Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives

Clearfield County

History of Clearfield County

by

Lewis Cass Aldrich

published 1887

 

Chapter 21

 

Copyright

This page was last updated on 23 Apr 2011

Contribute

 

 
 
 

 

HIST0RY
OF
CLEARFIELD COUNTY
PENNSYLVANIA

WITH ILLUSTRATIONS AND BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES
OF SOME OF ITS PROMINENT MEN AND PIONEERS

EDITED BY
LEWIS CASS ALDRICH

SYRACUSE, N. Y.
D. MASON & CO., PUBLISHERS
1887

 

 Chapter 21

Pages

331

332

333

334

335

336

337

338

339

340

341

342

343

344

345

346

347

348

349

350

351

352

353

354

355

356

357

358

359

360

361

362

363

364

365

366

367

368

369

370

371

372

373

374

375

376

 

 

Betts, William W.

Irvin, Alexander

Porter, William

Dill, William H.

Goodlander, G. B.

Shaw, William M.

printer friendly version of this page

 

 

 

Page 331

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.

CHAPTER XXI.
HISTORY OF THE BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD, THE SEAT OF JUSTICE OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.

 

     IT was not until the month of April, in the year 1840, the town of Clearfield became detached from Lawrence township, and was for all purposes erected into a municipality, independent of the surrounding territory of which it had hitherto formed a part, and became by the act erecting it, incorporated into a a borough.

     From the time the commissioners, Roland Curtin, John Fleming, and James Smith, appointed by Governor McKean, determined to and by their report did lay out the place for the seat of justice for the newly created county

 

 

 

 

Page 332
HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.

 

on lands of Abraham Witmer, and the same became by law fixed, the lands embraced by it were entitled to the dignified name of a town, although at that time, and until the year 1813, it was still a part of the old township of Chincleclamousche.  In this year, under an order of the Court of Quarter Sessions of Centre county, the township of Lawrence was carved out of the old Chincleclamousche, and by this order Clearfield town became a part of the new township so formed, and so continued until 1840, when it was erected into a borough seperate and distinct from the surrounding county, and entitled to administer its own affairs and elect its own officers.


     The natural inference would be, that with the donation of lands and money, the plotting of the town, and the further fact that the seat of justice had been fixed there, settlement would be rapid and population increase within the town limits, but the fact seems to have been different, the cause being attributed to the limited means of the then settlers along the river, who were sufficiently burdened with their own lands and in clearing them for farm purposes, without aspiring to the ownership of town lots or town residences.

     As the town was originally laid out, it embraced the lands within the following boundaries: North by Pine street; east by Fourth street; south by Walnut street, and west by the Susquehanna River.

     At the same time in which the town was laid out, Mr. Witmer made a donation of several lots for the purposes specified in his bond executed at the time. The lot No. 75, situate on the corner of Second and Market streets, was donated for the purpose of erecting a court-house; lot No. 80, on Market street, cornering on an alley, to be used for erecting a market-house; lot No. 91, on the north side of Locust street, and cornering on an alley, to be used as a jail lot ; lots Nos. 162, 177 and 178, fronting on Walnut street, at the corner of Fourth street, were donated for the erection of an academy or public school. There were also donated certain lands, triangular in shape, and bordering on the river, to the public use as parks. The latter were not confirmed
by deed.

     In making the donations above referred to, Mr. Witmer entered into a bond in the penal sum of ten thousand dollars for the carrying out of the provisions of the same, as soon as the proper officers were chosen who were authorized to receive such deed as might be necessary; also for the payment of the sum of three thousand dollars, one-half of which was to be used in the erection of an academy building, and the other half for the erection of county buildings.

     The deed was executed in conformity with the conditions of the bond, on the 6th day of March, 1813, by Abraham Witmer and Mary, his wife, to Robert Maxwell, Hugh Jordon and Samuel Fulton, commissioners of Clearfield county, or their successors in office. The Witmer lands, from which the town was laid out, had no occupants in possession, of right, until some years after the

 

 

 

 

Page 333
BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.


county seat was fixed.  In the year 1807, Matthew Ogden, William Tate, and Robert Collins purchased town lots.  The lands of Daniel Ogden lay to the south of the town, and were included within the borough limits by the extension of said limits many years afterward.


     Mrs. Lewis, familiarly known as Granny Lathers, had a cabin in the north part, within the portion included by Bigler’s addition, which also was taken into the borough many years after, and concerning which mention will be made further on in this chapter.

     Robert Collins built a log house on the site of the present Mansion House. It was built, as near as can be ascertained, about the year 1807, soon after Collins came to the place. Ebenezer McGee soon after built near Collins.

     The Shirley family were among the first and occupied a log house near the residence of the late Dr. Wilson, on the corner of Locust and Second streets. Andy Kaufman lived in a log house located where G. L. Reed’s residence stands, on the southwest corner of First and Market streets.

     After the departure of Granny Lathers a family named Watson occupied the cabin. It was located near where A. F. Boynton’s barn now stands. Watson, whose given name was John, had a wife, but no children. They were very fond of company and welcomed all visitors to their house, and were especially joyful if anything strong was to be had with which to entertain their
guests.

     After the first commissioners were appointed the erection of the first courthouse was commenced. Robert Collins was awarded the contract. It was built during the years 1814-15, but the exact date cannot now be fixed. It cost about $3,000. The jail was built about the same time, but not on the Locust street lot. It stood on the site now occupied by Dr. Burchfield’s residence on Second street. This jail was built of logs one story in height, and served the required purpose until the stone jail was built in rear of the courthouse on Market street, about 1841.

     In 1810 the town had a population of about twenty inhabitants and received no considerable increase up to 1822. In the year 1836 the town had only about three hundred population. In an address delivered during the year 1876, Dr. Hoyt, referring to his early recollections of the town, said there were but three houses in Clearfield town in 1819 ; one occupied by Robert Collins, another on the site of Shirk Brothers’ tannery, and the third on the Kratzer place, occupied by one Perks.

     On the site now occupied by the residence of Judge McEnally stood an old tannery, said to have been built about 1810, but not operated to any extent until several years later. It must have been built prior to 1813, as the tax list made early in 1814 shows Thomas Reynolds, the proprietor, assessed for a tanyard.

     Jacob Irwin built a tan house about 1814 or 1815 on the land in rear of the Boyer residence on Second street.

 

(43)

 

 

 

 

Page 334

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.


     These seem to have comprised the manufacturing industries of the town up to about 1825.

 

     After the completion of the court-house the jury room was used for some time as a school, and taught by Dr. A. T. Schryver.


     There were, in 1822, three taverns within the town limits of Clearfield. Robert Collins made an addition to his house, part frame and part brick, and there entertained the traveler at what was for many years known as Collins Hotel. From the best information obtainable Collins commenced keeping public house about the year 1817, soon after the completion of the court-house.

     The next hotel was established by Thomas Hemphill about the year 1819, on the site now occupied by, the fine brick residence of W. M. Shaw. This was torn down in 1866, and a new, the Shaw House, erected in its place by Richard Shaw, sr. The Shaw House was destroyed by fire in 1881. About the year 1820 the Western Hotel was built on the corner of Second and Market streets, by George D. Lenich. It was managed several years by George Lenich, and after his death by various persons. The old building still stands, but is now occupied for business purposes. The stable attached to the hotel on the east side fronting on Market street, has been remodeled and altered, and is now occupied by M. G. Rook as a clothing store. William Philips had charge of the Western Hotel in the year 1822.

     At the time the first court was held in Clearfield in October, 1822, three applications were made for hotel or tavern license, each of which was granted, the landlords being Robert Collins, Thomas Hemphill, and William Philips.

     Post- Office and Postmasters in Clearfield Town and Borough.- After the town had acquired a population sufficiently great to warrant the establishment of a post-office, an application was made to the department to that end. It resulted in the appointment of Thomas Hemphill, proprietor of the hotel on Market street, as postmaster, and the office was removed from Reedsboro, on the ridge, to town. Hemphill held this position several years, and was succeeded by William L. Moore. The latter moved the office to the storehouse on Second street, on the site of Colonel Walter Barrett’s law office.

     William Radebaugh was the next appointee, and kept the office in Shawls frame row on Market street. Radebaugh was succeeded by John H. Hillburn, who occupied a part of the old Western Hotel on Second street, near where the First National Bank stands.

     Next in order of succession was Charles D. Watson. He located the office on Second street, below Market, and adjoining the Mansion House.

     Michael A. Frank succeeded Watson and moved the post-office to Irvin’s storehouse, next to Mossop’s store on Market street.

     Peter A. Gaulin was next appointed and retained the storehouse location
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page 335
BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.


for a time, but afterward moved the office to his building on Market street, between Second and Third streets.  Captain Gaulin held the position longer than any of the appointees either before of since, being about sixteen years in office.  He was succeeded by Samuel J. Row, who changed the location to Second street, in the store building now occupied by him.

     Mr. Row was succeeded by A. B. Weaver, the present incumbent, who was appointed in 1886. The office is now located in Weaver’s store on Second street.

     Old Families of the Town and Borough.- From the time the town was laid out down to the time the county organization was completed, in 1822, settlement in the town proper was very slow, but from that time until 1840, and even later, it was more rapid. The names of many can be recalled at this time, yet the exact date of their coming to the town cannot with accuracy be fixed. Among those mentioned there appears names of families who have since become prominent, and have taken a conspicuous part in the affairs of the town and subsequent borough, as well as in the county. William Alexander was the head of one of these families. From 1816 to 1819, he was sheriff of Centre county, and arrested the notorious Monks, murderer of Reuben Giles, after that offense was committed. Sheriff Alexander, during his residence here, was elected justice of the peace. He resided on the old jail lot on Second street, and for a time was landlord of the Mansion House ; at another time he lived on the corner of Second and Market streets, on what is now the Graham property. Of his children, Ann, the eldest, married Judge Fleming, of Clinton county; Emily married Abraham K. Wright ; Elizabeth married James B. Graham, and Jane became the wife of Joseph Hagerty. Colonel William Alexander, a son, went to Clarion and edited the Clarion Democrat many years. When Mr. Alexander first came to the county he lived for a time at Forest, on Clearfield Creek.

     Jonathan Boynton came to the county about the year 1835, for the purpose of engaging in the lumber business. This he did, not extensively, however, as a producer, but largely as a dealer, buying and selling. He was one of the firm of Fitch & Boynton. He afterward located permanently at Clearfield, and has since become president of the First National Bank, having filled that office since the bank was incorporated, in 1864. Mr. Boynton married Mary Nevling, who bore him three children, viz.: Ai F., Edith, and Ira N.

     Frederick G. Betts came to the town about 1840, and officiated as pastor of the Presbyterian Church. He lived on the corner now owned by Judge Krebs. Of his sons, Lockwood was killed in the late war ; William W. became, and now is the partner of John F. Weaver, in the lumber business, and in 1886, was elected to the State Senate, representing this senatorial district. David, another son, lives at Charlestown, W. Va.

     John Beaumont was a blacksmith of the town, and had his shop where
 

 

 

 

Page 336

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.


William V. Wright's residence now stands, on the corner of Market and Third streets.


     William Bigler came to Clearfield town in 1833, and soon after started the newspaper called the Clearfield Democrat. In 1836 he married Maria Jane, daughter of Alexander B. Reed, by whom he had five children, viz. : Reed, John W., William D., Edmund A., and Harry F. In 1842 Mr. Bigler was elected to the State Senate, and re-elected in 1844. In 1848 he was a candidate for the nomination in the State convention for the office of governor, but was not successful. The succeeding term, 1851, he was again a candidate, and elected. He was again a candidate in 1854, but defeated. After his term of office expired he was made president of the Philadelphia and Erie Railroad Company, which position he held one year, when he was elected to the United States Senate and served until 1861. In connection with the Centennial Exhibition at Philadelphia, in 1876, he occupied a prominent position. From the time of his coming to the county until the time of his death, William Bigler was a prominent figure in social and political life. He engaged extensively in lumbering, and acquired considerable real estate. He died in September, 1880.

     Among the early settlers there was one who, although he never attained any degree of distinction above his fellow men, will readily be called to mind as one of the characters of the town. This was A. T. Bradley. He came here from Philadelphia. For several years his son, William T. Bradley, kept the hotels where the Leonard House and the Allegheny House are respectively located. Bradley’s wife had no liking for town life, and induced her husband to move into the thickly wooded district about three miles from town. On all parade and review days, and during court time as well, Bradley was always on hand with his old covered wagon, drawn by an ox, selling ginger cakes and small beer to all whom it concerned, and especially to the indispensable small boys.

     George R. Barrett was a native of Curwensville, born March 31, 1815, where his boyhood days were spent. In 1831 he was apprenticed to John Bigler to learn the trade of a printer. In 1834 he went to Brookville, where he edited the Brookville Jeffersonian until 1835, and at the same time read law. In the latter year he moved to Lewisburg, where he was admitted to the bar of Union county in 1836. He came to Clearfield in 1836, and, in the succeeding year, was made deputy attorney-general for Clearfield and Jefferson counties. During the long years of service in public office, Judge Barrett always made his home in Clearfield after 1836. So much has been said of him and his professional life elsewhere in this work that further reference is unnecessary at this place. In 1834 he married Sarah, daughter of William Steedman, of Lewisburg, who bore him fifteen children, ten of whom grew to manhood and womanhood. They were Clarence L., Walter, Sophie, Fred,

 

 

 

 

Page 337

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.

 

Frank, Alice, Charlie, Fanny, Annie, and George, all of whom, except Fanny and Annie, still live.  Colonel Walter Barrett married Sophie, daughter of Rev. Alexander MacLeod.

     Henry B. Beisell, was a local tinsmith of the town, and had his shop at one time on Front street, near where James Alexander afterward lived. Beisell was captain of one of the old militia companies of the place, and prominently identified with musical organizations. He left the town many years ago, and died recently at Beaver Falls.

     Isaac Lewis Barrett, was one of the sons of Daniel Barrett, and brother of Judge George R. Barrett. He resided and made his home with his brother, and was interested in the store on Cherry street with George R. Barrett and Mr. Kratzer. He was at one time nominated for sheriff on the Democratic ticket, but owing to disaffection on the part of many Democrats, they joined with the Whigs in the support of William Powell, who was subsequently elected. Mr. Barrett subsequently went to Philadelphia and kept a hotel there, but is now a resident of Lock Haven.

     Henry S. Bamford will be remembered as a potter of the town at an early day. His shop was on Cherry street, east of Third street, now the property of James L. Leavy.

     Lewis C. Cardon came to the town about 1823. He was a Frenchman by birth and parentage, and emigrated to this country at an early day. He walked from Baltimore to Clearfield, where he lived and died. William Clement Cardon, son of Lewis, became owner of the Mansion House in 1876, and managed it about seven years, and still owns it, although now leased to his brothers, Frederick M. and Charles F. Cardon.

     John L. Cuttle, by birth an Englishman, came to Clearfield in 1839. From that time he has been prominently identified with the affairs of the town and county. He was a justice of the peace in 1845, and county surveyor in 1853, holding the latter office two terms. In 1859 he was elected prothonotary, and in 1882, associate judge of the county. He formerly lived on Market street, adjoining Kratzer’s store, on the place where Captain Gaulin’s store now stands. His, present residence is on Reed street, between Second and Third streets.

     Francis Dunlap, another of the early residents of the town, worked for many years at the “red mill.” He lived in the old toll-house at the east end of the Market street bridge. Mr. Dunlap died about 1846, after which his widow moved to Nebraska.

     Joseph Gaylor was proprietor of a drug store that stood on the lot now occupied by Dr. A. P. Hill’s residence. Gaylor was an unmarried man, and soon after 1845 went west.

     John Flegal, son of the pioneer Valentine Flegal, and father of Lever Flegal, of Lawrence township, lived in town at an early day. He had several occupations-local preacher, hotel keeper, and blacksmith, About 1845 he run the Mansion House and worked at the blacksmith trade at the same time.

 

 

 

 

Page 338

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.

 

     Michael Frank was a tailor, and had a shop on the front part of Dr. Hill's lot.  He was appointed postmaster to succeed Charles A. Watson, and was, in turn, succeeded by Captain Peter A. Gaulin in 1866.  After leaving the town, Frank went to Nebraska.

     Isaiah Fullerton was one of the early settlers, and lived on the lot between the residences of William M. and Arnold B. Shaw, on Front street. Fullerton, with Hugh Leavy, built the Market street bridge.

     Thomas Hemphill was one of the worthies and political leaders of his time. In 1822 he kept the hotel on Market street, and was appointed postmaster the first in the town. His son, William J. Hemphill, became a member of the Legislature. Constance C. Hemphill, another son, succeeded to the hotel business after his father, and he, too, was a prominent figure in local politics. John, the third son, was a printer.

     Esther Haney moved into town and lived on Market street, east of Third. She was the widow of Frederick Haney, one of the earliest pioneers of the county, and the builder of the first ark run down the river, but which “ stove ” at Rocky Bend. The correct surname of the family was “ Hanich,” but by usage and common consent the name was changed to Haney.

     Frederick P. Hurxthal was one of the prominent men of the town. He kept store on the corner where George L. Reed now lives, for many years. He built Irvin’s mill at Lick Run, founded the hamlet afterward called Woodland, and otherwise contributed to the welfare of the county. Mr. Hurxthal now lives in West Virginia.

     On the corner of Front and Market streets Ellis Irwin built a store and dwelling, which he occupied for many years. The building was subsequently remodeled, and is now occupied by Joseph Shaw as a residence. Irwin became a popular man in the county. He succeeded to the office of prothonotary after Joseph Boone, and still later was sheriff of the county. This store building was erected prior to 1840, and was one of the best in the town.

     Alexander Irvin had a residence on Market street, just east of Ellis Irwin’s storehouse. He is well remembered by all the older residents of the county. He was the first congressman ever elected from the county. and in this connection made a remarkable “run ” as a candidate of the Whig party, which party he organized and was its acknowledged leader in the county. His election to Congress occurred in the year 1847. He held various offices of trust in the county. At one time he was elected State senator, and at another time was prothonotary of the county.


     Jacob Jackson (colored) was one of the early-day characters of the town. He lived with his family on Locust street, east of Third. Jacob never displayed any great ambition for manual labor, and his wife, “Aunt Liddie,” as she was commonly called, was the mainstay of the family, supporting them by “ taking in ” washing from such of the town’s folk as could afford this extrava-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page 339

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.
 

gance.  The Jacksons were one of the earliest families in the county, having settled in the vicinity known as "Guinea Hill" soon after the year 1800.


      William Jones was a shoemaker and brick-maker, and lived on Market street, east of Third, where his shoe-shop was located. His brick-yard was south of the Shirk tannery. Jones died in Clearfield a few years ago. His son, Joseph H. Jones, also carried on the business of shoemaking, and also lived on Market street.

     Christopher Kratzer came to the county soon after 1824. He was a cabinet-maker by trade, and took up his residence at the corner of Front and Cherry streets, and still lives there. Mr. Kratzer, during his many years of life in the town, has been identified with much of its progress. He founded the first newspaper in the county, in 1827 ; has engaged extensively in lumbering and other branches of trade; was twice made county treasurer, and otherwise prominently before the people for over a half-century. His son, Harry A. Kratzer, is now one of the leading merchants of the borough, having a place of business on Market street.

     George D. Lenich came from Virginia and settled in the town about the year 1920. He built the old Western Hotel on the corner of Second and Market streets, and managed it many years. He died about twenty years ago.

     John Lytle was one of the family of George Lytle, a pioneer of the “upper country ” in the vicinity of Lumber City, and came to Clearfield town about 1840. He lived on Cherry street, back of St. Andrew’s Church. John G., William J., and James H. Lytle were sons of John Lytle. The firm of Lytle Brothers is composed of John G. and James H. Lytle, doing a grocery business on Market street.

     James T. Leonard was a son of Abraham Leonard, and was born in the year 1800. His business life in town commenced in 1839, when he formed a partnership with William L. Moore, and carried on business on the site now occupied by Colonel Barrett’s law office. He married Amanda Lenich. In political life Mr. Leonard was a conspicuous figure for many years. During his residence in Bradford township he was constable. He was county treasurer, prothonotary, and associate judge at various intervals during his residence in town, and at the time of his death, in July, 1882, president of the County National Bank. In 1887, during the strife between the rafters and floaters on the river, Mr. Leonard ran as an independent candidate for the Legislature, but was defeated. The Leonard Graded School was founded by him, and he contributed largely to its erection. It was so named in his honor.

     Andrew Leonard, brother of Judge Leonard, was another old and well known resident of the town. He was interested in the firm of Leonard & Moore.

     Dr. Henry Loraine was one of the leading physicians of the town in early

 

 

 

 

Page 340

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.



days. He came here from Philipsburg. In 1836 he lived on the site of G. L. Reed’s residence, at the corner of Front and Market streets. Later he resided on the location of Eli Bloom’s house on Market street, near Third. Concerning Dr. Loraine further reference will be found in the medical chapter of this work.

     David Leitz lived and had a small shop where Senator Betts’s residence now stands, on the corner of Second and Locust streets. Leitz bought the foundry and machine shop property on the hill where the Leonard Graded School now stands, in 1849. Here he made stoves, plows, and did machine work and light castings for several years. The business proved unsuccessful, and was sold. Judge Leonard became the owner. Leitz moved out to Bradford township, where he died in 1886.

     Hugh Leavy came from New York about the time the Catholic Church was built. He was a bricklayer by trade, and was employed on the church edifice. He married Sarah Wrigley, by whom he had several children. Of these, James L. and Augustus B. Leavy only survive. James L. Leavy is an extensive lumberman, and one of the firm of Leavy, Mitchell & Co. He is proprietor of a livery stable at Clearfield, and runs stage lines between Clearfield and Du Bois, and Curwensville and Du Bois. He has also a business as undertaker and funeral director. Augustus Leavy lives up the river, in the county.

     Charles Miller, the chairmaker of early days, had a shop and residence on Locust street. He left the town and moved to Clarion county.
 

     John Moore was a gunsmith living on Cherry street on the lot now occupied by C. Whitehill. His shop was at the same place.

     John McPherson was born in Centre county, and came to this county when a young man. He lived at Luthersburg, Brady township, working in a small tannery at that place. Soon after 1830 he came to the neighborhood of Clearfield town, and in 1835, or about that time, built a tannery on a piece of land south of the town, which has been included in the borough by the extension of its limits. He operated the business until his death in 1864, after which his sons Reuben and James L. succeeded. They managed it about a year, and then leased to Shirk Brothers, who ran it six or seven years in connection with their tannery at Clearfield borough. Some parts of the old building are still standing, but have not been operated for many years. The children of John McPherson, by his marriage with Margaret Bloom, were : Louisa, who married Henry Snyder, Thomas, Benjamin B., who was killed in the army, James L., Reuben, now superintendent of Wallaceton Brick Works, William R., superintendent of the Clearfield tannery, and formerly sheriff of the county, John H., Miles, and Clark. After the death of his wife Margaret, John McPherson married Sarah Cary, who bore him one child.

     William Merrill came to the town soon after 1825. He was a carpenter by trade, but became proprietor of a hotel north of the Collins Hotel, on Second
 

 

 

 

Page 341

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.
 

street, on the site now occupied by the Masonic building.  The hotel was built by Collins.  Merrill died in the borough about twenty-five years ago.


     William M. McCullough first came to Clearfield county in 1840, and located near New Washington, as a minister of the Methodist Protestant Church, From there he lived in various places in the county, performing clerical work, and engaging somewhat in lumbering, and finally took up a permanent residence in Clearfield borough. He married, in Chester county, Jane Smith, by whom he had seven children, viz. : Mary Ann, Thomas, a lawyer, who died in 1885 ; Jane, Levis K., justice of the borough ; Zara C., who died from wounds received in the army ; William K., one of the leading lawyers, and former district attorney of the county, but now deceased, and James M., a justice of West Clearfield borough.

     John McGaughey was born near Dayton, Armstrong county, in the year 1827. In 1844 he came to this county to work in McPherson’s tannery. His coming induced others of the family to locate here some years later. John McGaughey married Caroline Wrigley, daughter of James Wrigley. For twelve years he engaged in mercantile business at Clearfield.

     David McGaughey, brother of John, came to the county some few years later. He entered the army with the Fifth Pennsylvania Reserves ; was made captain and was severely wounded at Spottsylvania. On returning from the service he engaged in business as a photographer. In 1874 he was elected to the office of county treasurer over J. Blake Walters, the Democratic nominee. He subsequently engaged in lumbering operations, which he has since successfully followed. Captain McGaughey was one of the firm of Lee, Ramey & Co., and Leavy, Mitchell Sr Co. At present he is one of the Clearfield Lumber
Company.

     William McClellan, one of the old residents of the town, lived on the lower end of Senator Wallace’s lot. He was a laborer, and was quite an old man when he came here. His descendants still live in the borough.

     James M. Marshall came to the county and worked on Reed’s Mill in 1850. He came from Armstrong county. In 1876 he bought the brickyard property in the upper part of the borough, from M. B. Cowdrick, and has since manufactured brick. His lands comprise about ten acres. Mr. Marshall married Elizabeth, daughter of George Welch, a pioneer of the county.

     William L. Moore, a native of Centre county, located in Clearfield about the year 1830, and became a leader of one of the political factions of the Democratic party, and for a time edited the Pioneer and Banner. He also engaged in mercantile business, in company with Mr. Leonard, under the firm style of Leonard & Moore. He married Hannah Leonard, daughter of Abraham Leonard, by whom he had seven children, viz. : Burnside, Agnes, who married Thomas J. McCullough; Abraham L., James A., merchant at Clearfield, and county coroner ; Martha C., who married J. S. Showers, of West Clearfield ;

(44)

 

 

 

 

Page 342

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

Catharine F., and Mary W., who became the wife of Thaddeus H. Shaw.  William L. Moore was elected to the office of associate judge of the county. He was the second postmaster of the town.

     John McLaughlin was born in the county Donegal, Ireland, and came to this country in 1825, and to the county in 1832, where he settled on the ridges south of the town. In his family were ten children. James McLaughlin, son of the pioneer, became proprietor of the Smith House in 1872, but made extensive alterations and changed the name to the St. Charles.
John McLaughlin came to reside in the borough in 1881. His age is eighty-seven, his wife eighty-five years.

     Thomas Mills first came to Clearfield in the year 1847. He had a wagon shop on the lot now occupied by Senator Wallace’s residence, but in the next year moved to his present location on Third street. Mr. Mills married Lydia Shank, by whom he had four children. His wife died in 1856. William H. Mulhollan, son-in-law of Thomas Mills, has an interest in the firm of Bigler,
Reed & Co.

William Powell has been prominently before the people of the county for many years. He is of Welsh descent, and a son of David Powell, of Lawrence township. For many years he was the partner of Governor Bigler in the lumber business. In 1852 he was a candidate for election to the office of sheriff against Isaac L. Barrett, and was elected, owing to a bolt from the Democratic
ranks. Mr. Powell has engaged in mercantile trade extensively, but is now retired from active business life.

     John Radebaugh, a Dutchman from Lebanon county, came here at an early day. He was a laborer. After leaving the town he went to Penfield to reside.

     William Radebaugh lived at the corner of Third and Market streets. He was a tailor by occupation, and had a shop in Shaw’s Row. His partner was Robert F. Ward. Radebaugh was postmaster of the town during Taylor’s administration.

     Alexander B. Reed settled on the ridges in 1811. He moved into town in 1825, and occupied lands purchased from Abraham Witmer, on the river east of Pine street. Mr. Reed married Rachel, daughter of Alexander Read, by whom he had six children, viz. : Maria Jane, who married William Bigler; Henrietta Ann, Read A., George Latimer, of Clearfield; William Milton, and Rebecca, who became the wife of John F. Weaver. Alexander B. Reed was a land agent, and by honesty, industry, and economy accumulated considerable property. He died in 1853.

     Andrew Shugart was a wagon-maker by trade, but devoted most of his time to general labor. He lived on Locust street, east of Third street. Henry Stone will be remembered as the “ Yankee from Massachusetts,” who drove stage on the Erie “ pike,” and possessed every one of the charac-
 

 

 

 

Page 343

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.


teristics of "Down-easters."  He came to town about the year 1832, and was afterward "jailor."  Prior to coming to Clearfield, Stone had driven stage on the pike between Philadelphia and Reading.

     Josiah W. Smith, the pioneer lawyer of Clearfield county, was a native of Philadelphia, and came to this county about 1822 with his brother. He became, in 1825, a member of the ClearfieId county bar, and practiced for many years, making a specialty of land cases. In December, 1825, he was appointed deputy attorney-general for Clearfield county, which office he filled some years. In 1856 he retired from practice and moved to his native city, only to return again to this place after a few years. He died in March, 1882.

     Lewis W. Smith, brother of Josiah, has a history much like that of his brother. He, too, entered the legal profession, but not until after Josiah, in whose office he read law. Lewis W. Smith died in the year 1847. Concerning Josiah and Lewis W. Smith, information will be found in the chapter on the bench and bar of Clearfield county.

     Isaac Southard, like Samuel Collins, came to the town to build the first court- house. Southard must have come here about 1813. He was formerly a resident of Lycoming county. He married here to one of the Shirely family, and made Clearfield his home.

     David Sacketts came from Centre county about 1840. He was a cabinet-maker by trade, and built a shop near where George B. Goodlander now resides on Front street. He afterward lived on the old “jail lot ” on Locust street, which is now occupied by his family.

     Isaac Schofield, son of Elisha Schofield, the pioneer, moved into town and occupied a house below and near Weaver’s store, on Second street. Isaac was a general laborer.

     Mordecai Shirk came from Milesburg about the year 1835. He owned the tannery that was built on the academy lots by Orris Hoyt, and operated it until a few years ago. The business proved unsuccessful, and Mr. Shirk lost his property. Business misfortunes produced insanity, and he was placed in an asylum for insane persons, where he died about two years ago.

     John Shugart came from Centre county. He was a wagon-maker by occupation, and lived at the corner of Third and Locust streets, now the residence of Mr. Snyder, the jeweler. James Thompson lived on Market street west of Fourth. He was a former resident of Philipsburg and came here about 1824. He left a large family, among whom was Dr. H. P. Thompson. The elder Thompson and Dr. Loraine married sisters.

     James Wrigley was a son of Robert Wrigley, one of the early settlers of the county. James came to reside in the town many years ago and made his home on the place now occupied by him at the corner of Second and Cherry streets. He was a carpenter by trade. Mr. Wrigley is considered a standard authority on all events occurring within the last sixty years.

 

 

 

 

Page 344

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

     William C. Welch was another descendant from pioneer stock, a son of George Welch, of the "upper country" of the county.  William C. was prothonatary in 1846, and died during the term of his office.  He lived on Market street.

     Robert Wallace emigrated to this country from Ireland in 1819, and came to Clearfield from Huntingdon county, in 1825. The next year he returned to Huntingdon, but frequently visited this town as a lawyer, until 1836, when he returned here with his family and became a permanent resident during his life, except a few years in Holidaysburg. He retired from active practice in
1847.


     The Wallace family from the pioneer descended have taken a prominent part in the affairs of the county, and each generation has produced lawyers. William A. and Robert A. Wallace, sons of Robert, the senior, were lawyers. Harry F. and William E. sons of William A., and grandsons of Robert senior, are also lawyers. Robert Wallace died at Wallaceton, Clearfield county, January 2, 1875.


     James B. Graham was a descendant of one of the pioneer families of the county, but did not locate in Clearfield until 1852. Here he acquired an enviable position and reputation among his fellow townsmen and became identified with the most substantial business interests of the place. He was chosen cashier of the Clearfield County Bank, and after five years’ service in that position, was elected vice-president of the institution, which office he filled up to the time of his death. Mr. Graham married Elizabeth A., daughter of William Alexander, by whom he had five children. The Graham residence was located
on the corner of Market and Second streets. Charles D. Watson came to the town from Northumberland county about the year 1840. He kept a drug store in what is now the Masonic building on Second street. Watson was appointed postmaster to succeed John H. Hillburn, and was in turn succeeded by Michael A. Frank. He moved to Utahville, in the upper end of the county, where he died.
 

     Robert F. Ward was a tailor, in partnership with Radebaugh. He lived on Locust street, east of Second. Robert F. Ward, jr., son of Robert F. sen., was at one time connected with the Clearfield Republican, being associated with Maj. J. Harvey Larrimer.
 

     Richard Mossop came from Philadelphia about 1840. He was by trade a shoemaker. About the year 1850 he engaged in mercantile business and has been in trade ever since. His place of business was formerly on Second street, but now occupies more convenient quarters on Market street west of Second. William F. Irwin, son of John Irwin, who came from Milesburg. He was interested in business with his brother, Ellis Irwin, on Market street. William F. married Susan Antes, daughter of John Antes.
 

     Isaac G. Gordon, non-justice of the Supreme Court of the State, came here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page 345

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.


as a young man and became associated with Judge Barrett in a law partnership. He afterward went to Brookville, Jefferson county, where he now resides.

     Isaac Johnson was a plasterer by trade, and located in Clearfield about 1840. He married Sarah Woolridge. He now lives at the corner of Cherry and Second streets and is engaged in the boot and shoe business.

     John F. Weaver, at the time of his coming to the county, about 1845, was assessed for one gold watch. He was admitted to the bar of the county and soon after appointed deputy attorney-general for the county. He left the profession, however, to engage in lumbering, which he has ever since followed, having been associated with some of the leading lumbering firms of the county. At the present time he is a member of the ,firm of Weaver & Betts. Mr. Weaver married Rebecca, daughter of Alexander B. Reed.

     Dr. William P. Hill located here soon after 1840, and was for about ten years a practicing physician. He left for Illinois about 1850, and subsequently went to Montana, where he died a year or two ago.

     Ashley M. Hill, brother of Dr. Hill, came to town a short time after his brother, and carried on business as a dentist. He will be remembered as a teacher of geography by singing, which greatly amused as well as instructed the young people. Dr. Ashley Hill still resides in Clearfield at the corner of Market and Front streets. He married Jane Shaw, daughter of Richard Shaw.

     Eli Bloom was born in Pike township, May 7, 1828, and came to Clearfield in 1874, to assume the duties of the office of prothonotary of the county, to which he was elected in the fall of that year. He purchased from Judge Foley the residence on Market street west of Third street, where he has since resided.

    William Porter was born in County Tyrone, Ireland, April 3, 1807, and emigrated to America in 1829, and to Clearfield county in 1833, locating at Clearfield bridge, where he worked in a saw-mill. In 1844 he came to town and taught in the old academy, but did not make this his permanent residence until 1850.

     Richard Shaw, son of Archibald Shaw, a pioneer of the Mt. Joy ridges, moved to Bradford township in the year 1815. He married Mary Irvin, daughter of Henry Irvin. Their children were, Joseph, of Clearfield ; Jane, who married Ashley P. Hill ; Mary E., who married Andrew Leonard, and after his death, John I. Patterson ; Moses and Aaron (twins who died during childhood) ; Archibald H., Margaret Ann, who became the wife of William A. Wallace ; Arnold Bishop, William Milton and Elizabeth. In 1822 Richard Shaw moved to and occupied a tract of land lying on the west side of the river, opposite Clearfield town. He had considerable property in the town that with increasing population, became very valuable. The Mansion House was built by him, and Shaw's row of frame buildings, west of the Mansion House,

 

 

 

 

Page 346

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

were also built by him, not at one time however, but as occasion required.  Mr. Shaw died in the year 1876, aged eighty-five years.

     Peter A. Gaulin, one of four children, sons and daughters of Francis Augustin Gaulin, was born in France, and came to this country in 1832, locating in Centre county. About the year 1848 the family moved to Karthaus township, this county. Peter A. Gaulin enlisted in Co. G, 51st Pennsylvania Vol. Inf. as a private, but by several promotions for meritorious service, was raised to the rank of captain. He came to Clearfield borough in 1865. The succeeding year he was appointed postmaster and held the office sixteen years. In 1871 he built the business block he now occupies.

     Richard H. Shaw, son of John Shaw, was born on a farm about two and one-half miles from town, in the year 1833. In 1861 he enlisted in the 84th Pennsylvania Vol. Inf. and served three years with that regiment. Since returning from the service he engaged in mercantile business at Houtzdale and this place, and retired in 1886. Since the year 1867, he has made his residence in Clearfield borough. Richard H. Shaw married Sarah J. Milligan, by whom he has one child.

     Matthew S. Ogden, son of Matthew Ogden, and grandson of Daniel Ogden, the pioneer, was born in Lawrence township. Of the children of Matthew he was the twelfth, there being five younger than Matthew S. He married Mary Jane, daughter of Isaac Graham, a pioneer of Bradford township. In 1846, Mr. Ogden moved to the Ogden homestead farm which has been taken
into the borough by an extension of its limits.

     John Mitchell, a native of Ireland, came to America in 1819. He spent some years in various localities and located at Philipsburg in 1824. In the year I 830 he moved to this county and settled about two and one-half miles south of Clearfield town on the ridges. His children were William, John, James, Robert, Samuel, Allen and Jane. Of these only Robert and Allen are now living. The Mitchell families of Clearfield are descendants from John Mitchell, the pioneer.

     George W. Gearhart was born in Centre county and was the second of eight children born to Adam and Susanna Gearhart. Adam lived in Clearfield county from 1831 to 1878. He was located during that time in Bradford township. George W. came to Clearfield borough in 1862, and started in the livery business three years later. In the year 1859, he married Ellen M., daughter of William Merrell. Mr. Gearheart has recently established a stage line between Clearfield and Du Bois.

     Clark Brown was born in Lancaster county, January 6, 1822. He came to Lawrence township with the family of his father, Andrew Brown, in 1839, and settled on the ridges, south of the county seat. Clark Brown was elected county auditor in 1868, and in the fall of 1873, he was elected county commissioner. He is now serving his third term of office, having been twice re-elected. He came to the borough in 1885.

 

 

 

 

Page 347
BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.

     George Thorn was born at Clearfield Bridge in the year 1822, and was the second of five children of James I. Thorn.  In 1840 George came to Clearfield town and engaged as a carpenter and subsequently as a contracting builder.  In 1860-1 he built the court-house, and in 1870-1-2 the county jail.  He married, in 1845, Elizabeth Lawhead, daughter of Nathan Lawhead, who bore him ten children, seven boys and three girls.  At present Mr. Thorn is superintendent of the Clearfield Cemetery Company.


     Henry Boardman Smith was born in Susquehanna county, Pa., in 1810. He married Laura M. Gibbs, of Springfield, Mass., by whom he had five children, viz.: Henrietta B., who married Richard Shaw, jr.; Nannie, who married John H. Fulford, a lawyer of Clearfield ; Carrie J., who married Dr. W. W. Shaw ; Laura, who married W. A. Christ, and Julia A., who became the wife of James Kerr. Mr. Smith moved to Clearfield in 1846. He was an active member of the Presbyterian Church, holding the office of elder and superintendent of the Sunday-school. He was a lumberman on Clearfield Creek.

     Henry Snyder, a native of Union, now Snyder county, came to Clearfield in 1850, and worked on Reed’s mill. In 1855 he started in trade, carrying on carriage blacksmithing. He married Louisa, daughter of John McPherson, by whom he had five children-John F., an attorney of the borough being the eldest child.

     Of the other old residents of the town a mention may be made of the following: Samuel Fleming was a carpenter by trade. David Johnson was landlord of the Mansion House for a time. William Morgan, a laborer, lived on the site now of A. B. Shaw’s residence. James McIntosh was a plasterer, and afterward went to Iowa. George Newson, the painter, lived where Powell’s hardware store now stands. Christian Pottarf, a cabinet-maker, lived where James Leavy’s residence stands. He went West. Thomas Robbins was a cooper. He still lives in town on Read street. Robert Shirk was a shoemaker. He stayed here but a short time. Nicholas Shoenig, a shoemaker, lived on Front street, near where A. B. Shaw’s residence now stands. Augustus Schnell was a tailor and lived in the town but a short time. Montgomery Williams was a journeyman carpenter. He went to the army and was killed. David Allison was a millwright and stage driver. James Hollenbeck was a local blacksmith, but remained here only a short time. George Richards was a tailor. James C. Williarns kept a store a short time on what is now Dr. Hill’s lot. He returned to Centre county. Emery C. Read, the present county surveyor, was born in Lawrence township. He is a son of Amos Read, and a grandson of Alexander Read, the pioneer, commonly known as " Red Alex.” Emery C. Read moved to town in 1870. He was first elected surveyor for the county in 1883, and re-elected in 1886.

 

     Incorporation of the Borough and Subsequent Additions. - Clearfield borough was incorporated under and by virtue of an act of the State Legislature,
 

 

 

 

Page 348

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.

 

passed and approved on the 21st day of April, in the year 1840, under the name and title, "The Borough of Clearfield," the extend and boundaries of which were declared by the act as follows: Beginning at a point on the Susquehanna River about sixty feet south of Walnut street, thence by a line east until it strikes the west line of Hugh Leavy's out lot, so as to included the houses and lots now (1840) occupied by Dr. H. Loraine and Joan Powell; thence north along said lot of Hugh Leavy until it again strikes Walnut street; thence east along the southern edge of Walnut street to Fourth street; thence north along the eastern edge of Pine street to the Susquehanna River, and along said river by its several courses to the place of beginning, to include the town of Clearfield as at first laid out, according to the plan thereof, and the two lots south of said town occupied by Dr. H. Loraine and Joan Powell, as above described.  The same act made further proposition that the qualified electors are authorized to elect one justice of the peace for the said borough, at the time and place of holding the general election for said borough.

     It appears that the Legislature made no provision for the first election of officers for the borough other than mentioned last above, whereupon a petition was presented to the Court of Quarter Sessions at the November term of that year, asking the court to fix a day for such election. Upon this petition the first Monday of January, 1841, was designated by the court for the election of borough officers.

     The first extension of the limits of the borough was made by an act of the Legislature, passed and approved the 13th day of February, 1844, by which the original limits were greatly enlarged. The description of the boundary lines by the act, are as follows : Beginning at the southwest corner of the borough on the Susquehanna River, thence along said river to line of land of Matthew Ogden; thence along the line of Ogden’s land to the southeast corner, at lot number seven ; thence northwardly along the eastern line of out-lots numbers nine, ten, eleven, twelve, and thirteen, to the northeast corner of lot number fourteen ; thence along the line of land surveyed in the name of Charles Smith, to the river; thence along the river to the southwest corner of the borough, be and the same is hereby erected into a separate election district ; and the qualified voters of said district shall hereafter hold their general and borough elections at the court-house in said borough.

     A further act passed and approved May 8, 1844, provides that the qualified electors shall elect a burgess and town council, and other borough officers, at the same time that township elections are held ; and further, that the qualified electors shall meet at the usual place on the last Friday of May, between the hours of two and six o’clock P. M., and elect one assessor and election officers for the year 1844. There seems to be in the act of February 13, 1844, an ambiguous statement. The act itself describes the boundaries of the
 

 

 

 

Page 349

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.
 

borough, as extended, but does not, in any manner, declare it to be a part of the borough, or declare the borough limits to be extended to the limits described, but declares the same to be a separate election district, although the evident intent of the act was to enlarge the borough limits, and this intent has always been acted upon, and the borough limits always considered as extended as by the act described.

     The next extension of the borough limits was made in the year 1868, by an ordinance of the council upon the petition of twenty-seven freeholders of that part of Lawrence township lying south of the borough. The petition was presented at a meeting held on the 9th of March, 1868, and an ordinance ordered to be prepared. The subject was made a special order of business after one postponement, and adopted at a meeting held April 7, 1868, the vote standing three for, and one against its adoption. The boundaries of this extension, which has always been known as “ Reed’s addition,” were as follows: Beginning at the southwest corner of the borough on the bank of the Susquehanna River, thence along the southern line of the old borough south forty-six degrees east, eighty-two perches along the line of land of Sarah Jane Ogden to corner of land of A. K. Wright ; thence along line between land of Sarah Jane Ogden and A. K. Wright, south fifty-one degrees west, one hundred and six perches to the line of land of G. L. Reed ; thence along line of land between G. L. Reed and A. K. Wright south thirty degrees east, one hundred and eighteen perches ; thence south eighty-nine degrees west, two hundred and twenty-one perches ; thence north seven degrees west, two hundred and fifteen perches to the eastern bank of the Susquehanna River ; thence down the eastern bank of the said river the several courses thereof, to line of old borough and place of beginning ; which said land is taken as a part of said borough of Clearfield.

     No further change or extension of the borough was made until the year 1885, when a petition was presented to the Court of Quarter Sessions at a term thereof held in the month of February, that year, asking for the annexation; of certain lots adjoining the borough on the north. The matter was referred to the grand jury for examination and report, which was by them favorably considered and determined. On the 13th of February their report was confirmed and the addition duly made. This extension included the tannery property of about twenty acres, besides all lands intervening lying north of Bridge street.

     These several additions to the original town, as laid out and plotted by Abraham Witmer in the year 1804, embrace that which constitutes the borough of Clearfield at the present time. Its territory has by such several extensions, been increased several fold, and from a regularly formed, compact body of land it has assumed an almost indescribable form, reaching out irregularly to suit the convenience of the localities sought to be included by its limits, and as much

(45)

 

 

 

 

Page 350

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

as possible to acquire a greater population without regard to symmetry to any noticeable extent.

     Up to 1860 the affairs of the borough were administered by a burgess and five councilmen, but by an act of the Legislature, passed February 14, of that year, provision was made for the election of six members of the borough council, two to serve three years, two to serve two years, and two to serve one year, and annually thereafter it was provided that two should be elected to serve for a term of three years.

     The first election of borough officers was held at the prothonotary’s office on Monday, January 4, 1841, at which the following officers were elected: Burgess, Dr. Henry Loraine; town council, William Bigler, James Alexander, William Merrill, George R. Barrett, and Robert Wallace; town constable, Joseph Schnell ; overseers of the poor, Thomas Hemphill and Alexander
Irvin.

     The first meeting of the town council was held January 21, 1841, at which the burgess and councilmen were “sworn into office,” as required by law.

     After being organized a resolution was adopted as follows : Resolved, That Robert Wallace be appointed clerk for the current year, at a compensation of five dollars.

     The next meeting was held pursuant to adjournment, Friday, February 5, at early candle light, at the office of Robert Wallace. The following officers were elected by ballot: Street commissioners, John R. Bloom and William Irvin ; treasurer, Thomas Hemphill ; collector, Josiah W. Smith.

     Civil List of Clearfield Borough.-1842. Burgess, Dr. Henry Lorain; council, George B. Dale, James Thompson, William L. Moore, Lewis W. Smith, Robert Wallace ; clerk, Robert Wallace ; treasurer, James T. Leonard.

     1843. Burgess, Dr. Henry Lorain ; council, William L. Moore, Robert Wallace, Josiah W. Smith, George B. Dale, Constance C. Hemphill ; clerk, Robert Wallace ; treasurer, Henry S. Bamford.

     1844. Burgess, Josiah W. Smith ; council, Robert Wallace, James T. Leonard, Ellis Irwin, Samuel Elliott, Christian Pottarf; clerk, Robert Wallace ; treasurer, Hugh Leavy.

     1845. Burgess, William Merrill ; council, C. Kratzer, Robert Wallace, Isaac G. Gordon, Isaac Southard, Robert F. Ward ; clerk, Robert Wallace ; treasurer, William Powell.
 

     1846. Burgess, Josiah W. Smith ; council, James Wrigley, David Litz, James McIntosh, William Jones, Robert Wallace ; clerk, Robert Wallace; treasurer, Ellis Irwin.

     1847. For the office of burgess James T. Leonard and Ellis Irwin had an equal number of votes, whereupon a new election was ordered (both former candidates having refused to serve), and Henry S. Bamford was elected. Council, Henry B. Beisall, George Newson, William Powell, Hugh Leavy, Josiah W. Smith ; clerk, Josiah W. Smith ; treasurer, William Welch.

 

 

 

 

Page 351

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.
 

     1848. Burgess, William C. Welch; council, Isaac Southard, William Radebaugh, Richard Mossop, Charles Miller, D. W. Moore; clerk, D. W. Moore; treasurer, H. P. Thompson.


     1849. Burgess, John L. Cuttle ; council, W. L. Moore, G. R. Barrett, David Sackett, John Boynton, James Alexander ; clerk, Jonathan Boynton ; treasurer, Charles D. Watson.

     1850. Burgess, James Wrigley ; council, William Merrill, J. W. Shugart, Thomas Mills, James Hollenbeck, W. A. Wallace ; clerk, W. A. Wallace ; treasurer, Charles D. Watson.

     1851. Burgess, William Powell; council, C. Kratzer, A. K. Wright, Richard Mossop, Thomas Mills, W. A. Wallace ; clerk, W. A. Wallace.

     1852. Burgess, D. W. Moore ; council, James Alexander, W. M. Dugan, George W. Orr, W. A. Wallace, Isaiah Fullerton ; clerk, W. A. Wallace ; treasurer, A. M. Hills.
 

     1853. Burgess, M. A. Frank ; council, John F. Weaver, David Sackett, Isaac Johnston, William Porter, A. K. Wright ; clerk, William ,Porter ; treasurer, James Wrigley.

     1854. Burgess, Christain Pottarf ; council, J. F. Weaver, Isaac Johnson, J. W. Shugart, A. M. Hills, William Powell ; clerk, William Porter.
 

     1855. Burgess, William Irwin ; council, A. M. Hills, George W. Rheam, C. Pottarf, H. B. Smith, W. M. Dugan ; clerk, William Porter; treasurer, A. H. Shaw.
 

     1856. Burgess, George D. Lanich ; council, James Alexander, I. W. Baird, W. L Bradley, H. W. Park, W. A. Wallace ; clerk, W. A. Wallace.
 

     1857. Burgess, George D. Lanich ; council, W. F. Irwin, John Troutman, O. B. Merrill, W. A. Wallace, D. F. Etzwiler ; clerk, W. A. Wallace ; treasurer, William Porter.


     1858. Burgess, William Radebaugh ; council, W. L. Moore, W. H. Robertson, R. V. Wilson, Joseph Goon, Thomas Mills ; clerk, L. J. Krans ; treasurer, William Porter.

     1859. Burgess, Jonathan Boynton ; council, Robert Mitchell, Richard Mossop, J. C. Whitehill, George W. Rheem, Robert Wrigley ; clerk, L. J. Krans ; treasurer, James Wrigley.

     1860. Burgess, H. B. Swoope ; council, James Wrigley, Richard Mossop, T. J. McCullough, O. B. Merrill, George W. Rheem; clerk, L. J. Krans; treasurer, Robert Mitchell.


     1861. Burgess, Henry Stone; council, James B. Graham, William Porter, Francis Short, James L. Leavy, W. A. Wallace, James T. Leonard ; clerk, L. J. Krans ; treasurer, Robert Mitchell. Six councilmen were chosen in 1861, after which two were elected annually under the provisions of the act of 1860, the other four holding over.


     1862. Burgess, George Latimer Reed ; councilmen elected, J. C. Whitehill, John McPherson; clerk, John G. Hall.

 

 

 

 

Page 352
HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.


     1863. Burgess, George L. Reed ; councilmen, Thomas J. McCullough, Henry Parks ; clerk, John G. Hall ; treasurer, Charles D. Watson.
 

     1864. Burgess, A. M. Hills ; councilmen elected, W. W. Betts, Joseph Shaw ; clerks, J. G. Hall and W. D. Bigler.
 

     1865. Burgess, John W. Shugart ; councilmen, William Porter, D. F. Etzwiler ; clerk, W. D. Bigler ; treasurer, James Wrigley.
 

     1866. Burgess, James Wrigley ; councilmen, C. D. Watson, A. S. Goodrich ; clerk, W. D. Bigler ; treasurer, William Porter.
 

     1867. Burgess, W. W. Betts ; councilmen, L. R. Merrell, J. G: Barger ; clerk, L. G. Morgan ; treasurer, William Porter.
 

     1868. Burgess, W. W. Betts ; councilmen, J. Blake Walters, A. K. Wright, W. W. Shaw , clerk, L. J. Morgan ; treasurer, J. Blake Walters.
 

     1869. Burgess, James B. Graham ; councilmen, H. W. Smith, James L. Leavy ; clerk, A. W. Lee.
 

     1870. Burgess, Jonathan Boynton ; councilmen, David Connelly, Reuben McPherson ; clerk and treasurer, A. W. Lee.
 

     1871. Burgess, J. B. Walters; councilmen, W. C. Foley, J. P. Burchfield; clerk, A. W. Lee ; treasurer, H. W. Smith.
 

     1872. Burgess, G. L. Reed ; councilmen, W. C. Foley, A. I. Shaw, I. L. Reizenstein, John M. Adams, Walter Barrett, T. Dougherty; secretary and treasurer, A. W. Lee.

     1873. Burgess, A. C. Tate; councilmen, W. M. McCullough, Jacob A. Faust, W. R. McPherson; secretaries, A. W. Lee and Clayton C. Johnson.
 

     1874. Burgess, A. C. Tate ; council, J. F. Weaver, C. D. Goodfellow, L. R. Merrill, John McGaughey, J. G. Hartswick, George Thorn ; secretaries, John Howe and Cyrus Gordon.
 

     1875. Burgess, Israel Test ; councilmen, J. G. Hartswick, James Kerr, M. G. Brown ; secretary, Cyrus Gordon.
 

     1876. Burgess, A. F. Boynton ; councilmen, J. F. Weaver, George W. Rheem ; secretary, Cyrus Gordon.
 

     1877. Burgess, J. L. Leavy ; councilmen, Brown, Scheurer, Hartswick, Shaw ; secretary, Cyrus Gordon.
 

     1878. Burgess, James Wrigley ; councilmen, James McLaughlin, G. W. Rheem, George Thorn ; secretary, Cyrus Gordon.
 

     1879. Burgess, A. B. Shaw ; councilmen, Dr. T. J. Boyer, Dr. H. B. Van Valzah, Thomas Reilly; clerk, J. F. Powell.
 

     1880. Burgess, William Powell ; councilmen, Jonathan Boynton, W. M. Shaw, Frank B. Reed, S. B. Row ; clerk, J. F. Snyder.
 

     1881. Burgess, Samuel I. Snyder; councilmen, F. M. Cardon, E. W. Brown, Frank G. Harris ; clerk, J. F. Snyder.
 

     1882. Burgess, Eli Bloom ; councilmen, A. F. Boynton, H. T. King, George Weaver ; clerk, J. M. Bloom.
 

 

 

 

Page 353

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.


     1883. Burgess, E. A. Bigler ; councilmen, Frederick Sackett, M. G. Rook, F. G. Harris ; clerk, Frank G. Harris.
 

     1884. Burgess, R. H. Shaw ; councilmen, A. W. Lee, W. E. Wallace, P. A. Gaulin; clerk, Frank G. Harris.
 

     1885. Burgess, H. F. Bigler ; councilmen, Paul F. Weaver, Frank B. Reed, Frank G. Harris ; clerk, William V. Wright.
 

     1886. Burgess, H. F. Bigler ; councilmen, Warren Thorn, A. W. Lee, E. M. Schemer; clerk, Singleton Bell.
 

     The present officers of the borough are as follows : Burgess, H. F. Bigler ; members of council, A. W. Lee, Frank G. Harris, Frank B. Reed, Paul F. Weaver, Warren Thorn, and E. M. Scheurer; clerk of council, Singleton Bell ; justices of the peace, Levis K. McCullough, Cyrenius Howe ; high constable, W. Dorvitt ; constable, John F. Kramer ; assessor, Joseph Shaw ; judge of election, Harry F. Wallace ; inspectors of election, J. M. Bloom, A. H. Woodward ; overseers of the poor, W. J. Hoeffer, H. W. Park ; auditors, J. F. Snyder, W. A. Hagerty, Ed. Kauffman ; collector, William Tucker ; school directors, Henry Bridge, James L. Leavy, Oscar Mitchell, Henry Snyder, George L. Reed, Arnold B. Shaw ; street commissioner, James Behan.


BUSINESS BLOCKS, MERCANTILE INTERESTS, ETC.


     There are but few, if any, of the recognized branches of mercantile trade and business that are not, in some manner, represented in Clearfield ; in fact, there are evidences apparent to an observer that in many respects the trade is decidedly over-represented. Some truthful writer has well said that “ competition is the life of trade; ” yet, if carried to an extreme it is an equally well established fact that competition may be the death of trade. There are but few well appointed business blocks in Clearfield, and this may, in a great measure, be accounted for by reason of the fact that where the business is so widely scattered that the prudent merchants cannot afford a considerable investment of capital in store buildings ; nor can they afford to pay the increased rental values incident to the occupation of an expensive building. Notwithstanding this, there are some business blocks in the borough that would be a credit and an ornament to any place. A large majority of the buildings in the business center of the town are wooden structures that have been standing many years. Others are of more recent erection, and in keeping with the growth of the place, and a few are substantial brick blocks, calculated to stand good service for many years to come. Some of these it is proposed to mention.


     The Opera House Block is the most imposing business structure of the town. It is centrally located, on Market street, adjoining the court-house, and connected therewith by an iron bridge reaching from the second story across the alley. The block was built by Justin J. Pie about the year 1873-4. It

 

 

 

 

Page 354

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

has a front of ninety-seven feet and a depth of one hundred feet.  The upper floor is reached by a wide stairway leading from the street.  The opera-house, from which the building derives its name, is on the second floor in the rear, and has a seating capacity of about seven hundred and fifty.  The third floor is occupied as a printing-office of the Clearfield Republican and the

lodge-room of the O. U. A. M. The ground floor is used entirely for business purposes.  From Mr. Pie the ownership of the block passed to Messrs. A. W. Lee, James L. Leavy, E. A. Leavy, George M: Ferguson, John W. Wrigley, and Harry F. Wallace. Ferguson’s interest was recently sold to the others.
 

     The Masonic Building is the property of W. A. Wallace and the estate of William Bigler. It derives its name from the occupancy of the third floor by the Masonic order of the borough. The building was erected in 1871. The first floor is used in part as a clothing store and the Clearfield County Bank.

     Kratzer’s building was erected recently by Harry A. Kratzer, and is a two-story mansard-roofed structure, presenting an attractive appearance, on the south side of Market street. The lower floor is occupied by H. A. Kratzer & Co. as a dry goods, carpet, and boot and shoe store, in the east half, and by Lytle Brother, grocers, on the west.

     The store of P. A. Gaulin, the second east from Kratzer’s, was built in 1871. It is a plain but substantial brick building, three stories in height, occupied by the owner as a stationery and musical instrument store. Hills block, so called for its owner, Dr. Ashley P. Hills, was built about a quarter of a century ago. It was built by James B. Graham, but passed through other owners before coming to Dr. Hills. The ground floor is occupied for mercantile purposes, the second as the Raftsman’s Journal office, and the third by the Odd Fellows society. Mossop’s building, a two-story, double brick store, was built by Richard Mossop in the year 1885, and is entirely occupied on the ground floor by the owner as a general store. Powell’s brick building was erected in the year 1886, by William Powell, on Second street. The mercantile business of the place is well centered on two streets, Market between First and Third, and Second between Cherry and Locust, and may be classified with reference to the streets on which they are situate, rather than a classification of each special branch grouped together. Within these limits the chief business of the town is transacted by the merchants noted, whose business was established about the time indicated, some original, and others succeeding older houses.

     Market Street, South Side.-H. B. Fulford, successor to Clearfield Furniture Co., furniture ; Watson & Kennard, (1884), druggists ; Peter A. Gaulin, (1886), books, stationery and musical instruments ; Mrs. T. E. Watson, (1869), millinery ; H. A. Kratzer & Co., successors to H. A. Kratzer, (1882), dry goods, carpets, boots and shoes; Lytle Bros. (1875), grocers ; M. G. Rook (1876), clothing ; J. P. Staver (1856), grocer; Fred. Johnson and Bro. (1883), general hardware and tinsmiths ; Samuel I. Snyder (1870), jeweler ; Biddle &

 

 

 

 

Page 355

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.
 

Helmbold, (1882), fire, life and accident insurance; John Schafer, (1882), cigar manufacturer and dealer, capacity 160,000 per annum; A. J. Hagerty, (1884), dry goods, notions and millinery; W. R. Higgins, (1886), canned goods and confections; James N. Burchfield, (1886), jeweler; J. E. Hess, (1886), grocer; Richard Mossop, (1842), general merchandise.

     Market Street, North Side.-A. F. Martin, (1880), merchant tailor ; Frederick G. Miller, (1884), restaurater ; Albert Thanhauser, (1880), clothing and merchant tailor ; W. J. Hoeffer, (1878), general store; Shaw & Gaulin, tobacco and cigars, pool room ; Moore Bros. (1877), boots, shoes, hats, caps and furnishings ; Henry Bridge, (1864), merchant tailor ; J. K. Johnston, (1885), variety store ; John A. Stock, cigar manufacturer and dealer ; Irwin & Lawhead, (1885), millinery ; J. E. Toot, (1876), merchant tailor ; Andrew Harwick, (1876), harness shop ; Lenich & Cleaver, (1887) meat market ; M. A. Faust, (1885), carpet weaver ; Hills & Heichhold, dentists, established by A. M. Hills in 1845, and now conducted by Dr. Heichhold.

     Second Street, East Side.-J. M. Stewart, (1876), surgeon. dentist ; J. E. Harder, (1878), hardware, guns, &c. ; Isaac Johnson, (1843), boots and shoes ; James A. Moore, feed store.

     Second Street, West Side.- Powell Bros. & Powell, (1886), hardware ; Sylvester Evans, saloon ; W. L. Mitchell, (1886), grocer ; Mitchell & Martin, (1881), boots, shoes and furnishings ; E. W. Graham, druggist, succeeding himself as general store merchant ; Adolph Guinzburg, (1873), clothing ; G. A. Veil, (1884), meat market ; Frederick Sackett, (1871), hardware, tinsmith and plumber ; S. J. Row, (1886), glass and queens-ware ; Hartswick & Irwin, (1865), successors to Hartswick & Huston, druggists ; A. B. & P. F. Weaver, (1886), grocers, queens-ware and crockery, successors to George and P. F. Weaver ; Cuetara & McGoey, (1886), cigar manufacturers and dealers ; A. B. Alleman, (1873), cigars, tobacco and gunsmith ; Walter Hoover & Bro. (1885), harness maker.

     Third Street.-J. H. Hagerty, bakery ; J. F. Finkbiner, baker ; R. R. Canfield, furniture.


HOTELS.


     Mansion House.-This well known hostelry was built by Richard Shaw in 1841, on the site formerly occupied by Collins Hotel on the corner of Market and Second streets. It subsequently became the property of W. M. Shaw, and was by him sold to W. C. Cardon, the present owner, in 1876. Mr. Cardon managed the house about seven years, after which it was leased to S. B. Row. He stayed about a year and a half when it went to F. M. Cardon and brother, lessees, the present proprietors. This is a substantial and well arranged hotel, three stories high, and will accommodate eighty people.

     Leonard House, built about fifteen years ago, and named in honor of James

 

 

 

 

Page 356

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

T. Leonard, situate on Read street near the Tyrone and Clearfield depot. A substantial three-story frame building with modern conveniences and large enough to provide for sixty guests. R. Newton Shaw, proprietor.
 

     St. Charles Hotel.-This was built in 1870 and occupied by William S. Bradley. It is located at the corner of Reed and Third streets. In 1872 it was purchased by James McLaughlin, who refitted the same throughout and built an additional story, making now three. The name was changed to St. Charles by Mr. McLaughlin. This is a well kept house, convenient to the depot and not far from the business center. It has accommodations for sixty guests.

     Allegheny House.-This hotel was built about nineteen years ago by Casper Leipold, on Market street near Fourth, and by him was managed about ten years, after which it was leased to various parties. The present proprietors are sons of Casper Leipold, who are partners under the style of D. Leipold & co. The building is a frame structure, two stories in height with an attic, and has a room capacity for fifty persons.

     Hotel Windsor.-The only brick hotel building in the borough of Clearfield is the Windsor, a substantial, complete and elegant house built by ex-Sheriff James Mahaffey during the summer of 1884. It is located on the southwest corner of Market and Third streets, near the business center, and has all the modern improvements found in first-class hotels. An excellent water supply, gas, and steam heat extend throughout the house. The Windsor is the largest of the hotels in the borough and would do honor to a place of much greater population. Accommodation can be found therein for one hundred and fifty persons.
 


BANKING HOUSES OF CLEARFIELD.


     The first banking house in Clearfield borough was established about the year 1857, under the name of Leonard, Finney & Co. They did business about seven or eight years and then went into liquidation. Their place of business was on Second street, near the site of the present Masonic building. Among the several persons interested in the firm were James T. Leonard, Asahel T. Finney and William A. Wallace. Judge Leonard was the leading man in the concern and transacted most of the business, and wound up its affairs when the firm ceased.

     The Clearfield County Bank was organized as a State bank under the free banking laws passed in 1860. The first board of directors comprised the following named persons : James T. Leonard, James B. Graham, Richard Shaw, William A. Wallace, William Porter, Abram K. Wright, Jonathan Boynton and George L. Reed. Richard Shaw was chosen president, and James B. Graham cashier, and John M. Adams, teller. The capital stock was fixed at $50,000, in shares of $50 each, but was not all paid in during the first year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page 357

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.
 

Business was commenced November 26, 1860. In the year 1865, the bank surrendered its charter on account of a ten per cent tax on circulation, but was immediately reorganized as a private bank. Richard Shaw was made president, James B. Graham, vice-president and John M. Adams, cashier. During the panic in the money market in the year 1873, the capital stock was somewhat impaired but made good by the stockholders. The present officer, are William A. Wallace, president ; John M. Adams, cashier.

     The First National Bank of Clearfield was incorporated on the 14th day of December, 1864, with an authorized capital stock of $I00,000, in one thousand shares of $100 each. The first board of directors were Jonathan Boynton, Asahel C. Finney, Samuel Mitchell, J. B. McEnally, Richard Mossop, David G. Nevling and H. Bucher Swoope. Officers : Jonathan Boynton, president ; A. C. Finney, cashier. In January, 1866, the board of directors was increased to nine, but reduced to seven in 1874. The annual meetings are held on the second Tuesday of January. The present directors are Richard Mossop, Robert Mitchell, James Nevling, A. F. Boynton, William H. Dill, Jonathan Boynton and Alexander Murray. Officers : Jonathan Boynton, president ; A. F. Boynton, vice-president ; William H. Dill, cashier, and J. Boynton Nevling, teller. The present surplus of the bank is $30,000. The banking house is on Second street south of Market street.


     The County National Bank of Clearfield was organized under the national banking laws on the fifth of February, 1865. Capital stock, $100,000, in one thousand shares of $100 each. First board of directors, James T. Leonard, William A. Wallace, Richard Shaw, George Latimer Reed, Abram K. Wright, James B. Graham and William Porter. Officers : James T. Leonard, president ; Thomas H. Forcey, vice-president; William V. Wright, cashier. Judge Leonard died in August, 1882, and Mr. Forcey became acting president and so continued until January, 1883, when he was elected president. In 1867 Cashier Wright was succeeded by D. W. Moore, and he in turn was succeeded by William M. Shaw in January, 1871. The present board of directors are Thomas H. Forcey, president ; Arnold Bishop Shaw, vice-president ; John F. Weaver, William Porter, Harry A. Kratzer, John W. Potter, Grier Bell, jr.; cashier, W. M. Shaw. In 1869 the bank safe was broken open and money to the amount of about $20,000 taken therefrom. That the bank is now in a healthful condition is evidenced by the fact that the present surplus is about $65,000. The banking house is on Market street west of Second.
 


THE PRESS.
 

     The chapter devoted to a review of the press of the county will be found so full, thorough and exhaustive, that there need be said under this heading but sufficient to furnish a record of the several publications of the present day, and to allot a space to the recognized medium of communication between occurring events and the reading people of the county.

 

(46)

 

 

 

 

Page 358

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

     The Clearfield Republican, the descendant from the oldest newspaper of the county, became the property of George B. Goodlander by purchase from D. W. Moore, on the 1st of July, 1865, and from that to the present day Mr. Goodlander has occupied the editorial chair, as well as the position of manager and publisher. When he assumed the position referred to, the paper was a four page, six column paper in size, and had a circulation of about eleven hundred. On three several occasions has its size been enlarged, one column being added each time, and its length proportionately increased. The most substantial evidence of Mr. Goodlander’s success as a journalist, is shown by these additions, and the further fact that the present circulation of the Republican reaches nineteen hundred. While the paper is the recognized organ of the Democratic party of Clearfield county, its editorial and local columns are devoted to every interest of benefit to the community at large.

     The Raftsman’s Journal was founded in the year 1854, by a party of well known residents of the county, and placed under the able management of that brilliant scholar, politician and editor, H. Bucher Swoope. In 1856, the office and paper were sold to S. B. Row, who occupied its editorial chair until 1861, when it was passed to S. J. Row. The latter conducted the paper personally up to about 1875, when h% son, Albert M. Row, took an active interest in its management, Mr. Row, the senior, still occupying the editorial chair. In 1882 Albert M. assumed its entire management, his father having retired to assume the office of postmaster of the borough, to which he had recently been appointed. His connection with the paper was not severed by this appointment, as he still owned it, and so continues to the present time, although Albert M. Row is its editor and manager.

     At the time the paper was started, lumbering was the chief industry of the whole county, and its columns were devoted largely to the lumbering interests. Mr. Swoope had used it as a political organ during the days of Know Nothingism, and under his management it was a powerful auxiliary in that campaign. Under the Messrs. Row it has been and is now the recognized organ of the Republican party, and has acquired a large circulation in the county, attesting its popularity and usefulness. It has been twice increased in size, first in 1868, and again in 1883, making now an eight column, four page paper, neat and attractive in its present dress.

     The Clearfield Democrat was established in 1878, under the name of the Clearfield Citizen, by John Ray Bixler, as the organ of the Greenback party in this vicinity, but like that party, it was not destined long to live. In 1874 J. F. McKenrick became a half owner with Mr. Bixler, but owing to differences in opinion between the proprietors, Mr. McKenrick sold his interest back to the former owner. In May, 1885. the name was changed to the Clearfield Democrat, and the paper and its editors became regular supporters of Democratic doctrines, which cause it had previously espoused upon the decline of

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page 359

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.

Greenbackism.  At this time Allison O. Smith became a partner in its management, and so continued until March, 1886, when the paper was sold to J. F. & W. A. Short.  The latter sold his interest in June following, to his partner, who became sole editor and publisher.  The Democrat is an eight page paper, with "patent inside," and has a circulation of about fourteen hundred.
 

LOCAL IMPROVEMENT COMPANIES.
 

     The Clearfield Water Company was incorporated January 3, 1882. The purpose of this corporation was to supply the borough of Clearfield with pure and wholesome water. The capital stock was fixed at $40,000, in two thousand shares of $20 each. The first officers were : W. W. Betts, president ; E. A. Bigler, secretary and superintendent ; Jonathan Boynton, treasurer ; direct-
ors, W. W. Betts, W. A. Wallace, Jonathan Boynton, Samuel I. Snyder, E. A. Bigler. The company obtained lands on both sides of Moose Creek, and built a dam to retain the water in a reservoir. For a distance of three miles on both sides, the company own an extensive wooded tract, from which the water supply is procured, and on this tract there is not one habitation. From the reservoir, which is about three miles from town, an abundant supply of pure, spring water is obtained. The company have about five and one-half miles of water main, about two miles being laid through the streets of the borough. At the present time there are about three hundred and fifty water takers. Fire hydrants are placed at convenient distances throughout the borough for protection in case of fire. The present officers of the company are as follows: President, W. W. Betts ; secretary and treasurer, H. F. Bigler ; directors, W. W. Betts, W. A. Wallace, A. F. Boynton, S. I. Snyder, and H. F. Bigler.


     The Clearfield Gas Light Company became incorporated in the year 1859, but was not fully organized until 1873, when officers were elected and the object of the company completed. The authorized capital stock was $30,000,. but the company did business with about half that amount. The buildings for the manufacture of gas and tanks were erected on lands north of the Tyrone and Clearfield depot. The first officers elected were: A. F. Boynton, president ; W. W. Betts, secretary and treasurer; A. M. Fleck, superintendent of works. About 12,165 feet of main are laid through the streets of the borough,
and lamp-posts are placed at suitable points for street lights. There are about one hundred and fifty consumers in the borough. The present officers are : W. W. Betts, president ; W. D. Bigler, vice-president; secretary and treasurer, H. B. Powell ; directors, W. W. Betts, W. D. Bigler, H. B. Powell, A. F. Boynton, H. A. Kratzer ; superintendent of works, B. F. Bickle. Shares of stock outstanding, $21,200.

     Clearfield Steam Heating Company. This corporation was created in June, 1883, for the purpose of supplying steam heat for the borough of Clearfield, with a capital stock of $30,000, in six hundred shares of $50 each. The first

 

 

 

 

Page 360

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

officers elected were: A. B. Shaw, president; T. W. Moore, secretary; W. M. Shaw, treasurer; Edward Everett, superintendent.  The company has a large boiler house built on lands in rear of the Opera House block.  About nine thousand feet of pipe, three, four, and five inches in diameter, is laid through the streets of the borough.  There were about sixty heat consumers in the  place the first year; at the present time the number is increased to one hundred and thirty.  Four large boilers are sufficient to supply the necessary heat in the most severe weather, and about twenty-seven hundred tons of coal are consumed annually at the works. The company are now furnishing heat for about three and a half millions cubic feet of space. The officers first elected have been continued in office to the present time. The present board of directors consists of A. B. Shaw, William Powell, J. F. Weaver, F. B. Reed, and T. W. Moore.
 


INDUSTRIES OF CLEARFIELD.
 

     The earlier manufactories of this locality were nearly all removed years ago, but of the few that are still standing is that known as the Shirk Tannery. This industry was started at an early day by Orris Hoyt, and by him operated many years. The Shirk tannery was built on the same site, and managed by the brothers Shirk until a few years since. They were unsuccessful in business, and since their misfortune the buildings have not been used, although in fair condition.

     The Clearfield Machine Shops were founded and built in 1867 by A. F. Boynton and George S. Young, under the firm style of Boynton & Young. They operated it until the latter part of the year 1870, when Mr. Boynton sold his interest to G. L. Reed and William D. Bigler, after which the firm name became Bigler, Young & Co., and so continued until the year 1880. At this time William H. Mulhollan purchased Young’s interest, and Frank B. Reed took one-half of G. L. Reed’s interest, and the name of the firm was again changed to Bigler, Reed & Co.

     The works are located at the corner of Fourth and Pine streets. The buildings comprise a machine shop, foundry, boiler, and blacksmith shops. The special feature of the company’s work is the manufacture of fire brick machinery, and mill machinery in general, as well as castings, boilers, and machine work.

     The Clearfield Fire Brick Company (limited), successor to the Clearfield Fire Brick Company, a defunct corporation, became the property of the present owners by purchase made by E. A. Bigler, at sheriff sale, representing the subsequent proprietors, they assuming the indebtedness of the old corporation. This new partnership was created about the year 1880. The owners are W. D. Bigler, E. A. Bigler, owning a half interest; Weaver and Betts one-sixth; G. L. Reed and J. G. Hartswick each owning one-sixth. The company’s works

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page 361
BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.

 

are on Reed street.  The clay used in the manufacture is procured at woodland and Blue Ball, where the company own and lease lands.  The company have facilities for the manufacture of over three millions of fire brick annually.

     The Clearfield Tannery was built by Joseph B. Hoyt, of Connecticut, Daniel B. Fairweather, and H. S. La Due, of New York, in the year 1879, on lands then in Lawrence township, north of Clearfield, but included within the borough limits by the recent extension thereof. The works comprise a beam-house, dry-house, house for drying hair and rendering grease, leech-house, bark-sheds, and twenty-two dwellings for employees. The lands occupied contain about twenty-one acres. The manufactured leather is known as Union Crop sole-leather, about five hundred sides being “ turned out ” daily. Number of employees, about one hundred. In 1884 Mr. Hoyt withdrew from the firm, the remaining partners continuing the business. This tannery is under the superintendence of W. Ross McPherson, of Clearfield.

     The Spring Brewery, the property of Theodore Reis, was built for the manufacture of lager beer in the years 1873-4, by Charles Schafer. Not being a successful business venture it was sold at forced sale, purchased by Judge Leonard and by him sold to Harmon Sheiffer. In 1882 it was purchased by the present owner. The brewery is situate north of the gas works, near a spring of pure water, from which the name is given the works, the “ Spring Brewery.” Its capacity is one thousand barrels annually.

     The Clearfield Lumber Company (limited) was organized in the month of January, 1880. The property formerly known as the Thorn planing-mill, on Fourth street, was purchased and is now used by the company. The capital stock of the firm is $32,500, in three hundred and twenty-five shares at $100 each. The officers are W. W. Betts, chairman; John W. Wrigley, secretary and treasurer ; David McGaughey, W. B. Townsend, and Asbury W. Lee, managers. The company manufacture ‘doors, sash, blinds, flooring, and all other stock usual to a well appointed factory of the kind. They also own two saw and shingle mills, one at Porter Station and the other at Kermoor, where they are engaged in extensive lumber operations.

     The Clearfield Roller Flouring Mill, the property of George W. Smith, was built by him in the year 1885. The building is located in the north part of the borough. It is five stories in height including an attic for storage. Steam power is used, and the machinery of the best and latest patterns. The mill has a capacity of fifty barrels per day.

     Marshall’s Brick Yard, now the property of James M. Marshall, was purchased from M. B. Cowdrick in the year 1876. This is the only industry of the kind in the borough. The quality of brick manufactured is very good, and the yard is sufficiently large to supply all local demand for building purposes.

 

 

 

 

Page 362

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.


CHURCHES OF CLEARFIELD


     Saint Andrew’s Protestant Episcopal Church. - The Protestant Episcopal Church was planted in Clearfield as birds often plant seeds from a neighborhood, thus extending the growth until, in many instances, it becomes the ruling plant in the new country.

     In 1820, or thereabouts, Hardman Philips planted the seed of a Protestant Episcopal Church congregation in Philipsburg, Centre county, and from that weak and slender stalk sprang what there is of Episcopal growth and strength in Clearfield county. Its first manifestation was in the visit of Bishop Onderdonk to Clearfield town in 1832 ; there being no record or tradition of any other service of the church from that time until 1838, when he returned to Clearfield, and held service in the old court-house. No further service was held in Clearfield town or county until about 1843, when Rev. Tiffany Lord, who was rector in charge at Philipsburg, held occasional services in the court-house. After him the place was visited occasionally by the Rev. George W. Natt, of Bellefonte, who, under the direction of the bishop of the diocese. made periodical visits.

     About the year 1847, Bishop Alonzo Potter sent the Rev. William Clotworthy, who remained about one year, during which time his services were divided between Philipsburg, Morrisdale, Clearfield, and Curwensville, and without any particular manifestation of growth of the church in either of these places, but with a marked decline in its strength in Philipsburg.

     At this time the only communicating members of the church in Clearfield that were known to the visiting bishop and clergy were John L. Cuttle, Mary A. Cuttle, his sister, William Hotchkiss, who had removed to Clearfield from Meadville, and his daughter Mary.
 

     Before the advent of Mr. Clotworthy, and during the visits of Mr. Natt, to Clearfield, George R. Barrett had expressed his preference for, and an intention to connect himself with the Episcopal Church. In 1848 he opened a correspondence with Bishop Potter, the result of which was a visit of that prelate to Clearfield early in the summer, which visit brought about a union of the distant, but interested persons in the cause of the church. There being at the time neither at Philipsburg, nor at any other point, a clergyman nearer than Bellefonte, it was deemed necessary to form an association sufficiently strong to support a clergyman in Clearfield county and Philipsburg. The friends of Dr. Alexander MacLeod believed that he had the personal influence among the people of all the localities to make this scheme successful ; they therefore invited and (with the influence of Bishop Potter), succeeded in gaining his consent to unite his labors with those of the church workers in the district named. In December, 1849, Dr. MacLeod came to Clearfield and preached his first sermon in the court-house, the result of which was the establishment
 

 

 

 

Page 363

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.
 

of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Clearfield as an enduring institution, following soon afterward by the building of a church edifice.

     On the 25th day of February, 1850, a meeting was held in Clearfield for the purpose of organizing an Episcopal association. James Allport was president, and G. R. Barrett. secretary. The missionary field included Clearfield, Curwensville, Morrisdale, and Philipsburg, and Dr. MacLeod was called to take charge of the same as missionary. At the meeting a resolution was adopted appointing John L. Cuttle, William Bigler, G. R. Barrett, and William Hotchkiss as a committee to fix a location and superintend the erection of a church edifice. Lands were purchased from Isaac Schofield at the corner of Cherry and Front streets, the deed, however, being made by Josiah W. Smith, who held the legal title.

     The contract for the building was given to Dugan & Ralston, and was completed in the winter of 1851, at a cost of $1,194.

     The first vestry was elected on the 11th day of March, 1851, John L. Cuttle, G. R. Barrett, Joseph S. France, James Allport, and Isaac L. Barrett, being chosen. G. R. Barrett was appointed senior, and John L. Cuttle junior warden. This was the first regular Episcopal organization formed in Clearfield county.

     The church was called St. Andrew’s, after the church of that name in Philadelphia, whose society had contributed liberally toward the support of the new in the payment of the rector’s salary.

     On the 26th day of October, 1852, the church was formally consecrated by Bishop Potter. At the organization of the church there were but two persons presented as communicants.

     In March, 1853, Dr. MacLeod severed his connection with the parish, which remained vacant until October following, when the Rev. A. I. Berger was called and remained one year.

     In January, 1856, Dr. MacLeod, returned to the parish and continued as rector until September, 1861; having, in the mean time, been appointed chaplain in the army, he left the parish never to return.

     From this time until 1866 the church was without a rector, when Rev. J. Taylor Chambers was called, and remained about a year. After his departure occasional services were held by Rev. S. H. Meade until the fall of 1869, when Rev. George Hall commenced his ministrations and continued in charge of the parish until 1873. No regular service was held after the departure of Mr. Hall until the month of January, 1875, when Rev. George C. Rafter ministered under the direction of Bishop Kerfoot. He was succeeded by and afterward alternated with the Rev. John S. Protheroe, which continued until 1881. Rev. S. H. Griffith was called to the rectorship in 1882, but, being a person of delicate health, could not endure the severity of the winter months, therefore was obliged to leave the parish. In July, 1883, Bishop Kerfoot sent Rev.

 

 

 

 

Page 364

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.


David L. Fleming, a deacon in orders, to take charge of the parishes of Clearfield and Houtzdale.  He continued in charge until 1885, in the mean time being elevated to the priesthood.  Next succeeding Mr. Fleming followed the Rev. G. B. Van Waters, who remained in charge until 1886, when he was called to a more important field of labor.

     The Rev. F. C. Cowper was sent to take charge of all the Episcopal Churches of Clearfield county, and commenced his labors here about Christmas time in the year 1886, and since then, in connection with Rev. A. S. R. Richards, deacon of Osceola, have held all the services of the church in Clearfield.

     Since the commencement of Episcopal education in Clearfield, the visiting bishops have been as follows : Henry Ustic Onderdonk, Alonzo Potter, Samuel Bowman, William Bacon Stevens, John Barrett Kerfoot and Cortlandt Whitehead. In 1865, a new diocese was formed and named “ the Diocese of Pittsburgh,” which included Clearfield county. This transferred the church of Clearfield from the jurisdiction of Bishop Stevens to that of Bishop Kerfoot, whose successor, Bishop Whitehead, is now in charge.

     Thee Presbyterian Church.-The early records of this church are meagre and imperfect. As early as the year 1803, by direction of the Presbytery of Huntingdon, there was Presbyterian preaching in Clearfield by Revs. William Stewart and Henry R. Wilson. Under similar direction subsequent services were occasionally held for several years. In 1806, the general assembly ordered copies of the catechism distributed in this region. The date of the organization of the Presbyterian Church of Clearfield is not known. It was in existence in 1819, with Hugh Jordon and Archibald Shaw as ruling elders. It was incorporated March 31, 1837. Among the very early members were Hugh and Ann Jordon, Archibald, Mary, John and Sarah Shaw, John and
Jane Stewart, David and Susan Wilson, William and Margaret Daniel, James B. and Phianna Caldwell, Alexander B., Rachel, Jane, Maria J., and Jemima Reed, Richard and Mary Shaw, Eleanor and Eliza Ardery, James and Jane Irvin, Jane Moore, John R., Mary, James and Amos Read, Mrs. Robert Wallace, John Mitchell and William Dunlap. The earliest known trustees were elected October 29, 1836. They were Hugh Jordon, Richard Shaw, John Mitchell, Thomas Reed, George Welch and Robert Wallace. The first pastor was Rev. Garry Bishop, installed in 1826. He divided his labors between the ministry and the practice of medicine. He remained until 1834. During the next six years the church was without a pastor, but was supplied by Revs. David McKinney, Samuel Wilson, J. B. Payne and Edward McKinney. Rev. Frederick G. Betts was installed in 1840, but was taken away by the hand of death in 1845. Senator W. W. Betts and Lockwood Betts, the latter of whom was killed during the war, were his sons. During the pastorate of Mr. Betts the frame church building was erected on the site of the present one. It had a seat-

 

 

 

 

Page 365
BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.

 

ing capacity for about three hundred persons.  Previous to this time services were held in the court-house.  The third pastor was Rev. Samuel N. Howell, who remained but two years.  He was succeeded by Rev. Miles T. Merwin, who served until 1853.  The fifth pastor was Rev. Samuel M. Cooper; sixth, Rev. John M. Galloway, who remained about seven years and died in the parsonage on First street.  This property was purchased during his pastorate.  During the pastorate of Mr. Galloway the church received large accessions in numbers and made good progress toward more perfect organization. The sixth pastor was Rev. J. G. Archer, installed June 20, 1865. Under him the church increased largely, forty members being received at a single communion. It was during his pastorate, too, that the beautiful stone church edifice was projected and nearly completed. Mr. Archer’s life was suddenly terminated in a railroad accident January 12, 1869. The building, so nearly finished, remains a lasting monument of his time. It cost $45,000, and easily seats six hundred people. A lecture room in the rear seats two hundred persons. The architect was J. C. Hoxie, of Camden, N. J. ; contractor of the stone work, Thomas Liddell ; superintendent of other work, George Thorn. The building committee consisted of William Bigler, William A. Wallace, A. C. Finney, John F. Weaver, Samuel Mitchell and James B. Graham. The building is located on the corner of Pine and Second streets. The pastorate of Rev. Henry S. Butler, the seventh of the succession, began with the occupation of the new church edifice, June 23, 1869, and continued fifteen years. During this time the church membership was largely increased and the benevolent work of the society admirably systematized and more than doubled.

 

     In September, 1884, the present pastor, Rev. Russell A. McKinley, entered upon his pastoral duties. He is a graduate of Allegheny College, Meadville, Pa., and of the Western Theological Seminary at Allegheny City, Pa. During the short time Mr. McKinley has held the pastorate the church membership has increased by thirteen.

     There is now a large country constituency connected with the church. The present elders are James Irvin, A, M. Hills, J. G. Hartswick, John F. Weaver, Henry W. Park, Miles Read and Thompson Read. At the time of their death, ex-Governor Bigler and James B. Graham were ruling elders. R. H. Shaw and Henry Mead are deacons. The present board of trustees consists of Harry F. Wallace, James Kerr, W. Ross McPherson, James Mitchell and Frank B. Reed ; treasurer, A. Bowman Weaver; superintendent of the Sunday-school, Frank B. Reed. Both home and foreign missionary societies are sustained by the ladies of the congregation. An effort is now making to raise funds for a large pipe organ to be placed in the church. Before the time of Mr. Archer the pastoral duties were divided between Clearfield, Curwensville and Kylertown, or other points, making the work very laborious. Many of the early pastors received from Clearfield only about

(47)

 

 

 

 

Page 366

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

$300, and this not entirely paid in money; the other points contributed but little for pastoral support.

     The Methodist Episcopal Church. - The precise date at which Methodism was first established in Clearfield town, we have not been able to fix. Isaac Southard joined the church in 1822, and there was then an organized class of several members. Orris Hoyt was the first class leader, and Rev. John Hammond the preacher in charge. The class consisted of only a few members and met in a small house on the river, only a short distance below the present borough. The class was organized several years prior to this time, and when there were but five or six houses in the town. John Moore came a few years after this and at once identified himself with the interests of the church. Preaching was held for a long time in private houses, but as the town increased the academy and court-house were used as places of worship until a church was built. A building committee was selected on the 14th day of October, 1837, which consisted of the following persons : Isaiah Goodfellow, Isaac Southard, John Moore, H. B. Beisell and William Antes. The building, a frame structure, was located on Cherry street about midway between Second and Third. It was completed, and on October 5, 1839, was dedicated. This building still stands and is occupied as a dwelling house.

     For many years, dating back from the present church edifice, the old building was inadequate to supply the wants of the growing congregation, and during the pastorate of Rev. D. S. Monroe, in 1865-6, plans were originated for building a new church. For this purpose Jonathan Boynton generously contributed two valuable lots on Second street, and in addition thereto, gave large cash contributions, which, with the other donations by members of the church and the citizens generally, enabled the society to erect the present substantial brick edifice. It is two stories in height, 50 by 80 feet, in dimensions, and was built in the year 1868, during the pastorate of Rev. Asbury Guyer. On November 15, 1868, the basement was dedicated, Rev. William Harder officiating. The main audience room was completed soon after, the whole church costing about $30,000. It was dedicated January 8, 1871, Revs. Chaplain C. C. McCabe and J. W. Langley preaching on that occasion. In the year 1884, under the pastorate of Rev. James Curns, the church was repaired and valuable improvements added at a cost of about $7,000. It was reopened March 8, 1885, Bishop C. D. Foss officiating. The lot adjoining the church has recently been purchased and presented to the church by A. F. Boynton, for the erection of a pastoral residence.

     Prominent among the members of the church in addition to those already mentioned, have been George W. Rheem, William Radebaugh, Hester Ann Radebaugh, and Mrs. Mary Boynton, whose devotion to the church has made her name worthy of special mention in these annals.

     Among the present members who hold official relation to the church are

 

 

 

 

Page 367

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.

 

Rev. W. H. Dill, Rev. W. M. McCullough, Jonathan Boynton, A. F. Boynton, D. W. McCurdy, George W. Rheem, Thomas H. Murray, J. B. McEnally, A. B. Shaw, J. W. Shugart, J. M. Stewart, F. G. Harris and others. The present membership numbers two hundred and seventy-eight persons.
 

     Succession of pastors: 1822, John Thomas; 1823-4, unknown; 1825, John Bowen ; 1826, W. P. McDowell ; 1827, W. 0. Lumsdon ; 1828, David Kennison ; 1829, Oliver Ege and Allen Brittain ; 1830, James Sanks and Zachariah Jordon ; 1831, Peter McEnally ; 1832, Allen Brittain; 1833, Stephen Smith ; 1834, John McEnally ; 1835, Eli Nicodemus and Isaac Stratton ; 1836, John Anderson and S. V. Blake ; 1837, S. V. Blake and Elisha Butler ; 1839, Joseph S. Lee and J. A. Ross ; 1840, Joseph S. Lee and Gideon H. Day ; 1841, Hildebrand and Stephenson ; 1842, Elisha Butler and T. F. McClure ; 1843, Robert Beers and Samuel Register ; 1844, Robert Beers, Jacob Montgomery ; 1845, Elias Welty, Thomas Barnhart ; 1846, Elias Welty, John Lloyd, Rev. Hoffman ; 1847, John Steine, H. W. Bellman ; 1848, Peter McEnally, Albert Hartman ; 1849, McEnally, J. A. Melick; 1850; George Bergstresser ; 1851, Bergstresser, Thaddeus Stauber ; 1852, George Guyer ; 1853-4, Adam Hockenberry : 1855, A. M. Barnitz, W. W. Hicks ; 1856, John Elliot ; 1857-8, Thomas Barnhart; 1859-60, W. Lee Spottswood ; 1861-2, Thomas Gotwalt ; 1863-4, L. M. Gardner; 1865-6, David S. Monroe ; 1867-8, Asbury Guyer ; 1869, W. H. Dill ; 1870-1, James H. McCord ; 1872-3-4,
A. D. Yocum; 1875-6, B. F. Stevens; 1877-8-9, Jacob S. McMurray ; 1880-1-2, George Leidy; 1883-4-5, James Curns ; 1886-7, J. Harper Black.


     Saint Francis Roman Catholic Church .-The early services of this church in this vicinity, when this was only a missionary station, have not been recorded, and of all services held prior to 1830, the information has been derived from persons who held it only in memory, and is, therefore, somewhat incomplete. There was no regularly organized society of the church until 1830 ; but as early as 1815, or 1818, the town was visited by missionaries in the priesthood, who said masses, with an occasional sermon, for the benefit of the few Catholic families then residing/here. Among the few there can be remembered the names of Robert Collins, Joseph Boone, James Hamilton, and later, James and John Dougherty, John McLaughlin, Hugh Brady, and probably others whose names cannot be recalled. Of the priests who traveled through this missionary field at that time, were the Rev. Fathers Hayden, Reilly, and Leavey. During the ministrations of the last named, Father Leavey, the old Catholic Church was built. Prior to that time, 1830, such services as were had were held at the houses of the parishioners and in the old academy building on Front street. For the purpose of erecting a church edifice, Joseph Boone donated the land on Second street; Father Leavey contributed for the work the sum of $1,600, which, with contributions from other sources, made the erection possible. Hugh Leavy was the superintendent of

 

 

 

 

Page 368

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.


the work. The church was built of brick, and had a seating capacity of about three hundred. The first seats were placed in the church by John McLaughlin, Hugh Leavy, and John Dougherty. Although the building was sufficiently completed to have services held therein during the first year, yet it was not until about two or three years after that it was entirely finished. The Rev. Father Leavey was the first resident priest of the parish, and to him belongs the honor of having planted the church in the town. His pastoral relations continued about ten years, when he was succeeded by the Rev. Father Nugent, who remained only about two years. Father P. A. Prendergast came in 1842. He was followed by Rev. John Berbigier, who was then in charge at Frenchville. Next came Rev. Joseph F. Dean, who remained some time, and after him, Rev. Joseph A. Gallagher and Rev. F. Ledwith in succession. Rev. Father John Dennis Coady took charge of the parish, commencing in 1857. During his pastorate the priest’s residence was built, on the lot adjoining the church on the north. Father Coady remained here seven years, and left in
July, 1863. In August following, the Rev. Thomas Tracey was sent to the parish and remained about five years. He was followed by Father O’Branigan in 1868, and he in turn was succeeded by Father Westfall, who remained but a short time. Father Thomas McManus came in 1871, and left in November, 1872, when the present pastor, Rev. Father Peter Joseph Sheridan, was sent by the bishop to take charge of the parish. Father Sheridan’s work has been as successful as it has been long. In 1884, the plans for a new church edifice were adopted, and Father Sheridan, ably assisted by members of his church, set about raising funds for this purpose. A building committee was chosen, consisting of the following persons : Rev. P. A. Sheridan, P. A. Gaulin, James
McLaughlin, J. F. McKenrick, J. L. Leavy, L. J. Morgan, and Charles Mignot. The committee had intended to build a brick edifice, but subsequently changed their plans, and used stone instead. The building is so far progressed as to be under a roof, and will probably be completed during the coming building season. In dimensions, it is fifty by one hundred feet, and will comfortably seat eight hundred persons. The entire cost of the building is estimated at about twenty thousand dollars. The corner stone was laid July 25, 1886.

     The Evangelical Lutheran Church .-The prime mover in the organization of this church society in Clearfield, was G. Philip Geulich, the pioneer of Lutheranism in the county. Through the efforts of Father Geulich the church edifice was built. The corner stone was laid, with appropriate services, August 31, 1850, and a few months later the church was dedicated. It was erected at the corner of Pine and Third streets, and was a frame structure thirty-six by fifty feet in dimensions. The first members were G. Philip Geulich and wife, Abram Ogden and wife, Abram High and wife, Henry E. Snyder, Catharine Clemens, Esther Hoover, and J. B. Heisey and wife. At that time the church officers were: Elder, G. P. Geulich ; deacon, Abram Ogden.

 

 

 

 

Page 369

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.
 

A full council was subsquently elected, and by them J. B. Heisey was chosen treasurer.  Rev Peter Lane was pastor during the organization of the society, and at the time the church edifice was built.  Since the formation of the society the pastors in charge have been Revs. Diehl, Focht, Bratton, Height, Harrison, Nixdorf, Hartsock, Moser, Tomlinson, Fletcher, and A. J. Bean, the present incumbent.  Under Rev. Hartsock the society was, in part, supported by the Home Mission Board, which also, during the last year, assisted with an appropriation, the congregation still remaining a mission.  In 1873-4, a parsonage was erected on the lot adjoining the church.  From a fund created in part by the sale of the old church and certain lots owned by the society, together with contributions made to that end, a new brick church edifice is in course of erection on the site formerly occupied by the old building.  A single story in height, 54 x 73 feet in size, a Gothic architecture, the new church will meet the needs of the congregation for some years to come.  This church society has never been numerically strong, the number of members not, at any time, exceeding one hundered persons.  At present it is in a prosperous condition, having from eighty to ninety members, a Sabbath-school of one hundred and forty scholars, catechetical classes, and a ladies' aid society.  The church is a member of the Allegheny Synod.

     The Baptist Church.-The early meetings of this society, like those of other denominations of Christian churches of the borough, were held in the court-house. As early as the year 1842, and possibly prior to that time, Rev. Samuel Miles conducted the meetings of the society. The organization was effected about the year 1855, and three years later, a small church edifice was built on Second street, south of Pine. Among the earlier members were Martin Nichols, sr., and his son ; Dr. A. T. Schryver, Thomas Robbins, Mrs. Burchfield, Edwin Cooper, and others. Of the clergymen who have labored in the interest of the church and its society, Elder Miles was the first, and Revs. Morris and Hunter came later. At the time the church edifice was erected, there were about forty members; but during recent years there has been a gradual falling off in numbers, until there are at present only about six members. There has been no regular pastor for some years, and only occasional services are held.
 

SOCIETIES AND ORDERS.
 

     Clearfield Lodge No. 314, F. and A. M., was chartered January 11, 1858, with the following charter members : Thomas Barnhart, George R. Barrett, Henry Loraine, John McGaughey, Alexander MacLeod, John Patton, Samuel B. Row, A. T. Schryver, and Robert J. Wallace. The first meeting was held February 22, 1858, at which the following named officers were elected: Rev. Thomas Barnhart, W. M. ; S. B. Row, S. W.; John McGaughey, J. W.; John Patton, treasurer ; R. J. Wallace, secretary.  Appointed officers : Daniel Faust, S. D.; O. B. Merrill, J. D.; A. T. Schryver, tyler.

 

 

 

 

Page 370

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.
 

     Succession of worshipful m,asters: 1859, S. B. Row; 1860, John McGaughey; 1861, Daniel Faust; 1862, Robert J. Wallace; 1863-4-5-6. George W. Rheem; 1867, S. J. Row; 1868, James R. Caldwell; 1869, Thomas Liddell; 1870, Zara C. McCullough; 1871, William M. McCullough; 1872, William H. Dill; 1873, John R. Cullingsworth; 1874, William L. Parker; 1875, Levis K. McCullough; 1876, J. H. Fulford; 1877, William M. McCullough; 1878, J. P. Burchfield; 1879, Wash. I. Curley; 1880, William H. Dill; 1881, William M. McCullough ; 1882, Hiram T. King ; 1883, Smith V. Wilson; 1884, J. Boynton Nevling ; 1885. Matthew Savage ; 1886, M. L. McQuown. Officers for 1887 : William H. Dill, W. M.; Allison 0. Smith, S. W. ; Walter L. McJunkin, J. D.; Daniel W. McCurdy, treas.; Asbury W. Lee, sec’y ; John G. Schryver, S. D.; Albert M. Row, J. D.; Eli Bloom, sen. M. C.; J. Boynton Nevling, jun. M. C.; J. P. Burchfield, William C. Cardon, stewards ; L. K. McCullough, chaplain ; J. P. Burchfield, pursuivant ; Thomas Robbins, tyler. Present number of members, fifty-three ; regular meetings, first Monday on or before full moon, at Masonic Hall.


     Clearfield Chapter No. 225, H. R. A. M.-Date of charter. June 20, 1870. Charter officers : Zara C. McCullough, M. E. H. P.; William H. Dill, king; William M. McCullough, scribe; Henry Bridge, treasurer; Reuben McPherson, secretary. Installed by grand officers of G. H. R. A. Chapter September 23, 1870. Succession of Most Eminent High Priests : 1871-2, William H. Dill ; 1873, William M. McCullough; 1874, John R. Cullinsworth; 1875, Hiram T. King; 1876, Fred Sackett ; 1877-g-9, Hiram T. King ; 1880-1-2-3, William H. Dill ; 1884, John G. Schryver ; 1885, J. P. Burchfield ; 1886, Alexander E. Patton. Officers for 1887 : John R. Fee, M. E. H. P.; William C. Langsford, king; Abram S. R. Richards, scribe ; Daniel W. McCurd , treasurer ; Asbury W. Lee, secretary. Present number of members, fifty- five ; regular meetings, second Monday after full moon.


     Clearfield Lodge No. 198, I. 0. 0. F., instituted October 17, 1846, with five charter members, viz.: John L. Cuttle, Daniel Livingston, Dr. Charles R. Foster, William T. Gilbert, and Ashley M. Hills. First officers: J. L. Cuttle, N. G.; Charles R. Foster, V. G.; A. M. Hills, secretary ; Daniel Livingston, assistant secretary; William T. Gilbert, treasurer. The lodge has a present membership of one hundred. Meetings are held every Saturday evening at Odd Fellows Hall. The lodge has a fund of $7,000, well invested for the benefit of the order. The furnishings of the lodge-room and the regalia are complete and elegant. The present officers are : W. F. Chambers, N. G.; G. A. Whorl, V. G.; A. J. Bean, sec’y ; L. K. McCullough, treas.; L. K. McCullough, Smith V. Wilson, R. H. Shaw, trustees.


     Clearfield Encampment of Patriarchs, I. 0. 0. F., No. 232, was instituted under warrant or dispensation on the 12th day of July, 1872, with sixteen charter members. The charter officers were : A. M. Hills, C. P. ; S. J. Row,

 

 

 

 

Page 371

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.


H. P.; Thomas Robbins, S. W.; N. B. Lee, J. W.; J. F. Nisley, scribe ; C. D. Watson, treasurer. In point of progress the encampment has never accomplished much. From sixteen charter members it has only increased to twenty-one. The present officers are : L. K. McCullough, C. P.; F. K. Smith, H. P.; A. L. Hess, sen. war.; W. F. Chambers, jun. war.; A. J. Bean, scribe; J. M. Stewart, treasurer. Meetings are held at Odd Fellows Hall the first and third Fridays of each month.
 

     Larimer Post, No. 179, G. A. R., was instituted July 2, 1880, with forty-two charter members. The first officers were : Commander, Peter A. Gaulin ; sen. vice corn., E. M. Scheurer ; jun. vice corn., H. T. King; surgeon, Dr. J. P. Burchfield; officer of the day, William A. Ogden ; officer of the guard, C. Owens ; Q. M., William R. Brown ; chaplain, J. D. Snoke. Appointed officers: Q. M. S., Samuel H. Snoke; adjutant, Frank A. Fleming ; sergt. maj., George D. Ronk; ord. sergt , J. M. Hastings. Succession of commanders : P. A. Gaulin, H. T. King, Amos Row, Frank G. Charpenning, Samuel H. Snoke, R. H. Shaw, Cornelius Owens, J. D. Snoke.


     Present officers: Commander, J. D. Snoke ; sen. vice corn., George S. Kyler ; jun. vice corn., Thomas Powell; adj., John M. Hastings ; Q. M., P. A. Gaulin ; surg., R. H. Shaw ; chaplain, H. T. King ; officer of the day, S. H. Snoke ; officer of the guard, J. W. Darey; sergt. maj., --Shunkweiler ; Q. M. S., W. W. Worrell. Regular meetings are held on the second and fourth Friday evenings of each month.


     The West Branch Royal Arcanum, No 797, was organized under a charter granted April 28, 1884, to the following charter members: J,. L. Miller, John C. Barclay, Andrew Harwick, E. S. Read, Samuel C. Stewart, A. M. Bloom, A. F. Martin, Ezra Brown, Daniel Connelly, J. L. R. Heichhold, Harry Hemphill, John Scheifer, R. H. Thompson, Ashley Thorn, and Reuben McPherson. There has been an increase of only two members since the organization. The present officers are : Regent, Daniel Connelly ; vice regent, Andrew Harwick ; orator, A. F. Martin ; chaplain, Ashley Thorn ; treasurer, Ezra Brown; collector, L. K. McCullough ; sec’y, J. C. Barclay ; guide, J. B. Larimer ; warden, John Scheifer. Regular meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday evenings of each month.
 

     Knights of Pythias.-The charter for this order was granted on the 19th of July, 1871, to the following members : William M. McCullough, jr., Noel B. Lee, Joseph Leman, J. K. Johnson, D. W. Flemmer, George D. Ronk, Robert McCorkle, Edward Mack, and Samuel H. Snoke. The order at present numbers fifty-two members. Regular weekly meetings are held each Monday evening. The present officers are: Past chancellor, Frank Thorn ; C. C., Thomas W. King ; V. C., George D. Ronk ; prelate, J. C. Smith ; M. A Ed. O. .Berger ; K. of R. and S., A. P. Moore ; M. F., J. K. Johnson ; M. Ex.: A. M. Guinzburg ; I. G., John Murray ; 0. G., J. B. Larimer ; trustees, J. C. Smith, G. D. Ronk, and Robert McCorkle.

 

 

 

 

Page 372

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.


     Clearfield Council, Order of United American Mechanics, No. 281.  Charter granted February 15, 1872, to the following persons: T. J. Hubbard, J. B. Hamilton, Ezra Ale, B. F. Cooper, M. S. Bottarf, Cornelius Owens, W. W. Carns, D. R. Newcomer, Adam McQilllan, W. S. Taylor, Andrew Harwick, J. B. Way, Theodore Stevenson, James Sutton, and A. T. Miller. The first
officers were : C., Ezra Ale ; vice C., J. B. Hamilton ; R. S., B. F. Cooper ; A. R. S., A. Harwick ; F. S., C. Owens; T., D. R. Newcomer ; ind., A. T. Miller ; ex., T. Stevenson ; I. P., W. W. Carns ; 0. P., A. McQuillan ; jr. ex C., T. Hubbard ; sr. ex C., M. S. Bottorf; trustees, Ezra Ale, T. Hubbard, J. B. Hamilton. Clearfield Council of the O. U. A. M. is one of the strongest organizations of its kind in the borough. They started the order with fifteen members in the year 1872, and the membership now numbers one hundred and two persons. Since the first officers were chosen, there have been twenty-eight councillors [sic] in succession, the term of office being six months; the council have an appropriately furnished room in the Opera House building, where their meetings are held. The present officers are as follows : Councillor, James Carns ; vice con., J. F. Cleaver; R. S., R. J. Conklin ; A. R. S., L. C. Lanich ; F. S., G. Y. Conklin ; T., C. Owens; ind., J. M. Hastings ; ex., L. M. Cochler ; I. P., C. Evans ; 0. P., N. H. Nichols ; jr. ex. C., C. Carr ; sen. ex. C., W. A. Henchberger ; rep., S. Henchberger ; prox., M. A. Nichols ; trustees, R. E. Shaw, R. J. Conklin, James Miller: I. D. S. C., J. L. Conklin.
 

     Susquehanna Assembly of the Knights of Labor organization of Clearfield, was created by charter dated June 11, 1886, to nineteen charter members. The officers chosen at their first meeting were : John Schafer, master workman ; George Whorl, worthy foreman ; Charles Bickle, car. and rec. secretary ; Wesley Leisure, treasurer. Having been in existence only a year, the order has exhibited a remarkable growth, increasing to sixty present members. Their meetings are held each Wednesday evening at the K. of P. Hall, Kratzer’s Building. The officers for the present year are: George Cowdrick, M. W. ; Albert Dutra, W. F. ; ,William Short, sec’y ; Henry Schafer, treas.

     The Good Templars, an order for the promotion of the cause of temperance, was chartered February 26, 1879, with thirty-four members. Their charter officers were as follows : Thomas F. Cooper, W. C. T. ; Melissa Burley, W. V. T. ; John E. Harder, W. sec. ; Jennie McPherson, W. A. sec. ; Charles H. Halford, W. F. sec. ; Kate V. Murray, W. treasurer. Regular meetings were
held for some time, and the aim of the society was approved by nearly all persons, but of late there seems to be a decline, both in membership and interest. No regular meetings are now held.
 

     St. Francis Catholic Total Abstinence and Benevolent Society, is an organization for the promotion of temperance among the members and congregation of St. Francis R. C. Church. It was formed through the efforts of Rev. Father Sheridan, pastor of that church, with the assistance of members of the congregation. The society has a membership of about thirty persons.

 

 

 

 

Page 373

BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.


     The Clearfield Branch of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union was organized Feburary 13, 1884.  This branch is subordinate to the county organization, the county to the State, and that in turn is auxiliary to the National Union created and established in the interest of temperance and good morals throughout the length and breadth of the land.  At the time above referred to, many of the Christian women of this vicinity met for the purpose of a complete and thorough organization of a Branch Union, which resulted in the election of the following officers: President, Mrs. John Reed; general vice president, Mrs. Richard H. Shaw; vice presidents, Miss Helen Powell, of the Presbyterian Society, and Mrs. Israel Test of the Methodist Society.  The rules of the society provide for the selection of a vice president from each church society, but in the early days of this organization, full nominations from each were not made.  Mrs. Thomas H. Murray succeeded Mrs. Reed as president, and was in turn succeeded by Miss Mary A. Irwin.  The Clearfield Union now numbers ninety members, officers as follows: President, Miss Mary A. Irwin; gen. vice president, Mrs. Sarah Jane Shaw; cor. sec., Miss Carrie Test; rec. sec., Mrs. S. J. Shaw; treas., Miss Helen Powell; sup't school work, Mrs. J. F. Irwin; sup't jail work, Mrs. Ada Harwick; sup't press work, Mrs. J. F. Irwin; sup’t on unfermented wine, Mrs. Dr. Hartswick. As assistants to the ladies there are eight gentlemen, who are made honorary members of the Union. Connected with the work of the Union, there has been organized the Children’s Band of Hope, now numbering eighty members, under the superintendence of Miss Sadie Gallagher, assisted by Miss Mark Heckendorn.

     The Clearfield Agricultural Park Association, the only organization of its kind in this section of the county, and the outgrowth of an older society formed for the same object, was created in the year 1871, by Hon. George R. Barrett, James L. Leavy, Andrew Pentz., jr., Thomas H. Forcey, James McLaughlin, James Mahaffey, R. Newton Shaw, William Powell, W. C. Cardon, F. I. Thompson, John F. Weaver, John Smith, and Robert Wrigley. George R. Barrett was made president ; William Powell, treasurer, and Robert Wrigley, secretary, The capital stock of the association was divided in thirteen shares at $150 each. The object of the society is to promote a friendly competition among farmers in the display of agricultural products, as well as exhibitions of speed and quality in horses; and further to improve the quality of all kinds of live stock. An annual premium is awarded the successful competitor of each class at the annual fall meeting of the association. The park is located in West Clearfield, and embraces about twenty-eight acres of land. A half mile track is laid out, upon which the exhibitions of speed are made. The present president of the association is R. Newton Shaw. The owners are: James L. Leavy, James McLaughlin, T. H. Forcey, R. Newton Shaw, and Ed. Goodfellow.

 

(48)

 

 

 

 

Page 374

HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.

 

SCHOOLS
 

     In this place it is not deemed necessary to make any detailed or even general reference to the educational institutions of Clearfield borough. The subject of education, found in an earlier chapter, is so fully, exhaustively and elaborately treated that special mention here would amount merely to a repetition of what has already been fully commented upon. The chapter referred to, aside from containing full statements and history of the early schools of the county, has as its foundation, a record of the several schools established from time to time in this town and subsequent borough. The chapter was prepared with the greatest care and research and will be found as interesting as it is reliable.
 

FIRE DEPARTMENT.
 

     Prior to 1882, there was no organized means of protection against fire in Clearfield. While the town had been remarkably fortunate in escaping any general conflagration, or serious fire losses, a number of disastrous fires had occurred, entailing heavy losses to individuals, and which were only confined to a small area by the heroic efforts of citizens. In March, 1882, a volunteer fire department was organized, whose object was to combine proficiency and discipline, and insure a perfect organization. The town council appointed a chief marshal and two assistants, whose duty it was to take charge at fires of the entire force of firemen and citizens present, and direct all measures needful on such occasions. The social organization consisted of a president and two vice-presidents, a treasurer and secretary, to be elected annually by the members of the department. The firemen are under a distinct organization, consisting of a hook and ladder and hose company, with seventy-five members, and under command of a foreman and two assistants, a captain of ax, marshal and steward. The equipments of the company consist of a fireman’s hat, belt and shirt. The apparatus now in use is a hook and ladder truck fully equipped with modern appliances, and a hose truck with one thousand feet of three-inch hose.

     In 1886, the borough authorities erected, on the market lot, a brick building with truck room on the first floor, and firemen’s hall and council room on the second. The officers elected at the first meeting were G. L. Reed, chief marshal ; P. A. Gaulin, first assistant; Captain David McGaughey, second assistant ; W. E. Wallace, president, and W. W. Betts and W. R. McPherson vcie-presidents. The officers in command of the company were A. W. Walters, foreman ; George C. Moore, first assistant, and George W. Johnson, second assistant.

     The present officers are A. M. Bloom, president; D. R. Fullerton and Daniel Leipold, vice-presidents; J. F. McKenrick, foreman ; A. J. Sharbaugh,

 

 

 

 

Page 375
BOROUGH OF CLEARFIELD.


first assistant; J. M. Bloom, second assistant; James Doty, marshal; W. B. Holmes, steward; Abe Hess, captain of ax; J. H. Martin, secretary, and F. C. Cardon, treasurer. Drill meetings are held weekly and business meetings monthly. The company is a member of the Pennsylvania State Association of Volunteer Firemen.


CEMETERIES.


     The first tract of land laid out for the burial-place of deceased persons in the vicinity of Clearfield, was the “ Ogden grave-yard,” as it has always been known. The exact time at which this lot was first used for the purpose cannot now be definitely determined. There are still standing two plain stones bearing date of interment earlier than 1814. Daniel Ogden, the pioneer,
was buried there in 1818. The lot lies in the south part of the borough, a short distance above M. S. Ogden’s residence. In all there were not to exceed fifty interments made in this lot, and it comprises only a few square rods of land. There have been no interments here for many years.

     On the corner now occupied by the Lutheran Church edifice there was a small grave-yard known as the Frazier burying-ground. There is difficulty in fixing the date of its laying out, and no trace of its existence now remains, the bodies having been removed for the erection of the church.

     The oldest regularly laid out cemetery in the vicinity was the tract of land in the east part of the town known as the Clearfield Cemetery, and is said, on competent authority, to have been established about the year 1838. The land embraced by it was donated by Alexander B. Reed and Richard Shaw. The deed from the former is found on the records, and bears the date January 7, 1853, but the cemetery is known to have been used some time prior to that date. It comprised about three acres of land. The trustees to whom the deed from Mr. Reed was made were Ellis Irwin, Jonathan Boynton, and Ferdinand P. Hurxthal.

     The lands of the present Clearfield Cemetery Company are located a short distance north from the land above mentioned and embrace about twenty acres, eight acres of which are cleared and plotted. The company opened the cemetery for its intended purpose in the month of December, 1881. The capital stock of the corporation is $3,000. The officers are Jonathan Boynton, president ; William H. Dill, treasurer, and James Kerr, secretary; superintendent of grounds, George Thorn ; directors, W. A. Wallace, W. W. Betts, W. D. Bigler, Jno. Boynton, and James Kerr.
 

     From the time of the building of St. Francis Church in 1830, the land adjoining that edifice on the south was used as the Catholic cemetery until the year 1876, when the heirs of the estate of Hugh Leavy donated a piece of land one and one-half acres in extent, for the use of the society as a cemetery. The bodies lying at the grounds near the church were disinterred and removed

 

 

 

 

Page 376
HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY.


to the new lot.  This cemetery is near the borough line, and just outside of it near the southeast part of the borough.


     Of the other old cemeteries in the vicinity, but not within the borough are the Shaw family burying-grounds, situated on the hill side west of and opposite the borough, and the Owens grave-yard on lands of John Owens, by whom it was laid out about a mile east from the borough. Of these two only the Owens lot has been used as a public burying-place.

     Before closing this chapter and after having presented to the reader an outline of the various branches of trade, industry

and improvement centered in and about the borough of Clearfield, a general view of the place at large will not appear out of place in this connection. What with its diversified business interests, its manufactures, its railroads, its excellent educational advantages, its churches, its broad, level and well-kept avenues of travel, its attractive, and in many instances, elegant residences, its natural beauty of location, and last, but by no manner of means least, the honest pride, culture, hospitality, and social qualities of its inhabitants in general, Clearfield borough seems destined in the future to maintain, as she has in the past acquired, the reputation of being the most attractive and desirable place of residence in the county, or in this section of the State.

 

 

 

   

Return to Top of Page

 

Return To Clearfield County Main Index Page

 

Ellis Michaels, Clearfield County PAGenWeb Archives File Manager

 

 

Copyright 1997-2008, USGenWeb Archives