slingluff (great-grandfather) married Mary Hallman, daughter of Anthony and Mary (Streeper) Hallman, she being a great-granddaughter of William Streeper, who once owned five thousand acres of land in Philadelphia county.

(Page 282)

John and Mary Slingluff had eight children, the youngest of whom was William H. (grandfather). John Slingluff (great-great-grandfather) was one of five children of Heinrich Schlengeluff and his wife Anna Christina. He was born in America. His personal appearance was notably fine, his features being clear-cut and his eyes a bright blue.

Heinrich Schlengeluff (great-great-great-grandfather) was a native of Waldich, Germany, and emigrated to England and afterwards to America. He landed at Philadelphia, August 19, 1729, and purchased land in Salford township. His wife was Anna Christina, of Swedish descent. They made the voyage on the ship, "Mortonhouse," James Coultas master, from Rotterdam, but last from Deal. The immigrant also spelled his name "Hendrick Sligloff." One son accompanied them from Europe, Paulus, the Swedish for Paul.

William H. Slingluff, the subject of this sketch, though a young man, has achieved for himself a prominent position in the community. His ability as a financier has been well proved in the various trusts which have been committed to his keeping. He has been for a number of years the treasurer of the Norristown Insurance & Water Company, and very important improvements, including the introduction of the new filtering plant in 1901, are largely due to his progressive ideas.

Mr. Slingluff was born August 31, 1865, in Norristown. He attended the public schools and later the Treemount Seminary of Dr. John W. Loch. From this institution he went to Bethlehem, where he attended Ulrich's school which at that time was a popular place of learning. He next became a student at Lehigh University where he remained until December 26, 1884, when called to the more active duties of life in connection with the banking institution in which three generations of the family have been employed. He became a clerk for the Montgomery Trust Company, but was, after a time, transferred to the Montgomery National Bank, in the same building, as cashier's assistant. He was appointed to the position of acting cashier in 1890, and to that of cashier which he now holds, in 1891.

Mr. Slingluff married, in October, 1892, Miss Main Derr, daughter of Henry A. and Ellen S. Derr, both now deceased. They took up their abode in the west end and now reside at the corner of Main street and Franklin avenue, in the house lately owned by the Pattersons. Mr. and Mrs. Slingluff have two children, Eleanor D. and Marjorie D.

The Derr family to which Mrs. Slingluff belongs is of German origin. Franklin Derr, (grandfather) accumulated a large fortune in the marble business. His grandfather settled at Shamokin, Pennsylvania, and his son John went to Montgomery county and learned the trade of a tanner with Jacob Schneider, marrying his daughter Elizabeth, and removing to Hamburg,. Berks county, where he established a tannery and followed that business, in connection with farming, until his death, which occurred May 24, 1827. The couple had twelve children, of whom Franklin was born at Hamburg, July 1, 1815. He became a resident of Norristown about 1833, and after learning the trade of a marble mason soon established himself in business. He furnished the marble for the courthouse in 1855, and that for the Montgomery Bank and other edifices, purchasing extensive marble quarries in Upper Merion township in 1857. He also furnished stone for the Philadelphia post-office and for extensions to Girard College. Mr. Derr married Sarah Ann daughter of Henry Kerr, of Norristown, who died in 1853.

Their children are: Henry A., who married Ellen, daughter of Florence and Ann Sullivan, of Norristown; Annie E., now the widow of Charles W. Holmes; and John J., (deceased) who married Elizabeth, daughter of George West. Franklin Derr died March 16, 1877, in his sixty-second year.



THE HUGHES FAMILY. John Hughes and his wife Jane Evans resided in Merionethshire, Wales. In this place, in the year 1671, a son Hugh was born to them, who was their only child. In 1680, when a lad of but nine years of age, Hugh Hughes left his parents and home and came to this country. They, supposing that he had gone to America, followed him to

(Page 283)

Pennsylvania and there to their great joy they found him. John Hughes and his wife, preferring the country as a home, purchased a tract of land consisting of one thousand acres in Upper Merion township, then Philadelphia county, now Montgomery. This farm has been known from that date to the present time as "Walnut Grove". Here they resided until their deaths.

Hugh Hughes, their only child, settled in Philadelphia, his residence being on Third street. He married Martha, only child of Hugh and Martha Jones, of Lower Merion. In Philadelphia Hugh Hughes carried on the business of a tanner until the failing health of his parents obliged him to move with his family to their country home, "Walnut Grove". Soon after this change both his parents died, and their remains were interred in the cemetery of St. David's Episcopal church at Radnor, Delaware county, Pennsylvania.

The children born to Hugh and Martha (Jones) Hughes were as follows: John (stamp officer), who married Sarah Jones in 1738; William, whose history is unknown; and Colonel Hugh, who was born in Upper Merion, April 20, 1727, and was united in marriage to Charity Smith, nee Porter, in New York city, on July 14, 1748.

At the time of the marriage of John Hughes, son of Hugh and Martha Hughes, to Sarah Jones, he resided at Walnut Grove farm. He was a man of distinction and culture, with the toile of fashionable manners, and while yet a young man he seems to have been prominent in his own neighborhood as well as among the noted political and distinguished men of Pennsylvania, where his presence and counsel were eagerly sought. Through the influence of his friend Benjamin Franklin, he was appointed stamp officer for the province of Pennsylvania. Dr. Franklin wrote to him in May, 1765, that he had recommended him for the position. His commission was received in October of that year. At this time they were residing in Philadelphia.

The stamp act was passed in English Parliament on March 22, 1765, and it directed that every document used in trade, to be valid, must have a stamp affixed to it, the lowest of these in value costing one shilling, and thence increasing indefinitely -in proportion to the value of the writing. This created great excitement in America, and everywhere the people determined not to use the stamps. Associations calling themselves "Sons of Liberty" were organized in opposition to the act, and for the general defense of the rights of the colonies. So powerful were these combinations, and so intense the popular indignation, that when November 1st came, the day on which the obnoxious law was to go into effect, it was found that all the stamp distributors had resigned their offices. The bells throughout the country were tolled and the flags lowered to half-mast to indicate "the funeral of Liberty".

These demonstrations led parliament to consider the repeal of the act. Among other witnesses, they called Benjamin Franklin, who stated that these acts of parliament were lessening the affections of the colonies and unless repealed all commerce between them and the mother country would be broken up, etc. The colonies also had warm friends in parliament, who advocated their cause, the result of which was that on March 18, 1766, the stamp act was repealed. It must be remembered that at this date the colonies were presumed to be loyal to the English government, this being ten years before the Revolutionary war. Mr. Hughes, as a good and true citizen, desired to support and enforce the law, but prior to the final disposition of the act there had been great excitement in Philadelphia. Mr. Hughes' life and position then were unenviable. Several times a mob collected about his house, threatening his life and property if he did not resign his office. His commission had not then been received, and his answer was he "could not resign what he had not".

During the month of September 1765, he was critically ill for twenty-five days, and his life was despaired of. While in this condition a deputation from the mob waited on him with muffled drums and muffled church bells ringing. The son of Chief Justice Allen was the leader, accompanied by James Tilghman, Robert Morris, Charles Thomson, Archibald McCall, John Cox, William Richards, and William Bradford. They insisted upon seeing him, ill as he was, and obtained his written promise not to attempt to perform the duties of the office until his majesty's further pleasure was known.

(Page 284)

In Hazard's Register of Pennsylvania, Volume 2, are a number of very interesting letters from Mr. Hughes upon this subject. John Hughes would not have received introduction to Boston patriots from the hand of Benjamin Franklin, a public act, committing his patron to the course of the one introduced, and making him responsible for his views, if he was not then, several years after the stamp act, in union with his party. James Otis and his father, whose flaming patriotism is mentioned at that very time when John Hughes went to Boston, would not have received him so warmly and handed him about among the most patriotic American Society, "The Sons of Liberty", if his views had not been in accordance with theirs. Mr. Otis and son were both active in public life. There can be no question of John Hughes' loyalty to the United States. His letters to his valued friend and neighbor, Jonathan Roberts, show conclusively that he changed his views after the stamp act was abolished. From these letters it is learned where and how he was received in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, where he held the position of collector of customs in 1769. He was the honored guest of men in high social and political standing.

Inclined to a pulmonary affection, Mr. Hughes sought the benefit of a southern climate and went to Charlestown, South Carolina. He was appointed collector of customs for Charleston, South Carolina, in 1771, and died there in February, 1772. The following is a correct copy of a bill of stamps sent from London to John Hughes, Esq., Philadelphia.

Shipped by the Grace of God, in good order and well conditioned, by Francis Mollison in and upon the good ship called the Royal Charlotte, whereof is master under God, for this present voyage, Benjamin Holland, and now riding at anchor in the River, Thames, and, by God's grace, bound for Phila. to say.

3 cases, 7 packs of Stamps for Pennsylvania.

2 cases, 1 pack of Stamps for Maryland.

1 case, 2 packs of Stamps for New Jersey.

Being mark'd and numbered as in the margeant, and are to be delivered in the like good order and well conditioned at the aforesaid port of Phila. (The dangers of the seas only eccepted) unto John Hughes, Esq., at Phila. or to their assigns, he, or they, paying freight for the said goods, with Primage and Average accustomed. In witness whereof, the Master or Purser of the said ship hath affirmed to these Bills of Lading, all of this tenor and Date, thereon of which these Bills being accomplished, the other two to stand void, and so God send the good ship to her desired Port in safety, Amen.

Dated in London, July 16, 1765.

Benjamin Holland.

John Hughes held the office of collector of customs for the United States from this date, September 4, 1769, until his death in Charlestown, South Carolina, in 1772. An account book of fees received in the custom house in Piscataqua, by the collector, from September 4, 1769, to September 4, 1770, has many entries. Here are also recorded the names of the officers in the customs at Charlestown, July 13, 1770.

John Hughes, collector John Morris, comptroller William Coates, searcher George Roupell, searcher, etc., etc.

Benjamin Franklin writing to his wife from London, June 10, 1758, says: "I think nobody ever had more faithful correspondents that I have in Mr. Hughes and you. It is impossible for me to keep out of your debt". Sparks' Life and Work of Franklin, 1838, Volume VII, page 168.

John Hughes (stamp officer) and Joseph Galloway were owners of steel works, one of the earliest Pennsylvania industries of that kind. During the seventeenth century and also in the eighteenth, until the erection of dams for the use of the Navigation Company, the shad fisheries on the Schuylkill river were considered a matter of great value to the inhabitants residing on its banks, as well as to the families accessible to it by wagon roads. The following paper, in the writing of John Hughes, shows how it was appreciated.

(Page 285)

Whereas, Peter Rambo, in his lifetime, applied to me to lay an old right on the island by the ford, in order to secure the right of fishing for shad on the upper end of it, and at the same time said, that he desired a share for himself, and a share for his brother Jonas, and as I have the said island surveyed and returned it unto the surveyor-general's office, I hereby do bind and oblige myself to convey and assign forever one share or part in the fishery, and also another share or part in the said fishery to Jonas Rambo and his heirs forever, as fully and effectually as the whole is versed in me. They paying me their proportion of the first cost and other charges at the delivery of a deed for each share aforesaid, in witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand this 15th day of March, 1768.

As the "Gulf Hills" are familiar to all persons who have been resident of this locality, or who have visited them, I copy a paper addressed to Mr. John Hughes, in Philadelphia, endorsed upon the back, "an account of the Gulf Hills from James Logan's Book." The extract from James Logan's Book of Accounts, relates to his sales of lands in the Manor of Mount Joy.

"Have sold the Gulf Hills twice or thrice, containing by estimation above two hundred acres. and as the purchasers declined it, I sold it at last to Joseph Williams, a friend and preacher, for twenty pounds, but he declined it, as John Hughes, Benjamin Davis, etc."


To be sold wholesale or retail by John Hughes and son, at their store on Fourth street above Market street, Raven Duck prime linen, Ticklenburg, Oznabugs, Buckram, checks and Irish Linen, muslins, Roswall's Tandems, Tandem Garlix, Long Lawns, spotted and cotton, chintses, calicoes and stamped linens, cross-bar and striped (obliterated) Huksets flannel, half-thicks bunts, Leghorn hats, shaloon, fam (word obliterated), diaper, worsted and thread, mens and on (obliterated) hair and worsted plush, hunting and everlastings, silk hankerchiefs, and table knives, Razors, scissors, sleeve buttons, mohair and silken hair metal and hair buttons, satin and paduso flower'd and plain ribbons, ferret gartering, womens leather and silk mits, silk caps, sewing silk, thread, Breeches patterns, knee garters, mens gloves, pipe and spike tomahocks, Iron candlesticks, pewter, pins, needles, thimbles, snuffboxes, awl hafts, blades and shoe tacks, snuffers, shoe and knee buckles, watch keys and seals, Holmans ink powder, Mariners compasses, spectacles, cotton and silk laces, womens fans, hose-whips, coat-boxes, curtain rings, writing paper, shirt buttons, Wigg springs, small and large Brass Kettles, Gun flints, New England Rum, molassess, loaf and Muscovado sugar, rice, tea, coffee, chocolate, ginger, pepper, allspice, French Indigo, Rozin, Brimstone, whale-bone, fine salt, train oil, starch, nutmegs, cloves, mace, cinnamon, coperas, Braseel cotton and wool cards, and sundry other things at most reasonable rates.

John Hughes (stamp officer) and Sarah Jones had six children. Prudence Hughes, born July 7, 1740. Jane Hughes, born June 15, 1741. Hugh Hughes, born September 7, 1742, married very young, and settled in New Jersey. Ruth Hughes, born November 16, 1743, married Lindsay Coates, May 1, 1765. John Hughes, Jr., born December 14, 1745, married Margaret Paschall, June 11, 1767. Isaac Hughes, born December 1, 1747, married Hannah Holstein.

Isaac Hughes, son of John Hughes (stamp officer), married Hannah Holstein, October 5, 1769. He served in the various positions of captain, major and lieutenant colonel of the Flying Camp, July 15, 1776, and is said to have been twice wounded. He was one of the assessors of Philadelphia, September 18, 1776, "who or a majority of them shall be a board of commissioners for the County of Philadelphia". "He was a member of the committee of correspondence", and was twice a member of the assembly of Pennsylvania. A short time before his health failed, Lieutenant Colonel Isaac Hughes built a new home for himself and family about half a mile from "Walnut Grove", on a hill overlooking Gulf creek. Part of that house is still standing and in good condition at the present time. They occupied it but a brief season, when in the prime of life the summons came to "rest from his labors", and he entered upon life eternal. He is buried in Christ Swedes churchyard, Bridgeport. He departed this life April 26, 1782, aged thirty-four years and four months.

(Page 286)

A great portion of Lieutenant Colonel Isaac Hughes' short married life was spent at "Walnut Grove". General Washington was a frequent visitor to the Hughes mansion while encamped upon the hills of Valley Forge during the winter of 1777-78. A number of his letters are dated "Walnut Grove", and dated from this then well-known landmark. After the close of the war Washington visited his friend Isaac Hughes at this place where he remained over night, and did so at various times. Isaac Hughes and Hannah Holstein had the following children. Sarah Hughes, born July 29, 1770, died in infancy. John Hughes, born March 28, 1772, married Hannah, daughter of Captain Benjamin and Hannah Bartholomew, of Chester county Pennsylvania. Rachel Hughes, born April 18, 1774, married, March 31, 1801, William Lukens Potts, of Philadelphia. Ruth Hughes, born April 23, 1776, married David Jones. Sarah Hughes, the second, born February 22, 1778, married David Rittenhouse, April 8, 1801. Hannah Hughes, born November 28, 1780, married Francis Wade.

John Hughes, son of Lieutenant Colonel Isaac Hughes, was born at "Walnut Grove" farm, in Upper Merion, March 28, 1772, and married Hannah, daughter of Captain Benjamin Bartholomew, of Chester county, Pennsylvania. John Hughes was a man of very pleasing mannars, and greatly interested in the promotion of education. The Roberts, Hughes, Holstein, and Henderson families joined together and erected a small schoolhouse on the Roberts place, this being the most central, and they secured a teacher for the instruction of their children.

Mr. Hughes contributed a piece of land for the erection of the Gulf school. He erected a lime kiln on the "Walnut Grove" farm and burned lime for a number of years. In 1803 he built for himself and family a new home, calling it "Wood Side", adjoining "Walnut Grove", or in fact it being a portion of the ancestral estate. The house is of stone, situated on a high hill commanding a very beautiful view, is in a good state of preservation and will be a landmark for generations to come. The lumber, consisting of walnut, was furnished from "Walnut Grove" farm and the yellow pine from Hughes tracts of land in North Carolina. In 1814 he was elected a member of the house of representatives of the commonwealth of Pennsylvania. He was a vestryman of St. John's Episcopal church of Norristown. He became interested in coal mines, and moved to Pottsville where he lived for several years, after which he moved to Philadelphia where he died of bronchitis on December 31, 1837, in the sixty-sixth year of his age. He was buried at Christ Swede's church cemetery, Bridgeport, Pennsylvania.

John Hughes and Hannah Bartholomew had five children: Rachel Bartholomew Hughes, born at "Walnut Grove", August 2, 1801, married Jacob Dewees, M. D., of Trappe, Upper Providence township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. Isaac Wayne Hughes, born in Montgomery county, February 14, 1804, graduated from the medical department, of the University of Pennsylvania in 1825, moved to Newbern, North Carolina, June 1, 1825, and married in 1828, Eliza A. McLin, daughter of Thomas and Eliza McLin, of Newbern, North Carolina. Benjamin Bartholomew Hughes, was married to Mary, daughter of Jonas and Nancy Rambo, of Upper Merion, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, in 1829, by the Rev. John C. Clay. Slator Clay Hughes was married to Susan, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Jarrett, of Upper Merion, August 4, 1836, by the Rev. John C. Clay. He died December 20, 1841. Francis Wade Hughes was born August 20, 1817, in Upper Merion township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania.

Francis Wade Hughes commenced the study of law in 1831, in the office of the late George W. Farquahar, of Pottsville, Pennsylvania, and the following winter entered the office of John H. Wallace of Philadelphia.

In August, 1837, he was admitted a member of Schuylkill county bar and commenced the practice of his profession in Pottsville, Pennsylvania, where he passed his life. His success was immediate, brilliant and continuous, his practice extended to all branches of the profession, and his cases were

(Page 287)

important. He was appointed deputy attorney general by Hon. F. Johnson, then attorney general. He resigned three times, but was subsequently reappointed and held the position altogether eleven years. At no period of his life was he willingly concerned for the prosecution in homicide cases, and for twenty-five years refused such engagements. He had, however, very frequent engagements for the defense, with invariable success, to the extent of presenting a conviction of murder in the first degree. When what are known as the "Molly Maguire" cases came on for trial, he took an active part in the prosecution in Carbon, Schuylkill and Columbia counties. Through the efforts of Mr. Franklin B. Gowen, and the instrumentality of the Pinkerton detective agency, the requisite proofs and knowledge of the criminals was obtained. Capital punishment in their case seemed the only remedy for the ills under which the community suffered, and acting under this belief, Mr. Hughes actively, earnestly and successfully took part in the prosecution.

In 1843 he was elected to the state senate in Schuylkill county, and after serving in the legislature one year he resigned his position and returned to the practice of law. In 1851 he was appointed by Governor Bigler secretary of the commonwealth. This office he filled until 1853, when he succeeded judge James Campbell as attorney general. As secretary of the commonwealth, he was superintendent of common schools and took great interest in the organization of the common-school system of Pennsylvania, which, with slight modifications, is still maintained. He was the author of the common-school act of 1851, and his decisions, as superintendent of common schools, relative to the construction of the law, are regarded as authority. He regarded a civil war with dread and hoped until the last to avert it. When, however, the resort to arms was inevitable, his support of the Union was prompt, energetic and valuable. He denied utterly any right of secession and claimed that the government was one of the whole people, not a federation of states. He aided in fitting out two of the first companies that reached Washington. He maintained with voice and pen the legal right of the government to put down rebellion with force of arms. He aided in the raising of regiments when the invasion of Pennsylvania was threatened by the forces of Lee, and one regiment was familiarly known as his regiment.

In politics, as in law, he was ever recognized as a power, brilliant and frequently irresistible. Mr. Hughes was always very active as a business man outside of his profession. He originated and aided in many enterprises, in the purchase and improvement of lands, in the opening and improvement of coal and iron mines, and in the establishment of iron works and other factories. He was of fine personal appearance, dignity of manners and character, pleasing address and amiable disposition. He was universally respected, and popular with political opponents as well as personal friends. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Sarah Silliman, of Pottsville, Pennsylvania, in April, 1839. He died October 22, 1885, aged sixty-eight years.

Theodore Jones Hughes was married to Caroline, daughter of Brice and Helen Oliver Fonville, of Onslow, North Carolina, November 19, 1844, by the Rev. N. Collin Hughes. Nicholas Colin Hughes, born in Upper Merion, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, was ordained to the deaconate in the old St. Thomas church, New York city, June 30, 1844, by Bishop B. T. Onderdonk.

He moved south in August, 1844, was ordained a priest in old Christ church, Raleigh, North Carolina, in May, 1846, by Bishop Ives. He married Adaline Edmonds, daughter of Dr. Robert and Elizabeth Ellis Williams, of Pitt county, North Carolina, October 17, 1848, the Rev. J. B. Cheshire officiating. John Curtis Clay Hughes married, March 13, 1851, Mrs. Emma R Heebner, daughter of Benjamin and Sarah Coombe, of Pottsville, Pennsylvania.

Benjamin Bartholomew Hughes, son of John Hughes and Hannah Bartholomew, was born at "Wood Side", Upper Merion, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, June 27, 1808. He was a man of fine personal appearance and pleasing manners. He married Mary, daughter of Jonas and Nancy Rambo, of Upper Merion, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, in 1829, the Rev. John C. Clay officiating. Mr. Hughes determined to make himself useful by the acquirement of a trade, selecting that of a tanner and serving his apprenticeship with Jesse Walton of Frankford. He also served an apprenticeship of currier with Chambers & Evans of Philadelphia. He followed these trades for a short time only at Milton, Pennsylvania. He returned to the farm, and upon this land were extensive deposits of iron ore and a lime stone quarry of much value, to which his attention was mainly devoted until 1851, when he retired and removed to Bridgeport, Pennsylvania. He was also interested in coal land in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Hughes died August 20, 1856.

(Page 288)

Benjamin B. Hughes married for his second wife Mary J., daughter of David and Hannah Brooke, of Gulf Mills, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, August 18, 1858, the Rev. Henry Reese officiating. Though not ambitious for distinction of office, he was repeatedly elected burgess of Bridgeport, Pennsylvania. His integrity and excellent judgment caused his services to be in much demand in the capacity of guardian and as the custodian of important trusts. He was a director of the Montgomery National Bank of Norristown, and afterwards connected himself with the First National Bank, serving as a director until a short time before his death.

He was a member of Christ Swedes church, Upper Merion, in which he served as vestryman and senior warden for fifty-two years. He died in Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, March 11, 1892, aged eighty-four years, and was buried at Christ Swedes church cemetery, March 16, 1892.

Benjamin Bartholomew Hughes and his wife Mary Rambo had the following children. John J. Hughes, the eldest married Hannah, daughter of Hunter Brooke and his wife Hannah Adams, of Gulf Mills, Pennsylvania, May 3, 1851, by Mayor Henry of Philadelphia. Isaac Wayne Hughes, who graduated in the medical department of the University, of Pennsylvania in 1852, located in Sunbury, Pennsylvania, same year, and married Alice E., daughter of Judge Charles and Elizabeth Donnel, of Sunbury, Pennsylvania, April 11, 1855, the Rev. William White Montgomery (Episcopal) officiating.

Dr. Hughes returned to West Philadelphia, locating himself at Fortieth and Chestnut streets in the autumn of 1854. He was a volunteer surgeon during the late war.

He organized the West Philadelphia Bank in 1869, and was the first and only president until the time of his death. He was also president of an Incinerating Company. Dr. Hughes was the rector's warden and vestryman of St. Mary's Protestant Episcopal church, Locust street, between Thirty-ninth and Fortieth streets, for thirty-nine years.

Dr. Hughes married for his second wife Emilie Baker, daughter of John and Almira Baker, of Philadelphia, January 24, 1878, the officiating. He died at his home, located at Fortieth and Chestnut streets, Friday evening, April 26, 1895, and was buried at Christ Swedes church, Upper Merion, Monday, April 29, 1895.

By his first wife he had two children, Dr. Donald Hughes and Bertrand Hughes, an attorney. The children by his second wife were Wayne, David P. and July D. Hughes. Nathan Rambo Hughes married Amanda E., daughter of David M. and Emily H. Stacker, of Lower Merion township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, April 19, 1864, by Mayor Henry of Philadelphia. He was engaged in the lumber and coal business in Bridgeport, Pennsylvania. He was a member of the vestry of Christ Swedes church, Upper Merion. He died at his home which was located at Third and DeKalb streets, Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, November 28, 1880, and was buried at Christ Swedes church cemetery, Upper Merion, Pennsylvania. He had two children, Emily J. and Frank S. Charles Collin Hughes, married Emily, daughter of George and Mary Pechin, of Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, February 21, 1860.

(Page 289)

He was a druggist in Philadelphia, died December 4, 1888, and was buried in Montgomery cemetery, Norristown, Pennsylvania. Henry Clay Hughes, born at "Wood Side", Upper Merion, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, entered the service as a private of Company B, Fourth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, April 20, 1861, was in the occupation of Perryville, Maryland, April 21, on duty in Washington, District of Columbia, May 8 to June 24; skirmish near Shusters Hill, Virginia, June 30; assigned to the First Brigade (Franklin) Third Division (Hentzelman) Army of Northeast Virginia, July 2; moved to Shangster's station, Virginia, July 18, and to Centerville July 19, and mustered out at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, July 27, 1861, at the expiration of term.

Henry Clay Hughes re-entered the service as corporal of Company F, Fifty-first Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, September 13, 1861; served in the Second Brigade, First Division, North Carolina Expeditionary Corps, December, 1861 to March, 1862; moved to Annapolis, Maryland, November 16-17, 1861; sailed to Hatteras Inlet, North Carolina, January 9, 26, 1862; moved to Roanoke Island, February 7; battle of Roanoke Island, February 7-8; expedition to Newbury, March 11-13; battle of Newbern, March 13-14; discharged on surgeon's certificate at Newbern, North Carolina, May 21, 1862.

He was made first lieutenant of Company G, Seventeenth Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Militia, September 17, 1862, and served in General J. F. Reynolds' command during the invasion of Maryland by the Army of Northern Virginia, and was mustered out with company on September 28, 1862.

He was second lieutenant of Company H, One Hundred and Seventy-fifth Regiment Pennsylvania Infantry, November 4, 1862, and resigned at Newbern, North Carolina, on account of ill health on January 16, 1863.

His fifth and last engagement was as first lieutenant of Company I, Thirty-fourth Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteer Militia, June 3, 1863, and he served in the army corps of the Susquehanna and the district of the Lehigh during the invasion of the north by the army of Northern Virginia. This regiment was held in reserve at the time of the battle at Gettysburg. He was mustered out with the company on August 24, 1863, at the expiration of the term. Henry Clay Hughes was married to Kate A. Longacre, December 25, 1871, by N. B. Durrell. Hannah Hughes, unmarried, died March 8, 1884. Catherine Dewees Hughes was married April 19, 1877, to Edmund M. Evans, son of David and Lavina Evans, by the Rev. J.P. Tustin.

Their children are Benjamin H., Ray R. and May. William Corson Hughes, unmarried. Francis Wade Hughes, died at the age of five years, on May 7, 1860. Mary Ann Hughes, married Hubert O., son of Dr. Joseph and Hannah Blackfan, of Radnor, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, December 18, 1872, by the Rev. U. Perenchief.

John J. Hughes, son of Benjamin Bartholomew Hughes and his wife Mary Rambo, was born in Upper Merion, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, January 12, 1830. He married Hannah, daughter of Hunter and Hannah Adams Brooke, of Gulf Mills, Pennsylvania, in May 1851, by Mayor Henry of Philadelphia. They bought and moved to the farm "Wood Side," vacated by the removal of his father to Bridgeport. He was interested in the digging of iron ore, and burned lime on the adjoining farm, "Walnut Grove", for a period of two or three years, when he turned his attention to the cattle business in which he has been extensively engaged ever since. He is a vestryman of Christ Swedes church of Upper Merion. He has been a director of the People's National Bank of Norristown, Pennsylvania, since its organization, and has served as vice-president about fifteen years. He is a Republican in his political views. In his young days he was very fond of sport, was often termed the "King" of fox hunters, kept good horses, had his kennel of hounds, and has held meets on his farm which have been attended by several hundred persons.

Mr. Hughes and his family now reside in Norristown, Pennsylvania, whither they removed five years ago. The children of John J. and Hannah (Brooke) Hughes are as follows: J. Hunter Hughes; Mary, wife of Winfield S. Stacker; Nathan B.; Anna B., wife of Jonathan R. Tyson; Benjamin B.; Frances F., wife of J. Cloude Smith; and Charles C. Hughes.

(Page 290)



(Picture of George W. Jones)

GEORGE W. JONES, one of the best-known farmers and dairymen of the vicinity, resides at North Wales, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. The dairy is the especial department of Mr. Jones, being his favorite work. He is unmarried, and resides with his sister Emma Rebecca on the homestead farm. In the lifetime of their parents, the comfort of father and mother was a matter of solicitude to each, and since their death the comfort and welfare of each other has been their highest aim. In politics Mr. Jones is a Democrat of the old school, always going to the polls and voting his party ticket as a matter of principle, but never expecting or receiving any official position by way of recognition. Both are members of the North Wales Baptist church, and Miss Jones is much interested in church work.

John Mann Jones (father) was the son of Hugh and Mary Jones, the mother not changing her name on her marriage, although not connected by the ties of consanguinity with her husband's family. John M. Jones was born on the homestead in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, June 4, 1805. He attended the schools of the district, and also gave his father needed assistance on the farm, acquiring habits of useful industry which served him well in later years. On relinquishing school studies, he devoted his time and attention to teaching school during the winter and assisting on the home farm during the summer. He married, March 22, 1831, Cordelia, born August 6, 1810, daughter of Edward Jones, of Gwynedd township, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. After his marriage, John M. Jones located for a time in Gwynedd, near Kneedler's Tavern, on a farm.

Their children: Benjamin Franklin, born July 27, 1832, married, October 29, 1857, Margaret, born November 11, 1835, daughter of Wilson and Mary (White) Dance, of the village known as White's Corner, in Upper Gwynedd township, farmers; Edward Agabus, born January 3, 1834, married Jennie; George Washington, subject of this sketch; Arabella, born June 10, 1837, widow of Francis Myers, of Bucks county, and they have a (laughter Tina Emma Rebecca, born November 23, 1839, is unmarried, and resides with her brother George; John Hugh, born February 23, 1849, married, and resides in Philadelphia; Howard, born September 25, 1851, died February 23, 1868.

Hugh Jones (grandfather) had the following children: Samuel, born June 15, 1790; Margaret, born in June, 1792; Amos, born October 8, 1794; Jesse, born August 8, 1798; Catharine, born May 13, 1802; John Mann, father of George W. Jones, born June 4, 1805; Thomas, born November 15, 1808; William, born June 16, 1811.

George W. Jones, born July 25, 1835, attended school until he was grown to manhood and then assisted on the homestead in farm work. He is actively interested in all that relates to the welfare of the community in which he lives, and is highly respected by all who know him.



JESSE S. KRIEBLE, a life-long resident of Worcester township, was born October 11, 1842, on the farm of fifty acres on which he now resides. He attended the schools of the neighborhood until he attained the age of eighteen years. He then spent two years at the academy at North Wales and at Freeland Seminary, now Ursinus College, at Collegeville, for one term.

Having acquired sufficient knowledge for the purpose, he taught school at Gwynedd Square, known as the Weslem School. He also taught three years at Anders' School in Worcester. After working for some time for his father on the home farm, he took a farm on his own account, and has been engaged in this occupation ever since.

Mr. Krieble is of the Schwenkfelder denomination. In politics he is a Republican, but has strong independence inclinations. He has been school director in Worcester for a period of twenty-four years, a very unusual circumstance. He is a very active member of the Farmers' Union, of Worcester, one of the most influential farmers' clubs in eastern Pennsylvania, being its president. He is president of the board of directors of the Centre Point creamery, of which board he has been a member since 1881.

He is a director of the National bank of North Wales, and is a director of the Lansdale Water Company. He is a trustee of the Perkiomen Seminary, Pennsburg, a member of the executive committee and one of the vice-presidents of the School Directors' Association of Montgomery county.

In 1870 Mr. Krieble married Susan, daughter of William Krieble, also of Worcester. The couple have had five children, of whom four are

(Page 291)

deceased. Vernon K., who survives, attended Brown University, in Providence, Rhode Island, where he took the scientific course, having first graduated from the public schools of the township and from the Perkiomen Seminary at Pennsburg. He was born March 4, 1885. Of the deceased children of Mr. and Mrs. Jesse Krieble, Malinda died at the age of six years; Ida, at the age of fifteen months; Harvey, at the age of seven months.

Isaac S. Krieble (father) was the son of Isaac and Regina Schultz Krieble. He was their only child and was born April 22, 1806. He married May 5, 1831, Christiana, daughter of William Schultz. Their children: William, born June 8, 1832; a son born October 10, 1833, lived but two days; Carolinia, born September 28, 1834, died October 24, 1851; Phoebe, born January 20, 1837; Noah, born December 4, 1838, died August 16, 1839; Sarah, born September 24, 1840; Jesse S. (subject of this sketch); Daniel, born December 2, 1845; Enos, born February 1, 1847, died February 12, 1847; Amanda, born May 20, 1850; Selina, born May 30, 1853, married Amandas S. Rothenberger; a son born died November 15, 1856. Isaac S. Krieble was a well-known farmer of Worcester.

Christiana Schultz, wife of Isaac S. Krieble, was born December 6, 1812, was the eldest child of William and Salome (Krieble) Schultz, whose other children were: Samuel, born September 13, 1814; Maria, born October 6, 1816, died February 27, 1833; William Schultz, died on Christmas day, 1817, his widow died November 4, 1869. William and Salome were married November 14, 1811. William Schultz was born November 11, 1786, being the son of David and Anna Krieble Schultz, who were married May 17, 1781, and had in all ten children. David Schultz was the son of Rev. Christopher Schultz, a native of Silesia and son of Melchior Schultz, Rev. Christopher Schultz was a scholar of rare acquirements, a friend of Count Zinzandorf, and one of the leaders in the movement for emigration to America, being an active spirit among the Schwenkfelders. He settled with his two brothers near what is now the borough of East Greenville. He died May 9, 1789, aged seventy-one, his wife, Rosina, daughter of Baltzer Yeakel, and four children, Regina, Andrew, David and Susanna, surviving him.

Isaac Krieble (grandfather), born February 5, 1779, was the eldest child of Abraham and Rosina (Hartranft) Krieble, whose other children were Christina, 1780; Maria, 1788; Susanna, 1796. Isaac Krieble married Regina, daughter of Melchior Schultz, grandson of Melchior Schultz who was a brother of the Rev. Christopher Schultz. Isaac and Regina Krieble had but one child: Isaac S.

Abraham Krieble (great-grandfather), born March 30, 1750, was the eldest child of Christopher and Maria (Dresher) Krieble. He died December 16, 1818, aged sixty-eight years, his wife having died four years previously. They were married February 12, 1778.

Christopher Krieble (great-great-grandfather) was the son of Christopher Krieble, who with his wife Maria came in 1734 to Pennsylvania with their children, the others being George, Susanna, Anna, Maria and Rosina. The children of the younger Christopher were: Abraham; Rosina, born 1751; Jeremiah, 1755; Anna, 1758 Susanna, 1762. He died December 31, 1800, aged eighty years, his wife, December 30, 1772, aged forty-nine years. (Many more particulars of the Krieble and Schultz families are given in the "Genealogical Record of the Schwenkfelders," by Rev. Reuben Krieble, published in 1879.)

Amandas S. Rothenberger, who married Selina, sister of Jesse S. Krieble, was born in Horsensack township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, June 6, 1854. He attended the ordinary schools until the age of seventeen years. He then engaged in farming and was employed on that of Mr. Krieble for twenty-eight years. He then bought the farm and resides on it at the present time. Mr. Rothenberger is a member of the Schwenkfelders. He is a Republican in politics, and is an active member of the Farmers' Union.

Mr. Rothenberger's marriage with Miss Krieble occurred in 1879. They have had a family of six children, three being deceased. They are: Ada, born January 1, 1886, residing with her parents.

(Page 292)

In 1901 she graduated in the public schools of Worcester. She then attended the Perkiomen Seminary, where she graduated in June, 1904, making specialties of music and elocution. Amos, born September 20, 1891, is attending Anders' School. Marvin was born January 21, 1897. Ella, born June 25, 1880, died at the age of four and a half years. Nora, born July 3, 1882, died at the age of two and a half years. Minie, born September 17, 1893, died at the age of three and a half years.

Mr. Rothenberger is the son of David and Susanna (Schultz) Rothenberger. He is one of a family of seven children, of whom he is the eldest. The brothers and sisters of Mr. Rothenberger Edwin, married Amanda Krieble, daughter of Ephraim Krieble. He is a farmer of Worcester. They have a family of six children: Emma, Alvin, deceased, Irene, James, Lawrence, and Oscar. Sarah Ann died at the age of thirty-three years unmarried. Thomas married Ellen K. Heebner, daughter of John S. Heebner. Thomas is a farmer of Worcester. They had two children: Wayne and Lillie. They died in March, 1893. Thomas then married Ellen K. Krieble, daughter of Abraham K. Krieble. They have had two children, Mabel and Irma. Asa married Amanda Merkel, daughter of Solomon Merkel, of Lehigh county. He is a farmer of Montgomery county. They have two children, Elmer and Frank, Elmira died at the age of two years. Levi married Andora Shoenly, daughter of Samuel Shoenly. He was a clerk in Philadelphia, and is now deceased. His wife and child, Ida, survive, a son, Clarence, is deceased.

Amanda Krieble, another sister of Jesse S. Krieble, married Noah Seibert, son of Jonas Seibert, of Upper Milford township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. Her husband was a farmer by occupation. Their son, William K. Seibert, born March 20, 1879, took a course in the Medico-Chirurgical College, Philadelphia. He received his early education in the public schools in Worcester, graduating in 1895. He also graduated from Perkiomen Seminary in 1898, and from Lafayette College in 1902. On September 15, 1903, he married Miss Elsie M. Bechtel.

Noah Seibert died January 30, 1891. He was kicked by a horse and lived only two hours after being injured. He was born December 15, 1849.



DR. ELLWOOD MAULSBY CORSON, son of George and Martha (Maulsby) Corson of Plymouth Meeting, was born June 15, 1842. The earlier history of the family is given elsewhere in this volume under the head, "The Corson Family."

George Corson (father) was the fourth son of Joseph and Hannah (Dickinson) Corson. He was born January 4, 1803, at Hickorytown. Like his brothers, Alan W. and Joseph D, Corson, he inherited the characteristics of his father and became a cultured scholar. He had remarkable mathematical talent at school, leading all the pupils in mathematical studies.

On reaching manhood he engaged in storekeeping with Jonathan Maulsby at Plymouth Meeting. January 24, 1832, he married Martha Maulsby, daughter of Samuel and Susan (Thomas) Maulsby: Samuel Maulsby was an extensive farmer and limeburner. After the death of his father-in-law, George Corson bought the homestead and limestone quarries and continued the business until his death on November 18, 1860, in his fifty-eighth year. He and his wife, though not members, were frequently in attendance at Friends' meeting, and their children were brought up in accordance with the principles of the Society.

George Corson was influential for good in his community. He bore faithful testimony against the use of intoxicating liquor, often given by employers at that time to men who burned lime. He was also all earnest opponent of the system of slavery, his home being a refuge for runaway slaves, and he pleading their cause whenever it was necessary. Of the children of George and Martha Corson, Susan, the eldest, died of consumption in her fifteenth year; Mary died in infancy; Dr. Marcus H. Corson died in his twenty-third year, also of consumption. Their father was a victim of this disease. Samuel Maulsby Corson studied law and practiced it for a time, but preferred literature, like his brother, Dr. Marcus H. Corson.

(Page 293)

He became a teacher in Whitemarsh township, being very successful in this occupation and greatly loved by his pupils. He took great interest in historical research and wrote many articles on local history for newspapers. He died August 7, 1881, in his forty-third year. Only three of the children of George Corson are living, Dr. Ellwood M.; Helen, widow of Thomas Hovenden, the famous artist; and Ida, wife of William De Caindry of Washington, D. C.

Dr. Ellwood Maulsby Corson, after an excellent preliminary training, mostly in Friends' schools, entered on the study of medicine with his uncle, Dr. Hiram Corson, near Plymouth Meeting, in 1860. The Rebellion breaking out the next year, he and his cousin, Joseph K. Corson, Hiram's son, entered the Military Hospital at the corner of Broad and Cherry streets, Philadelphia, as assistants to the surgeons in charge.

By day Ellwood M. Corson attended lectures at the University, and attended to the sick and wounded in the evening and at night until his graduation in the spring of 1863. Having been commissioned assistant surgeon, he was attached to the Sixty-ninth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers. After the battle of Antietam, he was taken ill with typhoid fever, and sent to Baltimore. After his recovery he was sent to New York, thence on a monitor to Charleston harbor. The vessel did duty daily, exposed to cannonading until the Confederates evacuated Charleston.

After the war, Dr. Corson continued in the Marine Hospital, Philadelphia, as assistant to his uncle, Surgeon Maulsby, United States Navy. He resigned later and formed a partnership with his uncle, Dr. William Corson for the practice of medicine in Norristown, being associated with him until the uncle's death in 1886. For many years, Drs. William and Ellwood Corson were located on the lower side of Main street, nearly midway between DeKalb and Mill streets. Dr. Ellwood M. Corson, who occupies a prominent place in his profession, being a skilled surgeon as well as practitioner of medicine, is now located on DeKalb street near Oak, Norristown, his services being much in demand as a consulting physician.

He married, November 20, 1866, Margaret Livingston Wilkeson, daughter of Samuel and Catherine (Cady) Wilkeson. Mr. Wilkeson was the war correspondent and associate in the ownership and editorial work of the New York Tribune for many years, and Mrs. Wilkeson a sister of Mrs. Elizabeth Cady Stanton, the eminent Abolitionist and Woman's Rights advocate. Dr. and Mrs. Corson have three children: Katherine Cady Corson, Bayard Wilkeson Corson and Livingston Corson.

Dr. Corson is a member of the board of directors of Charity Hospital, Norristown, and takes an active interest in its work. He has an extensive and lucrative practice, his skill in surgery and medicine and his kindly, courteous manners commending him to all with whom he comes in contact. He is a Republican in politics, but independent in his views, preferring to follow principle rather than mere policy in matters relating to party government.



EDWIN MORRIS HARRY, justice of the peace at Norristown, his office being at No. 415 Swede street, was born in Norristown, February 11, 1953. He was the son of Charles P. and Rebecca D. (Markley) Harry, both parents being members of old families in Montgomery county. The couple had five children: Mary Harry, Dr. C. Howard Harry, Edwin Morris Harry, Abraham Markley Harry, and Anna D. Harry, all of Norristown.

Charles P. Harry (father) was a leading dentist of Norristown from 1839 until close to the time of his death, which occurred in 1886, at the age of sixty-eight years. His wife survived him five years and died at the age of sixty-nine years. Both were Presbyterians in religious faith. He was a church trustee, and otherwise prominent in church work. During the invasion of Pennsylvania by Confederate troops prior to the battle of Gettysburg in 1863, he enlisted as an emergency man and served for a short time.

Rees Harry (grandfather) married Mary Snyder. He died in 1824, well advanced in years, leaving twelve children. He had a jovial disposition and was a great hunter.

(Page 294)

Abraham Markley (maternal grandfather) was a lifelong resident of Montgomery county. His wife was Mary Ann Darrah. He was superintendent of the Norristown Water Company, of the Cemetery Company, the Norristown Bridge Company and of the Norristown Gas Company and lived for many years at the Montgomery House, now the Hotel Montgomery, of which he was the proprietor. He died at the age of eighty-four years. He was of German descent and his wife was Scotch-Irish. They had five children.

E. M. Harry has lived all his life in Norristown. He attended the public schools for a time but select schools principally; also the Philadelphia Polytechnic College of Civil and Mining Engineering; and in 1876 was graduated from the Philadelphia Dental College, being vice-president of his class. He practiced dentistry in Norristown for seventeen years. He was elected assessor for the second ward of the borough of Norristown and served in that capacity for twelve years. He was appointed by Governor Hastings to fill out the unexpired term of O. N. Urner, justice of the peace, at his death in 1897, and is now serving his second term in that position.

Politically Mr. Harry is a Republican. He has for many years been active in the interests of his party, and has served as borough and county committeeman for a number of years.

December 7, 1882, he married Miss Tillie J. Quillman, daughter of Jacob F. and Henrietta (Meek) Quillman, of an old Norristown family. Mrs. Harry is a member of the Evangelical Lutheran church of the Trinity. He is a member of the Improved Order of Red Men, and is Past Sachem of Beaver Tribe, No. 62. He lives at 323 Cherry street, where he owns his home.

The founder of the family in America was David Harry, a native of Wales, who came to Pennsylvania and settled in Whitemarsh, in what was then Philadelphia county, about 1698. He was married in 1699 to Lydia Powell, of Philadelphia, who was the daughter of David Powell. They were married at Germantown Friends Meeting House, December 2, 1699. David Harry purchased from Thomas Farmer, in 1700, one thousand two hundred and fifty acres of land situated in Whitemarsh. His son Rees was born in 1701, and married Mary Price of Haverford, October 12, 1727, in Haverford Friends Meeting House. He died in 1787, aged eighty-six years. He had a son, John, who was born October 14, 1736. He married Alice Meredith in 1768, and died August 12, 1800. His second wife was Letitia Jones, a widow, and they had one son, Rees Harry, who was the grandfather of Edwin Morris Harry.

The Markley family are of German origin. They were early settlers in what is now Montgomery county The father of Abraham Markley was Isaac Markley, who married a Miss Heiser. They lived near Jeffersonville, two miles above Norristown. He was a contractor and constructed the Philadelphia & Reading turnpike. They had five children.

** * * * **

Return to Roberts' Biographies: Vol I - Index

Return to Roberts' Biographies: Vol I - Part 12

Go to Roberts' Biographies: Vol I - Part 14