Tyrone of Today
The Gateway of the Alleghenies
BY REV. W. H. WILSON
Tyrone, PA., Press of THE HERALD, 1897.
A Project of Blair County PA USGenWeb Archives
| TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
VI. Social Life.
The first thought of an outsider when seeking information about a town is, "what are the hotel facilities?" It may be truthfully said that at any of our public houses the visitor will be well cared for.
The Ward House in Tyrone, like the Logan House in Altoona, is the hotel best known to travelers. Its location just opposite the railroad station gives it preeminence, and its large space and faultless accommodations have kept it in the lead. The present lessee, Mr. J. McC. Davis, is endeavoring to improve upon the high record which it has achieved under his predecessors. Since he took charge in May 1897, improvements have been made in the building, both outside and inside. The original frame building and the brick added later, each four stories high, constitute a large, attractive and popular house of entertainment, where every convenience will be found. Whether topping between trains, or for a protracted stay, the visitor will find the Ward House first class and satisfactory. The number of people daily sheltered and fed within its ample walls is equal to that of a village of respectable size.
Passing up the street from the station, the Central Hotel is seen after crossing the bridge. It is a three story brick, well kept by C. M. Waple, of high repute among our own people and liberally patronized by the traveling public.
The city Hotel is the oldest in town and at the center of gravity of the population. It is a three story brick structure well fitted up and well conducted by its proprietor, Charles Woodin.
Adjoining the post office is the Keystone, owned and run by F. J. Miller. Though in the thick of business, there is quiet and comfort in this hotel.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
On the corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Eleventh street is the Empire House, a three story frame, conducted by C. A. Baumgardner. Here the guest will find comfortable quarters and wholesome fare.
Nearly opposite the Empire is the Pennsylvania House, a two story frame, where Troutwine Brothers offer to the public good meals and lodging.
Farthest up town, but with regular and rapid communication by bus to and from the station, is the Hotel Myron, a new and handsome three story brick building. Its appearance is prepossessing, and in the few months since its opening it has established a good business.
On the corner of Blair avenue and Tenth street is the Farmers' Hotel, kept by H. M. Graffius, having the favor and patronage of a goodly number of our people.
The Arlington House stands on the corner of Tenth street and Logan avenue. This is an old hotel, built in 1853 by Joshua Burley, known as the Central for many years, and under its present name maintained as a popular home-like place of entertainment. The landlord, D. H. Haagen, is well and favorably known in Tyrone and among the traveling fraternity.
Of the guild of travelers, Tyrone has itself a large contingent. They keep us in touch with the outside world and make their trips with ease and celerity by the peerless Pennsylvania railroad, but regularly and resistlessly gravitate to the center, for "there's no place like" Tyrone to the traveling man.
RECREATION AND AMUSEMENT.
The principal hall for public entertainments is the Academy of Music, located at 200 East Tenth street, and owned by The Tyrone Opera House Company, of which the president is I. P. Walton; secretary, Claude Jones, and business manager, C. M. Waple. This is a fine building, 60 by 100 feet, having steam heat and gas and electric light. Its cost was $18,000 and the seating capacity is 1,000. For lectures, concerts, dramas and all public gatherings requiring a
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
large audience room, the Academy of Music is in requisition, and for seating arrangement and stage room it is fully equal to the average city theater.
Tyrone Club is a purely social organization of about one hundred members, comprising many of the leading citizens. Its history began in 1891, and in November of that year its attractive suite of rooms in Conrad's building, over the Franciscus Hardware Company's store, was fitted up. The parlor, which looks out on the avenue, is supplied with conveniences for writing and with numerous daily papers and the best weekly and monthly magazines. Back of this is the card room and the billiard and pool room. Games are played but gambling is forbidden, and the rule in this regard are very rigidly enforced. The Club, though not constituted for business, has shown a generous public spirit, and on several occasions has opened its parlors for public meetings to consult about the interests of the town. Its officers are: President, H. L. Sholly; vice president. J. G. Anderson; secretary, J. W. Howe; treasurer, D. S. Kloss. Besides these officers there is a board of managers consisting of eight members.
Another organization which is both social and educational is St. Matthew's Athletic Association, composed of young men of St. Matthew's Catholic church. Their spacious hall covers the entire second floor of the parochial school building, which is neatly furnished, containing a library of several hundred volumes and a well equipped gymnasium. The officers are: President, Rev. T. W. Rosensteel; vice president, P. S. McCann; secretary, H. B. Kearney; treasurer, M. McCann.
Mention is made elsewhere of the club rooms of the Elks, which are over Mrs. Ella Black's millinery store on Pennsylvania avenue.
Horse fanciers and trainers find attractions in Charles Woodin's Driving Park, about a mile below town. In an enclosure of twenty-two acres, there is an excellent half-mile track and all conveniences for both horse and driver. Bicycle and base ball have numerous devotees in Tyrone and for either of these, the ground is especially favorable in and around town.
Allusion is made in the preceding chapter to the Reser-
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
voir Park which the Gas and Water Company are fitting up for public use. It will doubtless become a popular resort. Already several outing parties report very enjoyable picnics held there. The abundance of water and shade and diversified landscape in all directions about Tyrone give every facility for rustic recreation.
Tyrone Band. - Our people are justly proud of the Tyrone Band which, under the lead of Mr. Harry L. Stewart, has attained a high standard of efficiency, and has, during the present season delighted the citizens by its renderings of classical and current music on several occasions. It is hoped and expected that this young organization will press forward and become a permanent institution. The town has a good share of musicians of talent, both vocal and instrumental. The Tyrone City Band was organized by the present leader in July, 1896, and numbers about 20 performers. Each of their public entertainments has been successful, both musically and financially. It has been their custom to give weekly open air concerts in different parts of the town. In purchasing their instruments they were generously aided by a few citizens obligating themselves to the amount of several hundred dollars, of which the most has been paid. There still remains a debt of about $300 which an appreciative public will not allow to remain upon the donors. The officers of the band are: President and Treasurer, Geo. H. Garner; Secretary, Matt L. Allison; Musical Director, Harry L. Stewart.
FRATERNAL AND BENEFICIAL ORDERS.
The fraternity of the Square and Compass is well represented among us, By courtesy of their secretary, William F. Vogt, we are enabled to present the following facts. Tyrone Lodge, No. 494, F. and A. Masons, is in a flourishing condition, has an invested fund, and would be considerably better off financially if the large amounts given for charity were not taken into consideration. The relief of poor distressed brethren, their widows and orphans, forms a chapter in which charity whether given individually by brethren or as a Lodge is one of its brightest pages. Yet Freemasonry is not
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
strictly speaking, a beneficial order, it is a charitable and benevolent institution, in which the Fatherhood of God and the Brotherhood of man forms one of its brightest precepts. The lodge was constituted on Monday, July 10th, A.D. 1871, by Alexander M. Lloyd of Hollidaysburg, acting for the Right Worshipful Grand Master of Pennsylvania, together with his Grand Officers. Among the officers of the Lodge then installed were Rev. Thomas Barnhart, Worshipful Master; J. A. Boyer, Senior Warden; Rev. S. M. Moore, Junior Warden; T. W. Graffius. Treasurer; John Reynolds, Secretary. The trustees elected on July 17th, 1871, were: M. Robeson, S. C. Stewart and I. P. Walton. The number of charter members cornprising the Lodge at its institution was twenty-five. The present membership is one hundred and thirty-two. Tyrone Lodge, No. 494, F. and A. M. meets on the third Monday of each month at 7 p. m., in Masonic Hall, south-east corner Pennsylvania avenue and Tenth street, in the First National Bank building. The officers for 1897 are: J. William Howe, W. M.; William G. Scott, S. W.; M. James Watt, J. W.; D. Shelley Moss, Treasurer; William F. Vogt, Secretary; Alonzo J. Latham, Isaac P. Walton, Rudolph Gingrich, Trustees.
Tyrone Lodge, No. 152, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, was instituted July 17, 1872. The first officers were: Noble Grand, John A. Boyer; Vice Grand, J. J. Boyer; Secretary, F. M. Bell; Treasurer, John A. Hiller. Mr. Hiller has been re-elected each year and at this date still holds the office of treasurer. The Lodge has been prosperous and has had an average membership of about 74, at present numbering 89. The officers are: Noble Grand, Geo. H. Wolf; V. G., John Schrock; Secretary, Walter Burley; Treasurer, John A. Hiller; Trustees, H. G. Elder, Martin Herzog, C. M. Waple. There has been paid out of the treasury for sick benefits over $9000. In 1889 the Lodge built and now owns its own hall, consisting of a three story brick building situated on Pennsylvania avenue, between 10th street and the Juniata river, having two store rooms on the first floor, offices and banquet room on second floor, and hall on third floor. The lodge room has no equal in Blair county, being large and commodious. This year
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
No. 152 reaches the quarter of a century mark with six of its charter members on its roll. The membership now is composed of all classes of men, in every day pursuits, and as some are being dropped from the roll, by death and other cause, new ones are being added to the list.
The Daughters of Rebecca, an adjunct of Odd Fellowship, have an active organization of 42 members with the following officers: N. G., Mrs. Viola Gilman; V. G., Miss Mary Carns: Treasurer, Miss Henrietta Hiller; Secretary, Walter Burley.
The Knights of Pythias have a chivalrous name, suggestive of a heart both brave and tender. The statement here given is drawn up by W. E. Hoffman, a member of the heroic order. The Knights of Pythias are the leading fraternal and beneficial order in Tyrone. Their principles and objects briefly stated are as follows: Using the story of Damon and Pythias they take their friendship and the noble self sacrifice of Pythias as an example and have Friendship, Charity and Benevolence as foundation principles. Their aim is to alleviate the sufferings of a brother, succor the unfortunate, zealously watch at the bedside of the sick, soothe the dying pillow, perform the last sad rites at the grave of a brother, offering consolation to the afflicted and caring for the widow and orphan. They have the following organizations iii Tyrone: Sinking Spring Lodge No. 127, which was instituted August, 6, 1886. This Lodge has flourished wonderfully and been of great benefit to the community. Notwithstanding the fact that they have paid out nearly $12,000 for relief since their institution, they have on hand and invested, the neat sum of $2,585.95, and paraphernalia worth $525, making a total worth of $3,110.95. They meet every Tuesday evening in Hiller's hall. Their membership is about 160. Following are the present officers: Chancellor Commander, John Oberly; Vice Chancellor, Joseph Wertz; Keeper of Records and Seal, Chas. Igou; Master of Finance, J. D. Lucas; Master of Exchequer, W. F. Hiller; Representative, W. E. Hoffman; Trustees, J. A. Hiller, T. J. VanScoyoc and John S. Coulter. Section 3512 of the Endowment Rank K. of P., is also located in our town. This is the insurance branch of the order. It
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
furnishes insurance for Knights at about one-third the cost in old line companies. On the first day of February, 1897, this branch numbered over 47,000 members, and the insurance in force exceeded $91,000,000. $11,000,000 have thus far been paid to beneficiaries of deceased members The officers of the Local Section are: President, W. E. Hoffman; Vice President, A. J. Coulter; Secretary, J. D. Lucas; Med. Examiner, W. S. Musser, M. D. The Uniform Mink or Military branch of the K. of P. is represented in Tyrone by Tyrone Company No. 65, which was instituted May 20, 1897, with a membership of 35. They are handsomely uniformed and under the direction of their hustling and energetic captain are rapidly becoming proficient in military tactics and growing in numbers. They meet every Monday evening in Sheridan Troop Armory. The officers are: Captain, H. A. Gripp; 1st Lieut. Dr. A. G. Appleby; 2d Lieut. W. E. Hoffman; Recorder, Jos. Eschbach; Treasurer, Dr. B. J. Fulkerson; Guard, A. D. Smith; Sentinel, John Oberly. Since the above was written Captain Gripp has become Assistant Adjutant General for Pennsylvania and the officers now are: Captain, A. G. Appleby, M. D.; 1st Lieut., W. E. Hoffman.
The Elk is an animal which carries his head high, and the initials B.P.O.E. are enigmatic to the uninitiated. They might mean Biggest People On Earth, but on inquiry we are assured that the letters denote the harmless words "Benevolent Protective Order of Elks" and we are satisfied. Tyrone Lodge No. 212, B.P.O. Elks was instituted July 14th, 1891. They occupy the second and third floors of the Kirk building on Penna. avenue which are fitted up comfortably as parlors, reading room, billiard room, banquet hall, and lodge room, everything being arranged for the comfort and convenience of the members while a steward is in charge to attend their wants. The membership is 62. The present officers are : E. R., H. A. Gripp; E. Ld. Kt., A. E. Jones; E. Loy. Kt., J. McC. Davis; E. Lee. Kt., Sam Cosel; Secy., W. E. Hoffman; Treas., J. P. Harris, Jr.; Trustees, E. T. Watts, J. K. Ray, J. G. McCamant. Lodge meets on the 2nd and 4th Fridays at 8 p. m.
A. A. STEVENS, ESQ.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
The Eagle too, is a high soarer, but a golden eagle would by force of gravitation be held close to earth. Tyrone Castle, No. 79, Knights of the G. E., is not built in air but rests on a solid financial basis of about $3,000, and insures to its beneficiaries on the death of each member, a golden solace of $1000. The triple motto of the order is "Fidelity, Valor and Honor," and in 24 years it has acquired a membership of about 75,000 in the United States. The Castle in Tyrone is flourishing, its Noble Chief being T. J. Scott and the Master of Records, Walter Burley. They meet in Odd Fellows' hall on the first Friday evening of each month.
The Royal Arcanum, as its name imports, is the possessor of a secret which entitles it to high rank among societies of its class. There is no royal road to learning, but one secret of success in living is to have something to leave when dying to a bereaved family. The Arcanum provides a sick benefit and a death payment of $3000. In 20 years the order has grown to the number of probably 150,000 and has in that time paid over $20,000,000 in death benefits. Tyrone Council, No. 943, was organized in 1887 and has 69 members. They have paid $12,000 on death claims. They meet in Odd Fellows' hall on the second and fourth Mondays of each month. Regent, H.G. Elder; Secretary, J. W. Robinson.
The Seven Wise Men of Greece were famous in their day, but modern progress has brought forth a better thing. The Improved Order of Heptasophs is less than twenty years old but their wisdom is patri-archal. The present Archon of Tyrone Conclave, No. 138, is R. B. Freeman; Past Archon. A. M. Wooden; Secretary, F. R. Crawford. In its duration of about 10 years, it has paid to families of deceased member $8000 and has increased from 27 members to 50. Meetings are held on second and fourth Tuesdays, in Odd Fellows' hall.
Last of the beneficiary brotherhoods comes Emerald Beneficiary Association, Branch No. 23, whose main objects are Benevolence and Insurance. Its officers are: President, William Lanners, Jr.; Secretary, P. S. McCann; Treasurer, Farran Zerbe.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
The Railway Employees have their own protective organizations as follows:
Tyrone Division, No. 467, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, organized 1891. Its members are about 40 in number and meet in Odd Fellows' hall, on the first Monday evening and the third Sunday of each month. Chief Engineer, H. M. LaPorte; Secretary, W. II. Huss; Treasurer and Insurance Agent, W. S. Smith.
Order of Railway Conductors of America, Tyrone Division No. 51, organized 1891, meets on the third Monday evening in Odd Fellows' hall. This order has paid a death claim of $3000 for one of its deceased members. Chief Conductor, W. S. Taylor; Secretary, S. C. Cowen.
There is also a local organization of the Order of Railway Trainmen which is active and well sustained.
These next claim our attention among which the place of honor belongs to the Grand Army of the Republic. For service in the field they have finished their course and fought their last fight; but they have banded together to keep alive the feeling of fraternity among those who shared the hardships of perilous campaigns, to aid the needy and cheer the sorrowing, and to promote by their influence and example the sentiment of loyalty to the best government on earth, for which they fought.
The people of Blair County were excelled by none in their devotion to the flag of the Union in the perilous times that tried men's souls. The sentiments of the following lines by Miss Ida Clarkson Lewis are so eminently true and so fitly expressed, that we gladly make room for them here:
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
Col. D. M. Jones Post, No. 172, Department of Pennsylvania, G.A.R., was mustered in on May 8th, 1880, and has its regular meetings on the second and fourth Saturday evenings of each month in their rooms in Study Block, 10th street and Pennsylvania avenue. It has had an enrollment of 258, of whom 45 have been removed by death and others from various causes, leaving its present membership 94. The Commander of the Post is C. S. W. Jones; Senior V.C., P. H.. Meadville; Junior V.C., J. P. Bateman; Adjutant, Martin Burley; Trustees, C. S. W. Jones, J. A. London, H. F. Copelin.
The Women's Relief Corps was established in Tyrone in 1880 and has a membership of 29. It is auxiliary to the G.A.R. and its object is to labor for the benefit of the soldiers of the late war and their orphan children. The meetings of the W.R.C. are on the first and third Tuesdays of each month in G.A.R. hall and its officers are: President, Mrs. M. J. Ewlng; Secretary, Mrs. Lizzie Miller; Treasurer, Mrs. Emma Morgan.
The Union Veteran Legion is similar in its objects to the G.A.R., aiming to perpetuate the three great principles of
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
Fraternity, Charity and Patriotism and to promote the interests of humanity. Encampment No. 36 has 38 members, the whole number enrolled since organizing being 87. Meetings are held on the first Saturday of the month and to its meetings as well as those of the G.A.R., traveling comrades of the respective orders are welcomed. Officers of the U. V. I,. are: Colonel, Irvin Delaney; Lt. Col., Joseph Ammerman; Adjutant, Martin Burley; Trustees, James T. Owens, C: H. Traynor, Martin Burley.
The Sons of Veterans are associated for the purpose of assisting the G.A.R. and eventually succeeding there in keeping green the graves of ex-soldiers and perpetuating the principles for which they fought.
Col. James Crowther Camp, No. 89, was instituted in February, 1895. They number about 30 and meet in G.A.R. hall on the first and third Thursdays of each month at 8 p.m. Captain, C. B. Brown; Past Captains, J. L. Beyer, W. E. Hoffman.
The following organizations are very similar in their principles and purposes, their principal object being to maintain American principles and institutions and to oppose un-American ideas and practices, especially the union of church and state, to defend and promote the American system of public schools, and to foster genuine patriotism.
Washington Camp, No. 327, Patriotic Order Sons of America, was instituted May 28, 1888. 1t has 94 members and meets in Hiller's hall every Monday evening. Officers: Past President, James A. Doty; President, J. F. Moore; Rec. Secretary, John S. Coulter; Trustees, A. B. Struble, A. S. Myers, J. B. Smith.
Good Will Council Junior Order United American Mechanics was organized March, 25, 1884, with 67 members. It now numbers 140 and is worth $3,649.33, having paid during the last term $595 in benefits. The word "Junior" has no relation to the age of the members, having been adopted to distinguish it from an organization bearing a similar name; nor is the word "Mechanic" to be construed literally, but as embracing every occupation. Its meetings are every Thurs-
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
day evening in Hiller’s hall. Its principal officers are: Councillor, Geo. Calderwood: V. C., Lloyd Miller; Secretary,Edward Igou: financial Secretary, Augustus Harr; Treasurer, W. F. Hiller; Trustees, James Cree, Jerry Snyder, W. S. Meredith.
East Tyrone Council, No.346, Jr. O. U. A.M., is a little over a year old but has increased from a very small nucleus to 91 members. They meet every Tuesday evening in Goheen’s hall. Their Councillor is J. W. Peary; V. C. B. L., Frantz; R. S., Chas. Stonebraker; Financial Sec., D. E. McLucas; Treasurer, J. C. Goheen; Trustees, M. M. Smith, Geo. Miller, J. M. Goheen.
The Daughters of America is an organization auxiliary to the Jr. O.U.A.M. and with similar aims. The following are among its principal officers: Councillor, Wm. Meredith; Assistant C., Rose Hamilton; Vice Councillor, Gen. Calderwood; Assistant C., Miss Emma Havens; Recording Secretary, Sadie Maffit; Trustees, Wm. Meredith, Ella White, Blanche Hess.
CHURCHES AND RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS.
The First M. E. church was organized in 1852 and its first house of worship, built in 1853, still stands on the corner of Washington avenue and Twelfth street. The large and elegant sanctuary on Logan avenue, corner of Twelfth street. The large and elegant sanctuary on Logan avenue, corner of Twelfth street, was built in 1885. The first preacher in Tyrone was Rev. Plummer E. Waters. The present pastor is Rev. Horace Lincoln Jacobs, under whom the efficiency of the church has been maintained and its growth promoted. The membership now exceeds 700; the value of property, including the parsonage at 1217 Logan avenue, nearly $30,000. During the last year the church expenses have exceeded $3,000; the Missionary collections from church and Sunday school amounted to $750, besides large amounts contributed for other objects. The Sunday school has an enrolment of 715; Superintendent, F. R. Waring, with four assistants; Secretary, S. I. Housel. The Secretary and Treasurer of the Stewards is J. H. Reiley; Secretary of Trustees, C. H. Dieffenbaugh. The Epworth League
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
has 162 members, the president being I. C. M. Ellenberger and secretary May Irvin Berry. Its devotional meetings are held on Sunday at 6:30 p.m. The Junior League numbers 130. Its president is the pastor; vice president, Irvin Stewart; corresponding secretary, Miss Lulu McCans. The church has several flourishing and helpful Women’s Societies, which have done much to advance its interests, and it is a great power for good in the community.
church of the United Brethren in Christ. - The United Brethren in Christ is one of the oldest church organizations in Tyrone. For want of the record the exact date of organization cannot be given. The first church building erected by the society, was dedicated in the spring of 1856. Because of some financial trouble the church was sold in 1858 and re-bought in 1863. It was used for some time during the war as an army barrack, after which it was repaired and used until the spring of 1887, when it was sold and the brick building on Pennsylvania avenue was erected and dedicated Nov. 13, 1887. When the new church was built in 1887 the society numbered 90. The present membership (July, 1897,) is 124. Present church property is valued at $5,500. The church has a Sunday school numbering 135, superintendent, Wm. J. Buck. The church has also a Sr. Christian Endeavor, numbering 39, and a Jr. Christian Endeavor society, numbering about 50, and two active Women’s Societies. The present class leader is Sam’l Bennet. Rev. J. L. Leichliter is the earnest and large-hearted pastor.
St. Mathew’s Catholic Church. - The first services held for the adherents of the Catholic faith in this region were about 1793, probably in Sinking Valley, when Rev. Demetrius Gallitzin, a Russian prince whose memory is preserved in the name of our neighboring town, traveled these mountains. Of the recent pastors of the flock, the one who by long service is entitled to the highest honor, is Rev. J. C. Farran. His labors extended through 27 years during which the congregation was built up from a very small number to about 500 members, and preparations were made for the present edifice of worship, the ground being broken in 1880, the foundation laid in 1891
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
and the corner stone on June 30, 1895. The church property comprises a whole square, bounded by 11th street, Cameron avenue, 12th street, and the borough line. Here are grouped the rectory, schools, convent and the stately sanctuary, which was dedicated to worship on December 8, 1896, by Bishop Phelan, of Pittsburg. Its position attracts attention from the station and gives at once a pleasing impression of the town, as the most conspicuous building is seen to be so elegant a church. It is built of brick, with corner trimmings of white sandstone, and faces the rising sun. At the corner is a tower 125 feet high, surrounded by four battlements and surmounted by a cross of copper and gold, 8 feet high. A spacious vestibule in front is entered by two doors. The dimensions outside are 65 by 108 feet and the auditorium 60 by 80 feet with a middle and two side aisles; the pews and the confessional being of oak. The main altar is Romanesque in style, 32 feet high, and the two side altars each 14 feet high, all elaborately finished. The widows of stained glass are both handsome and imposing and are, most of them, memorials donated by members and friends of the church. This whole structure, built for about $35,000, is a monument to the skill of the architect, S. W. Foulk, of Newcastle, Pa. A peal of three bells in the tower sends out its cheery summons morning, noon and night, to remind our citizens of the claims of higher things than this world’s toils and cares. The parochial schools, three in number, are in charge of Sisters of Mercy and have an enrollment of 106. The flourishing condition of St. Matthew’s church is due in large measure to the diligence and wise management of its priest, Rev. T. W. Rosensteel, whose affable manners have won many friends for himself and the church. It would be unjust, however, not to add that he has many efficient and ardent helpers in his congregation, which comprises some of our most worthy citizens.
The First Prebyterian Church. - This church was organized April 7, 1857, in the old U. B. building. Services were held previously in the old school house on “Spring” street. Their first house of worship was finished in the same year at a cost of $3500. They were very weak then and the property,
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
largely paid for by friends in the Presbytery, was held by a board of trustees representing that body, the permanency of the newly constituted society being regarded as doubtful. In the early days various members of the church acted as sexton without charge, and for ten years they had but a feeble existence, being ministered to by non-resident pastors. Not until 1867 did the church enjoy the full service of a pastor. Since that time the following ministers have had charge of the church: Rev. J. H. Clark, 3 years; Rev. S. M. Moore, under whom the number increased from 78 to 323, 17 years; Rev. J. R. Davies, 6 years, the membership growing to 503; Rev. H. G. Furbay, 3 years, at the end of which there were 609 members. In 1896 Rev. A. J. Weisley accepted a call and upwards of fifty have since been added. The present fine edifice on Logan avenue and 13th street, was built in 1882 and enlarged in 1891. The seats are so arranged that all eyes converge towards the pulpit: a gallery extends nearly around the room; the windows are large and ornamental. The lecture room; seating 500, communicates with the audience room so as to form, when desired, one larger auditorium. Adjoining the church is an elegant manse, built in 1894, the whole property being valued at $48,000. The Session is composed of S. S. Blair, who is moderator of the congregation; S. McCamant, S. W. Barr, clerk; J. F. Wilson, C. O. Templeton, J. W. Moore and J. C. Goheen. The Sunday school has over 50 officers and teachers and enrolls nearly 700 scholars under the superintendence of W. T. Canan. There is a Y. P. S. C. E. of about 120 members, a Junior Society and several Women’s Societies. These latter have aided very largely in both the spiritual and financial work of the church, the value of their services being rarely recognized as it should be in churches of every denomination. During the year ending March 31, 1897, the expenditures for all objects was over $6500, more than $1000 of which was for benevolence.
The German Evangelical Lutheran Zion’s Church. - The congregation was organized on December 4, 1853, Rev. Henry Baker, of Altoona, being the minister in charge then and for several years following. The first officers were: Jacob
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
Straightoof and W. R. Maxwell, elders; Robert Waring and Philip Hoover, deacons. In 1863 Rev. A. R. Height became pastor. In 1865 the present house of worship was erected on Logan avenue, above 12th street. The building committee was Dr. H. A. Roedell and C. Seeger. In 1872 a portion of the members withdrew to form an English speaking church and in that year a charter of incorporation was obtained. The present pastor is Rev. E. A. Born, who resides in Houtzdale and conducts services in Tyrone on alternate Sundays. The officers of the congregation are: Elders, Wilson Heinly and J. M. Seeger; Trustees, C. Seeger, D. Bauer. The value of the church edifice and parsonage, which corners on 13th street, is about $6,500.
The First Lutheran Church. - It was organized on March 25th, 1872, and had the pastoral services of Rev. J. Kistler until October, 1877. Subsequent pastors have been Rev. J. H. Walterick, 4 years; Rev. H. M. Oberholtzer, 8 years; Rev. A. S. Fichthorn, 4 months, and Rev. F. L. Bergstresser, who began his work with this congregation on June 2, 1892. Since April 1, 1891, the church has been self-sustaining. The church edifice, built of brick with basement and seating 300, was dedicated August 27, 1882. It is too small for the growing congregation and it is probable that next year will witness the erection of an elegant building by this people. The officers of the church are: J. Edgar Kloss, J. H. Albright, Dr. Elmer Crawford, Adam Estricher, John Schirm, A. B. Struble, W. J. McKelvey and T. J. Gates, who with the pastor, constitute the council of the church. The membership is about 275, and the Sunday school numbers 280, having 28 classes under the general superintendence of Mr. J. H. Albright. In 1894 a parsonage was built on Lincoln avenue, No. 1034. The value of the church property is about $12,000.
Columbia Avenue M. E. Church. - This church is the outgrowth of a class organized by Rev. Thomas Barnhart in 1871, a chapel being built on 21st street. The first leader was Brother Zane B. Gary. In 1873 and again in 1884, Rev. George Guyer became pastor, serving in all five years. The present edifice was begun in 1891, Rev. William Brill being
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
pastor, and dedicated in 1893. Rev. Franklin Welsh was in charge for one year and was succeeded by the present pastor, Rev. V. T. Rue, whose labors have been very successful. The building, as seen in the cut, is a handsome brick structure standing on the corner of 18th street and Columbia avenue, with a seating capacity of 500. The membership, exceeding 300, is included in six classes. The Sunday school numbers nearly 500, superintendent, H. L. Budd; secretary, Alvin Bathurst. The Epworth League, president, Wm. Stonebraker, numbers nearly one hundred; the Junior League, the training school of the church, comprises 216 members; president, Lizzie Ginter; secretary, James Foster. The two Circles of King’s Daughters and the Ladies’ Aid Society have been especially helpful in sustaining the burdens of the church.
The Baptist Church was organized in 1870, Rev. J. L. Holmes, pastor. The edifice then erected, a frame 35 by 55 feet is now undergoing reconstruction. The present membership is about 70 and that of the Sunday school about 100. The pastor, settled in December, 1896, is Rev. Frank Howes; Sunday school superintendent, D. R. Harris. The church includes some excellent and devoted Christian workers but has not attained large success in visible strength.
A Mission of the Protestant Episcopal Church know as St. Philip’s, was started in Tyrone many years ago, services having been held at irregular intervals previous to the war, but in recent years a new organization was effected under the name Trinity Mission. After meeting for several years in the public school house and in halls, it was decided during the incumbency of Rev. W. L. Reaney, to erect a building. Lots had been bought in 1888, on Washington avenue near Ninth street, and on August 15th the corner stone was laid by the Masonic fraternity. The contract was taken and the work executed by S. McCamant & Co., and the first service was held in it on November 11, 1894. The edifice is of antique, Gothic design, seating about 200. While plain in the exterior it is very tasty and attractive internally. The ceiling around and above is unusually well planned so as to please the eye by variety in form and cheerful color. There are eight windows
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
of colored glass, no two alike in design, besides six smaller ones for ventilation opening from the roof. A commodious vestibule in the front, a vestry in the rear and a basement for the furnace make the building complete for its intended uses. Services are held each Sunday, alternating from morning on one to evening the next Sunday. The stately liturgy of the Episcopal church is conducive to reverent worship and is participated in by the congregation in a manner that is hearty, the singing being especially commendable. Prominent in the building enterprise and in advancing the interests of the church are Messrs. H. L. Sholly and Richard Beaston. The property is worth about $6000 and the prospect is favorable for the Mission to develop into a strong and useful Church. The Mission mourns the loss of its late rector, Rev. W. H. I. Houghton, who died suddenly in Huntingdon, where he resided, on August 19, 1897.
The German Baptist Brethren Church. - The first service of this body was held in the home of one of the members. The interest grew and attendance increased, until it was found necessary to secure a larger place for worship, and a hall was rented for that purpose, and preaching was held each Lord’s day. A Sunday school was also organized here, which soon became encouraging in attendance. The Mission Board of Central Pennsylvania came to their assistance and helped secure a lot of ground on corner of Adams avenue and 18th street, and also to erect thereon a commodious brick church 45x30 feet, with two primary rooms for Sunday school. An organization of the membership was effected June 24, 1894, consisting of nine members, and regular services and Sunday school have since been held. The secretary’s book shows an enrollment of one hundred and ten scholars at present, and the membership of the church has increased to thirty-eight. In April of present year, a pastor, Rev. W. S. Long, was located in Tyrone, who now lives at 185 W. 14th street, but will soon remove to the commodious parsonage now being built upon a lot adjoining the church.
African M. E. Bethel Church. - The organization was effected by Rev. O. T. Davis in 1888, following whom Rev.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
Charles Garner became pastor and, by strenuous and self-denying efforts, succeeding in erecting their present chapel. It was dedicated July 19, 1896, Rev. Sandy Christen being then pastor. The basement contains a large prayer meeting room, a kitchen and a pastor’s study. The audience room is nicely kalsomined, seated in amphitheatre style, the woodwork being bright in color and the windows of stained glass, two especially handsome as memorials, and the building as a whole is one of the best structures owned by the Conference. It stands on 14th street, just opposite the large school building. The pastor, Rev. A. E. Waldon boards at 123 W. 14th street.
Y.M.C.A. P.R.R. Branch. - There was a Young Men’s Christian Association of Tyrone in 1870, of which B. M. Bunker, Henry Cryder (both now living in Altoona) and F. M. Bell were leading promoters. It did a good work in its day and was kept up for several years. The existing organization is devoted chiefly to work among railroad men, the company contributing liberally to its support. It has now about 150 members, more than half of whom are active. The payment of $2 a year entitles one to all privileges, including the use of bath-room, a very desirable luxury to the dusty toiler. They maintain a Sunday afternoon meeting with great interest the year round, and a Saturday evening meeting, besides cottage meetings, one or two every week, The Association has very comfortable quarters in the Beyer building on Logan avenue, below 14th street. The rooms include a parlor 16 by 22 feet, neatly furnished, a game room 16 by 25 feet, and an audience room 32 feet square, besides closets, bath room, &c. It is heated by hot water, lighted by gas and provided with telephone connection. The reading room, 16 by 30 feet, has ten daily and fifteen weekly papers which are appreciated by “the boys.” The daily average of visitors is about 70. The average attendance at the Sunday meetings last winter was 250 and at the Saturday night meetings about 50. The secretary’s visits average 55 weekly, and since January 1st, 40 conversions have been reported. The Ladies’ Auxiliary numbers 40. The officers of the Association are: President, Wm. T. Canan; Vice President, Samuel Bennett;
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
Rec. Secretary, David Schirm; Treasurer, H. M. Sausser; Managers, S. C. Cowen, Ernest Rothrock, Thomas Minary, S. C. Lightner, Joseph Edmondson, Wm. Laird. E. J. Biddle is the efficient Secretary.
The Christian and Missionary Alliance. - The above is the name of a little congregation which comprises some of the most earnest members of the different churches united upon the basis of a few common principles, sometimes denominated The Fourfold Gospel. That which practically distinguishes this body is their zeal and success in missionary effort. It is but just to say that in this respect they surpass all other societies in proportion to their strength. In their meetings they emphasize the power of the Holy Spirit and a reverent searching of the inspired word. The branch in Tyrone was organized in April, 1895, and now numbers 40 members, the regular meetings being held on Monday and Thursday evenings, in a hall on Tenth street over J. A. C. Stewart’s store. Officer: President, W. F. Meminger; Vice President, F. D. Walker; Secretary, Jesse Stewart. Rev W. L. Tucker, of Altoona, has the oversight of Tyrone Branch.
The Women’s Christian Union. - Among the many societies in Tyrone, there is but one devoted to the important matter of Temperance Reform. That one, composed of the weaker sex, may be described as “Faint, yet pursuing.” They have certainly done good work and we hope they will take heart and improve upon what they have done, until their “works shall be praised in the gates.” What Tyrone owes to their seemingly feeble agency would best be known by asking what Tyrone would have been without the women who have had courage as well as conviction to stand for righteousness and temperance, purity in heart and peace in homes. The first officers, elected in 1885, were: President, Mrs. M. J. Hamer; Secretary, Mrs. D. G. Owens; Treasurer, Mrs. A. J. Mattern. The present officers are: President, Miss E. C. Taylor; Vice President, Mrs. Robert Stewart; Secretary, Mrs. Mary Lord; Treasurer, Mrs. I. C. Caldwell. Of more than one of the faithful workers in this Union it may be said, “she hath done what she could.” In the twelve years of their
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
history they have not allowed the public to forget that there are laws, both human and divine, which condemn dissipation and command sobriety. They have lifted up their protest as a barrier against the violation of those laws. They have labored to educate public opinion by voice and press. They have urged the indoctrination of the school children in the truth that, more than any other, touches their own lives in mind and body. They have helped to tone up conscience in churches and in politics. They have done a noble work through one woman, Mrs. J. Harvey Wilson, among the railroaders. Another woman, Mrs. W. H. Wilson, has sustained for about two years a weekly “ Temperance Column” in the Tyrone Herald. They have planted a fountain as their memorial on the main thoroughfare, where might be inscribed as a good motto these words,
Tyrone, as partially presented in this chapter, offers congenial association to people of various temperaments and habits, and we believe that it is not behind in all that makes for human happiness. We have not tired to uncover the substratum of evil, nor do we flatter ourselves that it is not there, but we thankfully recognize the presence among us of forces that tend to repress the evil and cultivate the better instincts of humanity. To many of us it may be, as with the pioneers of New England, “plain living,” but the aspects of Nature in her immensity and beauty, should prompt us also to “high thinking.” We trust that our readers will put the proper estimate upon the conditions of social life and count as best what we have put last, the institutions that aim to satisfy the soul’s longings for goodness and truth and eternal life.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY
Principal Business Enterprises.
WE GIVE THE first - place in our brief review of the business enterprises of the town, to that which, chronologically claims this distinction,
THE TYRONE IRON COMPANY.
As the animal frame is said to be built up upon the vertebral column, so it is worthy of note that the backbone of Tyrone was the iron industry, without which it is doubtful if it would have existed to-day. The manufacture of iron began before the present century in the township of Warriorsmark, and there and then was the inception of the company which grew to colossal proportions in the days when syndicates were yet unknown. This was the firm of John Gloninger and Co., which in twenty years ranked among the richest corporations of Pennsylvania with furnaces, forges and factories scattered over Huntingdon and Blair counties. Their "plant" was a vigorous one, and of the shoots which it put forth none has had greater vitality or realized larger results than that established about 1809, called Tyrone Forge, from the township in which it was located. The Upper Forge, started about 1815 or 1820 was a new bud which expanded in due time into the Tyrone of to-day. We who live near the close of the nineteenth century would do well to recall the days of the fathers when the century was young. In those days the ironmaster was in his glory because iron itself was master of all commodities. Ironsville was a bustling center of work and trade. Two men by hardest knocks worked out seven tons of iron in a week, receiving seven dollars a ton for their pay. Under the superintendency of John A. Davison, father of our well-known citizen George C. Davison, headless nails were made and sold at twelve cents and upwards a pound, the term ten-
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
penny (or ten for a penny) being not so glaring a misnomer as now. Probably these rude nails were handled and preserved with more care than small coins from Uncle Sam's mint are with us. In those good old days the vices and the luxuries of our times were equally unknown. Every man lived in his log cabin; tall mansions and four-story blocks had not yet arisen, and the corresponding gradations in society were yet undeveloped. All men worked and not less did all women. The growth of riches had not yet evolved the dude and the generation of tramps was yet unborn. We may smile at their methods but we cannot disparage their manhood. Employment was more plentiful than "hands," for machinery had not then come to the kingdom. The labor of man's hands it was that dug the ore and loaded and unloaded it, hammered the glowing mass into shape, swung the axe in the forest and fed the fire that converted the logs into charcoal, cut the ripe grain and spun the soft wool, and performed every function that was needed for comfort and enjoyment in life. Let us not depreciate the old times, but consider that the strain upon manhood is far greater now than then, and that it is harder to gain and keep the mastery over material things in these days of luxury than in those days of poverty.
With several changes of ownership the business has been continued ever since at the lower forge. In 1883 it was reorganized and the Rolling Mill was added. The manufacture is now confined mainly to Boiler Tube Skelp and special high grade Pipe Iron. The building is large, roof and walls being of corrugated iron, and the equipment of work is equal to that of any establishment of like capacity. The present force of employees numbers 140 and the annual output is 12,000 tons gross from the Rolling Mill and 6,000 tons of the product of the Forges. Just across the river, a walk of ten minutes, is Nealmont, where the company's cottages stand out in full view, presenting an attractive picture of a neat and healthful workingmen's village. There is no reason why this important industry should not grow into larger proportions. The superintendent of the works is H. L. Sholly, an experienced and competent ironmaster.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
THE PENNSYLVANIA RAILROAD.
"The sun do move," says the Rev. John Jasper, and on the truth of this proposition he stakes his reputation. The earth does move, is the general belief of nineteenth century folks. A more obvious fact is that the world (that is the people of this earth, and preeminently of this continent) do move. Stand on the platform of our railway station and observe the panorama which passes before the eye in one day, and you will believe that there is nothing stationary upon this earth except the rooted rocks - and you may have your doubts even as to them, for they too are broken off piecemeal and swiftly borne away to distant parts.
This is a world on wheels in which we live. But there is a movement not visible to the eye, yet just as real and as striking, the march of human progress. Look back a hundred years and see the trackless forest which then covered the interior of Pennsylvania. No travel except by footpaths hard to see and follow, or on the easier yet precarious waterway. The thought of a journey from end to end of this one state was like a summons to war, so beset with difficulties as to discourage all but the stoutest hearts. The men of those days, however, were stout-hearted and sturdy, suited to the conditions of their lot; just as there are men today who will face and conquer all the hardships of the Klondike region.
Stepping forward one decade across the dividing line of the centuries, we find that the air is full of projects for better means of transportation.. Roads must be cut through this wilderness, and by Act of Legislature in 1806 it was so determined. The old Turnpike was begun from Harrisburg to Pittsburg. Not till 1820 was it opened out and the lively stage-coach entered the scene of action. But already there was discontent and an irrepressible reaching after improvement. Nature's highways through which the mountain springs empty themselves into the sea suggested the improvement that was practicable, and the bill authorizing the construction of the Turnpike was followed in twenty years by the incorporation of a company to build a Canal. To be accurate we should say two canals, the Western Pa. canal extending from Blairs-
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
ville to Johnstown and the Eastern Pa. canal joining Harrisburg and Hollidaysburg.
In the conception and construction of these great public works no one was more prominent than the Hon. John Blair. He was president of the Turnpike Company but no less active in promoting the Canal. That was a great and historic day when on Nov. 28, 1833, the first packet boat, named after him, set out from Huntingdon drawn by four horses and made its triumphal progress to Williamsburg, a journey which occupied twelve hours, as the canal followed the windings of the river; the completion of the voyage to Hollidaysburg taking another day. The return trip was made with greater dispatch, the party leaving Hollidaysburg in the morning and arriving at Huntingdon in the evening.
The gap of thirty-seven miles between the canals presented another hard problem, but the courage and skill of these pioneers were equal to the demand and a solution was found in the Portage Railroad, a unique scheme for crossing the mountains. The ascent from Johnstown to the summit was accomplished by a railroad twenty-six miles long. For most of this distance the grade was such that the locomotive engine hauled its burden in the ordinary way; but at intervals there were five inclined planes, from a third to half a mile in length, along which the load was propelled by a stationary engine placed at the top. An endless rope carried up four cars with a capacity of fourteen tons on one side and let down four cars on the other. The journey of eleven miles from Hollidaysburg to the top of the mountain was similarly made, but the inclines were longer and steeper, averaging nearly one foot in ten. The roadway was 25 feet wide and included several substantial bridges and a tunnel near the western end, 900 feet long, 20 feet in width and 19 feet high. The road was built at a cost of about $2,000,000, and in 1835 fifty thousand tons of freight and one hundred and twenty thousand passengers crossed the Alleghenies by means of this contrivance. The most novel sight ever witnessed in these woods was that of a boat, laden with a mover's family and household effects, including live stock, which started on the upper Sus-
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
quehanna. It sailed down the river to Harrisburg, up the canal to Hollidaysburg, and was conveyed over the Portage in a special car to Johnstown, whence it resumed its voyage by canal and river to their destination in Illinois.
But, like the Alpine traveler, these early settlers pressed onward and their motto was "Excelsior." Another twenty years has passed. and in 1846 the Legislature is again invoked to lend its sanction to an enterprise greater than pike or portage or canal. In that year the Pa. R.R. was incorporated and steps were taken to connect the city on the Delaware and the city on the Ohio by an iron track. To complete this work eight years were required, and in 1854 cars were running between Philadelphia and Pittsburg. In the midst of these eight years Tyrone had its beginning, and the first train was seen to pass the site of the future city on September 17, 1850.
The few who were here to see this great sight must have felt as if a new world had suddenly sprung into being. They realized that old things had passed away; but they could not know all that it meant for them and the inhabitants of this valley who should fill their places in the end of the century. The corporation which then owned 350 miles of railroad now controls the traffic on nearly 9000 miles of road in the richest portion of the earth. Its earnings have increased from about $300,000 in the first year to $90,000,000 in 1896, which was a year of depression, not including nearly half of its mileage which extends west from Pittsburg. It carried last year 145,000,000 tons an average distance of 88 miles ; and 72,000,000 passengers an average distance of 21 miles each. The report for 1897 will show an immense increase on these figures.
The Pennsylvania railroad might be styled the mother of us all in this region: not the mother that gave us birth, but the foster mother that nourished our being. It found little rude communities like "babes in the woods"; it has "raised" them, surrounded with all the comforts of civilization.
Tyrone is most concerned with the Division which is named after it. The three branches which compose the Tyrone Division of the P.R.R. are: the B.E.V. which, about six miles northeast of Tyrone, crosses the divide between the Little
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
Bald Eagle creek and the Bald Eagle proper, and follows that stream to Lock Haven, near which it empties into the Susquehanna; the Tyrone and Clearfield, which is laid over the Alleghany mountain, the summit being about ten miles to the north, and thence through the towns of Osceola, Philipsburg and Clearfield to Curwensville on the west branch of the Susquehanna, sending out spurs to various mining towns in this famous Coal region; and the Lewisburg and Tyrone, whose present terminus is Scotia, 25 miles distant. The division has 270 miles of track, exclusive of sidings, and last year carried 432,165 passengers and about 4,000,000 tons of freight. It has about 450 employees residing in Tyrone and pays out monthly in the town over $20,000. There are about 80 residents of Tyrone on the pay role of the Main Line, whose checks approximate $5,000 each month.
Here are located the offices of the division in the commodious building which serves also for a passenger depot. Here may be seen superintendent S. S. Blair who began in the service of the P.R.R. over forty years ago when the trains were running over the mountains on the Portage road. From the lowest place he went gradually up, conductor, agent, train master, superintendent of Baltimore division during the trying times of the war. Since 1873 be has been at the head of this division and interested in the progress of the town. As a railroad official his long service proves his competency and his encouragement of every agency for the benefit of his fellow-citizens has established his character as a christian gentleman.
The chief clerk of the division is J. H. Reiley, who has been by the side of Mr. Blair for over thirty years, leaving wine with the superintendent from Baltimore. More than this need not be said in testimony to the value of his services. To the men along the road the appearance of Mr. Reiley about the tenth of each month is like the face of the sun as it comes over the mountain, for he is the bearer of the cheeks which makes their faces shine and their hearts grow warm. Assisting in this office are H. M. Sausser and W. C. Barr, two courteous and capable young men. The stenographer to Mr.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
Blair is R. N. Waring, who has made his mark by fidelity and industry in everything he undertakes.
C. P. Mc Arthur the Assistant Engineer, is the youngest of the officials in Tyrone. He started only fifteen years ago, a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, and has in this short time gained the confidence of his superiors and obtained for himself honor and promotion.
D. D. Wood is the veteran among the officers of the road ait this point but one of those men who make themselves felt wherever you put them. He rose rapidly from brakeman in 1860 to Train Master in 1863 and has managed the traffic of the division during till these years. Mr. Wood has watched the growth of the town for thirty-five years and done his part to make its history.
In a room on the second floor may be heard, not the clack of tongues but the click of keys. Here sits A. A. Witter, the Division Operator, in the focus of a network of wires, like a spider in the midst of his web and, with the aid of his assistants, watches the motions of each train that is out upon the road. Unlike the spider his work is not to devour but to save, and he makes his fly go whither he will, bringing him up whenever he chooses to the central point. These men who carry out his plans are not mutes, though they talk with their fingers; neither are they deaf, for they read with their ears. They do not practice magic, and yet spirit-like they interpret the thoughts of comrades who are scores of miles away, and place an immediate answer on the table of the distant correspondent. Men who can do such things should not be unknown to fame. Their names are E. W. Stine and P. Halligan, train dispatchers; Clarence Wingate and W. T. Charles, operators.
R. B. Freeman has been Assistant Train Master for ten years, a popular man whose services are highly valued. The department of Maintenance of Way is under the care of M. McCann who, besides being a faithful servant of the company, has been one of Tyrone's most useful citizens for over a score of years. In the same building is the office where T. J. Scott with his assistant Wm. Wolfgang, supervises the movements of the main line trains; also the ticket office where agent H.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
L. Hesser dispenses information and furnishes passports to travelers.
The P.R.R. Freight Warehouse is always a busy place. Here may be seen, scattered about and piled up, boxes and bales and barrels and bundles and crates, containing goods of all descriptions and from all parts. The interests of the company, and of its customers, as well, are looked after by the gentlemanly agent, Mr. Frank Guyer. The baggage room is in charge of F. A. Harris who, by correct handling of their personal property, contributes not a little to the comfort of multitudes of people. The operators for the main line at this point are Messrs. Thad. Wetzler and W. W. Stowders.
Going up the yard of the division, which extends all the way to Vail, three miles distant, we pass the Roundhouse and Lower Shops, where is the office of the Master Mechanic, J. A. Beamer. Beyond these is the Tower whence Wm. A. Bouse, the E. Tyrone Yard Master, has an outlook upon the cars and crews under his charge. Farther on are the Upper Shops where a good force of men are at work under foreman O. P. Bush, repairing cars as they come in, weakened by the wear and tear of railroad service. Near the extreme limit of the yard is the office of the Weigh Master, John A. Lytle, where with astonishing dexterity the weight of each car is "caught on the fly" as it rushes past the window which overlooks the scales. The railroad men in Tyrone have felt the stress of the hard times in short hours and scanty wages. But here, as might be expected, the signs of returning prosperity so long looked for are showing themselves.
Manufacturers and Trade.
One of the great industries of Tyrone is the production of stone for various uses both in building and manufactures. Below the town the great limestone hills which rise on either side of the river are being cut into and brought down to the level of the roads which skirt its banks. The traveler passing along sees high perpendicular walls of rock along the sides of which scores of men are at work, doing their utmost to undo the original work of the Creator in order that the
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
work of man, the creature, may be done. A wise Providence has stored up in these projections of the surface the materials with which man may "improve" that surface for his own comfort and gratification. So always the Divine Builder precedes the human. Even the fair structure of Science is at best the student trying to think God's thoughts after Him. Railroad commerce and the factories show how men are availing themselves of the "portion of goods" which the Father in these valleys has prepared for them.
The first quarries in all this region were opened up by A. G. Morris about 1870. He is the head of the firm which leads all others today in the United States in the output of limestone. Their works are located at various points in Centre, Clinton, Mifflin and Blair counties, employing from 800 to 1000 hands, with a capacity of 300 carloads daily. Their quarry at Tyrone Forges on the left has four crushers which turn out 50 cars of ballast stone a day. That on the opposite side produces 75 cars for furnace use with its two
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
crushers. In these about 300 men are employed. For chemical as well as mechanical uses the product of this firm is unexcelled and orders come to them from the Atlantic, Middle and Western States.
The Keystone Lime & Stone Company is the commercial name under which A. A. Stevens, Esq., conducts his extensive lime and limestone business. The office is in Tyrone; the works of the company are on the Tyrone & Lewisburg Railroad, near Tyrone, where they have a large amount of superior limestone; and near Shoenberger and Union Furnace, along the main line of the Pennsylvania Railroad. These quarries extend a distance of 1 1/2 miles along the main line of the railroad, and are equipped with all modern improvements for the preparation of limestone in its various commercial uses. They have also a grinding mill, for the grinding of lime and limestone; also seven large lime kilns for burning lime. Their quarries are among the largest in Central Pennsylvania, having a shipping capacity at their various quarries of 150 cars of stone per day, and 2500 bushels of lime. Their lime goes to all parts of the country, and is not confined to Pennsylvania consumers. It is largely in demand in New York and Eastern states, where nothing but the highest grade of material is used, and it has a well earned reputation for its superior quality, both for building and chemical uses. Their limestone is used for fluxing, furnaces, glass works, railroad ballast and building purposes.
The North Star Tannery, the only one now in Blair county, covers a large space of ground between the Juniata river and the Pennsylvania railroad, on the east side of Pennsylvania avenue. It was established by D. P. Ray, Sr., in 1871 and run by him until 1881, when J. K. Ray, D. P. Ray, Jr., and J. W. Howe became the firm. It has the most approved modern machinery and a capacity of 125 hides a day, employing 40 to 45 men. The bark used is oak and hemlock, some brought in from the country but most of it shipped
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
in by rail from Cambria, Clearfield and Centre counties. Some of the hides are obtained from Western cities, Omaha, Kansas City, Chicago and St.. Louis. The building is two stories high, 280 by 62, and in the view of Tyrone is easily discernible by its tall chimney near the railroad station. The beam house is 35 by 32 and the leach house 96 by 66 feet. Besides these, there are several smaller buildings. The product is union crop sole leather, all of which is shipped to the Boston market.
THE PAPER MILL.
A busy hive is that which inhabits the square extending from Sixteenth street to the creek, where it forms the northeast line of the borough, and between Pennsylvania and Logan avenues. This is the site of the Paper Mill, its buildings covering the whole length of the block along Pennsylvania avenue and 16th street, a total frontage of 825 feet. In the enclosed eight acres of land almost all the space is occupied with substantial brick structures where various departments of the work are carried on. With the exception of the railroad interests which were the start of Tyrone, this is the largest industry of the place, giving constant employment to about 225 persons. The business was begun in 1880, but the company, as at present constituted, was incorporated in 1889 under the name of the Morrison & Cass Paper Company, with a capital stock of $500,000.
The plant includes all the latest and best appliances for the manufacture of a superior quality of book and writing paper, and the products are in constant demand both in the United States and in foreign countries. The firm has never closed its work except for needed repairs. The two tall chimneys which attract the notice of the visitor walking from the station up Pennsylvania avenue, give forth a stream of the black vapor day and night from the fires which run its 24 steam boilers and furnish power to its eight steam engines. Fifty cords of wood are received daily and by ingenious contrivances and manifold processes transmuted into the clean, light, smooth paper which passes out of the mill to the amount of 30 tons a day. The wood in five foot lengths is thrown into
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
the jaws of a giant "chipper" whose teeth or knives of steel, with incredible speed "chew" it into little bits of uniform size and pass these into this throat, a trough conducting this hard, dry food into ten boilers which form the stomach of this system. There under pressure of steam and by the aid of alkalies the process of digestion is carried on, requiring about six hours, and the resulting soft substance is submitted to other operations of washing, bleaching and sizing. A certain proportion of rags is worked up and incorporated with the wood pulp. This is now ready for the paper machines, four in number. It is kept in constant motion on endless aprons of wire cloth and of felt, to strain the water out of it, and the drying process is completed by steam-heated cylinders round which the sheets are driven. They are now ready to be calendered, or run through rolls which act upon one another, giving the gloss and finish that mark the output of this mill. To describe these processes in detail or to even mention all the parts of the complicated mechanism would fill many pages. It ought to be said, however, that the company has an enviable reputation not only for the work which it turns out but for the treatment of its workmen, whose comfort and welfare are studied. There has been no cut of wages under plea of hard times, but with unvarying regularity $10,000 in wages is turned into the hands of its employees and finds its way into the channels of trade in the town every month. A Relief Association of the employees has 219 members who are entitled to a weekly allowance in case of sickness or accident and a death benefit of $100.
Each season witnesses some additions and improvements to the property of the Tyrone Paper Mill. The president of the company is Joseph K. Cass; the secretary and treasurer, J. G. Anderson. John B. Stroup is the efficient superintendent of the paper mill and M. J. Wike of the pulp mill. In the office one meets Messrs. Richard Beaston and S. P. Eby, both of whom have been identified with the firm for many years, and F. S. Armstrong, the bookkeeper.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY
The foundry and machine shops of A. G. Morris & Sons are between the river and the railroad, half a mile below Tyrone. The building is of brick, two stories high and, with an addition of one story, extends along the track 300 feet. There is also a power house and blacksmith shop and a neat two-story structure for office use. The equipment for work is complete. They build stationary engines and have recently constructed a stone crusher of their own invention of which three are in successful operation, each capable of making 50 cars of furnace or 25 cars of ballast stone per day. Another piece of work just turned out of the shops is a newly patented brick machine, the invention of Geo. C. Davison, which is likely to come into use extensively. The foundry is an indispensable element in the business of the town, whose mechanics depend upon it to realize in working from the plans which have been wrought out in their brains. The inventor's mind needs the builder's hand to translate its thoughts into facts and make them effective. The firm have just begun the manufacture of the Burley steam and hot water heaters recently patented but already in use in several building in Tyrone.
Just on the edge of the town, in an eligible location, are
THE TYRONE BOILER WORKS,
Reader Bros. & Hoffman, proprietors. These gentlemen are prepared to do all business in their line in a manner to satisfy their customers, being themselves thorough workmen and courteous in their dealings. Added to their own special line they have just begun the manufacture of a hot air heater, patented by themselves. This invention has been fully tested and given satisfaction in the Presbyterian church and several other places. It is equally adapted for large or small buildings and is claim to be economical and healthful. For the construction of these furnaces to meet the growing demand, an addition has been made to their building, doubling its former dimensions.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY
THE SHOE FACTORY.
The Tyrone Shoe Company is a recent addition to the manufacturing interests of the town and bids fair to become one of the largest. The business was formerly carried on in Williamsport. Their new building on the hillside opposite the R. R. Warehouse presents a front towards the town of 100 feet. It is built of brick, three stories high. On the ground floor is the office, where the manager, J. W. Howe, whose reputation as a first-class business man has long ago been made in Tyrone, looks after the general interests of the firm. In this first story, also, the sole leather work is done and the shipping attended to. On the second and third floors the cutting, stitching, bottoming and finishing are done, the whole process of making a shoe being accomplished by machinery of the most recent design. Communication is had from floor to floor by means of an elevator running through the middle of the building. Adjoining the main building is the poser house, 20 feet by 26. About 50 persons are now employed by the company.
Whilst different styles of shoes are turned out, a specialty at present is the Bicycle Shoe which is made with seamless upper and water-proof sole of mercury-tanned leather, out-wearing other shoes, and with comfort to the wearer. The capital of the concern is $40,000 and its managers are gentlemen who have the confidence of the community in which they live. The President is W. L. Hicks; Treasured, E. C. Poorman; Manager, J. W. Howe, and Superintendent, N. A. Hughes, a manufacturer of long experience in this line. The other directors, equally well-known in Tyrone, are J. G. Anderson and H. A. Gripp.
ELKHURST ART SCHOOL.
The man who has in recent years done more than any other to extend the fame of Tyrone is the German Artist, H. A. Gripp. It is a tribute enough to such a one to say that, though not yet forty years of age and beginning with no capital but that of brain, he stands in the front rank among the capitalist of our town, and at the head of them all in the net
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY
gains of his business through these dull time. The splendid establishment at Elkhurst shows the growth attained in sixteen years from the seed of an idea, first conceived in the brain and then planted and diligently tended by the hands of a genius. Such a career is only possible when to God-given capacity, the first essential, and God-given opportunity, the second element of success, there is added the third and indispensable factor which converts the possible into the actual. This third factor is indomitable energy, and few men living possess it in larger degree than the proprietor of the Art School on the Juniata.
The "idea" which has made his fortune and made him the means of helping hundreds of his less fortunate fellows is, as he says, a very simple one. But to seize this simple thing, grasp the possibilities contained in it, and make use of it so that it would do the most good was like transmuting charcoal into diamond. It was doing in the sphere of practical life what Newton did in that of scientific knowledge when he deduced the law of gravitation from the dropping of an apple.
The work to which Mr. Gripp has given his study and efforts is that of making life-like portraits from common photographs enlarged. The demand for these, as is well known, is unlimited; but the American people demand a finished product. It must be "a thing of beauty" that it may be "a joy forever." This want was recognized by the young German Artist and he set himself to answer it in such a way at to please and satisfy the great public.
The pictures which have made the name of Gripp famous are beautifully finished by hand in crayon. He teaches his method in the school by personal supervision and through assistants who are under his supervision. To others who cannot attend he give instruction by mail. From every state and beyond the states in the British Provinces, he draws his pupils or communicates with them by Uncle Sam's ubiquitous mail service. The number of those who have since the beginning worked for Mr. Gripp counts up into the thousands. Many who have undertaken have not succeeded, but candid and careful examination compels us to say that the cause of failure
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY
is not in the method taught nor in the method of teaching. The one sufficient proof of this is that so many right her are finding is practicable and paying; people of all sorts and classes, not one in ten of whom had either any previous training or any natural talent in the direction of art. For a very moderate fee the needed instruction is given to all who apply, and to all who prove competent employment at their homes is given. Hundreds of men and women are constantly at work on these pictures and the huge packages of mail that arrive and depart daily, keeping a horse, wagon and driver constantly busy, are evidence of the magnitude of the work. There are, of students and others needed to keep the business running, 130 persons employed about the premises. When to these are added the much larger number of workers scattered all over the continent and the soliciting agents who send in the photographs, those engaged in enlarging the pictures, the others who manufacture the mailing tubes and the increased government force required to handle "Gripp's mail," we can see how wide reaching is the influence for good that radiates from one man whose "idea" has fructified in blessings to many besides himself.
The esthetic faculty that marks the genuine artist is a manifest in the environments of the Art School. Let us take a look at Elkhurst. Getting off at what was formerly known as Tyrone Forges, as we step upon the platform we see before us a group of buildings that command our admiration. Facing the railroad and the break in the mountains that opens into Warriorsmark Valley is the main building, large and stately, which is the home of the family and of the students who board here during their term of instruction. This is limited to two months, an inexorable rule which many vainly plead to have amended, the charms of the place and of the society enticing them to prolong their stay. To the left is the building used for the school and for handling the incoming and making up the outgoing mail. Still farther to the left stands a stone structure which is being renovated and enlarged to afford larger quarters for the school. To the right of the main building there is seen the new gymnasium which is to
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY
furnish recreation and health-promoting exercise. Back of all, the spacious barn, seen through the trees, reminds us that there is "room at the top" for the 165 broad acres of Elkhurst stretch up and over the hills with their fields of grass and grain and woods and springs. The foreground of this picture is the wide curve of the Juniata, making room for the Rolling Mills and a Driving Park and, over the river, the cluster of houses known as Nealmont at the base of Bald Eagle Ridge. The proprietor of this estate is one who takes delight in seeing others share his good fortune. In every movement for the general welfare he is among the foremost, and all our citizens join in wishing long continuance of life and prosperity to Mr. Gripp.
SOLAR PRINT HOUSE.
The large print house of Lindholm & Butler deserves special mention. This firm, which moved from Cleveland, O., is engaged in the business of enlarging photographs, nearly all their product going to the great are emporium of H. A. Gripp. They employ about 25 hands, turning out 8,000 to 10,000 pictures weekly. The picture is magnified from a negative obtained by the use of a powerful camera under a powerful arc light, and passed through all the processes familiar to photographers, until they come out perfect reproductions on the large scale of the original. It is an interesting sight to see the force of young men at work in the large building of the old M. E. church on Washington avenue and 12th street, busy from dawn till dark like the husbandman who makes hay while the sun shines. They own and operate their own electric plant.
One of the most indefatigable among the manufacturers of Tyrone is F. D. Beyer. While he has steadily labored to promote his own interests, no one man, probably, has done more for the general welfare of the town in the last thirty years. The first Saw and Planing Mills in Tyrone were started and operated by a stock company of which Rev. John D. Stewart was an active promoter, but the business was bought
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
out by Mr. Beyer in the early sixties and he has continued on the same line ever since. The firm of F. D. Beyer & Co., at present consisting of S. B. Beyer and F. R. Waring, have furnished materials and work for a large portion of the buildings in this place, recently for the Shoe Factory and the elegant residence of F. W. Acklin. The Mills are well located along Lincoln avenue, the building reaching from 15th to 16th streets; the yards crowded with logs and lumber of all descriptions, covering another square beyond. They know their business and are thorough in their work.
Mr. Beyer owns a large amount of real estate in the borough, and his properties are well kept up, so as to be a credit to the town. He is one of the strongest champions of temperance among us and a "pillar" in the Columbia Avenue M. E. Church.
TYRONE PLANING MILLS.
The firm of S. McCamant & Co., though not quite so old as that just mentioned, is one of the oldest in Tyrone, the property having come into the possession of the present owners in 1868. The Planing Mill on 15th street near Adams avenue and the Saw Mill now at work near Bald Eagle station furnish the means of support to a large force of men and their families. The Park Avenue School Building and the Presbyterian Church and Manse are specimens of the work done by the firm in recent years.
Mr. S. McCamant has taken an active interest in the advancement of his adopted town and labored to encourage enterprises that would help to build it up. As a public-spirited citizen he has been chosen to fill the office of sheriff of Blair county, and for two terms was a representative in the Legislature of Pennsylvania. He is not President of the Board of Managers of the State Industrial Reformatory.
TYRONE MILLING COMPANY.
This firm, whose location is on Sixteenth street, corner of Lincoln avenue, operates the only flour mill within the borough limits, where all customers may be accommodated, whether producers or consumers of the stuff of which the staff
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
of life is made. The machinery is modern and workmanship skilled and careful. The head of the concern, A. W. Beyer, is a gentleman well known in the community and worthy of the confidence of the people which he enjoys.
TYRONE MARBLE WORKS.
The proprietor of the above deals in a very hard commodity, but A. M. Wasson, through a comparative stranger in Tyrone, is well known to be no "marble heart," but a gentle man despite the stubbornness of his stock in trade. A glance at his present quarters, just over the bridge on Tenth street, indicates that they are inadequate for the extent of his business. No merchant would dare to leave his valuable goods exposed out of doors as does Mr. Wasson; but he would be a monumental thief that would steal from one who thus shows his trust in humanity. Besides, the plunder would be heavy to haul and hard to hide, a consideration of no little weight to a prudent mind. More careful inspection proves that there is a master workman here who can compel the very stones to speak, if not to cry out. A talk with the proprietor will satisfy the interested inquirer that, while he understands his trade, no rival can underbid him in price. Samples of his work can be seen in a score of cemeteries in this and adjoining counties, and he can advise you as to what you should have as well as execute your order for what you want.
TYRONE GLASS FACTORY.
Allusion was made in these pages to the Cold Spring Forge and Ax Factory. These industries have for several years been defunct, but the resurrection time has come and out of their graves has arisen a new Glass Factory, whose buildings have just been completed and operations begun under the superintendency of Mr. George W. McGraw, an experienced glass worker. The present force comprises about fifty hands, the goods manufactured being various kinds of hollow ware, including bottles and jars. This quiet suburb of ours up the river is resuming its wonted activity, an indication of the general revival in business and in particular of the waking up of Tyrone to realize and improve its opportunities. This new
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
enterprise is largely the result of the energy of the secretary of the Board of Trade and one of its members who secured subscriptions of Stock from a large number of our citizens. It is expected that the plant will ere long be increased and a larger number of men employed.
TEMPLETON & CO.'S DEPARTMENT STORE.
Facing South on Tenth street, between Pa. and Logan avenue is the store known at "Templeton's" for the last 25 years and more. For the ordinary wants of the body in food and raiment, and for most of the adornments and luxuries, one need not go elsewhere than to Templeton's store. This is the commissariat department for a little army of customers. The gardens and the orchards of many lands pour into their supplies and out of it many families are fed. Not to mention the substantials which are never "out," the shelves are found closely packed with all sorts of condiments and canned goods, and delicacies for dainty appetites. The show cases have the trifles without which life would be incomplete, candy which the children want, and soaps which mammas say they need.
Is it lamps? Hundreds of them. Or tinware? Ask for what you don't see. Biscuits and baskets hang before you eyes, and coffee, sugar, &c., crowd your feet. Gentlemanly clerks wait behind the counters. Rows of queensware, glass and china dishes, plain and fancy, stare at you from the other side.
So much for one half of the first floor. The other half - ah, is it not the better half? There lady clerks measure off and tie up goods that defy description or comprehension by the coarser sex. There are "prints" whose merits cannot be told in print, linens and lawns and linings, silks and serges. What figures and colors, to set off figures and offset colors! Large room for exercise of taste and judgment. No wonder that women stay long and come often. Here they see themselves (in imagination) in the draped statues that stare from the windows and stand in aisles and hang from hooks. What matter that these forms are headless? All that is here is for the body to put on, not for heads - inside or out. Such mazes
 TYRONE OF TODAY.
of laces and embroidery and trimmings and trinkets! Side by side with living palms are palm-like parasols for the living. Patterns of gauze-like thinness, buttons and belts - but why say more?
Books for brains in front. In rear, everything for feet, from "gums" and thick-soled shoes that might weigh a pound, to soft slippers and pointed toes. No one keeps more shoes than Templeton, though some may keep shoes longer.
The visitor must "go aloft." In a room well lighted, 40x120 feet, you see rolls of carpet. We need not name them; they are all here. This is the carpet emporium of Tyrone. Below they fit feet, here they fit floors. And here they fit out windows and decorate everything. If you are going somewhere, get one of their trunks. When you stop, they have everything for your breakfast below, and everything for you bed above.
Well, the half has not been told. Only we must add that nowhere are salesmen and saleswomen more courteous than the fourteen who serve the public in Templeton's, or merchants more considerate of the public wants then those who conduct the affairs of this department store.
WALTON & ACKLIN, JEWELERS.
One of the oldest establishments of our town is that of Walton and Acklin, 1041 Pennsylvania avenue.
Isaac Walton, the head of this firm - not "Issak" of piscatorial fame, stealthily hooking his victims and filling his wallet with their writhing forms - this is Isaac P. Walton, who for nearly forty years has dealt in gold and silver, yet is no money shark. Of the men who were in business as merchants in 1859, he alone is still active, and of him it may be said, "his eye is not dim," as it looks for the flaw in the works of the watch, and "his natural force is not abated." To his prescient mind Tyrone is indebted for a large share of its present prosperity, notably for the Electric Light Plant, of which he was the projector and principal promoter. He has been honored by his fellow citizens with offices of trust, burgess for three years, and now vice-president of the First National Bank.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
F. W. Acklin has well sustained the reputation of the firm and bids fair to become one of Tyrone’s foremost citizens. The business block of this firm is an ornament to the town, and the newly erected residence of Mr. Acklin is the gem of architecture among dwelling houses.
The throng of pedestrians that promenade Pennsylvania avenue after working hours, appreciate the warm glow of Walton & Achlin’s windows, the neat array of polished silver set off by the colored lights above. Theirs not to feed the hungry or deck the homely with fashion’s garb, but many a mind is satisfied and many a costume’s lack supplied by the wares which Walton & Acklin dispense so courteously. Here may be seen on the eve of some interesting occasion, the prospective purchaser looking for birthday gift or bridal present or parting keepsake or pledge of affection or souvenir of esteem. Nowhere in Tyrone are so many bundles of happiness tied up and sent out - unless, possibly, in the parsonage of the First M. E. Church.
MRS. ELLA BLACK’S MILLINERY STORE.
Every thing for feminine adornment, not the neglect of comfort. Delight of the fair, bewilderment of the other sex. Waists of the finest style and stuff, Dresses ready to put on, Wraps of all sorts, suitable for the season, and of prices graded to the capacity of the buyer’s purse. Rolls of ribbon, wide and narrow, loud and quiet. Feathers and Flowers, more tempting to our modern Eves than the ancient fruit of the garden. And Hats! Plain and prim for those who dislike ornament or those who can dispense with it; modest hats which would befit the staid matron; dashing hats for the gay maiden, high and tapering crowns, low and flat roofed ones. Hats to cover the head and hats to dazzle the eye; airy hats that seem ready to fly, and fairy hats that might melt and disappear. Such permutations and combinations of bits of silk and straw and felt and feather, with a sly stitch here and a pin inserted there! Such is the magic of Millinery. In this store is all that woman wants to wear except shoes and for this baser garment she must go to man.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
The mistress of this mansion of delight for women and their maids in waiting meet all alike, whether customer or caller, with pleasant welcome and courteous attention. Mrs. Black is a good proof of what the feminine qualities of pluck, perseverance and tact can accomplish, having developed this business to its present proportion from small beginnings, until now a force of assistants, sometimes as many as twelve, are kept busy from morning to night.
G. W. STRONG’S BARGAIN STORE.
The gentleman named above has only been a resident of Tyrone about three years, but has shown his right to the name he bears by becoming stronger each year in the confidence of his patrons. In his place of business may be seen at any time, and especially in the evening hours, a throng of plain people who have found out where to put their hard-earned dimes so as to get the most out of them. The proprietor and his four assistants have about all they can do to wait upon their customers.
A complete Dry Goods Store is here. Dress goods of all sorts on one side. One the other, the little things that go therewith; thread, buttons, breast pins, and all the finishing touches which women are always looking for. Between are Remnant tables which are not allowed to become dusty. Umbrellas for a rainy day. Shades for the sunny day. All that makes comfortable sleeping at night. Towels and combs and stationery, and the “fix-ups” which all good housekeepers prize so highly. A well stocked Shoe Department. Ready-made suits for workingmen and their boys, and even for their wives and daughters. All this and more at Strong’s. And, best of all, you will find the bargain equal to the promise. And that is why they come and keep on coming to the Bargain House down by the bridge.
J. S. GILLAM & CO.
The Wholesale Grocery House of J. S. Gillam & Co. is reached from Tenth street by turning south between Logan and Washington avenues. It is a large building of brick and iron, advantageously located on a siding of the P. R. R. This
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
business was established in 1891, and fills an important place for the supply of local retailers and merchants in other towns. The regular staples of the trade are kept in stock and orders are promptly attended to. Mr. Gillam is too modest a man to sound his own praises, but his fellow-citizens have proved their estimate of him by conferring upon him the chief magistracy of the borough, and wish him continued and increased prosperity.
Outranking all other business houses in age, having been established in 1858, and possessing the most eligible site in the very heart of the town where the two main streets cross each other, opposite both banks and the oldest hotel, is the Study Dry Goods Store. This establishment has lost none of its old time prestige in the changing of years. Rather it seems to improve as years add experience to its management. Its head is one whose study is to please and whose success in the effort is evident at a glance.
Four show windows arrest the gaze of all passers and, were they to cease to shine on this conspicuous corner, life would be less attractive for those who frequent our streets. There are seen, in variety of color and texture, Ladies’ Waists and Skirts and Dress materials hanging gracefully, with all the paraphernalia wherewith feminine humanity is wont to deck or disguise herself. All the staples of woman’s wear, and all the accessories; buttons and beads and tassels and trimmings. And notions!
To say that the store has everything in Dry Goods and Ladies’ and Children’s wear would be prosy. To enumerate particulars would task the writer and tire the reader. Better and easier and pleasanter to call and see for yourself what James A. Study knows about it. He tires no customer; he attires many.
The pioneer Clothing House is that of William Vogt and the progress of the years has not left it in the rear. Piles of clothing upon his tables prove that he has kept up with the
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
times and seldom is his store seen empty of purchasers. Through well nigh forty years he has kept steadily on like the river’s flow, sometimes swift and at other times sluggish but never stopping. So long a career of honorable activity gives him a claim upon the patronage of the people, and Mr. Vogt is one who will hold the trade of his customers by fair dealing.
TYRONE STEAM LAUNDRY.
An unassuming but wide-awake man is D. T. Kennedy, the man whose vocation is to keep us respectable by making us clean, on the outside. His work is thorough, his place is busy, and he himself is a thriving business man. He is now located in his newly fitted building on East Tenth street, opposite the Academy of Music, a three-story brick. The fact that in about five years, from a very modest beginning, he has worked up a business to justify and demand enlargements, is proof of his success. Recent improvements in machinery and others to be added shortly strengthen him in public favor. With his dozen helpers (and he will double the number when needed,) all at it and always at it, he is competent to handle the business of Tyrone. The most delicate fabrics may be safely entrusted to Kennedy. He’ll treat you right, and make them white, and send them home right early.
H. H. STRATIFF, MACHINIST.
H. H. Stratiff is one of Tyrone’s boys, not one of its babies, but one who helped to rock its cradle in the infancy of the town.
Do you want machinery or tools examined and put in order? Take them to Stratiff. Is there a hard problem of some necessary implement that will not work and causes you worry and loss? Ask Stratiff what to do about it. In short, when you have something that needs doing in the line of mechanical work and that no one else can do, try Stratiff and he will make it straight, if - you will pay the charges. A general repair shop is his, and he can supply you with all that is usually found at a gunsmith’s store, sell you a new bicycle or fix up your old one, and give you a deal that is straight, if - what people say is true.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
F. G. ALBRIGHT.
The Albright block situated at the corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Twelfth street, is occupied by the General Store of F. G. Albright, filling both of the salesrooms below and a part of the second floor, besides a full cellar and a frame building in the rear for storage.
Nowhere is there a better kept stock or a store that is neater in appearance than Albright’s. It will astonish you to see how many things he keeps, everything of excellent quality, always presentable, and at prices that are as fair to purchaser as to dealer. It would be hard to think of anything in the grocery line that is not here. and his Dry Goods department includes also carpets, oil cloths, and matting.
The proprietor and his clerks know how to make every one feel at home, making it a pleasure to do business with them.
D. G. OWENS’ DEPARTMENT STORE.
Everything about Owen’s indicates business. The hustling proprietor lets no grass grow under his feet. The present stand has been occupied only about three years, but David G. Owens is no novice, having been in former years one of Tyrone’s successful merchants.
Two long counters in the Dry Goods Department in the front. Behind them young lady clerks greet you as you enter. Back of these, shelf upon shelf densely packed with goods, enough in quantity and variety to fit out a respectable village of people. Not an inch of space is wasted; barely room to edge your way in and through. More goods than room for them, though the store runs back from street to alley. Lace curtains and fancy table covers; domestics and linens; garments for all ages and all seasons, ready made or ready for making. Why should we attempt the impossible, to tell of all that is here to deck the form and please the taste of woman? If you don’t see what you want, Owens will see that you don’t want it - long. He is here to do business and will not be outdone or undersold by any rival. This long space in front is the Court of the Women; if you are a man you may get beyond it and find your level in the “grosser” department which reaches to the rear,
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
125 feet from the street, saying nothing of a room for heavier packages still farther on. Great depth, but not great darkness, for the building is on two streets and has abundant light and air. All around you from floor to ceiling is crowded. Here they size up both sexes, food for man and raiment for women; making of them gentle man and fair lady. For the latter, wraps and rugs and comfortables and trifles of all names, old-fashioned head gear and new-style footwear. For the former, fruits fresh, dried and preserved; vegetables and meats; everything to make bread, to go with your bread, and good enough to satisfy the best-bred customer. That class of people make no mistake when they deal at Owen’s and he delivers to all parts of town and vicinity.
J. W. FISHER, STOVES AND TINWARE.
Others may sound the praises of their choice cuisine tickle the palate and lighten the purse, but J. W. Fisher as a public caterer excels them all. He who enables you to do for yourself serves you better than he who does it for you - at your expense. The wise woman of Tyrone has found out long ago that for peace in the family Fisher can do more than the squire, and for health in the home more than the doctor. “No such word as fail,” to any one who tries to cook with the outfit which can be so cheaply obtained at the Stove and Tinware Store. So, when soft, balmy days whisper of the approach of summer, and two hearts beat time to the song of robin and lark, they turn their steps towards 1010 Pennsylvania avenue to find one who can “set up” young folks - right. And when autumn’s blasts warn of coming winter, all know where to get everything to make warm and comfortable. He can set up stoves so deftly that the serenity of the home atmosphere is never disturbed, nor the ear shocked with unseemly ejaculations. Rather than try to enumerate the utensils of all sorts and the useful contrivances that save you many times their price we say, go and see for yourself; or, when things go awry in the kitchen, or in the fire and water department of the domestic economy, send for Fisher, and soon the skies will clear and peace return to your home.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
PORT’S FURNITURE STORE.
George W. Port is the only exclusive furniture dealer in our town and, by concentrating his attention on a single line, he has established his reputation for good stock and low prices. The latter result is largely due to the fact that his store is his own, building as well as contents. When you look into this neat and new three-story brick, your attention is not distracted by things extraneous, but every article your eye lights on is staple, so that it does not take long here to find what you want.
On three floors, each extending back 138 feet, he has ample room for handling and exhibiting everything of wood belonging to the inside of a house, with a little of metal and glass thrown in, and some softer stuff to rest the weary frame. Do not fail to look up Port when setting up housekeeping, and whenever you need some touch of improvement. You will find him on West Tenth street, opposite Templeton’s store.
ARNOLD & MILLER, FLORISTS.
Over the hill is the green house. That is, West of our Cemetery Ridge is the place where green things are started for our gardens and flowers furnished for festive occasions. The ladies know Mr. Arnold and where to go when planning for their window gardens. Over ten years ago he began as a floriculturist in Tyrone, for the last five years with a partner, the firm to-day being Arnold & Miller. A hail storm in June destroyed most of their stock, but they bravely set to work to retrieve the loss, and a few months have brought about an almost incredible transformation. They are now in better condition than ever to accommodate their patrons. The stock of ornamental house plants for winter will repay a visit, and the money expended in such decoration for the home will not be spent amiss. All our people speak well of Arnold & Miller and wish them increased prosperity.
A. L. KOONS, MANUFACTURING CONFECTIONER.
A three-story building in Tenth street adjoining the First National bank shows signs of recent fire on the bricks in front.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
But there is no smell of fire nor stain of smoke on A. L. Koons, who has build up a large business in the last seventeen years. This place beyond all others is the one which causes the juvenile heart to heave with ambition and longing. What possible attainment more glorious than to manufacture sweetness unlimited both in quantity and variety!
There is no idle space and there are no idle folks on any of the four floors of this building. From the basement where are stored the materials used in making candies to the third story where the work of making them is done, on the second floor where the stock is kept and orders for the wholesale trade are filled, and on the ground floor where the office work and retail business are transacted there is activity everywhere. Mr. Koons is a man who has prospered in business and is doing no little to add to the general prosperity of Tyrone.
His experience at the business runs back to 1868, almost thirty years, having learned the practical part of the trade.
In 1881 a boy who found birth and life in our midst began his business career at a very early age by the establishing of a news route. Scores of newsboys spring up every year in a town of this size, but most of them spring up as the grass to die down the same season. Very few possess the energy to push forward and grow up with the years like a thrifty tree. But Farran Zerbe was one of the few, and today finds him while still a young man doing extensive business in the store on the corner of Pennsylvania avenue and Eleventh street, where on a floor space of 5000 square feet he handles a great variety of goods.
The dispensing of literature being his initial occupation, it continues to be a main feature, a large space being devoted to books and periodicals. Stationery, blank books and office supplies are leading factors in this business and everything from the ordinary to the dainty and latest are kept.
Books for information and entertainment may be brought below or, by going upstairs, may be borrowed for less than a song. For, with enterprise worthy of imitation, this mer-
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
chant invites his customers to go up higher that they may cultivate a higher grade of reading. On this floor is offered for public use a circulating library of several thousand volumes of well selected books. It takes two dollars to buy one good book, but here for two dollars you may, if you will, have one new book as often as you wish while the year lasts. The young people of Tyrone who aspire to rise in the world in a true and noble sense will find Zerbe’s library some of the best stepping stones to success, for in our days it is needful that the mind should be fed with suitable diet in order to be fitted for the competition of life.
Art, too, has liberal space in his store. The windows show paintings and engravings appropriately framed, indicating the fine stock kept, pictures and picture framing occupying an exclusive department, When you want some finishing touch of decoration in your parlor, ask Zerbe about it. The art of music is not forgotten. The passerby is oft reminded of it, as the sweet notes of the world renowned Schomacker gold string pianos temp him to pause and listen. Organs and other instruments and music in sheet and book form are offered at popular prices.
And then for curiosity and pleasure seekers there is entertainment. Who keeps and sells more bicycles than the Zerbe Cycle company? Victors, Ramblers, Stormers, Etc. new and second hand. A bicycle livery is also conducted.
For young America there is an endless variety of toys and games. Sporting goods and decorating materials are to be found. Coins, stamps and curios are a consideration. Specialties and novelties for the pleasure and convenience of home and office. All this and much more every day and all the year round at Zerbe’s The proprietor, Farran Zerbe, has associated with him his sister, Miss Zerbe, and his brothers Chas. F. and J. Leo, and under the firm name of Zerbe’s this house is well known throughout Central Pennsylvania and give careful and prompt attention to a large mail patronage.
 TYRONE OF TO-DAY.
THE KIRK-CAMP FURNITURE CO.
The uptown furniture store in Beyer’s Bazaar is presided over by W. R. Camp, who keeps everything that you want in this line. He keeps it only till you want, and come and get of him. And his customers do say that Camp’s goods are lowest in price and equal to the best in quality. All he asks of you is to call and judge for yourself. It will be a pleasure to be waited on by one who never tires in his efforts to please you.
This firm also carry on the undertaking business. Their outfit is complete, and every detail connected with the care of the dead and the conduct of the funeral is provided for. When the sad but inevitable visitation of death comes to the house and you need some one to see that everything is done right, send for Camp and you will not be disappointed. You will find him considerate not only in his feelings but also, in his charges, of the circumstances of those who have suffered bereavement. His office is open to call all night at 1344 Logan avenue.
COSEL, THE OAK HALL CLOTHIER AND FURNISHER.
The most brilliant spot in our well lighted streets is Cosel’s clothing store. His large windows are a blaze of splendor, a section of the big city set down here among the mountains. In it are men, fair of face and faultless in dress; boys, too, in stockings and sailor suits. Dummies they all are, but singing the siren’s song to lure the passing crows. It is worth while to walk down town to see the riches and harmony of color that form the background to these figures. The artist derived his suggestion, no doubt, from the exquisite touches of the artiste in the window opposite.
The proprietor is irrepressible, and his cheerful good nature has made him friends. Trade may fluctuate and times be close, but Cosel sticks to his knitting and is bound to come out all right.
E. D. MOCK, GROCER.
This young merchant, though but lately started in business for himself, is no stranger to the people of Tyrone. They
Return to top of page
Tyrone of Today - Part 1
Tyrone of Today - Part 3
Index of Names
Contributed and transcribed for use in the USGenWeb Archives
by subscribers to the RootsWeb PABlair mailing list.
Copyright 2003. All Rights Reserved
Blair County PA USGenWeb Archives - Area History
Blair County USGenWeb Archives
Judy Banja, File Manager
USGenWeb Archives Project: Pennsylvania