W. I. HIBBS, attorney at law, Pittston. This gentleman, who ranks among the foremost of the attorneys of the Luzerne county bar, was born in Juniata county, Pa., June 3, 1851. He is a son of Edward M. and Catherine (Potter) Hibbs, natives of Pennsylvania, the father of Bucks county, the mother of Mifflin county. The paternal grandfather, Jacob Hibbs, of English origin, was farmer, and removed from Bucks county to Juniata county, while the father of our subject was a boy. The maternal grandfather, John Potter, was of German origin, a native of Dauphin county, Pa., and a farmer by occupation. Edward M. Hibbs, father of our subject, was a farmer and lumber contractor, and passed his entire life in Juniata county. He had a family of five children, viz.: John Edward, who died in infancy; W. I., the subject of this sketch; Margaret Jane, who resides in Juniata county, Pa.; Henry P., a locomotive engineer on the Coalport & Cresson Railroad; and George S., ticket and freight agent for the Pennsylvania Railroad, with residence at Thompsontown, Pa. The father died in 1882, aged sixty-one years; the mother is yet living. Our subject passed his boyhood in Juniata county, and was educated in the public and private schools of that county and at Millersville State Normal School, graduating from the latter in 1880, taking the degree of B.E., and two years later he received the degree of M.E. Mr. Hibbs began teaching in 1871, and pursued that vocation in the counties of Juniata, Mifflin and Luzerne for several years; he was principal of the McVeytown high school, one year; Mifflin high school, two years; Patterson schools, four years, and the Northumberland schools, two years. In September, 1883, he was appointed principal of the West Pittston schools, and has since then made Pittston his home. He had charge of the West Pittston schools for five years, and then entered upon the practice of his profession. In May, 1881, he began reading law in the office of Hon. L. E. Atkinson, of Mifflintown, and he pursued his course of reading during vacations until his admission to the bar of Juniata county in February, 1889, and the Luzerne county bar March 11, same year. He at once opened an office in the room he now occupies in the National Bank Building, Pittston, and commenced the practice of his profession; and having located among a people who knew and valued his abilities, he soon secured a good clientage, which has been constantly increasing. Mr. Hibbs is a member of the West Side Presbyterian Church, and an active worker in the same; he is a member of Valley Lodge, No. 499, F. & A.M., of Pittston Chapter No. 242, and Wyoming Valley Commandery No. 57; he is also a member of the Y.M.C.A. of Pittston, and a member of the board of directors and chairman of the lecture committee of that body. Politically he is identified with the Democratic party, and is a member of the West Pittston school board. Mr. Hibbs has always been a successful man in whatever calling he has been engaged in, and now occupies an enviable position among the people of his adopted city.
HENRY HICKS, proprietor of the "Plains Hotel," and miner, was born in Tavistock, Devonshire, England, January 1, 1850, and is a son of John and Elizabeth (Heedy) Hicks, the former of whom was a sawyer by trade. They reared a family of twelve children, of whom Henry is the fourth. When a boy our subject worked at rope-making, copper and lead mining, and various other occupations, and at fourteen he began life for himself at the sawyer business, which he followed until he came to America in 1871, since when he has been engaged in mining, sinking shafts, contracting on gangways, airways and the like, variously in Scranton, Plymouth, Plains, Illinois and Wyoming. He worked in some of these places for several years, and is looked upon by his employers as a very able workman. Mr. Hicks was married in England February 12, 1870, to Miss Mary, daughter of Nicholas and Eliza (Gusgat) Reymend, and they have had born unto them seven children, viz.: John (deceased), Flora (deceased), Nellie, Henry, Frank, William (deceased) and Elizabeth (deceased). Mr. Hicks and family are members of the Church of England; he is a member of the I.O.O.F. and the Sons of St. George. Politically he has always been a Republican, but now stands ready to vote for the best interest of himself and his fellow-man, regardless of party lines or political prejudices.
DR. P. J. HIGGINS was from childhood an ambitious student, gifted with a keen intellect, and a retentive memory. At the early age of fourteen he was appointed principal of an important public school, and met with uninterrupted success as a teacher, being uniformally successful at examinations, and holding in turn provisional, professional and permanent certificates, which last is the highest grade in the profession. In 1873 he began the study of medicine with Dr. G. W. Guthrie, of Wilkes-Barre, and in 1877 was graduated "M.D." from Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York. In 1876 he was the winner of the Mott prize in surgery, the only cash prize given that year by the college. He practiced medicine in Scranton till 1881, when he returned to Wilkes-Barre, where he has since resided. In 1888 he began to give special attention to diseases of the chest and stomach, in which he soon became so expert in diagnosis and successful in treatment as to extend his practice throughout Wyoming Valley, and the adjacent counties. At intervals Dr. Higgins has written poems—mostly lyric—sufficient, if collected, to fill a volume of respectable size. He is also the author of a number of songs, several of which have been set to music. Among his poems are a number of translations from foreign languages, and some written by himself in Latin, German and Irish. He is acquainted with seven or eight languages, four of which he uses daily in his practice. He is the author of half a dozen serial stories, the best known of which are "The Night before the Bridal," published by the New York Weekly, and the "Dumb Witness," by the Detroit Free Press. He has been from boyhood a strict total abstainer, and a stanch advocate of temperance all his life. He is the author of the Pennsylvania "Night School Law," which extends the benefits and provisions of the common schools to those compelled to work during the day. He is medical examiner for a number of insurance companies and fraternal societies, and holds the position of surgeon of the First C.T.A. Regiment. His office and residence are No. 57 South Washington street.
GEORGE HILBERT, merchant, Fairview township, P.O. Mountain Top, was born in Germany April 11, 1854, and is a son of Anthony and Orsaula (Koldenbach) Hilbert. George, the subject of our sketch, is the youngest in a family of four children, and came to this country with his parents when he was four years old, settling in White Haven, the father died when George was eight years old. George attended the common schools until he was thirteen years old, when he secured employment in the sawmill at White Haven, where he worked until he was seventeen years old; he then went to work as a brakeman on the Lehigh Valley Railroad, which occupation he followed for three years. He gave this up to accept a position as clerk in the store of R. P. Schoonover at Fairview, and though the same store changed hands three different times in the next fourteen years, Mr. Hilbert was retained by each proprietor, and on December 20, 1889, Mr. Hilbert purchased the stock in the store, and is still its proprietor, having made it a general store. In 1890 he secured the appointment as postmaster of Mountain Top, having the office in his store building. Mr. Hilbert was united in marriage June 30, 1875, with Alice, daughter of Morris and Jane (Carey) Bush, both natives of America. Mr. and Mrs. Hilbert have three children: George M., who works in the store with his father, and Elizabeth J. and Nora B., who attend school. Mr. and Mrs. Hilbert with the family are regular attendants, though not members, of the M.E. Church. In politics Mr. Hilbert is a Republican, and is a member of Council No. 402, Royal Arcanum, Mountain Top.
L. HILBRONNER, dealer in clothing and gents' furnishing goods, Shickshinny, is a native of Meadville, Pa., and son of Morris and Sophia (Hoffheimer) Hilbronner, natives of Germany, the former of whom is now a resident of Philadelphia. Our subject was reared in his native State, educated in the public schools, and began life as a clerk. In 1867 he embarked in business for himself at Chester, Pa., from there moved in 1871 to Ashley, this county, and in 1881 located in Shickshinny, where he has since conducted the only exclusive clothing and gents' furnsihing establishment in the place, and made himself, by honorable dealings, one of the most popular business men of the borough. Mr. Hilbronner married December 26, 1878, Alice, daughter of Thomas Hook, of Bloomsburg, Pa., and has three children: L. Robert, Harry and Daisy. In addition to being a thorough business man, there are few who value or appreciate home ties more than Mr. Hilbronner. He is a member of the Jewish Synagogue of Philadelphia, and of the F. & A.M., Coalville Lodge No. 474, Ashley, Pa. In politics he is independent.
GEORGE HILBURT, miner in the Delaware Colliery, Plains, was born in Staffordshire, England, April 16, 1858, and is a son of Aaron and Eliza (Hadley) Hilburt. The father came to America in 1864, followed by his family in 1865, and he now resides in Plains, engaged as watchman at the Axle Works, Wilkes-Barre. The family consisted of eight children, two of whom are living, William and George. Our subject attended the public schools in both England and America, and at the age of nine years began tending door in the Mill Creek Slope, since when he has been engaged about the mines, including twelve years mining, chiefly in the Pine Ridge Colliery. Mr. Hilburt was married on December 23, 1878, to Miss Rebecca, daughter of George Martin, and they have four children, viz.: Fred, Arthur, George and Cora. Mr. Hilburt is a member of the I.O.O.F., A.O.K. of M.C., and the Sons of Saint George; in his political views he is a Republican. In 1883 he purchased his present residence where he has since lived.
WILLIAM HILBURT, fire-boss at the Pine Ridge Colliery, Plains, was born in Oldbury, Staffordshire, England, November 4, 1853, a son of Aaron and Eliza (Hadley) Hilburt, the former of whom is a son of James and Mary (Evans) Hilburt, the latter a daughter of William and Mary (Squires) Hadley. Our subject's father, who was a miner, came to America in December, 1864, his family landing on the fourteenth of the following April, and they first located in Pittston, where he resumed his former occupation. In 1867 he removed to Plains where he followed mining for some time, and is now watchman at the Sheldon Axle Works, Wilkes-Barre, residing with his son William. The family consisted of eight children, two of whom are living, viz: William and George. Our subject embarked in life working about the mines in Pittston, later in Plains, and has held his present position fifteen years. He was married, November 28, 1875, to Miss Ann, daughter of John T. and Isabella (Smiles) Moore, of Parsons, and they have had seven children, as follows: Aaron Goledge, Eliza Hadley, John Thomas, Isabella Smiles, Mary Elizabeth, Sarah Ann and William Lester. Mr. Hilburt, parents, and wife are members of the Primitive Methodist Church; socially, he is a member of the I.O.O.F., the Sons of St. George, and in his political views he is a Republican. In 1885 he built his residence.
JOHN A. HILDEBRAND, merchant, Dorrance township, P.O. Dorrance, was born in Germany, April 17, 1838, and is a son of Baltaser and Elizabeth (Koehler) Hildebrand; they had five children, of whom John A. was the fourth. He left his native country in 1855, coming to America, and secured work at the plastering trade at Hazleton. He followed it but a short time, when he gave it up and hired out as a farm hand, at which he worked for seven months, when he started to work in the coal mines, working there two years. He then went to Ohio, where he stayed for several months, after which he returned to Hazleton and accepted a position as stable boss at the Mt. Pleasant Colliery, where he remained until 1860, when he entered the employ of H. H. Linderman as delivery-man in the general store. He worked for Mr. Linderman until 1863, when he purchased a tract of wild land in Dorrance township; this he cleared and farmed until 1875, when he built a large hotel on the property, and followed the hotel business until a couple of years ago, when he started a grocery store, which he now conducts. Mr. Hildebrand was married October 11, 1863, to Julia, daughter of Peter Ero, of Dorrance township. Mrs. Hildebrand died July 26, 1886, having had a family of fourteen children, as follows: Mary, Elizabeth, Simon, Frances, Frederick T., George C., William H., Ella, Arry, Maggie G., Sophia E., Julia A., John A. and Peter, all of whom are living. Mr. Hildebrand and family are all members of the Dorrance Lutheran Church. In politics Mr. Hildebrand is a Democrat.
JOHN A. HILDEBRANT, farmer, P.O. Dallas, was born, June 23, 1826, in Hope township, Warren Co., N.J., in the common schools of which he was educated. He is the son of John C. and Mary C. (Swazey) Hildebrant, both of whom were born in Warren county, N.J., the former of whom was a practical farmer and a man of influence; he died in 1850 at the age of sixty-four years. His family consisted of thirteen children, ten of whom grew to maturity. John A. being the fourth. Our subject always followed farming, and made a success of it, having begun life with nothing, and now being an independent farmer, the result of hard labor, economy and a spirit of perseverance that says: "I must succeed." In 1840 he married for his first wife Mary, daughter of David Shannon, Esq., by which union there were born six children, five of whom are living: David, John B., Mary C., James E. and Angeline. The mother of this family dying June 10, 1862, for his second wife Mr Hildebrant married, in 1864, Miss Mary, daughter of Richard Decker, and by her he had one child, Sherman W. Mr. Hildebrant came from New Jersey to Dallas, Pa., in 1866, locating in Dallas township on a farm of 169 acres, on which he has since lived, and on which he has expended valuable labor to considerable advantage. He is a general farmer, raising various crops in their season. He has been honored with various offices in the town, such as school director, supervisor, poormaster inspector, and at present is assistant assessor. He is a member of the Grange; also a member in high standing of the M.E. Church. Politically he is a Republican.
JOHN B. HILDEBRANT, the second son of John A. and Mary (Shannon) Hildebrant, was born in Hope township, Warren Co., N.J., and moved to Dallas, this county, along with his father in 1866. At the age of twenty-three, in 1875, he married Miss Lina A., a daughter of James and Hannah Brace, by which union there were born two children, Rosy M. and Ola K. Mrs. Lina A. (Brace) Hildebrant was born in Centre Moreland, Pa., September 19, 1851. Mr. Hildebrant is a striving farmer, and he has built for himself a magnificent house, equipped with all the modern improvements and facilities for practical purposes. In 1879 he moved on to his present farm of seventy-three acres, and, like his father, he is a practical and prosperous agriculturist. There is every indication of coal on his place at no great depth. He is a member of the K. of P., I.O.R.M., and of the Grange. He and his good wife and daughter are consistent members of the M.E. Church at Dallas: politically he is a Republican.
JAMES E. HILDEBRANT, farmer in Lake township, P.O. Lehman, was born in Hope township, N.J., June 1, 1856, a son of John A. and Mary (Shannon) Hildebrant, both of whom were born in Hope township, N.J. In 1866 John A. Hildebrant moved to Lake township, this county, locating near Dallas on a farm of 179 acres. He has met with several reverses caused by sickness, death, and various other causes which keep men from becoming independent. On June 20, 1862, he lost his wife, and four years afterward he moved to Dallas where he now enjoys life as of old. Having survived all adverse winds, he is now a prosperous farmer. His family consists of six children by two marriages—five by the first and one by the second—all of whom are now living. James E., who is the fourth in the family, was reared in Hope, N.J., and received his education both there and in Dallas, being only ten years of age when he moved to the latter place (or neighborhood of it) with his father, with whom he lived until the age of twenty-six. On August 28, 1878 (being then twenty-two years old), he married Miss Esther Atkinson, a native of England, born March 25, 1856, in the county of Westmoreland, a daughter of Thomas and Carlotta Atkinson. To Mr. and Mrs. Hildebrant were born two sons: Clark S. and John A. Mr. Hildebrant moved in 1882 on his present beautiful place of seventy-three acres, where he built a large barn and an elegant house. He is a farmer of refinement and ability; a young man, but pushing and industrious, one who will be sure to make his mark in life. He and his wife are consistent members of the M.E. Church; socially he is a member of the Grange; politically he is a Republican.
G. G. HILL, member of the firm Hill & Evans, hardware merchants, Nanticoke, was born in Tredegar, England, April 3, 1866, and is a son of George and Ann (Surge) Hill, the former of whom is a Congregational minister. When George G. was quite young the family emigrated to America and located at Nanticoke, Pa. Here they remained a short time, and then removed to Drifton, and soon afterward to Aurora, Ill., subsequently proceeding to Ebensburg, Pa., and from there to Michigan, where the father is now engaged in the ministry. Mr. Hill was educated in the public schools, also in the Ebensburg Normal School, and at the age of nine years began an apprenticeship with Lechard & Thomas, tinners and plumbers, of Nanticoke. He was with them five years, and then engaged in his present business with Mr. Evans. Mr. Hill is a member of the Prohibition party.
GEORGE W. HILL, general commission merchant, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Chemung, Chemung Co., N.Y., February 9, 1844, a son of Hamlet and Temperance J. (Cooley) Hill, formerly of Orange county, N.Y., and is of English and Holland Dutch descent. His parents settled in Wyoming county, Pa., in 1848, and in 1873 removed to Wilkes-Barre, where the father soon died. The widow married Henry Haas and removed to Tunkhannock, where she resided until her death. The children of Hamlet and Temperance Hill were: Hattie (Mrs. J. W. Whitaker), Clara A. (Mrs. H. R. Lacey), and George W. Our subject was reared in Wyoming county from four years of age, and educated in the schools of Tunkhannock and Williamsport, and after reaching his majority entered the employ of the Catawissa Paper Company, with whom he remained three years. In 1873 he located in Wilkes-Barre and worked in the fruit and truck business five years. He then engaged in stock-raising in Kansas three years, and in 1881 returned to Wilkes-Barre, engaging in the live-stock business, in which he has since continued. In 1871 Mr. Hill married Miss Susan R., daughter of Edward Dodd, of Wyoming county, Pa., and by her had two children: Clara and Harry. Mr. Hill is a member of the F. & A.M. and R.S. of G.G. In politics he is a Democrat.
JAMES HILL, constable and city collector, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Schuylkill county, Pa., March 26, 1853, a son of George and Kate (Cameron) Hill, natives of Schuylkill county. The father was a merchant and farmer, and his family consisted of six children. Our subject, second in birth, was educated at the free schools of Schuylkill county, and at the age of nineteen was employed in the Rolling Mills at Reading, where he remained nearly three years. September 4, 1871, Mr. Hill married Miss Amanda, daughter of George and Kate (Garey) Kershner, natives of Schuylkill county, of German descent, and of this union have been born six children, all living. Mr. Hill and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is with the Democratic party, and has been constable for three years.
H. BAKER HILLMAN, retired, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Mauch Chunk, Carbon Co., Pa., April 12, 1834, and is a son of the late Col. H. B., and Elizabeth (Pryor) Hillman, the former of whom was one of the early and substantial citizens of Wilkes-Barre, removing thither in 1842, and was one of the early coal operators in Wyoming Valley. In 1847 he shipped 10,000 tons of coal from the old Blackman and Solomon's Gap, or Ross, Mines, to New York and Philadelphia over the Lehigh & Susquehanna Railroad, which was the first considerable amount of coal sent from this Valley by that route. In 1853 and 1854 he was burgess of the borough of Wilkes-Barre; in 1861 he was a member of the House of Representatives, and was at one time a colonel in the militia, and was known by young and old as "Colonel Hillman." He died March 17, 1882. H. Baker Hillman was also an extensive coal operator. In 1886 he lost his eldest son, Harry G. Hillman, then twenty years of age, a bright and promising student of the Wilkes-Barre Academy, and as a memorial to this son, the Harry Hillman Academy owes its existence. We quote from its prospectus: "The admirable school building of the Academy was erected by Mr. H. Baker Hillman, of this city. It is designed as a memorial of his eldest son, Harry Grant Hillman, a devoted pupil of the Academy, whose untimely death was lamented by all who knew him. The lot and the building upon it are solely Mr. Hillman's gift. It is situated near the corner of West River and Terrace streets. The building, with a heavy foundation of stone is of brick laid in red mortar. The cornices and sills are of cut stone; the ornamentation is of terra-cotta. Externally it is of a handsome appearance, and is highly creditable to the generosity which gave it, and to the public appreciation which maintains it." [See chapter on Schools.] H. B. Hillman is president of the board of trustees of the Harry Hillman Academy; a director of the People's Bank; secretary and director of the Vulcan Iron Works; vice-president and director of the Glen Summit Hotel Company, and a director of the Electric Light Company. He is a vestryman in St. Stephen's Protestant Episcopal Church. In 1871 and 1872 he was a councilman in Wilkes-Barre. On February 19, 1862, he was united in marriage with Josephine, daughter of Joseph Hillman, of Nazareth, Pa. George Baker Hillman, son of H. B. Hillman, was educated in the public schools of Wilkes-Barre and the Harry Hillman Academy. He received his legal education at the law department of the University of Pennsylvania, and was under the instructions of Wayne McVeigh, of Philadelphia, and Dickson and Atherton, of Wilkes-Barre. He was admitted to the Luzerne county bar, December 10, 1888, since when he has made a trip to Europe, traveling with his father's family.
CHRIS HIMMLER, locomotive engineer, Kingston, was born in Cumberland, Md., October 7, 1844, where he was reared and educated at the common schools. He is a son of Bartholomew and Catherine (Foster) Himmler, of German extraction; the former owned and operated the largest brewery and distillery in the State of Maryland and the oldest in that part of the State. He was a thorough-going man, prosperous in his business, to which he devoted all his time. He died in June, 1873, at the age of sixty-eight years. He reared a family of seven children, all of whom grew to maturity, and five of whom are now living. Our subject is the eldest in the family, and the only male member of his father's family who did not embark in the business of brewing and distilling. He remained at home till he reached his majority, and, in 1865, removed to this county, making his home in Nanticoke for five years, and being employed as fireman by the L.B.R.R., now the D.L. & W.R.R. After firing for two years, he was promoted to the position of engineer, a position he has since held. During his incumbency as fireman, he had proved a faithful employee, and was entitled to his promotion. He ran a passenger train for several years, and, although he met with some accidents, which was, however, beyond his control, yet he never lost a life in all his experience of twenty-five years as engineer. Mr. Himmler has been twice married, his first wife being Miss Mary Rhone, by which union there was no issue. Mrs. Mary Himmler died July 28, 1872, and for his second wife Mr. Himmler married, November 15, 1873, Miss Addie, daughter of Peter Lozo. This union has been blessed with six children, all of whom are living: Florence, May, Annie, Albertie, Charles and Wesley. Mrs. Addie Himmler was born in Sussex county, N.J., in 1854. Mr. Himmler deserves much credit for his success in life; he owns a neat and productive farm of seventy-two acres in Wyoming county, besides a house and lot in Kingston. At one time he was elected member of the borough council of Edwardsville. He is a member of the F. & A.M. and of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers.
ROBERT HIND, gardener and florist, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Appleby, Westmoreland, England, March 24, 1857, a son of Matthew Hind, who for more than twenty years was superintendent of the public markets of Westmoreland. Mr. Hind was educated in the public schools of his native town, and in his youth became an ardent lover of the gardener's art. In May, 1880, he came to this country, and after spending a few weeks in New York, proceeded to Ashley, this county, where he remained a short time. He then came Wilkes-Barre, where for two years he was employed by Shaw & Co., florists, of South Main street. He then revisited his old home in England, where he remained four years. In September, 1886, he once more set foot upon the shores of Columbia, coming straight to Wilkes-Barre, where he has since followed his profession, in which he is accounted one of the most skillful and accomplished artists.
JOHN H. HINE, pumpman in the Mill Creek Slope, Husdon, Plains township, was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., July 17, 1851, and is a son of John and Ann (Harper) Hine, natives of Virginia and Luzerne county respectively, and of German origin. The latter is still living in Plains township, at the age of seventy-three years. Our subject is a grandson of Conrad and Sarah (Kroup) Hine, natives of Germany, and of John and Susanna (Cox) Harper, natives of Virginia and Connecticut, respectively. The family of John and Ann Hine consisted of three children, viz.: Adaline (Mrs. William Shepherd), Sarah J. (Mrs. Thomas M. Jones) and John H. At an early age our subject began working about the mines, where he remained several years, and was then employed as brakeman, fireman, conductor and engineer on the Delaware & Hudson Railroad for eighteen years, and since 1874 has been employed about the machinery at the Mill Creek Slope. He built his present residence and removed therein in 1872. Mr. Hine married, for his first wife, Miss Elizabeth Davis, of Miners Mills, and they had six children, viz.: Maud E. (Mrs. Wilbur Devenport); Elizabeth May, who died at the age of four years; Addie; Daisy; Jael and Harry. Mrs. Elizabeth Hine died in 1884, and Mr. Hine was next married in 1886 to Miss Elizabeth J., daughter of Thomas and Jane (Hancock) Him; they have three children, viz.: Thomas, Annie and Jane. He is a member of the I.O.O.F.; he is a Republican in politics, and has held the office of register in Plains township.
MRS. JANE HISLOP, owner and proprietress of the "Thistle Hotel," Plains township, P.O. Hudson, was born in Carmarthen South Wales, and is a daughter of Joseph and Ann (Lott) Hancock, the former of whom was a sailor, and for many years was captain of the ship "Emerald Isle," making several trips to America, but was shipwrecked and drowned while sailing from the Isle of Man to Liverpool. The family consisted of twenty-one children, seventeen of whom reached majority. Our subject came to America in December, 1862, preceded by her husband, Thomas Him, to whom she had been married, May 2, 1855. He followed mining, and died in 1879, and his widow was afterward in January, 1880, married to John Hislop, a pumpman in the Enterprise Mine, who died March 10, 1891; he was a member of the F. & A.M., the I.O.R.M., and the Caledonian Club of Wilkes-Barre. Mrs. Hislop has battled bravely with adversity, and has carried on a successful business. She has reared a large family, being the mother of twenty-one children, ten of whom are living, viz.: Philip, who has been a mine foreman at the Stanton Colliery, Wilkes-Barre, for fifteen years; Mary A., who lost two husbands and married the third before she was twenty-eight years old (her present husband is Isaac Cox, an iron miner in Michigan); Joseph, a miner at the Keystone Colliery; Nimrod, who is a track-layer, living at home; Sarah (Mrs. George Harrison); Elizabeth (Mrs. John Hine); Catharine (Mrs. Andrew Humble), and Permelia A., Oscar O. and Edith, still under their mother's care. There are, in all, in this family nineteen grandchildren. Mrs. Hislop's brother, Thomas Hancock, was for several years a jailor in Wales, and is now a railroad conductor; he has one daughter and eleven sons, seven of whom are railroad engineers in various parts of England and Wales.
ROBERT HISLOP, inside foreman at the Keystone Colliery, Ridgewood, Plains township, was born in Scotland, November 9, 1844, and is a son of William and Sarah (Slaun) Hislop, the tenth in a family of thirteen children, two of whom are living; Mrs. Henry Kirk, of Plains, and Robert. Our subject at the age of eight years began working about the mines in his native country, and has followed mining all his life. He came to America in 1869, and located at Plains, this county, where he engaged in mining; in 1873 he became foreman of the Enterprise Colliery, a position he held until that colliery was shut down; in 1891 he accepted his present position. Mr. Hislop was married, July 17, 1864, to Miss Jennette, daughter of William and Agnes (Wilson) Keirs, of Scotland, and they have eight children, five of whom are living, viz.: Robert, married to Eugenia Linsey, of Plains (they have one child, Robert); John, a member of the class of 1892 in Jefferson Medical College; Thomas, time-keeper at the Keystone Colliery ; Agnes and Edgar. Mrs. Hislop is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Hislop is a member of the F. & A.M., the I.O.O.F. and Encampment, and the Caledonian Club of Wilkes-Barre; in his political views he is a Republican.
RUDOLPH C. HITCHLER, jeweler, Nanticoke, was born in Wilkes-Barre, January 13, 1853, a son of Lewis and Barbara (Bernhart) Hitchler, both of whom were natives of Germany. He was educated in the Harvey private school, Wilkes-Barre, and, at the age of sixteen years, commenced work as an apprentice in the Wyoming Valley Machine Shops, Wilkes-Barre, where he learned the trade of machinist. He worked at that trade thirteen years in the following places: Lehigh Valley Shops, Wilkes-Barre; Dickson's Wilkes-Barre; Jersey Central, Ashley; and Swoyers, at Port Bowkley. He then went to Galveston, Texas, and remained there one year; he returned to Wilkes-Barre, but shortly after went to Ellis, Kans., where he worked in the Union Pacific Shops. After working in most of the above-named places, at various times, he went in 1881, to Plymouth and commenced to work at the jeweler's trade with his brother, A. F. Hitchler, who is a thriving jeweler of that place. He remained with him until December 11, 1883, when he came to Nanticoke and opened his present place of business, which consists of a full line of the highest quality of watches and jewelry, guns, revolvers and fishing tackle, as can be found in any place in the county. Mr. Hitchler was married December 24, 1881, to Lizzie M., daughter of Daniel Growf, of Wilkes-Barre. This happy union has been blessed with two children, Bessie and Anna. He is a member of the Patriotic Order of the Sons of America, the Sovereign Patriotic Knights, and the F. & A.M. He has served two terms on the Nanticoke school board, as treasurer of same one term, and president the other. In his political predilections he is a Democrat.
DENNIS F. HOBAN, miner, Plains, was born in Castlebar, County Mayo, Ireland, November 11, 1844, and is a son of John and Bridget (Holloran) Hoban, the former of whom was a stonecutter by trade. They reared a large family of children, of whom Dennis F. is the youngest; his only sister, Mary, married Patrick Jordan, who is foreman in a cotton mill at Fall River, Mass. The father came to America in 1848, and located at Rochester, N.Y., where he worked at his trade until his death, which occurred in 1858. Our subject came to America in 1861, and after remaining a short time at Lawrence, Mass., enlisted at Boston, August 20, 1861, in the South Atlantic blockading squadron, Commodore Dupont and Admiral John H. Dahlgren, aboard the flag-ship, "Wabash." He participated in the naval battles of Mobile Bay, Port Royal, siege of Vicksburg, Galveston (Tex.), and many other minor engagements. At Galveston he fought on board the "Nipsic," commanded by William E. Gibson, and was wounded in the side by a piece of an exploded shell; he was then placed on board the hospital ship and taken to Philadelphia, where he was mustered out, October 28, 1864. Returning then to Boston, he passed about a month there visiting his friends, and then came to Plains, this county, where he has since been engaged in mining, chiefly at the Wyoming Colliery. Mr. Hoban was married, August 19, 1866, to Miss Ann, daughter of Michael and Winneford (Durkin) Egan, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and they have five children, viz.: John J., a miner at Idaho Springs, Colo.; Charles F., a coal inspector at the Prospect Colliery, and Mary A., Catherine L. and Dennis F., Jr., living with their parents. Mr. Hoban and family are members of the Catholic Church; he is a member of the G.A.R., and in politics is a Republican.
REV. MICHAEL J. HOBAN, pastor of St. Leo (The Great) Catholic Church, Ashley, was born in Waterloo, N.J., June 6, 1853, and is a son of Patrick and Bridget (Hennigan) Hoban, natives, respectively, of Ratheskin and Ballina, County Mayo, Ireland. The father, who was a railroad contractor, was married in Archbald, Pa., January 2, 1850, and reared a family of seven children, viz.: Michael J.; Catherine, who died single at the age of twenty-seven years; Thomas, a lawyer in Scranton; Mary, who lives with her parents; Charles, a physician in Philadelphia, and Ann and Alice, who also live with their parents. Our subject's early education was received at his mother's knee, where he learned to read at the age of four years. He afterward attended a private school, and (in 1867-8) the St. Francis Xavier College, New York. From 1868 to 1871 he attended the Holy Cross College, at Worcester, Mass., after which he passed two and a half years at home in mercantile business. In February, 1874, he entered St. John's College, at Fordham, N.Y., for the remainder of the term. In September of the same year he entered the Overbrook Seminary of St. Charles Borromeo, and on October 8, 1875, was chosen by Bishop O'Hara to enter the American College, at Rome, Italy, whither he set sail on the sixteenth of the same month, arriving on the second of November. He attended classes in the Propaganda and in the American College, and had as instructors such eminent men as Dr. Ubaldi (who has attained quite a reputation as a Scriptural writer), Archbishop Galimberti (now Cardinal), Archbishop Agliardi (now nuncio at Munich), Sambucetti (once nuncio to Brazil), Monsignore Caprara (Promotor Fidei), popularly known as the "Devil's Advocate." He remained in Rome five years, and on Saturday, May 22, 1880, was ordained a priest in the Church of St. John Lateran, by Cardinal Monaco La Valletta. The next day, Trinity Sunday, he read his first Mass in the chapel of the American College. Leaving Rome on the 6th of June, he traveled through Italy, crossed the Alps, traveled through Austria, Belgium, Switzerland and England, and sailed from Queenstown, Ireland, September 2, 1880, landing in Philadelphia on the 13th. After a short visit at his old home he proceeded to Towanda, where he was appointed assistant to Rev. Charles F. Kelly in the Church of SS. Peter and Paul. He remained there two years, and was then appointed assistant at Pittston, where he remained three and one-half years, after which he was appointed pastor at Troy, Pa., and in November, 1887, he assumed his present position. The chief task before him in coming to Ashley was to collect the flock and to erect a church which would accommodate the large congregation at that place. This he has done very effectually, and has conducted himself and all business connected with the church in such a manner as to command the highest respect of all denominations. The church was erected in 1890, and the rectory was built in 1892.
OSCAR E. HOFMANN, M.D., of Conyngham, was born in Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Pa., May 18, 1869, a son of John and Catherine (Cable) Hofmann, and comes of German stock, the father being a native of Wurtemberg, Germany, the mother of Shamokin, Pa., and are now residents of Pottsville, Pa. The subject of this sketch was reared in Hazleton, this county, from six years of age, and was educated in the public schools of Hazleton and Shamokin. In September, 1887, he began the study of medicine with Drs. J. R. and H. B. Casselberry, of Hazleton, and was graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in the spring of 1891. He immediately returned to Hazleton, when he became associated in practice with his preceptors, the Doctors Casselberry, for one year. In March, 1892, he located at Conyngham, where he has already succeeded in building up a large and lucrative practice, and his friends are legion.
A. H. HOLCOMB, farmer, Shavertown, was born in Canaan township, Litchfield Co., Conn., April 19, 1812. He is a son of Rosell and Mary (Spellman) Holcomb, both of whom were born in the above place. Rosell Holcomb removed with his family from Connecticut about 1818, locating in Dallas township, near Huntsville. He was a farmer of some experience and knowledge, working on the principle that "what is worth doing at all is worth doing well." He was also a man of some influence, and was elected constable for a number of years. He lived to be fifty years of age, and reared a family of seven children, five of whom are now living. A. H. is the second of the family in order of birth, and was reared and educated in Jackson township. He was six years of age when he removed here from Connecticut with his father. He always confined himself to agricultural pursuits, and has always resided in this county since he removed to it. At the age of twenty-four he began life for himself working as a farmer. On December 3, 1835, he married Miss Sarah, daughter of James H. and Catherine Williamson; to this union have been born eight children: James W., Clarinda, Elias H., E. J., Catherine E., Alfred H., Asa R., and Lambert H., all of whom are living and married. Mr. Holcomb's original farm contained two hundred and fifty acres, one hundred of which he cleared, and one hundred and forty of which he sold. He now has a model farm of one hundred and ten acres, upon which he has erected commodious buildings and a comfortable house. Mr. Holcomb is a practical farmer, and a man of influence in his town. Politically a Democrat, he now holds the office of township treasurer.
E. H. HOLCOMB, farmer, P.O. Sweet Valley, was born at Trucksville, Pa., May 31, 1843, a son of Albert and Sallie A. (Williamson) Holcomb, the former of whom was born in Connecticut in 1802, the latter in New Jersey in 1817. Albert was a son of Russell Holcomb, a native of Connecticut, who removed to this county about 1808, when Albert was six years of age, and located in Dallas township, where he passed the remainder of his life. He raised a family of seven children, all of whom became sturdy pioneers of the county. Albert began his active business life in Trucksville, where he now resides and owns 160 acres of good land, and where he is an active business man and a practical farmer. He raised a family of eight children, of whom E. H., the third by birth, is the only one now living. Our subject was reared and educated in Trucksville, and always confined himself to farming. He married Miss Mary E., daughter of James Shaver; by her he had three children, of whom Albert H. is the only one now living. For his second wife Mr. Holcomb married, in 1875, Martha J., daughter of Jacob L. and Catherine Gerton, by which union there are five children, all living, viz.: Eva M., Lena C., Susie M., Fredia E. and Howard E. Mr. Holcomb removed to his present property, a farm of seventy-five acres in 1875, and he is a good farmer, making the most of his time. He has held some township offices with much credit, and enjoys the full confidence of his neighbors.
ARTHUR A. HOLBROOK, editor of the Dallas Post, is a native of Susquehanna county, the son of Rev. Philip Holbrook, a member of the Wyoming Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He received his education at the Wyoming Seminary, and immediately upon leaving school began work on the Kingston Times, a weekly paper which had just been started. After a few months he purchased the paper, and soon changed it to a semi-weekly issue, which was continued till the fall of 1889, when Mr. Holbrook brought out the first issue of the daily, The Morning Times. He was at this time the youngest newspaper publisher in the State. He continued a few months as publisher, and was succeeded by the "Times Printing Co.," of which he was manager. However, in September, 1891, C. B. Snyder secured the paper and removed it to Wilkes-Barre, where it is now published, and is recognized as one of the leading journals of the county. Mr. Holbrook removed to Dallas in the spring of 1892, and assumed the management of the Post, which is, under his direction, taking front rank among the weekly papers of the county.
JOHN HOLGATE, farmer, Marcy township, was born in Chester county, Pa., February 16, 1841, and is a son of John and Mary (Hastings) Holgate, natives of Sussex, England. He was educated in the common schools, and afterward assisted his father on the farm. On September 8, 1868, our subject was united in marriage with Elizabeth, daughter of Edward and Susannah (King) Henderson, natives of Providence, R. I. Their union has been blessed with the following issue: Susannah, born October 23, 1870, was married August 10, 1891, to Edwin Arnott, a machinist, of Scranton; and John, born January 17, 1874. Our subject is a member of the M.E. Church, also of the K. of P., I.O.O.F., and P.O.S. of A. Politically he is a Republican. Mr. Holgate came to this county in March, 1873.
OWEN HOLLAND, proprietor of the "Inkerman Hotel," Inkerman, Jenkins township, was born in County Tyrone, Ireland, in 1845, and is a son of Patrick and Margaret (McCurrah) Holland, the former of whom was a farmer. They reared a family of seven children, of whom Owen is the eldest. Our subject came to America in 1871, and located in Port Washington, N.J., where he followed teaming for a short time, and then proceeded to New York, in which city he engaged in the bakery business, which had been his former occupation. He remained there eighteen months, and then moved to Philadelphia, where he worked in the street-car stable for five and one half years. In 1879 he came to Inkerman, this county, and established his present hotel and grocery business; he also worked about the mines till 1884. Mr. Holland was married August 19, 1879, to Miss Margaret, daughter of Patrick and Elizabeth (McAndrew) Spellman, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and they have one child, Margaret. Mr. and Mrs. Holland are members of the Catholic Church. He is a Democrat in political views, and was appointed postmaster at Inkerman, November 26, 1884, which office he held until January 1, 1889.
JOSEPH HOLLAR, conductor, Hazleton. This popular and courteous gentleman was born at Beaver Meadows, Pa., February 19, 1843, and is the eldest in the family of twelve children of Jacob and Elizabeth (Henry) Hollar, the former a native of Germany, the latter of Pennsylvanian extraction. Mr. Hollar was reared and educated in this county, and at an early age was employed around the mines, where he continued to work until 1872, when he entered the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company. In December, 1877, he was appointed regular passenger conductor between Hazleton and Mauch Chunk, which position he has since creditably filled. As a railroad man he is much respected, not only by his employers and associates, but also the general traveling public. Mr. Hollar was united in marriage, September 30, 1865, with Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Philip and Catharine (Louzer) Hinnesscheidt, natives of Germany. Six children were born to this union, namely: George P., John, Elizabeth A. (deceased), Joseph L., Christian and Anna C. The family attend the Luthern Church, and Mr. Hollar is a member of the following Orders: K.of P., O.U.A.M., P.O.S.of A., and K.of M. In his political preferences he is an enthusiastic supporter of the Republican party.
S. L. HOLLEY, physician and surgeon, Nanticoke. Among the leading professional men of Luzerne county may well be mentioned the name of this gentleman. He is a native of Cassel, Germany, and was born August 15, 1848. His parents, Christian and Catharine (Fish) Holley, emigrated to the United States, and settled at Wilkinsburg, Allegheny Co., Pa., when our subject was about two years of age. He received his early education in the district school, and at Wilkinsburg Academy, later attending the Cooper Institute, New York. At the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, he began the study of medicine, and completed his course at the University of Cincinnati, where he was graduated in 1878. Dr. Holley then moved to Parkersburg, West Virginia, where he was engaged in the practice of this profession for a short time, and then came to Nanticoke, where he has since successfully followed his profession, having built up a large practice. On March 24, 1880, Dr. Holley married Theressa Jones, of Wilkes-Barre; they have no children. The Doctor is an active worker in the Presbyterian Church, in which he is an elder, and had been a member of the borough council. He was appointed by Governor Hoyt, and re-appointed by Governer Pattison, assistant surgeon of the Ninth Regiment, National Guards of Pennsylvania, which position he held six years. He is a member of the Luzerne County Medical Society, and the American Medical Association. In his political views the Doctor is a Republican.
F. L. HOLLISTER, D.D.S., Wilkes-Barre, was born in what is now Forest Lake township, Susquehanna Co., Pa., August 16, 1846, a son of F. P. and Alice B. (Young) Hollister. His parental grandparents, Cuza and Susan (Robinson) Hollister, natives of Connecticut, of Puritan stock, were pioneers of Delaware county, N.Y., settling in Susquehanna county, Pa., in 1836, where they died. The father of our subject, who was born in Delaware county, N.Y., in 1820, was successively a teacher, farmer, tanner and merchant; he served one term as sheriff of Susquehanna county, and now resides at Myersdale, Somerset Co., Pa. His wife was a daughter of George and Mary (Bard) Young, of Susquehanna county, formerly of Connecticut, and by her he had three sons living: F. Lee, George Young and William Starr. Our subject was reared in his native county, educated at Montrose Academy and the Union School at Hamilton, N.Y. In early manhood he assisted his father in the management of the tannery and store at Forest Lake, and in 1877 began the study of dentistry at the Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery at Philadelphia, where he was graduatedin 1879, and immediately began the practice of his profession at Tunkhannock, where he remained one and a half years. He then located at Towanda, remaining there five years, and in 1886 removed to Wilkes-Barre, where he has built up a name in his profession second to none in the city. On September 10, 1869, Dr. Hollister married Lillie, daughter of Hon. Isaac P. and Anese (Handrick) Baker, of Susquehanna county, and has two children, Lizzie (Mrs. Harradon S. Smith) and Fred B. Dr. Hollister is a member of the Susquehanna District Dental Association, and of the Pennsylvania State Dental Society. In politics he is a Republican.
S. C. HOLLY, merchant, Lehman, was born in Dallas, this county, July 20, 1861, a son of Robert and Isabella (Hodge) Holly, both of whom were natives of the North of Ireland, born of Scotch descent. They came to this country about 1850, locating first at Pittston, Pa., where Mr. Holly engaged in mining. In 1851 he moved to Dallas, where he purchased a farm of 120 acres of fertile land, which he still owns and improves. Mr. Holly is a loyal citizen, and has the entire confidence of his neighbors. There were born to him eight children, seven of whom he reared and educated, S. C., the subject of this sketch, being second in the family. He was educated in the rudiments of the English language in Dallas, at the common school, after which he entered the Wyoming Seminary at Kingston, where he took a commercial course, also one in ornamental penmanship, and from this institution he graduated with high honors in the class of 1884. After his college course was completed he received a position from Roger & Co., of Huntsville, where as a clerk he did credit to himself and gave satisfaction to his employers. In the fall of 1884 he took charge of the store and business of R. A. Whiteman during the term of office of the latter as county treasurer. After faithfully serving Mr. Whiteman, he went to Wilkes-Barre, where he was engaged as shipping clerk for the firm of Whiteman & Patterson, wholesale grocers. At the earnest solicitation of R. A. Whiteman he left his office in Wilkes-Barre, and again took charge of the former's interests at Lehman, where he remained for two years with satisfaction to himself and profit to his employer. He then proposed to purchase the property and stock of Mr. Whiteman, but not being able to come to an agreement about the same, Mr. Holly decided to open a store of his own; and with this view in his mind purchased the hotel property in Lehman. This seemed to bring the matter to a crisis, and Mr. Whiteman rented him his store which Mr. Holly stocked with new goods of a general line, including drugs. He has a fine assortment, and by his genial manner and strict integrity has built up for himself a first-class trade. His store is neat and clean, while his goods are of the latest kind and best quality. The postoffice is in his store, and over it he has entire control as assistant postmaster. He has been honored by being elected to the offices of town treasurer, school treasurer, and also treasurer of the Lehman French Coach Horse Company. On November 4, 1890, he married Miss Frances, daughter of Amos and Clarissa Shortz, and by her he has one child, Marion Ruth. Mr. and Mrs. Holly are both consistent members of the M.E. Church; politically he is a Democrat.
FRANK HOLMES, farmer, P.O. Carverton, was born in Exeter township, this county, May 20, 1845, a son of Alvin and Minerva (Ingersol) Holmes, the former of whom was born in New York State, the latter in Luzerne county, Pa. Alvin Holmes removed to this county about 1834, locating in Exeter township, on a farm of seventy acres, to which, by industry and economy, he added sixty more, making a total of 130 acres, seventy-five of which he improved, and on which he built during his lifetime. He was a practical self-made man as well as a practical farmer; he was a consistent member of the M.E. Church, and had been honored with various township offices, which he held with credit. His family consisted of ten children, nine of whom were boys, all growing to maturity, and six of them are yet living. F. S., who is the youngest in the family, was educated in the common schools of Exeter. He has always resided on the farm on which he was born, and on which he now resides, and has been a lifetime agriculturist. His farm consists of 170 acres. Mr. Holmes is an enterprising "go-a-head" young man, and is conversant with his business in all its varied and difficult branches. Since he has occupied the farm, there have been many visible improvements. Mr. Holmes married, on May 9, 1876, Miss Jane, daughter of Nathan and Nancy Lewis, and by her he has had one son, F. Howard, born June 19, 1878. Mrs. Holmes was born in Franklin township in 1850. Politically, Mr. Holmes is a Democrat, and has held various offices, such as assessor, collector and others.
THOMAS J. HOLMES, farmer, Fairmont township, P.O. Rittenhouse, was born in Ross township, this county, July 25, 1851, and is a son of John and Sylvina (Long) Holmes, respectively natives of Newark, N.J., and Ross township, Luzerne Co., Pa., and of Irish and English origin. The father who was a farmer and Methodist minister, died May 12, 1886, aged seventy-four years. He was a son of Thomas J. and Eleanor Holmes, natives of County Down, Ireland, who came to America in 1812, and settled at Newark, N.J. Our subject, who is the sixth in a family of eight children, was reared on the farm, educated in the common schools, and when twenty-one years of age began farming on rented land, which he remained on for seventeen years, when he purchased his present farm of fifty-four acres, situated two miles southeast of Rittenhouse postoffice. He was married December 2, 1871, to Miss Sarah A., daughter of John M. and Maria (Waltman) Albertson, and their union was blessed with six children, viz.: James W., Tillie S., Emma G., Edward A., Sarah E. and George W. Mr. and Mrs. Holmes are members of the M.E. Church. Politically he is a Republican, and has held the office of school director.
FRANK HOLSCHUH is agent and operator for the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company at Luzerne, Pa. He was born at Falls, Wyoming Co., Pa., March 22, 1869, and is a son of Adam and Louisa (Wambold) Holschuh, natives of Germany. He received his early education and also studied telegraphy in his native town, and on July 25, 1889, was appointed to his present position. Mr. Holschuh is yet unmarried. As regards politics, he is always found in the Republican party. His present position is one that involves a certain degree of trust and responsibility, and, although yet a young man, the Lehigh Valley Railroad company have demonstrated their confidence in Mr. Holschuh by giving him charge of Luzerne station, which is destined to become a busy railroad center.
CHARLES W. HONEYWELL, tax collector and insurance agent, Plymouth, was born at Dallas, Pa., December 30, 1858, and is a son of D. D. and Julia A. (Willis) Honeywell, also natives of Luzern county; the former was born at Dallas, where he still resides. The family consisted of nine children, the subject of this sketch being the fifth in order of birth; six are still living. Charles W. was educated in the public schools of Luzerne county, and in 1872 came to Plymouth and engaged in shoemaking, which he followed for three years, at the end of which time he launched into the mercantile business, handling dry goods and groceries. This business he continued until 1889, when he was appointed tax collector by the court. He was subsequently elected to that office for 1890, 1891 and 1892, on what is known as the Citizen' ticket. Mr. Honeywell was united in marriage, February 28, 1883, with Miss Lulu M., daughter of Charles and Keturah (Pringle) Robbins, natives of this county, to which union three children have been born, viz.: Leroy K., born January 29, 1884; Myrtle, born July 15, 1885; and Charles H., born July 16, 1891. Politically Mr. Honeywell is a Democrat, and was constable of Plymouth for five years. Mr. and Mrs. Honeywell attended the Presbyterian Church; he is a member of the I.O.O.F. and the P.O.S.of A.
I. T. HONEYWELL, furniture dealer and undertaker, Luzerne, was born at Dallas, Luzerne Co., Pa., in 1856, and is a son of Samuel and Margaret (Frantz) Honeywell, the former a native of New Jersey, the latter of Pennsylvania. The father's vocation was that of a farmer, and his family consisted of six children, one daughter and five sons. Mr. Honeywell, after receiving his education, spent four years traveling through the western States. He returned in 1883, and embarked in the furniture and undertaking business at Luzerne, where he has a thriving trade. Our subject was married, in 1889, to Emanda, daughter of Zachariah Nealy, a native of Pennsylvania, and they have one child, a daughter, Ida A., now (1892) one year and eight months old. Mr. Honeywell adheres strictly to the principles advocated by the Republican party, is a member of the I.O.R.M., K.of P., Daughters of Pocahontas, and Sons of Patriotic Knights.
L. D. HONEYWELL, farmer, P.O. Carverton, was born in Dallas, May 13, 1861, son of Samuel and Margaret (Frantz) Honeywell, and is the sixth son in a family of ten children, six of whom are living. He was reared and educated in Kingston township, and has always devoted himself to agricultural pursuits, proving himself an adept in his chosen vocation. He removed to Wyoming with his father at the age of thirteen. On February 22, 1883, at the age of twenty-two, he was married to Miss Eleanor, daughter of Jacob H. and Harriet D. Wolf, and to their union have been born two children: Charles and Margaret, the former born February 10, 1884, the latter August 18, 1885. After his marriage Mr. Honeywell removed to his father's farm, consisting of nearly 200 acres of valuable land, situated north of Wyoming borough, to which he devotes his time, giving special attention to hay and potato crops. He is also extensively engaged in the dairy business, having twenty cows of excellent breed.
SAMUEL HONEYWELL, farmer, Wyoming borough, was born April 12, 1828, and is a son of Abraham S. and Lydia (Hawk) Honeywell, natives of Warren county, N.J., and of German and English origin, respectively, the former a farmer by occupation. They reared two sons, of whom our subject is the youngest. He was educated in the common schools, and in 1847 he began life for himself as a farmer, on his half of the homestead, where he remained till 1866, when he came to Carverton, Luzerne county, and engaged in agriculture, having purchased a large farm there in 1865; he remained in Carverton nine years, and then moved to Wyoming borough and built his cozy home in 1875, where he has since resided. He was married, December 27, 1849, to Margaret, daughter of Jacob and Mary A. (Weiss) Frantz, natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin. This happy union was blessed with ten children, six of whom are now living: Mary E., married to B. W. Brickel, an undertaker in Dallas, Pa., formerly of Bethlehem, Pa.; Ira T., married to Emma Nealey, of Dallas township; Lincoln D., married to Elnora Wolf, of Wyoming; Nelson C., married to Frances Nafus, of Luzerne borough, Pa.; Clinton G., married to Alphretta Welch, of Dallas borough; and Archie C., mail carrier for Wyoming borough, living at home. Mr. and Mrs. Honeywell are members of the Wyoming Methodist Church. Mr. Honeywell is a sound Republican, and has held the borough offices of school director and judge of election, and was appointed tax collector by the court of Luzerne county for 1892, for Wyoming borough.
WILLIAM J. HONEYWELL, retired, Dallas, was born June 3, 1824, and was educated at the common schools of Dallas, in early life teaching school himself. He has confined himself mostly to agriculture, and although retired, yet owns a farm as well as a house and lot in Dallas borough. He is a man of influence, both socially and religiously. He holds the offices of town burgess and justice of the peace, and was for twelve years school director. At the time of the erection of the M.E. Meeting-house he was president of the building committee, and he has been on the board of trustees of that church for forty years, being now president. On May 29, 1847, he married Miss Sarah, daughter of James and Mary Perry, and by her had three children, viz.: Hiram, Mary A. and C. D. Of these, Hiram married Miss Martha, daughter of Joseph Shotwell; C. D. married Miss May, daughter of John Ferguson.
William J. Honeywell is a son of Abraham S. and Lydia (Hawk) Honeywell, the former of whom was born in New Jersey, the latter in Dallas. One of the earliest marriages in Dallas was in 1820, that of Abraham S. Honeywell to Miss Lydia Hawk. Abraham S. Honeywell is a son of William Honeywell who came to Dallas in 1808, and here purchased 400 acres of land (which is on the site of the Dallas Fair Grounds) and here he first put up a log-house, in the following year building a more pretentious residence. He continued to improve and beautify "Old Mother Earth" until the forest came to "blossom as the rose." A man of sterling qualities, honest, industrious, and patriotic in the extreme. William Honeywell was a thoroughly religious and conscientious man. In those days, when church buildings were scarce, his house was the central place for worship for that country. His heart was in sympathy with the work of the Gospel; his hand was always ready to help, and his hospital home was ever open to the preacher of the Gospel. He reared a family of eight children, four boys and four girls, who afterward became, the boys sturdy yeomen, and the girls the wives of successful pioneers of the country. Their names are as follows: Joseph, Thomas, Jacob, Abraham S., Grace, Hannah, Betsy and Kate. Abraham S., settled on part of the old homestead which he continued to improve and embellish, having imbibed the same spirit that prompted his father. He was a man of influence in his day; he held the office of constable for twenty years, and held several other offices of trust in the town. In those days of no railroads he was in the havit of hauling goods from Easton to Wilkes-Barre, drawing shingles from the wood country, south, and bringing back supplies. He lived to be ninety-seven years and died in 1889. He reared a family of two children: Samuel and William J., the latter being the subject of this sketch.
JOHN E. HOPKINS, miner, Keystone Colliery, Ridgewood, Plains township, was born in Tredegar, Monmouthshire, South Wales, January 1, 1853, and is a son of William and Ruth (Evans) Hopkins, the former of whom was a miner. They reared two children of whom John E. is the elder; his sister, Naomi, married Thomas Jones, a miner in Wales. Our subject followed mining to some extent in his native country, came to America in 1873, and was engaged in mining successively at Church Hill, Ohio, Coal Creek, Ind., Peoria, Ill., Massillon, Ohio, and Jeansville, Pa. In 1876 he revisited Wales, worked in the mines there nine months and then returned to this country, locating at Scranton, Pa., where he remained a short time, and was afterward engaged in mining at Kingston, Sugar Notch, Jeansville, Stockton, and Plains; at the last-named place he mined and contracted in the Hillman, Oakwood, Wyoming, Henry and Pine Ridge Collieries, working in the Henry in all seven years. While in the Oakwood he was severely burned, which disabled him for some time. In January, 1890, he came to the Keystone Colliery, where he is also contracting. Mr. Hopkins was married, October 13, 1872, to Miss Ann, daughter of Thomas and Maria (Jones) Jones, of Wales, and they have had nine children, seven of whom are living, viz.: Maria, Ruth, Rachel, Garfield, Lucretia, Faith and Ralph. Mr. Hopkins is a member of the I.O.O.F., the A.O.K.of M.C. and the I.O.R.M.; in his political views he is a Republican.
PATRICK HOPKINS, locomotive hostler, Ashley, was born in County Longford, Ireland, September 7, 1847, and is a son of Patrick and Margaret (Bardon) Hopkins. He has one older brother, John, who is firing a stationary engine at Ashley. The father died when our subject was ten months old, and the mother afterward married Bernard Gunning, by whom she has two children; Peter (employed in the repair shops of the Hudson River Railroad) and Mary (Mrs. Bernard McCue, of County Longford, Ireland). Our subject came to America with his brother in 1863, and located at Ashley, where he picked slate in the breaker, three months; carried tools on the railroad, one year; drove mules in the mines, two years; was brakeman on what is now the Central Railroad of New Jersey, three years, and fired, two years. He then was brakeman on what is now the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, three months, after which he returned to Ashley, where he labored in the mines ten months, and from 1873 to 1887 was engaged in mining. He then served two years as supervisor of Wilkes-Barre township, and accepted his present position in 1888. Mr. Hopkins was married October 8, 1869, to Miss Catherine, daughter of Charles and Ann (Caffrey) O'Neill, natives of County Longford, Ireland, whence they emigrated in 1866. Mr. and Mrs. Hopkins have had born to them ten children, as follows: Charles, who died at the age of ten months; John, brakeman on the Central Railroad of New Jersey; James, a molder's apprentice, Vulcan Iron Works, Wilkes-Barre; Charles, teamster for his father; Peter, Joseph, Ann, Mary, Margaret and Edward, the last named dying at the age of four years and five months. Mr. Hopkins and family are members of the Catholic Church. he is a member of the B.L.F., and in his political views is a Democrat. In 1890 he built his residence.
GEORGE W. HOOVER, funeral director, with Voorhis & Murray, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Forty-Fort, this county, March 8, 1830, a son of Daniel and Elsie (Space) Hoover. His father was a shoemaker, and a veteran of the war of 1812. He settled at Forty Fort about 1816, where he followed his trade and resided until his death, which occurred in 1836. His wife was a daughter of James Space, who lost a hand in the Revolutionary War; he was a pioneer farmer of Luzerne county and died in Huntington township. Daniel and Elsie Hoover had five children: James, Sarah (Mrs. Simeon Brown), William, Nancy (Mrs. John Norsor) and George W., the subject of this sketch. George W. Hoover was reared in Forty Fort, and educated in the public schools, and served an apprenticeship of five years at the cabinet maker's trade, which he has since followed. He is now superintendent of the cabinet department for Voorhis & Murray, as well as funeral director, and has been with them and their predecessors twenty-two years, and was, for eighteen years prior to that, in the undertaking business for himself and others. He was married, July 25, 1851, to Jane E., daughter of Samuel and Margaret Montayne, of Wilkes-Barre, and has one daughter living, Blanche (Mrs. Latta L. Brittain; she has one child, Elsie). Mr. Hoover and wife are members of the Baptist Church; in politics he is independent.
JACOB HOOVER, farmer, P.O. Dallas, was born in Morris county, N.J., in September, 1812. He is a son of Peter and Sophia (Beam) Hoover, both of whom were natives of New Jersey, where they lived and died. They reared a family of eight children, all of whom are dead except Jacob, who is the seventh in the family. He was reared in his native county, and educated at the common schools, and in 1827 removed to this county, locating in the Valley, where he resided, a trustworthy and respected citizen, till 1863, in which year he removed to Dallas on a farm of one hundred acres, or more properly, a wilderness of one hundred acres. By hard labor and economy, he has achieved marvelous changes, half of his farm being now cleared and under cultivation. His rude log cabin, which is still standing, has been supplanted by a more modern edifice. The natural forest has given way to the golden fields of grain; thus, by hard and honest toil, are the agricultural pursuits of the county developed. In 1832 Mr. Hoover married Miss Jane, daughter of Jonas and Catherine (Shaver) DeLong, to which union have been born thirteen children, nine of whom are living; Charles, William, Catherine, Bradley, James, Sarah, Elizabeth, John and Nathaniel. George (deceased) served three months in the militia during the Civil war; Charles served three years in the One Hundred and Twenty-third P.V.I., and fought heroically for the preservation of the Union. Mr. Hoover is a worthy old gentleman, affectionate in his family, and kind and courteous to his neighbors. Politically he is a Republican.
LAWRENCE HOOVER, farmer, P.O. Harding, was born near Hackettstown, N.J., December 25, 1820, in which place he was reared and educated. He is the son of Felix and Margaret (Lance) Hoover, both of whom were born in Morris county, N.J. Felix Hoover was of Dutch parentage, and was a hard-working and industrious man. His family consisted of eight children, two of whom are now (1892) living. Lawrence is the youngest of his father's family; in early life he learned the mason's trade. He came to this county in 1840, at the age of twenty-one years, locating in Exeter township, on a farm of twenty acres, to which at various times he has added thirty-five more. He settled here when the land was unimproved, and, by hard work and an eye to business, he has succeeded in making for himself a beautiful and comfortable home. In his early life he was an expert hunter, game being plentiful in those days. Mr. Hoover is much respected by his townsmen, and has been appointed to several offices, the duties of which he has discharged with much credit. In 1841 he married Sarah, daughter of Andrew and Nancy Hoover. There were ten children born to them, four of whom are now (1892) living: Alfred, George, Minerva and Isabelle. George and Henry (deceased) were both members of Company F, Fifty-third P.V.I. The latter died from the effects of a wound received while in the service; both served their country well in her struggle for the preservation of the Union. Mrs. Hoover was born in Exeter township, in 1823. Her father removed to this county in 1811, locating in Red Spring Falls, Lackawanna Co., Pa. Mr. Hoover and his sons are stanch Republicans.
MISSOURI B. HOUPT, architect, builder, lumberman, etc., of the city of Wilkes-Barre, was born in Newport, Luzerne county, February 17, 1839, and is the youngest of ten children of Philip and Susan (Arnt) Houpt, who were both born in Northampton county, this State, in the years 1796 and 1797 respectively, of Pennsylvania-German parentage. They were married in that county in the year 1815, and in 1820 removed to Newport township, Luzerne county, where they followed the pursuit of farming with industry and success, until the year 1849, when they removed to Wilkes-Barre. Here they happily and comfortably resided, in the enjoyment of the fruits of their early labors, until the death of Philip in the year 1880, when he was aged eighty-four years. His widow, Susan, still survives at the advanced age of ninety-five, in the full enjoyment of her mental faculties. Aside from the more than usual financial prosperity of this long matrimonial union, it deserves the honorable mention of having contributed to the world four sons and six daughters, who have severally attained the estates of respectable and estimable manhood and womanhood, and of whom all of the sons and four of the daughters are still living.
The son, Missouri B. Houpt, the subject of this sketch, was educated in the common schools and at the Wyoming Seminary. At the age of twenty-one years, following the bent of his business ambition to be a contractor and builder, and desiring to begin at the very bottom round of the ladder in that pursuit by practical experience to familiarize himself with all the intermediate steps to the top, he went to New York City to learn the trade of a carpenter, and four years later, at the age of twenty-five, returned to Wilkes-Barre, resolved to begin his chosen calling. Very soon his preliminary training, his natural taste for that occupation, and his energy and strict business discipline, gave him both extensive employment and a prominent reputation as a contractor and builder, and for many years, not only in the superior character, but also in the amount of work he has performed, and in the dispatch and satisfaction to his employers, with which he has carried out his undertakings, he has justly ranked as the leader in this vicinity in his line of business. During the later years of his life he has successfully combined architecture with that of building, and has shown himself exceedingly efficient in this added calling. A very large number of churches, public buildings, business blocks, and scores of elegant private dwellings, including his own residence on the corner of Ross and South Franklin streets, are standing monuments to his skill and extensive operations. He never builds a poorer, but always a better structure than his contract calls for. He justly enjoys the reputation of perfect business integrity, and always pays his bills with strict promptitude, whereby those who employ him never fear the entry of liens for material against their properties and those by him employed are sure of their promised recompense. His large building plant on South Franklin street, equipped with a constant supply of the best lumber, and all the modern machinery and appliances for rapid and yet perfect work, is another attestation of his perseverance and the large scope of his business industry. He was also, for a number of years the senior member of the firm of Houpt, Frantz & Cook, painters, paper-hangers, etc., and has been engaged in various enterprises as auxiliary to his general business. Finally, and within the last year, he has purchased a valuable lot on North Canal Street, erected thereon large brick buildings for storage of lumber, stables, offices, etc.., immediately connected by a series of switches with the main line of railroad, at a cost of many thousands of dollars, and thus has converted this property into a lumber-yard, which for location, availability and perfection for receiving, stocking and selling lumber, has no equal in this part of the State. This has been stored with a large quantity of every kind of lumber and hardware pertaining to the lumber business, and so fully alive to the demands of the times, and the importance of supplying at a reasonable cost the wants of his patrons' own building and contracting enterprise, he has still further exhibited an almost unlimited business capacity, and will, no doubt, proportionately increase his present well-earned fortune.
Mr. Houpt was married March 28, 1865, to Sallie Garringher, daughter of Jesse and Catharine (Croup) Garringher, who were born in Hanover and Newport townships, respectively, of Pennsylvania-German parentage. Two children have been born of the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Houpt, viz.: Edgar Missouri Houpt (aged sixteen years), now preparing for college, and Harry S. Houpt (aged twenty-six years), yet unmarried, who, with a view of adopting his father's line of business, and having for that purpose supplemented his academic studies by a course of training, first in The Pierce Business College of Philadelphia, and next in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has recently become associated with his father in the different business enterprises, above referred to, which are now and hereafter will be carried on under the firm name of M. B. Houpt & Son. With both his thorough theoretical training at college, and the lessons of practical experience which have been so generously supplied by his father, the son will no doubt greatly relieve the father of many of the latter's former business cares, and in due time, with his younger brother, carry on the extensive business operations to which we have referred.
Mrs. Houpt is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, with which her husband, while not a member, is identified, at least to the extent of assisting in its financial maintenance. Mr. Houpt is a liberal contributor to public and private charities; he is a prominent Freemason, and, as a stanch Republican, he gives freely in aid of party management, but has never been an office-seeker or holder.
GEORGE L. HOUSER, forwarding agent at Coxton Yards, Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, was born at White Haven, this county, October 23, 1847, a son of Samuel and Sophia (Andrews) Houser, who reared a family of four children: Edward, George L., Alice and Samuel. Our subject received a public-school education, and at the age of eighteen entered the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company as manifest clerk in their general office at Mauch Chunk, where he remained until 1874, when he was appointed forwarding agent at Coxton, in which position he still continues. He married, November 13, 1873, Annie L., daughter of A. G. Broadhead, Jr., of Mauch Chunk, superintendent of the Beaver Meadow Division of the Lehigh Valley Railroad. The issue of this union was two children, Nellie W. and Romeyn. Mr. Houser is thoroughly conversant with every branch of the business with which he is connected. He is a prominent member of and elder in the First Presbyterian Church of Pittston, he is also a member of the K. of H., and in politics is a Republican.
HORACE H. HOWE, butcher, was born in Wilkes-Barre, October 20, 1848, and is a son of Nathan G. and Margaret (Robbins) Howe—the father a native of near Boston, Mass., and the mother, of Luzerne county. The father located in Wilkes-Barre about 1840, where he followed the business of general contractor upward of thirty years. He reared a family of five children: Abigail (Mrs. Capt. E. W. Finch), Harriet (Mrs. Capt. I. K. Hammond), Caroline (Mrs. George A. St. John), Horace H. and Lyman. Our subject was reared in Luzerne county, and was educated in the public schools and at Wyoming Seminary. He began active life as a brakeman, and he served as conductor on the Central Railroad of New Jersey fifteen years. In 1888 he embarked in his present business in Wilkes-Barre, in which he has since continued. In 1870 Mr. Howe married Bertha N., daughter of John Jenkins, of Wilkes-Barre, and has four children: Horace, John, Gertrude, and Stanley. He is a member of the St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, and of the F. & A. M., and in politics he is a Republican.
WILLIAM HOWE, miner in the Honora Colliery, Laflin, was born in Ferry Hill, County of Durham, England, October 31, 1840, and is a son of William and Margaret (Stockley) Howe, being the eldest of eight children, six of whom are living. Our subject, who had worked at mining and in a steel-rail manufactory in his native country, came to America in 1880 and located in Mill Creek, where he worked in the mines nine years, with the exception of two years, 1886-88, that he was engaged in farming in Potter county, S. D., whither he took his family in 1887. He removed to Laflin in September, 1891. Mr. Howe was married August 31, 1863, to Miss Mary, daughter of John and Mary E. (Grundy) Hanson, of England, and they have had seven children, four of whom are living, viz.: Joseph, an engineer in Laflin; Mary E., James and Margaret. Mr. Howe and wife are members of the Primitive Methodist Church, of which he has been a local preacher for eight years; he has also held the office of Sunday-school superintendent, class leader, and president of the board of trustees. He is a Republican in his political views, and in 1892 was elected burgess of Laflin borough.
ISAAC A. HOWELL, farmer, P.O. Wyoming, was born in Hope township, Warren Co., N.J., March 29, 1839. He is son of A.J. and Levina (Allen) Howell, both of whom were born in Warren county, N.J.; the former died in New Jersey at the age of thirty-five, leaving a family of six children, all of whom are now living. Isaac A. is the third in the family, and came to live with his uncle Levi, a resident of this county, when but five years of age. He was reared and educated by his uncle in this county, with whom he remained till 1861. When he reached his twenty-second year he enlisted in Company F, Fifty-third P.V.I., with the rank of sergeant; but for his faithful service and undaunted courage, he was promoted to the rank of lieutenant, and then to captain, which rank he held at his discharge. He participated in the following battles: Fair Oaks, Seven Days' Fight, second Bull Run, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Rappahannock, Wilderness, Spottsylvania, North Anna, Cold Harbor, Petersburg and Hatcher's Run. In all these engagements he seemed to lead a charmed life, coming out uninjured. On January 14, 1864, while yet serving his country, he was united in marriage with Miss Lydia, daughter of Henry and Maggie Houser. To this union have been born two children: Mary Ellen (married to T. E. Root, a farmer), and Eva (married to Thomas N. Chesworth, a mechanic). After his return from the army, Mr. Howell again engaged in agricultural pursuits. He settled in North Moreland, where he remained about six years, then removed to Franklin township, this county, where he remained two years. He next went to Kansas, where he engaged in farming on a large scale; but after the lapse of four years he returned to Wyoming county, where he resided for two years, and again removed to Luzerne county, where he has ever since resided. In 1866 he removed to his present residence, which is known as the "Goodwin Place," and was formerly owned by W. S. Shoemaker. He is a general farmer, but gives particular attention to dairying. Mr. Howell is a man of ability and intelligence. He is a member of the G.A.R.; he and his wife are consistent members of the M.E. Church, and politically he is a Republican.
JOHN HOWELL, retired, Pittston. This gentleman, who is one of Luzerne county's most successful business men, was born in St. Donatts, Wales, November 24, 1824, and is a son of Lewis and Ann (Priest) Howell, both natives of St. Donatts. The father was a builder by trade, and lived his allotted time in his native parish. His eldest son, William, has a history that reads like a page from a romance. He was educated for and became a Baptist preacher in his native country, was widely known and respected by all for his consecrated life, and for many years he was an earnest and successful worker in the church of his choice. But eventually he was brought in contact with two elders of the Mormon Church who were engaged in proselyting for their religion in the section where Mr. Howell was located, and by their force of reasoning he was converted to the Mormon faith. He at once undertook to spread that religion in France, and taking with him his eldest daughter, whom he placed in school at Paris, he commenced his mission. Not meeting with the anticipated result there, he not long after returned to England, where he continued his work and soon secured a following of about six hundred, with whom he embarked for the Mormon settlement at Salt Lake, Utah, U.S.A. To show the wonderful power of Mr. Howell's logic, we make mention of the fact that on the trip to the United States he succeeded in converting many of the officers and most of the crew to the Mormon faith. He brought his family, consisting of his wife, one daughter and three sons, with him on this voyage. He disembarked his little colony at New Orleans and started for the Territory, but at Council Bluffs he sickened and died; his family, however, continued on to Utah Territory with the colony, and, with the exception of one of the younger boys, who was killed by falling under the wheels of the caravan during the journey, they reached the goal for which they had set out. The family received a competency from Wales, and for years have been prominent in the commercial, social and political affairs of the Territory. They have been blessed with a large family and are educating their children in Cornell University. Lewis, the second son, of Lewis Howell, was for many years a dry-goods merchant in Carbondale, Pa., and died there in 1851; the third in the family, is our subject, after whom come Elizabeth, the wife of Henry Evans; Esdras, residing at Hyde Park, Scranton, a salesman for a Philadelphia grocery house; Joshua W., who was for years in the life insurance business in Pittston, and established the first agency of the Northwestern Life in Luzerne county and built up a business of colossal proportions for that company, then sold his business and went to San Francisco, Cal., where he is now engaged in the life insurance business; and Ann W., married to William H. Walters, of West Pittston. Our subject passed his boyhood in Wales, and had but meager chance of acquiring an education. At the age of fourteen years he was bound apprentice to D. Davis to learn the trade of draper, and served him five years, after which he was a journeyman for years. In 1849 he came to the United States, and located in Carbondale, where he purchased his brother's interest in the firm of Law & Howell, having John S. Law for a partner. With this firm he remained until the burning of their store in 1862, after which he came to Pittston and assumed the management for his brother-in-law in the firm of Charles Law & Company, and after the brother-in-law's death he, together with Col. Campbell, purchased his interest in that establishment, which he held until 1872, when he sold to Col. Campbell and then retired from business. Mr. Howell is the owner of the Music Hall at Pittston, and of other real estate interest in that town. He has a beautiful residence property at No. 237 Wyoming street, West Pittston. Mr. Howell was united in marriage, in 1854, with Mary, a daughter of David Vinton, of Fond du Lac, Wis., and although this marriage has been blessed with no children, they have reared one adopted child, Mary E., a daughter of Edward Jenkins, of Carbondale, Pa. She was educated in the public schools of Carbondale, and at the Wyoming Seminary. She married George W. Farrer, of the United States navy, Quaker City, who, while serving as engineer on board one of the United States steamers, saved the vessel from fire by the display of almost unequaled bravery; the fire was discovered in the engine room, and his assistants and firemen all fled to the upper deck, but he persuaded them to return to the engine room and assist in subduing the flames, which had by this time gained considerable headway, and as soon as he got them inside he locked the door and told them that they would have to fight for their lives; so, seeing that there was no chance to shirk, they put forth an effort that soon extinguished the flames and saved the ship. For this deed Mr. Farrer received a medal and promotion. At his death he left two children: John, now attending the College of Pharmacy in New York City, and Louise, attending college in Wilkes-Barre. Mr. Farrer lived in Pittston after his marriage, and was engaged in the milling business with Mr. Grier in that town, until his death in 1875. Mr. Howell is a member and senior warden of the Trinity Episcopal Church of West Pittston. He is a member of the F.& A.M., and in politics is a Republican.
LEVI HOWELL, farmer, P.O. Trucksville, was born in Hope township, Warren Co., N.J., February 27, 1817, a son of George G. And Lydia (Johnson) Howell, both of whom were born in the above-named place. George G. Howell was a worthy man, a loyal citizen, a kind, accommodating neighbor, and an honest and upright man in every respect. His family consisted of ten children, nine of whom are now living, Levi being second in the family. Our subject received his education at the public schools of Hope, N.J., and in 1839, when aged twenty-two years, he removed to North Moreland township, Wyoming Co., Pa., where he purchased 160 acres of land to which he added ninety-four acres, thus showing his ability in his chosen vocation to manage his affairs, and accumulate property. During his residence of twenty-five years there, he brought under cultivation 150 acres, proving himself to be a thoroughly practical farmer. Selling this property, he moved to Orange, this county, where he purchased a house and lot; but this was farming on too small a scale for a man of his ability, so he sold out and removed to Kingston township, same county, where he purchased a farm of 160 acres, 120 of which are under the plow, his specialties being grain and hay. Mr. Howell has been married four times. For his first wife he wedded Miss Sarah Luce, of New Jersey, by whom he had one daughter, Sarah (now Mrs. Coursin); for his second wife he married Miss Olivia Smith, by whom he had one daughter, Mollie, wife of William Hatfield; his third wife was Miss Ruth Ann Rodgers, and by her he had six children, one of whom is now living in Iowa; his fourth wife was Mrs. Vaughan, who bore him six children, four of whom are now living: Levi T. (married to Miss Kate Schooley), Charles W. (married to Miss Kate Atherholt), Judson J. (married to Miss Carrie Good), and Emeline (married to Walter Bodle). Mr. Howell is a man of marked influence in his township, both in social and religious circles. He is a member of the M.E. Church, in politics is a Republican, and has held several township offices.
J. J. HOWELLS, druggist, Luzerne. This popular young man was born at Wilkes-Barre in 1869, and is the only son of John W. and Elizabeth (James) Howells, both natives of Wales. They came to America at an early age, and settled in Schuylkill county, Pa., where they were married. At one time the father was a mine foreman at Gilberton, in that county, subsequently removing to Parsons, in Luzerne county, where he lived a retired life until his death, which occurred December 23, 1891, at the age of sixty-four years. He was a Republican in politics, and a member of the Masonic fraternity. The subject of this sketch was educated at the public schools of Gilberton, Schuylkill county, and after completing his course came to Wilkes-Barre, where he began the study of pharmacy with Mr. Armstrong, a prosperous druggist of that city. He remained there four years, during which time, by close application and assiduous labor, he became a very proficient pharmacist. In August, 1891, Mr. Howells embarked in the drug business at Luzerne, and although a stranger in the place when he started, has by his kind and affable manner toward all, in an incredibly short time established a very prosperous business, which, through his ability and experience as a first-class druggist and pharmacist, has taken its place among the leading establishments of the city. There were four children in his father's family, viz.: Mary, John J., Laura, and Lizzie, all of whom are living at home. Mr. Howells usually votes the Republican ticket, and in his social connections is a member of the Junior Order of United American Mechanics, and of the Masonic Fraternity.
JAMES HOWEY, farmer, P.O. Plainsville, was born in Monroe county, Pa., July 22, 1853, and is of Dutch origin. His father's family consisted of eight children, of whom James is the second. Our subject was reared on a farm, educated in the common school, and at the age of ten years began working around the mines. For twenty years he did all the various kinds of work about the mines, and in 1883 he commenced agricultural pursuits on the "Enterprise farm," where he remained five years; then served one year as supervisor of Plains township; and in 1891 he located on the "Pittston and Elmira farm," belonging to the Delaware & Hudson Coal Company. Mr. Howey was married, January 1, 1874, to Miss Parmelia, daughter of Samuel and Louise (Huey) Gregory, natives of Pennsylvania, and of early Dutch origin. Mr. and Mrs. Howey have two children, Minnie M. and Lizzie L. Our subject is a member of the P.O.S. of A., and in politics is a Republican. The family came to Luzerne county in 1855, and lived in a log house where Suburban Park now is, at a time when what is now the town of Parsons and vicinity was all a dense forest. The father, Mr. Simon Howey, is still living, and for eight years has been an inmate of the Danville Insane Asylum.
HENRY MARTYN HOYT, late governor of the State of Pennsylvania, was a descendant of an old New England family. The first of the name of whom there is record was Simon Hoyt, who occupies a place in the "list of such as are known to have been in Salem and about the north side of the Massachusetts Bay, before and in the year 1629." From Simon six generations of Hoyts were born in Connecticut and lived there. Ziba, the father of Henry, was born in Danbury, that State, September 8, 1788. He removed to Kingston, Luzerne Co., Pa., and died December 23, 1853. He had fought at Lake Erie in 1813, and with Gen. Harrison in his campaign against Tecumseh, ranking as a lieutenant in Col. Hill's regiment, Pennsylvania Militia. Henry Martyn Hoyt's mother was Nancy Herbert, daughter of Christopher Herbert, who was surveyor and lived in Hanover township until 1797, when he removed with his family to Arkport, in New York State. Mrs. Nancy Hoyt was a life-long member of the Presbyterian Church, and was held in the highest respect by the entire community. Henry Martyn Hoyt was born in Kingston, Pa., June 8, 1830, and worked on his father's farm until fourteen years of age. He was educated at the old Wilkes-Barre Academy, Wyoming Seminary, LaFayette College and Williams College, Williamstown, Mass., from which latter he was graduated in 1849. Afterward he taught at the Towanda (Pa.) Academy, and in the graded school at Memphis, Tenn.; was professor of mathematics at the Wyoming Seminary, one year; read law, and was admitted to practice April 4, 1883; was Whig candidate for district attorney in 1855, and took part in the Fremont campaign in 1856. In 1861 he helped raise the Fifty-second Pennsylvania Regiment, of which he was commissioned lieutenant-colonel. He served with the army of the Potomac till January, 1863, was at the siege of Morris Island under Gen. Gilmore, and was captured in a night attack on Fort Johnson, July 3, 1864, in which he successfully led a division of boats, landed and entered the fort, but was unable to hold it by reason of the failure of his support to come to his aid. After a brief confinement in prison at Macon, Ga., he was taken to Charleston, S.C., where he escaped, but was recaptured and brought back to Charleston, where, with a number of other Union officers, he was placed within range of the besieging guns of the Union army. After his exchange he rejoined his regiment, served as its colonel until the cessation of hostilities, and was brevetted brigadier-general. He then resumed the practice of the law. In 1866 he was elected a member of the school board of Wilkes-Barre; in 1867 was appointed additional law judge of Luzerne county, and later was nominated by the Republicans for the same position, but was defeated. In 1869 he was appointed collector of Internal Revenue for the counties of Luzerne and Susquehanna, and resigned in 1873; in 1875-76 he was chairman of the Republican State Central Committee. In 1878 Mr. Hoyt was nominated and elected Governor of the State, and during the four years of his term, no bill was passed over his veto. After the expiration of his term, he practiced his profession in Philadelphia and Luzerne county. Gov. Hoyt died, after a protracted illness, at two o'clock on the morning of December 1, 1892, surrounded by his family and a circle of sorrowing friends. He married September 25, 1855, Mary E., daughter of Elijah Loveland, also a descendant of an old New England family, and there are three children living—one son and two daughters. The son, Henry M., Jr., is a practicing attorney. The family in religious faith are Presbyterians. In literature Gov. Hoyt wrote much of a higher order of merit, the best known of his works being "A Brief of Title in the Seventeen Townships in the County of Luzerne. A Syllabus of the Controversy between Connecticut and Pennsylvania," which was prepared for the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and an extended argument in defense of the Protective Tariff System, which is regarded by many as the ablest presentation of that side of the much-debated subject ever put in print.
JOHN D. HOYT, farmer, P.O. Kingston, was born August 13, 1819, and is a son of Ziba and Nancy (Herbert) Hoyt, the former a native of Connecticut, the latter of Luzerne county, both being of New England origin. Mr. Hoyt was educated in the common schools and La Fayette College, and has devoted his entire attention to farming in Kingston. He has been twice married, and for his first wife he wedded Martha A., daughter of Abraham and Sarah (Myers) Goodwin, by which union there were three children, viz.: Ann Elizabeth, married to George Shoemaker, of Forty Fort; Abraham G., a lawyer in Wilkes-Barre; and Martha, now Mrs. Dr. Frederic Corss. For his second wife Mr. Hoyt married Elizabeth Goodwin, sister to his first wife, and by her has had three children: Augusta; Edward E., a lawyer in Wilkes-Barre; and Henry M., a lawyer in Spokane, Wash. Mr. Hoyt and his family are members of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a Republican.
J. RITNER HOYT, principal of the Ashley Graded Schools, was born in Huntington township, this county, May 17, 1859, a son of Milo J. and Jemima (Tubbs) Hoyt, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German and Scotch origin. The father, who was a farmer, reared a family of seven children, six of whom are living and of whom our subject is the eldest. Mr. Hoyt was educated in the public school in Huntington township and graduated in 1878, from the New Columbus Academy, where he worked his way by teaching and various other means. He taught five years during his course, seven years in Huntington township, and accepted his present position in 1885. November 22, 1882, Mr. Hoyt married Nancy E., daughter of Fletcher and Huldah (Harrison) Chapin, natives of Huntington township where their ancestors were among the first settlers. Of this union there are two children, Maud S. and Russel C. Our subject is a member of the P.O.S. of A. and the K. of H. He is a Republican in his political views.
SAMUEL HOYT (deceased) was born in Kingston, this county, November 2, 1815, the eldest son of Elias and Mary (Weston) Hoyt. He was a cousin of the late Hon. M. Hoyt, ex-governor of Pennsylvania. Our subject was married January 25, 1860, to Mary M. Miller of Philadelphia, Pa., and two sons were born of this union: Frank Weston and George Samuel, the latter of whom is deceased. Mr. Hoyt was regarded as one of the solid men of the Wyoming Valley. He assisted his father as county surveyor from early manhood to the time of his marriage, and the years devoted to this work made him familiar with the properties of the county, so much so that he became a recognized authority as to title and ownership, both of surface and coal lands. His name and life are intimately associated with the history and prosperity of Kingston and the Wyoming Valley. After his marriage he abandoned surveying, turning his attention to coal interests and railroads, being intimately associated, in those days, with Mr. Abram Nesbitt, of Kingston, Pa. Mr. Hoyt was possessed of sterling qualities of mind and heart, and his kind, affable manner endeared him to all with whom he was associated. He had great clearness of perception, and his sound judgment and opinion were often sought in the settlement of important cases. While modest and unobtrusive, he had a strong will, and he was possessed of a well-developed moral nature of the highest type. He was man of strong convictions in politics, as well as in business, but his modesty forbade any proclamation of them in view of office seeking . He attended the services of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Hoyt passed from earth, October 7, 1875.
STEPHEN HARRISON HOYT, a prominent farmer of Huntington township, P.O. Watertown, was born in that township June 28, 1832. He is a son of J. Ross and Julia R. (Harrison) Hoyt, natives of Pennsylvania, of English origin. The father was a farmer by occupation; he died, May 21, 1892, aged eighty-three years. He was a son of Caleb and Elizabeth (Tubbs) Hoyt, natives of Stamford, Conn., who came to this county about 1795, and followed farming until his death in 1819. Stephen Harrison Hoyt is the eldest in a family of nine children, three of whom are living. He was reared on a farm, receiving his education in the common schools, and assisted his father with the farm work until twenty-three years of age. He then began boating for the Baltimore Coal Company, on the Pennsylvania Canal, a business he followed for ten years, when he moved to Lehigh Tannery, Carbon county, and worked three years in the lumber woods of that section. he then returned to his native township, renting the Jacob Good farm, which he operated for five years, when, owing to his father's failing health, he returned to the homestead, which he now owns. He was married, June 30, 1867, to Hannah E., daughter of Ezra and Rebecca (Wilson) Chapin, which union has been blessed with seven children, six of whom are living, viz.: Eva G., born May 1, 1868, a teacher in the high school of Waterton; Charles B., born February 19, 1872; Frank A., born June 15, 1874; Ezra B. born September 23, 1877; R. May, born November 24, 1880; and J. Ralph, born March 24, 1885. The family attended the M.E. Church. Mr. Hoyt is one of the sound men of his township; has been school director for three terms, and in politics is a stanch Republican.
ABRAHAM HUFF, gardner, P.O. Harding, was born in Monmouth county, N.J., November 19, 1839, son of Oliver and Elizabeth (McGill) Huff, both of whom were born in the same county. Oliver Huff was a hard-working and honest man, one in whom his fellow-men could place implicit confidence. He lived to be of service to his country, and died in 1888. He reared a family of seven children, out of eight who were born to him. Abraham is the third of the family, and was reared and educated in his native county, and has always confined himself to agricultural pursuits, at which he has been successful. He removed to Lackawanna county in 1865, locating in Hyde Park, where he remained one year, thence removing to Ashley, where he resided nine years. He next removed to Newtown, where he spent four years, afterward going to Duryea, whence, after a residence of one year, he moved near Pittston, there passing seven years of his life. Finally, in 1888, Mr. Huff removed to Exeter township, where he bought a place, comprising forty acres, of beautiful and productive land, which he entirely devotes to gardening. He raises all kinds of vegetables, with which he supplies the Pittston markets. Mr. Huff is a man of energy and enterprise, who has succeeded in building up for himself a trade which defies competition. He is a man of pleasing manner and mild disposition. In 1866 he was married to Miss Ellen Vanderlung, who was born in 1846, daughter of James and Mary Vanderlung. To this happy couple have been born five children, four of whom are now (1892) living: Mary, James, Oliver and Joseph; Lottie is deceased. Politically, our subject is a Republican.
GEORGE W. HUFF, merchant and farmer, P.O. Town Hill, Huntington township, was born November 20, 1830, in Sullivan county, Pa., and is a son of Abraham and Annetta (Wright) Huff, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English and German origin, respectively. the father was a carpenter and farmer by occupation. He died October 15, 1891, aged eighty-four years. George W. is a grandson of Amos Huff, who came from New Jersey to Hanover township in 1800. He is the second of a family of nine children, seven of whom are now living. He was reared on a farm, educated in the common schools, and began life for himself at eighteen years of age, as a carpenter and wheelwright, which he followed for twenty years in Huntington township. He then opened his present store, in 1865, bought a farm, and has since conducted both industries. He was married August 14, 1852, to Miss Frances L., daughter of John and Charlotta (Fuller) Myers, natives respectively, of Pennsylvania and Massachusetts. She is the second youngest in a family of five children, three of whom are living. This union is blessed with three children: Rolland B., born April 19, 1856 (he married Lizzie A. Newton; works his own farm); Abram L., born February 14, 1860 (married Jennie Westover); and Thomas R., born December 4, 1863, clerks in the store. The family attend the Methodist Church. Mr. Huff was a member of the I.O.O.F., K. of P., and Sons of Temperance. He has held the offices of school director, assessor and poormaster, and has been postmaster of Town Hill for over twenty years. He is one of the prominent men of his section, in politics a sound Republican, and is a thorough business man.
G. D. HUFFORD, farmer, P.O. Muhlenburg, was born June 28, 1822, in Monroe county, near Stroudsburg, where he was reared and educated. He is a son of John and Susan (De Haven) Hufford, the former born in Northampton county, the latter in Connecticut. John Hufford was a wealthy farmer, owning 100 acres of valuable land, and was practical in all his dealings, and honest to a fault; sober and industrious, keeping well abreast of the times in his agricultural pursuits. He was a member of the Lutheran Church, and was an exemplary Christian. He never left his native county, and died July 9, 1857, aged sixty-four years. His children numbered twelve, five of whom were born at two births, and six of the twelve grew to maturity (two of whom are now living), George D. being the eleventh by birth. In early life our subject learned the blacksmith's trade at which he worked for twenty years. On June 15, 1861, he was mustered into the United States service as a private in Company F, Fourth Pennsylvania Reserves, and for good behavior and courage displayed in battle he was promoted to the rank of first sergeant. He served two and one-half years, and was honorably discharged on account of disabilities, having participated in all the battles of his command during his term of service. After his return home he lived a short time in Stroudsburg, and then removed to Wyoming county, where he took up farming, having abandoned his trade on account of failing health. He lived on the first farm he rented, in Wyoming county, three years; he then removed to another farm in the same county, where he resided sixteen years. From there he came to Luzerne county, settling in Hunlock township, on his present farm of 100 acres, on which he has made many necessary improvements. In 1842, Mr. Hufford married, at Stroudsburg, Miss Sophia, daughter of John and Elizabeth Shiffer, and to them were born thirteen children, five of whom grew to maturity, and three are now living: Aaron, Anna and Allen D. Mrs. Sophia Shiffer Hufford was born in Northampton county, in 1823. Mr. Hufford is a genial, jolly gentleman, always ready to crack and take a joke. He is a member of the G.A.R. Politically he is a Republican, and has been elected to various offices in his township. He and his good wife are members of the M.E. Church, of which he is steward and trustee.
DAVID R. HUGHES, foreman at the Jeansville Boiler Shops, Jeansville, was born in Glamorganshire, South Wales, March 2, 1852, and is a son of William and Ellenor (Richards) Hughes, also natives of Wales, who emigrated to America in 1852, settling at Combola, Schuylkill Co., Pa. He is the youngest in a family of four children, and was educated in Carbon and Luzerne counties. From 1862 until 1870 Mr. Hughes worked at mining, and at the last-mentioned date, learned the boiler maker's trade at the Jeansville Boiler shops, where he has since been employed. In 1879 he was made general foreman of these shops, and has since acted in that capacity. Mr. Hughes was married October 16, 1871, to Miss Hannah M. Watkins, which union has been blessed with seven children, namely: William W. (deceased), John W., Elenor I., Harry G., Mary G., Stella M. and Richard V. Mr. Hughes is a strong adherent of the principles of Prohibition, and is a supporter of that party. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Sons of Temperance. He is one of Jeansville's most respected and honored citizens, and seeks in every instance to act justly by all who are subordinate to him.
EDWARD A. HUGHES, letter carrier, Hazleton. This trustworthy young official was born in Hazleton January 4, 1869, and is a son of William M. and Barbara (Stahl) Hughes, both natives of Columbia county, Pa. He was reared and educated in Hazleton, and for a few years after the close of his school days was employed as timekeeper by his father who, at that time, was an extensive railroad contractor. In June, 1889, he was appointed mail carrier. In this position he has discharged all the duties appertaining to his office with he greatest of satisfaction to the public. In politics he is a Republican. Mr. Hughes attends the M.E. Church, and is a member of the Independent Order of Red Men, and Hazleton Commandery No. 17.
HENRY HUGHES, farmer, P.O. Hunlock Creek, was born in Wales, March, 1824, a son of Lewis and Jane Hughes, also natives of Wales. They were respectable farmers in their native country, and after Mrs. Hughes died in Wales, her husband emigrated to this country in 1855, accompanied by his son, Henry, and lived to be one hundred and three years, three months, three days and three hours old, dying in 1877. He reared a family of fourteen children, three of whom, John, Thomas and Henry L., are now living. The subject of this sketch is the thirteenth by birth, and was thirty-one years of age when he came to this country and county, having in early life learned the carpenter's trade, at which he worked for fifty years. His first four years were spent in Pittston and in Wyoming, and in 1861 he removed to Plymouth township where he purchased 315 acres of land that now has the appearance of a model farm. Mr. Hughes is a general and practical farmer and a man of sound principles. Politically, a Republican, and has held several township offices with credit; in 1891 ran for county commissioner, but fell short of his opponent's number. In 1850, in Wales, Mr. Hughes married Miss Jane, daughter of William Jones, and by her had ten children, six of whom are now living: Henry H., Lewis, Jennie D., Marguerita, Sarah and Anna. Of these Henry H. married Miss Celestia Pease; Jennie D. married Elmer Cease; Marguerita married Samuel Lamoreux. Mr. Hughes is a member of the I.O.O.F., and a consistent member of the M.E. Church.
JAMES HUGHES, retired, Luzerne, was born November 19, 1815, in this county, and is a son of James and Hannah (Sweetland) Hughes, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the later of Connecticut origin. Our subject belongs to a family of Revolutionary fame, his great-grandfather having been a colonel, while his grandfather acted as aid in the memorable battle of Germantown. The Hughes family belong to early pioneers in the Valley, and have done much to promote the interests of Luzerne county. "The Captain" (as Mr. Hughes is familiarly called) was educated in Luzerne county, and in 1836 began trafficking on the canal, running a line of boats from Pittston to Baltimore, Philadelphia and New York. After the canal extension was completed, he took his boats through the principal cities in the State of New York. The Captain ran over these various lines until 1866, and many an interesting narrative is related by him of his varied experience on the tow-path. After leaving the canal he was engaged in farming and looking after his many land interests in the Valley, but is now retired from active life. He was at one time one of the most extensive agriculturists in the county, keeping twenty horses and about sixty head of cattle on his farm. Capt. Hughes was married, April 2, 1848, to Mrs. Elizabeth Wharrom Houghton, daughter of John and Rebecca (Mazor) Wharrom, and widow of George Houghton, and a native of England, where she was married to her first husband, by whom she had children as follows: William, Josephine (who resides at Denver, Colo.), Cyrus and Sarah. To her last marriage the following named children were born: Ellen (deceased), Maria (now Mrs. Bishop), George and Caroline, the last named being still with her mother. In politics the Captain has always been a stanch Republican, and he is a communicant of the Presbyterian Church.
JAMES H. HUGHES, superintendent of the Keystone Colliery, Plains township, with residence in Wilkes-Barre, was born in Carbondale, Pa., January 22, 1860. He is a son of John and Lucretia (Smith) Hughes, natives of Aberdare, Wales, and of Welsh and English origin respectively. His father came to America as early as 1840, and after remaining at Scranton a few years removed to Carbondale, where he acted as foreman for the Delaware & Hudson Coal Company, for a period of thirty-six years, and at the time of his death was the oldest foreman in their employ. Our subject is the youngest of fourteen children, nine of whom are living; he was educated in the common school and in the State University of Colorado, where he took a special course in assaying and chemistry. When he had completed his education he was engaged by the Miners' Smelting & Reduction Company, at Boulder, Colo., as assistant assayer and chief sampler for two years, after which he acted as chief coal inspector for the Lehigh & Wilkes-Barre Coal Company, for five years; in 1886 he entered the employ of the Keystone Coal Company as outside foreman, and one year later was promoted to the position which he now holds. The Keystone is a very large and important colliery, employing from 350 to 400 men, and having a capacity of 20,000 tons a month; the position of superintendent of such an establishment is one of great responsibility and trust, yet it is in no particular worthy a better man than its present incumbent. Mr. Hughes was married, April 5, 1884, to Emma K., daughter of J. D. and Patience (Jackson) Laird, of Wilkes-Barre; he and his wife are members of the Franklin Street Methodist Episcopal church, Wilkes-Barre; he is a member of the Royal Arcanum, and in politics sympathizes with the Republican party.
WILLIAM H. HUGHES, fire-boss, Henry Shaft, Plains, was born in South Wales, in 1856, a son of David and Mary (Hughes) Hughes. In his father's family there were ten children, all living, of whom our subject is the eighth. He came to America in 1879, and located at Plains, where he engaged in company work for four years, and has since held his present position. He built his present residence at Plains, and removed therein in 1888. Mr. Hughes was married April 7, 1881, to Mrs. Elizabeth A. (Parry) Rowlands, daughter of Thomas and Sarah A. (Millen) Parry, natives of South Wales, and widow of James Rowlands, of Plains, by whom she had had one child, Jane. this happy union has been blessed with four children, viz.: William J., Mary E., Edward and David. Mrs. Hughes is a member of the Methodist Calvinistic church; he is a member of the A.O.K.of M.C., and politically is a Republican.
WILLET E. HUGHES, physician and surgeon, Ashley, was born in Lime Ridge, Columbia Co., Pa., December 28, 1856, and is a son of William M. and Barbara (Stahl) Hughes, natives of Pennsylvania, and of early Welsh and German origin, respectively. His father, who has a large livery stable at Hazleton, where he removed in 1865, reared a family of four children, viz.: Willet E.; M. Stella, widow of G. E. Hertz, by whom she had one child, William H., lives with her father; Jesse H., is practicing medicine at Mill Creek, Luzerne Co., Pa., and Edward is in the mail-carrier service at Hazleton, Pa. Our subject was educated in the public schools of Columbia county, Hazleton high school, Bloomsburg State Normal School, and graduated from the Jefferson Medical College in 1878. He then immediately began the practice of medicine in Conyngham Valley, where he remained but a few months, and then removed to Laceyville, where he remained seven years. In 1886 he came to Ashley, where, by his manly and genial nature and a superior knowledge of his profession, he has surrounded himself with a large circle of friends and patrons. Dr. Hughes was married August 3, 1881, to Anna L., daughter of John and Julia (Vantuyl) Gay, natives, respectively, of Pennsylvania and New York, and of English and Holland origin. Mrs. Hughes is a member of the Presbyterian Church. She is quite a genius, and has traveled from the Atlantic to the Pacific. The Doctor is a member of the F. & A. M., and a Republican in his political views.
W. R. HUGHES, Pittston, was born in Pottsville, December 8, 1847, son of H. R. and Elizabeth (Hague) Hughes. His father was a native of Holyhead, Wales, and at the age of nineteen came to America and located in Pottsville, where he was engaged in the tailoring business until 1852. He then removed to Carbondale (then in Luzerne county), where he also carried on the merchant-tailoring business for a time, after which he came to Pittston, where he embarked in the wholesale liquor business, and later engaged in running a brewery, in a short time becoming one of the most extensive business men in the county. He was largely interested in real estate and various industries. He died June 14, 1888. His wife now resides in West Pittston. She is a native of Yorkshire, England. Our subject was reared in Pittston and educated at Wyoming Seminary and Bucknell University, and at about the age of eighteen took charge of his father's books and acted as his general assistant in business, continuing with him until his death. Mr. Hughes was married July 4, 1872, to Miss Nellie C. Allen, a very accomplished young lady of Tuckerton, Burlington Co., N.J. They have no living children. He is a bookkeeper by profession, and it may be said of him that he has no superiors in this branch of business.
EDWARD B. HULL, a well-known resident of Shickshinny, was born in Salem township, Luzerne Co., Pa., June 4, 1831, a son of Aaron and Elizabeth J. (McPherson) Hull, and comes of Scotch-Irish stock. His parents, who were formerly of New Jersey, settled in Salem township in 1829; the father was a millwright by trade, and died in Berwick, Pa. Their children were William (deceased), who was a soldier in the Civil war; Edward B.; Mary (Mrs. J. D. Thompson), and Catherine (Mrs. J. H. Mears). Our subject was reared in Pennsylvania, educated in the common schools, and began life as a clerk in a general store. He has been a resident of Shickshinny since 1875, and was clerk in the Salem Coal Company's store thirteen years. In 1858 he married Mary J., daughter of John and Elizabeth (Adams) Hutton, of Briar Creek, Columbia Co., Pa., and has five children: Seth, Cora (Mrs. J. E. Franklin), John, Mary and Anna. Mr. Hull is a member of the M.E. Church. In politics he is a Republican, and is now serving his fifth term as tax-collector of Shickshinny.
EVAN T. HUMPHREYS, miner, Plymouth, was born October 14, 1852, and is the eldest in the family of seven children of John and Jane (Busse) Humphreys, natives of Glamorganshire, South Wales. Our subject was educated in his native land, and early in life began mining, which he followed in Wales until 1883, when he came to America, locating at Plymouth, Pa., and engaged at his old business at the Nottingham Colliery, where he worked for seven years. Mr. Humphreys was united in marriage, November 6, 1873, with Sarah, daughter of John T. and Patience (Phillips) Morris, natives of Monmouthshire, Wales, and five children have blessed this union, namely: John T., Thomas T., Evan T., Sarah Jane and Mary. The family attends the Welsh Baptist Church. Mr. Humphreys is a Republican, and is a member of the A.P.A
ANDREW HUNLOCK, a prominent and influential citizen of Wilkes-Barre, is a great-grandson of Jonathan Hunlock, Sr., who came from New England to Pennsylvania, and located in a part of what was then Union (now Hunlock) township, Luzerne county, becoming the first settler of that township. This was in the year 1773. Jonathan Hunlock, Jr., and Jameson Hunlock, grandfather and father, respectively, of our subject, were born in the same township, and naturally, the family acquired large possessions there. Mrs. Jameson Hunlock, Andrew Hunlock's mother, was Maria Royal, daughter of the late George Royal, of Germantown, Pa., of which locality the Royal family (which is of English descent) were well-known residents through several generations. Andrew Hunlock was born in Kingston, this county (to which place his father had some time previously removed), May 1, 1839. He was educated at the Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, read law with the late Lyman Hakes, Esq., and was admitted to the bar November 19, 1868. He does not practice, however, his time being wholly taken up with the management of his large and varied business interests. For a number of years he was president of the Anthracite Savings Bank, of Wilkes-Barre; he is one of the owners of the Music Hall, in that city; is interested in coal, timber and other lands, and is connected with many other important business enterprises. In politics he is a Republican. He has been a trustee of the Memorial Presbyterian Church since its organization. Mr. Hunlock is unmarried.
GEORGE R. HUNLOCK, retired farmer, Wyoming borough, was born in Kingston, Pa., October 2, 1841, and is a son of Jameson and Maria (Royal) Hunlock, natives of Pennsylvania and of German and English origin, respectively. The father, who was a tailor by trade, died at his home in Kingston, May 6, 1887. His family consisted of seven children, six of whom are now living, and of whom George R. is second in order of birth. Our subject was educated in the common schools and the Wyoming Seminary, and at the age of sixteen began teaching school, a vocation he applied himself to several terms. On August 6, 1862, he enlisted in Company D, One Hundred and Forty-third Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, under Capt. Asher Gaylord. His regiment was in the following battles: Chancellorsville, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, Wilderness, Weldon Railroad, Hatcher's Run, Cold Harbor, and other minor engagements, under Col. E. L. Dana and Gen. Roy Stone. Mr. Hunlock was wounded in the knee at Gettysburg, and was discharged July 2, 1863, as a brave and efficient soldier. He then went to Philadelphia, and worked nine years as a salesman for Wanamaker & Brown; thence proceeded to Wyoming where he lived four years; at the end of which time he went into the livery business at Wilkes-Barre, continuing thereat eight years, and then moved to Huntington township and carried on farming. Retiring from that occupation, he moved to Wyoming, March 30, 1892. On July 9, 1868, he was married to Sarah J., daughter of Robert S. and Jeanette (Wilkinson) Gettys, natives of Allegheny county, Pa. of German and Scotch origin, respectively. Mrs. Hunlock is next to the youngest in a family of eight children, and was born August 23, 1843; she is a member of the Methodist Church. Mr. Hunlock is a Republican, and was school director of Huntington township for three years.
JOHN G. HUNLOCK, collector, Wilkes-Barre, with residence at Wyoming, was born at Kingston, Luzerne Co., Pa., November 25, 1846, a son of Jameson and Maria (Royal) Hunlock, natives of Pennsylvania and of English origin. He is a grandson of Jonathan Hunlock, who was one of the early settlers of Luzerne county and who left two children, Samuel and Jameson, the father of our subject; the last named reared a family of seven children, six of whom are now living. Our subject was the fifth in order of birth, was educated in the common schools of Luzerne county, and at the age of fourteen began railroading as brakeman on the Lackawanna & Bloomsburg Railroad for six months; he was then made conductor and followed the same for eleven years on several roads. He then opened a store in Wyoming, where he remained three years, then went to Carverton and ran a general store for three years, then returned to Wyoming as a merchant for six years; in 1884 he embarked in his present business. Mr. Hunlock is patentee of the Hunlock Rail Joint, now on trial on the Delaware & Hudson Railroad. He was married June 22, 1886, to Alice M., daughter of Charles L. and Sarah Ann (Ganaware) Reichard, natives of Easton, Pa; her father was a tailor by occupation, who came to Wyoming in 1849, and died May 20, 1888, aged seventy-five. Mr. and Mrs. Hunlock attend the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Hunlock is a Republican, and is now serving as school director of the borough.
M. H. HUNSICKER, proprietor of the "Central Hotel," Freeland. We note with pleasure the name of this gentleman, who is one of the leading hotel men of the county. He was born in Lehighton, Carbon Co., Pa., November 12, 1859, and is a son of Reuben and Lucy Ann (Bower) Hunsicker, the former a native of Heidleberg, Lehigh county, and the latter a native of Lehighton. The paternal great-great grandfather of the subject of this sketch settled in Heidleberg township, Lehigh county, at a very early date, being among the pioneer settlers of that section. His name was Daniel Hunsicker, and he emigrated from Germany. M. H. Hunsicker is the eighth in a family of twelve children—seven boys and five girls—all living and enjoying good health. He was educated in the public schools of Lehighton, and while a young man worked with his father and learned the butchering trade. He remained in his father's employ until he reached the age of twenty-four years, when he engaged in the business for himself at Lehighton, where he remained eight years. He then came to Freeland and embarked in the same line of business, which he followed only a few months, when he disposed of the establishment, and on March 15, 1892, he took charge of the "Central Hotel." This is the oldest hostelry in Freeland, and is a first-class hotel in every respect. Mr. Hunsicker's qualifications as a landlord are such as to render his house exceedingly popular with travelers, in every department the management being of the highest order. In addition to his hotel interests he is well known as a prominent dealer in horses, especially "trotters," which latter he keeps and has driven in races. He was married September 16, 1883, to Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Adam Graver, of Franklin township, Carbon Co., Pa., and there have been born to them three children, viz.: George Oliver and Pansy May (both deceased) and Raymond Graver (living). Mr. Hunsicker is a member of the Improved Order of Red Men, the Royal Arcanum and the Junior Order American Mechanics.
MILTON J. HUNSINGER, breaker-boss, Tomhicken Colliery, P.O. Sugar Loaf, was born in Sugar Loaf township, November 22, 1863, a son of Philip and Catherine (Ernst) Hunsinger. The paternal grandfather, Solomon Hunsinger, of German parentage, was among the pioneers of Sugar Loaf township, where he cleared and improved a farm, and passed the remainder of his days. His children, who grew to maturity, were Philip and Jonas. Philip has spent nearly all his life in Sugar Loaf township, engaged in farming and hotel keeping; his children were Christian, Louisa (Mrs. George Hunter), Reuben, William, Amanda (Mrs. Aaron Fink), Milton J. and Henry. Our subject was reared in Sugar Loaf township, where he has always resided, and was educated in public schools. He has been employed about the Tomhicken Colliery eleven years, and has held his present position of breaker boss since 1888. On December 25, 1891, he married Mary, daughter of William L. and Elizabeth (John) Williams, of Sugar Loaf township. Mr. Hunsinger is a member of the Reformed Church, and of the P.O.S.ofA. In politics he is a Democrat.
P. R. HUNTER, real estate agent, Larksville, was born in the borough of Luzerne (then called Mill Hollow), August 13, 1826, a son of Hiram and Mary (Reese) Hunter, also natives of this county, both born in 1803, the former in Jackson township the latter in Hemlock township. Hiram Hunter was a son of Philip Hunter, who was born in Wilkes-Barre February 22, 1732, the same day on which the immortal Washington was born. He was the son of a German who emigrated to this country in its very early history, and who served faithfully in the Revolutionary struggle with England. Philip was a man of reserved nature and retiring disposition, a great fisher and hunter. He was a shrewd man, well acquainted with the characteristics of the Indian. On one occasion he agreed to go hunting with a certain Indian, and to meet at a well-known tree at an appointed time. After they separated, Philip Hunter suspected at once that the intention of the other was to kill him; and here was where his nerve, courage and foresight came into play, which no doubt saved his life. In order to frustrate the evil designs of the Indian, Hunter managed to reach the tree first, and from behind it he watched for his approach. When at last he saw him coming, he held his hat out a little way from behind the tree, where upon the Indian, being deceived by the ruse, fired his rifle, the ball going through the hat only, and then gave a tremendous whoop, thinking he had killed his victim. Mr. Redskin was rather staggered, however, when he saw Mr. Hunter step from behind the tree unhurt, and with his rifle to his shoulder; so making a virtue of necessity, with true Indian bravado, he opened his breast jacket, and next moment fell dead, for a bullet from Philip Hunter's trusty rifle passed clean through his body. Grandfather Hunter died in Hemlock township in 1841 at the patriarchal age of one hundred and nine years. He was three times married, and reared a large family. His son Hiram began life in the Valley as a weaver, an occupation he followed for a number of years, but on account of declining health, abandoned it and took up farming. His life was an uneventful one, and he died in 1871 at the age of sixty-nine years. He reared a family of six children, two of whom are yet living, viz: P. R. and Martha E. P. R. Hunter was reared and educated in the place of his birth, and in early life learned the painter's trade, which he followed for forty years in Luzerne county. This, on account of blood-poisoning, he retired from for the confectionery and notion store, which he follows in conjunction with his store. Mr. Hunter is yet unmarried, and is a man of some importance. He has held the office of justice of the peace, one term, and also postmaster for some time. Politically he is a Democrat.
SPENCER D. HUNT, merchant, Huntsville, was born July 2, 1849, in Elmira, N. Y., a son of Sylvester and Maria (Palmer) Hunt. The former was born in Huntsville, the latter in Elmira, where they were married and reared a family of four children, two sons and two daughters: May A., Emily M., Franklin F. and Spencer D. Sylvester is the son of John, who was born in Huntsville, and is a prominent man of that place. John was a son of Levi, who was a native of Connecticut, and who settled here in the very early history of the county. He was one of the first pioneers in Jackson township; Huntsville bears his name. The Hunts were marked for their patriotism and devotion to the cause of freedom and independence. They have participated in all the wars in the United States from first to last. Levi Hunt, the old pioneer, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. John, his son, was a soldier in the war of 1812. John, second, served in the Mexican War. Sylvester, with two brothers and one son, served faithfully in the war of the Rebellion, in defense of their country and its union. Sylvester was a member of Company H, Ninth P.V.C. His son, Spencer D., the subject of this sketch, when but a mere boy, hearing the older ones read of the rebellious spirit developing itself in the Southern States, could not subdue the patriotic spirit which was transmitted from father to son, from one generation to the other, and willingly gave himself as a sacrifice upon the alter of his country. On September 10, 1861, he became a member of Company C. Fiftieth New York Engineers, for the term of three years. Though a mere lad he took the place of a man, participating in all the principal battles, viz: Gettysburg, Yorktown, Chancellorsville, Cold Harbor, Second Bull Run, Chickahominy, Seven Day's Fight, Harper's Ferry, Deep Bottom. "Burnside in the Mud," Rappahannock, Rapidan, Petersburg and Richmond, through all of which he passed without a wound, although his clothes were cut by balls on various occasions. Mr. Hunt served as a private, but was at one time in the quarter-master's department. He was honorably discharged at the expiration of his term of enlistment, and has since lived in the old native place of his ancestors, Huntsville, an exemplary citizen of that town. Mr. Hunt was the third in his father's family in order of birth. He was reared and educated in Huntsville, where he has always made his home, and where for sixteen years he has been engaged in the butcher business. In 1890 he engaged in a mercantile enterprise, that of a general supply store for country trade. In addition to this he runs a milk route in Plymouth. At the age of twenty-three he married, March 17, 1871, Miss Sarah M., daughter of Chester and Mary Fuller, of Lehman, by which union he has one son, William F., who is assistant postmaster. Mr. Hunt is a man of much political influence, receiving the respect of both parties because of his sterling qualities and his adherence to the principles of right. He was appointed postmaster two years ago, which office he fills to the entire satisfaction of his community. He has also served with much credit as census enumerator. He is a member of John J. Whitney Post No. 339, G.A.R., of which he has been senior commander for five years; since 1885 he has been post commander, and has served as mustering officer in the post for six years. Politically, he is a Republican.
I. J. HUTCHINS, farmer, P.O. Hunlock Creek, was born in Jackson township, July 13, 1857, a son of George L. and Sarah (Cook) Hutchins, the former born in Wilkes-Barre, October 14, 1824, the latter in Union township, November 20, 1830. George L. Hutchins is a son of John Hutchins, a native of New York State, who came to this county about 1820, locating at Wilkes-Barre. He was a bridge builder, and a master workman in the erection of the Wilkes-Barre Bridge in 1828. He resided in that city a number of years, following his business at various points, and met his death by drowning while pursuing his vocation on the Hudson River. His family consisted of three sons: George L., Henry and John. George L. Hutchins began his business career in Plymouth township as a millwright and carpenter, which he followed all his life. At the same time he owned a farm of considerable extent, the work on which he had done by hired help while he pursued his chosen calling, which was more profitable financially. He is still living and enjoying good health; his wife died November 18, 1889. Their family consists of two children: I. J. and Sarah E., both living. Our subject was reared and educated in Plymouth township, and has always resided there. He is a natural mechanic, but confines himself to agricultural pursuits. His farm, which is a model one, comprises 225 acres. He is a Democrat, and has held the office of assessor with credit to himself and the satisfaction of those whom he represented. On September 12, 1879, he married Miss Emma A., daughter of Mrs. Lizzie Anderson, and to this union were born three children: Charles G., Sarah E. and Nellie M. Mrs. Emma Hutchins was born in Kingston township, March 10, 1830. Socially, Mr. Hutchins is a member of the Jr. O.U.A.M.
IRA REESE HUTCHINS, dispatcher, Harwood Mines, a bright and genial young business man, was born in Mifflin township, Luzerne county, October 2, 1866, a son of Martin L. and Margaret (Yohe) Hutchins, natives of Luzerne county. Our subject is the second in a family of eleven children, was reared in his birthplace, receiving his education at the public schools of his native town, and at the State Normal School, Bloomsburg. After completing his education he went to Philadelphia as entry clerk in a wholesale grocery store, where he remained for six months. In 1887 he went to Lattimer Mines and worked as clerk in the Company store for about nine months, afterward working in the office until September, 1891, when he went to Harwood Mines, and accepted his present position. Mr. Hutchins was united in marriage December 22, 1891, with Lizzie Green, of Hazleton. In political matters he is a stanch Democrat, and is a member of the P.O.S.of A. He and his wife attend the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Hutchins is a gentleman of education and rare business ability.
JOHN A. HUTCHINS, manufacturer of terra cotta wares, and owner and operator of the Morning Star Coal Mine, of Wyoming borough, was born July 4, 1848. He is a son of Thomas and Martha (Landon) Hutchins, natives of Pennsylvania and of English origin. The father was a tanner by trade, and in 1869, 1870, 1871 was recorder of Luzerne county. He was interested in the terra-cotta works with his son at the time of his death, which occurred in 1884. Thomas Hutchins was twice married; by his first wife, he had one child, John A.; by his second he had seven children, all of whom are living. Our subject was educated in the common schools, and began life for himself at the age of nineteen as deputy recorder, at which he worked a year and a half; he was then employed in the same office for two years in re-indexing the indices, after which he and his father purchased the terra-cotta works. In 1888 he purchased his coal lands from S. R. Shoemaker, and opened the Morning Star Mine the same year; it produces at present 150 tons of coal a day, and also furnishes the fire-clay for his factory. He has recently purchased a one-half interest in 452 acres of coal land, which he is about to develop. Mr. Hutchins was married January 21, 1873, to Miss Mary J., daughter of W. S. and Maria (Tripp) Shoemaker, natives of Pennsylvania and of German and French origin, respectively; her father was a farmer of Wyoming borough. This happy union was blessed with six children, viz.: William T., born May 4, 1874, attending Lehigh University; Rheiner T., born July 1, 1878, now at Hillman Academy; Martha L., born April 30, 1880, and Ernest J., born May 21, 1882, died January 17, 1892, and Beatrice M., born August 2, 1890. Mr. and Mrs. Hutchins attend the Presbyterian Church; he is a member of the I.O.O.F. and F.&A.M.; he is a sound Democrat, and was a member of the first borough council; at present he is serving as school director.
MARTIN L. HUTCHINS, general merchant, farmer and lumberman, P.O. Rock Glen, was born in Mifflin township, Columbia Co., Pa., January 15, 1842, a son of Daniel and Phoebe (Creasey) Hutchins. His paternal grandfather, John Hutchins, of English descent, was a pioneer of Nescopeck township, this county, where for a time he served as constable. His children as far as known were John, Abrahm, Daniel and Alam. The maternal grandfather of our subject was Henry Creasey, a pioneer of Mifflin, Columbia Co., Pa., who cleared and improved a farm, and died there. Daniel Hutchins, who was a shoemaker by trade, spent most of his life in Mifflin township, and died there. His children were Catherine (Mrs. Daniel Gearhart), Elizabeth (deceased), Harriet, Dorcas (Mrs. Dorcas Wekheiser), Martin L. and Thomas W. (deceased). Our subject was reared in Mifflinville, and was educated in the public schools and Millville Academy. On October 15, 1862, he enlisted in Company M, Sixteenth P.V.C., and participated in the battles of Kelleys Ford, Upperville, Gettysburg, Shepherdstown, Culpeper, Briston, Palms Station, Stony Creek and other engagements, and was present at Lee's surrender at Appomattox; was promoted to corporal from the ranks April 1, 1862, and sergeant, January 1, 1865, and in August, 1865, he received an honorable discharge from the service. After his return home he taught school in Nescopeck township, and in December, 1866, embarked in general merchandising in Black Creek township, in which he has since successfully continued, and his present location at Rock Glen he has occupied since 1871; he has been engaged in lumbering since 1876, and farming since 1887. On November 2, 1865, he was married to Margaret E., daughter of Jacob and Rachel (Brown) Yohe, of Mifflin township, and they have four children living: George, I. Reese, Mintie R. and Arthur Rush. Mr. Hutchins seved twenty years in succession as justice of the peace of Black Creek township, and was several years postmaster at Black Creek; has also held the offices of school director and township clerk, and for twelve years was agent for the Adams Express Company. He is a member of the G.A.R., Union Veteran Legion and P.O.S. of A.; in politics he is a Democrat.
WILBER L. HUTCHINSON, M.D., Wapwallopen, was born at Jeansville, this county, June 11, 1866, a son of James B. and Margaret L. (Workheiser) Hutchinson, and is of Scotch-Irish and German descent. His father, a native of Columbia county, Pa., located at Jeansville in 1863, where he was manager of a general store for twenty years. From 1885 to 1890 he was postmaster at Hazleton, after which he managed a wholesale house there one year, and since then has been manager of a Company store at Ehrenfeld, Cambria Co., Pa. His children were Wilber L. and Florence. Our subject was reared in Jeansville, this county, and educated at Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport, where he was graduated in 1884. In 1888 he began the study of medicine with Dr. H. B. Casselberry, of Hazleton, and was graduated from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in 1891; in April of same year he located at Wapwallopen, where he has already succeeded in building up a lucrative practice. He married, June 21, 1892, Edith, daughter of William and Mary (Allen) Martin, Hazleton. Dr. Hutchinson is a member of the P.O.S. of A. and Jr. O.U.A.M., and in politics is a Democrat.